|Schuylkill Haven is a small borough in the state of Pennsylvania, located about one hundred miles northwest of Philadelphia and fifty miles east of Harrisburg. It
is located in the southern portion of Schuylkill County about four miles south of the county seat of Pottsville.
One of the earliest settlements within the borders of the county, it is generally accepted that the first settler was John Fincher, a Quaker from Chester County. A
warrant for 225 acres of land was granted to him on March 5,1750. The land facing on the Schuylkill River,taking in the curve of the river, is today the west ward
and part of the south ward of town. It is this year that the borough celebrates as the official founding.
|OTHER HISTORICAL INFORMATION
|In addition to historical information about the formation and early years of Schuylkill
Haven, other unique and interesting news stories and facts will be offered here.
|Pottsville Republican of December 18, 1902
TWO TOTS COASTER TO THEIR DEATHS
" In the midst of life we are in death" twas never more forcibly demonstrated then at Schuylkill Haven last evening when two young boys were plunged into the Schuylkill River while
at play and were drowned without scarcely being able to raise a cry. It came so sudden, that those who had seen them but a short time before, were loath to believe it. The swollen
river carried the bodies of the two coasters from sight in an instant and although searching parties were out all night, They were unable to locate the bodies.
Joseph, aged eleven years son of Walter Bast, and Floyd, aged ten years and son of H. E. Bast were the two unfortunate victims. They were cousins and nephews of Jeremiah Bast,
the well known knitting mill proprietor.
After school the two boys, who were inseparable companions, took their sleds and went coasting on the hills. They romped about and were having a good time with their little
friends until finally, a short time after five o'clock, they found themselves alone on the Berne Street hill, which has a very slight and easy grade. They had coasted down the hill
several times and it is believed they were on what they intended to be their last trip before supper when the fatality occurred. Their sled went gliding over the hard crust with
Joseph lying on his stomach and Floyd astride his back. When they came to make the turn they found that on account of the hard crust on the snow that the curve was too sharp to
make and as the sled went sliding towards the river bank they threw themselves onto the ground. The momentum they had gained however was too great and clutching at the hard
frozen snow, with desperate cries they slid to the edge of the river bank and with a plunge disappeared from sight.
Edward Boyer, who was standing not far away, saw the terrible accident and after giving the alarm, rushed to the river side, but the angry rushing swirling waters had already
swallowed their victims and carried them down the stream. In a short time the banks were lined with people, while others waded through the river further down where the water
was not so deep and the channel wider. No trace of the little fellows could be secured, however until late in the night the search was continued. The river at this point is very much
swollen and the current rapid on account of the rain and the melting snow the day before. The bed is mostly mud and it is feared that the bodies may be buried in this and never
recovered. The sled did not go into the stream but was caught in a bush along the bank and held there.
When the parents of the boys were notified, they were almost frantic and would not believe that their children were cold in death when they had seen them but a short time before,
so jolly and full of life. Both little fellows were known to everyone in Schuylkill Haven and were very well liked and made much of by the older people as well as their playmates. A
shadow seemed to rest over the town last night and this morning, the terrible tragedy being the sole topic of conversation and the only thought. It was a shock such as has not
been felt in the town for many years and the sorrow of the parents was shared in a degree by everyone and they have the deepest sympathy of the entire community.
|TRAGEDIES IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
|Pottsville Republican of July 22, 1915
$5000 TOWN HALL FOR SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
It has now been definitely decided that Schuylkill Haven is to have a town hall to cost $5000. A special committee appointed by council held a meeting on Wednesday evening at
which they discussed the ways and means. The committee which is composed of Robert Hoffman, George Berkheiser, Arthur Yost and Oscar Bast made reports regarding their
visits to other places, giving as examples the town of Kutztown, with 3800 people, Tamaqua and Coaldale in this county, all three having nice town halls for about this figure. The
council owns a plot of ground on the west side of Dock Street between Main Street and Paxson Avenue, and the town hall will be erected on this spot. At the present time Schuylkill
Haven council meets in a room which is fifteen feet in length and fourteen feet in width, and it is too small to accommodate any taxpayers who might wish to be present at council
proceedings. Besides this there is no downtown office for the light company, the borough jail is too small and in such a location as to be useless, and there are a number of other
reasons why a town hall has been boosted for Schuylkill Haven.
It is the intention of the borough to erect the building within the next few months and in all probability an architect will be employed at the next meeting to draw up a set of plans.
Bids will be asked for and the contract awarded as soon as possible. The building is to be a two story brick one, according to present plans, and it will require only a short time to
erect this. It will include offices for the borough officials, board of health officials, office for light, meeting room for council, an auditorium for small public meetings and also a
borough jail. The authorities contend that it will cost less to conduct a town hall then paying rent for various buildings at the present.
|PLEASE NOTE: Articles on this page are now grouped by type and in chronological order. Newest articles are highlighted with a yellow background. Sections include: historical
information, Tragedies documenting sad stories of the past, and Municipal News that details civic news,
|ELECTRICITY COMES TO SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
|These two articles address the beginnings of electricity in Schuylkill Haven.
|COMING OUT OF DARKNESS
Schuylkill Haven Declares For Electric Light
|Pottsville Republican February 5, 1891
|A prominent citizen of Schuylkill Haven writes to the Republican as follows:
The Schuylkill Haven Borough Council adopted the Thompson-Houston electric arc light at their regular meeting last Tuesday evening, and in our estimation it showed good sense
and judgement in giving the citizens a good and superior light even if it would cost a trifle more then the Edison and Westinghouse.
The committee appointed by Council, comprising Messrs. Weber, Moser, Mayberry, McGoey and Freed, to visit Martinsburg W. Va, Harrisburg, Pottsville, Mahanoy City, Shenandoah
and several other places to inquire and inspect the electric plants of the Edison Westinghouse and Thompson-Houston systems, submitted their report to Council on Tuesday
evening. The Edison Westinghouse and the Thompson-Houston companies were represented by Messrs. Meyers, Porter and Snow respectively. After some discussion it was
unanimously decided to adopt the Thompson-Houston electric arc light as most suitable for the borough.
It has been darkly hinted by several citizens of this enterprising town that the committee received boodle for making a more favorable report relative to the plant now adopted. The
gentlemen comprising that committee are honorable and upright citizens in every sense, and their refusal of boodle offered by an agent of a different company showed the honesty
and backbone that was in this committee and should be commended. We hope Council will immediately take steps to have the town lighted by electricity at an early date.
|Pottsville Republican of October 22, 1891
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN'S NEW LIGHT
The Electric Plant Set in Motion Last Night by Due Ceremonies
Our neighbors of Schuylkill Haven came in out of the darkness last night and set in motion its new electric plant and flashed before the astonished citizens forty-five glaring lights of
the Thompson-Houston system. It is unnecessary to say that everyone was pleased even those who were first opposed to the cost of the plant to be erected by the borough, but
the progressive council braved the storm of opposition and now every taxpayer can see the result and the advantages of well lighted streets.
The light was turned on at 7:20 o'clock pm, by Clarence, the 12 year old son of President H. J. Moser of the Borough Council, under the direction of Superintendent Freed, Engineer
Robinson, Machinists Wilson and Killian and Councilman Mulholland.
The plant is located behind the Pennsylvania freight depot and has been erected by the borough at a cost of $12,600, and can be enlarged at any time as the demands and wants of
the people warrant it. At present forty-five lights are used to light the streets and every one confess it is an improvement that will pay for itself in a few years. To vary the monotony
of seeing a flood of light surrounding the town, a game of quoits was resorted to under the new light at Greenawalt's store, and created some amusement for the bystanders. At last
accounts the advocates of the electric light were ahead and scored many "hobs" and finally won the game. Messrs. Moser, Felix, Reifsnyder and Mulholland inspected the lights
last night in their official capacity.
|Pottsville Republican of June 7, 1922
FEAR HAVEN BOY DROWNED
Lamar Moser, aged sixteen, son of Clarence Moser of Schuylkill Haven, is believed to have been drowned in the reservoir in back of the car shops at Schuylkill Haven, and a party
of men were at once put to work at pumping the water from the reservoir to see if the body can be recovered. The young man, who is a popular high school student, went for a swim
shortly before noon Wednesday and several hours later some children who were laying about the reservoir came back to the town and said that they had found his clothing on the
bank near the reservoir, but no trace of the boy could be found. A number of men at once started out to search for him and although they searched the woods nearby, he has not
been found, and it is feared that he is drowned. Up to a late hour his body had not been found. Several hundred men were at the reservoir pumping out the water, the boy's father,
Clarence Moser, a fireman on the P and R Railroad, and the grandfather, H. L. Moser of Schuylkill Haven were on the scene and were nearly frantic with grief as all efforts to find the
body were in vain. Several men were diving and grappling hooks were being used but with no results. The whole town was anxiously awaiting some definite news as the young
man was a Boy Scout and was very popular.
|Pottsville Republican of January 13, 1899
The members of Carroll Lodge, Number 120, I. O. O. F. of Schuylkill Haven, last evening celebrated the sixteenth anniversary of its institution. There was a delightful program of
exercises rendered, after which the members and wives and lady friends sat down to a most sumptuous banquet. The anniversary was celebrated at Metamora Hall, which was
comfortably filled, altogether a number of the members were detained at home owing to illness. The exercises opened by the Eiler Cornet band rendering a choice selection. This
was followed by prayer by Chaplain S. R. Hartranft, after which D. S. Byerly delivered an address of welcome. The address of the evening was made by Dr. C. Lenker, whose subject
was "Odd Fellowship". Miss Bessie Dengler recited a selection which was well received. Speeches and songs were indulged in by others during the evening. The party dismissed
at two o'clock this morning.
|Pottsville Republican of April 6, 1914
ASK $15,000 BOND FOR CARNIVAL
Schuylkill Haven Council at a meeting held on Monday evening decided that if the Citizens Band of the town intended to have a carnival they would be obliged to enter bond in the
sum of $15,000. After about two hours of very lengthy argument between the Council members and the representatives of the band, a vote was taken by the council which resulted
with seven of them in favor of having the carnival and five against it. The president declared that permission had been given them by the vote, but that the bond as stated must be
furnished before they will be allowed to go on with their street carnival. It will be remembered that after the last celebration in that town Council passed a ordinance forbidding the
use of the streets for carnivals no matter for what purpose.
Messrs. Herbert Baker and Clayton Eiler represented the Citizens Band while Howard Stager was a representative of the Athletic Association of that town, in league with the band.
This trio put up a stiff argument in favor of the carnival and it was though their explanations that the permission was granted. They explained how carnivals of this kind benefited
the town and were of the opinion that another one would be a helping hand in their borough. The band representatives told how they were obliged to get funds to conduct their
band that they had no contributors and they were obliged to earn in some manner money for their treasury. A visitor stated that he knew of one person at least who would
contribute and both representatives of the band explained their past experience which showed perfectly that supports by contributions was out of the question.
On the opposite side were petitions from the churches in that town stating that in their opinion these celebrations were detrimental to the town. The immorality topic was their plea
and they contended that these celebrations did more to demoralize the entire community than anything else they knew of. These petitions were signed by some of the members of
their churches, mostly women. After the hearings of both sides, the discussion began and it was one of the warmest arguments heard in any meeting for many a day. Both sides
seemed determined to win and when the vote was taken on the proposition it was seen that the band led by the small majority of two votes. Schuylkill Haven is the scene of much
argument today over the carnival proposition and while it was the opinion of many of the citizens that the band would be allowed to have the carnival, they did not expect to see
such a fight on the part of the churches on this account. The permission is granted and that is what the band were fighting for and arrangements will begin in another week for
holding the celebration which will be of one week’s duration.
|Pottsville Republican of April 24, 1915
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN FREE DELIVERY
Postmaster Fred B. Reed, of Schuylkill Haven, is in receipt of three communications regarding the instituting of free mail service in Schuylkill Haven and according to these notices
there will be no free mail delivery in that town until after July 1, the fiscal government year. The communications followed a petition by over 450 voters of Schuylkill Haven, asking
the government to install free mail delivery there. The first letter received was from D. C. Roper, first assistant postmaster general at Washington, and it stated that the receipts at
Schuylkill Haven fell off during the past six months, ending December 31 of last year, and he did not deem it wise at this time to install free delivery.
The second one, from R. D. Heaton, in explanation stated that the government felt that they would not take up any matter of this kind at any place owing to the general fall off of post
office receipts through the European war, and that it was very probable that this would be given first thought on or about July 1. The free mail delivery service was promised
Schuylkill Haven about seven months ago. It was expected to have it instituted about January 1 of this year and then was delayed a month later and again thirty days more. In the
meantime Schuylkill Haven residents got busy numbering their houses, and the council of that town expended some money in having the streets named and a sign posted at each
street corner. It was seen that there would be no free mail service at once as there were no notices about examinations for positions and the voters then took the matter up, finally
getting a series of petitions on the market. These were in the hands of popular citizens in that town and last week were turned in with over 450 voters names. Recognition was
given these petitions and a very early answer was given the Schuylkill Haven citizens to clear their minds and to assure them that the free mail delivery proposition had not fallen
|Pottsville Republican of May 31, 1932
BOY FELL OFF RAFT DROWNS
Kenneth Shollenberger, six year old son of Mr. and Mrs. Curtis Shollenberger, Schuylkill Haven, drowned in Miller's Pond, near Schuylkill Haven, Monday when a raft from which he,
his sister Fern and two companions were fishing, overturned. The other three were able to reach shore in safety but Kenneth sank. A short time later, A. A. Alleman, operator of a
washery near the pond, recovered the body and made efforts to resuscitate the boy but life was already extinct. Dr. Lenker, the deputy coroner in Schuylkill Haven, who was
summoned to the scene of the accident, pronounced the boy dead. When the child fell on the overturning raft, his head struck the edge and he was rendered unconscious, a large
mark over the temple and forehead showed where he struck. The family are former Pottsville residents, where the boy was born, the mother before her marriage was Irene Reed of
Tremont, and the father is a well known assistant in the Yost Meat Market at Schuylkill Haven. Besides his parents, the one sister Fern survives. The family are members of Christ
Lutheran Church, Schuylkill Haven. The funeral will be held from the family home on Thursday afternoon with services at the Union Cemetery with Reverend E. H. Smoll presiding.
|The following three articles are related and tell a sad tale.....
|Pottsville Republican of April 4, 1916
MISSING SCHUYLKILL HAVEN MAN FOUND DEAD
After searching for Clayton Mengle, aged twenty one years, of Schuylkill Haven since New Year's, his dead body was found in the river to the rear of Bast's Factory near the covered
bridge at Schuylkill Haven on Wednesday morning by a schoolboy named Noecker, of that town. Mengel was identified by means of some postcards that he had in his pockets and
also by a scar on his face. The body was badly decomposed and by all appearances has been dead for many weeks. The authorities upon the finding of the body started a search for
the body of Miss Helen Hepler of Cressona, with whom Mengle was supposed to have gone away with about New Years. The authorities think that perhaps her body may be in the
river also, and while they have no special reason to confirm this belief, they are searching all along the river for her body.
It will be remembered that about New Years Mengle, who is a son of Henry Mengle of Schuylkill Haven, disappeared from Schuylkill Haven and at the same time, Miss Helen Hepler, a
daughter of Charles Hepler of Cressona, aged nineteen years, also disappeared. The two were friends and it was the opinion of the members of the families of the both that they
ran away together. The state police have been working on the case ever since and twice they thought they had a clue in Maryland, where it was thought they had gone to be
married. About seven weeks ago a suicide story was circulated about the pair but this was found to be untrue. The last heard of the pair was January 2 of this year, when residents
of Schuylkill Haven claim to have seen them together.
The authorities are puzzled over the finding of the body of Mengel. He has one mark on his head but otherwise seems unmarked. The suicide theory was advanced and it is the
general opinion that this is the case. Dr. G. O. Santee, acting as coroner for Dr. Moore, who is out of town, seems to think that the boy committed suicide. Late Wednesday
afternoon there were several state policeman and residents of Schuylkill Haven searching for the body of Miss Hepler. Besides his parents, Mengle leaves to survive him two
sisters, Mary and Eva, wife of Evan Steinbrunn.
|Pottsville Republican of July 3, 1916
MAY BE BODY OF HELEN HEPLER
What may be the last chapter in the famous Mengle-Hepler case turned on Monday afternoon with the finding of a body of a girl,decapitated, in the Schuylkill River near the washery
at Landingville. It is believed to be the body of Miss Helen Hepler, the fourteen year old girl whose whereabouts have been unknown since January 2. Her father was notified by
Coroner Moore about 10:30 o'clock and he viewed the body which is in a badly decomposed state. He was unable to positively identify the remains although he knew she wore a
blue dress similar to the shreds of the one found on her and in the river. The buttons on the dress were practically the same he said and he agreed that she wore a locket, bracelet
and ring similar to those found on the girl in the river, yet he would not positively say that it was his daughter. The mother was sent for at 2:30 o'clock and the body removed to
Schuylkill Haven to await her identifying the body. Coroner Moore says that it is beyond doubt the Hepler girl and the state police are of the opinion that it is the girl being sought
since January. The condition of the body and being minus the head made identification hard and the father and people who knew Helen Hepler said it looked nothing like her body.
The father said that if it is his daughter, it bears out the statement made by him several weeks ago when he asserted that a train struck both his daughter and Clayton Mengle, the
boy with whom she disappeared. In order to make identification a trifle easier, the blue shreds of a skirt found on her were washed by the authorities on Monday afternoon before
the mother was brought to identify the body. An investigation is being made and an inquest will likely follow.
It will be remembered that Miss Hepler and Clayton Mengle of Schuylkill Haven, who was her sweetheart, disappeared at the same time, the evening of January 2, and nothing was
heard of either of them until April 4th, when a boy named Noecker found the body of Mengle in the Schuylkill River just below the covered bridge, at the point where the Bast boys
fell in and were drowned some years ago. Up to this time the state police and authorities all over the state had been looking for the pair and had run down more then thirty clues all
of which failed to give the police any information as to their whereabouts. It was rumored in Cressona that the girl had been seen by a policeman in Easton and later in Allentown
and after this pictures of the pair were sent state wide in an effort to land them.
Shortly after the funding of the body of young Mengle, a note was found in the Schuylkill River near Reading which read as follows, "We are tired of life and have ended our miseries
together. You will find both our bodies in the river." The note was found in an old bottle shaped can was corked so as to be free from rain. The boys that found it turned it over to
the police in Reading and the state police in town were notified. They at once started an investigation after securing samples of the writing of both Miss Hepler and Mengel, and
finally concluded that the writing was neither that of Miss Hepler nor Mengle, although both their names were signed.
The case then was just as deep as ever and the police started to work over some facts that had been brought out at the inquest conducted by Coroner Moore on the evening of
April 11th. It was shown at the inquest that the Mengel boy, who was twenty one years of age, and pretty Miss Hepler, who had just passed her nineteenth birthday, were to meet in
front of the hose house in Cressona, friends of the two having testified to this statement. The girl was seen to leave her girlfriends in Cressona and walk towards the Cressona
road where she would reach the hose house, and likewise Mengel broke away from his chums and went to meet her. That was the last seen of either of them alive and since that
time the authorities have had nothing on which to base any foundation and have been searching for the young lady, the finding of Mengle's body coming as a surprise to them. A
hat belonging to the Hepler girl was found in the bushes near the railroad at Connor's Crossing and this together with other information regarding the pair, resulting in the decision
of the girl's father that the two had been hit by a train and driven into the river. A railroad crew several weeks ago also remarked that they felt they had struck someone but were
never able to give out any definite information.
|Pottsville Republican of July 5, 1916
HEPLER GIRL BURIED TUESDAY
After several hours investigation,. The body of the girl found in the Schuylkill River near the washery at Landingville on Monday afternoon, was identified as that of Helen Hepler and
the remains were claimed on Monday night by her parents and were taken from the almshouse to the Hepler home, from where the funeral was held on Tuesday afternoon. The
identification was made through a locket which was found on her neck. W. L. McLarren of Cressona, a merchant, sold it to Helen Hepler a week before she went away, identifying it
as the same one that he sold her. It had a diamond chip on the top and a large stone setting in the middle, being of an odd figure and easy to identify. When the father saw the body
he said it was not the body of his daughter and with the head not visible he was unable to identify it. He could not identify the bracelet, rings or locket as the property of his
daughter although he knew she had some similar to those found on the body. He refused to claim the body and Coroner Moore sent the remains to the almshouse, from where it
was taken after the father and mother were shown that the daughter had purchased this locket the week before she and Mengle left Cressona, from McLarren. The blue coat, blue
skirt and red sweater were not identified by the parents although this description was given by them and other witnesses at the inquest and when the report of their disappearance
was made. Coroner Moore stated on Wednesday that he would not conduct an inquest, that he was satisfied that nothing more could be learned then was brought out at the Mengle
inquest. He says that in his opinion the girl and Mengel were struck by a train while on the bridge near Schuylkill Haven and that their bodies were both knocked in the river. Upon
investigation of the body Coroner Moore found that the girl's right arm was broken and that the right arm of Mengle was broken, so that is plausible that the pair were struck by the
train. There are many who consider the case a deep mystery and can not understand how the pair were struck by a train and the crew did not ever learn of it or feel the jar. One
crew a short time after the pair disappeared said they felt sure they struck some object and when they alighted from their train and went back to investigate, they were unable to
find a trace of anyone.
|WHO TURNED ON THE LIGHT
|THE COST AND LOCATION
|Pottsville Republican of June 13, 1936
DEDICATE SCHUYLKILL HAVEN POST OFFICE SATURDAY
Today marked an unusual day in the history of Schuylkill Haven. The modern Post Office building recently completed by the government contractors was formally dedicated to the
use of the Postal service business. At eleven o'clock a delegation of local businessmen and others headed by Mayor Roy A. Scott, journeyed to Pottsville where they met visiting
officials. At Saint John's Reformed church a luncheon was served after which headed by the local band the procession marched to the post office building at the corner of Main and
saint John Streets. There from a platform erected on the Saint John Street side, draped in the national colors, the Honorable Clinton B. Eilenberger, third assistant postmaster
delivered the dedicatory address. Congressman James Gildea had been designated by the Postal Department to have charge of the afternoon meeting and the entire program was
prescribed by the Department at Washington. Honorable Ralph M. Bashore, secretary of Labor of the state of Pennsylvania and Honorable Roy Brownmiller, Deputy Highway
Commissioner, were honored guests.
In addition to Postmaster J. Harry Brownmiller, who accepted the building, quite a number of postmasters from this section were present. Prior to the afternoon exercises the
visitors were entertained briefly at the home of earl Stoyer on east main street and following it a formal reception was given at the extensive estate of D. D. Coldren in the Blue
Mountains near Port Clinton Gap. This evening at six o'clock, the days program will close with a banquet at Saint John's reformed church which will be attended by more than 250
people. Mayor Roy A. Scott, who is chairman of the borough general committee will have charge of this event. He will formally welcome the guests and introduce Attorney V. J.
Dalton who will act as toastmaster.
In July, Roy Brownmiller received word from Washington that $20,000 was offered to build the new office. The preliminary survey was done in August 1934 and in March 1935 the
contract was awarded to Oscar Weinstine of Wilkes Barre. In August 1935, the work of razing the old Hotel Grand property was started and in September the actual work of
construction was started. Mild weather was extremely favorable to the work but the snows of the severe winter delayed the work. However the work was completed on time and
June 1st was occupied by Postmaster J. Harry Brownmiller and his force of employees.
The building is of colonial design, one story with a roomy basement. It is modern in every particular, is centrally located and is indeed a welcome addition to the borough. In 1830
the first postmaster was named for Schuylkill Haven. Up to that time the residents had to go to the county seat at Orwigsburg for their mail, brought up the Schuylkill Valley by
stagecoach. In 1915, letter carrier service was instituted and later parcel post delivery was included in their work. A horse and wagon was hired for use of one of the men, as it was
found impossible to deliver by hand with the increase in size and weight of parcels accepted. Later a motor truck was purchased by the government for this work. The local office
is well managed and enjoys a high rating of efficiency.
|The Call of August 8, 1913
TO BUILD BRIDGE ACROSS RIVER
The efforts to have the county construct a bridge across the Schuylkill River at a point near the Roller Rink connecting with Berne Street having failed, the Grand Jury before which
the matter had to be argued, deciding that the cost would be too great on the county at this time, a movement has been begun by residents of Berne Street to effect a quicker
means of communication. A petition is being circulated for subscriptions to cover the expense of constructing a substantial foot bridge between Berne Street and lower Main
Street. It is proposed to construct at least a six foot wide bridge. The approach on the west side of the bridge being at a vacant lot on Berne Street directly opposite to the back
road to Cressona and between the properties of Daniel Phillips and William Luckenbill. The east side approach to the bridge will be about 150 feet below the Roller Rink. The
distance across the river at this point will be 115 feet. The bridge is to be of wooden construction on concrete piers. The estimated cost will be $1000 to $1200.
Messrs. Phillips and Luckenbill, the owners of the vacant lot on the west side of the river have agreed to give sufficient ground for the approach to the bridge off of Berne Street.
An effort will be made to have the Reading Company grant permission to build an approach on the east side on their property. The petition was circulated for the first time Monday
and we are informed that several hundred dollars has already been subscribed for the project. Businessmen and public spirited citizens will be asked to contribute and in this way
the amount necessary can easily be secured. It is also proposed to hold a festival in the near future to assist in securing the necessary funds. If at all possible it is the intention of
the Berne Street residents to have the bridge built this year and from the general and liberal response already given them it is quite possible that this may be accomplished.
|The Call of August 17, 1928
COUNCIL BUYS TWO TRAFFIC SIGNAL LIGHTS
A short meeting of the Schuylkill Haven Town Council was held on Thursday evening with all members in attendance. The Highway Committee recommended that traffic signals be
purchased of the Attica Company at their bid recently submitted. The committee determined upon this company’s signals after tabulation and comparison of the bids on traffic lights
of several other bidders. The total cost for the two proposed signal lights will be $600. The plans call for the placing of a traffic light at the corner of Columbia and Berne Streets. It
will be a four way three light system and will be of a pedestal type mounted upon a circular concrete and cast iron base. The base of the light will be illuminated with a white light.
The base will be about the same size as the base of the present beacon light which it will replace.
The second light will be placed at the corner of Dock Street and Centre Avenue, and will be a three way three light system. This will be of a suspension mast arm type mounted upon
a circular concrete and iron base and will occupy the same space and position as the present beacon light which it will replace. Upon the concrete base will be a master pole of
steel and from this steel arm will extend an arm from which the signal light will be extended. With the purchase of the two traffic lights the borough will have on its hands two traffic
beacons and the question arose following the adjournment of the meeting, what disposition was to be made of the two beacons. Some councilmen favored their being placed at
dangerous street intersections. Others favored their sale as their use will mean a continual expenditure for the gas which they consume. The Highway Department also
recommended that A. R. Saylor of Schuylkill Haven, be awarded the contract for the placing of the large sewer in the south end of the Parkway. His bid was $1225. The next highest
bidder, Schaffner Maberry was $1263. $1263.
|The Call of December 2, 1921
LANDMARK OF 1816 BEING TORN DOWN
One of the oldest of landmarks in Schuylkill Haven, a landmark associated with many events of importance in the early history of this section of the state is being razed to the
ground. It is the B. F. Gehrig property on Centre Avenue that was sold to the Keystone Oil and Gas Company. On its site will be erected a concrete service station.
The landmark was for many years a hostelry as hotels were termed in the early days. The first keeper or proprietor was Michael Freehafer, who opened it for business about 1815 or
1816 at which time the first road between Sunbury and Reading was built. The laborers who worked on this road often stayed here and for board at the hostelry they paid eight
dollars per month. The road at this point followed a straight line north. The curves now in the road were made necessary when the Pennsylvania Railroad came through the town.
Another early proprietor was Daniel Stager who also was postmaster, which post office was located in the same building. George Locks was the next proprietor and then followed in
succession from 1842 when John Mackey took charge, John Charles, Israel Wentzel, Thomas Summers, Howard Heffner, George Fegley and J. Deitrich. William Gensemer then
opened a saddler shop in the place and in 1891 B. F. Gehrig moved into the building.
As was expected the place was of extra strong timbers and built in an unusual manner. Upon the foundation were placed heavy fourteen by twelve inch solid oak stringers.
Extending crosswise, between the joists were placed boards and upon these narrow pieces of boards was filled in clay or plastering to the top of the joist, so that the space
between the joists was entirely gilled in solid. Upon the joist on the first floor was fist put down an oak floor and upon this was a yellow pine floor. This construction was found in
the room evidently used as the bar room. The walls of the building were planked and then plastered. The house was forty by forty feet and three stories high. Contractor Fisher
purchased the building and is finding extra fine timber in it which will be used for other building purposes. The contract for the construction of the service station will be let
|The Call of June 9, 1922
TWELVE YEAR OLD BOY DROWNS IN OLD RESERVOIR
Not in years has an accident, death or any other occurrence shocked and saddened this community as did the drowning of Lamar, the twelve year, eleven month and fourteen day
old son of Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Moser of Main Street. The drowning occurred Wednesday afternoon probably shortly after the noon hour at the “Old Reservoir” above Caldwell
Street. The discovery of the boys clothes made by companions led to the fear that the lad had drowned. His parents were summoned and upon their arrival immediately recognized
the garments. Other boys in the meantime had gathered in answer to the alarm spread and identified different articles of property that they occasionally made use of such as a
comb, key ring, etc.
Efforts were made at once to locate the body and a dozen or more young men continued diving into the reservoir but without any success. Almost frantic with grief, the father and
other relatives and friends urged haste that if perchance the body was discovered, there might be efforts made to resuscitate the boy. The water in the reservoir was between nine
and ten feet deep. It was very cold, covered with grease and oil and not any of the swimmers could remain under water for any length of time. Finally the company authorities were
appealed to and they ordered the water from the reservoir drawn off immediately. In the meantime Messrs. John and Mike Starr, by means of a plank and a rake, located the body
about fifteen feet from the side of the reservoir and near the wire which was used by boys to get into the dam. A young man by the name of Bensinger succeeded in bringing the
body to the surface where it was taken in charge of by undertaker D. M. Bittle and brought to the home of the grief stricken parents.
