|This is the oldest
Schuylkill Haven school
memorabilia in my
possession. It is the
program from the 1897
|The ceremony was
held at Metamora Hall
which is the current
Home on Main Street.
|A Brief History
|To the left is an
example of the
headgear worn by
band members of the
patches from the
1950's and band
patches from 1933 and
1941 are shown at
|Schuylkill Haven is the home of the "Blue and Gold"
but classes of 1928,1935 and 1936 apparently
preferred their class colors for their class pennants.
|The bell from the East Ward school
on Union Street is now displayed at
the Elementary Center. A plaque
states that the bell was in service
from August 17, 1923 until May of
|On the left is the high school on Haven Street as it originally appeared. On the right is the same school
later renovated after the fire of 1937.
|Here are pictures of the three elementary schools. At the upper left is the South Ward building on Parkway. In
the center is the East Ward building at High and Union Streets. At right is the North Ward building on Dock
Street. **Note that these cards did not scan well and are better viewed by clicking on each thumbnail.
|THE NEW HIGH SCHOOL
|These photos show the High School as it was built. At top left is a photo of the grounds in August of 1968. At one time, the Almshouse (Rest Haven), used the field to plant
potatoes. At bottom left, the construction is in progress. In the top right photo, the school is nearing completion in March of 1969. The lower photo on the right shows the
finished project in October of 1969.
|LAST UPDATED: JULY 5
|Clicking on this photo will improve
it's clarity. Prior to million dollar
turf, field houses and new
bleachers and lights, Rotary Field
served the "Hurricanes" in
|This aerial photograph from 2004 shows
the high school at the top with the
elementary center on the left and the
football field at the bottom
|New articles added including:
Superintendent Hoover resigns in 1920, new furniture
for the high school in 1939 and labor disputes with
contractors effects the district in 1938 and 1939.
|Pottsville Republican of October 27, 1931
HAVEN SCHOOL CORNERSTONE CONTENTS ARE INTERESTING
Newspapers, old by-laws, names of officials, money, etc., found in the cornerstone of the old east ward school building at Schuylkill Haven, which has now been entirely torn
down were found and are most interesting to native citizens. They are now on display and will in a few days be enclosed in glass for preservation. A gold dollar is among the
coins. A slip of paper states that Henry Saylor was burgess, Philip- Boyer, Moses Reed, Daniel Lavenburg, David Lewis and a man named Shultz were councilmen. The
cornerstone was laid in August, 1850 and the service of the Masonic fraternity was used. The building cost $7000 and the funds were largely raised with subscriptions of
citizens from fifty dollars up. The Schuylkill Haven paper then was named the Schuylkill Haven Map. Many of the firms, advertising are still remembered by citizens of today.
Market quotations showed wheat at $1.18 per bushel, eggs were ten cents per dozen, whiskey sold for twenty five cents per gallon. The population of the borough then was
2061 with 471 dwellings and 497 families. In 1850 to that time, 46 couples were married, 423 pupils attended school and there were 315 persons over thirty years of age who
could neither read nor write. Of the fraternity bylaws placed in the cornerstone, Carroll Lodge Number 120, I. O. O. F. is the only surviving order. Rates for coal freight on the
canal were given as twenty five cents per ton to Hamburg, up to seventy two cents per ton to Manayunk and Philadelphia.
|Here are two
programs from the
team. The example at
left is from the
Minersville game of
September 16, 1955
and on the right is a
program from a game
with Cass Township
on October 1, 1954,
apparently won 25-0
according to the
pencil marks of the
|In 1953, the Schuylkill Haven football team won the first of many
Eastern Conference championships. It was the first championship in
this conference for the school. On December 5, 1953, Rotary Field
held it's first championship game. Coach Bill Stauffer's Southern
Division champs defeated the Northern Division champ, Scranton
Tech, 28-6. Below is a ticket from that important game.
INFO FROM MIKE TRACEYS BOOK "HISTORY OF SCHUYLKILL HAVEN FOOTBALL"
|Pottsville Republican of January 6, 1916
$60,000 FOR SCHUYLKILL HAVEN SCHOOL
At the meeting of the Schuylkill Haven School Board on Wednesday evening, Frank X. Reilly of Pottsville, was awarded the contract to draw up plans for the new high school
building to be erected in that town. Two other with schools and public buildings, the board decided to award the contract to him at the rate of four percent, which will be
$2400 or more. The new building will cost in the neighborhood of $60,000 and when completed will cost about $68,000.
The building will be erected on Haven Street and will be a two story building with a basement to be used for school purposes. In the basement will be a gymnasium and
manual training room, both of which will be fitted up with modern equipment. On the first floor will be five or six rooms, a hall separating; on the top floor there will be three
more rooms and a large auditorium, which will be used for all public affairs of the high school, also for commencement. The building will be of brick with stone trimmings and
will be a modern building in every respect. It is proposed to make it one of the finest in the county and the board desires that everything be done to have the building
compare favorably with any high school building in the county. A meeting of the board will be held on Friday evening at which Architect Reilly will be present with a set of
plans and if the board adopts the plans, bids will be asked and work started on the building in early spring.
|The Call of October 4, 1929
ATHLETIC FIELD TO BE FORMALLY OPENED SATURDAY
The much discussed and dreamed of High School Athletic Field will have become a reality when Schuylkill Haven High meets Pottsville High on the new field next Saturday
afternoon. No event in years has caused so much speculation among both students and citizens as the opening of the field and the rivals who will assist in the dedication.
The plot of ground was presented to the school district in 1925 by the Rotary Club of Schuylkill Haven. At that time a committee of citizens raised some money for its
improvement. In the fall of 1926, high school students under the direction of Professor Madeira stage the play, "Audrey", which netted a sum of over five hundred dollars.
These two funds combined amounted to twelve hundred dollars and furnished the means for carrying out the work of grading of a part of the plot which was in progress most
of the summer.
Preliminary surveys were made possible throughout the voluntary services of Mr. George Butz of the Pennsylvania Highway Department. As a result of the surveys, it was
found that enough of the plot could be graded to provide for a first class gridiron. The present field is the result of the action taken by the Athletic Field Committee,
authorizing the work and placing it in the hands of Rotarians Harry F. Loy and Clinton Confehr. The field is not complete in every respect but is a vast improvement over the
gridiron on Island Park. Adequate seating space in the form of bleachers will be erected and through future benefits of various kinds to be held annually it is hoped to
gradually equip the field and enclose it with a fence.
This plot of ground has the potentialities for a worthwhile community playground. The original plans call for should be possible to provide new and better accommodations for
the city league next summer. Coach Stauffer is working hard in getting his team in the pink of condition for Saturday's game. The McAdoo and Port Carbon games afforded
excellent opportunity for showing any weak spots and these are receiving the attention of the coaches this week. Secret practice, something new for the squad, has been the
order all week and the opening whistle on Saturday will no doubt release a new bag of tricks on the wily visitors. No game in years has enlisted the general interest of football
fans in the community as this game has, and it bodes well for an interest in all school sports throughout the year. The Girl's Glee Club will sing the Alma Mater and the Boy's
High School Band will play and march to dedicate the field. Professor Madeira will throw the ball to start the initial game.
Schuylkill Haven won the game 12-0.
|The Call of February 4, 1927
BOARD CLOSED SCHOOLS FOR FUMIGATION
Upon orders from the Board of Health, the school rooms in the East Ward of Schuylkill Haven were closed down Tuesday morning in
order that the same might be given a thorough cleansing and fumigation. This was deemed necessary in order to combat the
threatened spread of scarlet fever and other contagious diseases in this community. Other ward buildings are also to be closed down
for a sufficient number of days to provide for the proper fumigation and cleansing of all schools. The Haven Street building was closed
down Wednesday that it would be properly fumigated. In the meantime parents of all pupils are asked to cooperate with the Board of
Health and the Board of Education in this work by fumigating the home and clothing, also by freely distributing disinfectants on the
premises. The Board of Health reached the decision to close the schools at its meeting Monday evening after reports were heard
showing that the situation was more grave than had first been considered. It was shown by an actual investigation that on Monday
afternoon nineteen students were absent from school on account of chicken pox, six on account of scarlet fever and seventy five on
account of other illness, making a total of one hundred pupils or about ten percent of the total enrollment.
In the East Ward building the conditions appeared to be worthy of most consideration and definite drastic steps to prevent the spread
of disease. In all wards it was found that the rooms had not been fumigated or given any large amount of disinfectant since January 21st
and January 22nd. The situation was freely discussed by board members and it was the consensus of opinion that the health laws must
be more stringently enforced and complied with to the letter. The law requiring that children absent from school more then three days
must have an excuse from the attending physician or family physician before returning to school will be enforced. It is the duty of the
truant officer to investigate the absence of all pupils daily, that is, those whose absence has not already been explained.
The Health Officer reported that during the month forty one cases of chicken pox have been reported, eight cases of scarlet fever, one
case of scarletina and one case of diphtheria. The members of the board were rather chagrined to learn that they had unknowingly
permitted a dangerous procedure in the mat
|The Call of June 17, 1927
499 GRADUATED FROM HAVEN HIGH
Four hundred and ninety nine students have received diplomas from the Schuylkill Haven public schools since the first class of 1879. It is interesting to note the steady
increase in the number of graduates in the last several years. It would also be very interesting to know just how many members of these graduating classes are living, how
many reside in Schuylkill Haven and how many are now engaged in a profession or how many are successful business executives. There were very few years since the first
quartet of graduates stepped from public school life into the world life before them, that did not see a class of graduates from our schools. We would welcome and our
readers surely would appreciate if we could republish any article covering any of the very early commencement exercises of our schools. Perhaps some reader can supply
such an article.
1879 4 1895 5 1908 7 1920 22
1880 6 1896 3 1909 11 1921 19
1881 1 1897 6 1910 11 1922 30
1882 2 1898 1 1911 14 1923 24
1883 2 1899 11 1912 11 1924 35
1885 5 1900 15 1913 13 1925 45
1887 1 1901 7 1914 10 1926 38
1889 2 1903 5 1915 14 1927 56
1890 5 1905 5 1916 11 TOT 499
1892 4 1906 10 1918 18
1894 3 1907 6 1919 17
This chart appeared in the article detailing the number of graduates by year. Note single digit class numbers even past 1900 and some years with no graduates. The 500th graduate from Schuylkill Haven did not take
place until 1928, 49 years after the first graduates.
|The Call of July 2, 1926
WORK ON FIELD TO START AT ONCE
Development of the proposed ten acre athletic field for Schuylkill Haven will be begun within the next several days as a result of the meeting of the Athletic Field Association
held in the Town Hall Wednesday evening. The plan for the development of the complete ten acre plot, as submitted by the Pennsylvania Department of Internal Affairs was
approved by the association and the Board of Education will be requested to approve the present program calls for the development of the entire plot but this will require a
number of years. The particular part of the field was ordered to be given attention at once. A committee was appointed to superintend and direct the work which is to be
started immediately. The same. The present program calls for the development of the entire plot but this will require a number of years. A particular part of the field was
ordered to be given attention at once. This part will be a section 250 feet long and 575 feet wide and will include a track, baseball field, football field, spaces for high jumping,
pole vaulting, shot putting, etc. and also grand stands.
An urgent request is made that as many members of the student body and individual citizens as can do so, plan to take part in this preliminary work at once. It will be
necessary to plow some sections of the field, level and fill up other sections. Teams, wagons, tractors, plows, harrows and scoops will be required. The committee in charge
issues a call for volunteers to begin work at once. The chairman of this committee will give full details of what is required. The general plan not only covers the above named
appointments but also tennis courts, volleyball courts, horseshoe courts, swimming pool, bandstand and large recreation park. The plans call for trees to be planted
throughout the grounds and with the work being continued from year to year, it is believed that within a period of five years or possibly three, the field will be completely
The Athletic Field Project is to be thoroughly explained to the general public at a meeting that is to be held within the next ten days or two weeks in the high school
auditorium. Secretary Keith was instructed and authorized to procure at once a speaker for the occasion. At this public meeting the deed for the ground will officially be
turned over to the Board of Education by the Rotary Club. The committee appointed to make arrangements for the public meeting consists of Clinton Confehr, Chairman, Harry
Loy, Harry Goas, Mrs. E. B. Pflueger, and H. E. Oswald. This committee has already outlined an interesting tentative program for the meeting.
The plot of ground has already been staked off by Engineer Butz assisted by members of the student body of the high school and the instructors. The stakes show the
number of feet to be cut and the number of feet and points where fill is required. It is realized the entire ten acres can not be put under development at once. That is the
reason why the Association determined upon one particular section to be first developed. Due announcement of the meeting and details will appear in these columns next
week. The committee appointed by President Stauffer to have charge of the development of the field at this time is as follows: Harry Goas, Chairman, H. A. Reber, F. H. Minnig,
Raymond Hill, E. B. Hill, Harry F. Loy, Fred R. Burkert, Mrs. W. B. Johnston and Mrs. A. R. Maberry.
|The Call of February 20, 1920
HALF OF PUPILS DEFECTIVE
From the report of the medical examination conducted in the public schools of town by the state medical examiner some time ago, it is learned that of the 872 pupils examined,
almost one half the number are afflicted with some defect or the other. The purpose of the examination is to be helpful to the pupils. When the examination is made the
reports are forwarded to the state by the examiner. From the state department is sent, to the parent or guardian of the pupil, a card giving a complete result of the findings of
the examiner. The defects are listed and enumerated and suggestions made for the elimination of the same or improvement of the condition. The idea of the state in
conducting theses examinations and notifying the parents of the measures to be taken is for the improvement in the health of the scholars. There is no obligation on the part
of the parent to comply recommendations, but it is thought that most parents are sufficiently desirous of having their children in as healthy a condition as possible and glad to
take the suggested steps for the improvement of that condition.
The complete report is as follows:
Pupils enrolled: 931 Pupils examined: 872 Defective pupils: 434 Normal pupils: 438
Pupils with: defective vision, 91; defective hearing, 9; unclean teeth, 2; decayed teeth, 372; slightly enlarged tonsils, 74; greatly enlarged tonsils, 23; slight impairment
breathing, 10; marked malnutrition, 1; deformities, 2.
|The Call of April 19, 1918
LOCAL SCHOOL TEACHER CHARGED WITH CRUELTY
Miss Elva L. Bauscher, a teacher in the schools of Schuylkill Haven, was placed under arrest by Constable John Butz on a warrant issued by Squire C. A. Moyer. The warrant
charged assault and battery and cruelty. Mrs. Robert Knarr, of Saint John Street, is the prosecutor. It is alleged that Miss Bauscher abused the daughter of Mrs. Knarr, by
using a thick stick and beating the child until welts showed at nearly a dozen places on the child's person. It is also alleged that Miss Bauscher threatened the child with
another beating if she went home and told the parents of the first beating. The hearing was set for seven o'clock on Tuesday evening, but the father of Miss Bauscher
appeared before Squire Moyer, waived a hearing and entered bail in the sum of $500 for the appearance of his daughter at the May term of Criminal Court. Two local
physicians and several mothers with their children, were at the squire's office, ready to testify against the teacher. The case is one of the first of its kind in this section of the
state and the trial will be watched with a great deal of interest by teachers and school boards throughout the county.
|SCHUYLKILL HAVEN'S FIRST FOOTBALL TEAM
|At left is an original photograph of Schuylkill Haven's first
official football team with two wins and five losses for the
Pictured are from left to right, First Row: Nix Moyer, Dave
Baker, Charles Stauffer, Lester Deibert (Captain), Wellington
Hartman, Fred Reed, Robert Peel
Second Row: William Harner, William Lutz, Stewart Goas, Elmer
Noll, Russell Bubeck, Luther Troutman, George Pettis.
Back Row: Unknown (manager), Edward Burkert, Jack Stanton,
Paul Bowen, Luther Shadle, Quentin Hainley, Hiram Fisher,
Harvey Kline (Coach)
|PICTURE COURTESY OF HARVEY AND MARSHA (REICHERT) COOPER
|The Call of October 4, 1918
GRIPPE CLOSES SCHOOLS HERE
Cold, grippe, rheumatics, headaches, sore eyes, drowsy feeling, pain all over the body and a dozen or more aches and pains seriously interfered with operation of the public
schools of this town this week. Tuesday afternoon the high school was excused for the balance of the week on account of the large percentage of students who were ill and
compelled to remain home. Thursday morning the entire Haven Street building was closed down for the balance of the week because of the additional large number of pupils
absent. In the high school, the absentees Tuesday numbered fifty seven. Not only did the illness effect the pupils but the teachers also succumbed to it and by Thursday
noon seven teachers were reported on the sick list and unable to attend school. They are Misses, Hill, Paxson, Reinhart, Filbert, Heebner, Noecker and Raudenbush. Fore
part of the week, Miss Madeline Brown substituted for Miss Filbert and Mr. W. H. Hartzler for Miss Reinhart. A sufficient number of other substitutes could not be procured to
fill the other vacancies and because of the continued spread of the illness, it was deemed best to close down some of the schools. The epidemic is not confined to any one
particular school building. All four Schuylkill Haven schools are all sending in reports of a large number of absentees. Thursday morning it was intimated all the schools might
be closed down for a week in order to prevent further spread of the disease.
|The Call of February 6, 1920
SLIGHT FIRE IN HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
What might have resulted in a serious conflagration at the town's $80,000 high school building was averted by the prompt action of boys in the neighborhood who discovered
the flames. It is understood an oil stove was being used Sunday in the lavatory on the third floor. The oil stove was being used to prevent the water pipes from freezing. The
oil stove during the early evening exploded. Boys in the vicinity noticed flames leaping to the ceiling. An entrance to the building was made by Paul Clauser, John Luckens
and George Reider and the flames extinguished. One of the desks and seat stored in the room was badly burned. The floor and several other desks and seat were scorched.
The ceiling was badly smoked. It is said that the discovery of the fire a few minutes later would have found a stubborn blaze to fight and from the fact that Sunday evening it
would have been impossible to pump water from the water lines, as there was little or none in them, the entire building might have been destroyed.
|The Call of June 3, 1921
PUPIL TAKES HIS LIFE IN SCHOOL BUILDING
The Schuylkill Haven public, and particularly the school teachers and pupils in the High School building, were shocked Thursday afternoon about one o'clock when it was
announced that one of its pupils, Allen Yost, had committed suicide in the building. It was the first suicide to be committed in the town for a number of years and coming at the
close of the term and with preparations underway for the commencement exercises Thursday evening, it had a tendency to unnerve the speakers of the evening as well as
The discovery was made by Herman Fisher and Isadore Shipe, two schoolmates, who were sent to the wash room to clean ink wells. They immediately notified their teacher,
Miss Mill and other teachers. Dr. Heim was summoned and he cut the body down and found life extinct. Examination showed he had used several strands of ordinary hay
rope to commit the act. He placed the ropes over the steam pipes near the ceiling and standing on one of the lavatories swung himself free. While there was no sign of
suffering upon his face it was quite evident that he strangled to death. His neck did not seem to be broken. The rope had caused a deep mark around his neck but the skin
was not broken. No definite cause has been assigned to the rash act although it is believed worry over his having lost $18.85 might have prompted him to take his life. He
notified his teacher of the loss of the money in the morning and appeared very nervous over its loss. He was told to make a hunt for it about the building and this he did. The
boys loss was also announced in the other school rooms.
On the same morning about eleven o'clock, he made application to Professor Lavers for an employment certificate. Not being able to supply all the necessary information the
Professor asked him to return to the office in the afternoon, when the certificate would be granted. This the boy stated he would do. That the young man had planned his
death with deliberation is shown in the fact that a number of handkerchiefs were found tied together in the toilet. On one of them was the initial A. They showed they had
been subjected to a strain as they were torn and crumbled. Whether he had actually tried his weight on them and having found them insufficient in strength went in search of
rope is not known. However the fact has been established that shortly after 11:00 a. m. he went to the Stanton Mill nearby and asked one of the employees for some rope. The
employee in a joking way said, "Do you want to hang yourself?" and the boy replied, "Yes." He was then shown where a number of pieces of rope used for wrapping about
boxes when brought from the box factory were. The boy examined a number of them and inquired whether they didn't have any thicker rope. He was told that several pieces
put together would be stronger then thicker rope. He then left the building after having carefully selected a number of pieces.
It is believed the act was committed shortly after twelve o'clock when the building had been vacated by pupils and teachers. The discovery was made just a few minutes
before one o'clock. He was about six feet tall and sixteen years of age. The sad news was conveyed to the family by Reverend Balsbaugh. Needless to say they were deeply
affected and the mother in particular being prostrated. One sister, Miss Ruth, survives. The funeral will take place Monday afternoon at two o'clock from his late home. The
deceased was a member of the United Brethren Church and Sunday School. He was in the eighth grade, was a second year pupil and had passed his examination and would
have been promoted. He had many friends and was liked by everyone.
|Pictures from my collection of Schuylkill Haven High School yearbooks from 1920 through 1977
have been posted . Visit and recall your high school memories or find members of your family.
Click on the link at right to visit the YEARBOOKS page.
|Pottsville Republican of November 28, 1885
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN SCHOOLS
Captain James K. Helms, of Schuylkill Haven, has commenced a series of articles on the public schools of that borough, the first of which appears in the "Enterprise" this
morning from which we make the following extract:
The earliest date of a school in Schuylkill Haven, that is a school house, stood where the present principal school building now stands. In the house, the late Professor John
H. Guertler taught pay school from 1836 to 1838, at which time as near as can be ascertained the school law was accepted, the borough then being a small village and a part
and parcel of what was then called Manheim Township. The borough was incorporated by an Act of Assembly, May 23rd, 1841, and the first election under its charter was held
on the second Tuesday of July of that year and on the 18th of July the first school board of the borough met and organized as follows: Charles Dengler and Joseph M. Taylor,
three years; Lewis C. Dougherty and Jacob Deibert, two years; Firman Borden and Benjamin Delong, one year. The officers elected were: President, Charles Dengler;
Secretary, Firman Borden; Treasurer, Daniel Saylor. The board thus organized, at once commenced and meant business and proved it by levying a tax for all purposes
amounting to $650 and then adjourned, each director departing, well prepared to receive the approval and disapproval of the taxpayers. In those days many of the earliest
residents were bitterly opposed to taxation for schools, an opposition not only prevailing here but everywhere. But light prevailed and ultimately all opponents were crushed
|In May and June of 1892, The Call ran a series of biographies of teachers in Schuylkill Haven. Following are ten of those biographies. Note that all but one teacher
is a single woman.
Miss Edith Cassavant was born at Evansville, Indiana. Her parents are Reverend Henry Bradley and Eliza A. Cassavant, both hailing from New England. Her earlier education
was obtained in the schools of the various places to which the Methodist church took her family including North Hector, Elmira, Seneca Falls, Port Byron, Auburn and Lyons, all
in New York and Philadelphia and Spring City in Pennsylvania. While at Spring City she entered the Millersville State Normal School. After graduating thence in 1890, she
taught one year at Chadd's Ford, Pennsylvania and last summer applied for the primary school at this place and is now occupying that position.
Miss Carrie Butz, our High School assistant, was born in Schuylkill Haven. She is the daughter of Jonathan and Hannah Butz. She received her earlier education in the
schools of our town, graduating from the High School on June 12, 1889 and afterward was elected teacher of one of the schools of this place. After teaching seven months
she resigned her position, April 3, 1890, to attend the spring session at Kutztown , from whence she graduated June 25, 1891 and has since held the position of assistant
teacher of the Schuylkill Haven High School.
Miss Annie Stanton was born in Schuylkill Haven October 10, 1872. She is the second daughter of Peter and Bridget Stanton. She received her education in the Schuylkill
Haven public schools and graduated with a class of seven under Professor H. Day Gise on June 4, 1890. She was elected teacher of the advanced primary school on Dock
Street in the same year. She is now teaching her second term.
Miss Margaret Morgan , daughter of George and Margaret Morgan, natives of Wales, was born in Ashland in the spring of 1868. She graduated form the public schools of
Ashland in the spring of 1886. She attended the Millersville Normal School the following winter and taught school at Safe Harbor, Lancaster County in 1888. Going back the
next winter to take the senior course at the Normal School, she completed the course in 1889. In September of the same year she entered upon the duties of her present
Miss Bessie Warner, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth Warner, was born in Schuylkill Haven May 10, 1866. She graduated from the Schuylkill Haven High School in the spring
of 1883 and taught in Wayne Township the following winter. She attended the Keystone State Normal School at Kutztown during the spring term of 1886 and entered upon the
duties of her present position in September of the same year.
Miss Minnie Sherer, daughter of Justus and Jennie Sherer, was born at Schuylkill Haven, April 6, 1867. She graduated from our High School in the spring of 1885 and taught an
ungraded school near McKeansburg the following winter. In September of the same year, she entered upon the duties of her present position.
Miss Emma Noss, was born in Philadelphia, the daughter of Reverend John G. Noss, teaches at our Number 3 school. Her education was obtained in the home and private
schools at Westminster, Maryland, Edgehill Institute of Littlestown, Pennsylvania and the State Normal School at Kutztown, whence she graduated in 1890. Before the latter
course of study she was assistant teacher in a public school near home and since has taught a term at Sacramento, Schuylkill County, and in April, 1891, accepted her present
Miss Minnie Kerkeslager, youngest child of Alexander W. and Minda E. Kerkeslager, was born in Schuylkill Haven, February 11, 1866, is the teacher of our Number 4 School.
She graduated from the Schuylkill Haven High School in the spring of 1885. The first year of her graduation was spent at home. In the spring of 1886 she was elected a
teacher of Primary School Number 10. After teaching two terms in the above mentioned grade, she was promoted to the position which she is now holding. In the spring of
1890 she was examined for a permanent certificate which she was successful in achieving.