The boy was popular with a host of friends, not only companions and children of his own age, but of adults as well. He was a bright and very active lad and won the admiration of his
elders in many ways. He was an unusually bright scholar, a pupil of the seventh grade school taught by Miss Reinhart. He delighted in playing baseball and had developed a
remarkable pitching arm as it were. He was capable of pitching ball accurately equally as well with the left as with the right arm. He possessed a wonderful memory and could recite
in a pleasing way many readings of considerable length. The lad had also taken up the study of the violin and was making excellent progress on this difficult instrument. Just
shortly before leaving home on the fateful afternoon he had finished his daily practice on the instrument.
The public was concerned as to why the boy sought such a secluded and rather unattractive swimming hole and without companions. It is learned that he had expressed his
intention of learning to swim and surprise his boy friends when they began taunting him about his not being capable of swimming. It is believed that with this intention he had
visited the reservoir and after getting into the water found it entirely too deep, went to the bottom and because of the peculiar construction of the reservoir could not get out again,
although he most certainly must have made every effort to do so. His sudden death not only broke the hearts of the parents and relatives but saddened everyone in the community
who had been acquainted with him. Besides the parents, a sister Rose survives.
|This article relates the events of the Tumbling Run flood of 1850...
|The Call of October 7, 1921
FLOOD WASHES AWAY BRIDGE
The building operations under way for the new concrete bridge across the Schuylkill River at Columbia Street which necessitates the removal of the old wooden structure, has
caused many people to query as to when this structure was erected. From Joseph Paxson of Oaklette Virginia, who at one time was a resident of this town, was received the
following interesting article regarding the destruction of the bridge which the old structure now being removed, supplanted. Mr. Paxson does not give any exact date of the
building of the bridge, but it evidently was during the year 1850 or 1851. His article is as follows:
Some time in the summer of 1850 while my father, mother, five brothers and myself were living on the Edenbower farm situated on top of the Schuylkill Mountain (having moved
there on April 1st, 1849 from Philadelphia), we had a heavy continued fall of rain and one morning we could hear the roaring of angry waters and we rushed to the edge of the
mountain top and witnessed the great waters of the Tumbling Run dam sweeping nearly everything before it in the lowlands along the banks of the river. Our view was
unobstructed, as at that time there was no growing timber on the mountainside, it having been cut off by Levan and Kaufman to be used in the wood burning locomotives, in sole
use at that time. We could see wrecked buildings, canal boats, bridges and trees, horses and cattle floating. We could also see occupants of houses on the Dutch Flat waving
distress signals from the second story windows and see men in small boats rowing around and rescuing families from houses that were still standing. We could see that the
covered bridge close to Boyer’s Hotel was gone. It could not stand the great pressure of canal boats, wrecked buildings and other debris. The loss of life was small but the loss of
property was very great. Many homes having been swept away, the canal for miles torn to pieces, the Pottsville turnpike, which was then a toll road was also torn to pieces and was
not passable for many months.
We were completely cut off from wagon travel to stores and Post Office but fortunately the railroad bridge which was stronger, stood the test and we could use that for foot
passing. My older brothers, Isaac and Edward, were in the habit of attending the Pottsville market with the produce of our farm. If either one of them were living now they could
help me make this more interesting, as they were obliged to seek a new route to Pottsville. The Pottsville and Cressona road was built or constructed a number of years afterward.
Some time elapsed before a ford of the river was cleaned of big rock and stones, some one hundred yards or so south of the bridge. At that time there was no coal or culm in the
bed of the river. The County Commissioners decided to erect another covered bridge at the same place, but with heavier timber and bulkheads. My father agreed to sell them
heavy stones for the bulkheads at a very low figure, they to do the quarrying an hauling, and they were quarried from the east end of the quarry, which lies south of what we always
called the Old Field. After the water receded, several of my brothers and myself went down to Boyer’s Eck and rummaged among the debris, which consisted of all kinds of broken
furniture, utensils, clothing, etc. One prize we found was a hive loaded with the best of honey, the bees having left or drowned, so our table was supplied with good honey for a
long time. A canal boat lodged there was afterward floated.
|These two articles tell of the new Columbia Street bridge being built....
|The Call of February 4, 1921
MAY BUILD NEW BRIDGE OVER RIVER IN SOUTH WARD
Before the fall of 1921, Schuylkill Haven in all probability may be graced with a concrete
bridge more pleasing in appearance and more capable of accommodating the ever
increasing traffic then the present structure termed “The Schuylkill River Bridge”. It is
understood the County Commissioners have under consideration the replacing of a
number of bridges in the county this summer. The Schuylkill River bridge in this town is
one that is on the list to make way for a more modern concrete structure. The new bridge
is to be of concrete and on the same style and design as the concrete bridge in Pine Grove
completed about a year or two years ago. It is known that the present structure is an ever
present expense to the county as it is constantly in need of repairs. Being built on the old
style design and of wood, repairs by reason of the heavy traffic that daily passes over it, it
is not a source of constant expense but is dangerous and impracticable. Many collisions
have been narrowly averted. On every occasion that a heavy touring car or an ordinary
light weight truck passes over it the structure is shaken to the water’s edge. When a
heavily loaded truck passes over it, it does a regular accentuated quivering stunt. From
the rumors afloat it is evident the County Commissioners are aware of this fact and have
also realized the need for a bridge that is more safe and more adequate to accommodate
the traffic. A new bridge at this point will certainly be welcomed by the borough and it is
more then likely that the council will be glad to place on the new structure the proper
illumination. With a new bridge at this point, with the contemplated elimination of the large
bridge at the Bittle Dam this coming summer and the putting down of pavements in this
section, the erection of a number of houses, and the continued improvement to the
section along the river front by the building of bungalows, the South Ward certainly will in a
short time show a marked improvement in appearance and come into its former position of
being the beauty spot of town.
|The Call of July 22, 1921
COLUMBIA STREET BRIDGE BEING TORN DOWN
Work of dismantling the Columbia Street bridge was begun Monday morning by a force
of men under the superintendency of H. G. Dixon of the Concrete-Steel Bridge
Company of Parkesburg, West Virginia. In its place will be built a two span reinforced
concrete arch bridge. Each span will be sixty six feet in length. The plans call for a
thirty foot roadway with a five foot sidewalk on the north side of the bridge. Efforts
however are being made by Columbia and Berne Street residents to have two
footways built on the bridge. A petition was last week circulated and signed by, it is
said, every resident or taxpayer, excepting one, who refused to sign feeling that the
building of another sidewalk on the bridge would increase local taxation. The petition
was presented to the County Commissioners. Just what disposition will be made of
the same could not be learned at this writing. The present width of the roadway over
the bridge is eighteen feet. It is felt that another five foot walk could easily be built on
the new structure without interfering with traffic. There are to be four electroliers
with five light clusters placed on the same for illumination at night. There is to be a
solid railing along both sides of the bridge with bush hammered panels. The roadway
is to be separated from the sidewalks by a six inch concrete curbing. The bridge is to
be finished in 150 working days. The Superintendent expects to complete the bridge
in 120 working days. During the building operation the present bridge which will be
moved further up the river will be used as a temporary structure. The foundations for
the new bridge will be of concrete and stone and will set upon a bedrock foundation in
the river. In order to accomplish this the pumps on the Sirrocco washery will be used
in the excavating. Large coffer dams will of course first have to be constructed
before it will be possible to begin work on the foundation.
|The Call of July 21, 1916
HOW ABOUT A SCHUYLKILL HAVEN DAY
During the week a number of local people have made suggestions for an event for Schuylkill Haven which the Call believes will have the approval and support of everyone. It is for
a community picnic or community day out. How will the term “Schuylkill Haven Day Out” strike you, Mr. Reader? Remember what a big day and time Schuylkill Haven had at
Adamsdale Park several years ago. Everybody present had a great and grand time. Almost everybody in Schuylkill Haven spent at least several hours at the park and joined in the
festivities and merry making. Those in attendance were not only from Schuylkill Haven, but many were from the surrounding towns. And do you remember how the day was
favorably talked about and thought of for many, many weeks?
Do you believe the event had a tendency to promote a communal social spirit which was beneficial and helpful in giving Schuylkill Haven an impetus for better and bigger things?
Yes, you say, and in the same sentence you add that the total cost or expense was but of a minimum and never before was so much enjoyment and pleasure at a general outing or
picnic procured as on the particular occasion referred to. If Schuylkill Haven could hold a successful day out years ago, why cannot something of a similar nature be held in 1916?
There is no question about it being possible to do so. It is realized that community affairs of this kind, where the public is brought together for a days outing, fun, and real merry
making, makes for a better, livelier, stronger and healthier town. It prevents the town and the public spirit from growing dead.
Every businessman will join in to make a day out a success. Every manufacturer will assist and will be glad to give the employees a day off. Altogether the idea appeals and will
appeal to everyone. The persons who have already spoken of the matter are enthusiastic over it. All that is necessary is to get the ball rolling and if the weatherman can be bribed
so as to send the proper quality of weather, the success of the big day out several years ago can and will be duplicated. The educational and welfare committee of the Industrial
Association, we believe, would be the proper committee to proceed with the matter and stir it up. If this committee feels it is not proper for them to do so or hesitates in going
ahead, then a citizen’s committee should take up the idea. A number of citizens will be too glad to lend assistance and take an active part and share the burden of a large amount of
labor necessary for an event of this kind. The public will surely take an immediate active interest in the project and lend every aid necessary. Now altogether, let’s have a Schuylkill
Haven Day Out this year some time in August. What do you think?
|The Call of April 16, 1926
STRUCK BY AUTO, SIX YEAR LAD DIES OF INJURIES
Herbert, the six year old son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Epler of Margaretta Street, died at the Milliken Hospital Tuesday morning at three o’clock as a result of injuries Tuesday morning
about ten o’clock, when run over by a small auto truck driven by Hobart Becker of Adamsdale. The accident was unavoidable and occurred as Mr. Becker was driving up High Street
during the morning recess hour. It is understood children were on both sides of the street. One group of pupils had been playing with or jumping rope in the street. As the
machine happened along, one of the children dropped the end of the rope so the machine could pass. It is said that the little boy not noticing the approach of the machine and
believing the rope had been pulled out of his playmate’s hands, stooped to pick up and walk after the rope. He was struck by the machine and the wheels, from an examination of
the body, evidently passed over him.
Mr. Becker immediately picked up the child and rushed him to the office of a physician who was not in his office. He was then rushed to the office of Dr. Heim who made a careful
examination and had him taken to his home. The child was unconscious when picked up and remained in that condition until death. Convulsions followed shortly after the accident.
A hasty examination did not disclose any fracture of the skull. Monday afternoon the child was admitted to the Milliken Hospital where an x-ray showed a concussion of the brain. A
more careful examination showed the lungs and liver of the child to have been badly crushed. There were few body lacerations. Besides the parents, one brother Samuel
survives. The funeral will take place on Friday afternoon with services at the United Brethren Church at two o’clock. Mr. Becker, the driver of the car, deeply feels the sorrow of
the fatal accident, and it is understood the parents have exonerated him from all blame in the matter.
|The Call of May 14, 1926
HIT AND RUN DRIVER KILLS SIX YEAR OLD
James Franklin, the six year old son of Mr. and Mrs. Adam Tobias, died Sunday afternoon at the Milliken Hospital at three thirty o’clock from a fractured skull, sustained Saturday
evening about 8:30 o’clock, when struck by an auto on Columbia Street. The little fellow was about to cross the street from the Umbenhauer store where he had gone for a cone of
ice cream. The store is but one hundred and fifty feet from his home. The driver of the automobile that struck the child extinguished the lights on the car and drove rapidly away.
An eyewitness to the accident, Attorney Vincent Dalton, quickly summoned the neighbors and the child was picked up by the frantic mother and carried into the home. Dr. Detweiler
was summoned and gave first aid. The child was unconscious and remained in that state until death. An examination at the hospital, to which institution he was removed Sunday
morning, revealed a compound fracture of the skull and all hopes of his recovery were given up. It is understood, at this writing, clues being followed may lead to the arrest of the
driver of the machine, a Ford runabout with a small truck body, before the week ends. The machine went north on Columbia Street. The funeral of the boy took place Wednesday
afternoon. Reverend E. H. Smoll conducted the services and C. G. Wagner was the funeral director. Beside the parents, four sisters and one brother survive, namely, Mrs. Oscar
Butz, Esther, Carrie, Francis and Adam Jr. Ada
|The Call of April 16, 1892
OUR CORRESPONDENTS VISIT TO THE ELECTRIC LIGHT STATION
As your correspondent was walking along Haven Street the other evening, complacently smoking one of C. B. P.’s two for fives, I thought I would drop into the electric light station
and as I had frequently heard, the council had a great deal of trouble with the men and machinery, I thought I would investigate. And just by the way, I understand that council
proposes to run the station with an engineer and a boy to act as fireman. The employees were very reticent when any questions were put to them, but after remaining for some time
I came to the conclusion that two men experienced in machinery and firing would be necessary to run the station successfully. While there, they were compelled to shut down one
engine on account of the packing in the cylinder having become loose. On several occasions I have heard it remarked by several citizens that the town was frequently without light,
owing to the inexperienced persons employed at the station. Not to flatter these men, but I believe they understood their business thoroughly and if our citizens would go to the
station when the plant is in operation, they would be convinced that the blame cannot be placed on the employees. Upon inquiry, I learned that they are compelled to hunt up the
members of the light committee to order their supplies. Some times the committee evidently fails to order them in time, coal, oil, etc, for instance and consequently the town is in
darkness until the supplies arrive. As council has elected a superintendent, all this could be avoided by giving that person the authority to order and place the station in his hands
instead of the committee, who know nothing whatever about machinery.
Council is continually experimenting with coal, which is used for steam purposes. The citizens often wonder why it is that they have a poor light some nights. As the secret of
successful electric lighting may be placed in keeping up regular steam, and as so many changes are made in the fuel by council, you will readily see that it is impossible for the
fireman to know the nature of the coal and successfully keep up the required amount of steam. I also noticed the absence of rubber matting at the dynamos, which are used as
nonconductors and can always be seen in use at other stations. The station should also be supplied with a blower to keep up the fires, and the boilers should be cleaned out
occasionally, which council refuses to do. Dirty boilers often cause explosions. Another defect, and a most dangerous one I noticed, was the tremendous shaking of the building
while the engines were working. I was informed that the foundations on which the engines are placed are not large enough. I think if council does not remedy this defect, our
citizens should take the matter in hand before some fatal accident occurs. Anyone visiting the station will readily see the defects and the great danger the employees are placed in.
We give this to the public, in order that they may know the true state of affairs at the station. And, as council is failing in its duties, that the citizens may take the matter in hand.
|The Pottsville Republican of August 24, 1933
DAMAGE AT SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
The Schuylkill River rose alarmingly in Schuylkill Haven and vicinity and at three o'clock this morning broke through the wall below Columbia Street and a three foot rush of water
inundated the low lying land and flooded the homes. The trucks of the Headquarters Battery, with the Army truck and a Bittle and Confehr truck were held in readiness all night and
when the wall broke families were removed to safety. The water rose to such heights on James and Penn Streets that a boat had to be used to bring the residents to safety when
the water rushed into the homes and flooded the first two stories. This section of the town is very low and has no protection against the river.
Two residents refused to leave their homes and at nine o'clock the water around them was three feet deep. There was considerable damage to cellars and stocks of knitting mills
and shoe factories were damaged; the Schuylkill haven Paper Box Company building was surrounded but the water did not quite reach the floor level. Water flowed through the
Huling Garage on West Main Street and flooded the Reider Shoe Company and Meck Knitting Mill. All the woodwork on the bridge to the ball grounds was washed away and the
river broke through the dike and flooded the diamond. The creek along Long Run Road overflowed the road into Schuylkill Mountain and all washeries along the Schuylkill were
abandoned and several boats carried away.
|The Call of June 29, 1895
A WARNING NOTE
To those whom it may concern, who have license to sell drink in certain wards in the borough of Schuylkill Haven. It is a well known fact that those saloon keepers sell on Sunday as
well as on weekdays. All you have to do is go in the back way and you will get all the drink that you wish or desire. This does not apply to all, but only to certain individuals. Let them
take warning and stop this Sunday selling, for if they do not, their licenses will be broken. How can any man or woman who goes before the bar of justice and takes an oath that they
will not sell drink on Sunday, allow it to be sold in their houses. If he is a man or a father of a family who sells drink, he conceals himself in this manner, he will not sell, but his wife
or any other member of the family can sell all they have call for. In this manner does a woman act. She takes an oath that she will not sell on Sunday, but her children or her
relatives can sell all they have trade for. Such is the way in which saloon keepers trifle with justice in certain wards in Schuylkill Haven. Let this be the last warning for those
persons, for the first one of them that is hereafter found out to sell on Sunday, either in the house or to have it carried out of the house, their license will be broken. Let them dare
not sell drink to minors at any time. The same thing can be applied to those who are living on the border of this borough. Let them beware; there is one watching them.
|During this time frame, the Call had an editorial section called, "The Chatterbox".
This particular item deals with the timeless issue of loitering youth'
|The Call of October 12, 1906
We often wonder why it is, so many young men can be seen loafing upon our streets until a late hour of night. Many of them are from our best homes. The fathers of these young
men, many of them at least are numbered among our best citizens. If their sow or their horse or even their favorite dog was away from home after dark they would be out on a
search, but their own children can roam the town all night with apparently no effort being made to find them. The boy seems to be turned loose at a tender age to wander at will into
the paths of sin and vice and then we wonder where all our tramps and worthless specimens of humanity come from. It is a regrettable fact that too many of them come from seed
germinated in good homes and then sown in a careless manner upon our streets and back alleys. Reader, is your boy wasting his time upon our streets? If so had you not at least
look after him as carefully at nightfall as you would your horse and cow. We do not intimate that this evil exists to a greater extent in this community than in our sister towns but the
evil seems universal and increases in magnitude as the years roll by.
|The Call of November 24, 1911
FALLS 50 FEET TO HIS DEATH – Charles McFadden Thrown When Girder Twists
SECOND FATALITY AT NEW ASYLUM
The second fatal accident at the new asylum being built occurred Tuesday
evening when Charles McFadden, of Allentown , boss iron worker, fell about a
distance of fifty feet, receiving injuries from which he died several hours later.
The accident occurred at three o’clock when McFadden attempted to walk
across on of the iron girders, the girder not being bolted, twisted and threw
him. As he fell, he struck a number of beams and when the body reached the
ground, blood was oozing from a number of injuries. He was picked up by fellow
workmen and rushed to the hospital nearby and everything possible was done
for him. His skull was fractured, a number of bones broken and his body badly
lacerated. He died at 5:30 o’clock without regaining consciousness. Several
days prior to the accident, he was struck by a heavy piece of metal and suffered
a deep gash on his head which required eight stitches. Guy Baker, of town, was
standing near the unfortunate man when he fell. Mr. McFadden resided in
Allentown . He is survived by the widow and four children.
|The Call of September 8, 1911
FALLS 30 FEET TO DEATH – Lad Dies of Injuries Received at County Building - FIRST DAY
AT THIS KIND OF WORK
Henry T., the seventeen year old boy of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Wessner of Haven Street,
met his death in a distressing manner Thursday afternoon about three o’clock. He was
employed on the construction of the new County Insane Building and was wheeling a
barrow of mortar on two planks across the iron girders of the second story. The wheel
of the barrow slipped between the planks and threw him to the basement of the building,
a distance of thirty feet. In falling he struck the iron girders with his head and fell into a
ditch, striking with a sickening thud a large pipe in the ditch. The wheelbarrow with its
heavy load of mortar crashed on top of him. He sustained a crushed skull and a number
of internal injuries. Fellow workmen rushed to the scene and tenderly carried him to the
County Hospital nearby. Dr. Gillette, the County Hospital physician, upon examination,
saw at once that he could not survive. He died at 4:30 o’clock , being unconscious from
the time he was picked up. Mr. Wessner’s father was summoned as soon as the
accident occurred and arrived at the hospital shortly thereafter. Both the boys father
and mother are prostrated over the sudden death of the oldest of their children. The
body was removed to the sorrow stricken home, from whence the funeral will be held
Sunday afternoon. The boy had been employed on this work for several weeks but
Thursday was the first day he was put at work on the second story. He had previously
been employed at the Walkin Shoe Factory and as barber for J. Mengle. He was well
known and liked by all. The news of the accident was a shock to his many friends. The
family has the sympathy of the community.
|During construction of what is now known as "The 1912 Building" at
Rest Haven, two tragic deaths occurred. It has been said the building
is haunted. Perhaps these two poor souls still walk the halls.
|The Call of October 31, 1913
NEW INSANE HOSPITAL OPENED HERE
Schuylkill County's new $600,000 hospital for the insane, located at Schuylkill Haven, was dedicated with appropriate exercises Thursday afternoon in the presence of thousands of
people from all parts of the county. The program of exercises were of a simple yet interesting nature. They were held in the chapel, second floor of the main building. The room
was far too small to accommodate the large audience that annoyance was caused by persons jamming their way into the room and in a short time pressing their way through the
crowds again to get out.
Promptly at 2:30 o'clock the Third Brigade band, which occupied the front right corner of the chapel struck up the opening march of the program. The program as given in these
columns last week then followed. It was completed and brought to a close about 4:30 o'clock by the audience standing and enthusiastically joining in singing America.
For hours prior to the exercises, during the same and until five o'clock, the entire building was inspected by thousands of persons. The County Commissioners must be
commended for the excellent arrangement and provision of the details for the handling of the visitors. Attendants were stationed in many parts of the building and directed the
public through the same, explained the different portions of it, various kinds of apparatus, etc., and answered the many inquiries in a courteous manner.
From all sides was heard expressions as to the wonderful building which has been erected, delightfully located, modernly equipped, conveniently and comfortably arranged in all its
appointments and with a capacity to accommodate 600 to 700 patients. Schuylkill County sure can be proud of one thing and that is that it possesses the most uptodate and
thoroughly scientific institution for the care of the insane in the state.
Judge Brumm in his address struck the keynote of the entire days program when he stated the cause, in his opinion, of the present number of insane and the rapid increase of the
number, throughout the country was the cigarette. He stated that he had ascertained to his complete satisfaction that there are more weak minded boys, more imbeciles, eventually
lunatics, bred in this country of ours today from the effects of the cigarette then there is from the effect of alcoholic spirits. He further stated that parents should see that their
children are not permitted to use cigarettes. That during his career on the bench there has not been a single instance where he examined the fingers of boys and young men
brought before him for trial that he did not find the stain on their fingers of the cigarette. He said he hoped every man and woman would take some step to prevent the use of the
cigarette and also to punish the villain guilty of selling them to their boys. Handsome souvenir booklets containing valuable information covering the new institution were given to
|The Call of July 3, 1914
CHILD FOUND IN MANHOLE
Some excitement was caused about town on Saturday evening and Sunday by the announcement of the discovery of a dead three year old child in a manhole of a steam pipe line at
the County Institution. From the details at first obtainable the affair looked like a case of murder, but an investigation satisfied the Coroner that the child met death accidentally.
The child was that of Theodore Warnisky. The father being in the county jail and the mother an inmate of the County Almshouse. While out walking Friday afternoon with its mother it
became lost. Search was made during Friday evening and all day Saturday. Saturday afternoon one of the State Police made the discovery.
The manhole in which the child was found is that leading to the steam pipeline between the power plant and the Insane Building. It is about ten feet deep and four feet square. The
iron opening of the manhole is about twenty inches in diameter. A tin cup, such as is used at the institution, being used for soup, etc., was found in the manhole. It is believed it
belonged to the child and the child while playing near the manhole pushed it over and it dropped into the hole. The child in looking down at the cup, lost its balance and fell into the
manhole. A post mortem examination was made by Dr. Lessig Saturday evening. The manhole being filled with steam pipes, the temperature was between 120 and 140 degrees and
the child was suffocated and literally roasted to death as its little body was quite brown and shriveled. A feature that led one to believe that the child met with foul play was the fact
that on Monday, June 29, the child was to be taken to a state home of children and it was thought the mother instead of caring to part with it, had caused its death. Investigation by
the coroner did not bring to light any evidence that would cast suspicion on the mother.
|The Call of May 2, 1919
AUTO ACCIDENT PROVES FATAL
The first auto accident in Schuylkill Haven for years to result seriously and fatally was that of Tuesday struck by an auto on West Main Street. The car was in charge of Roy Eiler. It
was a machine, the property of Charles Michel and was being taken to the Losch garage for repairs. The child was struck on the chest and shoulder by the guard of the machine and
thrown against the fender, striking with his head. He was picked up in an unconscious condition. Mr. Eiler immediately summoned a physician. Both Doctors Gillette and Lessig
arrived. An examination showed he sustained a fractured skull. Death occurred at 5:45 o'clock. The youngster was a pupil of the second grade school of the South ward building,
taught by Miss Carrie Rehrer. He had just finished his dinner and was leaving home, walked through the yard to an alley at the rear of the house leading to Main Street. Bystanders
state he was standing on the pavement near the skating rink facing west. Just as the auto came from the east, he without warning stepped into the street. Although it is stated the
machine was going slow, the driver could not turn quick enough to avoid striking the child a sort of glancing blow. The parents, although grief stricken over the sudden death of
their son, feel the accident was an unavoidable one and do not hold the driver responsible. Besides the parents, two brothers, Elmer and Clarence survive. The deceased was in
his eighth year. He would have been nine years of age on the twenty ninth of this month. He was a member of the Christ Lutheran Sunday School. The funeral will be held Sunday
afternoon at the home of his parents.
|The Call of April 9, 1920
16 YEAR OLD BOY KILLED BY AUTO
Raymond Sterner, the sixteen year old son of Charles Sterner of Auburn, was instantly killed Tuesday afternoon about 4:30 o'clock by being run over by an auto truck, the property of
the Rettig Brewing Company of Pottsville. The accident occurred on Centre Avenue, a short distance above the home of was going north as was also a junk dealer who had an
unhitched horse walking along the side of his wagon. The auto was just about driving around the junk dealer's team when the boy on the bicycle came south. The driver stated his
particular attention was called to him as he appeared to be very nervous or just learning how to ride. As he passed the machine the driver leaned from his car to see how he was
afternoon about 4:30 o'clock by being run over by an auto truck, the property of the Rettig Brewing making out. He was shocked to see his body lying in the road. The boy's front
wheel evidently was Company of Pottsville. The accident occurred on Centre Avenue, a short distance above the home of Joseph Maberry. The boy was riding a bicycle and was
coming south on Centre Avenue. The auto truck was dead when he was reached. The body was picked up and carried into the home of Joseph Maberry. The wheel of the machine
passed over his forehead and diagonally across his face crushing the same. There were but a few bruises on his body. Several hours were required before the identity of the
young man was established. It appears the boy made his home with his uncle, a Mr. Koch, residing on Caldwell Street. He had come to Schuylkill Haven but a few days previous to
his death. His home is in Auburn. One brother residing in town also survives. The funeral will take place this afternoon at one o'clock with services at the Koch home and later in
the Red Church. O. A. Bittle will be the funeral director.
|The Call of August 27, 1920
CHILD KILLED BY AUTO TRUCK
Anna, the eight year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Warren Berger of North Berne Street, was run over instantly killed by the auto truck of Squire Reed of Summit Station, Saturday
shortly after the noon hour. Mr. Reed, who is well known here, made frequent visits to town and disposed of his farm produce to residents of Berne Street. The children frequently
watched for him on particular days and hung on the machine. Mr. Reed had warned them repeatedly to discontinue their practice. On Saturday when he was about to depart from in
front of the Berger home, he ordered all of them off the truck and started the engine. Just as the machine began to move he heard a woman scream and looking around saw the girl
Anna, the eight year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Warren Berger of North Berne Street, was run over and clinging to the side of the truck. He immediately stopped the car but too
late as the clothing, having come in contact with the tires, the little body was drawn underneath the rear wheels. The child was internally injured and bruised about the leg and
neck. Mr. Reed has been absolved of all blame by the parents of the child. Needless to say, the Squire feels the result of the accident almost as keenly as the parents. The little
girl was a member of Saint John's Reformed Sunday School. Last year she was a pupil in Miss Raudenbush's school. Besides the parents, these brothers survive: Marlin, Donald
and Arvil. The funeral was held Thursday afternoon with services at the late home by Reverend M. A. Kieffer. Many bouquets of flowers were presented by friends and playmates of
the deceased as well as the Sunday School. O. A. Bittle was the funeral director.
|The Call of July 7, 1922
KILLED BY AUTO ON CENTRE AVENUE
Sad as it was sudden, was the death of William Boussum of Dock Street, one of the town's best known persons, which occurred shortly after nine o'clock Saturday evening. Mr.
Boussum met death as the result of being struck by an automobile driven by Walter Sheafer of Pottsville, going north on the avenue. Mr. Boussum was assisting some members of
the Rainbow Hose Company to flush the debris and mud from Centre Avenue, which had been washed thereon by the heavy rains. He was in the act of stooping down to take a kink
from the fire hose when he was struck. He was dragged along the street about forty feet. When picked up, life was extinct, as the back of his head had been crushed in. His face
and front of his body was bruised and bleeding as a result of having been dragged. His one leg was broken in two places. Tenderly he was carried to a nearby home and Dr.
Detweiler summoned. The doctor's examination merely confirmed his death.
The autoists in the Buick touring owned and also operated by a Mr. Walters of Pottsville, were returning from the country club. It is alleged that the machine was traveling at a rapid
rate. The driver continued toward Pottsville. Mr. Daniel Greenawald, who was on his way to the brick plant, witnessed the accident. Turning around and noting that the other auto
continued on, he hurried after him. Mr. Harry Sterner accompanied him and on the stretch between town and Seven Stars it is said it was necessary to drive sixty five miles an hour
to overtake the other machine. Mr. Greenawald passed the auto and turned his car square across the road, narrowly escaping being run down. The blood was still noticeable on
the fender of the car. The autoist was brought back to Schuylkill Haven. A hearing was immediately before Squire W. C. Kline. The charge preferred was manslaughter. The driver
stated he thought he had struck a post or several lines of hose. He was committed to jail without bail. The court later released the young man, a student at Yale, on $5000 bail. The
coroner's inquest will be held some time the coming week.
William Boussum was a lifelong resident of the town and known to most every resident. He was forty five years of age. He, for many years, was employed at the P. and R. car shops.
He was a member of the Moose and the Rainbow Hose Company. In this latter organization he was one of the most indefatigable and most willing workers. Regardless of the time or
place of a fire, "Kutch" Boussum, as he was more familiarly known, was among the firemen. His death cast a deep veil of sorrow over the entire section of the community in which
he resided. The news of his death was on the lips of everyone Sunday. The deceased was of a jovial disposition, always full of life and sunshine and it was this happy temperament
that made and retained his innumerable circle of friends. Besides the widow, three stepchildren survive. Also two sons, Thomas of Cressona and John of Pottsville. Also one
sister, Mrs. Harry Maurey of Orwigsburg.
|The Call of January 14, 1921
EASTERN STAR INSTITUTED
An Order of the Eastern Star was instituted here Thursday afternoon with auspicious and detailed ceremonies. The new ladies organization to which only wives and daughters of
members of the Masonic Fraternity are eligible, will be known as Schuylkill Haven Chapter Number 317, Order of Eastern Star. The institution was made possible by the presence of
seventeen Grand Lodge officers who came from Pittsburgh, Hazleton and Wilkes Barre. The event took place in the Keystone Hall and lasted from about one o'clock until five. In
addition to the local fifty chartered members of the order and the Grand Lodge officers, there were present members of the Eastern Star lodges from Pottsville, Minersville, Saint
Clair, Tamaqua, Hazleton, Reading and Philadelphia. New paraphernalia had already been received by the local chapter and was used during the ceremonies. Several hundred
persons were present, all of whom were served refreshments following the lodge session. The Grand Lodge officers were met at the P. R. R. station, Pottsville, at noon and brought
to town in autos and served with dinner at Hotel Grand.
The new order is composed of some fifty charter members and has this same number of candidates for admittance to the lodge. The complete list of officers installed is as follows:
Worthy Matron, Mrs. H. C. Gleockler; Worthy Patron, George M. Paxson; Associate Matron, Mrs. Frank Schumacher; Conductress, Mrs. John Berger; Associate Conductress, Mrs.
Frank Reider; Treasurer, Mrs. Harry Quinter; Secretary, Mrs. G. O. O. Santee; Chaplain, Mrs. George Berger; Marshal, Mrs. W. E. Stine; Organist, Mrs. George Long; Points of the Star,
Mrs. H. D. Felix, Mrs. Harvey Heim, Mrs. J. A. Noecker, Mrs. Carl Eves, Mrs. Charles Rickson; Sentinel, Mrs. James Lengel; Warden, Mrs. Walter Bast.
|The Call of February 1, 1924
KKK HELD OPEN MEETING HERE
The Invisible Order of Ku Klux Klan held a public meeting here Monday evening in Bittle Hall. It was attended by about two hundred and fifty citizens of the town who were invited
by small cards handed to them personally several days before the meeting. An address of over two hours length was delivered by the speaker of the evening. His first statements
relieved the minds of many of his hearers when he remarked that the organization was not an Anti-Catholic, Anti-Negro or Anti-Jewish institution as has been charged. He explained
at some length how the KKK had come to be thus charged. The speaker held the attention of the audience for almost the full two hour period by a most clear and concise
explanation of the principles, aims, plans and workings of the order. He explained why the gown and hood is worn by the members.
The Ku Klux Klan, continued the speaker, has been unjustly charged with unpardonable conduct and crimes committed by unknown persons who have donned the somewhat
peculiar shaped mask and gown worn by this organization. These acts are the results of personal grievances and the mask and gown is used by these unscrupulous persons to
shield and protect their identity. The KKK is unjustly blamed for many happenings of this nature. The Ku Klux Klan does not proceed in this manner. Not a hand is to be raised
against or laid upon any individual in a harmful or injurious way. The speaker explained that if there is reason for improvement of conditions either of a personal or municipal and
civic nature, warnings are first issued to persons concerned and if the result is not accomplished notices are then posted. If there is no improvement the officials of the town or
city are notified. If this does not produce the desired result, county officials are notified, then state officials and finally the National Organization. It is also understood that following
the meeting and during the week quite a few persons have signed allegiance to the Ku Klux Klan in this section, as a result of this open meeting conducted in no unusual way.
|The Call of March 21, 1924
TRAFFIC LIGHTS IN OPERATION
This week Street Commissioner Huy with his assistant "Uncle Will" placed in position the four American Gas Accumulator Traffic Beacons. One each was placed at the corner of
Berne and Columbia, Saint John and Main, Main and Dock, and Dock and Centre Avenue. The beacons, as we endeavored to describe in these columns months ago, are mounted
on solid concrete foundations. A warning signal is flashed in four directions both day and night. The signal light is mounted on top of an oblong box which contains the gas tank and
machinery that operates the same. The four were placed on trial and are expected to assist in regulating traffic and preventing accidents. A thirty day trial will be allowed and if the
borough decides to retain them the cost will be in the neighborhood of two hundred dollars. The gas tanks are of a capacity sufficient to operate each light for six months as only a
small amount of gas is consumed daily.
|The Call of April 1, 1927
DEAD BABE FOUND IN BED OF CREEK
Some excitement was caused Saturday afternoon by the finding of a dead infant babe in the channel of the creek which flows from Garfield Avenue, underneath the banks of the
Lehigh Valley and Pennsylvania Railroads and continues on through the property of W. C. Kline where it empties into the level. The body, that of a girl of about four months
premature birth, was found at a point in the stream at the Pennsy Railroad arch. The discovery was made by William Sattizahn who was assisting Mr. Kline in removing some of the
debris from the channel of the stream. The body was found unclothed, there not being even a stitch of clothing or wrapping of any kind. The authorities were summoned and
Deputy Coroner Heim made an examination and pronounced that the babe had not been in the water for a longer period than from Friday evening. It was thought that it was hardly
possible that the body was placed at the point where it was found but rather thrown into the stream at some point along its course. At this season of the year there is considerable
current and the body could easily have washed down to the point where it was found. Possibly if men had not been working in the vicinity on Saturday afternoon the body would in
time have been washed into the river and the discovery never made. The body was taken to the morgue at the county institution and during the week it was ordered interred by
Coroner Heim. The authorities are investigating the matter and may fix responsibility shortly.
|The Call of August 3, 1928
TWO YEAR OLD CHILD DROWNS IN POOL OF WATER
Less than one half hour after the two year old son of Mr. and Mrs. William Berger of Liberty Street, standing at the rear of the lot with his mother, had waved goodbye to his
granddaddy, Milton Berger, flagman on the Reading express Number 6, leaving here for Philadelphia Sunday morning at 11:30, as the train passed the home, the child was cold in
death and frantic parents mourned over the body. The child had been brought up to the house from the rear of the lot by the mother but walked around to the front. As the mother
was preparing for the noon day meal, his absence was not discovered for a few minutes. Upon the discovery, one of the members of the family was sent to the home of the
grandparents a few doors away where the child frequently went. The child was not at the home of the grandparents. The little fellow had gone out front and into the yard of a
neighbor, Schuyler Frehafer. At the end of the yard was a ditch or hole that was being prepared to be used as a cesspool. The child wandered to this hole and on top of three or
four feet of water the mother found the lifeless body. Dr. Rutter was summoned but found life extinct. Dr. Fegley of Tremont, County Coroner, made an examination of conditions on
the premises where the drowning occurred and issued a death certificate of accidental drowning. The funeral of the child took place Wednesday afternoon at two o'clock. Services
were conducted by Dr. Noll at the home. Interment was made in Cressona. D. M. Bittle was funeral director. Besides the parents four children survive: Arlis aged seven, Milton
Gerald aged six, Jean aged four and Lola an eight month old child. The deceased child was two years of age Thursday of last week. The little fellow was the pride of the home and
much sympathy was extended to the parents and to the grandparents also in their bereavement.
|This article published in The Call on July 22, 1921 gives detailed
information on the section of Schuylkill Haven known as "Spring Garden"
|SPRING GARDEN AN IMPORTANT PART OF TOWN
"Spring Garden!" What, why and where is it? To explain what it is will require several paragraphs. To explain where it is may be difficult, nevertheless we will undertake to do so.
Spring Garden is not a suburb of town but like several other names given to different sections of all big "cities", it is simply the title given years ago to that portion of the town
located on the north of the central portion. Just what portions of the northerly part of the town constitute Spring Garden have never been quite definitely determined, although it is
generally conceded to include that portion of the North Ward beginning at Paxson Avenue and extending for some distance north and east. By some persons it is said Centre
Avenue is the eastward boundary and this may be true as that section east of Centre Avenue has a name all its own, Nosedale or years ago generally called "Naussadahl". Then
again Spring Gardeners tell us it includes all of the North Ward. For chronological purposes therefore we will take it for granted that is exactly what it consists of; the entire North
Now, How Come? Well in the early history we understand, physically Spring Garden was a separate village from Schuylkill Haven. It was separated near Paxson Avenue by a huge
swamp which in later years was filled in by the borough. Minutes of the town council years and years ago show that considerable filling had to be done at that point and at other
places trees had to be cut down. Spring Garden was the title early assigned to that particular section. Just why such a name was chosen, older residents do not seem to be with
wooded hills, the river and several streams running through it. Then too there was a spring on what is now Haven Street near the Pennsylvania Railroad station. A spring that has
proven to be of a never failing supply and a spring whose water is always fresh and very cold and a wonderful thirst quencher. The spring prior to the laying of water pipelines,
supplied hundreds of families with water. It was a spot where housewives would meet during the day to greet one another or perhaps discuss some item of interest that occurred
in this section. "The Spring" was also considered the "hang out" of a number of the male population in the early evenings. It became a regular town square and folks gathered in
that section and whiled away hours at a time. The spring today supplies many people with good fresh and cool water. As to its purity at this time we are not too certain. Several
years ago a sample of the water tested by the State Health Department was not given a very satisfactory or clean bill.
There are many prominent features in Spring Garden that can be enumerated to show or prove, "What it is" and therefore answer the first question in the article. The assessed
valuation of the North Ward for the year 1921 is $294,108. There are 476 male taxpayers and 460 female taxpayers in this ward. The women taxpayers will pay $427.07 regular
borough tax and $54.38 special borough tax or a total of $481.65. The male taxpayers will be required to pay, according to the records of the Tax Collector, $2514.01 regular borough
tax and $316.08 special borough tax or a total of $2830.09. In this ward $71531 is reported as being on interest by its residents.
According to a report made by the Fire Chief of town on July 16, 1920 there are 332 houses in the North Ward. This number it is thought has been somewhat increased since this
Spring Garden was years ago one of the busiest sections of the town. It was the seat of activity of the boating industry as the coal landings and docks were located in this ward.
The coal was dumped from the mine cars to the waiting canal boats after being weighed. Many residents remember the busy center and importance this particular point held in the
Schuylkill Canal boating. From Schuylkill Haven, three fourths of all the coal began its trip by water to tide points.
With the boating industry having passed and much of it forgotten, Spring Garden took on another form of activity on a relatively larger scale and of equal if not far greater
importance, the Reading Company car building and repair shops. There are employed at this, the town's most important industry, something in the neighborhood of 350 men. Their
importance to the P. & R. Railroad system is also very great, so that Spring Garden seems to be able to maintain its honor of being a most important center of industrial activity.
While on the industrial subject we cannot fail to underestimate the value of its other industries, namely the Berger Brothers Knitting Mill, the Berger Brothers Bleachery, the J. E.
Stanton Knitting Mills, the Alberta Knitting Mills and the Keystone Paper Box Factory.
While Spring Garden contains the most important as it were industry, the P. & R. shops, it also has within its boundary the most important of the town's institutions and pride, namely
the electric light and power plant. Located on Haven Street, this industry is frequently visited by out of town people who marvel at its size, spic and span condition and the fact that
it is a municipal plant, owned and controlled entirely by the borough of Schuylkill Haven and being operated upon a paying basis. These facts have been in most instances lost sight
of by the Schuylkill Haven people who have sort of forgotten its importance. Then too, lest we forget, Spring Garden contains the largest and most important unit of the public
school system, namely the High School or Haven Street $85,000 building.
Other important things which are located in Spring Garden but of which we give little consideration until brought face to face with the realization are the burial grounds. It contains
three of them, namely the Episcopal, the Jerusalem and the Union Cemeteries. Unless we are of the Catholic faith we can expect to spend unnumbered days in Spring Garden. Of
the town's nine churches, four are in Spring Garden, namely the First Reformed, the Christ Lutheran, Saint Ambrose and the Episcopal. It has a less number of hotels than any other
section of town, priding itself on the small number of two.
All of the town's bathing and fishing resorts or ponds with the exception of one are in Spring Garden, namely Willow Lake, the Dock and the Level. Since the opening of the latest of
the bathing resorts, namely Willow Lake, hundreds and hundreds of persons visit Spring Garden weekly and as a result considerable has been added to the popularity of this
section of town.
Two of the three railroads in the town pass through Spring Garden, namely the Pennsylvania Railroad and the Lehigh Valley. It is the home of the first and oldest fire company, the
Rainbow Hose. It is the home of important municipal officers, namely the Chief of Police, Street Commissioner and the Borough Auditor. While it does not contain that important
institution, namely the Post Office, it nevertheless can boast of being the home of Postmaster Ebling and one of the Post Office clerks and one of the mail carriers.
One thing Spring Garden lacks and for which we have frequently heard expressions favorable for it, is a motion picture theater. It is believed that were a motion picture theater to
be conducted in Spring Garden it would be a paying proposition at least for three evenings every week. This amusement may be provided for sooner or later.
Spring Garden contains a considerable length of paved street, the equal if not greater amount of paved streets than any other ward or portion of town. Then too, it contains to our
mind, the most beautiful residential section in Schuylkill Haven, namely Centre Avenue. With the majority of the houses on this street built upon an elevation with fine lawns, pretty
retaining walls in front of them and the homes of neat roomy design, one passing through the town cannot help but be impressed with its pretty appearance. With this street being
concreted it will be a very fine driveway indeed and by reason of its being the connecting link between Pottsville and Reading, will be traveled most extensively.
Spring Garden is a healthy live and prosperous place to live in and few of its residents ever move from it to other sections of the town. It contains up to date stores supplying most
every need and desire in the way of wearing apparel or food stuffs. Proof of this is further found in the page of display advertisements of its leading merchants in this issue and
which will also be found in next week's issue. These merchants believe in advertising and are using this means not to call attention to their particular stores but to Spring Garden
as a whole as being an ideal, desirable place to live and a place where one can shop most satisfactorily and to advantage.
|80 YEARS AN INCORPORATED BOROUGH
At an election held at the house of Philip Boyer on June 13, 1843, the following were elected: Chief Burgess, John Heebner; Town Councilmen Mark Mellon, Moses Reed, Samuel
Bowen, Michael Frehafer, Gideon Bast; High Constable, Robert Mellon; Borough Constable, Rowland Kline; Supervisor, John Saylor; Reed and Andrew Boyer; Inspector of Elections,
William Saylor; Clerks, Daniel H. Stager and John Frehafer; School Directors, William Sterner and Mr. Feger. D. H. Stager was reappointed Town Clerk. James Campbell accepted the
offer as solicitor for the borough for one year. George Kauffman was elected Treasurer. The tax rate on August 7, 1843 was fixed at four mills on the dollar. At a meeting on
September 4th, it was resolved that no person be exempted from paying wharfage for articles landed on any of the public landings or roads of the borough. On each ton of
limestone so landed, two cents per ton, stone, five cents per thousand, lumber, five cents per thousand. Any of these articles that were not moved from one place of landing within
one month, double wharfage is to be charged.
COUNCILMEN TO EAT OYSTERS A peculiar and yet very interesting record under date of December 4, 1843 is as follows: "The Council agreed that each member and officer of the
borough shall have the right to eat oysters on the second day of Christmas for fifty cents."
On March 4, 1844 it was decided that unless Jacob Feger paid the rent due the borough for his tinshop standing in the public road, the High Constable was to have the shop
THE FIRST FIRE APPARATUS It was also decided to have two ladders made, one twenty eight feet long and the other twenty feet long and four fire hooks, two with ropes attached.
That the same should be kept in some central part of town and not be used for any other purpose unless in case of fire. James Campbell was paid twenty dollars for service as
solicitor for one year.
FIRST FIRE HOUSE Under date of April 1844, a notation was to the effect that the place for the ladders and hooks chosen was near Schumacher's Store and that the supervisor was
to plant six posts in the ground about five feet high and six apart, roof the top with two boards and the back part with two and put wooden pins in said posts about eighteen inches
long, also two chains six feet long to each fire hook.
On May 6, 1844 the rate of wages for borough laborer was fixed at eighty cents per day and hauling at $1.62 per day.
At the election in June 1844 Henry Saylor was elected Chief Burgess; Charles Kantner, John Deibert, John Martin, Reuben Shrader and B. W. Hughes were elected councilmen.
Daniel H. Stager and John Hudson were elected school directors. The tax rate was fixed at four mills. In October 1844 it was decided to stone Front Street from the canal bridge up
to Mrs. Mannon's hotel.
On April 15, 1845 the Supervisor was ordered to open Broad Street in Rhode's addition to Schuylkill Haven along the Philadelphia and Pottsville Railroad. The High Constable was
ordered to remove a hog stable as a public nuisance on the lot occupied by William Mitten
PLENTY OF POLICEMEN At an election in June 1845, Henry Saylor was elected Chief Burgess. Mark Mellon, B. W. Hughes, William Schoener, Joseph Moyer and Dr. John G. Koehler
were elected councilmen. Charles Huntzinger was appointed as Treasurer and Charles Saylor as Secretary. Policemen appointed were: Peter Martin, Joseph Feger, John Boyer,
John Frehafer, Franklin Bensamin, Jacob Sterner, John Wirtz and George Schwint. The salary of the Chief Burgess was fixed at $25. At the same meeting in which his salary was
fixed it was decided that he, the chief burgess, be subject to a fine of one dollar for each and every meeting of the Town Council which he does not attend.
COUNCILMEN WERE PAID It was also decided that each and every member of the Town Council be entitled to the sum of fifty cents for each and every night of his attendance at any
meeting. Every councilman failing to attend any meetings shall be fined fifty cents each time. On August 1845 it was decided that the laborers be paid eighty five cents per day from
six a. m. to seven p. m. On October 6, 1845 an ordinance was passed prohibiting casting or depositing on any of the streets or alleys any beef, calf or sheep head or any bones. The
fine was fixed at three dollars. Abraham Bartolet was notified to appear before council and make settlement for the sand taken from the street leading from Philip Boyer's to
Verner's. John Saylor was given the privilege of quarrying the stone from Saint John to Saint Peter Street. In return for this privilege he was to grade the street between Saint John
and Saint Peter. The Schuylkill Navigation Company was notified to stop taking earth to Market Street and William Kiehner was notified not to encroach on Front Street with his
|The Call of March 4, 1921 offered this hodgepodge of information from early town council meetings
in the 1840s when Schuylkill Haven was newly incorporated as a borough.
|The Call of January 18, 1929
GAS KILLS YOUTH IN HIS GARAGE
Lester Shappel, a robust and well liked young man of Schuylkill Haven met death in a sad manner Monday afternoon in the garage in the rear of his father's home on Centre Avenue,
when he was apparently overcome by monoxide gas from the operation of his automobile in the closed garage. The horrible discovery was made by his mother, who shortly before
one o'clock went to the chicken coop, adjoining the garage to feed the chickens. She found smoke issuing from the garage and looking through the window saw the body of her
son in a crouched position on the floor. She attempted to open the garage door but did not succeed in doing so as the body was propped against it. Neighbors summoned
removed the body to the home and physicians were called. Dr. Mengle was first called and he worked desperately to restore life. Dr. Rutter was also summoned as was a physician
from the Warne Hospital. Life however was extinct.
The deceased left the house for the garage and expressed his intention of working on his automobile. It is understood however, that he was seen downtown and spoken to by
friends shortly after ten o'clock. It is presumed he returned and began working on the car. When discovered the hood on the machine was raised and the ignition switch was on.
The engine was not in operation and it is thought it possibly became choked and stopped. All the poultry in a pen adjoining had been killed by the gas. Until recently the deceased
was employed at the brick yards. He was nineteen years of age. He was in good health and his cheerful disposition made for him innumerable friends. He was a member of the First
Reformed Church and Sunday School. Besides the parents, Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Shappel, one brother, Luther of Schuylkill Haven and three sisters, Mrs. Daniel Michel and Mrs.
Barnhardt of Schuylkill Haven and Mrs.
|The Call of June 21, 1929
BATHER KILLED BY LIGHTNING HERE
Miss Bernice, the eleven year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Krasuskey of Girardville was instantly killed at Willow Lake Wednesday afternoon shortly after five o'clock by a
bolt of lightning, which preceded the breaking of a severe electrical storm over this locality. The young lady was standing underneath a large willow tree, which stands between the
bungalows of James Mellon and Mr. Keiser and about fifteen feet from the water's edge. The bolt of lightning struck in the center of the tree and followed wires to the Willow Lake
office where the electric fuses in the control box were blown and burned out. The shock was distinctly felt for several moments by the bathers in the lake and was described by
them as being a tingling sensation. The victim was standing alone at the time and when bathers nearby saw the body fall forward, they rushed to the scene. A nearby automobile
was commandeered and the child was rushed to the office of Dr. J. A. Lessig where attempts were made to revive her but without avail. The body was then taken in charge of by
Undertaker D. M. Bittle. The young lady came to the lake accompanied by her aunt, not more than ten minutes before being struck. She had donned a bathing suit and was about to
enter the water.
|In 1915, The Call newspaper put out the question,"Who is the oldest resident of Schuylkill Haven?" What followed was the reminiscences of the
town's oldest residents of the day. Here are some of the stories of early Schuylkill Haven as told by the oldest citizens of the day.
|The Call of April 23, 1915
REMINISCENCES OF HENRY RAUDENBUSH
Henry S. Raudenbush of Main Street, known to most everyone as "Daddy", has entered the contest as the oldest resident or the one who has resided here the longest. He is eighty
four years old. He came to Schuylkill Haven at one year of age with his parents and has resided here since. He was born near Boyer's Mill, the son of the late Daniel Raudenbush.
They first resided on Main Street in the first house that stands back from the pavement above the Hannum property. The house is supposed to be the oldest standing residence in
Schuylkill Haven today. Mr. Raudenbush stated that when he was a boy, there were but few residents. The present Main Street contained but a few residences and houses. There
was a chestnut grove where the Weist, Weiss and Commings houses now stand. Dock Street was at least twenty feet lower than at present and it was even with the towpath and at
many places the waters of the Schuylkill lapped over its surface. Most of the town was covered with dense woods. On the site of the present Frank Brown residence stood an old
log tavern conducted at different times by Samuel Kauffman and a Mr. Hudson. On the site of the present Hotel Grand stood a small hotel conducted for many years by Squire
Dengler. Then there was another tavern near the Schuylkill Bridge conducted by a Mr. Boyer. It must be remembered Mr. Raudenbush spent his boyhood days in this town from
1831 on and there were no railroads, trolleys or canal boats in the earlier days. Mr. Raudenbush, because of his age, does not remember how the mail and newspapers of that day
were gotten into town or where the first Post Office stood but he remembers several of the stores. One store, that of John Schumacher, was where the present F. D. Starr store is.
It was a general store. In it worked one by the name of C. C. Leader as a clerk. Mr. Leader is now a resident of Shamokin and is the president of the First National Bank of Schuylkill
Haven. Henry's wife was also employed there. Mrs. Wiley, whose present age is ninety and who still resides in Schuylkill Haven, was employed at this store as a seamstress. A
hardware store was conducted by George Snyder and Frank Feger on the site of the present Sausser Brothers store. This store has undergone little change from its former
construction, that is the front portion of the store. Mr. Raudenbush can remember of Mrs. Hannum being Postmistress when the Post Office was where the G. I. Bensinger drug
store now is. He does not know who was postmaster prior to Mrs. Hannum.
As to the schools there were three one room school houses where the present main building now stands. Although the present main building is pretty old it is not the same as
referred to by Mr. Raudenbush. This school was taught by a Mr. Guertler at one time and by a Mr. Porter on another occasion. There also was a log school house where the David
Fenstermacher store is located. A school house was also located in the West Ward, then known as the "flats". As to the churches, there was a Methodist Church on upper Main
Street and the "White" Church on Centre Avenue. Sunday School was conducted in a building now known as the Episcopal Church on Dock Street. Somewhere along 1851, the
Lutheran and Reformed members attending the "White" Church split and built a Saint Paul's German and Reformed Church on the site of the present Saint Ambrose Church. Several
years later dissension again arose in this congregation and resulted in a separation. The Reformed members rented a room in the Voute Building, the room now occupied by The
Call offices, and for years held church in the same. The Lutheran members then built their own church. Later the Reformed members built a church on North Main Street on the site
now occupied by the Garrett houses. When the split took place the borough took over the church building and later sold it to persons who established the present Saint Ambrose
Mr. Raudenbush is a carpenter by trade. He took up this work in 1851 in the blacksmith and carpenter shop conducted by Henry Byerly on the site of the present Saint Matthew
Lutheran Church. He assisted in constructing many canal boats, working in the boat yard when in charge of Abe Saylor and Superintendent Henry Sterner. He also boated for some
years when a young lad. He tells of many interesting happenings when he was on the boats. In particular is the brace of accidents or narrow escapes he had from drowning. The
first "ducking" he got in the canal came very near being his last one. It happened one evening as he was driving. About three miles below Hamburg, as the boat was being made
ready to be lowered while in the locks, he stepped over the side of the lock to get the boat, missed his footing and went down between the boats and the side of the lock. In
addition to a narrow escape from being drowned, he came very near being crushed to death against the lock by the heavy boat. His absence was discovered by his fellow boatmen
and a search was begun with lanterns. Had it not been for his long hair which floated on the water he would never have been discovered. He was pulled out and rolled on a barrel
and put through other rough tactics to bring back the spark of life which almost departed. On another occasion at the five locks near Blue Mountain he was jarred into the canal and
had a narrow escape. In Fairmount Dam he tripped and pitched overboard and at the Laurel Locks he was swimming with other boys and got in a sort of whirlpool. They were
rescued by boatmen who heard their cries for help. His fifth escape was on this side of Port Clinton when boating with Joseph and William Kerkeslager. He intended jumping from
the boat on to the locks, misjudged the distance and went into the water.
REMINISCENCES OF MOSES EVELY
On Canal Street there at one time was a tavern conducted by Charles Kantner where the Motzer property now stands. There was also a tavern where the Krammes Hotel now
stands, conducted by Philip Boyer. There was no bridge across the river in the early days as at present. The stream had to be forded. The road up the Schuylkill Mountain was at a
different location than it now is. Near the site now occupied by the Saul and Zang Box factory was a brickyard at one time conducted by Bartley and Heim and later by Mr.
Wingander. There were but two small houses on Berne Street in the early days. The greater portion of this section was hills and woods. In the early days in one of the small houses
on Berne Street was committed a crime which stirred the county from one end to the other. A party by the name of Marty Peiffer cruelly butchered his wife with a big butcher knife.
The trial of the murder was held in the Courthouse in Orwigsburg and attracted considerable attention. Peiffer was committed to prison for life.
At one time in the early days where the present P. and R. stone bridge near the Main Street crossing now stands, was a huge frame covered bridge. A large roundhouse also
occupied the site to the rear of the present "J" office. There was but one track on the railroad at that time. The engines burned wood instead of coal and the cars were but "four
wheelers" and small in size. On Dock Street near Centre Avenue was a tavern. There was a school house on the Fenstermacher property. Dock Street was at least fifteen feet
below its present grade. On the site now occupied by the Berger Mill was a grinding or flour mill conducted by a Mr. Seifert. On Centre Avenue the White Church stood several
hundred feet nearer the street than at present. The greater portion of the town in the early days was a dense woods. Prospect Hill was nothing more than a chestnut woods where
the boys had many good outings and chestnutting parties. On the site of the Keever Box and Lumber Company planing mill was a tannery.
In 1850 when the Northumberland Dam burst, almost the entire town was under water. The water overflowed its banks at Saint John Street and came through between the present
Saylor and Bank properties, went back Saint John Street to Union, down Union to the canal on Canal Street. Practically the entire lower section of the town for a time was under
water. At several points it was several feet deep.
Many stables, portions of houses, fences, lumber of all kinds, etc. floated down the river. A number of chickens and several pigs were saved from a watery grave by men who
pulled their coops and pens out of the water as they went through town. The water washed away the old railroad bridge where the present Red Bridge is. Possibly the largest fire
the town ever had was that of the Navigation Company stables when a large number of horses were burned to death and considerable property destroyed.
|The Call of May 14, 1915
REMINISCENCES OF CAPTAIN C. E. BROWN
This week is given a short history of Captain Charles E. Brown, aged seventy three years, who during the Civil War gave his country the best of service. Mr. Brown enters The Call's
contest not alone from the fact that he has been a resident of the town for seventy years but also due to his excellent war record. He was three years old when with his parents
John and Sarah Brown, he came to town, so that he is a resident almost seventy one years. Mr. Brown first lived in the lower portion of the flat near the "Eck" in a small log house.
The house is still standing but is now weatherboarded. He first remembers being employed at ten years of age in the tobacco factory of Clouser and Kearacher which stood on the
site now occupied by the B. R. Kauffman property. Mr. Brown's wages were twenty five cents a week.