Miss Anna Mattson Wintersteen of Port Carbon, daughter of Tobias H. and Margaret M. Wintersteen is the teacher at school Number 5. She attended the schools of Port
Carbon and graduated in the elementary course at the Normal School at Kutztown in 1890. She taught a few months in Brandonville before accepting in January, 1891, a
position to a vacancy in our secondary schools, which place she still holds.
Mrs. Katie R. Weber (nee Heiser) was born August 9, 1864 at Schuylkill Haven, daughter of Franklin B. and Margaret Heiser. She received her education in the schools of
Schuylkill Haven but was on account of ill health, little able to attend before she was nine years of age. She graduated from the High School in May, 1882 at the age of
seventeen, under Professor S. H. Meyer and began teaching the following autumn in the public schools of town. She taught the primary grade for four years and was then
promoted to secondary, which position she has held for six years. She was married February 19, 1891 to John D. Weber.
|The Call of August 31, 1917
NEW $80,000 SCHOOL BUILDING OPENING MONDAY
Appropriate Opening Exercises to be Held at 2:30 O'clock p.m. The Public is Invited and Urged to Attend
John Robert Jones to Make Principal Address. Public Inspection at Close of Exercises.
Schuylkill Haven's new $80,000 school building will be opened on Monday afternoon at 2:30 o'clock when exercises will be conducted in the auditorium, under the auspices of
the School Board and representative men of the community. To these exercises a general invitation is extended to the public. Everything possible was done by the board to
have the entire building furnished and the grounds placed in a presentable condition. They have succeeded to a wonderful extent, but the public is asked not to be too harsh
on the criticisms, as the contractors were retarded by the nonarrival of their goods, due to lack of labor and railroad facilities. Comparatively few of the residents of the town
have any conception of what a grand school building Schuylkill Haven really has and what it will be in another year to come when the finishing touches are placed in and about
Men who have been employed on the building state that there is not another school building in this section of the state that can compare with it. The material entering into its
construction and the workmanship were all of the very best. It is fire proof and all of the plumbing is strictly modern and complies with the state health laws. The furniture is
all practically new and placed to the best advantage of the scholar. The visitor to the building will observe that each room has provision for only forty five scholars of the
lower grades. Thus will the teacher be enabled to give each scholar the same amount of attention. The matter of heat and light were given special attention by the board.
The High School auditorium wherein will be seats for about 160 scholars is a fair example of the other rooms. The visitor will also notice that the concrete floors have been
coated with a dressing, eliminating all dust. The cloak rooms have been fitted with sliding doors and ample provisions have been made for receptacles for all in the line of
small closets. A modern clock system will be installed, run by electricity, with the master clock in the office of the superintendent. This clock will not be installed by the time
the opening of school arrives.
The new building was started in June of the year 1916, the contract having been awarded to the Beard Construction Company of Reading, who in turn awarded subcontracts
such as the excavating, wiring and It faces the south and sets back from the street a distance of about sixty feet. Three entrances to the building were constructed at the
front and one from the rear, doors swinging outwards. One of the front entrances can be used in gaining admittance to the auditorium. The one to the right of the building is
for the girls and the one to the left for the boys. Immediately to the left of the main entrance is located the director's room. To the right is the office of the superintendent and
directly to the rear of his office is the storage room wherein are kept the supplies and directly back of this room is the manual training room. To the rear of the director's room
is a domestic science room. Both the manual training and the domestic science rooms will be fitted up at a later date. Large toilet rooms with washstands are provided to the
rear of the above rooms and provisions have been made for the erection of shower baths. Individual towels have been provided, while drinking fountains are located to the
rear on the first floor.
The one room that will appeal to the visitor is the auditorium proper. Here accommodations have been provided for about 625 persons. More can be accommodated using
chairs. A gallery runs the entire width of the auditorium and faces the stage. It is the intention of Superintendent Hoover to assemble the scholars in the auditorium and after
exercises to dismiss them to their respective rooms. The auditorium at night time will be illuminated by eight separate clusters of electric lights. The stage is erected to the
rear and has a depth of about fourteen feet and is capable of accommodating about sixty persons comfortably. Foot lights have been provided. At either side of the stage are
exits to ante rooms that can be used when a performance is being produced, as dressing rooms. A passageway runs the entire width of the ceiling to the rear of the
auditorium and looking down from this passageway one sees the gym well illuminated but as yet not equipped. This will eventually be done. Three recitation rooms are
located on each side of the auditorium.
On the third floor of the building is located the High School room, without doubt the finest in the building. Here accommodations have been provided for 160 or more
scholars, each scholar sitting by himself or herself. The seats in this room run north and south while blackboards have been constructed on two sides of the room. More than
sufficient light is furnished. Toilets and cloak rooms have been provided for. Directly to the rear of the building on the upper floor are three good sized rooms. The one to
the north will eventually be used as a physical laboratory, the one in the center as a lecture room and the one to the south as a chemical laboratory. All three of these rooms
are well lighted and piped for all purposes.
The cellar is reached either through a hallway from the main entrance or from a door to the rear. Here provisions have been made for the storing of twenty cars of coal if
necessary. Seven furnaces have been installed and the heat from these furnaces will be driven by means of an eight foot fan through flues to each and every room. In all
probability, the storage batteries will be located in the basement, which has all been concreted.
Work of grading and placing the grounds in shape is now on. This may require several more weeks to complete. At the very end of the school property hedges were planted
and these have now reached a height of about six feet and very thick. Once the grading is completed the new High School building will have connected with it a playground
the equal of which there is none in the county.
Up to the present time there has been no change in the program as published in the last issue of The Call. All of the speakers have volunteered to do their part and the
members of the School Board will be on hand to extend every courtesy to the visitors. Visit the new building on Labor Day and then ask yourself how it was that the town got
by for so many years with a worn out antiquated school building.
|The Call of November 19, 1937
NIGHT FOOTBALL INTRODUCED IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Schuylkill Haven was on Monday evening treated to its first night football game. This because the weatherman on Saturday, made it so miserable and unpleasant that the
scheduled Summit Hill game was called off. It went on the stage Monday evening, and that too amidst the glow of strong floodlights from a portable system erected for this
game at different points about the field. It was a treat indeed, for the fans and the student body as well, this first night game. There was an audience of unusual size in
attendance. Both stands were filled to capacity and many stood about the field. Unfortunately, however, many in the audience had "crashed the gate" by crawling in under or
over the top of the fence. Guards stationed for the purpose simply could not combat with the poor sportsmanship shown by many of these people, most of whom were adults.
But nevertheless a great contest was put on with all the frills and thrills of a "big six" classic. Schuylkill Haven, however, came out at the short end of a 53 to 7 score.
Tomorrow, Saturday, Saint Clair will be with us and another splendid game can be looked for. And then, the game of the year, the Thanksgiving Day game, the one that is
always looked forward to with the hope of it being a success in more ways than one. Cressona High will be here with a strong and experienced eleven. The first whistle will
be blown at 9:30 so all fans enjoying a football contest, played with as much enthusiasm as any of the Thanksgiving Day games over the country will be played, ought to be in
his or her seat.
Monday, Summit Hill, with a more experienced team, shattered the defense of the local eleven and scored almost at will. Injuries to the Haven team's important men, in the
early part of the game, simply demoralized the entire string as substitutions had to be made. Fred Deibert, near the end of the first quarter, suffered a broken collarbone. He
was the halfback for the team. Then Marne Bubeck, the fullback, got a crack in the ribs that put him out of the game. He will be out for Saturday's game and probably for the
Thanksgiving Day game too. Bill Stauffer, coach, had his ill luck this season with his men, not having a complete first string of players for but a few games. Ed Bolton, his
center, has been out for the last two games, with a dislocated knee. And despite the injuries, the players have sustained. Bill has been registering victories right along this
season, this being the first defeat.
A groan from fans and students went up early in Monday night's game when after untangling the men, Byerly, the team's star man, was found knocked out good and cold. It
was several minutes before he was able to get to his feet and resume play. He seemed rather groggy for some time and felt the effects of his blow. It was he who scored the
lone tally for Schuylkill Haven on a splendidly executed off tackle play. Bolton booted the extra point. While the score indicates Summit Hill outplayed their hosts in every
department of the game, it must be said to the credit of the Stauffer coached lads that they were game up until the very last minute of play and the fans went home with the
satisfaction of seeing a team play which displayed mighty courage and dauntless spirit.
|EAST WARD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
|Below are eight views of the interior of the old East Ward Elementary School on Union Street.
|At left is the entrance to what was the library and the gathering spot for annual class pictures. At right is the
entry through the east doors showing the building plaque.
|These two views show the rear exits to the playground, monitored in my time there by Mrs. Hess and Mrs.
Sausser, where frequent games of dodge ball and kick ball were played.
|The two views above show the closets where we hung our coats or as my first grade teacher, Janet
Hamilton, referred to them, the cloak room.
|EAST WARD INTERIOR PHOTOS KINDLY PROVIDED COURTESY OF STEVE PONCELET
|This picture from 1885 was
noted on the back as Number 2
in Schuylkill Haven.
The teacher is identified as C. P.
|The Call of October 10, 1930
HIGH SCHOOL FORFEITS FOOTBALL GAME ON UNFAIR CHARGE
Schuylkill Haven high school journeyed to Pottsville High field at 12th Street last Saturday to receive a kind of treatment that savored very much of that which was handed out
four years ago. Athletic relationships were resumed last year when Pottsville was on the schedule at Schuylkill Haven. An eminently satisfactory game was played and
Schuylkill Haven school officials were roundly praised by Pottsville high school officials for the clean game and fair treatment. It was hoped that such would be the results this
The game broke off early in the first quarter when two Pottsville men, Klemas and Cole approached Hinkle on the Schuylkill Haven team and deliberately started a fight by
hitting Hinkle in the face. The latter retaliated and the referee, Mengle, ordered Hinkle pout of the game and penalized the team for half the length of the field. When Captain
Sutcliffe asked the referee what it was all about, the latter replied that they were fighting. Coach Stauffer then demanded that since they were fighting and two were
necessary to fight that the offending Pottsville men should also be put off the field. This the referee refused to do. Coach Hufford when approached by Coach Stauffer to
effect an equitable adjustment of the matter refused to accept or offer any overtures of any kind. That the aggravation came entirely from the Pottsville players was
substantiated by spectators at the game, not even on the Schuylkill Haven side. Schuylkill Haven fans were unanimous in their opinion that the officials provided by Pottsville
were not neutral either in their sympathies or their decisions. Coach Stauffer did not protest the penalty but claimed that both of the offending players should be removed
from the game. The justice and fairness of this stand on the part of Coach Stauffer was backed by the demands of adult Schuylkill Haven fans when they demanded that the
local team be taken from the field. The game thus ended early and was declared forfeited to Pottsville scored 1-0.
Schuylkill Haven fans were provoked at the admission charge made for this game. It was stated that the charge of a dollar was not warranted for a high school game and
especially since only half this amount was charged Pottsville fans last year in Schuylkill Haven. Wherever Coach Stauffer's team has been taken during the past year to play
member teams of the Carbon-Schuylkill Conference, coaches and principals alike have remarked on the clean, wholesome, sportsmanlike brand of football that his men have
played. Rough house tactics have never been taught or condoned by Coach Stauffer and he regrets that he had to pit his men against a team that obviously has not had
Captain Sutcliffe kicked off to Klemas who took the ball down to his goal line, wending his way through the entire Haven team for a touchdown. The try for extra point failed.
Moyer kicked off to Croneberger who ran back from his ten yard line to his thirty mark. On the first scrimmage, Schuylkill Haven called a fake kick, Hainley running around
Hoak's end for twenty yards. On the next play, Haven was penalized five yards for having its backfield in motion before the ball was passed. Pottsville held at this point and
Schuylkill Haven punted, Klemas carrying back Wagner's kick to the Pottsville thirty three yard line. Zimmerman and Cole then made seven yards between them and the latter
punted to Schuylkill Haven's thirty three yard line. Schuylkill Haven then began a steady advance and advanced the ball fifty yards in three rushes to the Pottsville seven yard
line. Here Pottsville called timeout and just as Schwenk, who had been substituted for Croneberger, was about to call signals, the Pottsville men slugged Hinkle and the game
|The Call of August 21, 1931
ELECTED SUPERVISOR OF THE SCHUYLKILL HAVEN PUBLIC SCHOOLS
The election of Professor Paul S. Christman as supervising principal of the Schuylkill Haven Public Schools was received as welcome news to students, teachers and the
general public the fore part of the week. Professor Christman was a teacher in the local high school from the terms of 1922-1926 at which time he was elected to the position
of principal. He filled the latter position quite capably for the past five years and his general knowledge of the work and details of the Schuylkill Haven schools should prove
him quite an effective executive.
Mr. Christman was graduated from Franklin and Marshall College in 1919 with a B. S. degree and he completed a post graduate course at the same college in 1921, where he
earned a Sc. M. degree and the graduate work at Pennsylvania State College he has undertaken leading to an M. E. degree, qualifies him professionally for his recent
promotion. Professor Christman is a member of Phi Sigma Kappa National Fraternity. Mr. Christman has been quite active in every phase of school and community affairs and
his work in the Schuylkill County Schoolman's Club as secretary, has made him well known throughout the county. For three years he was secretary-treasurer of the Schuylkill
Haven Playground Association and for the past four years a member of the executive committee of the Parent Teachers Association and active in its many projects.
As a member of the Schuylkill Haven Rotary Club and Past Commander of Robert E. Baker Post of American Legion, together with other numerous civic committees, he has
always taken a prominent part in community activities. In December of 1929, Mr. Christman was a Schuylkill County delegate to the P. A. E. A. convention held in Reading. In
1926, Mr. Christman was married to Mary E. Runkle, daughter of James M. Runkle, D. D. Ph. D., pastor of Trinity Reformed Church of Altoona and a Past President of the
Potomac Synod of the Reformed Church. Mrs. Christman, a graduate of Hood College, Frederick, Maryland was a teacher for several years in Schuylkill Haven, Saint Clair and
Somerset High Schools. The many friends of the newly elected Supervising Principal have extended felicitations throughout the week and comment is frequently heard to the
effect that the Schuylkill Haven schools will progress in every way under his guidance.
|The Call of December 10, 1937
FIRE DESTROYS THIRD FLOOR OF HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
Worst fire and heaviest loss in years. Third floor rooms of main building together with all equipment destroyed. Damage by water to first and second floors.
Annex not damaged. Loss may reach $75,000,
covered by insurance. Out of town fire companies give valuable aid. Hard fire to battle. Firemen handicapped by bursting hose.
|Fire, Sunday evening, caused a loss estimated at between $50,000 and $75,000 to the Schuylkill Haven High School building on Haven Street. It was the most serious fire
Schuylkill Haven the Grand Hotel fire on Tuesday, March 8, 1932, when that building was almost entirely destroyed. A large part of the third floor of the school building was
entirely destroyed by the fire. Water, seeping through to lower floors, also did irreparable damage to class rooms and equipment, the auditorium and its furnishings. Ceilings
where the plastering does not fall, will have to be torn pout in order to guarantee safety. Some damage by water was done to the recently completed annex of the building,
which was to have been dedicated with appropriate ceremony on Tuesday evening of this week. The fire gave firemen from Schuylkill Haven and surrounding towns a stiff
battle as it had gained considerable headway before the discovery. The high school building housed the senior and junior high school students, 720 in number. It also
housed the industrial arts and home economics departments. Completely gutted, with equipment in the rooms also entirely destroyed, was the result of the entire third floor
of the old portion of the building, which was built in 1917 and remodeled in 1930.
School supplies, school records, equipment in the class rooms on the third floor were entirely and completely destroyed. An unexpected, temporary holiday is now in effect
for students attending school in the high school building. Temporary school facilities will be provided in the annex of the building and the first and second floors of the old
building as soon as possible. It is not likely, however, that this will result before the Christmas holidays for the schools. By the opening day in January, however, it is
expected temporary quarters will have been provided for. It is also most likely that half sessions for the greater number of the high school students for the balance of the
term will be in order.
The loss, during the week, after a very careful checkup and inventory was estimated at $75,000 on the building and $15,000 on the contents and equipment, with coverage of
$120,000 insurance on the old building and $24,000 on contents. An additional $50,000 insurance is carried on the annex or addition to the building. Insurance adjusters were
on the scene as early as ten o'clock Monday morning. Mr. Hughes, architect of the recently completed annex to the building, stated that there is a greater loss to the main
building than the eye can now detect. In addition to the roof, the walls and ceiling on the third floor, the entire electric system as well as the entire heating system, must be
replaced. The boilers in the basement were also badly damaged by water. Ceilings on the other floors may have to be torn down. This because of the fact, that even though
they may not now show signs of weakness at the present time, or very shortly, they present a hazard in that they may later weaken and small pieces or sections drop down
Superintendent Paul Christman and members of the school board have been very much disheartened and discouraged. It required many years in work in completing a
program to provide an unusually high class school plant. One of the last steps in this program had just about been completed. And now much of the work will have to be done
all over again. The school system, as far as the high school building is concerned, is at present completely disrupted. By reason of the entire roof over the main building
having been destroyed, there is also presented a difficult problem for solution. This is because of the winter season being at hand. A temporary roof can not be built as
quickly as it might first appear. If heavy rains occur or there is a heavy snowfall, water will again soak through the floor to the second floor ceilings and cause additional
damage to the rooms. The board members, the entire faculty and all citizens who had opportunity to visit the schools since the annex was completed were more than pleased
with the results. The day of dedication and inspection of the annex and the entire building, because of many changes that had been made in the same, was looked forward to
with a great deal of pride. Now this day has been indefinitely delayed.
THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE The cause of the fire will perhaps always remain a mystery. It has, however, almost definitely established that it started in what is considered the
elevator shaft. This shaft is five feet in width and four feet in length and extends from the first floor to the third floor. It is encased in asbestos blocks and is located in the
southeastern corner of the building or to the front or Haven Street side. Adjoining the elevator was the heat ducts. The elevator was used to convey supplies from one floor
to another. On each off the three floors were wooden doors, four or more feet in height and the full width of the elevator. These doors on the elevator shaft on all three
floors, it is claimed, positively, were locked. Doors to the shaft on the third floor were broken down by janitor Krammes, who directed one of the hose lines from connections
inside the building. The doors to the elevator shaft on both the second and first floors were burned entirely through. Examination showed that these doors had positively
been locked. Whether the fire began in the elevator shaft on the first, second or third floor can not be definitely ascertained. It is believed, however, and so stated by
persons who were on the scene early, that the fire must have started on the second or third floor of the elevator shaft. This however is doubtful. Shooting upward, the
housing above the third floor, which contained the mechanism for the elevator shaft, was quickly burned. The flames from this housing are believed to have communicated
rapidly with the roof. The roof, being of composition construction, ignited and the flames spread rapidly across the entire front of the building and then ate their way down
into the third floor rooms.
Mr. Marshall Hughes, architect for the annex to the high school, stated, Tuesday, at the school board meeting, that the cause of the fire may have been from the heat ducts or
conduits in the basement of the main building. Some of these ducts may have leaked and spontaneous combustion may have resulted. As the heat duct to the upper floors
was built alongside the elevator shaft, described above, the draft may have caused the overheated ducts to ignite woodwork either at the top or bottom of the elevator shaft.
Before the arrival of the foremen, interior hose lines were used on the first, second and third floors but the flames had gained such headway that the efforts of the men in
charge went for naught. The statement has been made that residents in the vicinity of the building thought they smelled smoke all day on Sunday. This may well have been
and the fire may have been smoldering in the elevator shaft and the fumes of the smoke being taken to the roof and the outside through the ventilators, could easily have
been wafted about in the neighborhood.
BUILDING OCCUPIED SUNDAY AFTERNOON However, Sunday afternoon, the Girl's Glee Chorus of the high school, seventy five or more in number, held a rehearsal in the
auditorium and present with them were Miss Schoener, Music Instructor and Principal Paul Hartranft. Both janitors, Scheipe and Krammes were in the building Sunday
afternoon. As late as ten o'clock Sunday evening, Principal Hartranft was in the building. He happened to stop in to place a package in the office of the superintendent on the
first floor. He smelled no smoke. The fire was discovered about ten thirty.
Janitor Krammes was in the building about nine o'clock to bank the fires for the evening. He passed through the lower floors but smelled no smoke. The gymnasium was
occupied Saturday evening for the basketball game. As spectators attending the game had access to all parts of the building, it was thought a carelessly dropped cigarette,
may have caused the fire. This, however, is hardly likely, as it would have broken out much sooner under such circumstances.
ROOF BURNS FIERCELY The metal lath or wooden joists for the third floor ceiling and the boards used for the sub foundation of the roof, with an air space between the two
provided splendid material for the flames, which shot sky high and could be seen for many miles in the distance, despite the snowstorm at the time. Furniture, equipment and
records from the superintendent's office in the front of the building on the first floor, were early moved to the homes of neighbors nearby. They were later taken into the
VALUABLE RECORDS DESTROYED The records and equipment in Principal Paul Hartranft's office on the second floor were almost completely destroyed. There were some
filing cases containing important records that were removed before the flames reached the office. Rescue work had to be discontinued because sections of the roof began
to fall in and it was feared that the entire roof would crash in at any moment. During the fire and after it had gotten under control, a visit to the auditorium by the Call man
showed that water was pouring from the ceiling onto the first floor and at a number of points and in good sized streams. It was also pouring down the stairways on both the
right and left of the auditorium, from the third and second floors to the first floor. The water carried with it debris which was washed over the floors of the lower rooms. The
floor of the auditorium looked like a large pool of water and this water too was gushing along the corridor toward the connecting corridor to the annex. Monday afternoon,
upon the occasion of another visit by the Call man, water was still dropping from the ceiling but not in as large quantities. Many of the seats in the auditorium were covered
with water as well as the floor. The handsome heavy plush curtain on the stage and the drops and state settings escaped damage by water. The piano had been removed
from the auditorium on Sunday evening as soon as the fire was discovered. During the height of the fire, neighbors in the vicinity of the school building set to work to making
coffee and sandwiches and in a short time the same was being received from a number of different sources and eagerly received by the firemen. Homes too were thrown
open and refreshments served. The entire neighborhood was scoured for bread and meat to make sandwiches. The firemen certainly appreciated the kindness, as the rain
and snow and spray from the hose lines had many men wet to the skin. Later the temperature took a considerable drop and the coffee was then even more welcome.
DISCOVERY OF FIRE Discovery of the fire was made about ten thirty. It was not until two thirty o'clock that it could be considered that the same was under control. The
pumpers were stopped about eight thirty and permission given to roll in the hose lines of several of the companies. Low pressure streams were then taken through to the
upper floor rooms and flames that broke out intermittently were fought from close quarters. It was not until 6:15 o'clock that it would be considered that the fire was entirely
extinguished. The Rainbow Hose Company remained on the scene until nine in the morning. The alarm for the fire was sent in from Box Number 12 which is at the corner of
Haven and Hess Streets. Several alarms were also sent to the light plant by telephone. The fire, when first discovered, seemed to be confined to the south end of the roof of
the main building. But this was after it had worked to the roof via the elevator shaft. Men fought it at this point for a time and just when it was thought to have been under
control, it appeared as if the entire roof became a flaming furnace, all at one time. The firemen were forced to beat a hasty retreat and direct further efforts from the ground.
OUTSIDE COMPANIES CALLED When it was seen that outside assistance was necessary, Cressona, Orwigsburg and Pottsville fire companies were contacted. Pottsville sent
the Good Intent Company. They operated with two lines of hose from the plug at Dock and Broadway. They also sent eighteen men in four autos from the American Hose. The
Yorkville pumper was sent by Pottsville and stationed in front of the building. The pumper from Cressona Fire Company Number One pumped water from the creek to the rear
of the electric light plant. When water in the creek became low, word was telephoned to the County Almshouse and the wickets were raised and more water was left into the
creek. The Good Will truck from Cressona with hose and pumper were also on hand. The Liberty Fire Company pumper operated on Haven Street by the Maberry residence.
The Schuylkill Hose Company pumper operated from the plug opposite the electric light plant. The Rainbow Hose Company operated its pumper from the corner of Paxson
Avenue and haven Street. Had it not been for the prompt assistance sent to Schuylkill Haven from the surrounding towns, the entire structure would have been destroyed.
Several chemical lines were put into service promptly on arrival but only for a short time as it was seen they proved of little effect. During the height of the fire there were at
least nine streams of water being played on the burning building from front, rear and both sides.
FIREMEN HANDICAPPED Firemen were handicapped on arrival, it is said, by a low water pressure and then again after hose lines were laid and higher pressure procured,
hose lines of the local companies burst, one after another. It was impossible to make a count of the number of hose lines that burst. One of the local firemen told the Call man
that at least seven sections of hose from the different companies went out. This greatly delayed the work of fighting the flames and permitted the same to gain a considerable
headway. Efforts of the firemen were also handicapped in a great measure by reason of the fact that the windows on the third floor of the building were of the swing type.
They were in two sections, each swinging into the building or out. The heat was not sufficient to crack the glass nor was the water pressure sufficient to do it. As the result,
when water was played on the windows, the same would turn in and then out and in this way much valuable time was lost as only a small percentage of the water from the hose
got into the burning rooms on this floor. The firemen all fought desperately hard to keep the fire from communicating to the new part of the building. They succeeded and
except for the water that drained through the corridors and ran onto the floor in several rooms, there was no damage. The floor in the gymnasium in the annex was covered
with gym mats and other floor coverings to prevent any possible damage if the water from the corridors got into it. There was no damage from this source.
DAMAGE IN MANY CLASS ROOMS A visit to the scene of the fire late Monday afternoon presented a picture of ruin complete in every way, at least on the third floor of the
building. Water got into several of the rooms in the new addition by reason of the fact that it ran through the corridor from the main part of the building. At one time there was
ten inches of water in the boiler room of the old building. There was no water in the gym floor nor in the stock room across the hallway. The science room in the new addition
also had water on the floor. There was water on the floor in the locker rooms in the new addition and water was dropping from the class rooms on the second floor above the
SECOND FLOOR DAMAGE On the second floor of the new addition there was water in the rooms used as a laboratory and water had been dropping at different places from
the ceiling. Water also came down along the wall in this room. In the biology room on the second floor of the new addition, there was water on the floor, ceiling and walls. On
the third floor of the new addition, Miss Reinhart's room, there was water on the floor. On this same side of the building in an adjoining room and used as a music room, there
was water on the floor.
THIRD FLOOR COMPLETELY GUTTED The third floor of the main building was completely gutted. First of all, the roof over the entire section was completely burned and fell in
upon the third floor rooms. Then there was the girls toilet room and the boys rest room in which the equipment was completely destroyed. All the desks and equipment in the
room known as Mr. Imboden's home room was entirely destroyed. This room faces Paxson Avenue. In the room occupied by Miss Heim, Paxson Avenue and Haven Street end
of the building, all the equipment and records were destroyed. The new library room, containing hundreds and hundreds of books and equipment, together with furniture just
placed therein within the last several weeks were entirely destroyed. This room is in the front of the building. An adjoining room was the librarian's work room and all
equipment in this room was entirely destroyed. Another large room on the third floor was the typing room in which all of the equipment was destroyed. The steel tables as
well as the typewriters and steel filing cabinets presented a sorry pile of debris by reason of the twisted and melted and grotesque shapes. Over a large section of this room
had fallen glass from the skylight. On the third floor, Hess Street side, in the room in which English was taught by Miss Hoy, all furniture, equipment and records were
destroyed. In the Commercial department room where Mr. Young taught, everything was ruined. Across the hall, two rooms known as high school home rooms were located.
Here all the desks and equipment were entirely destroyed. Then there was the room in which Miss Bausum gave instruction. All of the equipment in this room was destroyed.
THE SECOND FLOOR On the second floor of the main building, water was dropping through the ceiling to the floor in the room taught by Miss Seltzer. This room is on the
Paxson Avenue side of the building. In the room occupied by Miss Fredericks, the floor was covered with water that was dripping onto the desks from the ceiling. In Mr.
Stauffer's room, also on the Paxson Avenue side of the building, water was dripping from the ceiling. Opening the doors and looking into what was known as the balcony of
the auditorium, we found a great deal of water dripping from the ceiling onto the seats and then onto the main auditorium. On the second floor, water was dripping through
the ceiling onto the equipment in the room occupied by Miss Sherer. This was also true in the room occupied by Mrs. Gilbert. In the room in which Miss Ehly taught, the
ceiling had already fallen in several sections as a result of the terrible soaking from the floor above. In an adjoining room where Miss Brown taught, water was coming
through the ceiling. In the art room where Miss Dorothy Lessig taught, which room is located at the front corner of the north side of the building on the second floor, the
windows had been burned and broken on both sides of the room. Many of her records and some of her equipment was ruined by water. Water was dripping from the ceiling
onto the desks and floor. On the first floor, Hess Street side of the building, was a large room occupied as the manual training department. From this room had been removed
all of the expensive machinery, chairs and benches. The tools in a large cabinet were not damaged in any way. Water was dropped into this room from the ceiling.
MEN WORKED HARD School directors, members of the faculty and citizens worked hard, fast and for hours trying to remove whatever equipment was possible from the rooms
on the lower floor, thus saving it from damage. Superintendent Christman, who had retired for the night, was notified of the fire by friends, after it had been burning for some
time. He lost no time in getting to the scene from his home, blocks away and directed the work of salvaging and remained on hand until the firemen left. Police of the entire
force were on duty, directing and diverting traffic off of Haven and Dock Streets. This was no easy task but had to be done because hose lines had been laid across Dock
Street at Broadway and Haven Street was filled with ten pieces of apparatus and a multitude of hose lines. Many people came from all parts of town to watch the progress of
the fire. Because if the snow and rain, however, they did not remain very long. All day Monday and during the week, large numbers of people from Schuylkill Haven and from
out of town visited the scene.
|The Call of December 24, 1937
RAIN SOAKS THROUGH UNROOFED HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING
Special Christmas programs were given in the public schools this week. In the High School building the juniors gave their program and the seniors had their program in the
afternoon. Both of the programs were given in the gymnasium. It looked ever so unusual to see several hundred pupils perched on the bleacher seats used for basketball
games. Nevertheless, this was necessary because the fire of several weeks ago made this imperative. The pupils, both of the junior and senior high have been taking their
inconveniences and discomforts rather graciously and making the best of their half sessions. This week the juniors attended morning sessions and the seniors half sessions
were in the afternoon. It was rather strange to notice the seniors coming from school in the light of street lamps. One may see this in college towns but it's quite new here.
Wednesday was the last day of school for the 1937 year. Next session will be Monday, January 3rd. The out of town teachers left early Wednesday afternoon for their homes
to spend the Christmas days with their relatives.
The rain the latter part of the week resulted in another down pouring of water through all the floors of the unroofed main building. Even in the auditorium on the first floor,
the water came through the ceiling in almost as heavy torrents as on the occasion when firemen were pouring water into the building from six streams on Monday , December
6th at three in the morning. A portion of the ceiling has now fallen in the auditorium and it looks as though there would be more of it dropping down almost any time. Ceilings
and walls in other rooms of the main building, although they had been sort of dried out, were also given another good wetting with the rain of last Friday and Saturday. As yet,
no adjustment of the fire loss has been made. No representative of the insurance companies has been sent on to inventory the loss as based on rebuilding costs. The board
has its architect and contractor all ready to figure on rebuilding costs but must wait action of the insurance adjusters before any move in the actual rebuilding can be taken. In
the meantime, with every successive rain or snowfall, freezing and varying temperatures, and without a roof on the building, it may be expected that further damage will be
done to every wall, ceiling and flooring every room of this unroofed portion.
|The Call of March 6, 1942
TEACHERS SEEK SALARY INCREASE
A petition signed by all of the classroom teachers of the Schuylkill Haven School District requesting an increase in salary was presented to the board of school directors at the
regular meeting of that body on Monday evening. The teachers were represented at the meeting by William K. Stauffer, W. Edward Brown and Miss Emma Berger of the junior
and high school and elementary grades. In petitioning the board of directors for the increase, the teachers called attention to the general increase in the cost of living and
the fact that teachers salaries are lagging behind while those of industrial workers are increasing. The petition also stated that in times of economic stress, teacher salaries
are the first to be cut. Accompanying the petition was a graph showing the small increase in salaries as compared to other workers. The petition was turned over to the
appropriate committees of the board for possible action when the budget is prepared for the coming fiscal year.
|The Call of June 1, 1945
FIRE THIS MORNING CAUSES DAMAGE TO HIGH SCHOOL AUDITORIUM
A peculiar fire this morning at 7:30 o'clock caused a slight damage to the practically fire proof high school auditorium. Starting behind the metal grill work to the right of the
stage in a small room containing only a loud speaker and ventilating shaft and fan, the flames shot through the grill work to the ceiling of the auditorium. The composition
ceiling, a special acoustical Armstrong product, caught on fire and burned in a square section between girders above the ventilating grill. Part of the ceiling fell on the
wooden seats below. One seat was destroyed and several others scorched.
The fire was discovered by custodian Ira Krammes, who upon entering the building in the morning, smelled the smoke and located the fire. An alarm was turned in and the
town's fire trucks rushed to the building. Fire Chief Claude Sausser directed a booster hose to be played upon the burning ceiling. The moldering ceiling boards were pulled
down to make certain the fire was extinguished. Evidently started by faulty wiring in the loud speaker and ventilating chamber, the fire destroyed the loud speaker, melted the
grill work, the ceiling and one seat below and caused slight smoke and water damage. Above the composition ceiling is concrete. The only burnable parts of the auditorium
are the ceiling, seats and stage. The fire's coming at the end of the school term will mar the beauty of the auditorium as the setting for the baccalaureate and commencement
exercises, as it is doubtful whether the damage can be repaired before that time. Classes were held n the building today although there was a slight delay in getting classes
running according to the regular schedules followed.
|The Call of September 13, 1946
CROWD OF 2500 SEES HAVEN HIGH WIN OPENER UNDER NEW LIGHTS
Night football under the newly erected lights at Rotary Field was inaugurated last night in a blaze of glory as well as bright lights as Haven high school scored a smashing
victory 27-12 over Porter Township in the season's opener. A record crowd of approximately 2,500 jammed the bleachers and the sidelines and several hundred others along
the Main Street highway above the field watched Coach Stauffer's charges roll up four touchdowns. J. Cresswell and Gerald Hill shared the scoring honors for Haven with
Witman kicking the three conversions, while Paul and Russelavage scored for Porter.
Haven opened the game by kicking off to Porter's twenty yard line from where the Ports charged twenty five yards before the Blue and Gold recovered the ball on a fumble.
Haven claimed first down on the next play but after two attempts at passing, Porter got the ball on their own thirty five on downs. Porter's whirlwind halfback, Paul,
spearheaded an advance of sixty five yards before he was stopped within the Haven ten yard line and the first quarter ended with Haven holding the ball on its own thirty yard
In the second quarter Haven was stopped dead for four plays and then Porter took over after a twenty five yard punt. On the third play, Dep Paul, Porter's number 22, romped
forty eight yards to score standing up. Immediately after the Porter kickoff, Haven's Cresswell took off and on eleven plays the Haven team advanced sixty one yards for a
touchdown by Cresswell after which Witman kicked the conversion. The half ended after a fumble sponsored by Porter which set them back fifteen yards. During the halftime
the Haven band performed under the direction of Earl C. Unger.
Porter kicked off to Haven to open the second half and from the Haven thirty, Cresswell sped down the field seventy yards, with some excellent blocking to get him through
for a touchdown. Following a fifty five yard kickoff by James Berger, Haven's sub left end, Porter was topped on its nineteen yard line and tried a punt which was effectively
blocked and Haven recovered it on the Porter twenty three, from where Hill advanced it to the one yard line and scored a touchdown on the next play, with Witman
converting. After receiving the kick from Haven, Porter's Paul made a dash of fifty yards to Haven's thirty five where Witman tackled him. An unlucky fumble right after a first
down lost the ball for the Blue and White and the Havenites started another touchdown advance which included a fifteen yard run bu Hill. He carried the ball over to score the
third touchdown for Haven in the third quarter. Porter was on its thirty yard marker when the fourth quarter got underway and on the first play, Russelavage charged twenty
yards to be followed on the next play by a twenty two yard romp by Paul which put them on Haven's twenty yard line, from where, after a short pass, and two line bucks,
Russelavage broke through and scored on an eight yard dash. Haven hit a stone wall after the kickoff from Porter and lost the ball on downs, Porter broke the Haven wall for
an eighteen yard pass and for three plays was within five yard of the Haven goal line but it lost the ball on downs and Haven was on its way for another score when the game
ended, Haven leading 27-12.
|Pottsville Republican of December 14, 1912
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN'S SCHOOL BUILDING
Erected Over 62 Years Ago And Is Still In Good Condition
Schuylkill Haven's main school building, which was erected in 1850, is one of the very oldest school buildings in the county. When this building was erected and later on
remodeled, there evidently was no thought of making any provisions for a high school, and in consequence, we are now using rooms for high school purposes that are not
fitted for such use. There is not even a cloak room connected with the whole high school and much valuable space in the main room is taken up by a library case and the
cases containing the geographical collection on exhibit. Both these should be in another room. Sixty two years ago, Schuylkill Haven's main school building was erected on
High Street. This was the year 1850, when probably there was no, or very little, high school work done. In those days the boys and girls had all they could do to master the
elements of an education in the few months a year given to improve their minds. In 1876 the structure was rebuilt, after which there were eight rooms in the building. The
wings were added about 1894.
Outside of four rooms in this building, all the rooms are too small for the large schools crowded into them and they are necessarily crowded too full of seats and desks.
Recitation seats are placed so close to the front blackboard in some rooms that there is no room left between the class and the blackboard in which the teacher can work with
her class. In these cases, the teacher must find some small corner in which to sit or stand while the recitation progresses. No doubt, these rooms met both the requirements
and the ideals of the day in which they were constructed but present conditions make them really uncomfortable. With smaller schools, these rooms can still be used for a
makeshift but without a new building somewhere, no relief can be had in diminishing the size of the schools.
Not only in size are many of the rooms lacking but also in ventilation and light. The State department of Health, last year, after receiving the medical inspector's report,
notified the school board that these rooms had neither sufficient air space nor light. This can not be said of the rooms of our newer building which have high ceilings and
plenty of light. With windows in front or at both sides of the pupils, there are cross lights which are quite injurious to the pupils' eyes. In the large rooms mentioned
previously, the light is especially poor. No other system of ventilation existing in this building but by the manipulation of the windows, the air of the rooms often becomes foul
on cold days because the windows may not be lowered on account of drafts of air. While several of the second floor rooms are hard to get and keep warm in cold weather, the
lower rooms are entirely too warm and it is impossible to keep them at a proper temperature without subjecting the children in harmful drafts. This one condition, we believe,
is responsible for most of the sickness of children in room Number 12.
These conditions would be eliminated in a new building. In it we would have lights only on the left side and at the rear of the pupils. Sufficient light would be provided for and
the ventilation and heat would be provided for by a modern and satisfactory system. All these things are possible and, more than that, are required by law. The size of the
rooms would likewise be properly regulated and enough of them provided so that schools would not have to be so large. With the multiplicity of branches and the extent of
school courses now required, it is quite evident that a teacher can not properly instruct nor correctly train forty or fifty pupils under her charge at one time. It is utterly
impossible and it is unreasonable to expect it. We have nine schools below the high school that have forty four or more pupils. Returning to the high school rooms. These
are entirely too small, improperly heated, lighted and ventilated, inadequate in several ways. The best work can not be done in them. Equipment and apparatus can not be
properly stored away or conveniently displayed. How a new building would improve these conditions will be shown in future articles.
|The Schuylkill Haven Alma Mater was written by two 1928 graduates, Lee Berger, the music and Eda Peterson,
the words. Most Schuylkill Haven students know the first verse. Here are the three verses of the song .
|The Call of April 8, 1949
SCHOOL BOARD ACQUIRES 25 ACRES ADJOINING ROTARY FIELD BY TRADING PURCHASED FARM
The Schuylkill Haven School District acquired a plot of approximately twenty five acres of land adjoining Rotary Field from the Schuylkill County Institution District this week,
deed of the property having been transferred today. This piece of ground has long been sought by the school district for future use but was not available unless an
approximately comparable area of arable land could be exchanged for it with the Schuylkill County Commissioners, since the Institution District cannot divest itself of any farm
land needed for the support of the county institution.
Accordingly, the school board found it possible to purchase approximately twenty seven acres of farm land from William C. Moyer at a total cost of $10, 820, which land has
been deeded to the Institution District and in turn, the Institution District through the County Commissioners has deeded to the school district as an outright purchase the
entire acreage bounded by East Main Street, the Pennsylvania Railroad, Rotary Field and what may eventually be an extension of Grant Street. This property is a most valuable
acquisition. It will serve as a means for agricultural projects when vocational agriculture is added to the high school curriculum, a pressing need which has been intensified
by the rapid increase in high school tuition pupils during the past few years. Under present school legislation, consolidation of school facilities will proceed rapidly in the next
few years which means that the school district must be in a position to expand its facilities to take care of the pupils that will undoubtedly seek admission to local schools in
the coming year.
With the erection of the high school building at its present location in 1917, opportunity was afforded then to acquire all of the land lying between the south boundary of the
present building and playground at Hess Street. That was not done, with the subsequent necessary modification of plans for high school plant expansion. The purchase of
this additional land will ensure adequate means for expanding school facilities to meet the growth of the community in the next twenty five years as well as to conform with the
requirements of the rapid trend in Pennsylvania toward larger administrative and school attendance areas. It is possible that future increase in secondary school enrollment
in and about this district may necessitate the erection of a junior high school building, entirely apart from the present junior-senior high school.
Augmenting the as yet incompletely developed Rotary Field area, the new land, in addition to instructional facilities, may also afford a means for expanding general
recreational facilities for the community. This might include baseball, an auxiliary practice field for football teams, etc. Aside from the means for future expansion of school
facilities, the land value involved is very considerable, as appraised by real estate experts, which must be regarded as considerably in excess of the actual cost involved in
exchange of the two parcels of land. Members of the school board have been commended for their farsightedness in recognizing the need for acquiring this property and
acting promptly thereon. It goes very far to compensate for the ground which was not purchased when the new high school building was erected in 1917.
|The Call of June 29, 1951
TWO STRUCTURES ADDED AT REAR OF HIGH SCHOOL
An agriculture building has been erected and work on a new cafeteria is rapidly progressing at the rear of the high school. The $35,000 agriculture building is made up of two
rooms, a class room which seats about forty and a work shop. Painted walls and concrete flooring finish the interior of this cinder block construction. Both buildings are of
cinder block and are heated through radiant heat which goes from the main building to the agriculture building and then into the new cafeteria.
The $45,000 cafeteria will be made up of a modern kitchen and space for tables that will seat two hundred. It is expected that five hundred students from the elementary and
secondary schools will be fed daily. The kitchen section will be tiled to the ceiling while the floors and ceiling of the remainder will also be tiled and the walls painted.
Schneider and Davis, general contractors for both structures, has started the walls of the cafeteria and it is expected this building will be put to use in December. The
agriculture building has been in use since last November. Bair and Shuey are the electrical contractors while Losch Boiler Sales Company has charge of the heating and
plumbing. The cafeteria equipment will be purchased from the Pottsville Showcase Company.
|The Call of October 12, 1951
NEW CAFETERIA OPENS AT HIGH SCHOOL
The beautiful new modern cafeteria which has been erected at the rear of the high school building was opened to the students at Wednesday noon. Potato salad, hot dogs
and buns, chocolate pudding and milk made up the menu for the first day. Two hundred fifty students can be accommodated at one time in this spacious well lighted
structure. The walls are made up of cinder blocks which have been sprayed with pink paint and white sound proof tile covers the ceiling. Sections of black, brown and green
marbleized tile cover the floor. Recessed lights and ventilators have been placed in the ceiling.
A regular cafeteria bar is located near the rear of the building and directly behind it is an ice cream freezer and a long work table. Under the work table there is storage space
for the pots and pans and a large electric mixer is located at one end. Running parallel with the table and at the very rear there is a metal sink, a Magic Chef heavy duty gas
stove and a double door Frigidaire. Also at the rear of the building, a section is set off for a large walk in freezer and a supply closet. Also in this part is the electric
dishwasher and a Coolerator deep freeze. The walls behind the cafeteria bar and in this separate section have been covered with green tile board. Part of the wall facing the
cafeteria dining area has been left open. Through this the students can pass their used dishes to an attendant who scrapes them and puts them in the automatic dishwasher.
The handling of the dishes and helping behind the food bar is done by some of the students. The cooking and preparing of the meals is handled by Mrs. Charlotte Sausser,
Mrs. Esther Webber and Mrs. Mary Bair.
The sound system which enables announcements to be heard in all parts of the high school building has been extended to the cafeteria. An electric water cooler has been
placed near the cafeteria bar for the convenience of the students. Bids were received and contracts awarded for the construction and equipping of the cafeteria on April 30.
Work was begun almost immediately so that the project costing better than $40,000 would be completed by the time the fall term of school began. Unavoidable delays in
procuring materials delayed completion of the building until Wednesday, almost five weeks after school started.
Although the final work was completed only the day prior to the opening of the cafeteria, the first days operations ran smoothly and a total of 386 students and eight adults
were served. John Whalen had the distinction of being the first student served in the new cafeteria. The first day's meal was a bargain for the students. They pay a quarter.
Eating in a restaurant they would pay that much for the hot dog and milk alone, while the potato salad and pudding would add another quarter. Thursday's menu was chicken
rice soup, sandwich, muffins and milk proved to be just as popular with the students as the opening day menu. The meals served the students are classed as a Class A lunch
for which the state reimburses the local school district nine cents for each lunch served. The school keeps a separate cafeteria fund and the amount paid by the students
plus the amount received form the state permits the cafeteria to be self supporting.
Meals are planned by Miss Regina Lutz, home economics teacher. The school served hot school lunches before the new cafeteria was placed in operation but because space
was limited, the number taking advantage of this facility had to be restricted. Now the cafeteria is open to all students of the high school and three grade school buildings.
The large well lighted building was erected by the contracting firm of Schneider and Davis of Pottsville, whose base bid was $24,350 with several alternates. Bair and Shuey
installed all the electrical wiring and supplied the lighting fixtures recessed in the ceiling at a cost of $2,869.
The cafeteria, like to vocational agriculture building has radiant heat through hot water pipes embedded in the concrete base floor. The hot water for the heat comes from the
central boilers located in the high school building. Losch Boiler Sales Company of town installed the heating system and also did all the plumbing work. The bid price was
$2,890 for heating and $1,970 for plumbing. The stainless steel kitchen equipment, cafeteria bar, walk in locker, stove, dishwasher, work tables and other kitchen units as well
as the refrigerator, deep freeze, water fountain and ventilating equipment were installed by the Pottsville Showcase Company of Pottsville.
The new cafeteria is another forward step in the steady progress being made by the local school district under the supervision of Paul S. Christman, supervising principal.
Last year the school added a vocational agriculture building and started work on the baseball diamond and football practice field located beyond Rotary Field. The foresighted
acquisition of a large ploy of ground east of the school from the county several years ago gives the school ample space for its expansion program. Schuylkill Haven may well
be proud of its modern school system.
|The Call of December 11, 1953
HAVEN WINS CONFERENCE CROWN
HAFER AND RHEN EACH SCORE TWICE TO GIVE HURRICANES 28-6 RECORD BREAKING WIN
The Schuylkill Haven Hurricanes won the Eastern Conference title by defeating the Red Raiders of Scranton Tech, 28-6, at Rotary Field, Saturday afternoon, December 5. The
Hurricanes set a conference record by scoring 28 points, the most ever scored in a championship game. Don Hafer, Haven's powerhouse fullback and Ron Rhen, Haven's
sticky fingered end each scored two touchdowns. "Doc" Vitelli, captain of the championship Hurricanes, scored three extra points on a bit of beautiful faking and running.
Russ Smith, Scranton's triple threat quarterback scored the lone touchdown for the Red Raiders.
The first quarter was a scoreless period with both teams playing excellent defensive ball. Rhen punted on last down but Russ Smith fumbled for the Red Raiders and Hugh
Hoke, playing great ball all season, fell on it to give the Hurricanes possession. The Red Raiders held again however, and the Hurricanes again were short on the first down.
Throughout the entire first quarter, the ball seesawed back and forth with both teams holding fast. Early in the second period, however, the Hurricanes started to roll. A punt
from Russ Smith was downed on the Haven nine yard line. From this spot, the Hurricanes drove ll the way across the field for a touchdown. Don Hafer went over from the
Scranton one for the score. "Doc" Vitelli scored the extra point on a reverse. Shuey's kickoff was taken by the Red Raider's
fullback, Murrazzi, and returned to the Scranton forty two. Two plays later Perih fumbled in the Red Raiders backfield and Ron Rhen, crashing in from his end spot, scooped
up the ball and raced the thirty nine yards for the score. Don Hafer added the extra point on an off tackle smash. The half ended with the Hurricanes out in front 14-0.
In the second half, after an exchange of punts, the Red Raiders drove all the way to the Hurricane eleven. Then a penalty pushed them back but they came right on through
again and pushed to the Haven six. Smith faded to pass on last down and Murrazzi caught the ball over the goal line but out of bounds. The Hurricanes took over but on first
down, a fumble on a hand off was recovered by Burke, Scranton right guard on the Haven nine yard line. Four plays later the Red Raiders scored their only touchdown with
Smith pushing over on a quarterback sneak from the three. Smith's placement try was wide. The Hurricanes were not to be stopped, however, and immediately after receiving
Smith's kickoff, started a drive which carried seventy five yards in ten plays. Hafer scored from the one yard line and Vitelli added the bonus point on a reverse. The third
quarter ended with the Hurricanes in front, 21-6.
In the fourth quarter a pass from Smith was intercepted beautifully by Bob Drey and returned to the Scranton forty four yard line. In two straight plays Don Hafer moved the
ball to the thirty one for a Haven first down. The Hurricanes then surprised the Scranton defense by sending Drey back to pass. For two straight quarters, the Hurricanes had
not fired a pass but then Bob Drey pitched a beautiful thirty one yard pass to Ron Rhen for the score. "Doc" Vitelli again reversed around the end and rang up the extra point
on a clever bit of faking and sidestepping. Minutes later in the final period it looked as if the Hurricanes were going to score again when they drove to the Red Raiders eight
yard line. Then a fifteen yard penalty, the only Hurricane penalty in the game sent them back to the Scranton twenty two. From there Drey faded to pass but his toss to Nick
Lascala was intercepted by Russ Smith. Four downs later Smith got off a high but very short boot to the Red Raiders twenty four. Hafer brought the ball to the fourteen on an
end sweep and Schaeffer plunged to the twelve when the game ended. The Hurricanes were out in front, 28-6.
|The Call of January 28, 1954
TOWN SHOWS APPRECIATION BY GIVING NEW CAR TO COACH WILLIAM K. STAUFFER
Schuylkill Haven showed its appreciation to a championship team and to Coach Bill Stauffer for his twenty five years of successful coaching by presenting the veteran coach
with a new Packard four door sedan and the team members with jackets and a miniature coal football. Between three and four hundred sports fans and friends of the coach
and his 1953 championship team turned out to pay tribute to them last Friday night at a celebration banquet at the Legion hut. The presentation of the keys to the new
automobile to Coach Stauffer by Joseph Manbeck caught the county's dean of coaches completely by surprise. Stauffer was immediately taken to the gleaming 1954 Packard
parked outside a side exit and he obliged photographers by getting behind the wheel and by standing with his wife and members of the committee alongside the car.