Mr. Brown when quite young took up boating, which occupation he followed until the outbreak of the Civil War. Returning from the war he again took up boating. He was later made
weighmaster at the Landing in town and was also Captain of the wreck boat "Petril". During the time of the Molly Maguires, he was on the special police force with Captain Linden of
the Pinkerton Detective Agency. He was also employed at the Bast Mill, in the rolling mill, as watchman in the First National Bank and the Schuylkill Haven Trust Company during the
time both these institutions were having the present buildings erected and completed. In the early days of this town, Mr. Brown states Main Street from the Call office to the
Lautenbacher property was a fine white pine woods. The trees in it were very large and beautiful. Prospect Hill was also a woods. The section from Union Street to Main Street,
along Saint John Street was a swamp. This section was always full of stagnant water. At the Felix property on Wilson Street, the street went in under the railroad. On the opposite
side for many years, one Enoch Blinkley conducted a cobbler shop. In the early days there were two brick yards, one tobacco factory, a rope factory, a small repair shop and these
together with the boating and hauling of coal down the Mine Hill road gave employment to the town's citizens. The coal that came into Schuylkill Haven was pulled in with horses
down the Mine Hill line. There were no engines on this road. There was a wooden track on top of which was iron and on this track the small cars holding from a ton to a ton and a
half moved over. Some drivers had one, two, four and six horses and therefore pulled an equal number of cars at one time. A driver with eight horses brought down eight to nine
cars at one time. There were no brakes on the cars. Braking was done by throwing a sprag on the wheel.
In 1850 during the time of the flood a scow broke from its fastenings in the Dock and was washed down the canal taking away the Schuylkill Bridge. The docks were washed full of
coal at this time and a portion of the old Dock was washed away. A new and much larger dock was then built. Main Street at one time possessed an Atlantic City boardwalk, only it
was always in a very dangerous condition because of the rotten boards. It extended from the bank property to the railroad. The properties from the present bank property to the
railroad were all several feet below the level or grade of the street.
|The Call of May 21, 1915
REMINISCENCES OF MISS CATHARINE BYERLY
Miss Catharine Byerly this week enters our contest and we believe comes very near taking the prize for being the oldest Schuylkill Haven resident. She is in her eighty ninth year.
She was born on January 11, 1827, a short distance outside of what is now the borough line. She spent her entire life in this town, her parents moving into what was then
considered the borough when she was three years of age. She is the only surviving member of a family of eight children. She makes her home with her niece, Mrs. J. Sherer of
Prospect Hill. We can say she has been a Schuylkill Haven resident for her entire eighty nine years. Miss Byerly states her father fought in the Revolutionary War. When ten years
of age, Miss Byerly can remember that there were but fifteen houses in the town. Her parents lived in a house on Saint John Street where the Hesser property now stands. There
was a house on Columbia Street owned and occupied by a Mr. Hughes. This man also owned the entire lower portion of the South Ward or the Flat at that time. A man by the name
of Robinson also lived on this street. An English family by the name of Kennedy resided on this side of the river and at about what is now the corner of Main and Saint John Streets,
an old lady by the name of Berkheiser lived. On Main Street a short distance below the railroad was a general store conducted by William Huntzinger. The building was a one story
block house of two rooms and a small kitchen. In one room Mr. Huntzinger conducted the store. Later another store was conducted by Edward Huntzinger where the P. T. Hoy store
now is. On Canal Street resided a family by the name of Moses Reed and a Trump family also resided along this street. On Saint John Street resided families by the names of Ream
and Trump. On Saint John Street resided William Neiheiser. This house is still standing at the corner of Saint John and market Streets. It was built by a German minister by the
name of Kroll. On Dock Street resided a party by the name of Wymert. Prospect Hill was a great woods. On Main Street between what is now the Call office and the Lautenbacher
property at one time was a woods, later an open lot where circuses were held. This was later occupied as a lumber yard.
The first school house was on the hill that is now the Union Cemetery. Until a few years ago this building was still standing although in a very dilapidated condition. It was taught by
a Mr. Huff. In this section of town resided also the first settler, Martin Dreibelbis and his family. In the very early days there was no church or meeting house in the town. People
together with those of Orwigsburg went to church near Friedensburg either riding horseback or in the heavy wagons of the day. Later a church was built here, the "White Church",
whose first minister was Reverend Kroll who was the followed by Reverend Minnick. A few years later the Episcopal Church on Dock Street was built. Here was held Sunday School
regularly and was attended by nearly all the young and old of that time. It must be remembered at the period above referred to there was no railroad, neither a P. & R. line or the
Mine Hill road. When the roads were built and the first trains were run over them it caused much excitement, interest and wonderment. People from the small settlements across
the mountains and from miles about came into town to see the great spectacle and marveled much.
At one time Indians owned and cultivated a large farm along the Long Run right near to town. They raised almost every good kind of vegetables and fruits. This farm later became
what was known as the Kerschner farm. The Indians were peaceful at that time, they did not molest the whites to any extent, except on one occasion they murdered an entire family
residing in a small hut on the road to Cressona near Connor's. The blood bespattered walls of the little house were for a long time a curiosity and a grim reminder of the awful
murder that had been committed. Quite a number of years ago about forty Indians on horseback rode into town and through it pointing out different locations, presumably to the
younger Indians, where their ancestors once lived and roamed. They attracted much attention by their pointing one way and then another but they never stopped or conversed with
In the early days, prior to the erection of the county institution or almshouse it is said the sufferings of the poor and insane was intense owing to the unsatisfactory method and
manner of protection. Near the site of the small house along the Turnpike at the County Home was a log shed much resembling the open sheds used for the sheltering of horses
built at taverns in the country and at country churches. It was nothing more than a shed with a roof, back and sides. The front was open. Here both the sick, aged and insane were
confined. The insane were chained with heavy chains and attached to heavy iron balls. The chain and ball system of preventing their escape and injuring other persons was then
When all preparations for boating had been completed the first boat instead of being pulled by mules was pulled by three men all the way to Philadelphia. The three men were
Messrs. Byerly, Hummel and Rudy. Mr. Byerly was the father of Miss Catharine. Later on, mules were brought into service. An instance or event clear in the mind of Miss Byerly is
that of a drowning at the Dock. A young man by the name of Kennedy who was weighmaster slipped into the locks and was drowned. His mother and two sisters, Katherine and
Martha, were left alone, the husband and father having died a time previous. The mother because of her ill health and realizing what the loss of the only support to the family would
mean, was not informed of her son's accident and death. The body was kept at the office eat the locks and the funeral was held from that place. The daughters even on the day of
the funeral were afraid the news would cause their mother's death so they did not inform her. They dressed in white and told her they were going to a party. Instead they attended
their brother's funeral. Miss Byerly has resided on Main Street in the house adjoining the Jere Kline property for sixty eight years. She is able to be about but complains greatly of
aches and pains. Her hearing has been affected and it is with difficulty she can be made to understand by her friends and relatives. When interviewed by The Call man she
displayed a remarkable memory reciting events in her life and the early history with little
|The Call of October 26, 1928
ACCIDENTAL SHOOTING FATAL TO SIXTEEN YEAR OLD BOY
An accidental shooting proved fatal and regrettable Saturday afternoon last week when Ralph Oswald, a sixteen year old boy from Garfield Avenue, Schuylkill Haven, died in the
Pottsville Hospital as the result .22 rifle. Just how the accident occurred may never be known as there were no eyewitnesses and any circumstantial evidence appears to be
lacking. He had prepared to accompany his sister to the dentist and was awaiting her arrival. His body was discovered in the yard with blood spurting from his throat with every
gasp of breath. He was taken to the hospital but died shortly after arrival. It was found the bullet had pierced the jugular vein and had taken an upward course and came out at the
temple. It is believed he tripped and fell, either while walking or crouching with the rifle in his hand.
The deceased was the son of David and Ella Webber Oswald. He was adopted by Thomas and Esther Eden with whom he was living. He would have been sixteen years of age on
the 28th of this coming November. He was a member of the Christ Lutheran Sunday School. He attended the Junior High School at Schuylkill Haven and was a quiet but studious
pupil and well liked by everyone. A twin brother died when quite young. He is survived by a step brother, David Oswald of Perkasie. Two half sisters, Mrs. Herman Reed of
Schuylkill Haven and Mrs. Crow of Hershey also survive. The funeral took place Tuesday afternoon. Reverend E. H. Smoll conducted the services. There were pretty flowers,
tributes from friends and neighbors. C. G. Wagner was the funeral director.
|Pottsville Republican of November 28, 1885
AFTER THE SPOILS
Our Democratic friends at Schuylkill Haven are having quite a time contesting for the post office appointment. While there are more applicants in the field, the contest has narrowed
down to Charles Keller, the clothing merchant and the renowned Peter Stanton. Keller has the support of the church members and conservative element, while Stanton is urged on
by "the boys" who have fought and won the Democratic battles in the Haven. Stanton is bothered just now about the disappearance enroute of a lot of credentials he sent to
Washington whose loss, he says, handicaps him greatly. The office is now held by Mrs. Hannum, a widow, and a relative of Senator Keefer and mother of the P. & R. station agent in
|Pottsville Republican of February 15, 1886
THE WORST IN THE COUNTY
A Schuylkill Haven gentleman informed us this morning that the street leading out of that borough from the culvert to the intersection with the old pike is perhaps the worst in the
county. On Saturday it was all that a good strong team could do to haul a wagon with a half ton load on through the mud and clay. This morning it was as much as one horse could do
to haul a buggy with two occupants through. He is anxious to know what the supervisor intends doing about it. Such a piece of road is death to beasts of burden and promotes
human profanity to an alarming extent. A few hundred loads of broken stone will obviate the great evil and make pedestrians and teamsters happy.
|Pottsville Republican of February 22, 1886
PARADE AT SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
A general holiday was observed at Schuylkill Haven today. The stores were generally closed and the people came out in force to witness the patriotic element of the town have a
parade in honor of George Washington. The parade was headed by George E. Bast as Chief Marshal; assisted by James K. Helms and John Goese; Captain Burkert, Grand Marshal
of the G. A. R. with sixty five men, headed by Washington Cornet Band; Schuylkill Haven Drum Corps, Schuylkill Haven Commandery, P. O. S. of A. with thirty five men; Washington
Cadet Band; Junior Fire Department with sixty men; a representation of Washington on a white horse together with citizens in carriages and on foot. The display was a good one and
creditable to all who took part.
new articles in the MUNICIPAL section including: a
series of articles from the 1930s on the
construction of the new post office, a problem with
the Columbia Street bridge in 1935 and in 1940, the
Willow Street Athletic Field is dedicated
|Pottsville Republican of September 1962
WIFE SEES HAVEN STOCK CAR DRIVER KILLED AT READING
Charles A. Bubeck, 43, of 201 Centre Avenue, Schuylkill Haven, was killed Friday night when his stock car crashed during a race at the Reading Fairgrounds. His wife was a
spectator in the stands. Bubeck was impaled on a galvanized pipe when his machine crashed while he was participating in the consolation race of the night. His car struck the
fence near the pit gate. Impact of the crash dislodged the pipe, which was almost five feet above the track, supporting a wire screen. The one and a quarter inch pipe entered the
car on the right side, pierced Bubeck's right shoulder and continued through his chest, coming out near the left shoulder.
PIPE PIERCED METAL HOOD
The car spun off the track and went about fifteen feet into the pits before the vehicle came to a halt, fourteen feet of the pipe pierced the back of the seat and went through the
metal hood and out through the back of the vehicle. Dr. A. M. Snyder, a Reading physician pronounced Bubeck dead. He said death was almost instantaneous. An acetylene torch
was used to burn the pipe in sections before it could be removed from Bubeck's body.
SECOND FATALITY OF SEASON
Bubeck's death was the second during the current racing season at the Fairgrounds. On June 8th, Leon McMinn of Coatesville, was killed when his car upset and struck a concrete
retaining wall. Bubeck in two weeks would have observed his twenty fifth wedding anniversary. A son was graduated last month from the U. S. Naval Academy at Annapolis
Maryland. His body was taken by ambulance to Community General Hospital. Dr. Fred D. Good, coroner, ordered an autopsy to be performed today.
Mr. Bubeck, a life long resident of Schuylkill Haven, was a son of Mrs. Olive Falls of Orwigsburg and the late Royal Bubeck. He was a member of Saint John's United Church of Christ
at Schuylkill Haven and was affiliated with the Rainbow Hose Company, the Union of Operating Engineers and was a charter member of the North Ward Social Club. He was employed
as an equipment operator for James Morrsie Company of Stroudsburg.
Surviving are his wife, the former Mary Phillips; his mother of Orwigsburg; his son Ensign Charles Rodney Bubeck, with the U. S. Navy, stationed at New Iberia, Louisiana; one
granddaughter;four brothers and two sisters: John Bubeck in Connecticut, Roy Shadel of California, William Falls with the U. S. Marines, Ralph Falls of Palo Alto, Mrs. Carrie Schappel
of Orwigsburg and Mrs. Elizabeth Roeder of Quakertown. Funeral services will be held Wednesday afternoon from Bast and Detweiler Funeral Home in Schuylkill Haven. Interment
will be in Schuylkill Memorial Park. The Reverend L. Eugene Moyer will officiate.
|Pottsville Republican of June 27, 1889
THE SCHUYLKILL HAVEN POST OFFICE
office since his appointment. Besides remodeling and repainting the interior, a new oak front has been substituted for the old glass one, and thirty Yale lock boxes have been put
in for the accommodation of the public. Everybody is highly delighted with the change. These boxes are a new feature in the Schuylkill Haven Post Office and before they had been
in one week, they were with few exceptions all rented. This office, during the last Republican administration was rated third class, but on the advent of the Democrat Cleveland,
made it fourth class. To put it on its former footing will be Mr. Dengler's greatest effort. He says business warrants it, and if he continues as industrious as at present, there is no
doubt he will succeed. For neatness and convenience it is now second to none in the county.
|Pottsville Republican of August 22, 1889
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN POLITICS
The Republicans of this town have been grossly outraged by the actions of Chairman Phillips and H. N. Coxe who has set himself up as the political dictator to carry out the orders of
Phillips and his gang in the naming of the election officers, all the regularly elected county committeemen were ignored entirely, and Coxe, who is not even a member of the
committee, named the men. Whilst this was against party usages, yet the men named were honest and no particular objections were made; but now as a last resort in order to help
carry the town, Phillips has changed the polling place from the Washington Hotel (where the delegate elections have been held in the South Ward since the organization of the
political party) to the Columbia Hotel at the extreme lower end of the ward in the hope that they might be better able to manipulate the primaries in the interest of Phillips and Coxe.
Upon learning this last evening Captain Helms, the regular and duly elected committeeman from that ward called on Doc Coxe and asked him why such an outrage had been done
the Republicans of his ward; the Doctor replied, "That is my business; I attend to those things and it is none of your business." The old veteran replied, "It is a mean, dirty,
contemptible trick that only a man like you and Phillips could be guilty of," whereupon Coxe, his son and clerk violently dragged the old wounded veteran to the door and thrust him
into the street. Our Republicans and citizens generally denounce this hasty action of Dr. Coxe.
|Pottsville Republican of February 24, 1890
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN POLITICS
Dr. H. N. Coxe gave a banquet at the Cross Keys Hotel to a number of his political friends and admirers on Tuesday last. The affair was kept very quiet, hence your correspondent
did not learn of it until Saturday night and since it has become known it has been the talk of the town. The menu consisted of all the choicest viands and delicacies of the season
and after the table was cleared and the cigars were passed a flow of reason followed. Dr. Coxe in a few well timed remarks bid his guests a hearty welcome and stated that the
object of the meeting was to form a compact organization in the several wards of the town for future campaigns, and in conclusion he thanked his friends for the gallant fight they
had made in the municipal election and urged them not to give up the good fight until all the offices were filled by honest and capable men. (Great applause) Some of those present
could not exactly understand where the victory came in unless he meant the defeat of the old veteran, Captain Helms for School director. Honorable Lish Davis was the next orator.
He gave the boys a vivid description of "Down in the Coal Mines" and related many instances of his own life up to the time that an old friend, with a Schuylkill Haven boy, called on
him as he came out of the shaft and offered him a place, which he accepted, and came to Schuylkill Haven and entered the service of Dr. Coxe, which had so much to do with his life
since, as all his successes he could attribute to that one event. The next speaker was Colonel Bill Reppert, who amused the party with his varied experience in the late war.
Charles Shappell next recited a very comic piece entitled "The Boodler". Lewis Deibert then sang several of his side splitting seriocomic songs and in conclusion Morris Saylor
made a few well timed remarks and urged the boys to renewed action. It was not until the small hours that one of the most agreeable parties that ever met adjourned. As near as we
were able to learn the following were present: Dr. H. N. Coxe, host, Honorable Lish Davis, Albert Hartzel, Charles Shappell, Sigil Hays, Colonel William Reppert, Milt Meck, John Hill,
Lewis Deibert, Morris Saylor, Albert Warner, August Mellon, Earl Whitman, Lewis Kaufman, John Hubner, Thomas Meck, and Lewis Klump. George E. Bast, the Chief Burgess elect
was expected but failed to put in an appearance.
|Pottsville Republican of June 11, 1890
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN EXCITED - The Voters Up in Arms Against Increasing the Debt
Schuylkill Haven has been in an uproar the last week. Never since the war has this staid, conservative town been so thoroughly shaken from stem to stern as within the period
ending last evening at seven o'clock. Old neighbors opposed each other and it was certainly illustrated that "it takes all kinds of people to make a world." The cause of it was a
proposition to increase the borough indebtedness $38,000 and "effect a great saving to the people" in having their own water works. A circular stated that the borough pays the
present water company $500 per year and four hundred consumers pay $3,200 per annum, a total of $3,700. The expense per year of the borough's water works would be: interest at
4%, $1,520, annual sinking fund, $1,266.66, expenses $50; total, $2,836.66, making a clear savings of $863.34. To the last amount must be added the sinking fund, $1,266.66, which in
thirty years will pay the debt, making a real annual savings of $2,130. The charter had been granted two years ago by Governor Beaver to the Economical water Company. Among
the advocates of the project were Honorable S. A. Losch, Councilman Emerick and Z. T. Hendricks. The opposition was marshaled by Dr. H. N. Coxe, John J. Kemple, Councilman
Mulholland and "many citizens". Their circular ridiculed the proposed source of the water supply and objected to the cost of the charter, stated that the annual cost would include
$1,500 interest, $800 for a superintendent and $500 in repairs, a total of $3,000. They charged that the new water company could not show a list of one hundred consumers at five
dollars per year and the taxpayers would therefore make up the deficiency. The P. & R. Company would remove the car shops owing to increased taxation. The rate is now two
mills. According to the opposition, in most other towns it is eight and Poles and Huns would build the plant, to be given out by contract. The project, it is claimed, had also been
manipulated in the dark and something must be wrong. Somebody had a charter to sell. A special election was fixed for yesterday. On Monday evening a meeting of citizens was
held. Dr. Coxe presided and J. J. Kemple was secretary. There were many speeches. People who had never uttered a word in public before, talked. Messrs. Emerick and
Mulholland held a private conversation. They did not whisper, yet it was private and we say nothing about it. They do not now speak as they pass by. The election took place
yesterday and here is the result: East Ward, 94 against and 47 for; West Ward, 32 against and 5 for; North Ward, 65 against and 18 for; South Ward, 53 against and 51 for. The total
was 244 against and 121 for. Nor is the end yet. Councilman Emerick will bring a scheme before the next session of council to increase the debt and start some industrial plant,
perhaps a brewery. Tis claimed that the present water company stock is paying nothing and that most of it is held by residents of Schuylkill haven and Cressona, while the bonds to
the amount of $92,000 are paying six percent to the holders. It is also claimed that the majority of the holders reside in other towns. At any rate the people have decided against
owning their own water supply.
|Below is the plot plan for the borough of Schuylkill
Haven as it appeared in the 1875 Atlas of Schuylkill
County, published by F. W. Beers. It is quite detailed
showing the canal, railroads, businesses and the
owners of each residential property. It is a great
source for locating ancestors who may have lived in
town in that time period.
|Pottsville Republican of July 6, 1893
KILLED BY LIGHTNING - A Farmer's Son and Two Horses Meet a Sudden Death - Violence of the Storm
The rain and hail storm which broke over Pottsville about four o'clock yesterday afternoon, had a fatal effect at the farm of Joel Reber on the road between Schuylkill Haven and
Friedensburg. One of Reber's three sons was killed instantly, his two horses also perished and another son was seriously hurt. Farmer Reber and his three sons were loading hay
and were hurrying to get the wagon loaded and housed before the storm broke. A flash of lightning nearly blinding the farmer, was followed by a scream of agony. When the farmer,
who was on the ground, looked at the wagon he saw it in flames. One of his boys had dropped to the ground dead and the other was writhing with pain. The third boy was unhurt
but the horses were stretched lifeless on the ground. Dr. Dechert was summoned from Schuylkill Haven and found that the one boy was not seriously hurt. He will come around all
right. Farmer Reber dragged the dead body of his son from the blazing load of hay.
|Pottsville Republican of July 21, 1893
DEATH IN A SAND PIT - A Schuylkill Haven Boy Buried Under a Pile of Sand - The Inquest
About two o'clock yesterday afternoon a sixteen year old boy of Schuylkill Haven named Henry Alfred Koch met death by being buried underneath a bank of sand. Young Koch had
been hauling sand from a pit near Connor's Crossing. He was down in the pit shoveling up from the bottom when the sand fell in covering him. The boy was almost smothered but
he managed to crawl from under the sand and out on the bank where he lay in the hot sun until discovered by a woman. He was dead. The alarm was given and the boy's body taken
to his home. Dr. Dechert, the family physician, was called but he found that life was extinct. At his request, Deputy Coroner James J. Clemens was summoned to hold an inquest.
The jury consisted of Dr. Lenker, Willis Bryant, W. S. Reifsnyder, C. D. Saylor, Peter Bauers and Jere Kline. A verdict from shock was rendered.
|Pottsville Republican of January 12, 1893
The indebtedness created by our Borough Council for the electric plant has caused generous indignation, but thus far no one has stepped forward to take the lead in the effort to
oust the entire Council, replacing them with men who might save the concern before it is too late. This should be done, there is no question, for even the Town Clerk, although he
has no vote in Council, cautioned them to go slow but they paid no attention, went ahead pell mell and now our town is in a fearful dilemma. No street lights on these cold and dark
nights, no lights for the individual patrons and no head nor tail in the accounts pertaining to the same. Rouse up property holders, rouse up before it is too late. With a splendid
bench of law judges, if properly represented before them, justice will and can be secured.
|Pottsville Republican of May 5, 1893
MAJOR LOSCH'S TIMELY MOVE
Major Losch of Schuylkill Haven, last night sprang to the protection of the citizens of Philadelphia by preventing the passage of a bill that would permit al the mines in the Schuylkill
Valley to pollute the Schuylkill River with their refuse by draining them with tunnels and pipes. The bill had been introduced by Mr. Boyer of Philadelphia and is a supplement to the
Incorporation Act of 1873, to permit the formation of corporations to drain swampy and overflowed agricultural and mineral lands and mines. No one apparently suspected that the
passage of the bill would operate to the disadvantage of a community until Major Losch, who had been reading the bill, was struck with the references to mines and tunnels in it.
While examining more carefully the House had passed the sections and it was about to agree to it being transcribed for third reading when he had realized the full effect it would
have upon the Schuylkill River, and he jumped to refuse into the river by tunnels. As it is now, the mines are relieved of the water which gathers therein by pumps which take up
only the water and this is let flow into the streams that take it to the river. The attention of the other members from mining districts being called to this feature of the bill, a general
assault was made upon it, which Mr. Boyer unavailingly attempted to resist. Parliamentary tactics were resorted to for the purpose of helping the measure but the doughty Major
stood his ground and succeeded in having it postponed for the present. While the bill is only postponed and may be called up at any time, the sentiment against it is growing and it
will meet with greater opposition when it appears again for consideration.
|Pottsville Republican of June 26, 1894
BROKE HIS OWN NECK - An Inmate of the Almshouse Committed Suicide on Sunday
Pater Sarpolis, aged twenty three years, a resident of Shenandoah, who has been under treatment at the almshouse hospital for black damp lung poisoning, committed suicide
yesterday morning by jumping out of a third story ventilator. He fell to the ground, a distance of twenty five feet, and was picked up dead. His neck was broken and one of his wrists
was fractured. Dr. Wiest of Schuylkill Haven, the deputy coroner, held an inquest and the jury rendered a verdict in accordance with the facts. The jury also recommended that bars
be placed at all of the windows of the hospital. Sarpolis did not get out of a window. He walked into the toilet room on the third floor and crawled through the ventilator above the
window. There are screens on all the windows except in the new addition put up by the previous Board of Commissioners without consulting with the Poor Directors and paying for
the work without getting an opinion from the board. Sarpolis had been getting better but had grown despondent.
|Pottsville Republican of February 19, 1895
A WOMAN ASPHYXIATED - Others in The Family Are Seriously Ill
Mrs. Scheck, a widow aged sixty five years, was overcome by gas during the night at her home in Schuylkill Haven and died before morning. It is believed the gas main sprung a
leak and the gas escaping, followed a drain pipe into the cellar of the woman's home. The family of William Wildermuth, her son-in-law, lives with her and they are all sick from the
effects of the gas. The house was filled with the fluid. One of the members of the family had been awakened during the night and discovering the trouble went into the cellar and
tried to prevent the gas escaping by putting a piece of carpet in the drain and then thoughtlessly went to bed without opening the windows to allow fresh air into the rooms.
|The Call of March 7, 1930
NEW BRIDGE TO BE STARTED SOON
Preparations are being made by contractor Charles Walton of Palo Alto to begin construction work on the new Broadway bridge across the Schuylkill River at this place. Mr. Walton,
on Tuesday, stated a considerable amount of preliminary work is necessary, such as moving wires and pipes before actual work can be started. Then too, a temporary structure
across the river at a point north of the present location of the bridge must be provided. It is planned to build a sturdy detour bridge with entrance to it from Broadway along the
river bank. Entrance from the Dock Street side will be from Berger Street or South Garfield Avenue over private property. The bridge is to be of concrete of a very artistic design
set on three piers and will be of a two arched span type. The driveway will be twenty one feet wide and there will be five foot sidewalks on either side of the driveway. It will be
illuminated at night with electrolier system. Mr. Walton was awarded the contract at a price of $39,000.
|The Call of March 28, 1930
BROADWAY BRIDGE BUILT IN 1872
Work on the new bridge was held up this week on account of the unseasonable weather. The planking however, was torn from the bridge the forepart of the week. Most of it was in
very bad condition. The steel girders appeared in fairly good condition but rather weak to bear up under the heavy weight of trucks, etc. that pass over this bridge. Built in 1872, it
was not built to be subjected to the present day heavy weight of auto trucks. The Bell telephone Company men worked during the week in relocating their heavy cable which
carries hundreds of smaller wires and crosses on the west side of the river at this point. It is not expected that any great amount of trouble will be experienced with building the
center pier because the amount of water flowing in the river is not very great and very much less than in previous years. However, the spring rains always cause the river to rise
quite rapidly and sometimes rather high.
|The Call of October 17, 1930
NEW BRIDGE HERE CREDIT TO COUNTY OFFICIALS AND TOWN
The concrete bridge over the Schuylkill River at Broadway, Schuylkill Haven, has been completed. The ponderous wooden forms and braces have been removed and the bridge
appears in all its symmetrical beauty and grace as well as its very evident sturdy construction. It is expected the bridge will be open to vehicular traffic within the next week or ten
days. A small piece of concreting at the West Ward end of the street approach must be completed and the electric light standards placed thereon. Whether or not there will be any
special ceremony or dedication or formal opening is not known. It is possible that such ceremony will be included in the Halloween celebration. The committee feels that such an
event would fit in well with the celebration and that the bridge certainly is well worth an honorable and auspicious special ceremony of this character.
The bridge will cost between $35,000 and $40,000. It was started in spring and the contractor, Charles E. Walton, demonstrated his ability as a bridge builder in making great
progress very early in the summer. In all fairness it must be stated that the work was pushed in quite an unusual way. There were very few if any delays by reason of this or that
particular material not being on hand. All this had been carefully provided for and the men kept right on the job daily from the time the old iron bridge was cut away until all of the
frame work and forms were torn down this week. County Commissioner Joseph Dando and Assistant Jack Hanley are due compliments for preparing the plans which produced a
bridge of unusual beauty and attractiveness as well as one sufficient in size to take care of traffic conditions for many, many years to come.
Schuylkill Haven certainly is well pleased with its latest acquisition and extends to the three county commissioners: Messrs. Kirschner, Walton and Brownmiller, its sincere thanks,
not only for the building of the bridge but for the building of a bridge of such a splendid type, strength and appearance. The bridge will long stand as a creditable testimonial to
them, the engineers and contractor. To the Chamber of Commerce, the Civic Club and the other service clubs of the community, may also be extended due credit at this time for the
interest aroused and efforts directed in urging the commissioners to construct the said, much needed bridge.
|The Call of September 4, 1931
TRAFFIC BEACONS ARE REMOVED
The traffic beacons which for years gave service at a number of dangerous street corners in Schuylkill Haven, were removed during the week by the highway department. The
beacons, of the flasher type, served the purpose of preventing traffic from becoming messed up in that it was directed to the right and around said beacon. With the state adopting
new rulings permitting traffic to make turns to the left of the center of intersecting streets, the beacons became practically useless and to some extent increased the danger of
collisions. Arrests could not be made for turns made to the left of the beacon. At the council meeting, Monday evening, this subject was discussed at some length and a motion
carried to have the words "Keep to the Right" painted off the said beacons. President Moyer then referred the future disposition of the beacons to the highway department with
the instructions that a recommendation be presented to council. As a result of the removal of the traffic beacons, there appears to be more space available for motorists and it is
not believed any accidents will occur as a result. The immediate center of the street intersections , if marked or painted white, would be of great assistance to the motorists.
Pedestrians, however, in crossing the street will have to be more watchful of approaching machines, it is believed.
|The Call of June 15, 1934
FREE LIBRARY OPEN TO PUBLIC LAST OF MONTH
The Free Public Library for Schuylkill Haven will be opened to the public on the last Saturday in June or Monday, July 2nd, if all plans now in mind can be carried to completion. The
appointment of Mrs. Norman Neuin as librarian has been authorized by the state and on Tuesday the first shipment of books furnished by the state was received and unpacked. The
library will be operated upon a fifteen hours per week basis. The schedule of hours when the library will be open to the public will be announced shortly. The number of books that
the Schuylkill Haven Library will contain will be entirely dependent upon the Schuylkill Haven public. No funds are available to purchase books, so all except the fifty received from
the state must be donated. Within a week or two, a special campaign for soliciting books from the general public will be made by the local Library Committee. The town will be
divided into districts and a captain and solicitors assigned to each district. It is hoped to visit every home. Books of a historical, reference, fiction, etc. will be welcomed. The
slogan adopted by the committee is, " A book from every home" and the public too, might remember that the value of the Schuylkill Haven Library as a place where books of interest,
learning, reference, etc. can be obtained, is entirely up to the Schuylkill Haven public. It must be supported by the public and the first contribution now being requested is quite an
easy one to meet, namely a book, or the equivalent to one or more books in cash.
|The Call of July 13, 1934
WILL FORM LIBRARY ASSOCIATION HERE
Considerable interest is being created in the opening date for the Schuylkill Haven Free Library. This opening date will be determined upon very shortly by a permanent Library
Organization which it is hoped to form Friday evening of next week. To this meeting is invited the general public, or everyone who is in any way interested in a public library for
Schuylkill Haven. An institution such as this has long been a desire and a dream of many persons. Now that it will be possible to realize and bring true such dreams, those who are
working to this end are hopeful that there will be a large number of persons to attend the meeting and to become members of the Library Organization. A very splendid response
has been made by the Schuylkill Haven public to the solicitation for books. More than five hundred books have been obtained and many more will be secured as soon as all of the
solicitors complete their canvass. All solicitors are urged to finish with their work by Friday afternoon, July 20th so that complete and final reports can be made at the meeting. The
books that have already been received are being labeled, classified and everything is being prepared for a very early opening of the library. A special urgent request is being made
of every citizen in Schuylkill Haven interested in a public library to attend next Friday evening's meeting. If you have not already contributed in cash or a book or two, do so at once.
Books desired need not exactly be new books but their condition should be such as to warrant their being placed for further handling and reading.
|SANBORN FIRE MAPS OF 1903
|The Sanborn Maps were originally created for assessing fire insurance liability in towns and cities in the United States. The maps
include detailed information regarding town and building information. Clicking on each map allows one to see detailed lot information
in Schuylkill Haven along with information on local businesses. The maps here are from 1903.
|Thanks to Brad Knapp for this
interesting contribution to the web site.
|The Call of May 30, 1930
LOCAL SOLDIER BOY KILLED IN AUTO ACCIDENT
Luther A. Frantz of Schuylkill Haven was instantly killed in an auto accident last Thursday evening, May 22nd, near Churchill, Virginia about six miles beyond Richmond. He, with two
other companions, was driving toward Richmond, when their car was forced off the road. After striking a telegraph pole, the car was turned too sharply and overturned. Frantz was
thrown out and struck the concrete road causing a complete fracture of the skull. He was picked up dead. One of his companions sustained a broken leg while the driver escaped
serious injury having clung to the steering wheel.
The unfortunate man was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Frantz of Liberty Street. He was born in Minersville and was a resident of Schuylkill Haven for three years. He was employed
at the Buck Run Colliery until some time ago. On March 15th of this year he enlisted and was assigned to the 56th Ordnance Unit stationed at Nausmond, Virginia. Besides the
parents he is survived by the following sisters and brothers: Mrs. Harry Yoder of Schuylkill Haven and Olga, Gilbert, Herbert, Grace, Edna, Alma and Louise, all at home. The body
under escort of Private Edward McCrone of Scranton, arrived on the P. & R. on Saturday at 1:05. The funeral took place on Tuesday morning with services conducted at the late
home and in the Christ Lutheran Church by Reverend E. H. Smoll. The Headquarters Battery provided a military funeral. Sergeant John Dewald had full charge of the military honor
guard which consisted of Sergeant John Fisher, Sergeant George Fatkin, Privates John Bolton, Allen Moyer and Roland Seidel. Ray Brown stationed at Fort Myer, Virginia and home
on a furlough at present, acted as bugler. The firing squad was composed of Corporal Norman Rhen, Corporal Claude Walters, Privates Frank Allenbach, Walter Kleckner, Floyd
Whitman, Clarence Zechman, Harry Miller and Joseph Trotman. Interment was in Minersville.
|The Call of June 27, 1930
TWO DIE AS RESULT OF AUTO SMASHUP
One man, John Fisher, twenty four, of Coaldale, was instantly killed and another man, Michael Kopes, twenty, of the same town, was so seriously injured that he died less than twenty
four hours thereafter as a result of an automobile crash, a short distance north of Schuylkill Haven, shortly after midnight on Sunday. The machine that figured in the accident was a
truck loaded with several barrels of molasses. With the two men was an eighteen year old girl from Coaldale, who sustained minor injuries. The trio were enroute to Lebanon. The
crash was distinctly heard by residents in all parts of Spring Garden and it is believed to have resulted when the driver attempted to turn onto the junction road at Connor. The
speed with which the truck was traveling caused it to overturn and its occupants were thrown into the street. The truck dropped into the ditch on the south side of the intersection
of the two roads. Motorists happening by called the Highway Patrol and Officer Bubeck of the Schuylkill Haven police. The injured were rushed to the hospital. Fisher, who was
found along the side of the road had suffered a fractured skull and was dead when picked up. The other man died in the Pottsville Hospital at 10:15 from internal hemorrhaging. The
truck was completely demolished by the force of the impact. The body was torn from the chassis and parts hurled for quite a distance. The molasses was spread over quite a
section of the highway. A large round spot of thick blood in the center of the macadamized road early Monday morning was mute evidence of the serious injury of one of the men.
|The Call of July 24, 1931
AARON NEY DROWNED AT SWEET ARROW LAKE
Aaron Albert, son of Mr. and Mrs. Albert Ney of Columbia Street, drowned at Sweet Arrow Lake, Pine Grove, while bathing with a party of friends Sunday morning shortly after the
midnight hour. The young man, who was just learning to swim, evidently was attacked with cramps. His cries for help were heard by his companions who came to his aid but failed in
their efforts to save him. The exact scene of the drowning is the portion of the large dam known as "The Point". The water is shallow for quite some distance and then suddenly
increases in depth where, years ago, a creek flowed.
The young man was eighteen years of age. He had asked permission of his father about 11:30 o'clock to use the family automobile. Permission was granted and he with William
Umbenhauer and Mary Heinbach and Dorothy Heiser of Cressona, left for the lake. All went in bathing. Soon Ney was heard to cry for help. Umbenhauer responded but by reason
of the darkness, it was difficult to detect the exact position of the drowning lad. Umbenhauer, however, got to his side and was grabbed by Ney in his naturally excited state. Had it
not been for the assistance of the girl companions, Umbenhauer, too, would have been possibly been drowned, as he was almost exhausted in his efforts to rescue Ney and at the
same time keep himself from going under. As soon as Umbenhauer reached shore, the alarm was given but this required some time. Word was telephoned to Pine Grove and
several persons responded. Word was also sent to the Y. W. C. A. camp located nearby. A message was also sent to the Pottsville Hospital asking for assistance and farmers from
the vicinity came to the scene.
Miss Vera Morrow, camp supervisor, and Miss Helen Wills, physical instructress at the camp, aided by Miss Elizabeth Matting of Hazleton, junior lifesaving student, and Miss
Frances Miller, of Pottsville, also a student and Miss Virginia Walling of the camp, entered the water and worked indefatigably to locate Ney's body in the hope he could be
resuscitated. Ney was brought to the surface by a young man by the name of Becker of Pine Grove. The body had been in the water about thirty five minutes. Dr. Walters of Pine
grove was assisted by the swimming instructors and others at the Y. W. C. A. camp in an effort to bring back life. Miss Christine Kline of Schuylkill Haven, Schuylkill County Examiner
for Lifesaving and an expert swimmer was also summoned. For more than three hours every effort was made to resuscitate the boy by the several persons working in the light of
the automobile headlights. Dr. Walters finally pronounced the lad dead and expressed the opinion that death came as soon as Ney sank, rigor mortis having set in. A pulmotor from
the Pottsville Hospital was brought to the scene and oxygen was pumped into the victim for sometime, to no avail. Undertaker C. G. Wagner was summoned and took charge of the
body. As soon as the body had been recovered from the water, word was sent to the Ney home in Schuylkill Haven, that their son had drowned. Mr. Ney and his daughters were
taken to the scene. Mrs. Ney collapsed at the home upon being told the news and a physician and neighbors were summoned. The deceased lad was a member of Christ Lutheran
Church and was well known about town. Besides the grief stricken parents, these sisters survive: Mrs. Leroy Powell, Josephine Beatrice and Leola Ney.
|The Call of November 13, 1931
ACCIDENTALLY SHOT AND FATALLY WOUNDED HIS PAL
A distressing hunting accident occurred Tuesday morning resulting in the death of John R. Sigmund, a popular and well known young man of Schuylkill Haven. Not alone is the
death a sad and sorrowful event for the family but also for his very close lifelong friend, Arlo Bensinger, in whose hands the gun was when its discharge shattered the hip bone and
tore a deep gash in Sigmund. Both young boys were returning from several hours of hunting near Landingville. It was their first year of hunting and first time out after game. On
their return they took several shots at a box. It was while the gun of Bensinger was being reloaded that a premature explosion took place and the contents of the shell struck
Sigmund full on the right hip, he having been standing but a few feet from Bensinger. The accident occurred at 8:30 a. m. Tuesday about a hundred feet from the Reformed Church
in Landingville. Persons who came to the scene quickly summoned the Pottsville Hospital ambulance and upon examination at that institution it was at once announced that his
condition was extremely serious, this because of the great loss of blood.
The deceased youth was a son of Mr. and Mrs. William Sigmund of Grant Street, Schuylkill Haven. He was twenty one years of age, a member of Saint Matthew's Lutheran Church.
He graduated from the Schuylkill Haven High School in 1928. Less than three weeks ago he was married to Miss Helen Moyer of Landingville. The day of his funeral will be exactly
three weeks following his wedding day. His last employment was at the Schuylkill Haven car shops. He was a boy of clean thoughts, congenial and of a pleasant disposition. He
made friends with many persons but his one particular pal was Arlo Bensinger. Born and reared in the same neighborhood and in one another's company for years at every spare
moment, they had become almost inseparable. The fatal accident, although entirely unavoidable, is sincerely regretted by Bensinger. Sigmund is survived by his parents, the father
is quite seriously affected by his death, by reason the condition of his health, it having been undermined by the great amount of pain and suffering he has undergone in the past
five years following an accident resulting in the amputation of his limb. These brothers and sisters also survive: Harry Sigmund, until quite recently of Mauch Chunk and now of
Schuylkill Haven, Margaret, wife of Earl Flexer of Newberry, and Miss Mary, now taking a postgraduate course in nursing at the Jewish Hospital, Philadelphia. The young wife also
survives and is almost prostate with grief.
|The Call of September 6, 1935
GAME REFUGE FOR SCHUYLKILL HAVEN SOON
Within a very short time, Schuylkill Haven can boast of a game refuge for the protection of small game, including rabbits, ringneck pheasants, quail and wild ducks. This refuge will
be located on the Baker farm entering Schuylkill Haven on the road from Adamsdale. This plot is sixty five acres and is well suited for the purpose with plenty of water, feed and
protection. The donor of this farm, Charles D. Manbeck, has agreed to let the local Game Association use this ground for this particular purpose until such time as the land can be
used for other more valuable purposes than farming. An eight gauge wire is to be placed around the acreage on steel posts. Signs will be placed on this wire by the Schuylkill
Haven Fish and Game Association, making it unlawful for any hunter or person to hunt or train dogs within the wire. Commencing in the fall of 1936, local enthusiasts predict that
possibly two to five hundred rabbits can be taken off the farm and distributed into localities where hunters are allowed to hunt by the property owners and likewise birds. In former
years, the local association always purchased from two to three hundred rabbits from western states but due to the fact that a number of this game is considerably weakened by the
time it arrives at destination, it is an easy prey to its enemies and the predictions are that only about half the game survives which is purchased for this purpose. In view of this fact,
the local association feels that this much game can be raised yearly without very much trouble on anybody's part and for a whole lot less expense.
Local hunters who have investigated this property for this purpose venture to say that there are more than 150 rabbits and a positive prediction of well over a hundred ringneck
pheasants inhabiting same. In the spring of this year there were placed on this farm fifteen breeding rabbits and during the season so far, seventy eight ringneck pheasants were
released. To get an idea how plentiful the game is, we refer you top Melvin Bamford. He recently stated that when he drives up to his home on Avenue C, it is customary to see
eight to ten rabbits.
The local association through its able and untiring president, Charles Clauser, and other officers and members has made it worthwhile for any sportsman to climb the hills, valleys
and dales, of course meaning those that can hit a mark with a shotgun, to come home with their efforts well rewarded. During the past ten years there were always several hundred
rabbits released after the close of each season and during the past two years, ringneck pheasant eggs were secured form the state, hatched, raised and liberated by local
sportsmen, free of charge. After a few years when these activities were started, the State Game Commission recognized the same and for the past five years this particular section
always got more than its free pro rata share from the state. The original cost of this venture will be approximately a hundred dollars and the local association, being short on funds
on account of buying more game than ever before, is going to ask the public for donations or to join the organization. The charge of joining is one dollar and dues thereafter sixty
cents per year. If every sportsman would join the organization in Schuylkill Haven it would be very easy to enter into more projects of this kind. The association now has 190 active
members. The members chosen to solicit funds for this venture are: D. M. Bittle, Bud Becker, William Sattizahn, William Kline and Charles Clauser. Next Tuesday evening at eight
o'clock, a meeting will be called at Charles Clauser's store to make plans and start the erection of the wire, placing of brush piles for game protection and other business.
Everybody is invited to attend, whether they are a member or not of the local association.
FISH DOINGS This year the local association was able to secure state hatcheries more than ten thousand fish, The species were trout, catfish, bass, perch and sunfish. They were
liberated in the following streams and ponds: Earl Stoyer's Pond, Miller's Pond, Deer Lake, Tunnel, and Bear Creek at Roeder's. Besides the free fish that were procured from the
state, the local association, by supporting the Anthracite Hatcheries at Hazleton in a financial way, got an extra two thousand fish, which were mostly of the trout variety.
COMMENTS BY LOCAL SPORTSMEN Judge Gangloff state that he would support this project by donating two dollars, providing that every sportsman in this community would be
honest in his statement as to how much game he bagged or fish caught when asked. "Personally, the judge remarked, "if I should come home from a day of hunting or fishing with a
bag limit, I am going to be frank in saying whether I actually killed the game or whether an expert did it for me and donated same". William Kline, our efficient squire said, "you can
rest assured that any person who is going to enter inside the wire will be promptly fined twenty five dollars and the proceeds handed over to the Fish and Game Association". Our
Editor of the Call, F. H. Minnig, said," All I want is some sportsman to furnish me with one ringneck pheasant for publicizing this venture". The Editor's wish is to be granted. Watch
Dave Bittle. He obligated himself to collect fifty dollars of the one hundred dollars needed for this purpose. Dave is a "hot number" in this business of charity collections. If he
can't convince you with his tongue, he will pick your pockets. Ralph Sattizahn, who does more work for the organization than all the rest put together, said, "Don't worry, this is
going across". Floyd Rhein, better known as "Pat", who can easily be talked out of hitting game, said,
"Well, if the game is going to be as plentiful as some members predict, all I have to do is shoot into the ground and I'm bound to hit something". Charlie Clauser, our able president,
said "Give me a big chew on one side of my face and the six shooter on my right shoulder and I'll show them thar young fellows how to shoot a buck and bag the limit every time I go
a-hunting". Jim Weston said, "Furnish the ground for the game preserve and I will drive in all the stakes for the wire myself". Well Jim, you can start anytime. There a re a lot of
hunters in the Dutch Flat who bag a lot of game during the season but who have not as yet helped to support the organization that is greatly responsible for making it possible for
them to do so. Now boys, here is your chance to show real sportsmanship by either joining th organization or giving one day's work in placing the wire around the farm. Any person
giving one day's work will be made a member of the organization for one year.
|The Call of February 18, 1936
RIVER BANK TREES REPLACED WITH STONE
Despite the cold weather, the WPA river project In Schuylkill Haven is being continued right along and it now begins to look as if the same would be completed this spring. There
remain about seventy five or more feet of the dike or embankment along West Main Street to be rip-rapped with stone. Work on the project was started last summer and for a time
moved ever so slowly. There seems to be more speed to the work now than before. Of course, this work requires considerable time for the stone must be cut to a certain size,
then cut to fit and set in pretty deeply too. The work already done shows up very nicely and, it is said, will greatly strengthen the dike itself and prevent a great deal of the water
from seeping into the bank itself and then soaking through underground to cellars as far distant as Columbia Street. There is a difference of opinion, however, as to whether
removal of the large willow trees along this embankment has strengthened the embankment or not. There is one thing their removal certainly has done. It has destroyed a most
inviting, beautiful and natural scenic setting. Trees will never be planted along the bank again. It is impossible to do so now with the embankment covered with stone. Despite
their various sizes and decrepit shape, "The Willows" along the river bank always provided something attractive and inviting, perhaps more so in years gone by than in recent days.
They are now gone forever.
The changed appearance, as noted from the west side of the river, or in crossing the Columbia Street bridge from west to east, is very great. It looks neat, clean and businesslike.
However, traveling along West Main Street and looking across to the west side of the bank, or crossing the bridge east to west, the sight that greets the eye is terrible. The bank is
covered with ashes, etc. Neither the borough itself nor people whose properties abut the alley along the river, can or should feel proud of the appearance. Indications are that
little concern has been given by the authorities in cleaning up eyesores about town and that no effort has been made along this line, even though the borough now operates and
pays for n ash and garbage collection system. The west side of this river bank certainly ought to be put in a cleaner condition, otherwise everything that has resulted in the way of
improved appearances on the east side of the river will be very greatly offset and overshadowed by the dirty, messy and uninviting condition of the west river bank. Further
improvements along the east side of the river will be started early in the spring and will consist of putting curb and pavement along the most easterly side of this street. It will
present a most dignified appearance when completed some time this summer. These improvements are the result of the activity and the foresight of the borough's highway
|The Call of June 24, 1938
LIBERTY STREET PLAYGROUND TO BE OPEN JULY 2ND
The official and formal opening of the Liberty Street Playground, located near Liberty and Saint Peter Streets, will take place on Saturday, July 2nd. The men interested in this project
have been working all spare hours: morning, noon and night, and many have been putting in regular time too at this project. It started as a neighborhood affair and has grown until
now children from the entire East and South Wards are waiting for the opening that they may take advantage of the brand new swings, seesaws, sliding boards, etc. that are to be
installed. The plot is located to the rear of Liberty Street at Saint Peter Street. Weeks of filling was required and some mighty hard work too. The plot has been brought up to a level
now and covered with some fine limestone which has been rolled into the other soil. This has resulted in a fine solid field. At some places the fill had to be six to ten feet. This
week, the equipment was expected to arrive and it was intended to place the same. This new equipment consists of ten swings, four seesaws, several sliding boards and more. A
twelve by fourteen foot sandbox has been placed under some small shade trees. Two volleyball sets are also to be provided. Youngsters as well as grownups are looking forward
with interest to the opening of this playground.
|The Call of July 15, 1938
UNION STREETERS WILL DEVELOP RECREATION FIELD
From a tennis court to a recreation ground for children is the change that is taking place on the plot of ground south of Union Street near Grant Street. Of course, a considerably
greater portion of the plot than was used for a quoiting court is being developed into a playground. The undertaking is in charge of the Blue Goose Recreation Center Association,
composed of residents of Union Street, Grant Street, Margaretta Street and the nearby vicinity. Work was begun a week ago but plans had not yet been completed until the end of
last week. Now that a definite idea of the program that is to be undertaken has been established, the work will go forward with enthusiasm. A considerable amount of work will be
necessary for the development. The plot must be scarified and scraped and then, too, some filling at different points will have to be made. At other points, cuts in the surface will
be made. There is a good sized clump of trees or small woods. This is being cleaned out of the undergrowth. It will be most inviting in every way and afford generous shade.
Swings, sliding boards, sand pits and the usual playground equipment will be ordered and placed as soon as possible. In order to raise funds for the work a festival will be held on
Wednesday, July 27th. Memberships to the Association are being invited at one dollar per person. The temporary officers of the Association are: President Charles Deibler,
Secretary Paul Strause and Treasurer Homer Raudenbush.
|Let us remember the two young men from Schuylkill Haven, who sacrificed their lives in the Vietnam War. Below are the stories of James
G. Anderson and David C. Ney, as presented in the Pottsville Republican some years ago. Click on each to better read their story. Also
posted are rubbings for each man that I did on a visit to the Vietnam Veteran's Memorial in Washington D. C.
|The Call of July 15, 1938
NEW PLAYGROUND DRAWS MANY YOUNGSTERS
The East End playground, corner of Liberty and Saint Peter Streets, has been a mecca for hundreds of children from the immediate neighborhood and all parts of town since its
opening two weeks ago. Ten swings, horizontal bars and rings, sliding boards, see saws, two volleyball courts, a sand pit and a tennis court are providing plenty of amusement and
exercise as well as fun. The festival held July 4th netted something like eighty five dollars and this money together with seventy six dollars, realized during a festival held in June,
provided some of the necessary cash to buy some of th equipment. Personal contributions also helped swell the fund. A balance of twenty five dollars in a Tennis Association
treasury that had ceased to function and which was composed of members from that section of the town, was turned over to the playground association.
And now an order has been placed for some additional playground equipment. But that is not all. At the present time, there are strings of electric lights over the playground. These
are to be replaced by large floodlights that have been ordered. The poles for the same have been erected. A low wooden picket fence has been placed along the upper side of the
playground. At the end of this space, flowers are also lending a sort of air of happiness to that evidenced by the children in their romping, laughter and smiling countenances. The
flowers are blooming in a neatly built rock garden. A large fireplace and bake oven is to be built to provide for doggie roasts, clam bakes and the like. Work has already been
started in building the playground larger by extending toward the railroad. Cribbing is being placed and the plans call for extending the same fifty feet towards the railroad for a
length of two hundred feet.
The most important part, however, of the entire article concerning the playground is the fact that the same is being attended by an unusually large number of children. And are they
having a good time? Well, all you need to do is to step back Liberty Street way and watch them. The playground association is composed of parents residing in the vicinity of Liberty
and Saint peter Streets. The officers are president John Bolton, Vice President Margaret Nauss, Secretary and Treasurer Miriam Naus, Directors Floyd Schwenk, Howard Bowen,
Herman Miller, Mrs. Frank Schaeffer, Mrs. Anthony Wallace and Alma Nauss. The membership dues are one dollar per year and almost everyone approached has willingly
contributed a membership dollar.
There has been, however, a group of men who have contributed more than a membership dollar. They have given much time and a lot of mighty hard work. For compensation, they
are satisfied to see the children enjoy themselves and have the knowledge that they have in this manner contributed to their happiness and are keeping them off and out of the
streets. The July Fourth festival was gotten up on short notice and was attended by hundreds of persons. In the evening a fine display of fireworks was given without any mishaps.
|The Call of July 22, 1938
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN TO HAVE THIRD RECREATION PARK SOON
Schuylkill Haven is to have a third new recreation field or park. This is to be the larger one of all thus far developed this season. It will be the "Old Ball Park" on the Island in the
West Ward. Work has already been started on a program of improvements that may take a year or two to complete but nevertheless, it is expected, when completed, it will not only
provide a recreation field for youngsters but a Community Park. For the last week piles have been driven along the river's edge on the Dock Street side of the Island. This will be
for the purpose of building a dike and thus replacing a section of the bank washed through several years ago. It was this washing of water and coal dirt through the opening of the
bank at this point that destroyed the ball park that had been reconditioned, after having been unused for years. It is planned now to safeguard against any repetition of water
flooding the section. All of the hundreds of tons of coal dirt spread across the diamond are to be removed. Fill is to be put on and a hard and softball diamond made. A soft ball
diamond has already been provided. The undergrowth and high weeds are to be removed from that section of the plot that contains a clump of trees. This will be converted into a
park. The organization that has the improvements underway is known as the West Ward Recreation Club. The lease from the Reading Company, owners of the plot, will be
transferred to this organization.
|The Call of July 26, 1940
RECREATION CENTER DEVELOPMENTS BEING SPEEDED ALONG
Fine progress is being made on the development of the Community Recreation Center and Park in the North Ward. It is located between Willow Street and the Pennsylvania Railroad
tracks or embankment. The plot covers at least three and a quarter acres. The festival held last Thursday evening has made it possible for the Recreation association to begin work
on its program of developments and to also hurry along the work as originally planned. Wednesday, the grading of the greater portion of the plot of ground was completed. A large
bulldozer had been in use for a little more than a week for this purpose. The plot has also been rolled. It will now be necessary to place a four inch top dressing upon the
foundation. This work will be done at once. It may take some time for this part of the work, as only ground of the clay character will be used in order to make a solid field. The top
dressing will only be placed on the part to be used for the infield. It is expected the field can be put in shape to play baseball games on it, yet this season. The festival last Thursday
evening will net just about $175.00. This sum will go a long way toward purchasing equipment and further development of the center.
The association wishes to thank everyone for so generously patronizing the festival. It was one of the largest attended festivals for years. It was one of three events held on last
Thursday evening. There was a special religious motion picture shown in the First Reformed Church and there was a festival on the East Ward playground. In addition it was the
night for the big Fruit and What Have You Sale at the Fairgrounds. Nevertheless, the crowd in attendance at the Community Festival was beyond all expectations and early in the
evening, stocks of food began to run out.
The baseball field, above referred to, is of regulation size. In fact, it will be of unusual size. Standing at a point where the home plate will be, the field toward the Pennsylvania
Railroad embankment measures three hundred feet. Standing at the home plate and measuring over the pitcher's box into center field, to a point where the old highway was
located is a distance of 450 feet. From the home plate and in the northeasterly direction, across third base, to the end of the field is 375 feet. The baseball field will be available for
any team that desires to use it, provided arrangements for its use can or will be made in advance. The baseball field is of such size that it will be possible to have a softball field in
its center field part. Batters on the softball field will play with their backs toward the railroad embankment or facing to the west. Batters on the big baseball field will face toward the
east. Both fields are being prepared for use at the same time. Upon the plot of ground that for some time has been used as a softball field, will be placed the equipment for the
amusement, entertainment, and physical development of the children. There will be swings, seesaws, slides, and sand boxes. These are to be placed very shortly. Framework is
now being built for the same. Along the side of the big field is sufficient room for tennis courts and volleyball courts. These may not be put in shape this year but the program calls
for their being ready for use next summer.
|The Call of July 19, 1946
NATIONAL GUARD UNIT FOR TOWN IS BEING FORMED
A recruiting drive is now underway to form Battery C, 690th AA Battalion, the Schuylkill Haven unit of the National Guard. Opportunities are offered to qualified veterans of World
War Two to earn more "side" money than ever before through spare time military service as the new armed services pay bill recently put into effect will apply to the National Guard.
The new pay base for enlisted men in the National Guard begins at $2.50 per drill and $45.00 for each fifteen day period of annual field training for basic privates and mounts to $5.50
and $90.00, respectively for master sergeants and first sergeants. The field training pay for enlisted men also includes fifty cents per day from the state in addition to basic Army
pay. The best opportunities now exist for many former non-commissioned officers to regain stripes held in wartime or to qualify for higher grades by signing up now for membership
in the reconstituted national Guard. Interested veterans of Schuylkill Haven and vicinity are requested to contact Captain Reynold M. Schwartz, battery commander. The battery
headquarters in the Pottsville Armory will be open for enlistment.
|The Call of March 26, 1948
PURCHASE OF ISLAND START OF RECREATION PARK
With the purchase of the island in the Schuylkill River by the Civic Club last week, the long discussed and desired recreation park for Schuylkill Haven appears to be on the verge of
becoming a reality. The island, which in years past contained one of the best ball diamonds in this section and had some of the best teams playing on it was bought by the Civic Club
from the Reading Company for $500.00. Plans have already been made to clear the island of unnecessary trees and brush and to put in cribbing at the upper end of the island
across from the Town Hall where the flood waters had broken through in the past and flooded the island. Building and excavating contractors, truckers and timbermen have
volunteered to give their equipment to help get the ground in shape. An engineer who was consulted concerning the protection of the island from floods in the future told those
interested in the project just what measures would have to be taken to afford adequate protection. He advocated leaving the covering of coal dirt where it was and covering it with
fill in ground. Efforts are being made to secure a bridge to span the Schuylkill river at Saint John Street. As soon as more suitable weather comes, work of clearing the land and
building a bulwark against floods will be started. It is expected that a ball diamond can be built for use this summer.
|The Call of June 3, 1932
EIGHT YEAR OLD LAD DROWNS IN POND
Kenneth, the eight year old son of Mr. and Mrs. Curtis Shollenberger of Saint Peter Street, was drowned on Memorial Day morning, when he slipped from a raft in a small pond,
known as Miller's Pond, a short distance south of Schuylkill Haven. All efforts to revive the boy, after he was pulled from the water, failed. The lad was a very active and bright
youngster and the parents are grief stricken over his death. The funeral, which was held Thursday afternoon, was attended by many friends and relatives of the sorrowing parents.
Pretty floral offerings were in evidence and the services by Reverend Smoll were touching. Interment was made in the Union Cemetery. J. M. Zerbe was the funeral director.