Returning to the stage still overwhelmed by the gift bestowed upon him, Stauffer responded briefly with words of thanks.
The successful affair was opened by Paul Hartranft calling upon reverend Marlin T. Schaeffer for the invocation. He then introduced Jack Reese, who recently announced his
retirement as coach at Saint Clair, who served as toastmaster. His spontaneous humor immediately put the crowd in a good mood and set the stage for later proceedings.
Hugh H. Hoke, president of the local school board, welcomed the guests and introduced the other members of the school board. Also introduced were the members of the
committee responsible for the dinner and collecting the funds which made possible the purchase of the gifts. They were Hiram L. Fisher Jr., Clayton Turner, Russell Snyder,
William Hess, Joseph Manbeck, E. Walter Hinkle and William J. Harner. Colonel James T. L. Schwenk, who was a member of Coach Stauffer's first championship team twenty
five years ago was the speaker for the evening. He attended Albright College and then went on to west Point where he became captain of the Army football team. He is now
graduate manager of athletics at West Point. In his remarks, Schwenk acclaimed the 1953 team as the best that Coach Stauffer has produced. He compared football of twenty
five years ago with the football of today pointing out that players today play a more exacting game while those of twenty five years ago played in a general way with each man
using his own judgement in stopping the opposing team. Taking advantage of the absence of Rip Miller of Navy, who was unable to come because of a heavy snowstorm,
Colonel Schwenk stated that the Army was looking for boys from this section. Although the major portion of his talk was on football, in keeping with the occasion, he closed by
urging the boys to realize the importance of keeping up with their studies. He told them that studies were more important to them than sports in preparing them for the game
of life. The presentation portion of the program was started with Lieutenant Colonel Schwenk presenting the Eastern Conference trophy for the 1953 champions to Paul E.
Hartranft. Toastmaster Reese pointed out that winning the championship was a real accomplishment, considering the fact that the Eastern Conference was one of the biggest
in the country with more than fifty school members. Coach Bill Stauffer and Faculty Manager William J. Harner presented the blue and gold woolen jackets to the thirty six
members of the team, their trainer and managers. The jackets are blue with thin gold trim lines down the sleeves and a large gold circle on the left side with the words
Eastern Conference Champions 1953 in blue. On the right side in gold script is the boys first or nickname. Each boy also received a miniature football made from anthracite
Paul S. Christman, superintendent of the Schuylkill Haven schools, paid tribute to Coach Stauffer both as a coach and as a teacher of boys in the ways of good sportsmanship
and clean living. Following the presentation of the automobile to Coach Stauffer, gifts of money were presented to the assistant coaches and to the faculty manager.
Assistant Coach Harry Hummel received a $100 bill and $50 bills were given to Assistant Coach Leroy Heckman and to faculty Manager Harner. Introduced as being
responsible for Coach Stauffer, the championship football team and the banquet were Mr. and Mrs. William Stauffer Sr., parents of the coach. The coach's wife was presented
with the floral centerpiece at the speaker's table. The banquet came to an end with the benediction by the Reverend Marlin T. Schaeffer. A dance was enjoyed afterwards.
|The Call of December 23, 1899
The citizens of the South Ward are circulating a petition to be presented to the School Board shortly. They claim the need of a school building on the lower side of the railroad
tracks. A census having been taken, it is found that there are enough children attending school
from Berne, Columbia and Canal Streets and the Point to fill two rooms. Such being the case, they feel entitled to a school building in that
ward, which will to an extent relieve the main schools and also the anxiety of parents in sending their tots over the railroad. When the weather is at zero, to have these small
children standing as long as fifteen minutes, which is no uncommon thing, before they can cross the railroad, is not only wrong but inhuman. The arguments presented
follow. The ward is increasing and improving rapidly. A number of houses are in the way of erection on Berne Street, the Point and Schumacher's addition. It is understood
that the farm purchased by Mr. Bast is to be laid out in lots at very reasonable terms which will bring in additional population to this section. Then again, a part of the township
which the borough takes care of in part, should be taken into the borough limits, and that revenue placed in our town treasury instead of the township, which would only be in
the line of progress. Again, the borough owns land on which stands the notable "lockup", that could be well utilized for this purpose and would make a central point. This
subject is presented to the public through The Call and is the sentiment of the citizens of the South Ward. CITIZEN
*This petition was presented to the school board in an effort to have a school building erected in the South Ward.
|The Call of October 19, 1900
THE NEW SCHOOL BUILDING
Handsome Structure in the South Ward Completed at a Cost of $6,365 - An Ornament to the Town
Schuylkill Haven's new school building is a model of neatness and perfection. The new structure is situated in the South Ward on the west side of Canal Street and about
three hundred feet south of G. H. Gerber's shoe factory. It is a one story brick structure, having a frontage of 78 1/2 feet and a depth of 29 feet. The roof directly over the
doorway looms up to a peak, while slightly to the right a beautifully proportioned little tower graces the exterior and breaks the otherwise monotonous outlines of the
building. Passing through heavy iron gates, one finds himself in a vestibule, from which he passes through a pair of heavy, glass fitted doors into a large hall, nine feet wide,
which separates the two rooms, 27 by 32 feet and 27 by 34 feet in size respectively, the room facing the south being the larger. The ceilings are fourteen feet clear and a flood
of light comes through eight large windows in each room. The walls are finished in rough cast, the ceilings having the ordinary white finish. The rooms are heated by means
of hot water, the coils in each room, which have 873 feet of heating surface, leading from a large heater in the cellar. Each room is furnished with 35 desks of the latest design
and of different sizes for the pupils and one for the teacher. Over 100 square feet of high grade blackboards are on the walls in each room. A door leads to an ante room, six
by six feet, where the children's cloaks, hats, etc., are kept. There is wainscoting throughout the building and an eight foot deep cellar extends under the entire edifice. Only
the best and most select material was used and the building is one of the most substantial in the borough. Reading shale brick, mountain quarried stone and South Carolina
rift boards for flooring were among the important items used in its construction. The plot of ground upon which the new building stands is 46 by 274 feet in size.
The erection of the building was decided upon at a meeting of the Board of Directors held on Monday evening, March 12th. The board selected the architect on May 6th. The
contract for the erection of the building was awarded on Tuesday evening, June 12th and on Monday, June 18th, excavating for the foundation was commenced. The
contractor finished his part of the work three weeks ago but the building was only completed in full during the present week when Joseph N. Meyer installed the heating
William J. Griesbaum of Pottsville was the contractor. William A. Fink of Reading was the architect. Francis Kline and Company of Pottsville did the painting. Aregood and Son
of Pottsville did the carpenter work. Joseph N. Meyer of town did the plumbing and J. C. O'Donnel of town did the tin roofing. The entire cost of the building with heating
apparatus was $6,365. Schuylkill Haven has one of the finest school buildings of its size in the county and her taxpayers can feel justly proud of it.
|The Call of March 27, 1969
WORKER DIES ON SCHOOL JOB
A worker on the new Schuylkill Haven Area High School building, William F. Stevens, 47 of Kulpmont, died suddenly of a heart attack while working Wednesday of last week at
10:30 in the morning. Dr. H. C. Rubright was summoned immediately but the man was dead. He called the coroner and the body was released to the Bast and Detweiler Funeral
Home and later taken to a Kulpmont funeral home. Stevens had worked for six weeks on the local building project for John F. Miles, heating and air conditioning contractor.
He was a member of Shamokin Local 559 of the Plumbers and Steamfitters Union. He was married to the former Margaret Galgocy and had one son, Michael, 13.
|Miners Journal of August 31, 1850
NEW SCHOOL AT SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
The cornerstone of a new school house, now building in this borough, will be laid tomorrow, Sunday morning at ten o'clock, with the official ceremonies of the Order of Free
Masons. Several addresses will be delivered. The building is designed to accommodate all the pupils of the borough, and we understand, will cost about $7,000. This amount
was made up for the Directors by voluntary loans on the part of the citizens, in sums varying from fifty dollars upwards, a commendable example, well worthy of imitation.
|Miners Journal of March 13, 1852
PRINCIPAL ISSUES REPORT
F. S. Jewell, Esquire, principal of the public schools of Schuylkill Haven, has just issued his monthly report for February. The number of students at the beginning of the
month was 458 and the number at the close of the month was 466, being an increase of eight. Male scholars in each school were: Number 1-65, Number 2-61, Number 3-76.
Female scholars in each school were: Number 1-56, Number 2-60, Number 3-77 and Number 4-71. The Miscellany says, as the School Board are taking measures to finish
another school room, each teacher will soon have a separate room. Schools Number 3 and 4 are now compelled to occupy one room. The condition of the school is ordinarily
good and its prospects for the term encouraging.
|Miners Journal of April 24, 1852
RESIGNATION OF PRINCIPAL
As reported in the Schuylkill Haven Miscellany: F. S. Jewell has resigned his post, resignation to take effect on May 15th, as Superintendent of our borough's schools. We are
not in the habit of praising either men or actions while they are in our midst, but in justice to both him and the School Board under which he has acted, we will add that our
schools have improved wonderfully under his supervision. As a teacher he stands in an enviable position and we fear this resignation will be a drawback to the institution.
|The Call of May 24, 1907
The first annual meeting, reunion and banquet of the Schuylkill Haven High School Alumni Association was held at the Hotel Grand last evening. The business of the annual
meeting was prefaced with a selection entitled "Gorella" by Bensinger's Orchestra, followed by the chorus "On Gallant Company" by the Alumni Chorus. The business session
closed with the selection "Spuds" by the orchestra and the rendition of "On, On Swiftly We Glide" by the Alumni Chorus. The members and their friends then marched to the
hotel dining room.
During the banquet there was a selection by the orchestra, Harry Snayberger read the history of the high school, there was a recitation by Miss Minola Snyder, John R. Jones,
Esquire, delivered the alumni oration, the orchestra rendered a waltz medley, Wilmer Bubeck recited "Mr. Winkle on Skates" and the orchestra played a pretty selection.
At the close of the banquet, with George W. Butz presiding, these toasts were responded to: "Hits and Misses," R. W. Ziegenfus; "The Joys of a School Director," Dr. John A.
Lessig; "Reminiscences," W. F. Bensinger; "Perseverance," Miss Mary A. Ebling; "The Good Old Days," Dr. A. H. Detweiler; "Good Luck," Miss Ella Sherer; "The Innocents,:
Professor E. P. Heckert. The reunion closed with the selection, "Dixie Rube," by the orchestra and the chorus, "The Nation's Pride," by the Alumni Chorus. The menu
consisted of blue points, olives, pepper sauce, pickles, cold tongue, boiled ham, celery, potato salad, radishes, prime ribs, roast beef, potatoes, peas, tomatoes, corn, beans
strawberries, ice cream, fruit, cake, nuts and coffee.
|The Call of January 26, 1912
LECTURED THE TEACHERS
Misses Beck and Weiss, teachers of the North Ward schools were given an uncalled for and unexpected lecture Tuesday of this week by one Joseph Geshwindt of Garfield
Avenue. It appears that a son of Mr. Geschwindt in descending the steps in the hall of the school building did so in a rather noisy manner. He was called back by his teacher,
Miss Beck, and requested to descend the steps in a more quiet manner. The second time it was a less noisy descent but not sufficient to satisfy the teacher, who again called
the boy back and ordered him to descend in a more quiet manner. The boy did this without any objections, ran out into the school yard and as his father happened along at
the time, told to him some kind of story. The father immediately went into the school taught by Miss Beck and without asking any questions, in a loud voice commenced a
tirade of very uncomplimentary remarks interspersed with some rather choicy grammar. Leaving Miss Beck without any chance to reply, he turned and entered the room
taught by Miss Weiss, where his daughter attends school, and showered Miss Weiss with a similar address. Pupils in both schools it is said, were very badly scared and many
began to cry. The peace of the school room being so unexpectedly disturbed, and in such an unusual manner, the effects were felt by teachers and scholars alike for the
balance of the day. The matter will be given attention by the School Board at its next regular meeting.
|The Call of October 6, 1916
SAID BOARD WAS BEING BEATEN ON NEW BUILDING - Charges Not Proven
A discharged workman on the new high school building during the week informed several members of the Schuylkill Haven School Board that the Beard Construction
Company of Reading, through their employees, were not erecting the new school building according to plans and specifications and that instead of placing iron or steel
meshing between the floors and ceilings, on which the concrete was to be placed, they had passed this by. This employee, a citizen of Schuylkill Haven and a taxpayer,
offered the sum of only $100, to take the members of the School Board to the building and show them where they were being beaten on the work.
As a result of these charges, both the foreman, E. J. Wert, and the architect, Frank X. Reilly, together with several workmen, appeared before the board. Both of these
gentlemen invited a thorough inspection of every part of the building and denied most emphatically that anything wrong was being done. They were willing that an outside
expert be brought here to inspect the building and were ready to lend any assistance. Mr. Wert stated that in no way would it be to his advantage to defraud in the manner in
which this man, who calls himself a citizen of the town, insinuates, as everything is checked up after him.
When this citizen was refused the $100, he demanded from the board "to show up the contractors," after making the assertion to at least two members of the board and a
number of other citizens, he got peeved when informed that his name had been given to the board. He then stated that should anything come of his assertion, he would deny
what he had said and would not hesitate to call the two members of the board "liars." So far as the members of the School Board are concerned, they are through with the
matter, being satisfied that the work on the new building is being done satisfactorily and to the best interests of the board and the town. Whether or not the Beard
Construction Company will enter suit against this resident, was not definitely stated at the meeting but from rumors heard there is every reason to believe that this man will be
given an opportunity before the court of justice to prove his assertion and that at a very early date.
|The Call of October 20, 1916
PROGRESS MADE ON SCHOOL BUILDING
Schuylkill Haven's new school building has within the past two weeks assumed a more dignified and graceful appearance. The public is now enabled for the first time to gain a
more illuminating and definite idea of the size and appearance of the building when it is completed than was possible at any time during the building operations. On all sides
are now heard remarks to th effect that it was not thought the building would be so large or that it would be as good looking as what all indications now point to it being when
completed. Sunday afternoon brought hundreds of interested taxpayers and citizens to Haven Street to view the building and learn the cause of this year's double school tax
assessment. They all seemed favorably impressed and better satisfied after having looked over the tangible evidence of what the money is being expended for.
The real construction work has been completed. That is, all brick work is about finished. The four walls have been completed. More than 400,000 brick was used. It is
expected that by the end of this week the roof will be about covered in, although not all of the finishing touches to the same will be completed for some time, but the most
important portion will be finished. All concrete work is finished except the concreting of the stairways and this work will not be commenced for some time. The gypsum blocks
with which the partitions are to be built thus making the same absolutely fireproof have arrived and have been stored in the building. Thursday the work of laying the blocks
and putting up the partitions was commenced.
The plumbers are hard at work as are also the heating plant men. Excavations this week were begun to accommodate the heating plant on the ground floor. All other
excavating has been finished. The work of cutting down the embankment or hill in front of the building was begun this week and by the end of the week the same will be
finished and will therefore add an entirely different appearance to the building. The hill will be cut down to the street level near the pavement and will then be graded to the
depth of the ground floor of the auditorium or assembly hall. The first and second floor are ready for the wood sleepers. Upon the wood sleepers are placed the flooring.
The sleepers have been placed on the concrete joists. The electric wiring has been completed or finished as far as it is possible to finish it at this time.
Next week it is proposed to begin the plastering. The second or top floor will be given attention first and when all plastering is finished on this floor the first floor will give
work for the plasterers. Next week the foreman, Mr. J. Wert, expects to add about ten additional
carpenters to his present force in order to rush the work with all possible haste. When asked when he expected to have the building completed, he would give no definite
date. This week a portion of Haven Street was opened by Ray Wildermuth, the successful bidder for the sewer. The sewer will connect the school building with the Paxson
sewer on Paxson Avenue. About thirty five men are now employed in and about the building in various capacities. This number will be considerably increased later on.
|The Call of June 5, 1925
NO COMMERCIALIZED ATHLETICS
At its most recent meeting, the board went into a lengthy discussion and criticism of commercialized athletics. This was precipitated by the statement that Professor Kline has
been using three periods of the day during school hours for athletics. Mr. Stauffer said that both he and President Paxson thought this is too much and that more time ought
to be devoted to teaching important branches of the school curriculum. All of the members of the board expressed themselves as heartily in favor of athletics within reason.
Major Gangloff referred to the fact, when the men were examined for service, during the world war, that every third man was found physically unfit. This was due chiefly to the
fact that so many young men did not know how to regulate their physical condition nor how to take care of their bodies that was needed. Mr. Stauffer said that he was of the
opinion that it is not so much the lack of exercise as it is essential knowledge of hygiene. In criticising commercialism in athletics he said that he thought that $1,700 per year
was too much a salary to pay for teaching basketball and football.
Superintendent Bubeck expressed the view that it is significant that one of the colleges has dropped athletics as a feature to see how its elimination will work out to the
detriment or success of the institution. The faculty of this college takes the position of a broad subject of health education with something for everybody and not athletics for
the few. They are adopting a hygiene course. But he did say that athletics constitute a powerful factor as a builder of the morals and school interest and enthusiasm. Mr.
Stauffer continued his criticism that athletics are being overdone. He believes that it is eminently right and proper to have athletic contests among the scholars but he
doesn't think it is right to devote a half a day to athletics. Superintendent Bubeck stated that he is inclined to think that the statement to the effect that three periods through
the day were being devoted to athletics to the detriment of the legitimate study is overdrawn. He said that the students have been given attention to extra athletics during a
portion of study hall time.
|The Call of September 24, 1915
HIGH SCHOOL COURSE TO BE FOUR YEARS SOON
By permission of the Board of education with the approval of the High School Inspector of this district an arrangement has been made to modify the upper grades of the
schools. The present ninth grade will be treated as an eighth grade only. High school work will be dropped from it and all its classes will be held in its own room under the
supervision of the teacher in charge. There will be three eighth grade classes this year, preparing for a ninth grade which will be the first year of the high school next year.
This will not interfere with the term of graduation of the present ninth grade from the high school, as it is the intention of the board to issue the three year diploma to all these
of that grade who may not want to complete a four year's course. After this year there will be only two eighth grades as has been the arrangement heretofore. All the class
periods of the high school are of the same length now, forty minutes. They had varied from thirty five to forty five minutes before. The department has approved of periods of
uniform length. The course of study in all the grades is
to be made to conform a little more closely to that laid down in the state manual than heretofore. This will shorten the school session in nearly all the grades. It is a general
feeling that the school session is too long. The program that is being followed makes a study period of the last period of the afternoon session. It is felt that a period of study
under the supervision of the teacher at this time will do much to lessen the burden of home study. Recess has been dropped from the eighth and the ninth grades in high
|The Call of November 5, 1915
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN SCHOOL CHANGES
In order that more time may be given to actual class teaching the monthly marks in the future will be based on written lessons and weekly estimates. The work passed over is
to be constantly reviewed in connection with the daily recitations. The monthly reviews, it has been found, take up too much time and the daily review for essentials, in the
end, makes for greater thoroughness. The eighth grades are expected to cover all the work leading up to the high school. This is the plan in force in ninety five percent of
the school systems of the state. To do this classes must move a little more rapidly than heretofore and more time must be spent in actual teaching. By reading the monthly
formal reviews and examinations, much time will be saved. It has been decided to supply additional supplementary readers in the first four grades. By supplying a different
text for each room for the grades additional supplementary texts can be secured for each grade at the price of one set for grades. This will greatly increase the efficiency of
the work done in reading. The best schools now read from four to nine books per year in the primary grades. In some schools when the whole term is taken up in reading and
languages an even larger number of texts are read.
|The Call of January 11, 1918
MAY MOVE TO OLD SCHOOL BUILDING
Proper heating of the new high school building and the safeguarding of the health of the scholars was given careful consideration by the members of the school board at their
regular monthly meeting on Monday evening. In the discussion, it was discovered that the entire building can be suitably heated with the exception of two or three rooms on
the north side of the building. A communication was read from Columbus Heating and Ventilating Company stating that a man was on his way to Schuylkill Haven and will
remain here until everything was satisfactorily adjusted. The firm could see no reason why the plant was not giving entire satisfaction in view of the fact that other plants in
this locality are doing all that is claimed for them. The board decided that unless the rooms could be heated to a proper temperature, several of the schools would be
transferred to the old building in the east ward. All that is necessary for the transfer would be the connecting of the steam pipe. This was ordered done. However, with
moderating weather, Superintendent Hoover was of the opinion that the present rooms could be heated.
|The Call of April 5, 1918
STUDY OF GERMAN DISCONTINUED
The study of the German language in the public schools of Schuylkill Haven will be a thing of the past, following the closing of the schools for the summer vacation next year.
This was decided upon by the members of the board at their regular monthly meeting on Monday evening. The subject of German in the local schools was given careful
consideration for several months past and each and every member felt that it was best for all concerned. In order that the scholars who have been studying this language
during the past year may not have wasted an entire year, the board permitted the study of the language next year and then its death knell. Hundreds of colleges and schools
all over the country have dropped this study and it is the belief that others would do likewise. The study of French will be substituted for the German although
Superintendent Hoover stated that the coming language will be Spanish. The latter will be found more practicable than any other language. It is just possible that the Spanish
language may be taught, providing a suitable teacher can be found as an instructor.
|The Reading Times of March 19, 1918
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN TEACHERS WANT MORE PAY
A petition was presented a short time ago to the members of the school board at their regular meeting by the members of the teaching faculty, asking for an increase of ten
dollars per month in their salaries. The petition, signed by every one of the teachers, was presented by Miss Tillie Meyer and Professor Ralph Ziegenfus. Embodied in the
petition were the facts that the teachers were supposed to subscribe to the Red Cross, the Liberty Loan and other worthy projects, together with the increased cost of living.
Each and every one of the board were in favor of the increase if the finances and budget would have permitted of the same.
The attention of the teachers was called to the fact that the sum of $2,500 was still due on the erection of the new building and that the board has about $8,000 to pay the
salaries and other obligations until the end of the term and that it will require about $10,000 to run the schools for the remainder of the year. The request had to be refused. If
another demand is made by the teachers the board will undoubtedly be compelled to raise the tax rate.
|The Call of December 3, 1915
SITE NOR ARCHITECT FOR NEW BUILDING NOT YET SELECTED
For four hours on Monday evening the school board listened to as many architects describing plans for school buildings, explaining specifications, answering questions of
construction and materials and making a request to be given the position of architect for the new school building. From the Monday night's meeting the members of the board
learned quite a number of points on the matter of construction, etc. The members have also been enabled to judge to a certain extent of the ability of the architect to furnish
plans for the construction of a proper building to meet the present and future needs of the school district. The architects who appeared before the board on Monday evening
were Kendrick & Burkhart, Pottsville, Frank X. Reilly of Pottsville, Clyde R. Adams of Philadelphia, and Warren M. High of Reading. Heretofore architects Mower and a Mr.
School had appeared before the board. This makes six architects to choose from. Because of the lateness of the hour the board did not decide the matter Monday evening.
It is not definite when the matter will be decided upon. Several of the architects who have been after the position for some time have submitted plans and drawings of other
buildings and sketches of a suitable building for this place. Others of the architects made a request for a similar privilege. From questions asked the different architects the
fact has been learned that for the two story building proposed it will not be necessary to have a complete fireproof building but a semi fireproof building and that the same
can be erected and fitted up in eight to nine months.
|The Call of December 17, 1915
SITE SELECTED FOR SCHOOL BUILDING
The school board at an adjourned meeting held Monday finally and definitely decided on the site for the new school building. The site selected was the plot of ground
purchased several years ago and located on Haven Street. Although several other sites have been suggested the Haven Street plot impressed the directors the most
favorable and it was therefore chosen. The matter of selecting an architect is still giving the members of the board considerable concern. There are at least one half dozen
architects who desire to submit plans and specifications. Several have already done so and the question of selecting the man who the board feels will give the best service
and furnish the most complete and satisfactory plans appears to be a tedious and difficult task. A special meeting has been called for Saturday evening. At this meeting the
architects will again be present and each urge his claim to the appointment. It is altogether likely the board will at this meeting select the architect to draw up the plans.
|The Call of September 14, 1923
LONGER SCHOOL HOURS A BENEFIT TO PUPILS
The following schedule is now being observed in the schools of town: morning sessions, first eight grades, 8:30 to 11:30; high school 8:30 to 11:45; afternoon sessions, first
five grades, 1:00 to 3:30, sixth grade, 1:00 to 3:40, seventh and eighth grades, 1:00 to 3:45 and the high school, 1:00 to 4:00. This schedule can be readjusted if it is found to
cause any real inconvenience to school patrons and school children. Patrons are urged to report any serious objections directly to the school authorities or indirectly
through the children to teachers. The lengthening of the school day in the high school is in accordance with the best accepted practices in progressive high schools. It is a
step towards raising the standards of scholarship and at the same time it provides for those extracurricular activities which are fundamental in the equipment of every real
American. Some of the activities which are already functioning or for which it is hoped provision will be made are physical education ,which is a requirement of the state
course of study, music and music appreciation, orchestra and choral work, literary and dramatic societies, library work, clubs related to the work of the different subjects of
study, one of which, the science club, was organized last year by Mr. Christman. In addition other activities include the school paper, visual education and vocational training.
|The Reading Times of July 19, 1930
SCHOOL BOND ISSUE APPROVED BY STATE - Schuylkill Haven To Erect New School
The bond issue of the borough school district for $122,500, for improvements, which was authorized by the voters at the spring primary has been approved by the state
department and the bonds will shortly be offered for sale. The improvement consists of a new twelve room school building, which will be erected next summer on the site of
the present High Street building.
|The Reading Times of November 15, 1935
TO ERECT SCORE BOARD ON FIELD
The Schuylkill Haven school board will place a large score board on the athletic field. There will also be placed a large athletic event timer, the gift of the International
Machine Company, which comes as a prize won by the essay of Miss Phyllis Mould of the high school student body.
|The Call of January 12, 1923
SCHOOL HOUSE TOOK FIRE
Monday morning about 8:45 the school house in Long Run took fire. Word was telephoned to Schuylkill Haven and the Liberty Company sent its apparatus to the scene. It was
found the flames were at work underneath the roof at the chimney. It was necessary to tear off a portion of the roof, a three ply affair, consisting of heavy board, shingles and
tin. When this was accomplished chemicals were used and the flames extinguished. The chimney being blocked with soot is ascribed as the cause of the fire. The only
damage resulting was to the roof, the biggest portion of which will have to be replaced.
|The Call of November 7, 1924
PROFANITY OF PUPILS STIRS SCHOOL BOARD
At the school board meeting Monday evening, one of the important topics concerning the conduct and operation of the schools was that of language used by pupils on their
way to and from school and on the playground. It was reported by one of the directors who happened to be present on the school playground recently that the indecent foul
and profane language used was just simply awful and that the time had come when some action most certainly should be taken to curb it.
Voluntary supervision by the teachers on the playgrounds was suggested with the teachers having the authority to disbar or punish children who persist in the use of foul
language. This voluntary supervision it was thought would be very effective but the supervision itself might be very limited as not all teachers may be willing or able to give
of their time to extra work after the school sessions. Cooperation with the parents, the Sunday Schools and the churches was thought and stated would be an effective
means of overcoming this condition of affairs. Just what action will be taken was not determined but it was thought the board of education itself should take some steps
immediately in the matter.
|The Call of April 26, 1907
The second meeting of the Schuylkill Haven High School Alumni Association was held in the high school room on Tuesday evening. Twenty seven alumni were present.
President Bensinger called the meeting to order and the minutes were read and adopted. Mrs. P. T. Hoy reported that the Membership Committee has accounted for 127
graduates, four of whom are deceased. The committee has put itself into communication with all graduates whose addresses they have been able to secure. The address of
any graduate not known by committee should be sent to the chairman and will be recorded on the lists. As far as the committee is able to ascertain, commencements were
held the following years: 1879, 80, 87, 89, 90, 92, 94, 95, 96, 98, 99, 1900, 01, 03, 05 and 06. If any years on which commencements were held are omitted on this list, will someone
notify Mrs. Hoy or Principal Heckert.
The Committee on Constitution and Bylaws then reported. This report was taken up by sections, several of which were referred back to the committee for changes. The
question of admitting associate members failed of adoption and a full high school course is now the constitutional requirement. R. W. Ziegenfus reported for the
entertainment committee. Partial arrangements have been made for a literary program to be given and followed by a banquet. Each alumnus may invite one guest. An alumni
chorus will sing at the commencement exercises. The literary exercises, business meeting and banquet of the association will be held on the evening preceding
commencement. The meeting adjourned until Tuesday evening of next week at eight o'clock. Any information relative to any alumnus or any class will be gratefully received
by any member of the association. Such data will be of historical value. It is desired that all graduates of the high school join. The annual dues have been made fifty cents.
|Pottsville Journal of August 18, 1916
PROBLEMS AT NEW SCHOOL
Considerable complaint is being made of children playing around the new school building in Schuylkill Haven. The complaint is not that these children are carrying away
material and supplies, but are finding their way to lofty heights on the scaffold and building that would result seriously should they fall. Several times Constable Butz has been
called to chase them away. Unless the practice is broken up, it may be necessary to institute law suits.
|The Call of August 18, 1916
MAY DEMAND CERTIFICATES
There is a probability that the members of the Schuylkill Haven School Board will demand a certificate of good health from the scholars of the lower grades when the opening
of the fall term arrives. This will apply especially to those persons who have been in the states of New York and New Jersey where the infantile paralysis has caused the
deaths of many children. School boards of other towns and cities are demanding this certificate of health from both scholars and teachers and there is every reason to
believe that the local board will do likewise. It will be the means of safeguarding both the children and the community in general.
|The Call of November 24, 1916
SCHOOL BUILDING PROGRESSING
Fifty some men are hard at work at the new school building and each day sees the same rounding into what will be a modern and fine public school building. The window sash
or frames are being fitted into some of the windows on the ground floor. The concrete work for the floors is almost completed and the work of placing the electric wires and
necessary plumbing fixtures is being pushed with all speed possible. The windows and doors have all been boarded up so as to make the interior of the building as
comfortable as possible for the workmen. The ground on the north side of the building has been leveled to its proper level and it is proposed to complete the leveling of the
ground in front of the building this week. The assembly room still contains many tons of sand and numerous upright timbers supporting the immense scaffold necessary to
complete the ceiling of the hall two stories above. The timbers for the floor of the balcony have been placed in position and will be completed shortly. Every man employed
on the job seems to be fired with a desire to hurry along the completion of the building as rapidly as possible and under the eagle eye and efficient supervision of Foreman
Wert it is believed the same will be completed and ready for occupancy on scheduled time.
|Pottsville Journal of July 7, 1926
ATHLETIC FIELD IS PLANNED FOR TOWN - Schuylkill Haven Association Receives Plans Made By Dept of Internal Affairs
A meeting of the Athletic Association was held in the Town Hall and work will be started in a short time to develop the ten acre field. The Pennsylvania Department of Internal
Affairs submitted a plan to develop the plot which was approved by the association. A committee was appointed to direct the work will which will change the appearance of
the field in a shirt time. One portion of the field will be given attention at once, a section of 250 feet long and 575 feet wide and will include a track, baseball field, football
field, spaces for high jumping, pole vaulting, shot putting, etc., and also grandstands.
The student body and individual citizens are urgently requested to take part in the preliminary work at once. Some sections of the field will be plowed, other portions will be
leveled and filled up. It will be necessary to have on the field teams, wagons, tractors, plows, harrows and scoops to do the work. The committee issued a call for volunteers
to begin work at once. The plan also covers other appointments, such as tennis courts, volleyball courts, horseshoe courts, swimming pool, bandstand and large recreation
park. The plans also call for trees to be planted throughout the grounds.
A meeting will be held in the near future in the high school auditorium and the Athletic Field Project will be thoroughly explained to the general public. Secretary Keith was
instructed and authorized to procure a speaker. The Rotary Club, whose bigheartednes and kindness resulted in securing this plot for the school district will turn over the
deed for the ground to the Board of Education at this meeting.
Clinton Confehr, Chairman; Harry Goas, Harry Loy, H. E. Oswald and Mrs. E. B. Pflueger were appointed as a committee to outline a tentative program for the meeting.
President Stauffer has appointed a committee to have charge of the development of the field. They are: Harry Goas, Chairman; O. H. Minnig, H. A. Reber, Raymond Mill, E. B.
Hill, Fred R. Burkert, Harry F. Loy, Mrs. A. C. Maberry and Mrs. W. B. Johnston.
|Pottsville Journal of April 11, 1928
MARRIED TEACHERS SUBJECT OF DEBATE - Question As To Whether They Should Be Hired For Teaching Is Discussed Again
At a meeting of the school board at Schuylkill Haven, the matter of married teachers was discussed. Members of the board thought that married women ought not be given
preference for positions as teachers. This old resolution was brought up again and discussed at considerable length. The resolution provided that talent equally as good, if
not better, among single women, who may be candidates for teachers, in future elections, should merit consideration over the married applicants. It also went so far as to
provide that "no married woman be considered as a teacher unless there are no other qualified candidates." The board took no definite action at this meeting but most of the
members expressed themselves along the line that married women ought to be tabooed as applicants for teaching positions in the future, for various reasons, among them
that their employment would prove an injustice against deserving, young, single women who ought to be recognized. The criticism was not arrived at those married women
who have, in the past, and are at present holding teaching positions. Members of the board stated that incumbents, among the married class of teachers, are giving faithful
and efficient service and the district is fortunate in having instructors of the all around ability they possess.
|Pottsville Journal of December 8, 1930
MOVIE BENEFIT WILL AID INJURED BOYS - Schuylkill Haven Special Attraction Wednesday Evening Has Worthy Object
A movie benefit, the proceeds of which are to be used for defraying the expenses incurred by high school pupils who were injured during the past football season, will be
presented in the Schuylkill Haven high school auditorium on Wednesday evening, December 10th at 7:30 o'clock. The football squad was particularly unfortunate this year in
that two of the boys had broken bones which required hospital attention, one being confined to the hospital for three weeks. The school and community feels distinct
obligation to these boys and their parents for the expenses thus incurred which accounts for the necessity for this movie benefit.
The picture is a product of Talking Pictures Epics Incorporated and is a talking film record of the trip of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Johnston through Africa. The experiences of three
Boy Scouts chosen from among thousands of their fellow members in the United States to accompany the Johnstons on a part of their African expedition are pictured and
described by Mr. Johnston in his narrative accompanying the film. One of three boys, Dick Douglas, is heard as well as seen in the film and the exploits of the others in the
jungle are generously depicted. All deport themselves in a manner that causes Mr. Johnston to conclude his story with the statement that the Boy Scout idea is one of the
finest things that has ever been brought about. The three scouts were of the Eagle class.
|Pottsville Journal of January 6, 1931
VACATE HIGH STREET REQUEST CITIZENS
One of the principal items of business before the January meeting of the Schuylkill Haven Town Council on Monday evening was a petition of the Schuylkill Haven School
Board asking the borough to vacate High Street from Union Street to Wilson Street in order that this ground might be utilized in the erection of the new East Ward school
building. This petition was the result of a resolution for relief of poor families at the School Board last week when it was found that the owners of property on Union Street
contiguous to school property were all willing to sell their properties to the school district at the prices set by the board. The petition was accompanied by a blueprint
indicating how the property is to be graded, location of the new building, widening of Pleasant Row, etc. After all members of council had carefully scrutinized the plans it was
ordered on motion that the petition be referred to the solicitor for more information. Principal objection seemed to be in the fact that no specific provision was made for
keeping the High and Wilson Street intersection properly passable to traffic. This and other minor questions will likely be adjusted at an early date and the necessary action
taken by council.
|Pottsville Journal of January 21, 1931
WILL VACATE STREET FOR NEW SCHOOL - Schuylkill Haven Council Acts Favorably On School Board Proposition
The way has been finally opened to the early erection of the new East Ward school building through the approval of borough council of the School Board petition for the
vacating of a part of High Street that must be closed to make possible the erection of the building. Three properties on Union Street having been purchased, a commodious
twelve room school building will now be erected facing on this street. The steps necessary to the receiving of bids for the erection of the building will no doubt be taken at
an early date by the school board.
|Pottsville Journal of March 26, 1931
ONE LOW BID CAUSE OF AN INVESTIGATION - Acceptance Of Tamaqua Contractor's Figures Would Save Town $10,000
Further consideration was given to the bids for the work on the proposed East Ward school building at a special meeting held in the high school building on Tuesday evening
by the School Board. A large number of bidders and other interested persons were present, among them the low bidder on the general contract, A. H. Snyder, of Tamaqua.
Considerable time was spent in inquiring into the responsibility of this contractor and a consideration of the work he has done in other communities. He has erected a
number of school buildings in recent years including one at Reading and the Muhlenberg grade school building at College Heights in Allentown. The bid of this contractor is
more than $10,000 lower than that of the highest bid submitted and will effect, if adopted, a considerable saving to the district.
Considerable misinformation as to the authority of the Board in the awarding of bids was set at nought by members of the Board during the course of the meeting. Every
effort is being made to ensure the employment of local labor and materials wherever possible. The contractor has indicated that all of his labor and his foreman will be hired
in town and materials will be bought here if they meet specifications and general price levels. Messrs. John and George Gray represented local merchants in urging upon the
Board that local employers and dealers in building supplies be favored wherever possible. Action was taken to readvertise for bids on the plumbing and heating
requirements for the building. Another special meeting will be held next Monday evening to take possible final action in the awarding if the general contract.
|Pottsville Journal of May 1, 1931
NEW SCHOOL WILL BE FINE BUILDING - Schuylkill Haven Structure Will be One Of The Finest And Most Modern Models
Within the next week ground will be broken for the new East Ward grade school at Schuylkill Haven. The school directors are to be complimented for taking advantage of the
present building material market and by constructing a building at this time, providing employment for several of the borough's workmen. The construction of a new building
at this time will do much to alleviate the unemployment situation and action of this nature is in conformance with the suggestions of President Hoover's Emergency Committee
The building when completed will be one of the most modern and finest grade schools in eastern Pennsylvania. The exterior will be of red brick with gray stone trimmings.
The main front will be on Union Street but from every angle the building will be very imposing. The playground will be at the rear of the building and will be fenced in so that it
will not be necessary for the children to play on nor cross any street while at play. A gate will be provided on Wilson Street facing High Street so that children from this
section of the ward may enter the school grounds without journeying around the property and entering from Union Street. Rear entrances from the playground to the school
have also been provided.
There will be two entrances from Union Street and two from the playground. In the rear overlooking the playground, there will be a bell tower containing the bell now in use in
the old building. The building has a frontage on Union Street of one hundred and twenty five feet and has a depth of sixty five feet. The boiler, coal and a large storage room
will be in the basement. Coal will be delivered and ashes will be removed from the Refowich Alley side of the building, so that there will be no interference with Union Street
traffic. There will be a four foot wide concrete pavement along Pleasant Row and Wilson Street, and a similar walk for the depth of the building on Refowich Alley. On Union
Street there will be a six foot wide concrete walk for the full length of the property. New curbs will also be provided on all street fronts.
The first floor will contain six full size classrooms, a twenty four foot square library, office and toilets for both boys and girls. The toilets will be provided with new type of
juvenile fixtures designed especially for use in grade schools. Classrooms Number 1 and 2 will be divided by folding doors which when open will provide room for
parent-teacher meetings and for kindergarten play. The second floor will contain six classrooms but the building has been planned that two additional classrooms may be
readily added over the library and office space. The building will be of fire resistant construction. The walls will be of solid brick; interior partitions of cinder block, floors of
concrete supported on steel joists, finished floors are to be of asphalt tile. The corridor, toilet rooms and stairs will have a tile wainscot. The floors of the toilet rooms will be
promenade tile. Doors and trim will be of hardwood. Door frames will be of pressed steel and the stairs will be of structural steel with stone treads and platforms.
When completed the building will be a monument of which the citizens will long be proud. It has been so planned that additions may be erected from time to time as the need
arises without interfering with the school sessions. The building has been planned and designed and the construction will be supervised by D. H. Grootenboer and Phillip
Knobloch, registered architects of Pottsville.
|The Call of February 16, 1917
CANNOT FINISH ALL SCHOOLS
Two meetings of the school board were held, the first on Saturday evening last and the second on Monday evening last. At either meeting little business was transacted other
than discussing the financial condition of the district and making provisions, so far as possible, towards the opening of the new school building. Notwithstanding the
economy practiced by the board throughout the entire construction of the building, there will not be any too large amount remaining to thoroughly complete the new high
school. The board is anticipating the donation of nearly one thousand dollars from sources that will enable them to place furniture and fixtures in the building that had not
been provided for when the contract for the erection was given out and which did not properly belong to the contractor. This includes the installation of book cases, the
purchasing of libraries, a time clock and a number of smaller articles that are absolutely necessary in the furnishing of a first class school building.
CANNOT FINISH ALL SCHOOL ROOMS The board is still in a position to borrow several thousand dollars should necessity demand, but this they are trying very hard to
overcome. It may be possible that in order not to place any additional tax burden on the public, they will leave the entire furnishing of several rooms go by default for the time
being and then at a later date, equip these rooms as the finance will permit. However, the auditorium and the several class rooms will be completed throughout, as these are
the rooms that will be used the most and will be in demand at all times. In order to hurry along completion of these rooms, the board decided to advertise for the installation
of a clock and shades for all of the windows. The construction of a pavement from Haven Street to the main entrance will be constructed shortly.
ONE MONTH FOR DRYING It is calculated that it will require at the very least, one month for the new high school building to become thoroughly dried and the dampness to be
overcome. Even with the heating apparatus being driven at its full capacity, this may not be accomplished and evidence of dampness may manifest itself for several months
after the building is turned over to the school district. It was the opinion of the board that no unnecessary risks should be taken in jeopardizing the health of the scholars.
Therefore the building may not be occupied until after April first.
|The Call of April 6, 1917
MAY DEDICATE NEW BUILDING SEPTEMBER 1
The members of the Schuylkill Haven School Board at their regular meeting on Monday night gave serious consideration to the dedication of the new high school building and
likewise to the speaker for the occasion. It was the opinion that Labor Day, the first Monday in September, would be about the appropriate time for the dedication as the
building will have been completed and all furniture and fixtures installed by that time and the building thoroughly dried. Not only this, but the ground about the building will
have been graded and covered with sod and the sidewalks placed in passable shape. The question as a speaker was also discussed and the members of the board were all in
favor of procuring Governor Brumbaugh, if possible. The names of five or six other prominent men were mentioned and the residents of the community can rest assured that
an able orator will address them on the occasion.
The interior of the building is assuming the appearance of a high school building, inasmuch as the electrician has completed the work of installing the fixtures which are
beauties and add considerable to the appearances of the rooms and the plumber is putting the finishing touches to his contract. The work of putting the furniture in position
will be started very shortly. It was these facts that caused the members of the board to consider at this time the dedication of the building and the procuring of a speaker.
BUILDING ERECTED WITHOUT "EXTRAS" When the contract for the new building was awarded to the Beard Construction Company at a cost of $54,600, it was the opinion of the
large number of the taxpayers that this amount would be materially increased by "extras" on the building which would be found absolutely necessary. In a statement issued to
the members of the school board last Monday evening by the construction company, it was shown that the Schuylkill haven school board will not be called upon to pay one
cent for anything extra. In the construction of any building, public or private, there is always a possibility of extras creeping in. The fact that not one cent extra will be paid
here speaks well for both the architect and the firm erecting the building.
|Pottsville Journal of October 5, 1931
360 PUPILS ARE IN NEW SCHOOL ROOMS - Schuylkill Haven East Ward Building Opened For Service This Morning
More than three hundred and sixty people took up their school work in the new East Ward building this morning. Books, teacher supplies, etc., were moved over the
weekend into the various rooms. While some finishing touches are being done to the electrical work, the building is virtually completed. The contractor's workmen will start
this week to demolish the remainder of the old building. Ten of the twelve classrooms will be used by the following teachers: First Floor; Miss High, Miss Berger, Miss
Hamilton, Miss Stauffer, Miss Phillips; Second Floor; Miss Robinold, Miss Matz, Miss Barr, Miss Pfiefly, Miss Kauterman.
|Pottsville Journal of October 5, 1931
LOCAL ARCHITECTS DREW SCHOOL PLAN-Schuylkill Haven's New Building Was Completed Ahead Of Time-But 5 Months
Planned, designed and its constructive activities supervised by D. H. Grootenboer and Philip G. Knobloch, registered architects of Pottsville, the new East Ward grade school
at Schuylkill Haven was this morning opened for the first regular sessions. It required five months to build the school, the extension being completed three weeks ahead of
scheduled time. The new building cost $75,000.
This is one of the most modern complete grade schools in Pennsylvania. It is entirely of fire resistant construction. The exterior walls are brick veneer over cinder block and
all joints and roof rafters are open truss type steel joists, floor slabs are concrete, door frames are combination pressed steel, stairs are built with structural steel with stone
treads. Stairs are enclosed in fireproof towers divided off from the building proper by Kalamein doors. Interior doors are of hardwood and the finished floors are asphalt tile.
Corridors, stair tower and toilets have a glazed tile wainscot. Toilet floors are red promenade tile with similar washboard.
The exterior is designed in modernistic style with walls of red brick and buff stone trimmings. Windows on the exterior are painted a warm green and flat white on the
interior. The State Art Commission awarded this building a rating of "N," the second highest possible rating from the viewpoint of plan and design.
The interior walls are finished in light buff sand finish plaster and the ceilings are hard white plaster. The walls to the height of the window sills are painted a medium shade of
brown. The steel trim is painted gray and the doors are finished with Minwax to school brown matching the finish of the furniture. The wainscot of the corridors, toilets and
stair towers is buff colored tile with black base and cap. Steel stairs are painted warm green with gray iron balustrades. The asphalt tile floors are laid in alternate blocks of
brown and green producing a heather mixture. The color scheme of the entire interior was planned in soft tones so as to eliminate eye strain.
The building has been placed well back from the street line and has a frontage of one hundred twenty eight feet and a depth of sixty five feet. There are two entrances from
the front and two exits at the rear, leading to the playground, one hundred thirty feet square, fenced in with a six foot high chain link fence. The fence was deemed necessary
because the building is bounded on three sides by streets traversed with heavy traffic and without the fence, children, all of tender years, would be exposed to dangerous
play. Only enough basement has been provided to provide space for boilers, coal and general storage.
The first floor contains six full size classrooms for thirty five pupils each, a twenty foot library, teacher's rooms and ante room and at opposite ends of the building, toilets for
girls and boys. The toilets are provided with new juvenile fixtures designed especially for use in grade schools. Classrooms one and two are divided by a folding partition,
which when open will provide ample space for kindergarten play and for parent teacher conferences. The second floor contains six thirty five pupil classrooms but the
building has been so planned that two additional classrooms may be added readily over the office and library space.
The entire building has been planned on the unit system and additional classrooms may be added in wings and if desired an auditorium may be erected in the center section.
The heating system is modern in every respect. Unit ventilators have been provided in every room. The entire system having been planned in accordance with the rulings of
the State Department. The building and furnishings ready for occupancy was built at a cost of $75,400. It was financed by the proceeds of a bond issue voted by the citizens in
|Pottsville Journal of September 5, 1917
PUBLIC IS URGED TO VISIT THE NEW SCHOOL BUILDING
Nearly one half of the Schuylkill Haven citizenry viewed the new high school on the evening of the opening day, September 3. This half gained some idea of what a fine new
school building the town really has. The other half of the public up to this time has not inspected the building although many persons would like to do so. It is for this reason
the statement is made public that the school building is open for public inspection on any of the school days between the hours of school sessions. The public is not only
invited to visit the building and walk through the halls, auditorium, etc., but is also urged to visit the class and school rooms. No permit is required and the only request made
is that persons making this inspection refrain from loud talking or from interference with the scholars in the studies. The doors of the school and class rooms are always
unlocked. The school authorities and school teachers invite and would be pleased to have more parents and adults persons visit their school rooms and become better
acquainted with the work being done and also get a better idea of the building in which it is being done and for which there was such a great need.
The first public entertainment or use made of the handsome auditorium of the new building was on Tuesday evening when the Parent Teacher Association held its first
meeting of the season. A fair sized audience was present and enjoyed the program immensely. The address was made by H. A. Reber, who handled his subject capitally and
enlightened and drove home many points of special benefit. The program rendered was as follows: piano solo, Eugenia Berger; recital, Mildred Young; piano solo, Frances
Michel; reading, Dorothy Maberry; vocal solo, Bessie Killian; violin solo, Rhoda Thomas; reading, Kathryn Lautenbacher,; recital, Iona Paxson; piano solo, Kathryn Confehr;
address, "Child Nature and Child Nurture," H. A. Reber; general discussion.
A fifteen foot addition to the brick chimney at the new building is being erected by contractor Meck of Pinedale. The expense of this addition will be borne by the company
having the heating contract. Temporary electric fixtures will be procured shortly for the directors' room and the superintendent's office. Bids will be invited later on for
electric fixtures for the entire building with the exception of the auditorium which has been fitted. A look at the bare gymnasium gives one the impression that the board
overlooked an important feature in the fitting out of the building, namely the procuring of at least the most important and essential paraphernalia and features to use in a
gymnasium. There is absolutely no apparatus of any kind therein and the high school scholars will have quite a big proposition on their hands to purchase equipment for the
same. One new scholar was added in the high school, namely Samuel Bashore, but at the same time one scholar left, namely Lydia Auchey, whose parents moved to Hamburg.
The high school has under consideration the advisability of holding a Japanese art sale in the near future. The proceeds to be placed in a special gymnasium equipment fund.
|Pottsville Journal of December 12, 1931
WILL SERVE MILK TO SCHOOL PUPILS
IMPORTANT MEETING OF SCHUYLKILL HAVEN PARENT TEACHER ASSOCIATION HELD LAST NIGHT
A very important meeting of the Executive Committee of the Schuylkill haven Parent Teacher Association was held in the high school office on Tuesday evening. Those
present were President Mrs. Charles Ehly; Vice President Mrs. B. Frank Reider; Secretary Miss Borda; Treasurer D. C. Gilham; Reverend John Herbster; Mrs. J. D. Berger;
Misses Janet Hamilton, Edna Barr, Dorothy Seltzer, Mrs. Ruffenah Phillips; Harry McInroy and Paul S. Christman.