The circumstances connected with this accident make the drowning all the more pathetic and sad. The boy, in company with his sister, Fern, aged eleven, and two other children,
frank Doll, aged twelve and Bobby Doll, aged six, the latter two of Philadelphia, were taken to a smaller pond, south of Miller's Pond, about nine o'clock by Mr. Doll, father of the last
two children and who have been frequent visitors to Schuylkill Haven as the guests of Mr. and Mrs. William Morris.A fishing party was in mind and in expectation of the fun, the
youngsters had been preparing lines and poles since seven o'clock in the morning. Upon arriving at the pond, Mr. Doll left them to their own fun and intended returning for them
within an hour or two. They began to fish but not having any success, they decided to walk north a short distance to the Miller Pond, where they were sure the fish would bite. The
Miller Pond is located a short distance from the back road to Adamsdale to Schuylkill Haven and at a point opposite the old water trough and on the other side of the trolley road. It
is but a small pond but the water at some points is said to reach a depth of eight feet. At this point they began to play instead of fish. Kenneth and his sister Fern boarded a wooden
raft. The raft, however, was tied fast and could only be moved a short distance. Kenneth began to move and push the raft by the use of a long pole. They were having fun and lots
of it. Their companions, the Doll children, watched from the bank. Suddenly, Kenneth lurched forward when it is believed, his pole striking a sudden depression or hole in the
pond, threw him off balance. His head struck the side of the raft and he was evidently knocked unconscious. He rolled on his back and seemed to be gasping for breath and
suddenly rolled over the side of the raft into the water. The frightened sister reached after him but too late. She expected the body to rise but it did not do so. Through the clear
water she could see her brother lying on his stomach at the bottom of the pond. She screamed for help and the elder one of the Doll children ran up through the field and
summoned Mr. Alleman,
Upon responding, Mr. Alleman quickly was enabled to hook the clothing of the lad and pulled him to the surface and began work to restore life. Telephone calls to Schuylkill Haven
were made to the local physicians. In the meantime, Mr. Doll, who had taken the children to the pond and had returned to Schuylkill Haven, drove his car down to the first pond
where he left them, intending to bring them home for dinner. He could not find them and as he was driving along toward Schuylkill Haven, he noticed a man near Miller's Pond
swinging a boy in his arms. Hurrying to the scene, he found it was young Shollenberger. He immediately notified the father who hurried to the pond. The father brought the child to
the office of Dr. Rutter. The child was lifeless but additional efforts were made to revive him but without success.
Kenneth Shollenberger was eight years old on February 10th. He was born in Palo Alto and was a member of Christ Lutheran Sunday School. He was a second grade pupil in Miss
Raudenbush's room. The mother was prostrated at the news of the drowning of her son and had been confined to bed up until the hour of the funeral. The father is well known,
being a native of Schuylkill Haven, employed by H. J. Yost, meat dealer.
|The Pottsville Republican of August 22, 1946
DIES IN PLANE CRASH HALF HOUR AFTER HE PASSES TEST AS PILOT
Less than half an hour after he had passed his test for a private pilot's license at the Schuylkill Airport this morning, Francis Muldowney, 31, of Mount Carmel, former resident of New
Street, this city, was dead. The curly headed young veteran of World war Two was instantly killed when his plane crashed into a clump of tall oak trees just over the crest of the hill a
few hundred yards south of the Halfway House, midway between Schuylkill Haven and Orwigsburg. The accident happened about ten minutes before noon as Muldowney pulled out
of an acrobatic spin. Witnesses to the accident said he apparently had misjudged the nearness to which he had approached the ground and the right wing of his plane struck the
limb of an oak tree about forty feet above the ground, tearing through that tree and another standing along side and plummeting into the cornfield thirty yards beyond.
When Clarence Hartranft and Theodore Mataolajunas, whose farm homes are nearby, reached the plane he was dead, instantly killed. The top of his head was crushed like an
eggshell, his legs broken and his body mangled. The plane, which did not take fire, was reduced to a mass of mangled wreckage. Parts of the wing and fuselage still clung to the
sixty foot trees. In falling, the plane tore off an eight inch oak limb which was found beneath the wreckage. This limb may have been the one which brought instant death to the
young pilot. The throttle of the plane was wide open. It hit the trees with terrific impact. Another twenty feet to the southeast and the plane would have missed the trees which
stand at the corner of the wood lot. The cornfield and wood lot are on the former William J. Felty farm, now the property of Schuylkill Memorial Park.
Ned Dolan of the Schuylkill Airport, who gave Muldowney his test in the morning said that he was above the average as a pilot. During his war service, Muldowney had almost
finished a course in flying and had more than one hundred hours of flying time, he told Dolan. Since his discharge several months ago, he had been flying at the Gordon Airport.
The plane was a Piper Cub, the property of the airport to which he was returning. Among the witnesses who saw the plane spin and heard its motor roar as the pilot pulled out were
Hartranft and Mataolajunas, the latter a flier, also Hartranft's wife Clara and their daughter Patricia, aged thirteen, who were standing near their homes. Salvatore Stramara, thirteen
and James M. Renninger, ten, standing near Highway 122 which passes north of the scene also saw the plane and heard the roar and the crash. William Keller of Schuylkill Haven
RD 1, an employee of the Schuylkill Memorial Park saw the flash as the plane tore through the trees and heard the crash. Mrs. Hartranft telephoned to Pottsville State Police and
Corporal William Keuch and Privates Bidack, Labensky and Ripka hurried to the scene.
The body was released to Undertaker D. M. Bittle of Schuylkill Haven by Dr. Joseph Matonis of Schuylkill Haven, deputy coroner. There will probably not be an inquest. The dead
youth is survived by his parents, Mr. and Mrs. James Muldowney, two sisters, Rita and Jean and one Brother, Edward. His father is employed as an assistant foreman at the Locust
Gap Colliery. His mother is the former Mary Curran. The family recently moved to Mount Carmel. Francis enlisted in the Air Corps in May, 1943, a month before his graduation from
Pottsville High School.
|The Pottsville Republican of August 14, 1948
MOTHER OF THREE DEAD IN GAS FILLED HOME - Mrs. Floyd J. Schwenk, Schuylkill Haven, Had Been in Ill Health
A young mother of three children was found dead in the gas filled kitchen of her home at 109 East Liberty Street in Schuylkill Haven. Deputy Coroner Joseph F. Matonis said the
victim Blanche S., thirty seven, wife of Floyd J. Schwenk had been despondent over ill health. Her body was discovered lying on the floor after attendants at the Naus garage across
the street had been summoned by a neighbor, Mrs. Robert Gipe, who smelled gas and was unable to open the door of the Schwenk home. When they broke open the door they
found gas pouring from the oven burners of the stove. A note was found attributing the act to her health, it was said. She was alone in the home at the time.
Survivors in addition to her husband are a son, Richard, seventeen, who graduated from Schuylkill Haven High School this past spring, Joyce, eight and Patricia, two. Born in
Harrisburg, a daughter of Claude and Sara Kantner Krout, she lived in Schuylkill Haven for thirty five years. She was a member of the United Brethren Church in Schuylkill Haven.
Funeral on Tuesday afternoon at the convenience of the family from the D. M. Bittle funeral home in Schuylkill Haven with interment in the Union Cemetery with Reverend E. T. Uhler
|The Call of August 8, 1947
$6881 TWO TONE GRAY AMBULANCE FOR FREE SERVICE
A two tone gray, the new ambulance is a beauty, conservative yet having all the additional attachments that a modern ambulance requires. It is a Superior ambulance body mounted
on th extra long 163 inch wheelbase, 1947 Cadillac chassis. Mounted on the roof , as part of the body are two red blinker lights on each side and a beacon light and siren directly in
the center. The siren is controlled by a switch on a dash panel. When the siren is desired, the switch is pushed on and the horn on the steering becomes the siren. When the
switch is off, the control on the steering wheel is a regular automobile horn. Among the other extra lights are a spotlight mounted on the left had side of the body, a spotlight with
one hundred feet of cord wound on a spring reel on the right side, interior lights in the driver's and the back compartments and a night light on the rear. The rear compartment is
accessible from either of the two sides and from the rear. The patient's bed, on rollers , is light in weight but sturdily built. Both head and foot ends are adjustable in height. When
placed in the ambulance it is anchored snugly to the left side. On the right side are the doctor's and nurse's chairs. In emergency cases, when two or more persons are placed in
the ambulance, the two chairs can be easily converted into another bed. The carrying stretcher may also be used as a bed. The entire interior is finished in tan leatherette.
A large cabinet in the front of the ambulance section will be outfitted with medical supplies, surgical dressings and other first aid equipment. Other compartments will be used to
store sheets, blankets and other first aid equipment. A special device operated from the driver's compartment, locks the two side doors in the rear. An electric fan and a large
heater operates in the rear to make the patient comfortable in hot or cold weather. The purchase was made through the Wolfington Body Company of Philadelphia. The cost of the
vehicle complete was $6881.10. In the campaign staged during the past year for funds to pay for the ambulance, $7023.40 was collected through liberal donations by organizations
and individuals in Schuylkill Haven and surrounding towns.
Included in the area to be served without charge for ambulance service are the following communities: Schuylkill Haven, Cressona, Beckville, Seven Stars, Bohrman's Mill, Deer
Lake, Adamsdale, Landingville, Jefferson, Summit Station, Summer hill, Friedensburg and places located on roads connecting these towns. Formal presentation of the ambulance by
the Lion's Club will be made at the band concert to be given by the high school band at Parkway on Wednesday evening. The band concert, under the direction of Earl C. Unger, will
begin at 7:30 p. m. and the presentation will be made at 8:00. The ambulance will be on display at Parkway. The ambulance will be operated by the Schuylkill Haven Lions Community
Ambulance Service inc., a nonprofit organization composed of the members of the Lion's Club, which was granted a charter in March. D. W. Oswald is president of the organization
with Willis Reed as first vice president, William Calsam as second vice president, William J. Harner as secretary-treasurer and Thomas Imboden as financial secretary. Directors are
Harold J. Bast and Harold H. Geschwindt for three years; Hiram Fisher Jr. and Russell Sherer for two years; Reverend Richard E. Acker and Mike D'Alio for one year and the current
club president. In charge of the operation of the ambulance will be Harold J. Bast as ambulance chief. Aiding him will be three captains, Fred Burkert, Charles Lechner and Earl
Williams. The ambulance may be secured by calling 217 at any time of the day or night.
George Michel has given the ambulance corporation permission to house the ambulance in his modern brick garage at the rear of the building occupied by the Bonnie Jean Shop.
This large garage located in the center of town is an ideal location for the ambulance. In addition to the cash donations to the fund other individuals have made contributions of
their time and efforts. Attorney John S. Lewis attended to the legal work in the formation of the nonprofit organization. Sheets for the ambulance beds were donated by Mrs. Ray
Flail. W. E. Stine gave medical and first aid supplies which will be kept in the ambulance. Still needed are blankets and additional sheets. The Haven Esso service Station, Freeman
"Red" Shomper, proprietor, has offered to keep the ambulance in gas, oil and grease for a period of one year to July 31, 1948. Jack Shadel donated gasoline for the first operation.
The regular service period for the ambulance will be covered by the Earl Stoyer garage, local Cadillac dealer.
*Just a half hour after its arrival at 5:30 p. m., the new ambulance was placed in service when a call was received from a farm in the Panther Valley. Manned by D. W. Oswald, Charles
Lechner and William J. Harner, the ambulance went to the home of Mrs. Martha Borcius, aged 74, and removed her to the Pottsville Hospital
|The Call of November 9, 1948
VOLUNTEERS RESPOND WITH MACHINERY AND LABOR TO CLEAR ISLAND PARK SITE
A group of about twenty men and boys headed by Amos M. Strause and a crew of five timber men, made the first big step Sunday in creating a large recreation park for Schuylkill
Haven on the old "Island" site. Using a gasoline saw and axes, this group cut a wide swath through the trees on the upper end of the island in a few hours time on Sunday afternoon
as the initial step in clearing off the surface of the ground which is expected eventually to contain a baseball diamond, tennis courts, swimming pool and other facilities that will
provide recreation for the citizens if Schuylkill Haven and their children. The idea of a park for Schuylkill Haven, which has been in the talking stage for years and years has finally
been put into action. No time was lost after the land had been purchased for $500 furnished by the Civic Club. Even before the deed had been delivered, work was started on the
project. Howell Aregood went over to the island alone on Friday to begin work of clearing the site. On Sunday, Amos M. Strause brought a timbering crew and, aided by Lions, Civic
Club members and several young boys, made short work of the large trees that had to be removed. A bulldozer donated by Harvey B. Moyer began work this week in leveling off the
island, preparatory to covering the coal dirt and silt on the lower end with fill in ground.
A power shovel and two trucks have been offered by Anthony Cuchiara, and the work of covering the island with fill will begin Saturday afternoon and continue on Sunday
afternoon. Ira Hurst has offered the services of a bulldozer and Paul Feeser will provide some of his equipment for the island park work. If possible, the men directing the drive
would like to secure additional dump trucks so that a steady stream of trucks could haul dirt from the banks where the shovel is operating to the island. The fill will be secured from
the Rufus Renninger land across from the highway market below Schuylkill Haven and from land owned by Gordon D. Reed, across from the R. R. Sterner garage on Centre Avenue.
The large trees cut down on Sunday will be used as cribbing to build up the side of the island towards Town Hall where the flood waters broke through three years ago to ruin the
ball diamond that had been built by Charles Manbeck. Using previous high water marks as a guide, the reinforced banks will be strengthened the entire way so that the high waters
in the future will not enter the island. The present Schuylkill River cleanup project which will prevent more silt from entering the river and which will also deepen the river bed by
the removal of the coal dirt already in the river, give added insurance against the island being flooded in the future. Covering the eight inch layer of coal dirt and silt instead of
scraping it off will raise the height of the island and be an additional safeguard against flooding. Plans for this year include clearing off the island, except trees bordering the water
and making a ball park that will be used by the VFW American Legion ball teams in the summer. If possible, tennis courts may also be constructed. In the near future, a meeting of
representatives of the various organizations of town will be called to draw up plans for the park. The project is for the entire town and all the citizens should have a part in making it
|The Call of August 20, 1948
DEED RECEIVED FOR "ISLAND" PURCHASED FROM READING COMPANY
The "island" in the Schuylkill River near the center of town, this week became the property of an unincorporated association, the Schuylkill Haven Memorial Park. The deed was
received this week from the Reading Company and recorded at the court house. Title of the land is vested according to the deed of Charles Lechner, trustee, but will be
transferred immediately to Schuylkill Haven Memorial Park. Acquisition of the ground was received upon the payment to the Reading Company of $500 provided by the Civic Club.
The transaction was instigated by members of the Lions Club.
Interest in the ground which in former years was used as a ball field and was accessible to the lower end of town by a bridge began early in April of this year. Starting with a small
group, interest in getting a community park for Schuylkill Haven spread and on May 6, a meeting of representatives of the various organizations in town was held. The group
organized and elected the following officers: Charles Lechner, president, John Roeder, vice president, William J. Harner, secretary, Charles Meck, treasurer, Harvey B. Moyer,
Howard Loos, Warren Leeser, Fred Reed, Dan Michel, Harold Bast and Walter Hinkle, directors. In the organization are members of the Chamber of Commerce, borough officials and
members of the Civic Club, Lions Club, Rotary, the American Legion and Veterans of Foreign Wars. Arrangements were made to purchase the plot of ground from the Reading
Company and the Civic Club voted to provide the $500 asked by the owners.
A small group had begun working to clear the land of trees and brush and to put in cribbing along the shore line where the river had overflowed the banks and flooded the island a
number of years ago. Work was halted until the transfer of the deed was completed and until tentative plans for the park had been drawn up by an engineer. Engineers of the
Schuylkill River project were consulted and they made a survey of the ground with respect to the river edge and the necessary precautions that would have to be taken to prevent
future flooding of the island. The report of the requirements were sent to Secretary of Forest and Waters, M. F. Draemel to see whether state aid could be secured in the project.
The town organization is awaiting word from Mr. Draemel. A meting of the park association will be held on Tuesday night at the home of Charles Lechner when the members will go
over a sketch of the plans of the park.
|The Call of May 25, 1951
NEW LIGHT BLUE COMMUNITY AMBULANCE HAS LAST WORD IN MODERN EQUIPMENT
The new community ambulance, a sleek Buick modern in every respect, arrived in town yesterday and was immediately prepared for service. The resuscitator and other accessories
which had been purchased for the old ambulance will be transferred to the new vehicle. Painted a light blue, the low streamlined ambulance makes a beautiful appearance. The
windows operate automatically with push buttons and a communicating system permits conversation between the cab and the rear of the ambulance. The new ambulance is
equipped with the usual lights plus fog lights, portable light, two spot lights, a charger plug at the rear and sanders. Sanders were installed for use in icy weather. The vehicle can
accommodate three passengers at one time. The attendant chairs fold into the floor when not in use.
The lettering on the side doors includes the words, "D. W. Oswald Memorial Ambulance", to honor the memory of the one person who was largely responsible for the community
having free ambulance service. While he was president of the Lions Club, he pushed the project through to completion. He was elected first president of the Lions Community
Ambulance Service Inc. and served in that capacity until his death. His last two trips to and from a Philadelphia Hospital were made in the ambulance he was instrumental in
securing for the community. The officers and directors of the ambulance association, in deciding to purchase a new ambulance were agreed it would be a memorial to him. The
ambulance will be on display all next week at the carnival being conducted by the Lions Club on the island park grounds. It is your ambulance. Your contributions made its
purchase possible. Feel free to go look at it and inspect it thoroughly. One of the drivers will be there to explain anything you might want to know about it.
Any persons missed during the recent fund raising campaign can make their contributions to a member of the association at the ambulance anytime next week. The ambulance will
join with the Rainbow Hose Company's two new trucks in the fireman's parade on Saturday afternoon. The ambulance was driven here from Loudonville, Ohio by William V. Young,
Henry Hummel and Lewis Nunnemacher, who flew to Columbus, Ohio, Wednesday morning from the Harrisburg airport. They were met at the airport by a representative of the body
making firm and taken to the factory where they received the new vehicle.
|The Pottsville Republican of June 15, 1951
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN CHILD, TWO, TOPPLES, DROWNS IN TUB OF WASHING MACHINE
A fascination for splashing water and whirring machinery cost the life of a two year old Schuylkill Haven child last evening. Kay Ann Breininger, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Quentin L.
Breininger of 34 Saint Peter Street, drowned in the washing machine while her mother was in the back yard lifting another daughter, Bonnie Beth, four, from a fence up which she
had climbed. When Mrs. Breininger, the former Lorraine Mease, returned to the basement of the home where the washer had been in operation she noted the washer was silent
and the power turned off. There was no trace of Kay Ann. She searched the home without result and then looked in the washer, discovering the child's body. It had wedged the
beater in the machine, blowing out the fuses in the home electrical circuit.
A doctor who lives a few doors away was summoned but was unable to revive Kay Ann. Dr. Joseph Matonis, deputy coroner, pronounced the child dead of drowning and released
the body to the Harold Geschwindt funeral home. The father who is employed at the Saint Clair car shops, was in the movies across the street at the time of the mishap at eight
o'clock. Mrs. Breininger said she left the child in the basement riding a tricycle when she went into the back yard to remove the other crying child from the fence. The tot is
believed to have stepped from the tricycle to a platform alongside the washer and climbed from this to the top of the tub from where she toppled. Kay Ann was two on June 4.
There is a third child in the family, Quentin L. Jr. who is two months. The children attended Saint Matthew's Lutheran Sunday School. Other survivors are the maternal
grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Ditzler and paternal grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Breininger, all of Schuylkill Haven.
|The Pottsville Republican of June 22, 1951
MAN KILLED AS TRUCK BRAKES FAIL HAVEN STREET TURNED INTO SHAMBLES
Wild Excitement As Vehicle Smashes Into Four Autos, Truck
A partially blind Pottsville man was killed and Schuylkill Haven's Main Street turned into a shambles of wreckage when a twenty ton unloaded trailer truck ran away at 3:20 Thursday
afternoon, smashing four cars and another truck before it could be halted. Killed almost instantly in the freak mishap was Richard Geier, 70, of 2301 West Market Street in Pottsville.
He was pinned under one of the smashed autos. The mishap caused wild excitement. The driver of the truck on which the air brakes failed was Grant H. Gamble, 42, of Jonestown
in Lebanon County. The truck was owned by Harvey Kreiser of Annville.
Chief of Police Frank Deibert said the big vehicle was traveling east on Main Street and when it reached the Dock Street intersection, Gamble found he had no brakes. The truck
continued for two blocks on Main Street, gaining momentum while Gamble stuck to the wheel. He told Deibert he tried to sound his horn but could not as there was no air. The truck
sideswiped a car owned by Melanie W. Wassel of Pottsville which was parked in front of 105 East Main Street. Then it hit a trailer cab being driven in the same direction at a slower
pace by Robert J. Quinn of Palo Alto. Slicing off after impact, the truck hit a parked car owned by Geier from which he, his wife, his daughter, Mary Elizabeth and Mrs. Anna Motto of
Kutztown had just stepped. Then it hit a car owned by Theodore Fessler of 731 Garfield Avenue, parked in front of Michel Ice Cream Parlor near the corner of Main and Saint John
Streets. The Fessler car, in which the owner was sitting, was rammed into a four inch pipe which supported the roof of the porch fronting the store. Fessler was unhurt. Geier was
pinned under the demolished car of Fessler and the other members of Geier's party were bruised when they were hurled to the sidewalk by the impact of the car hitting the store.
They were not struck. The truck finally halted after hitting another car owned by Mrs. Madalyn Evans of Deer Lake. Pedestrians removed the body of Geier from underneath the
Fessler car and Deputy Coroner Joseph Matonis pronounced him dead. Gamble was committed to the Schuylkill county prison on a charge of involuntary manslaughter by Squire
Ernest J. Singer. Damage to the Gamble truck was estimated at $2800, to the Geier car at $800, to the Fessler vehicle $2300, Quinn truck $650, Evans car $100, Michel's store front
$75 and the Wassel car $22. The mishap ends an eight year record during which Schuylkill Haven hadn't had a traffic fatality. Just two days ago the borough was cited to receive a
certificate which will be delivered shortly.
|The Pottsville Republican of July 21, 1952
SCHOENTOWN BOY DROWNS AT WILLOW LAKE
A five year old Schoentown boy who disappeared momentarily from his mother's sight drowned in Willow Lake at Schuylkill Haven Sunday afternoon. Richard Legutko, son of Mrs.
Alice and the late Valentine Legutko was pronounced dead by Dr. Joseph Matonis of Schuylkill Haven after Matonis and others had worked on the boy for one and a half hours in a
futile effort to restore life. Thomas Smith, of Minersville, owner of the lake said the more than three hundred bathers heard no outcry from the child. First word of his
disappearance came from the mother who notified Ronald Schenck, the lifeguard, about 3:30 p. m. A human chain of bathers was formed and the child's body found in a few minutes
in eight to ten feet of water in the upper end of the lake near the highway.
The Schuylkill Haven Lions ambulance with inhalator was summoned. Lew Driesbach and Thomas Imboden used the apparatus on the child without result. Kenneth Reber, Joseph
Gottschall and William Killian gave artificial respiration for more than an hour. Mrs. Legutko was on a family picnic at the lake with Richard, his sister, Eleanor and three brothers,
Leon, Sylvester and Lawrence. They went swimming often. The father died of a heart attack four years ago.
|The Call of November 25, 1932
ROBERT HUEY KILLED WHILE WORKING IN DITCH
Robert Huey of 323 Dock Street, Schuylkill Haven, was almost instantly killed on Wednesday morning, shortly after eight 'clock in an accident most unusual, but exceedingly sad and
unfortunate nonetheless. Mr. Huey was at work in a ditch on Margaretta Street, about two hundred yards from the corner of Margaretta and Market Streets, when he was suddenly
struck by a car driven by Roy Yost, who was momentarily blinded by the glare of the sun shining directly into his eyes as he drove up the steep incline at this point. The man was
picked up, unconscious, and taken into the home of Mr. Meyers, nearby. Doctors Mengle and Rutter were summoned but he died a few minutes after their arrival from a broken
neck. The news of the accident spread through the community and was received with unusual sadness as the man was well known. The shock to the wife and three of the
daughters resulted in all four collapsing and requiring the attention and care of a physician. The wife had not been told until late in the day that the accident had been fatal to her
husband, her only knowledge of the same being that he was injured. One of the daughters, Mrs. Hildebrand, employed at the Hoffman Knitting Mill, a short distance from the scene
of the fatality was summoned and arrived at the Meyers' home just as her father breathed his last. She collapsed and had to be taken to her home.
The unfortunate man was in the temporary employ of the Schuylkill Haven Gas and Water Department. He was alone in the ditch which was about three feet deep, at the time of the
accident. He had no warning whatsoever of the approaching machine, a sedan. The driver, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Yost of Main Street, was delivering food products for his
father. A short distance below the ditch on the opposite side of the street was a parked car. The ditch was on the drivers right side. The glare of the sun apparently blinded the
driver and he drove over the opening, the man evidently being struck by the bumper of the car, the property of George Moyer, also an employee of Mr. Yost. A dark spot on the
man's left temple bore evidence of where the car came in contact with him. The sudden jar is believed to have caused the broken
neck. Dr. R. W. Lenker, deputy coroner, who examined the body before it was turned over to undertaker D. M. Bittle, assigned the cause of death as above stated. The Water
Department had men at work repairing the water lines leading to two fire plugs. Work of uncovering the line in the ditch had been almost completed by the deceased workman. At a
similar opening in the street, several hundred yards north of the scene of the accident and close to the Hoffman Mill, three employees; Clifford Messer, Albert Seitzinger and William
Strause, were engaged in similar work. They heard the crash and immediately ran to the ditch above them and picked up and carried the victim to a nearby home. The accident
occurred directly in front of the home of Arthur Trout.
There was no other workman with Huey at the time. Two young girls, Helen Valentine and Alice Berger, both thirteen on their way to school were eyewitnesses to the accident. They
noticed the man in the ditch and when near the scene, saw the car turn suddenly to the right and strike him. The front wheels of the car leaped clear of the opening and mounted
the pile of excavated ground which was on the south or upper side of the ditch. Two badly broken lanterns and broken glass at the trench bore mute and only evidence of the
accident a half hour after it had occurred. A red flag on a short standard had been in position at the end of the ditch. The opening extended about seven feet from the curb. Roy
Yost, the driver of the car, as well as his mother and father are grief stricken and deeply deplore the accident. It was expected Yost would be placed under arrest today, Friday, and
formally charged with manslaughter, and a hearing given him. Local authorities delayed immediate action on account of the Thanksgiving Day holiday intervening.
Mr. Huey was fifty two years of age. He was born in Schuylkill Haven and spent his entire life in this town. For a number of years he was employed as knitter in the Berger Knitting
Mill. Later he was employed by E. H. Borda in the coal business. For the past year he has been employed for short periods of time by the Water Department. The deceased was a
man of a pleasant disposition and courteous in manner and had many friends. To survive he leaves his mother, his wife and the following children: Mrs. William Sattizahn, Mrs.
Douglas Hildebrand, Miss Hazel, Miss Phoebe and two sons, Ellston and Glen. One brother, councilman Isaac Huey and one sister, Mrs. Charles Ehly also survive. The funeral will
be held on Saturday afternoon with all services at the late home by Reverend E. H. Smoll. D. M. Bittle is the funeral director.
|The Call of July 7, 1933
LOCAL WOMAN DROWNS IN THREE INCHES OF WATER
Mrs. Elizabeth Ebert was drowned in the garden of her mother's house, Mrs. Carolina Reed of Columbia Street in Schuylkill Haven sometime between midnight of Sunday and five
o'clock Monday morning. The lifeless body was discovered face downward in three inches of water by neighbors, Mr. and Mrs. Edward Bittler. Death was due to drowning or
suffocation. Dr. Lenker was summoned upon discovery of the woman and, procuring boots, he with others made an examination and released the body to undertaker D.M. Bittle.
Not until the body was removed from the premises was the mother, Mrs. Carolina Reed, who will be eighty one years of age on the tenth of this month, notified of the drowning.
Neighbors heard the woman in the yard at ten thirty to eleven o'clock, Sunday evening, but as this was nothing unusual, no concern was felt about it. It is believed the woman,
perhaps, made a misstep and fell into a drain ditch alongside of a wooden boardwalk. The body was discovered, however, three to five feet away from the boardwalk and it is
believed she either suffered injuries in the fall or suffered a heart attack. Two weeks ago the woman had suffered a severe heart attack. Due to the heavy rainfall of Sunday, the
garden was covered with several inches of water and the soil was very muddy. The body was discovered flat and face downward with the face buried in the mud and water and arms
flat and above the head. The glasses worn by the woman were found underneath the grape arbor close to where the body was found. A flashlight, which she always used to go into
the garden at night and which she had procured from the house upon her arrival home at ten thirty or shortly thereafter, was also found at the same spot. The mother when
appraised of her daughter's death, suffered considerably from shock.
The deceased was born in Schuylkill Haven and spent most of her life in this town. She was an employee of the Meck and Company Knitting Mill. She was fifty nine years of age and
made her home with her mother in recent years. In addition to her mother, Mrs. Ebert is survived by two brothers, William Reed of Pottsville and John of West Chester, one sister,
Miss Mary Reed of Philadelphia and one stepbrother, George Reed and a stepsister Emma Reed of Schuylkill Haven. The funeral took place Thursday afternoon from the late home.
Reverend E. H. Smoll conducted the services. D. M. Bittle was the funeral director.
|The Call of May 10, 1935
THREE PATIENTS DIE IN COLLAPSE OF COUNTY BUILDING
Two patients at the Schuylkill County Home at Schuylkill Haven were killed outright, Friday morning, about eleven o'clock, and a third died several hours later from injuries, as the
result of the collapse of one of the buildings. Fifteen other patients sustained injuries. With but the slightest warning, the dropping of a bit of plaster, the end wall of infirmary
building Number 1, a brick structure built in 1869, sixty two years ago, pushed out into a four foot alley that separates the building from another section of the infirmary. The top
floors for almost their entire area crashed down onto the first floor. The collapse occurred shortly after eleven o'clock. Those first on the scene found a jumble of brick, plaster,
girders and wooden joists. Caught in the debris were fourteen or more of the patients. Two were taken out dead, namely, Luther Wheary, 63, a patient at the institution since 1926,
single and from Ashland and Joseph Rinkus, 61, of Girardville, a patient since 1926. He was badly crushed. The body of Wheary was crushed by the bricks and dirt and was first
removed. The body of Rinkus could not be removed at once. It was visible to those who gathered outside. It was caught between a radiator and a section of concrete floors from
one of the bathrooms. His chest was resting on top of the radiator with his right hand over the top of it. Workmen freed his body by cracking the concrete and top of the radiator
with large sledgehammers.
The third victim of the crash, John Yurnavage, 58, of Shenandoah, a patient since January 1, 1934, died several hours following the accident, from injuries received, consisting of a
broken pelvis and internal injuries. The cause of the collapse of the building has, of course, not been definitely determined. Faulty building construction may or may not have been
the cause. Insufficient shoring inside the building on the first floor, during alterations which were underway, may have been a reason for the collapse, although a heavy steel girder
made up of two heavy girders bolted together, extended across the width of the building. It had been placed some time ago, during other building alterations. Several of the
partitions in the building had been removed, as it was intended to convert a large section of the first floor into a lounging room. Upright supports, however, had been placed in
position. The settling of the building may also have been the cause of the rear wall giving way and thus permitting the top floors to push it outward. Some alterations to the upper
portion of the building had been completed, even to the painting and varnishing. Partitions on the second and third floor had been removed in order to convert these floors,
containing several smaller rooms, into one room.
The first floor of the building that collapsed was used as a sitting room. It was utterly impossible to keep all of the patients out of the building during the repair work, as they would
insist on walking in and out and watch the workmen. Fortunately, there were only a few of the patients in the first floor sitting room at the time. Five patients who had been sitting
in one of the rest rooms had a miraculous escape. The ceiling above them sagged down in one piece and the steel and concrete formed a shelter or tent over them which
protected them from the falling bricks. The men were removed after a hole had been dug through the debris. They were removed uninjured but badly scared.
Had the collapse of the building occurred just ten minutes later, fifty or seventy five or more of the patients might have been killed, as at that time they would have been passing
through the alley way between the two buildings on their way to the dining room, nearby. The men had begun to assemble outside the building preparatory to awaiting word to enter
it to proceed to the dining room. Had the accident occurred at night, thirty five or forty five of the patients would have been in their beds on the second and third floors and might
have been killed. Had the collapse occurred at night, there might also have been patients killed from fright and a stampede, as on one of the floors, to the rear of the building that
collapsed, were the sleeping quarters of a hundred or more of the patients. Bricks and pieces of joist were hurled through a window of this part of the building as it was separated
from the other building by only a four foot alley. Awakened from sleep by the noise of the crumbling portion of the building, there is no telling what casualties might have occurred
in the fright ans stampede that would have resulted in the efforts of the men to rush from the building.
The news of the accident was telephoned immediately to the Burgess of Schuylkill Haven and help asked for. He, together with several of the police officers, rushed to the scene
and at once established a line to prevent persons from getting inside the fence surrounding the grounds. Spectators were soon on hand. They were enabled to obtain a splendid
view of the collapsed building from a vantage point outside the grounds proper and not more than a hundred and fifty feet from the collapsed building. The local officers remained
on duty throughout the afternoon and were later relieved by members of the Highway Patrol. By the middle of the afternoon, several thousand persons had gathered. There were
hundreds and hundreds of automobiles parked in the vicinity, persons coming from all parts of the county. County Controller Leidich, the County Commissioners and many other
officials of the county visited the scene during the afternoon and made careful inspection of the collapsed building. The building that collapsed had been used entirely by male
patients only. Of the fifteen other patients who sustained injuries, all were released from the hospital Friday afternoon or early Saturday morning. Following the crash there was
fear expressed that a number of the patients had been caught underneath the debris. A careful checkup of the patients was at once made and it was found that all could be
The debris was removed during the week, a mass of brick, plaster and wooden timbers. Portions of the upper floors that hung dangerously suspended, were pulled down as well as
parts of the walls. The roof of the building was prevented from crashing as workmen immediately after the accident, spiked together heavy planks and used them as timbers to prop
up the sagging portions at the end of the building. Had the walls crashed on top of the other portions of the building that collapsed, it is believed a large number of the patients
caught inside the building would have been killed. Several workmen were at work on the third floor removing plaster. They heard the wall cracking and attempted to run to safety.
However, before they could get away, the floor gave way under them and they plunged to the ground on the floor boards, escaping serious injury. Oscar Nagle, a workman, was on
the third floor of the building when it gave way. He rode a large slab of concrete, that was part of the floor of one of the bath rooms down to the first floor and escaped injury. The
slab is believed to have been the one that caught one of the patients and pinned him between it and the radiator. Edward Miller, keeper of the building, with William Hellenthal, a
workman, were standing on the third floor. When they heard the walls crack they ran to the steps and managed to get out of the building in safety. Steward William Powell and his
office force, as well as employees of the institution, were very courteous and free in giving to newspapermen and all persons making inquiry, as full an account and details of the
accident as was possible. This made it possible for the newspapers of the county to give correct versions of the collapse of the building and its results to the general public, a few
hours after the same occurred.
|The Call of October 19, 1951
GENEROUS OFFERS HELP IN BUILDING NEW AMBULANCE STRUCTURE & COMFORT STATION
What can be accomplished for the good of the community through cooperation is being demonstrated in the construction of the new ambulance building and comfort stations at the
river end of Saint John Street, a half a block off Main Street. A long period of discussion and deliberation preceded the final decision to erect the building. The plan at first called
for only the shell of the structure to be built and only part of the building to be used as a garage. Later as money became available, the committee of the Lions Community
Ambulance Service and the Lions Clubs planned to go into the completion of the comfort stations. Generous offers made this week, however, will make it possible for the entire
project to be completed immediately.
The Losch Boiler Sales Company has offered to donate four toilets, two urinals and two lavatories for the rest rooms. Robert E. Baker Post Number 38. American Legion, at its
meeting last night offered to finance the completion of the comfort stations. The two rooms will probably be finished in ceramic tile and will have all the modern sanitary
conveniences to be found in comfort stations in larger cities. A new oil burner heating unit has been donated. In addition to contributing the rest room fixtures, the Losch Boiler
Sales Company will also donate the radiators to be used throughout the building.
The first generous grant that started the ball rolling on the project was the outright gift of the ground by W. E. Stine. The value of this plot, located at the rear of Mr. Stine's property
and adjoining the First National Bank grounds is estimated at $2000. The only request made by Mr. Stine was that the building be of such construction that it will be an asset rather
than an eyesore to the community and that it should always be used for the welfare of Schuylkill Haven. After the decision was made to embark on the project, price concessions
were received from the Economy Supply Company on the building blocks and from the Glen Gery Brick Company on the bricks used for facing the front of the building. Bair and
Shuey agreed to make the wiring installation at no cost. If you haven't already visited the scene of all this activity, you are invited to do so. See what can be accomplished by
cooperation. Perhaps you too will desire to help in some manner on this project. Donations are being received at The Call office or checks may be sent to Lewis M. Koch, treasurer.
|The Call of October 26, 1951
GOODBYE TO SEWAGE IN SCHUYLKILL - NEW TREATMENT PLANT PLACED IN OPERATION
Schuylkill Haven can say goodbye forever to the stench that came in the hot summer months from the Schuylkill River flowing through the heart of the community. The treatment
plant of the local sewage system project, after passing the stringent tests of the engineers, has been accepted by the borough and is now in operation. Although only about one
third of the homes in town are connected to the new sewer system, all the sewage now entering the new lines goes through the plant located on Charles Street near the borough
dumping grounds. Here, in a modern, well lighted, spic and span plant, contrary to the public perception of a sewage treatment works, the solids are removed and the liquid treated
so that the active bacteria is killed before being discharged into the Schuylkill River.
The plant combines the ultimate in efficiency with the best engineering plans for a sewage treatment plant of this nature. The gas coming the sewage in the large digestion tank is
burned in the heat exchanger to provide heat for the digester, to heat the building and to furnish hot water. All excess gas is disposed by means of a waste gas burner extending
above the roof of the building. With the gases destroyed and the open tanks treated with chlorine, the plant will have very little in the way of odor to identify it. Instead, the plant
will present a pleasing appearance when the honeysuckle which has been planted on the sides of the digester tanks are further developed. The plant itself is the picture of
cleanliness. The main office and control room is located at the front of the building. This large room contains the operator's desk, laboratory equipment, a large recording meter
and the control panel. All operations of the plant are controlled from this one large panel. To the rear of the office is a locker and wash room and a room containing the chlorinator
and the bottles of chlorine. The room adjoining the office contains the digester apparatus controls, gas, water and sludge lines, the heat exchanger and a mechanic's work bench.
A circular stairway leads to the sub floor where the three large pumps, recirculation pump, raw sludge pump, valves and pipes for conducting the sewage to and from the digester
are located. Particularly noticeable in the neatly painted interior is the color identification system used on all piping. Various colors identify each pipe and a pipe plan is on file at
the office to show the operator at a glance where possible trouble might be. This color scheme facilitates locating trouble if any occurs by making it easy to trace lines through the
intricate piping found in the building.
The raw sewage comes to the treatment plant through an eighteen inch main. From some parts of town the flow is by gravity while others require pumping to aid the flow of sewage
to the treatment plant. At the last manhole along the line, located outside the plant, provision has been made for an automatic bypass. In the event of a flow in excess of what the
plant can handle, the bypass will shunt the excess directly to the river. At the manhole, chlorine from the chlorinator located inside the building can be added to the sewage. The
chlorinator is set up so that chlorine can be added either before or after sewage enters the plant. The sewage passes through a comminutor, screening the sewage and then falls
into the primary wet well. An automatic control throws the pumps into operation when a certain depth of sewage is reached. Three pumps of different capacity move the raw
sewage from the wet well to the primary settling tanks, located on the west side of the plant. In the primary settling tank, the sewage with chlorine added, has the settlable solids
removed. The clarified sewage is discharged into the Schuylkill River with the bacteria killed by the chlorine. The primary tanks are equipped with a mechanical scum and sludge
cleaning device. The settled solids are pushed towards sumps at the head of the tanks. From the sumps, solids are pumped to one of the two large, circular digesters. The tanks
are covered with a floating top, which traps sewage gas generated by the digesting sewage. This methane is forced through piping to the heat exchanger where is used as fuel to
generate heat for the digester itself as well as heating the building. The main purpose of the heat exchanger is to maintain a constant 95 degree temperature which is needed to
promote the proper digestion of solids and a rapid rate of gas production in the digester. After a sufficient period of time to remove all gases, fifty to seventy five days, the sludge
in the tank is removed to the six sludge beds where the final separation of water and solids takes place. The sludge beds allows for the separation and settling of solids. Only a
very small percentage of the sewage going through the plant, about one percent, is in solid form. After going through the digesters and being spread out on the final sludge bed,
the dried solid remaining is even less. At the present time the plant is receiving only a small amount of sewage in comparison with the capacity of the treatment system. Adequate
provisions were made for the steady expansion of Schuylkill Haven so that the present plant will be able to take care of its needs in the future.
|The Call of February 7, 1936
LOCAL YOUTH MET DEATH WHILE COASTING
Richard Ney, thirteen year old Schuylkill Haven boy, met instant death Sunday afternoon about 3:30 o'clock, in the season's first fatal coasting accident. His head was crushed by the
wheels of a heavy passenger bus of the East Penn Transportation Company operating on North Berne Street and bound for Cressona. The boy, with his sister, Betty Roeder, aged
seven, were coasting on an alley to the rear of Orchard Avenue. The alley itself is not more than seven feet in width and located on a very steep incline or grade. The alley is
flanked on both sides by a high bank and the roadway had been cut through the bank to the level of Berne Street. Neither coaster or driver of the bus could see one another as
they approached the intersection. The driver of the bus, George Heiser of Pottsville, made a quick stop but not quick enough to avoid striking the coasters who must have shot out
of the alley by reason of the incline with great speed.
The front wheels struck the boy a glancing blow and passed over his head and were found resting on the tips of his fingers with the body sprawled on its back. Neighbors hurried
to the scene but the boy was killed instantly. The child's collarbone was also broken. The boy's head suffered a great deal of damage. The sled was found underneath the bus
without a scratch on it from contact with the bus. The body was viewed by Dr. Rutter and turned over to the undertaker, D. M. Bittle, who prepared it for burial.
The youngster had celebrated his thirteenth birthday last Friday. He was a son of Mrs. Elmer Roeder, nee Alice Eichorn. He attended eighth grade of the local schools and resided
at 418 Orchard Avenue. Besides his mother, stepfather and sister, his grandfather, Lewis Eichorn, survives.
|The Call of March 3, 1939
TOWN MAN MET DEATH BY ELECTROCUTION
Harry Fenstermacher of Schuylkill Haven met instant death Monday morning at 8:45 o'clock, by electrocution at the borough electric light plant. He was an employee of the Frank
Nelson Company, which company had the contract for connecting and placing the steam piping for the recently installed boiler at the plant. The company completed its contract and
work on the day the accident occurred. Fenstermacher, who had been in the employ of this company, would have finished his work at noon. No one seems to have witnessed the
accident. Attention, however, was called to the same by a blinding flash, a report like from a cannon, and the speeding up of the turbo generator. The unfortunate man must have
come in contact with a part of the current condenser, which sent twenty three hundred or more volts of current through his body. The current condenser is encased in a heavy
steel mesh screening. The casing forms a sort of cage six feet high and three feet in width. The current condenser is in the rear of the switchboard and between the Haven Street
wall of the building and the switchboard. There is a ten in ch space between the brick wall of the building and the cage of the condenser.
Fenstermacher had squeezed between a part of the apparatus and was intent on moving an overhead crane. This crane moves from one end of the building to the other. It is
operated by means of a chain a few feet above the floor level. When the chain is pulled, it operates over a wheel on top of the crane which wheel is engaged in gears and moves
the crane. Whether the chain came in contact with the condenser inside of the screening when the man gave a downward pull is not known.
Electricity, hen it comes in contact with the human body, has the action of hurling it away. In this case, this was impossible as the man was wedged in between the screen and the
brick wall. Therefore, the body received the full and continued current until the switch on the panel board could be pulled. His death must have been instantaneous. The switch
arm was pulled form the board by Mr. Clifford Evans of Philadelphia, clerk of works on the project. Mr. Evans was in the office nearby, when he heard the report and saw the flash.
He acted quickly, as his coming from the office brought him into full view of the accident and he knew just what happened. Mr. Walter Yost, Chief Engineer at the plant, was in the
entrance to the boiler room. He saw the flash and heard the report as if someone was dynamiting. His attention was immediately drawn to the flames leaping from behind the
switchboard panel and here Mr. Yost and Mr. Joe McCarthy, foreman of the Frank Nelson Company, saw the body of a man. Mr. Yost crawled in back of the switchboard panel and
loosened the victim's foot so that the body could be pulled to the clear. The burning clothing was pulled form his body and he was placed on a clear space on the floor. Artificial
respiration was begun immediately by employees of the American Electrical Construction Company, who have been schooled in administering first aid. Dr. Fegley was summoned.
Breathing had been partially restored. The physician ordered the man's removal to the Pottsville Hospital and until the ambulance arrived, artificial respiration was continued.
Enroute to the hospital this same method was employed. Breathing, it was thought, had been started several times, but at the hospital he was pronounced dead. The right hand of
Fenstermacher was burned black. The palm of his left hand was also burned black as was also one knee. He was also burned badly on his lower limbs and in front of his body. The
contact or shock of the current passing through the man's body was noticed over the entire area served by the electric light plant. Lights were dimmed for a moment, electric
motors came almost to a stop and electric time clocks stopped dead. The electric clock at The Call office stopped at sixteen minutes to nine o'clock. Persons residing a square from
the plant heard the report and thought dynamiting had been resorted to by the company removing the concrete foundation walls for the new turbo generator. The flames from the
clothing of the unfortunate man, while they flared up for several minutes, were quickly extinguished by means of heavy clothing thrown over the same.
Fenstermacher was forty eight years of age and lived at 121 Willow Street. He was a son of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Fenstermacher, deceased. He was born and reared in Schuylkill
Haven and was a veteran of the World war, having served overseas with Company C, 103rd Engineers. He also saw service with Company C on the Mexican border. He was a
member of the Rainbow Hose Company and the American Legion in Schuylkill Haven. Several years ago he sustained painful injuries when he fell from the roof of a house he was
repairing. He had been an employee of the borough in various departments for a number of years. His mother died several years ago, having suffered a heart attack on her way
from town to her home. Her dead body was found in the North Ward school yard early in the morning. Fenstermacher had intended to quit work at noon in order that he might serve
as a pall bearer at the funeral of his friend, John Whitman. He is survived by his wife, nee Minnie Shoener of Landingville ad three sisters: Mrs. George Nent of Pottsville, Mrs.
William Evans and Mrs. Albert Coller of Schuylkill Haven.
|The Call of August 2, 1940
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN MAN DROWNED IN OLD POND NEAR TOWN
The first drowning of the season in the Schuylkill Haven district, and the third in Schuylkill County for this summer, occurred on Wednesday afternoon between three and four
o'clock. The victim was Raymond Heim, aged twenty two of Garfield Avenue, Willow Lake, Schuylkill Haven. The drowning occurred at the pond of the long ago abandoned Schuylkill
Pressed Brick Company plant along the Schuylkill Haven to Orwigsburg highway in North Manheim Township. Heim, with two other youths, Edward Reifsnyder, twenty and Billy
Sticker, aged fifteen, both of Cressona, went swimming in this pond or pool after having enjoyed several hours driving on a coal truck. Heim several times expressed the desire to
go in swimming. The boys arrived from Hamburg, where Heim drank cold milk and iced tea. Arriving at the brick plant, they removed their clothing and were soon enjoying
swimming. Reifsnyder noticed the absence of Heim and began diving for him. Not being able to find trace of him, Officer Frank Deibert of Schuylkill Haven was called. Dr. Lenker
accompanied Deibert to the scene as did Arlan Bubeck and Harvey Haddad. R. Fred Anchorstar, who conducts a restaurant nearby, had also been summoned, and he, with
Reifsnyder and Sticker, were diving for the boy. Arlan Bubeck and Haddad also joined with them and after a ten minute search, Boy Scout Bubeck stumbled over Heim's submerged
body. He was quickly brought to the surface and brought ashore with the assistance of Reifsnyder and Haddad. The body at the time was blue but quite warm when brought out of
the water. Artificial respiration was resorted to for half an hour after which a Davis inhalator was used, which had been rushed to Schuylkill Haven by the Pottsville Gas Company.
The inhalator of the Schuylkill Haven Fire Department was also used and efforts to revive the boy were continued for almost two hours without result. Shortly after five o'clock, Dr.
Henry Prescott, Deputy Coroner, pronounced the youth dead. In addition to the above mentioned individuals who assisted in attempting to restore life were Paul Lazos and Albert
The pond where Heim lost his life is shunned by most swimmers and bathers. Very few at any time throughout an entire season visit the place. This because of the fact that the
water is very cold, coming from springs nearby. The bottom and sides are of clay. The water is more or less stagnant as there is no regular outlet. The size of the dam is about fifty
feet in width and one hundred fifty feet in length. It is located along the railroad tracks of the Lehigh Valley Railroad and north of the site of the abandoned brick plant. The pond
was formed as the result of clay soil which was excavated from this site in many years gone by. The excavated material was used in the manufacture of bricks at the plant across the
highway and less than one hundred yards distant from it. This particular pond, on one or two previous occasions, has claimed victims.
Heim was the son of Ralph and the late E. Elva (Daniels) Heim. He was born in Orwigsburg. He has resided in Schuylkill Haven for the past four years. He was a member of the First
Reformed Church of Schuylkill haven. To survive he leaves his father and the following brothers and sisters: Gordon of Brommerstown, Ella of Orwigsburg, Vera of Gordon, Mahlon
and Delores of Schuylkill Haven.
|The Call of May 23, 1952
LITTLE LEAGUE OPENS CAMPAIGN HERE, SATURDAY AFTERNOON, MAY 31
Elaborate plans have been made to inaugurate the Little League Baseball season in Schuylkill Haven, Saturday afternoon, May 31. Rotary Club sponsored Little League, Inc., will
open its four team circuit on that date with a doubleheader between the Phils and Yanks and the A's and Giants on the newly constructed diamond adjacent to the high school
football field. The first game will start at 1:30. A big parade has been planned as part of the pregame festivities for Little League Day, the formation to include the high school band,
the fire departments and the four Little League teams, all in full uniform. After the parade reaches the baseball field, Joseph Manbeck, President of the Rotary Club, will introduce
the speaker, Judge G. E. Gangloff. Following the address the flag will be raised with the playing of the national anthem by the high school band. The game will get underway after
Joseph Manbeck tosses out the first ball. Practice was scheduled for the youngsters for every night of the past week but continuous rains washed out all tryout sessions the first
three nights. Last night the boys were given a good workout and weather permitting the drills will continue tonight and tomorrow afternoon. Further practice sessions will be
announced Saturday afternoon.
During the past week Little League Director Harry Hummel met with all the umpires who will officiate at the various games this summer. Discussions centered around the rules and
regulations for Little League baseball. The men were also given their assignments for the coming season. The men who have offered their services to umpire are Bob Felix, William
Reber, Leo Krammes, the Reverend Marlin T. Schaeffer, Joe Kaufman Jr., Bob Fetter, Howard Shaup, Jack Schimmel, Bob Farr and Paul Seidel. Another meeting with the umpires is
scheduled for this coming Monday evening at the Community Ambulance building at 7:30 o'clock. A meeting of the managers and coaches of the Little League is also slated for this
coming Monday evening following the meeting of the umpires which will probably be at 8:30 at the same place. Selection of the players of the various teams will be made at this time.
|This was the scoreboard at the Little
League field. Ernie's Barber Shop was
located on Union Street and Corrado's
Shoe Store was on East Main Street. It
was painted by Joseph Krutulis, a
former artist for the Capitol Theatre in
Pottsville and a neighbor of mine.
|The Call of May 30, 1952
LITTLE LEAGUE BASEBALL WILL HAVE GRAND OPENING SATURDAY WITH PARADE
Final plans have been completed for the grand opening of the Rotary Club sponsored Schuylkill Haven Little League
this coming Saturday afternoon, May 31 on the newly constructed diamond adjacent to the high school football field. A
doubleheader is scheduled for the inauguration when Little League fans will see all four teams in action with the first
game starting at 1:30. The Phils, managed by Kermit Spotts, will meet the Yanks, with William Harner at the helm in the
curtain raiser. The A's, managed by Walter Hinkle, will tangle with the Giants, headed by Earl "Jeff" Goas, in the second
A big parade has been planned as part of the pregame festivities for Little League Day. The parade will form at the Earl
Stoyer garage at Berne and Columbia Streets at 12:15 and proceed to the Little League baseball field. The formation
will include a color guard, the high school band, the fire departments and the four Little League teams, all in uniform
with their respective managers and coaches. After the parade arrives at the baseball field the various teams will circle
the entire diamond. The program will begin with an invocation by the Reverend Marlin T. Schaeffer, followed by the
introduction of the speaker for the occasion, Judge G. E. Gangloff, by the president of the Rotary Club, Joseph
Manbeck. Following the address, the stars and stripes will be raised, with the playing of the national anthem by the
high school band. The game will get underway after Joseph Manbeck tosses out the first ball.
In case of rain, the same proceedings will be held this coming Monday evening, June 2. The parade will form at 4:45
with the first game starting at 6:00. The selection of the players for the various teams was made last Monday evening
by the different managers and coaches from a list of approximately 120 registered boys. All the boys were assigned to
the various teams with each club having a roster of about thirty youngsters. With continuous rains washing out
regularly scheduled tryout sessions many times during the past few weeks, it made it impossible for the managers and
coaches to single out any individual for a position on any team, for that reason it was decided to name all the boys to
some team. However, this list was cut down to fifteen boys who will wear uniforms and six regular reserves, with the
understanding that some changes could be made during the regular season. The uniforms were distributed last night
and at the time of going to press the names of the players in the final selection could not be secured. They will be
announced next week. The following men are acting as coaches for the various teams: A's, Andy Kupko and Robert
Shaup; Phils, Gar "Bap" Miller and Jake Hammerly; Yanks, Cal Krammes and Robert Rettinger; Giants, Dick
Fenstermacher and Lloyd Underkoffler.
|The Call of December 26, 1952
RICHARD DAVIS ELECTED BOROUGH MANAGER AT SATURDAY SESSION
Richard Davis, retired Naval commander of Chestnut Hill, Boston, Massachusetts, was elected Schuylkill Haven's first borough manager at a special meeting of borough council held
Saturday morning at 10:00 at borough hall. The meeting was called for the express purpose of filling the office which had been created almost a year ago. In a matter of minutes, Mr.
Davis was elected. He was nominated and there were no further nominations. The nomination was closed and Mr. Davis, having no opposition, was elected without a dissenting
vote. Councilmen present were Claude A. Sausser, Michael Bojack, Lewis Bitzer, Sylvester Hainley, Gerard McCarthy, Leon Strohecker and Percival Heisler. Members absent were
John Hulet, Wilbur Shaup and Paul Bowen. In the absence of Secretary Edwin J. Gerhard, Councilman Ralph Hartenstine served as secretary.
Mr. Davis will begin his term of office on January 1 and will continue in office until January 1, 1954 when the regular reorganization of council takes place. All borough offices are
filled at the first meeting in January of the even numbered years. Councilmen are elected in November of the odd years and take office in January of the following year. A
reorganization meeting is then held and all borough offices filled.
Following the announcement that Schuylkill Haven was to select a borough manager, a large number of applications was received from all over the country. A committee of council
was appointed to screen the applicants. The list was finally narrowed down to Mr. Davis and following a personal interview with the committee and other members of council, the
committee recommended his election to the office. When the first vote was taken, the necessary seven votes to elect were missing, the vote being six to five. A change in council
caused by the resignation of Clyde Freed and the appointment of George Zulick in his place changed matters. When it was learned that Mr. Davis was still available, a special
meeting was called and he was elected. The salary for the borough manager has been fixed at $7600, the same amount received by the current superintendent of borough utilities.
Mr. Davis expects to come to Schuylkill haven next week to meet with key men in the borough organization prior to his taking office.
|The Call of June 12, 1953
LIGHT PLANT STARTED 61 YEARS AGO CLOSED SUNDAY
Sunday marked the last day for the operation of the electric light plant on Haven Street. Early Sunday morning the changeover was made to use all P. P. & L. Company power for
resale in the borough. A skeleton crew is temporarily at work keeping up enough steam to blow the fire alarm located on top of the building if it should be necessary. The plant will
close completely when three new sirens are received and installed at the three fire houses in town. The light plant in Schuylkill Haven dates back to 1891 when the borough
erected an electric light plant on the east side of Haven Street, south of the Pennsylvania Railroad depot. The first electric current in Schuylkill Haven was turned on Thursday,
October 2, 1891, at 7:20 in the evening by Clarence Moser, son of H. I. Moser, president of borough council.
Improvements were made to the system in rapid order as the demand for electric power increased. The plant started with 60 and 70 horsepower generators. In 1892, an
incandescent plant was purchased. In 1900 an 160 horsepower engine was purchased. In 1909, a 200 kilowatt unit was purchased. In 1913, a 320 kilowatt unit, in 1923 a 750 kilowatt
unit, in 1929 a 1250 kilowatt unit and in 1938 the present 2000 kilowatt unit. In 1946, further expansion of the plant was considered but because of high prices and the uncertainty of
the post war period, the program was dropped. In 1949 an 1800 kilowatt turbine was purchased and stored in Buffalo, New York until such time as the borough was ready to install it.
Dissension and litigation in connection with the borough's sewer project led to a postponement of the improvement program at the light plant. It became necessary to purchase
part of the power needed from P. P. and L. Finally, borough council decided to purchase all of its power for resale. A temporary substation was set up with equipment leased from
the power company. On Sunday the town was supplied completely with power generated outside the borough.
The closing of the electric light plant effects ten employees who worked at the Haven Street plant. These men are Harry L. Bubeck, chief engineer; Walter Yost, William Dierwechter
and Morris Ketner, engineers; Richard Adams, Homer Ripkee, William Eckert, Glenn Schaeffer and George Robbins, firemen; Warren Shollenberger, maintenance man. Ketner was
transferred from the plant to a position as lineman a month ago and is now chief lineman. Richard Adams has secured a position at Alcoa. A meeting of the employees affected was
called yesterday afternoon by Manager Davis. Those interested in continuing with the borough were asked to express their intention and an effort would be made to place them in
other positions when changes are made.
|The Call of February 27, 1942
ANDREW SHAPPELL STRUCK BY AUTO, FATALLY INJURED
Andrew J. Shappell, 83, a retired farmer and blacksmith, was fatally injured Sunday evening at 9:15 o'clock when he was struck by an automobile driven by Ernest H. Holl of Temple,
Berks County, while crossing the street in front of his home on Centre Avenue in Schuylkill Haven. He died Monday morning at 2:20 at the Pottsville Hospital as a result of head,
pelvic and internal injuries. The driver was released pending the result of an inquest ordered by Dr. R. W. Lanker. Chief of Police Frank Deibert, who investigated, found that Mr.
Shappell was struck by the side of Holl's car, the impact knocking the handle from the car door. Mr. Shappell was returning home from the Gottschall store when the accident
Deceased was born in North Manheim Township and was a son of the late John and Caroline Bowen Shappell. He had been a resident of Schuylkill Haven for the past twenty five
years. He was a life long member of the First Evangelical and Reformed Church and was the last surviving member of the group that helped to build the present church building.