CHILDREN TO BE SERVED MILK Mrs. George Butz called attention to the fact that there are 188 children in grades one through six who are ten percent or more underweight
distributed as follows: North Ward, 32; East Ward, 101; South ward, 55. She called attention to the fact that State Association dues have been withheld for two years to be used
in furthering some needed work in the community where the dues originated. Mrs. Butz asked that her committee be permitted to serve milk daily to such children in all ward
buildings during the months of January, February and March. This work had been an Association project several years largely through the medium of contributions from the
other organizations from town. Mrs. Butz was authorized by action of the committee to proceed with this program to be entirely sponsored by her Ways and Means Committee
and the Association treasury. The serving of milk will start on the first Monday in January to be continued for three months.
|Pottsville Journal of May 19, 1930
PUPILS WILL PARADE TO AID SCHOOL LOAN - 1000 Schuylkill Haven Students Will Urge Support For Project At Polls
One thousand Schuylkill Haven school children including the grades and high school will take part in a parade starting at the high school at 6:30 o'clock this evening to boost
the proposed school loan of $122,500 which will provide a new school building for the East Ward of Schuylkill Haven and the purchase of such ground as may be necessary for
the erection of the building, the enlargement of the South Ward school building and for increasing the number of rooms in the high school and the erection of a store room for
the last named school. Votes will decide the loan at the polls tomorrow.
Major Gangloff, president of the Schuylkill Haven school board and Superintendent Madeira will lead the parade followed by the high school band, senior high school floats,
teachers and pupils of the high school. The next in line will be the junior high school floats, teachers and pupils, the American Legion Drum Corps, east Ward teachers and
pupils, North Ward teachers and pupils with the South Ward teachers and pupils last in line. Principal Christman will lead the senior high school division; Principal McInroy the
junior high school division; Mrs. Phillips the East Ward; Miss Riebsamen the North Ward and Miss Raudenbush the South Ward.
|Pottsville Journal of September 20, 1930
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN ORGANIZATION ACTIVE - Schuylkill Haven Annual Drive For Membership Will Take Place Next Week
The Executive Committee of the Schuylkill Haven Parent Teacher Association held the first monthly meeting of the new year on Tuesday evening in the office of the
supervising principal. A number of important matters were discussed. It was decided that the local organization of 1310 members should send two or three delegates to the
convention if the state organization to be held in Sunbury October 14th through 17th. The committee determined on October 16th as the time for holding a festival in the high
school building for the purpose of defraying the balance of the expenses due on the band uniform account.
The annual membership drive will take place next week. This will again be carried out through the school children under the supervision of the home room teachers. To
prevent parents and patrons from being repeatedly canvassed a card will be issued to each citizen joining the association which can be displayed in a window thus indicating
that a member lives there. Prizes will be given at the close of the drive to the home rooms for the highest percentages of members secured. The prizes will be $5, $3, and $2
for highest, second and third respectively. An individual prize of $1 is offered to the child securing the most members.
Interest in the work of the schools, its needs and future program has never been greater than during the past few years a concerted effort has been made to enlist not only
parents but also citizens in general, who as taxpayers should be interested in their school system as a matter of piece of work accomplished by the Association was the
organization and equipping of the high school band. During the short period of its existence under the able leadership of Henry Bressler, it has taken a position well in the
forefront of similar organizations in the county and state.
|The Call of April 6, 1917
MAY MAKE ARRESTS
An important discovery was made on Wednesday afternoon, following the regular session of school, when Professor Hoover ascertained and caught in the act, several boys
under sixteen years of age smoking cigarettes. Professor Hoover called one boy to his office window and found that it was one of the high school students. The boy denied
having any more of the cigarettes in his possession but an examination of his clothing revealed a box that had only been half emptied. The boy claimed that he hid them when
entering school and that they were purchased for him by an older boy. There is a state law about minors having tobacco or cigarettes in their possession and upon demand
they must tell, under penalty of being arrested, where the tobacco or cigarettes were procured. The dealer is then open to a heavy fine and imprisonment. Professor Hoover
will make a thorough investigation and arrests will follow.
|The Call of May 4, 1917
TRUANT MUST REPORT TO PROBATION OFFICER
In the custody of Constable John H. Butz, Clayton Moll was taken before Judge Koch, at Pottsville, yesterday, charged with playing truant from the Schuylkill Haven public
schools. Moll was instructed to attend school every day and at the close of the school term to go to work. He must also report to the probation officer once a month. Moll
was given to understand that the very next time he is reported from school he will be placed under arrest and then sent away to a reformatory. The school board is
determined to break up truancy and have decided to arrest all truants.
|Pottsville Journal of December 11, 1926
COLD SCHOOL ROOMS ARE COMPLAINED OF
Cold school rooms were one of the subjects investigated by the Schuylkill Haven board at its meeting this week. The board investigated the reason for the cold temperatures
of the East Ward school building and asked Mr. Keller the janitor to explain conditions. It was stated that the thermometers have indicated as low as from 52 to 60 degrees. It
was also given out that the cold was so intense up to ten o'clock in the morning that the pupils have frequently sat in the classrooms with their hats and coats on.
Mr. Keller, quizzed by the board, stated that no one complained to him about the cold and for that reason he believed everything was all right in the building. He told the
board that he believed a great deal of the trouble was due to windows being left open when the teachers and pupils left the building at the close of the afternoon session and
tampering with the registers. He said he often starts his fires as early as 5:30 o'clock in the morning. Suggestions were made that he establish a good fire in the evening
about six o'clock and then bank it for the night. His getting at the heating plant early the next morning would bring about an excellent condition of heat adequate to every
requirement. He told the board that he often has 160 pounds pressure and it was then suggested that he try to maintain 180 pounds during severe cold weather.
The board instructed Superintendent Madeira to see to it that there is 68 degrees of heat every morning when school is opened in the East Ward building. If the above named
degrees of heat is not reached, the superintendent was told to dismiss school, daily, until he deems it fit for the children to sit at their studies in properly heated rooms. The
board will take no more chances to undermine the health of pupils in cold rooms.
|Pottsville Journal of July 16, 1930
EAST WARD SCHOOL BUILDING LIKELY - New Building Is Needed
While the erection of a new East Ward school building has not seemed practical this year, owing to lack of school room facilities, to properly house the children during the
rebuilding, recent tentative plans by the Board of Education seem to make possible the consideration of this work for the early fall. Upon the completion of the additions to
the South ward building by the time of the opening of school in September four additional school rooms will have been made available. These rooms together with an added
room in the high school building and possibly the use of rooms to be secured in other quarters may open up a way for this much needed building to get underway in early fall.
Considerable money is being saved for the district through the alterations and additions which are being carried on this summer. In the high school building alone, the cost
of the work completed, will probably be somewhere near $4,000 less than the estimate. This is made possible largely because of the drop in the cost of materials and labor
owing to the business depression. In the event that it should be finally found possible for the Board of Education to proceed with the East Ward building it is quite possible
that a very considerable savings would accrue to the district over the original estimate and at the same time solve the unemployment problem in the community.
|Pottsville Journal of July 23, 1930
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN SCHOOL WORK BEGUN - Contractors Are Busy With Improvements To Be Finished Early In September
The remodeling and additional building is progressing rapidly in the Haven Street High School and also in the South Ward school building. The contractors have large forces
busy with the work and all indications point for an early completion for the school term which will begin the early part of September. Professor C. C. Madeira is supervising the
remodeling personally. With these changes the school children will find better facilities and more comfortable rooms for their school work. Already the partitions have been
torn out between the supply room and the library. In the place of these two rooms there will be two class rooms, the library will be moved to the third floor of the building thus
making the use of the library more convenient for the high school students, who have found it very difficult to do any reference work due to the fact that the library was too far
from the class rooms. The supply room will be built in the rear of the present building. Then too, the high school building is to be painted in the very near future. This will be
quite an improvement and will add greatly to the beauty of the exterior of the building. The lawns and shrubbery are especially pretty at this time.
|The Call of April 12, 1907
Twenty three alumni of the high school met in room Number One on Tuesday evening and effected a permanent organization. Dr. J. A. Lessig, '90, chairman of the committee
that issued the call for this meeting, called the meeting to order. W. F. Bensinger, '95, was chosen temporary chairman and Harry Snayberger, '05, temporary secretary. On
motion of Dr. Lessig, it was decided to organize an alumni association of the Schuylkill Haven High School. The officers of the organization are to be president and
secretary-treasurer. In the permanent organization, W. F. Bensinger was chosen to the former position and Miss Mary Ebling, '00, secretary.
By request Principal Heckert offered a few suggestions: a committee on constitution and bylaws should be appointed, a full list of graduates and their present addresses
should be made out, the alumni association should enter into the program of commencement week in the form of some social, educational or festive entertainment. Every
graduate ought to be urged to join the association, whether a resident here or elsewhere. It is desired that an alumni chorus render some selections at the commencement
exercises. A full record of all the classes, with any historical or biographical facts of interest connected with the same should be furnished to the principal who contemplates
beginning high school class annals or a history of the graduating classes. He desires to preface the sketch of the class of 1907 by a history of the preceding classes and the
Alumni Association. The various graduates present were called upon to express their views along any lines affecting this organization. This brought forth strong sentiments
on the subject, perfect accord and unanimity action and an expression of the highest enthusiasm on the part of everyone present. The spirit is going to "do things" in town.
The following committees were authorized and appointed: Constitution and Bylaws, George Butz, '97, Dr. J. A. Lessig, '90, W. F. Bensinger, '95 (president included by motion),
Committee on Entertainment, Mrs. A. H. Kline, '85, R. W. Ziegenfus, '94, Mary Riebsaamen, '97, Liela Schwenk, '08, Fred Bensinger, '00. Membership Committee, Mrs. P. T. Hoy,
'80, Eva Butz, '87, Annie Stanton, '90, Ella Scherer, '96, R. E. Wildermuth, '00, Marion Lenker, '03, Harry Snayberger, '05. All these committees met after adjournment and
appointed each a time for a meeting this week. Their work is already started. The association adjourned to meet on Tuesday evening, April 23rd, at eight o'clock in the same
|Pottsville Journal of September 2, 1929
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN SCHOOL EXTENSION
A stated session of the school board was held to discuss the school extension. It created a lengthy discussion and it was decided to go into the matter extensively at an
adjourned meeting which has been called for Wednesday night, September 18th. Members of the board were directed to get in touch with competent structural engineers in
order to receive their opinion as to the safety status of the East Ward school building. Secretary Stager made a motion that the board employ such an expert to make the
necessary examination. Mr. Confehr and Mr. Luckens were also directed to consult with certain experts and all reports to be submitted at the coming meeting. Mr. Gangloff
advised the board to go ahead with a thorough examination on the East Ward building. He is there is but one proper way to settle any business proposition and this school
building problem surely is a business proposition. That way is to get all the facts first, then analyze them and from this resolving analysis, form a sensible conclusion.
He also stated the recent survey of the floor and air space per pupil asked by the Board of Education disclosed that the South Ward and the North Ward buildings showed
more air space as well as more floor space per pupil than is actually required for the number of pupils in these two buildings. The survey of the High School building and of
the old East Ward building showed that the pupils attending these two buildings were short on both air space and floor space. Assuming that the measurements made were
correct, and there is no reason to doubt their correctness, we have fact number one to work on, that these latter buildings are too crowded if in fact all th available rooms are
in use. The reports made to the board show that all the available rooms in the school building are now being used and the report further shows that for the school year
1929-1930, it will be necessary to move the sixth grades now using the high school building, from the latter building to the East Ward or High Street building. This will relieve
the situation somewhat in the high school but only for a short time.
The fact that the sixth grades will be moved from the high school building to the High Street building of course shows that up to this time not all of the rooms in the high
school building were being used. The addition of the sixth grades and moving the continuation school to the high school apparently fills up the High Street building. So that
with the shifting around, as above indicated, we seem to be in position to get along fairly well for the coming school year were it not for at least two other problems, both of
which of course are part of the main question of providing adequate facilities for housing our school population.
Now the second of the two problems just referred to is at the moment the most difficult and perhaps it is also the one upon which there are many different opinions. This
problem had to do with the High Street building. There seems to be a prevailing feeling that this building was condemned as unsafe some years ago, although the board of
education has been unable to locate any record of such condemnation, if in fact such condemnation was made. In the next place there is a feeling especially among the
teachers and no doubt many parents, that this building is no longer in keeping with modern requirements in the way of school buildings and besides some people, in fact
there may be many, feel that this building is a disease breeder.
We have seen and have in mind many brick buildings built many years before the High Street building all still in fine condition and therefore to condemn the building because
of its age only would hardly be warranted. There would seem to be but one accurate way of determining the question as to the safety of this building and that is to engage an
engineer to test the walls and floors and partitions. This should not entail much cost but it would settle a much discussed question. To permit anyone but an expert to make
the tests would be unbusinesslike and certainly would leave many minds in doubt as to the accuracy of the report. The question as to whether the High Street building is
modern could no doubt be answered without investigation in the negative. However, suppose the tests made of the building would be entirely safe and good for many years,
perhaps, an architect could work out charges in the building at probably one third the cost of a new building, which would thoroughly modernize it and perhaps at the same
time satisfy the most exacting teacher or parent. Anyhow, wouldn't it be just plain horse sense to satisfy ourselves upon the basis of actual facts that the building is ready for
the scrap heap (if in fact it is) before we tear it down to make place for a new one?
Without attempting to burden the records with many other angles to the school building problem, Mr. Gangloff's suggestion as a member of the board of education is that: We
engage a competent person, preferably an engineer, to make a thorough examination of the High Street building, particularly with reference to its safety as a school building.
If the report of this examination indicates that the building, in all respects is entirely safe, we engage an architect to report upon the feasibility of remodeling this building in
order that it meet all the modern requirements of a school building, even though the number of rooms would have to be reduced. Before deciding upon whether two rooms
or four rooms should be added to the South Ward building we obtain an accurate checkup of all the first to fourth grade inclusive pupils now in the South Ward and also
ascertain just what relief these additional rooms would mean to the high school building or such other building as may take its place.
|Pottsville Journal of September 26, 1929
BUILDING DAMAGED BUT NOT DANGEROUS - Schuylkill Haven School Structure Has Settled In One Wing, Needs Repairs
A report of contractors and engineers was submitted to an adjourned meeting of the school board held in the high school building. The report showed that considerable
repair work will be necessary to place the East Ward school building in proper condition. A report of an examination made by Architect Stevens of Philadelphia, showed that
the north wing of the building had settled. The walls of the building were examined and found to be in good shape. He took exception to the narrow hallways. Contractors E..
Becker and John Long made an examination and presented a written report. The facts embodied in the report were that the building is in good condition as far as the safety
of same is concerned. South and west walls of west wing are bulged out off line due to settlement of the foundation years ago.
Numerous repairs necessary such as painting brick work, new floors in some of the rooms, new exterior doors, a few new joists over the boiler room, one new joist in each
end of the building and new window sills at a few windows. The second story wood frame constructed room adjoining the old high school room should be removed or a more
substantial support placed under the same. Repairs to sheet metal work at different places is necessary. Bulged brick walls at the west wing should be torn down and rebuilt
in order to insure absolute safety. The plastering in some rooms should be repaired. The wallpapering in several rooms required attention and also the painting of
They concluded with the following: We find that the foundations, brick walls and wood timbers except those as heretofore made mention of are good in every respect. We
estimate that the building will give many more years of service, provided some of the most necessary repairs are made at once. No action was taken by the board on the
report submitted. The appropriations from the state for six months in the sum of $5,820.52 was received.
|Pottsville Journal of October 9, 1930
REVISING PLANS FOR NEW SCHOOL - Schuylkill Haven Changes May Make Unnecessary Tearing Down Present Building
Further progress was made toward the erection of the new East Ward school building at the monthly meeting of the school board on Monday evening. Architect Grootenbauer
was present and submitted plans for a building to be located in a position different from that originally intended. This would make necessary the acquiring of several
properties on Union Street down to the United Evangelical Church. The new plans would provide for the widening of Pleasant Row and permit a beautifully landscaped plot at
the north end of the school grounds. It would thus be possible, if the newer plans are adopted, to proceed with the erection of the new building without the necessity of
razing the present building, the new building might be ready for occupancy by the next school year. Work would have to start no later than February.
|The Call of September 26, 1930
ROTARY FIELD NOW READY FOR HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL ON SATURDAY
An event that has been awaited for a number of years will finally take place on Saturday afternoon at 2:30 when the Rotary Field will be put into service with the first football
game of the season. Ever since this plot of ten acres was presented to the school district by the local Rotary Club, the ultimate use of a properly developed area for health
activities has been the dream of every school child. By means of a high school play and funds realized in an appeal to citizens several years ago, sufficient money was
realized to grade enough of the plot to form a football gridiron. The laying out of the plot was accomplished through the generous donation of time by George Butz and
Clinton Confehr, while Harry F. Loy made it possible for the gridiron to be done with the smallest possible cost.
During the past week donations of material have come from Charles Manbeck, Arthur Aulenbach and Edwin Becker in the form of lumber and wire needed for fencing the
playing area and erecting players benches on both sides of the field. The finishing touches on the grading and final laying out of the field are being done during the week and
everything will be in readiness for the opening whistle on Saturday afternoon. School spirit is on a very high ebb on the part of every high school pupil, over the prospect of
occupying a field that can really be called a high school field. The high school band under the leadership of Henry Bressler will lead a parade of pupils to the field shortly
before the opening of the game and a large delegation of students is expected from Summit Hill with the possibility of their band also being on hand.
Summit Hill is said to have an exceptionally fine team and all fans witnessing this opening contest will be certain to have in store an unusual treat. The local team has been
shaping up well and with this week's training should be ready to meet the "Hillers." Schuylkill Haven has about thirty five men out for the team, and of these, two teams of
almost equal calibre, will be chosen the lineup to represent the school. The boys are hoping to win this game on Saturday and are looking forward to the game with their
formidable opponents, Pottsville, on Saturday October 4th at Pottsville. Season tickets for the home games are on sale and can be secured through any high school pupil and
at the field on Saturday. They entitle the holder to a seat on the bleachers for each game and are sold at a reduced price.
|The Call of October 3, 1930
SOUTH WARD SCHOOL ADDITION SOON FINISHED
Good progress is being made with the four room addition to the South Ward school building by contractor Edwin Becker. The building will no doubt be ready for the placing of
the furniture and equipment within two weeks time. This work should not take very long and the rooms therefore may be ready for occupancy by the next to the last week of
October. Painters, during the week, started work on the two rooms on the second floor. The lighting fixtures will be hung as soon as the painters are finished. The two rooms
on the first floor require some little finishing out and the placing of the hardwood floor. The heating plant is installed and about ready to operate. The plumbing fixtures are
all installed and all connections and checkup will be made this week.
The new addition to this building is modern in every way. It is first of all ideally located and splendidly and appointed and will make a most cheerful and roomy section. It is
believed that the total cost will be between $8,000 and $10,000 less than originally estimated. Four rooms, size 24 by 30 feet, are being provided at the rear of the former
building. Each room will have a pupil capacity allowed by law of 40. Entrance to the addition is obtained through the corridor of the old building or through a new corridor in
the rear of the new addition. The rooms are finished in oak. The metal ceilings will be painted white. The upper portions of the wall are a buff and the lower four foot portion
is painted in brown. There will be six ceiling lights in each room of opal glass with brown finish fixtures.
Both the new and old portions of the building will now be properly ventilated. The ventilation will be mechanical. Universal units being placed in each classroom will supply
fresh warm air. Six complete changes of air will be made every hour. During warm weather when the heating plant is not operated, there will be six changes of fresh,
unheated air every hour. Further ventilation is provided by means of the circulation of the air which is drawn into the wardrobes through the four spaces underneath the
doors. This air is drawn in by means of the enclosed additional ventilators in these wardrobes and through a vent stack operated by means of automatic shutters. This results
in clothing in the wardrobe being dried by warm air and the air in the wardrobe being kept fresh.
On these wardrobes have been hung four Evans vanishing doors. These doors are noiseless in operation and instead of opening as an ordinary door, they turn on pivots in
the center. In each room is provided a teacher's closet, where the teacher may keep books, clothing and personal effects. The blackboard space is four feet high and twenty
feet long across the front of the room. Cork tack or bulletin boards are also provided in every room. The washroom floors are of red quarry tile with two wash stands and six
toilet apartments for the girls and in the boys wash rooms, three apartments and five urinals. The corridors are fireproof. The floors being of concrete. The stairways are
metal frame with concrete steps with metal nonslip nosing with screen banisters. The architect, D. H. Grootenboer, has expressed himself as well pleased with the splendid
progress that is being made on this building as well as the work of the contractors.
|The Call of October 16, 1931
THE SCHOOL HOUSE WEATHER VANE
The old weather vane and direction pointers that for years topped the High Street school building tower, will soon be erected on the tower of the Hoffman Knitting Mills. From
this point it can be seen for quite a distance. Although hundreds and hundreds of persons from time to time gave this weather vane the "once over," few ever realized how
large it really is. The weather vane itself, which is in the form of a quill pen, measures seven feet, eight inches. The rods on which the directional letters are fastened, are 42
inches long. The height and the width of the letters are eighteen inches. The vane and direction letters were mounted on a pole sixteen feet long. The vane is now being
repainted a bright yellow and will soon be mounted. Before painting was undertaken, a number of bullet holes in the broad end of the quill pen and the letters had to be
closed with solder. These holes had been made by persons shooting at birds as they perched on the weather vane.
|The Call of October 4, 1935
ATHLETIC FIELD TO BE FENCED IN NEXT WEEK
Word was received Thursday, that work will be started next week on the erection of the fence around the athletic field on Haven Street. This will be a WPA project, with the
school board paying for the fence and the Federal Government footing the bill for labor. The cost to the school district will be in the neighborhood of $2,000. The fence will
be eight feet high overall. One foot at the top will be of three strands of barbed wire, while the other seven feet will be of two inch mesh Number 9 gauge steel wire, hot
galvanized after weaving. The entire athletic field will be enclosed with the fence. There will be two entrances. The posts holding the fence will be of steel set in concrete
|The Call of October 2, 1931
NEW SCHOOL BUILDING TO BE OCCUPIED MONDAY
Old school bell to call three hundred and pupils to their studies, Monday, in new twelve room building.
Dedication and formal opening ceremonies to be held at a later date. Total cost will be about $75,000.
Monday morning, October 5th, three hundred and sixty pupils in Schuylkill Haven will take up their school life in a handsome new school building that is now receiving its
finishing touches. Ten of the twelve rooms in the new East Ward will be occupied for the present term. No particular opening ceremony will mark the change of school life
from the old High Street building to the new East Ward building, but it is more than likely the Board of Education will, at a very early date, arrange for a fitting ceremony of
dedication which will be of a public nature. For several weeks of the last term and since the opening of this term, students heretofore attending the East Ward building, have
been on half session. The teachers who will occupy the new school building are: Misses Emma Berger, Tacy High, Janet Hamilton, Catherine Stauffer, Edna Barr, Anna Matz,
Edna Peifley, Martha Robinold, Viola Kauterman and Mrs. Ruffenah Phillips.
During the week, the finishing touches have been put on the building and a corps of women have been busy giving the building a thorough cleaning and scrubbing,
preparatory to the opening of school. There remains but a few small pieces of work of various kinds before the building is entirely completed. Curbing is being built along the
Refowich Alley to replace that removed. The pavement has already been completed on this side of the building as well as in the front of the building. Construction of the
pavement on the Pleasant Row side has not been started and will hardly be begun until the old building is razed. Heat was being furnished during the week by the old boiler
taken from the old building and set up along side the new boiler.
The new school building will cost in the neighborhood of $65,000 with several additional thousand for architects commissions and for building equipment. Another several
thousand can be added for the site, so that in round figures this new building can be termed a $75,000 school "plant." It is of two story height with a depth of 65 feet and width
on Union Street of 124 feet. It is of brick, concrete and steel construction. The only wood that has entered into the construction are the doors, blackboard trim, baseboards
on class rooms and the window sills. The building stands back from the curb line about fifteen feet. There is a ten foot space between the building and the concrete
pavement. There are two entrances to the building from Union Street and two from the rear or Main Street side. The entrance on the east is on a level with the pavement,
while the western entrance is reached from a six stone steps elevation.
Schuylkill haven brick have been used in the construction and the trimmings are of cast stone of a buff hue. The architectural design is of the modernistic Gothic type. The
two front entrances are heavily trimmed with brown cast stone reaching to within five feet of the top of the building. The trimming is built on the layer style and reaching a
thickness of four feet and the entrance doors are built one foot out from the building line. Cut in the cast stone trimming immediately above each of the Union Street entrance
doors are the inscriptions, "Seek Wisdom" and "Know Thyself." Cut into the trimmings high above the entrance are the inscriptions, "If Thou Love Learning Thou Shalt Be
Learned," and "The Foolish Despise Wisdom And Instruction."
In the building are twelve class rooms, six on the first floor and six on the second floor. On the first floor is also found the library, two retiring rooms and the office. The
interior walls are finished in light buff, sand finish plaster, and the ceilings are hard white plaster. The walls to the height of the window sills are painted a medium shade of
brown. The steel trim is painted gray and the doors are finished with Minwax to school brown, matching the finish of the furniture. The wainscoting of the corridors, toilets
and stair towers is buff colored tile with black base and cap. Steel stairs are painted warm green with grey iron balustrades. The asphalt tile floors are laid in alternate
blocks. In the school rooms, the colors alternating are brown and green and in the corridors, mahogany and green, of Mastic tile. The color scheme of the entire interior was
planned in soft tones.
The hardware in the corridors is of chrome steel finish, while in the class rooms it is of brass. From the entrance corridor, one passes through metal doors in to the main
corridor. The school rooms are designed to accommodate 35 pupils, each pupil having his or her own individual seat and desk of one piece steel pipe construction. The
woodwork in the school rooms is of birch and of natural Minwax finish and adds very much to the appearance of the rooms. The desk and chair of the teacher are of oak. The
electric fixtures are of the large white bowl type suspended on oxidized chains.
Between two of the rooms on the first floor are Wilson sliding and folding doors with blackboards attached. In this way two of the rooms can, in a moment's notice, be
converted into one large room. Each school room has an individual closet for the teacher. The wardrobes are concealed by four doors all of which operate when one door is
opened or closed. When the four doors are closed, the effect is that of a very neat panel closet. Inside the wardrobes are ventilators through which the air will be drawn to
the outside of the building.
The heating and ventilating system in each school room is that of the Uni-Vent system. By this system three different methods of heating or ventilating the rooms are
possible, namely: cold air can be drawn from outside the building and blown over the heated radiator or the cold air can be drawn in and forced into the room unheated or the
supply of cold air cut off entirely and heated air from the radiator forced into the room. Each school room is provided with six sections of eighteen window glass of a size 14
by 18. These steel frames are painted a warm green on the exterior and a flat white on the interior.
In the boys' toilet the tile flooring is of a mahogany shade with buff colored tile with black cap and base wainscoting. The partitions are of metal with five apartments and nine
stands. The toilet for the girls is similarly finished and contains ten apartments. Electrically controlled exhaust fans in addition to the Uni-Vent system of heating and
ventilating are provided for in these rooms.In the main corridor will be found two drinking fountains and also a fire hose cabinet with two inch fabric hose and fire alarm
boxes. On the first floor will also be found the library. The entrance to this room is very beautiful and is of the double door type with upper half of the doors in unleaded glass
of an unusually attractive design. At either side of the entrance doors are panels with one half length being in leaded glass of the similar design of the doors. This entrance
is of oak finished in Minwax and with handcarving above the doors. The library has not as yet been completely equipped.
On each floor two rooms face Pleasant Row, two Union Street and two the Refowich Alley. All steel entrance and exit doors are of the panic bolt type. In addition to the old
school bell which now hangs in the belfry of the new building, is the old cornerstone of the old school building, which has been made a part or set in the corridor wall on the
first floor. The inscription on this cornerstone is, "Erected 1850, Rebuilt 1878." The first floor also contains a superintendent's office with an adjoining ante room. An electric
buzzer system is connected to each classroom from the office. From the corridors a paper chute extends to the basement.
The basement floor is concreted and has been divided into three different compartments or rooms; one for the heating plant, one for the coal and one for storage. Only a
little more than one half of the space underneath the building has been excavated. The entire building is constructed of fire resistive construction, the exterior walls being of
brick veneer over cinder blocks. The interior partitions are cinder block, all joists and roof rafters are open truss type steel joists. The floor slabs are concrete with the door
frames combination pressed steel bucks and trim. The windows are rolled steel projective type and the stairs are built up structural steel with Alberene stone treads. The
stairs are enclosed in fireproof towers and are divided off from the building proper by Kalamein doors.
The building has been planned on the unit system and additional classrooms may be added in wings and if desired, an auditorium may be erected in the center section. The
building was planned, designed and construction activities supervised by D. H. Grootenboer and Philip Knobloch, architects of Pottsville. The contracts were awarded April
27th. The building was completed several weeks ahead of schedule. The general contractor was Berwick Construction Company whose contract was $54,526. The plumbing
contract was taken care of by N. W. Carrigan of Hazleton for the sum of $2850. The Chambers Construction Company handled the heating and ventilating for $6700 and Harry F.
Loy of Schuylkill Haven had the electric contract at $1700.
|The Call of January 6, 1939
CORNERSTONE FOR NEW HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING PLACED WEDNESDAY
Short ceremonies marked the laying of the cornerstone of the addition to the high school building in Schuylkill Haven. The same were held Wednesday and consisted of
prayer by Dr. E. S. Noll and the taking of motion and still pictures of the event and remarks by Mr. Harry Burkert, President of the Board. The stone placed as a cornerstone
was a large block of Indiana limestone.
Articles of various kinds were placed in the stone such as: A copy of the Blue and Gold 1938; Haven Fax issues of December 1936, December 1937, January 1938 and October
1938; .50, .25, .10, .05 and penny coins of 1938 mintage; copy of the specifications of the building; annual school report for 1937; 175th anniversary history of the community;
copies of school forms; a folder containing the following information: Alumni Association officers and executive committee, members of the school board, officers and
committees; Schuylkill Haven Ministerium and officers; members of Borough Council and officers; a history of the P. T. A. Unit; roster of the members of the Lions and Rotary
Clubs and their officers; Civic Club members; Chamber of Commerce officers; copy of the Schuylkill County School Manual; December 30th issue of the Schuylkill Haven Call;
copies of the Pottsville Journal, Pottsville Republican, Schuylkill Reporter, New York Times, Herald Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Record.
|The Call of September 26, 1952
HIGH SCHOOL FARMERS HARVEST AND SELL THREE TONS OF TOMATOES TO CANNERY
The agriculture group of Schuylkill Haven high school under the guidance of Lloyd McLaren, teacher, has harvested and sold approximately three tons of tomatoes so far this
season. Besides selling these to the Hanover Cannery, which has a loading station on Route 83, about four hundred pounds additionally have been sold locally. Five of the
twenty acres owned by the school located behind the football field were planted in tomatoes. Last May a transplanter was brought and the tomatoes were planted. During the
summer boys of the class cooperated to do the weeding, fertilizing, cultivating and picking. Although the crop was recently hit with blight, members of the class still use one
period a week to pick tomatoes and will be able to continue to do so until the first frost. Thirty six boys from grades 9, 10, 11 and 12 compose the agriculture group.
Since equipment is not yet available in the local high school, it was borrowed from A. M. Stupp of Pine Grove; Mr. Kauffman, Auburn RD; Mr. Dohner, Orwigsburg RD; and the
County Institutional District and also from students of the class. Equipment from the county home was also used to cut nine acres of hay which had also been planted by the
class. This was not sold however but was left for organic material. It is hoped that in the near future equipment will be added to the agriculture department of the school.
The Tomatoes sold by the boys of the class, brought $36 per ton for number ones, $23 per ton for number twos and nothing for culls. The profit will be used to pay back a loan
from the Rotary Club for the fertilizer which was purchased. The remainder of the profits and also the profits from the refreshment stand operated during the Little League
Baseball games has been put into the treasury to finance future operations.
The group, which is part of the national Future Farmers of America, has decided to hold meetings the third Tuesday of every month. The boys met on Tuesday evening and
elected the following officers for this term: president, Robert Moyer, 12th grade; vice president William Achenbach, 10th grade; secretary, William Heffner, 10th grade;
treasurer Edward Stump, 12th grade; reporter, Wayne Bowen, 12th grade; chaplain, Martin Schickram, 9th grade.
They also decided to form a placement service to help boys who do not live on a farm obtain work during the summer months. A "pig" club will also be formed in which one
boy raises a pig and then donates one to the school. A father and son banquet will be held in spring. On August 20th the group went to the Gratz Fair on a bus chartered by
the school board. While there, the following won prizes in the dairy judging contest: Jim Bohrman, ninth palace; Robert Moyer, tenth place; Melvin Dierwechter, 14th place
and Edward Stump, 17th place. Martin Zimmerman won 10th place in poultry judging.
|The Call of March 6, 1953
PARENTS TO STAGE HOUSE TO HOUSE DRIVE FOR NEW BAND UNIFORMS
At a well attended meeting of band parents held in the high school auditorium last evening, it was decided to conduct a house to house canvass for the solicitation of funds
towards the purchase of new uniforms for the high school band. This solicitation will take place Thursday, April 9th between 6:00 and 7:00 in the evening. Because activities
of the band are extracurricular, tax funds can not be used for the purchase of new uniforms. The school board, however, does purchase band instruments and also pays for
the repair and maintenance of the uniforms from the student activity fund. The original high school band was organized and uniformed by the local Parent Teacher
Association. New uniforms were again purchased by the P. T. A. in 1941 and the need for replacement of these uniforms is very evident. The newly organized Band Parents
Auxiliary in conjunction with the local P. T. A., hopes to raise these funds through various projects within a certain time. Letters will be also be mailed to all non resident
alumni soliciting their support of this worthy cause for their alma mater. It is the hope of the group that all citizens will mark their calendar for April 9 and support this local
drive. All funds contributed will be allocated to the band uniform replacement fund.
Captains appointed to secure workers for the drive are: Mrs. Harold Koch, Mrs. Milton Rauenzahn, Mrs. Alfred Wise, Mrs. John Raffa, Mrs. George Moyer, Mrs. Fred J. Mayer,
Mrs. Eleanor Mitchell, Mrs. Franklin Reed, Mrs. William Harner, Mrs. Austin Dewald, Mrs. John Marshall, John Croneberger, John Schumacher and William Lutz.
|The Call of February 4, 1927
BOARD CLOSED SCHOOLS FOR FUMIGATION
Upon orders of the Board of Health the school rooms in the East Ward of Schuylkill Haven were closed down Tuesday morning in order that the same might be given a
thorough cleansing and fumigation. This was deemed necessary in order to combat the threatened spread of scarlet fever and other contagious diseases in the community.
Other ward buildings are also to be closed down for a sufficient number of days to provide for the proper fumigation and cleansing of all schools. The Haven Street building
was closed down Wednesday that it would be properly fumigated. In the meantime parents of all parents are asked to cooperate with the Board of Health and the Board of
Education in this work by fumigating the home and clothing, also by freely distributing disinfectants on the premises. The Board of Health reached the decision to close the
schools at its meeting Monday evening after reports were heard showing that the situation was more grave than had been at first considered.
ONE HUNDRED PUPILS SICK It was shown by an actual investigation that on Monday afternoon nineteen students were absent from school on account of chicken pox, six on
account of scarlet fever and seventy five on account of other illness, making a total of one hundred students or about ten percent of the school enrollment. Of the thirty one
school rooms in the public school buildings visited Monday afternoon, only four were shown to have a one hundred percent attendance. In the East Ward building conditions
appeared to be worthy of most consideration and definite drastic steps to prevent the spread of disease. In the rooms on the East Ward building, there were various numbers
of absent due to colds and sore throat, scarlet fever and headaches and sore throats. In this building one of the rooms having an enrollment of but ten and with four absent
on account of chicken pox the room had not been fumigated once during the term. Another school had five pupils out with illness. In all wards it was found that the rooms
had not been fumigated or given any large amounts of disinfectants since January 21st or 22nd.
In the North Ward it was shown that in one room six were ill, three down with chicken pox. In another room four were ill and of these four two were ill with chicken pox. Of
eleven pupils absent from another room in this ward nine were out on account of chicken pox. In the South Ward six pupils were absent on account of illness from one room,
one from chicken pox. In another room eight were out, one with scarlet fever and seven with sore throats. In the Haven Street building seventeen were absent from eight
different schools. No reports had been received by any of the teachers as to the cause of the absences. In the high school there were six absentees, one on account of
NO DOCTOR FOR CHICKEN POX In one of the rooms in the North Ward building where nine of the pupils were absent on account of chicken pox, one of the families with two
children ill with the chicken pox, had not been quarantined because the parents had not called in a doctor and therefore the report to the school authorities had not been
made. The discovery was made by the teacher, making inquiry as to the absence of these two particular pupils.
EXCUSE FOR THREE DAY ABSENCE The situation was freely discussed by the board members and it was the consensus of opinion that the health laws must be more
stringently enforced and complied with to the letter. The law requiring that children absent from school for more than three days must have an excuse from the attending
physician or family physician before returning to school will be enforced. It is the duty of the truant officer to investigate the absence of all pupils daily, that is, those whose
absence has not already been explained. The health Officer was instructed to notify the Superintendent of Schools every morning, the names of pupils who have been
reported ill by physicians. In this report is also to be embodied the number of other children of school age in the same family.
|The Call of June 17, 1932
PICKPOCKETS AT COMMENCEMENT
Pickpockets were about at the annual commencement of the Schuylkill Haven High School on Tuesday evening. It is believed they circulated in the crowd shortly before the
program commenced, at which time there was an unusually large number of people congregated at the entrance and outside of the building. H. I. Moser had his pocketbook,
containing twenty five dollars, taken from one of the front pockets of his trousers, while William Wagner had his wallet containing twelve dollars taken from his hip pocket. Mr.
Moser was not sure about his purse having been stolen until he returned home, when he discovered it was not at home as he had thought. Mr. Wagner did not notify police
of his loss until Wednesday morning.
|The Call of April 22, 1954
OUTDOOR SWIMMING POOL ON SCHOOL GROUNDS BEING CONSIDERED AS YOUTH PROJECT
An outdoor swimming pool to be built on the school district grounds at a cost of an estimated $50,000 is the latest proposal under consideration by the Schuylkill Haven Youth
Center Corporation. President Sam Tracey reported to the committee Tuesday night on a meeting with the members of the Schuylkill Haven School Board with regards to the
availability of land at the high school. A study of a plan of development of a recreation area as drawn up during WPA days in the 1930s revealed that a swimming pool could be
placed beyond the north end of the football field. The locker room facilities could tie in possibly with the field house contemplated by the school board. The engineering firm
of Miller and Lynch estimated the cost of a pool 80 by 200 feet and locker rooms at $50,000. Representatives of the Youth Center will visit recently completed pools in this
area and secure additional information before making any definite decision on the proposed project. Under the tentative plan discussed, it would be necessary for the Youth
center organization to raise the money. The pool when completed would become school district property and would be supervised and maintained by the school district.
|The Call of May 5, 1955
TWO DAY PTA FESTIVAL FEATURES CONCERT
The two day PTA festival will be held May 13 and May 14 on Rotary Field
from 4:00 to 10:00 p. m. There will be a band concert each night by the
Schuylkill Haven high school band and a record dance in the gymnasium
for the students. Dinner will be served in the cafeteria from 5:00 until
8:00 p.m. Tickets which are purchased for the dinner may also be used
to purchase other items. Plants, soups, subs, sandwiches, ice cream
and other refreshments will be on sale. This Saturday food will be
collected in town and potato and apple day will be held in the schools
on May 11 and 12. Proceeds from the affair will go towards the
swimming pool and high school organ funds.
|Ticket for the
festival from my
|The Call of March 10, 1933
PARENT IS SUED FOR BOY'S TRUANCY
Mrs. Alvin Gilfillin of William Street was given a hearing on Wednesday evening before Squire Klahr and paid a fine of two dollars and costs which totaled $5.50, on the charge
of her fourteen year old son, William Brown, being absent from school. Prosecution was brought by Attendance Officer William G. Roan and the warrant issued by Constable
Bashore. The boy was charged with violating the nonattendance compulsory act and for the past several years has been a truant from school sessions. Attendance at public
school is compulsory by law and the law also places the responsibility for school attendance upon the parent. The school code goes still further in this matter and compels
the school authorities to bring suit against parents for failure to attend school or subjects the said authorities to imposition of heavy fines.
|The Call of April 7, 1933
HIGH SCHOOL GYM TEAM ENTERTAINS ROTARIANS
The Schuylkill Haven Rotarians were given another treat Thursday evening by high school pupils. Two weeks ago a group of girls from the school presented an interesting
and surprising physical health demonstration. Last evening a team of boys from the high school presented a full hour's program of health demonstrations. Professor William
Stauffer, health instructor, opened the program with an enlightening discussion of just what the health instruction in the schools consists of, the detailed activities being
carried out, all being linked up with theoretical courses in hygiene and health.
The exhibition in part consisted of free hand calisthenic drills, clown tumbling act, boys tumbling, spring board work, special tumbling, clown act on parallel bars, boys parallel
bar work, springboard and elephant and ended with pyramid work. The Rotary Club much enjoyed the evening's program and were much impressed with what is being
accomplished in health education in the schools. The personnel of the team was: Robert Sheriff, Harold Gipe, Spurgeon Derr, Earl Ulsh, David Wingle, Elwood Shollenberger,
Marlin Wolfe, Henry Dominski and John Cake. The two clowns were Robert Maurer and Thomas Reider. The pianist, who played during the entire demonstration, was Mark Bast.
|The Call of July 14, 1933
TAXPAYERS BEGIN WORK ON REPAIRS TO SCHOOL BUILDINGS
Work was started this week on community improvements by taxpayers who are going to earn off delinquent taxes. For the time being, only needed repairs are being made to
school buildings. This is being handled by the school board committee. Next week or the week after work will be done for several departments of the borough. This will be
handled by the committee from town council. Thus far the plan is working out quite satisfactorily. Taxpayers who have been unable to earn sufficient money elsewhere to pay
their tax bills are glad to take advantage of the opportunity given to paying delinquent taxes by rendering manual labor. There are more than a hundred men on the list that
are anxious to work off taxes. Men who desire to work in this manner first sign a slip or agreement to the effect that all money they earn is to be applied in payment of
delinquent taxes to the school district or borough. When they have completed their work they are given special slips or Tax Scrip which, when presented to Tax Collector
Sherer will be honored as currency and applied to the tax bill.
The painting in the Haven Street school is coming along very nicely. The first coat of paint, cream in color, has been given the ceiling and walls of the auditorium. The
wainscoting is light buff. The woodwork around the stage and windows will be white enameled. The doors, which only had been given a coat of stain when the building was
built, are now being stained again. They will be filled and a flat coat of varnish applied. The changed and improved appearance is indeed very marked. Already the auditorium
looks like an entirely new one. In the hallways, the wainscoting will be covered in buff. Some needed repairs are also being made in the gymnasium. Repairs and painting will
be started next week at the North and South ward buildings. Panic bolts or locks, now being required by law, will be place on the doors in the North Ward, Haven Street and
South Ward buildings.
|The Call of August 4, 1933
MUCH NEEDED REPAIRS BEING MADE BY TAXPAYERS
Much needed interior repairs to the Haven Street school building are being made by the crew of taxpayers who have been working off taxes during the past several weeks.
The interior of the auditorium has been so markedly changed that one at first, gets the idea it is an entirely new auditorium. Now work is going forward to enamel the
classrooms. The colors being used are buff on the side walls and cream on the celling. By enameling, a considerable amount of future labor in eliminating washing of walls
will be possible. H. I. Kline is the painter in charge of this work.
On the athletic field it is proposed to level off an additional space. Portions of the bank on the east side will be excavated for twenty to thirty feet and a space thirty to forty
feet wide and five hundred feet in length will be leveled. The bleachers will be moved from the east to the west side. Excavated material is being placed on the playground at
the rear of the Haven Street building to a depth of eight to twelve inches. This will also be rolled and tamped. The filling up if the playground is certainly an economic
measure as it will prevent water from running across the field and into the rear yards and cellars of residents along Paxson Avenue. It will also prevent the blocking of the
sewer along Paxson Avenue which has usually caused the water to back up as above mentioned. Deep gutters are to be made along the north and east side to drain the water
to the sewer on the south side. Some of the trees that were on the playground that were in need of a pruning are being given attention. A driveway is being built along the
north side on the Haven Street building from Haven Street, something that was badly needed. A considerable amount of excavating has been done at this point.
The borough too has been having work done by these men, all of whom are apparently most willing to do some work to earn off delinquent taxes. Some gutters have been laid
on different streets and other needed work is on the program. New cement walks are to be built around the Haven Street building. Arthur Bashore has charge of the men on
the athletic field. Excavating is being done by Harry Loy.
|The Call of November 9, 1928
LAW FORBIDS PUPILS TO SMOKE
Recently the Board of Education appealed to the authorities of Schuylkill Haven to investigate the matter of storekeepers who supply pupils of the schools and the youth of
the town, who are under twenty one years of age with cigarettes. The investigation resulted in the discovery being made that there are many stores and storekeepers in
Schuylkill Haven where cigarettes can be procured by children and young persons, regardless of their age. An effort is to be made to require a stricter compliance with the
law. The act passed May 9, 1915 makes it a misdemeanor to furnish anyone under twenty one years of age with cigarettes, cigarette papers or who is smoking and refuses to
tell the police officers or the teacher of the school the name of the persons who supplied the same to him is liable to arrest under the act. The authorities give notice that if
storekeepers continue to violate the law and furnish minors with cigarettes, arrests will be made without further notice.
|The Call of September 5, 1941
SCHOOL TEACHERS ASSIGNED DUTIES DURING QUARANTINE
The teachers of the local schools reported for a meeting with Supervising Principal Paul S. Christman on Wednesday, the elementary teachers meeting at ten o'clock in the
morning and the junior and senior high teachers in the afternoon at 1:30 o'clock. By action of the Board of Directors on Friday evening, the teachers are technically on duty
the infantile paralysis quarantine, as they are being paid according to the regular schedule. During the enforced holiday they will perform routine duties pertaining to the
opening of school when the quarantine is lifted. They have been assigned work to be accomplished, most of which will be done in committees. The work will relate primarily
to courses of study which the teachers are planning to be used during the coming year.
One group of junior and senior high school teachers, under the direction of Miss M. Susanna Haag, home economics teacher, will carry out an extensive canning project. The
school will gladly accept donations of fruits and vegetables suitable for canning as well as mason jars. Foodstuffs to be canned will be used during the school year in the
preparation for school lunches for underprivileged children and also by the home economics department in the foods classes. Persons wishing to make donations are asked
to send them to the high school building. Teachers are not required to report to the buildings each day.
|The Call of January 8, 1943
SENIORS IN ARMED SERVICES ELIGIBLE FOR GRADUATION
At the monthly meeting of the Schuylkill Haven School Board held on Monday evening, a resolution was passed providing that boys inducted in to the armed forces either by
enlistment or through operation of the Selective Service Act who have completed all but the last half of their senior year will be eligible for graduation. The policy is in line
with that promulgated by the office of Dr. Francis B. Haas, state superintendent of public instruction. It provides for the award of a diploma to such boys under certain
conditions where all but the last half of the final senior high year will have been completed. The policy also extends to students who enter an institution of higher education
before the completion of the last year of high school and enables them to receive a diploma after a year successfully completed at the institution.
|The Call of April 4, 1974
HAVEN TEACHER DIES OF INJURIES
Miss Anita Castagnola, English teacher in the Schuylkill Haven Area School District, died of injuries she received when she was struck by an automobile while riding a bicycle
on RT 443 near the Call building last night at 10:15 o'clock. She was returning to her apartment at the home of Mrs. Roy Yoder, Schuylkill Haven RD #1, after conducting
practice for the Junior Play which was scheduled to be presented tomorrow night. Raymond Stump, Auburn RD #1, was the driver of the 1961 Corvair automobile which struck
the teacher bicyclist. He reported to the State Police that he saw the car in front of him swerve sharply but by the time he saw the cyclist, it was too late to avoid hitting her.
The right front headlight and the mirror on the side struck the teacher.
By coincidence, superintendent Dr. Eugene Surmacz, high school principal William Frear and middle school principal Wayne Haas came to the scene shortly after the accident
happened. They recognized the victim who was thrown to the lawn just beyond the eastern entrance to the womans dormitory of the Schuylkill campus of Penn State
University. Dr. Surmacz went to The Call and telephoned for the ambulance and notified the police. Principal Frear rode to the hospital in the ambulance and Principal Haas
remained at the scene. Miss Castagnola was unconscious and bleeding from a head cut when she was taken to Pottsville Hospital in the Lions Community Ambulance.
Emergency treatment was given but she died shortly afterwards at the hospital.
Miss Castagnola, 22, was a native of North Versailles near Pittsburgh in Allegheny County, and was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Anthony J. Castagnola. She was a graduate of
Westinghouse Memorial High School at Wilemerding in 1969 and Penn State University in 1972. She came to Schuylkill Haven as a high school English teacher in the fall of
1972. As dramatics teacher, she was in charge of the junior and senior class plays. "She was extremely popular with the students," reported Dr. Surmacz.
|The Call of September 12, 1919
MAY HAVE TO ENLARGE HIGH SCHOOL
There are 940 pupils enrolled in the public schools of Schuylkill Haven. This number is expected to considerably increase within several months' time by the addition of pupils
who did not return to their studies as yet. There are also a number of pupils prevented from attending school on account of contagious diseases existing in their homes and
when these return, the number will also be increased. There are fourteen non resident pupils attending school here, one being a high school student. The number of pupils
in the high school at this time is one hundred and forty four which is about the same as last year. Our schools this term have the largest number of pupils attending the two
eighth grade schools in their history. These schools correspond to the old grammar school grades. The rooms are filled to capacity with 88 pupils at this time.
The public has been priding itself on having recently obtained a high school building supposed to be large enough to accommodate the higher grade pupils for a number of
years. This the building will no doubt be able to do but there is likelihood of it being necessary to make some changes in the high school rooms in order to accommodate all
the high school students. This statement is based upon the fact that the number of students in the high school this term is 144. The graduating class will number about
twenty which will leave 124 pupils in the high school. There are 88 pupils in the eighth grade this year and all of whom no doubt will be ready to enter high school next term.
This number with the remaining 124 high school students would make a high school enrollment of 212. Allowing for deductions because of some pupils who might not wish to
continue their studies, the probable number would be anywhere from 165 to 175. If we take the total of 165 it would mean that 47 pupils would not return to school next term
and this would be a high percentage. If there are to be accommodated 165 pupils in the high school, some changes will have to be made in the rooms and probably additional
high school teachers required to take care of the unusually large classes.
|The Call of August 5, 1927
SCHOOL ATHLETIC FIELD
At the school board meeting this week, no action was taken relative to the resolution , to be adopted by the board, making the proposed $15,000 loan for improving the new
athletic field, legal for proper presentation to the voters. It is favored having it come up at the November election rather than at the primaries. Due to the candidates in the
field it was considered that the primaries would not concentrate sufficient interest in a local issue. The board considered that any time during September will be early enough
for acquainting the voters with the legal status of this matter.
The novel sign, prohibiting the dumping of refuse matter upon the rear of the school property bordering the athletic field, was discussed for a few moments and inquiry was
made concerning how the remarkable sign had its origins. It was brought out that Janitor Jacob Sheipe had prepared the sign. He did not give close attention to uniform type
and also displayed recklessness with reference as to how he spelled one of the words. The comment dropped after the information was given that the mistake had been
rectified and a new sign provided free of the objection that was made to the first one.
The board will take active interest in stopping the unsanitary practice of making a part of the new athletic field a dumping ground. It was pointed out that a great deal of this is
being done at night by the miscreants to escape detection. Part of the reason for complaint, is that in years gone by, this section was used for depositing ashes, garbage and
other deleterious matter. Janitor Sheipe expects to improve the situation by cutting and clearing away the thorn and other shrubbery which now affords a screen behind
which this unsanitary practice can be continued.
|The Call of September 23, 1927
PUPILS USE TOMATOES ON WALLS
Some high school boys residing in Spring Garden were the ringleaders of some fourth graders who spattered the walls in the school rooms in the North Ward building with
tomatoes and otherwise cause considerable damage. It appears the pupils of the third and fourth grades, taught by Miss Silliman and Miss Sausser, had planned a surprise
for their teachers for Tuesday morning by arranging a Harvest Home display of fruit and vegetables on the teachers' desks on Monday evening. During the evening the
mischief was done and when the school rooms were opened in the morning, a terrible sight greeted the janitor, the children and the teachers. The Harvest Home display was
completely disarranged, tomatoes and other fruit was thrown about the room and spattered on the walls. Books were taken from desks and a library and thrown about. Some
pencils were stolen and the rooms placed in such a condition that it required almost the entire morning to straighten things up. Not content with their mischief on the second
floor, the rooms of the lower grades on the first floor were also visited and some things disturbed. It is understood Superintendent Madeira easily determined who the guilty
boys were and punishment was meted out to the boys.
|The Call of January 12, 1934
ATHLETIC FIELD BEING ENLARGED
Good progress is being made on the development of the athletic field in Schuylkill Haven by the forty men who are employed on the work under the Civil Works
Administration. The work done on this field during the summer of last year, to a certain extent, was the preliminary for the work that is being done now. During the summer,
the large portion that was prepared for a football field was provided with nothing more than a temporary foundation. This section is now being regraded with the high point in
the center and a grade towards each side or corner. This will provide better drainage. The laying field is actually being moved further toward the high school building. This
will make it possible to put in a large track of oval size. There will be a space of at least thirty feet between the edge of the field and the outer edge of the track on the west
side. There will be a great amount of space on the east side. With the plan now being followed, it will also be possible to have a larger baseball field and this too, will be more
satisfactorily located than heretofore. The work being done under the C. W. A. is being done by pick, shovel and wheel barrow and is under the direction of engineer Paul
|The call of January 24, 1936
FIRE WHISTLE CONFUSES PUPILS
The blowing of the fire whistle, Thursday morning, about the time pupils were on their way to school, resulted in a number of them turning around and going home, being told
by adults that there would be no school session. This misunderstanding on the part of adults, perhaps, came from the fact that for some time the matter has been under
discussion of providing a means of advising the pupils when there would be no school session. Thursday morning, however, the blowing of the fire whistle indicated a fire.
The fact that the regular siren whistle was not blown to sound the alarm of fire was due to the fact that it was frozen. The public has been advised that there have been no
arrangements made to notify pupils when there will be no school. The Superintendent of Schools and the School Board will, if they see fit, provide some regulation along this
line. The public and pupils will be appraised in due time and until then school sessions will be held at their usual and regular periods.
|The Call of July 3, 1936
TRACK TO BE BUILT ON ATHLETIC FIELD
Beginning next Wednesday, work will be started of the completion of the school playgrounds at the North and East Ward school buildings in Schuylkill Haven and also the
athletic field. The work will be done through a supplemental Public Works Administration project, the original grant not having been sufficient to complete the work as at first
determined upon. At the playgrounds, the work will consist of additional grading and placing of a composition surface over the playground area. Some grading is also to be
done at the playgrounds. At the athletic field, where the work will be started within several weeks, additional grading of the football field and a topping of three to four inches
of soil will be placed on the same. On this field there will be built what has long been desired, namely, a track. This track will be constructed along the most modern and
recently developed lines, making for speed, permanency and ease for the runners.
|The Call of September 25, 1936
REMIND SCHUYLKILL HAVEN HIGH OF DEFEAT
As a reminder of the defeat of their football team, last Friday evening, by Pottsville, 13 to 0, Schuylkill haven high school students have a reminder that will not wear off in a
such a short time. Someone, or some persons, believed to have been Pottsville high school students, painted the numerals 13 to 0 in white and red or maroon (the colors of
the Pottsville High School) on the wall of the Haven Street building. The numerals are about three feet in height. Not satisfied with messing up the building in that manner,
nine panes of glass in one of the windows on the ground floor at the building were also painted. The glass was covered almost completely, the colors alternating,one pane
being painted red and the next white, etc.
|The Call of September 25, 1936
SCHOOL PLAYGROUND CLOSED TO CHILDREN
Recently, there has been considerable dissatisfaction and protest heard from parents of children residing near or in the vicinity of the East Ward school building. This
because of the fact that the large playground to the rear of the building has been closed after school hours. Children who heretofore used the playground for recreation and
play purposes were barred from the grounds. This matter was aired at the school board meeting recently and it was learned that the reason for the closing of the playground
was in order to permit the sections that were recently sodded to get a good start. Grass seed has also been planted in with the sod in order to enrich it. If children are
permitted on it now, the plot will be entirely ruined. Children had been in the habit of taking their express wagons on the sodded incline and letting them coast down the
incline, and it was for this reason that the board ordered the fence gates locked after the school hours. It is rather unfortunate that all children in that neighborhood have
been barred from use of the playground because of the destructive tendencies of only a few youngsters.
|The Call of September 25, 1936
NORTH WARD PLAYGROUND FINISHED UP
Tuesday morning, the last finishing touches were put on the playground at the North ward school building. It was necessary to procure a roller from Reading to roll the
amesite topping. This because of the fact that the borough road roller was entirely too heavy and it merely pushed the soft amesite topping ahead of it instead of packing it
solid. The cost of the roller from Reading was two dollars per hour including the operator. The cost of transporting the same was $4.50 per hour. The work of rebuilding the
playground at this school building has been in progress from the early spring. It was a Works Progress Administration job with the school district finishing the material and the
state the labor. The ground was several times dug up, leveled off again and dug up for various reasons. A sewer pipe line on the grounds had to be relaid several times for
various reasons. The job, however, is now complete and the youngsters who have been denied the privilege of using the playground all summer and since school started are
well pleased with their rebuilt playground.
|The Call of October 9, 1936
DEDICATE ATHLETIC FIELD IMPROVEMENTS OCTOBER 17TH
Saturday, October 17th, special ceremonies of dedication will precede the Booster Football game between the Schuylkill Haven High School and the team from the
Pennsylvania Institute for the Deaf. At the time the ornamental gateways, presented by the Parent Teacher Association as well as numerous other improvements to the
athletic field will be formally turned over to the school district and dedicated. The athletic field in the past year or since the last whistle was blown at the last football game last
fall, has undergone a considerable number of improvements and changes. First of all, the field itself has been practically remade, regraded and put in fine condition. The
entire field has been enclosed with an eight foot wire fence, costing the school board something in the neighborhood of $2,000. Additional bleacher seats have been
provided. Some additional drainage has been provided. Artistic and neat stone gate piers as well as gates have been erected at both the Paxson Avenue and Hess Street
entrances to the field. It is roughly estimated that the total cost of the Schuylkill Haven athletic field thus far has been almost $50,000. Several items of expenses recalled are
the following: original cost of property, paid by the Rotary Club, $1,000; first and original grading of the field paid for by the community in a special campaign for the purpose,
$1,200; pipe for drainage, paid by the school board, $2,500; fence, $2,000; materials, $800; miscellaneous expense, $300; labor on field, most of which was provided through the
Works Progress Administration, at least $40,000 ; Total $47,800.
|The Call of October 9, 1936
FINED FOR DEFACING SCHOOL PROPERTY HERE
Two young men from Pottsville, not students of the Pottsville high school or graduates, were fined for recent defacement of school property at Schuylkill Haven, following the
defeat of the Schuylkill Haven high school football team by the Pottsville high school team. Young Treon, who admitted painting in large numerals, in red and white paint, the
score at the rear of the high school building at Schuylkill Haven, was fined eleven dollars and costs. A youth by the name of Schaubline was fined $7.50 and costs, or
replacement value of a sweater and trousers of young Hinnershitz, member of the Schuylkill Haven high school squad. Paint was thrown on the clothing as Hinnershitz walked
along near Paxson Avenue. The hearings were held before Squire Ernest Singer. The prosecution was brought by Burgess Scott.
|The Call of July 15, 1927
75 ATTEND PLAYGROUND MEETINGS
Between seventy five and eighty five children each day are in attendance at the sessions and raining on the playground at the Haven Street building. The work is in charge of
the playground supervisor, Miss Christine Kline. Miss Kline is employed by the School Board and several of the town's service clubs. All children are privileged to attend the
daily sessions and reap the benefits from supervised and properly directed play. Both the boys and girls, under twelve years of age, are being trained for a track meet which
will be held during the summer. This particular training is much enjoyed and will be resultant in good physical development.
A scheduled program is followed daily. In the morning games are played after which practice for the field meet is in order, then comes a half hour story hour. In the afternoon
there is training in folk dancing, baseball games are played, instruction is given in handiwork craft and the session for the day is ended by a half hour devoted to story telling.
All children are welcome and parents would do well to have their children sent to the playground. The morning session begins at nine and the afternoon session at one.
|The Call of August 12, 1927
SAND PIT FOR THE SOUTH WARDERS
Added to the equipment in the playground at the South Ward school is a sand pit in size of ten feet by ten. It was placed in position last week and has proven most popular,
especially with the younger children, many of whom gather daily at this playground. It was placed through the efforts of the special playground committee composed of a
number of local organizations. It has been brought to the attention of this special committee that some youths who ought to know better, have been in the habit of
deliberately damaging the present playground equipment and endeavoring to loosen the nuts and bolts which hold this equipment together. This is very dangerous indeed
as every effort is being made to apprehend any person from tampering with this equipment with the result that prosecution will be brought.
|The Call of April 9, 1937
HIGH SCHOOL BOYS TOLD RULES FOR A CLEAN LIFE
Fifty five boys of the graduating class of 1937, of the Schuylkill Haven high school, as guests of the Rotary Club last evening, were given a most unusual and helpful talk by Dr.
Charles Haff, owner and chief surgeon of the Haff Hospital at Northampton, Pennsylvania. Not only was the address of great value to the boys, but the members of the club,
too, were benefited in more ways than one. Throughout the entire address, the closest attention was paid to the speaker and at its conclusion, the applause given was
thunderous and prolonged. When the meeting was over, every boy and every member of the club came forward and expressed to Dr. Haff their honest appreciation of the
The sincerity with which Dr. Haff delivered his address, and the very evident fact that his experience as a surgeon and his principles of clean living, well equipped him to
speak on the subject, made the presentation one of the finest and definitely helpful that the Rotary Club has had for some time. Dr. Haff laid down a number of rules for clean
living for high school boys. Each one he carefully explained in a straight from the shoulder and emphatic manner. He prefaced his remarks with the statement that usually
when a boy goes bad, it is because we, his elders, do something to show him the way. Clean living is the only and the easiest way to success. Unclean living is the saddest
and has the most disastrous results.
There are two kinds of boys, stated the speaker, clean and unclean. "I can tell what you are if you answer my questions." He stated you must ask yourself three questions. 1)
Are you clean toward your parents? 2) Are you clean towards your school authorities and 3) Are you clean in anticipation of your future life work?
|The Call of November 4, 1938
UNION PICKETS AT SCHOOL BUILDING PROJECT TUESDAY
For the first time in the history of the town, a union labor organization picketed a local work project. This was at the Schuylkill Haven high school on Tuesday morning. Six
men, representing the Central Labor Union of Pottsville, appeared and began to walk back and forth on the pavement in front of the building which is now being rebuilt by
Rice and Weidman. A dozen women later joined the ranks, being union members who picketed the large Phillips Jones plant at Pottsville, which plant has now been idle for
the past three months. Banners were carried which bore the words, "Rice and Weidman Are Unfair to Union Labor." The pavement was later roped off by the local police,
which forced the picketers into the street. After a short time, they left, promising to return later in the week. On Wednesday morning, Chief of Police Deibert was notified a
group two hundred strong would be down in the afternoon. They failed to arrive. They were expected on Thursday but did not put in an appearance. It is believed, however,
that more demonstrations by larger groups will be made from time too time.
The situation is one over which the school board has no control. The contract was awarded to Rice and Weidman Contractors. No stipulation could be or was made in the
contract as to the employment of union labor. As the contract for the rebuilding of the high school building is being carried out under the Public Works Administration, the
only stipulation as regards employment is that the men must be taken from the relief rolls wherever this is possible. The rates of wages paid in all lines of work were set by
the federal government and in most every instance are higher than the rates of wage paid union labor. A number of Schuylkill Haven unemployed men are being given work
on this project and it is pointed out that if union labor is to be used, there will be very few Schuylkill Haven men who can be given employment. It is for this reason that the
contracting firm refuses to recognize the union's demands.
|The Call of January 16, 1920
CLASS TO PUBLISH FIRST ANNUAL
The Senior Class intend to introduce something new for this town, namely a class annual. A book containing interesting information on the different high school classes, the
names of members of the various classes, photos of the classes, the class officers, the high school orchestra, basketball team, the literary society, etc., etc. In the book will
also appear advertisements of businessmen and firms and it is through the revenue obtained from the advertising that the biggest part pr portion of the expense of printing
will be obtained. The photographer made a number of photos Thursday of this week. The books will be ready for distribution about May 15th.
|The Call of January 28, 1938
HIGH SCHOOL AUDITORIUM A POND
Tuesday morning, following the unusually heavy downpour of rain, the scene in the high school auditorium, resembled that of a small sized pond. Water was pouring down
from the floors above in a regular waterfall style. This was due to the entire main building being yet without a roof, following the destructive fire of early December. With
every rain more water pours through the ceilings above and into the auditorium, where it runs out through the hallway. To build a temporary roof structure over the building,
it is understood would require at least five thousand dollars. The board does not feel inclined to spend this amount of money on a temporary structure. Permanent
construction can not be started in the way of rebuilding for months, or until plans are drawn and accepted and a contract let. Walls of the building to the third floor will have to
be torn down and all the ceilings and plaster in all of the rooms of the second and first floors will have to come down. Some temporary method, however, is to be devised to
lend at least some protection against further damage from snow and water, until reconstruction is started.
|The Call of January 21, 1938
HIGH SCHOOL FIRE LOSS ADJUSTED AT $62,000 FRIDAY EVENING
At a meeting of the School Board held last Friday evening, settlement of the fire loss on the Haven Street school building was agreed upon between the board and the
representative for the Fire Insurance Adjusters. The amount of loss will be between $61,000 and $62,000, the exact amount to be determined upon when several additional
items are approved. The above loss does not include contents but merely applies to the loss sustained on the building. Mr. Sanner, a Reading building contractor,
representing the insurance adjusters, together with Marshall Hughes, architect of Reading, and Edwin Becker, building contractor of Schuylkill Haven, had, for a week
previous to Friday evening, made several careful checkups of the building, and practically agreed upon the above stated loss.
Mr. Sanner, when questioned on the amount of loss, stated it would be readily possible to put the building back in the same condition it was before the fire, at the said
amount. He pointed out the fact that the building is more than twenty years old and a certain proportion was entirely worn out. Furthermore, that insurance can only be
figured upon the value of the building at the time of the fire. The amount of fire loss was arrived at by figuring it would be necessary to tear down the building to the third
floor level. The only thing in the entire building that expanded from the heat was two steel trusses on the third floor. Ceilings and walls on all floors will be torn down. All the
other part of the building construction is entirely okay. As soon as the adjustment is made on the loss to the building, the debris can be cleaned up or removed.
The adjustment on the contents will be made very shortly or as soon as the list of the inventory or the inventory of what contents was contained in each of the rooms in the
main building is completed. The sum of $24,000 insurance is carried on contents as was contained in the new annex and the old main building. The total insurance carried on
the building itself, main building and annex was $170,000. The sound value of the building was given by the adjuster as about $207,000. Of the total amount of insurance
carried on building proper, $80,000 was the amount placed some months ago on the annex.
|The Call of July 22, 1938
SCHOOL AUDITORIUM IS BEING TORN OUT
The approval and forms for acceptance of the $76,905 grant from the federal government to the Schuylkill Haven School District for the erection of a new addition to the high
school building, replacing that destroyed by fire, have not as yet been received. The delay makes it possible to proceed with advertising for the bids for the work. It is
expected along most any day and action can then be taken by the board to invite bids.
In the meantime, a considerable amount of demolition of the burned section of the building has been carried on by the three janitors: Jacob Scheipe, Arthur Krammes and
Clayton Eiler. These three men have taken out and stored away all the seats in the two auditorium floors. The balcony has been pulled down and the large timbers cleaned of
nails and spikes and salvaged. The timber is of exceptional length and in good condition. The hardwood flooring on the stage has also been salvaged, for despite the fact
that much water poured down upon it during the fore and for a week or more thereafter, it was not damaged in the least. This it is believed was due to the fact that it had a
thick coating of oil and floor wax. The steel girders in the balcony, of course, have not been removed. As much work as possible is to be done in getting things in shape for
the contractor who is finally awarded the bid for the reconstruction work to proceed. Whether the board will be successful in getting through a demolition project under the
Works Progress Administration is not certain. In the event that this does not result, an added expense will be incurred on the district to tear out portions of brick walls to the
second story and also part of the front of the building.
|The Call of August 12, 1938
ACCEPT PLANS FOR HIGH SCHOOL ADDITION
Final plans and specifications for the rebuilding of the Schuylkill Haven high school were accepted last Friday evening by the School Board at a special meeting held for that
purpose. Architect W. Marshall Hughes was present and explained the plans in detail. Resident Engineer Inspector Pfeil of Tamaqua was also present for the meeting. The
plans will now be filed with the PWA office at Harrisburg where prompt approval is expected and the advertising for bids will be started. The opening date for bids, subject to
the approval of the PWA Regional Director, has been set for Wednesday evening, August 31st. Bids were received for the steel scrap that has been discarded from the high
school building. Harvey Moyer was the successful bidder at 37 1/2 cents per one hundred pounds. Removal of the scrap will start at once. It was decided that the bleachers
will be removed from the gymnasium to Rotary Field where they will be erected for the football season. School desks formerly used on the second floor of the old building will
be conditioned and set up in the gymnasium for temporary classroom use until part of the old building can again be occupied.
|The Call of September 2, 1938
OBTAIN $75,000 GRANT FOR ATHLETIC FIELD
The Schuylkill Haven School District was notified this week that its application for a grant from the federal government through e Works Progress Administration project of
$75,000 had been granted. The exact amount of the grant is $74, 229 and will be used for further improvements at the athletic field. The total estimated cost of the work to be
done under this project is $87, 782. Of this amount the school district will be required to contribute certain sums, the exact amount of which has not been determined. While
the granting of this particular project for the development of the athletic field at the high school, the total moneys expended will amount to about $150,000. While no definite
figures have been available, it is believed that in the several years work under various work relief projects, the amount expended has been at least $150,000. The school
district has expended for materials at least $5,000 to $6,000. The original cost of the plot of ground, donated by the Schuylkill Haven Rotary Club to the school district was
$1,000. Among the work to be done on the field under the latest grant, are the following:
Construction of six tennis courts at the east and south side of the field; excavating and grading a section 100 by 300 feet for volley ball courts; removal of old wet stone
masonry walls and gutters; widening main portion of field; planting 5400 honeysuckle plants along the slopes; construction of 2720 feet of wet stone masonry walls, five by
seven, in ground 18 inches top and three feet by three feet ten inches bottom width, wall to be built under existing cyclone fence along west, south and east side of field;
laying 2130 feet of cement grouted rubble stone gutters; two forty foot sections of thirty inch corrugated drain pipe under two driveway entrances; building of an eight by
eight foot stone ticket house; 250 feet of five foot pavement from school building to athletic field, to be made with crushed stone surface; three hundred feet of two inch drain
pipe on west side of running track; sod baseball and football field, an area of 240 by 200 feet; sow lawn seed at the two oval areas on area inside running track; lay 1050 feet of
one inch galvanized water line; place 1313 feet of two by six wood markers along inside edge of one fourth mile running track and relocate present scoreboard.
|The Call of June 25, 1920
SUPERINTENDENT HOOVER TENDERS RESIGNATION
This week Superintendent T. A. Hoover of the public schools tendered his resignation to the School Board, same to take effect as soon as the board can conveniently accept
it, at least not later than August 15. The resignation will be formally presented before the board at a special meeting to be called for the purpose. Professor Hoover has
accepted a position in the Department of Education at the Millersville State Normal School. The new [position carries with it a very considerable increase in salary. The
character of the work will be more pleasant and general outlook for bigger things more favorable. Professor Hoover has been superintendent of the local schools for the past
five years. In this period he has brought the schools to a considerable high level and degree of efficiency. He has introduced a number of systems and followed certain
principles while they have been criticised by some people, have made for good schools. He has placed the responsibility of procuring and retaining knowledge more upon
the student than it has been heretofore. He has made many friends all of whom will be sorry to hear of his intention to leave our town.
|The Call of October 7, 1938
SCHOOL BOARD WANTS LOCAL LABOR ON NEW BUILDING
At the meeting of the Schuylkill Haven school board on Monday evening, audience was given to Mr. James Neade, President of the Building Trades Council of Pottsville. He
stated that it was desired that union labor be employed in the construction of the addition to the Schuylkill haven high school. He stated the trades council furnished the
rates of wages that are to be paid and that the rates are union rates for all the skilled work. He stated by using union labor, the board would have the best skilled labor
available. He wanted all labor to be union, not only part union and part non union. The district is paying the rates of union labor and therefore should have the best of skilled
craftsmen. If the job is put up by union labor, there will be no trouble, stated the speaker, as the labor will be of the best. Unless the contractors employ union labor, they will
be placed on the unfair list and will not build any more school buildings in this section. He stated union labor would no longer work for these contractors. They would not be
able to build any more buildings hereabouts because they could not get the labor. A member of the board stated the contract was awarded to Rice and Weidman. No
statement was made that either unoin or non union labor was to be employed. The only request to the contractors by the board was that as much local labor be employed as
possible. The sentiment of the board as expressed, was that the board would not dictate to the contractors whether they shall engage union labor or not.
|The Call of June 16, 1939
SCHOOL BOARD ORDERS FURNITURE FOR NEW BUILDING
At the special meeting of the Schuylkill Haven school board, held on Wednesday evening, a quantity of furniture and equipment for the school building addition was ordered
for the auditorium and a large quantity of furniture and equipment for the different school rooms in the new addition. Another application will be made to the Public Works
Administration for funds in order that steel lockers can be placed as was originally intended. The board has found it necessary to cut this item from the equipment list
because of lack of funds.
|The Call of September 15, 1939
PUPILS RESUME STUDY AFTER ONE DAY LOCKOUT BY CONTRACTOR
Am unexpected and welcome "day off" was provided Monday for seven hundred students of the junior and senior high schools of Schuylkill Haven. This because entrance to
their study and classrooms was barred by a barricade of roofers, etc., erected Saturday afternoon for and by the firm of Rice and Weidman of Lancaster, general contractors
for the rebuilding of the high school building. The barricade, however, was removed on Monday evening and on Tuesday morning, pupils again had full access to their rooms
and al parts of the building. Several of the Schuylkill Haven police officers were on duty, Tuesday and Wednesday, about the building to prevent the barricade again being
placed. The obstruction was placed in the three corridors on the first floor and at a point where the annex and main building are joined. All but one of the doors on the
building from the outside were securely locked and chained on the inside. The one remaining door which permitted egress was padlocked on the outside.
The reason assigned by the contractor for placing the barricade was to force the Schuylkill Haven school board to make an unconditional acceptance of the new addition to
the building. This the school board has refused to do because there are some matters of alleged non compliance and variance with the specifications, to be adjusted. These
claims, it is felt, if the board determines to press them by the arbitration process and later by court proceedings, would prejudice the claim of the school board, if a full and
complete acceptance of the building had been made. The school board has paid to date all estimates of work completed by the general contractor on the said estimates
approved by the architect and Public Works Administration authorities.
The contract with the Rice and Weidman firm permits the board to retain ten percent of the contract price for a period of thirty days after the building has been finally
accepted. This amount retained would be close to $12,000. The claims against the contracting company or the items in dispute will amount to between $3,000 and $3,500. The
school board held several conferences on Sunday without action. At the meeting on Monday evening, Mr. Weidman of the contracting firm was in attendance. The matter was
gone over without an amicable agreement or adjustment of the differences as the board refused absolutely to approve the school building unconditionally. The board
authorized the removal of the barricades and ordered the entire building be made available for school purposes. The action of the board, in so doing, in order to further the
interests of the education of the school children, has met with the complete approval of the general public.