Mr. Shappell was employed as a blacksmith at the Reading Railroad shops after retiring from farming. His favorite hobby was quoit pitching and was rated champion of Schuylkill in
spite of his age. He celebrated his 83rd birthday anniversary on February 12. His survivors are his wife, nee Ella weaver, formerly of Cressona; four children, Luther of Wilkes
Barre; Mrs. Florence Michael and Helen, wife of Gustav Beck, both of Schuylkill Haven and Ida, wife of Henry Clay of Denton, Maryland and four grandchildren. Two sons, Claude and
Lester, preceded him in death. Funeral services were held Thursday afternoon at two o'clock from his late home at 24 Centre Avenue with the Reverend J. L. Herbster officiating.
Interment was made in the Union Cemetery. D. M. Bittle was the funeral director in charge.
|Pottsville Republican of February 6, 1912
NEW ALMSHOUSE MAY BE NEXT
Now that the new insane asylum at Schuylkill Haven will soon be completed, the question is certain to arise of the necessity of providing ample grounds for the patients of that
institution. Conditions will be different when the new institution is completed than those which now control the management of the insane of the county. At the present time the
poor and the insane are all cared for under the direction of the Board of Poor Directors but the recent act creating a Board of Trustees to conduct the affairs of the insane asylum in
this county separates the poor from the insane. When the new institution is completed the Board of Poor Directors will take charge of the affairs of the almshouse and will not in any
way be connected with the management of the insane institution, while the Trustees of the Insane Asylum will have nothing to do with the almshouse.
We will then naturally expect a clash to come over the county farm which is part of the almshouse. For years the insane, at least that portion of them physically and mentally able to
do so, were given employment on the farm. Some of them performed useful labor, while others did little more than exercise themselves in the open air. Now this farm will become
part of the almshouse and therefore separated from the insane department and as a result the insane patients will be deprived of their place to exercise, which exercise is
considered to be one of the treatment of persons mentally unsound.
The question is certain, therefore, to come up before long as to the rights of the two departments. It will be necessary to either divide the present farm in half in some way and
devote half of it to the insane patients and the other half to the care of the other unfortunates or purchase new ground for this purpose. It is claimed it will be impossible to
purchase ground which will give both institutions the room which is needed if the buildings are to remain as at present located and that in the end it will be found necessary to
remove one of the institution to some other nearby locality or to some other section of the county. Of course the magnificent insane asylum won't be torn down and moved, so it
appears likely that the near future will witness the necessity of the erection of another almshouse building at some new location in order to provide the proper treatment for the
insane and give to the indigent the chance to keep themselves in bodily vigor and aid in their own support.
It was expected that the trustees would be able to come in by the first of February with the estimate of the expenses which will be incurred through the management of the new
institution for the insane but they have thus far found the job to be an overpowering big one and they did not feel justified without further investigation and deliberation to tell the
Commissioners just what sum would be needed for their work. The trustees recognize the fact that they have under their charge one of the best equipped insane asylum buildings
in th estate and they appreciate that it is necessary to have a thoroughly modern and competent complement of employees and that in order to get the proper men to take charge of
the institution they will be obliged to pay wages to compare with other first class institutions.
|The Call of January 15, 1959
DAVIS IN SIX YEARS HAS PUT TOWN ON SOUND BASIS
Six years ago Schuylkill Haven borough was in a sad state. The electric department, without funds for needed equipment, was manufacturing half of the required power and
purchasing the other half from PP&L, and was losing money every month. The water department was operating at a profit but not enough to provide the funds necessary to make
long overdue repairs and improvements to the system. The gas department was losing money. The newly undertaken sewer system was on shaky ground. The general borough
treasury was depleted and money had to be borrowed to pay the regular borough bills. Now, six years later, the picture has changed completely. The light department is making
more money then ever, even in its most prosperous years. The water system has been improved with larger mains, better pumps and a new retaining reservoir. The losing gas
department has been discontinued. More improvements have been made in the last six years than in any similar period of the borough's history. In addition to nice healthy
balances in all accounts, the borough has $90,000 invested in a reserve account.
Credit for the abrupt change goes to the borough manager, Richard Davis, Jr. On the start of his seventh year as manager of Schuylkill Haven, he has been chosen the Outstanding
Community Leader for this week. As his accomplishments can be seen on every hand and have been recounted in this paper during the past six years, this article will be devoted to
a sketch of his background before coming to Schuylkill Haven. Borough Manager Davis, who lists Chestnut Hill near Boston, Massachusetts as his home, is a graduate of the United
States Naval Academy at Annapolis in the class of 1925. Prior to attending the Naval Academy, he was enrolled at Johns Hopkins University where he took engineering courses. He
served with the United States Navy from 1925, when he entered as an ensign, until 1947 when he retired voluntarily as a commander. In 1952 he completed a two year course at the
Institute for Municipal Management at Northeastern University and he also studied municipal finance at Boston University.
In the Navy he served in administration positions for fifteen years. His last command was on the USS Scania, a twin screw, electric driven attack transport operating in the Western
Pacific. Prior to that in 1945 he served as representative of the commander, Naval Fortress France, to the French Navy and U. S. Army at Saint Nazaire. In 1944-45 he was acting task
unit commander of all U. S. combatant vessels in the Cherbourg area, joint operations officer of the Cotentin Peninsula and port defense officer for Cherbourg. In addition to being
in operational control of U. S. Naval forces, as point operations officer preparing plans for army ground forces, batteries, radar installations, etc., he was in operational control of all
English combatant vessels in the vicinity of the Cotentin Peninsula. Total personnel involved was about 12,000. For his outstanding work in this assignment, he was cited with the
bronze star. Mr. and Mrs. Davis live in the Sterner bungalow located alongside the R. R. Sterner Company on Centre Avenue. They have one daughter, married, living near
Washington D. C.
In his application for the position of borough manager, Davis listed the qualifications required of a manager and added: "The exercise of these qualities should lead to getting the
most done at the least cost and with the least effort. This application is filed in the firm belief that the candidate, by education, training, experience, active ability, accomplishment
and temperament is fully qualified to handle the position of manager of your city and to successfully conduct your government affairs in strict compliance with the established
policies of the council and in the best interests of the public. I believe this confidence in my ability and qualifications is supported by my experience record." The record speaks for
itself. The accomplishments, of course, could not have been possible without th support and cooperation of members of Borough Council as well as other borough officials and
personnel. The change to borough manager form of government brought with it a change of attitude on the part of the citizens of town. Once the ball started to roll, the vast
majority of local people pushed rather than hindered its progress. The results have been amazing to say the least.
|The Call of December 3, 1959
NEW STREET DECORATIONS
The new look in Christmas street decorations made its appearance in Schuylkill Haven's business section this week and met with immediate approval of everyone. The modern,
plastic, shiny aluminum, brilliant neon, and regular colored bulbs present a colorful and pleasing appearance. They contrast distinctly with the drab fixtures that have been used
year after year and have finally been discarded. Ten strings of lights span Main Street between Dock and Railroad Streets and three strings across Saint John Street between Main
and Union Streets. The centerpiece is a large red plastic bell. Garlands of shiny aluminum lead to neon stars and then to the light standard. In with the aluminum garlands are
colored light bulbs. One string of lights is red, another blue and another green.
Gordon D. Reed, secretary of the Schuylkill Haven Merchants Association, which is purchasing the lights, states that the lights will be enhanced probably next year by having
aluminum decorations placed on the light standards. A collection will be made among the business and professional people in the business district to pay for the new lights. The
new decorations cost about $800 and with the added cost of bulbs and installation, the cost adds up to slightly more than $1000. The new decorations were purchased from Hen
Johnston, Incorporated through Paul Hinnershitz of town. The same company made the installation.
|The Call of November 5, 1959
RECREATION AREA WILL BE READY NEXT SPRING
The above diagram shows the recreation area that will be developed at the Rotary Field
through the efforts of the Schuylkill Haven Jaycees. For the past two weeks, when
weather permitted, a bulldozer was at work removing high spots and filling in low spots
to grade the area for the playing courts. Charles Manbeck donated the services of the
large bulldozer and the operator to the amount of $1,000.
The grading work was completed Tuesday afternoon. The Jaycees, divided into teams,
will continue to work on the development as long as weather permits. The work will be
resumed in early spring so that the courts will be available for use in May. Included in
the plan are two regulation size basketball courts, which may also be used for badminton,
two tennis courts and two handball courts. One wall in the center will serve for the two
handball courts. All courts will be macadam. The recreation area is located on the
elevated section of Rotary Field on the east side of the football stadium. Work will also
be done on the north end of the area to convert it into a picnic area. This is the final part
of a long range development plan inaugurated by the Jaycees.
|This diagram accompanied the story on the recreation area.
|The Call of August 31, 1945
AVIATOR KILLED AND WIFE SERIOUSLY INJURED WHEN PLANE HITS MOUNTAIN
Lost Plane Circled Over Town Before Crashing Beyond Willow Lake
The pilot of a large two motored, five passenger Cessna airplane was killed and his wife seriously injured, when their plane, after circling over this territory for an hour, following a
severe thunderstorm, crashed on the mountainside two miles northeast of Killian's Dam. James McKean Davis, 40, of Waltham, Massachusetts, an employee of the Raytheon
Manufacturing Company, owner of the aircraft, was dead when rescuers finally found the plane on Sunday at noon, about thirteen hours after the crash. His wife, Betty Ann Davis,
20, was found sitting in front of the plane in a dazed semiconscious condition. She was removed to the Pottsville Hospital with injuries of the arms, head and legs and suffering from
shock and exposure. Because Mrs. Davis was in a semiconscious condition, it was not until the arrival of the mothers of Mrs. Davis and the dead pilot that their residence was
definitely established as the Statler Hotel in Boston. Prior to that they lived in Lansing, Illinois. He was a native of Lucan, Ontario, Canada. Davis' duties as test pilot for the
Raytheon Company took him to many parts of the country. Mr. and Mrs. Davis were enroute from Hartford, Connecticut to Harrisburg and were expected to land about seven
o'clock. A severe thunderstorm struck this section shortly before that time and the plane evidently became lost. From Harrisburg the couple had expected to fly to Tipton near
Huntingdon and spend some time visiting Mrs. Brownlee, mother of Mrs. Davis. The condition of Mrs. Davis is reported as improved by the Pottsville Hospital authorities. She has
regained consciousness but is suffering from injuries of the arms, head and legs.
MANY WATCHED PLANE Many people in this section watched on Saturday night around 9:15 as the plane circled in this area and came down low over Schuylkill Haven and
Cressona. It was evident that the pilot was in trouble and was seeking a place to land. In Cressona flares were dropped by the plane. Several automobiles drove to a field that
would be suitable for an emergency landing field and turned their lights to shine over the field but the pilot evidently didn't see them. John Bubeck of Center Avenue phoned the
State Police at Pottsville and reported the plane in trouble. The plane circled over town very low and almost hit the spire of Saint Ambrose church. It then flew to the northeast and
it is believed the pilot found a field east of the Pottsville Gun Club grounds near Seven Stars and was circling to make an emergency landing when he hit the trees near the top of
CRASH HEARD AND REPORTED The crash was heard by Lou Michael Jr. and Harvey Bensinger, both living in the Willow Lake section and both notified the State Police. A searching
detail was sent out. The mountains were searched until one in the morning when fog made further search impossible. The next morning the search was resumed, with a number of
local boys assisting the State Police. The aid of the Civil Air Patrol in Reading was enlisted and Captain Edward Sickel flew a plane over the area. He discovered the plane and
signaled where it was located. William Killian, 16, of Willow Lake, was first to reach the scene around noon. He found Mrs. Davis sitting on a rock in front of the plane, a few feet
from the body of her husband with her head in her hands and covered with blood. "Take me to a farmhouse and put me to bed," she told young Killian. The dead pilot was found
strapped in his seat behind the instrument panel of the plane with a hole in his head over the left ear. It is not known how long he lived after the crash.
MOTORS TORN FROM SHIP The plane was badly damaged. In crashing it had cut a path for a hundred yards through trees, some of which were a foot in diameter. The motors and
wings bore the brunt of the crash, while the passenger compartment in the nose of the ship miraculously missed big trees. One of the plane motors rolled about fifty feet from the
plane while the other one landed only a few feet in front of the fuselage. The plane bent in the middle under the strain of the impact. Most of the valuable radio equipment in the
plane remained intact and the instrument panel, although torn from the plane, was not badly smashed.
CARRIED DOWN MOUNTAIN Young Killian, assisted by Paul Fisher and Charles and Gary Bensinger and the Sate Police, carried Mrs. Davis down the mountainside. She was
removed immediately to the hospital. Her husband was removed from the plane and carried down to the small pickup truck owned by Harvey B. Moyer, on a stretcher made from a
parachute found in the plane. The body of the dead pilot was released by deputy coroner Wharton Bittle to the D. M. Bittle funeral home. The body was prepared and shipped to the
Temple Funeral Home in Petersburg, Pennsylvania on Tuesday afternoon. Funeral services were conducted there on Thursday afternoon and interment was made at Neff's Mills
cemetery, Huntingdon County.
FIRST ACCIDENT IN TEN YEARS The fatal crash was the only accident Mr. Davis had in his ten years of flying. He was born in Lucan, Ontario and before taking the job with the
Raytheon firm had been in the Air Transport Command ferrying planes and also worked for the American Airways. He met his wife, the former Betty Ann Cummins of Barree,
Huntingdon County, while she was employed at Middletown. They were married in 1943. A child, Gretchen Ann, was born this past spring but died when a month old. He is survived
by his mother, Mrs. Nell McKean Davis and a brother and sister.
PLANE AT MOYER'S GARAGE Harvey B. Moyer was instructed by the Raytheon concern to remove the plane from the mountain and take it to Boston, Massachusetts. On
Wednesday, the motors and fuselage were brought to the Moyer Garage but before the trip to Boston was begun, an insurance adjuster notified them that the wreckage should
remain here. At the present time, the plane and its loose parts are at the Harvey Moyer garage but will be removed elsewhere for storage until released by the insurance concern.
|The Call of January 25, 1946
FRANCIS C. MULLINS DIES OF INJURIES IN AUTO ACCIDENT
Francis C. Mullins, twenty three, of 1039 East Norwegian Street in Pottsville, formerly of Schuylkill Haven, was fatally injured in a headon crash on Wednesday morning at 1:50 o'clock
a half mile below Schuylkill Haven on Route 122. He died in the Pottsville Hospital on Thursday morning at 10:45 o'clock. Mullins was driving a Ford coupe north while William C.
Schwartz, thirty two, of 528 East Norwegian Street in Pottsville was operating a Capital Baking Company truck south. They met headon with Mullins' car being demolished. The impact
was so terrific that the truck was turned over on its side. This too, was practically demolished. Schwartz received bruises of the knees and left thigh but was able to return to his
home. George R. Deatrich, twenty two, Pottsville, who was riding with Mullins, suffered with shock, lacerations of the chin and face and bruises of both arms and legs. After
receiving treatment at the office of Dr. Joseph Matonis of Schuylkill Haven, he was removed to the Pottsville Hospital where he has since been released. Mullins sustained a
laceration that extended from the forehead to the back of the head, a fractured skull, concussion, a fracture of the left arm and possible internal injuries.
Pottsville State Police investigated the accident. Deceased was born in Cressona and was the son of Mrs. Clair Reber of Pottsville. Hr served in the army for three years and
received his discharge December 8, 1945. He was with the 717th Airborne Division, the 101st Division and fought at the crossing of the Rhine. He also saw action in the "Battle of
the Bulge". He went through the war without receiving a scratch. He was a member of the Veterans of Foreign wars, Number 4385 of Schuylkill Haven and of Saint John's Reformed
Church. Surviving are his mother, three brothers, Glenn of Berwick, Ray of Virginia and Harlan of town. Military funeral services conducted by the Veterans of Foreign wars will be
held on Monday at 3:00 p. m. from the D. M. Bittle funeral home with the Reverend Frederick D. Eyster, pastor of Saint John's Evangelical and Reformed Church officiating. Interment
will be in the Union Cemetery.
|The Call of June 28, 1946
EUGENE HOLZER KILLED IN ACCIDENT AT LIGHT PLANT MONDAY AFTERNOON - Heavy Bucket Crushes Victim in Ash Pit
Eugene Holzer, fireman at the Schuylkill Haven Electric Light Plant, was killed Monday afternoon at 2:30 o'clock, when in some unknown manner he toppled into the ash pit and the
ash bucket he was operating descended upon him and crushed him to death. Mr. Holzer, who had been employed at the plant for the past twelve years, asked the engineer, Walter
Yost, to keep an eye on the boilers while he went to load ashes in the conveyor. The ashes are wheeled from the furnace to the pit about five feet deep, where a large eight
hundred pound bucket, operated by cables from the roof of the building, is located. The heavy bucket is raised from the pit to the top of the building where the ashes are dumped
outside by an electric hoist operated by push buttons near the pit. The hoist was evidently on its way down, when in some manner unknown, Mr. Holzer fell into the pit and was
crushed by the bucket as it descended into the pit.
When the victim did not return to his firing after the usual length of time spent in removing ashes, Mr. Yost called to him, and receiving no answer, went to investigate. He noticed
the cables on the hoist were slack and thought at first that a cable had broken and Mr. Holzer had gone to the top to make repairs. Then he saw a foot along side the bucket in the
pit. He immediately called the crew, thinking the cable had broken and the bucket had fallen on Mr. Holzer, and also called Dr. N. Albert Fegley. Returning to the pit, he noticed that
the cables were loose because the body was holding the bucket above its regular position. He then operated the hoist to re move the bucket and with the aid of repair men
removed the body from the pit. Dr. Fegley arrived and pronounced Mr. Holzer dead. Dr. T. C. Rutter, deputy coroner, released the body to the D. M. Bittle funeral home.
Mr. Holzer, 53, was born in Frackville but had been a resident of Schuylkill Haven for the past 39 years. He was a son of the late Charles and Eliza Jane Wallace Holzer. He was a
veteran of World War One having served with the 103rd Engineers, 28th Division and was a member of Saint James Episcopal Church in Schuylkill Haven and also the Veterans of
Foreign Wars in town. Surviving are his wife, the former Sara Tyndall; one son, William E. Holzer and one daughter, Dorothy E. wife of Gerald Berger, both of Schuylkill Haven. Also
surviving are one brother, Walter Holzer of Schuylkill Haven and four sisters, Mrs. Bessie Martin and and Mrs. George Reichert of Pottsville and Mrs. Thomas Peel and Miss Sadie
Holzer of Schuylkill Haven. Funeral services under the direction of the VFW were held this afternoon at two o'clock from the D. M. Bittle funeral home, with interment in Baber
Cemetery in Pottsville. Reverend C. H. Stone of Saint James Episcopal church officiated. His daughter, Dorothy, was married to Gerald Berger just two days before the accident and
was on a wedding trip to Lake Ontario in New York. They were called home and arrived Tuesday afternoon.
|The Call of September 1, 1960
NEW LIBRARY WILL BE BUILT AT SAINT JOHN AND UNION
A special meeting of the board of trustees of the Schuylkill Haven Free Public Library was convened on Monday evening. The meeting was attended by architect W. Marshall
Hughes, Reading. He discussed the probable cost of a library building which is planned to provide permanent quarters for the public library. Funds for the erection of a library
building must be wholly provided from the community, as no state or federal monies are available for such a structure. Mr. Hughes will have some tentative plans to present to the
trustees by the end of September when another special meeting will be held. Formal action was voted to authorize treasurer Willis Reed to make a loan of $7,500 to purchase the
Coldren property at the corner of Saint John and Union Streets. This consists of a vacant lot and a two story house. The ground has a total frontage of approximately fifty feet and
extends along Union Street for seventy feet. The trustees consider this ground to be a most desirable site for the library building. The trustees and building committee, having
committed themselves to a site, will, after securing the architect's estimate of the cost of construction, enlist the aid of many individuals and organizations of the borough to raise
the needed construction funds. Trustees present at the meeting were Mrs. Richard Pflueger, C. Harriet Hoy, Mrs. Russel Werner, Willis Reed, building committee chairman Charles
Deibler and President Paul S. Christman.
|The Call of August 16, 1946
BOY CRUSHED ATTEMPTING JUMP TO MOVING TRUCK
Robert Gilbert, ten, of 226 Dock Street was fatally injured at 8:10 yesterday morning when he fell from the running board of a truck near the old P & R car shops. Trucks were busy
hauling dirt to a wall near the railroad. Robert, trying to jump onto one of the trucks, lost his balance and the truck ran over him, crushing his pelvis and spinal cord. Roy Trumbo,
Pottsville RD3, the driver of the truck and Lester Reber of town, took the boy to the office of Dr. J. F. Matonis, where he died fifteen minutes later.
He was the only child of Mrs. Jennie Gilbert and the late Peter Gilbert, who passed away about seven years ago. He is survived by his mother, his paternal grandmother, Mrs. Anna
Gilbert and several uncles and aunts. His funeral will be held on Monday morning at nine o'clock from his late home with an Angel Mass at 9:30 at the Saint Ambrose Church.
Interment will be made at the Saint Ambrose Cemetery. The D. M. Bittle funeral directors are in charge. This is the second Schuylkill Haven child to be killed accidentally in three
weeks time. Charles Krammes was killed when struck by a train on July 26.
|The Call of August 23, 1946
FLIER KILLED STUNTING HALF HOUR AFTER PASSING TEST
A Mount Carmel war veteran, celebrating the passing of his flying test by stunting, was instantly killed when he failed to pull out of his fourth loop and crashed into a clump of trees
on the hill directly behind the Half Way House on the Schuylkill Haven-Orwigsburg highway yesterday at noon time. Piloting a Piper Cub in which only a half an hour before he had
passed his flying test, Francis Muldowney, 24, of Mount Carmel, was flying at full throttle in an effort to gain altitude after completing his fourth loop when the right wing of his plane
hit a large oak tree about forty feet from the ground. The plane swung around and the left wing struck another tree and the body of the plane landed in a cornfield just below the
trees. Parts of the wing remained in the trees. Three men from town, working on the roof of the home of Clarence Hartranft, about one hundred yards from the scene of the crash,
witnessed the fatal plunge of the plane. They were Earl Herman, 16, of 220 West Main Street, Walter Cresswell of 15 West Liberty Street and Raymond Bower.
PILOT KILLED INSTANTLY When Clarence Hartranft and Joseph Mikolajunas, who was at the Hartranft home at the time, reached the crashed plane they found the pilot dead. The
top of his head had been crushed and the brains splattered about the front of the plane and on the ground. Both legs were broken and his body badly mangled. The plane was a
mass of twisted steel and yellow fabric. The trees that were hit are located at the edge of a clearing on the former William J. Felty farm, now the property of the Schuylkill Memorial
Park. Had the plane been only a few feet farther southeast, it would have missed the trees and the pilot could have regained altitude.
WITNESSES OF CRASH Many people in town had watched the yellow Piper Cub being put through the loops. Among the witnesses near the scene of the crash were Mrs. Clarence
Hartranft and daughter Patricia, 13, who were standing near their home; Salvadore Stramara, 13, and James M. Renninger, 10, son of Mr. and Mrs. Rufus Renninger who were
standing near the main highway; William Keller of town who was working at the Schuylkill Memorial Park. Mrs. Hartranft telephoned to the Pottsville state Police. Corporal Keuch
and Privates Bidack, Labensky and Ripka were sent to the scene of the crash. The body of the young flier who was said to be a better than average flier, was released to the D. M.
Bittle funeral home by Dr. Joseph Matonis, deputy coroner, who later released it to the Hegins funeral home in Mount Carmel.
YOUTH HAD EXPERIENCE The dead youth was a former army air force cadet with a total of 135 hours of flying experience, 115 of them gained while serving his country. About two
months ago he began flying at the Seitzinger airport at Gordon. Yesterday morning he made a solo flight to the Schuylkill Airport in Deer Lake to take his test. He completed his
flying test at 11:30 in the morning. His celebration in the air cost his life a half hour later. The plane belonged to the Gordon airport. He is survived by his parents, Mr. and Mrs.
James Muldowney; two sisters, Rita and Jean and a brother Edward. The father is an assistant foreman at the Locust Gap Colliery.
|The Call of August 13, 1948
GAS FROM KITCHEN STOVE FATAL TO MRS. FLOYD SCHWENK
Mrs. Floyd Schwenk of 109 East Liberty Street was found dead in her gas filled kitchen at noon today. A neighbor, Mrs. Robert Gipe, came to the home to see Mrs. Schwenk and
noticed the strong odor of gas coming from the home. She rapped on the door but got no response. Thinking that something was wrong, she hastened across the street to the
Naus service station where men were working at the time. They came to the house and one of the men looked through a kitchen window and saw Mrs. Schwenk lying on the kitchen
floor. They broke in the kitchen door and brought her out of the gas filled house and summoned a doctor. Drs. T. C. Rutter, Ralph Lyons and J. F. Matonis responded. A call was
placed for the community ambulance. While waiting for the doctors and the ambulance, the young men who carried Mrs. Schwenk from the building attempted to revive her by
artificial respiration. The doctors found no trace of a heartbeat. On the faint hope that she might be revived, the resuscitator recently installed on the ambulance was put into
operation. The men worked for an hour before the doctors finally told them that there was no hope.
Mrs. Schwenk was the former Miss Blanche Krout, daughter of Mrs. Sarah Kantner of East Main Street. She was thirty seven years of age. There are three children: Richard, 17,
who was graduated from high school in June; Joyce, 8, a fourth grade pupil and Patricia, 2. Mrs. Schwenk had a sister, Mrs. Vernon Mengle of town and two brothers, Kenneth
Frehafer of town and Sydney Frehafer of West Chester. The gas that caused the death of Mrs. Schwenk came from the burners in the oven of the gas cook stove.
|The Call of January 14, 1949
PATIENT SET FIRE TO BED, DIES OF BURNS
Frederick Imschweiler, 56, who was transferred from the Pottsville Hospital to the Schuylkill County hospital in Schuylkill Haven in 1947, was fatally burned in his hospital bed shortly
before 9:00 in the evening on Wednesday. Deputy Coroner Joseph Matonis issued a certificate of accidental death. William Powell, superintendent of the Schuylkill County
Institutional District, reported that Imschweiler in some way secured matches which ignited the bed clothing and nightgown which were completely destroyed. He suffered second
and third degree burns of his entire body which caused his death a few hours later. The fire was extinguished before any further damage resulted. Before his admittance to the
hospital on October 23, 1947, Imschweiler lived in Pottsville near Railway Park. Surviving are his wife, two daughters and three sons. The Morgan home for funerals in Pottsville is
completing the funeral arrangements.
|The Call of June 12, 1903
AN INDIAN PRINCESS - Poor and Helpless, Now An Inmate of the Almshouse
Her Father Was a Seminole Chief - She was the Only Woman Barber in the County
Mary Ann Jefferson of New England, the daughter of an Indian chief and stepdaughter of old Simon Jefferson, Tamaqua's colored barber who shaved presidents and other
prominent men is now an inmate at the Schuylkill County Almshouse. Mary's life has been almost a continuous romance. She is more than eighty years of age and is the ninth and
only surviving child of Sauno, a Seminole Indian Chief and Elizabeth Kitchling, a German-Irish girl. After thirty years of wedded bliss, during which Elizabeth and Mary narrowly
escaped being tomahawked by their husband and father, Sauno. He died and his widow and Mary journeyed from Florida to Baltimore where the widow shook off her weeds and
married Simon Jefferson, a "free n_____" who was born in 1800. Simon ran a barber shop at Baltimore and later at Harrisburg and Tamaqua. He had shaved President Buchanan,
governors and other prominent men. Simon died in 1900.
While Simon was keeping shop in Tamaqua, an incident happened that might have saved President Lincoln from the assassin's bullet, had old Simon been hearkened to. Simon
regarded Honest Abe as a personal friend and determined to witness his second inauguration. While enroute from Philadelphia to Washington, he overheard John Wilkes Booth
disclose to a friend his intention to kill the president. Simon feigned to be asleep and was terrified to think of "Massa" Lincoln being murdered. As soon as he reached Washington
he told his story to the authorities but was only laughed at. About a month later Lincoln was assassinated. Mary, who is now at the almshouse, enjoyed the distinction of being the
only female barber in the country and she was said to be an expert. She is aged, poor and almost helpless.
|The Call of July 10, 1903
SUICIDE AT ALMSHOUSE
Joseph Garsavage, a Polander and about fifty years of age, a former resident of Shenandoah, committed suicide by hanging himself at the County Almshouse Tuesday morning about
10:30 o'clock. He told the inmates he was going to commit suicide and proceeding to the yard of the institution he piled up a lot of stones, tied a piece of rope to a tree, inserted his
neck in the noose and then kicked away the stones. He was later found lying upon the ground with the noose tightly drawn about his neck and the supposition of course is that the
rope broke. He was dead however, death having resulted from suffocation. Deputy Coroner Dechert empanelled the following jury and held an inquest: Floyd Keever, Samuel Felix,
Cornelius A. Moyer, John Murphy, Joseph Deibert and Morgan Moyer. The jury after viewing the body rendered a verdict of suicide while temporarily insane.
|Miners' Journal of November 15, 1878
SHOT DEAD - FATAL ACCIDENT NEAR SCHUYLKILL HAVEN YESTERDAY
This community was startled yesterday evening by the report that Mr. Lin Sellers, of Schuylkill Haven, was accidentally killed while hunting with a party of friends. A special to the
Journal from Schuylkill Haven last evening gives the following details of the sad affair:
A fatal accident occurred within a short distance of this place this afternoon. Lin Sellers and a party of friends were hunting on Brenizers farm, which is located at the foot of the
Blue Mountain, when a covey of partridges rose. The party made all haste to get in a shot when Gideon Nice, a young man or rather a boy, in his hurry, tripped. His gun, which was
pointed towards Mr. Sellers, exploded, the contents entering the latter's right side. The wounded man stood motionless for a few seconds, and then exclaiming, "I'm shot", fell
dead. His horrified companions could hardly realize what had happened, the occurrence had occupied so short a time, but when upon examination, they found the life had fled, they
carried the body home. An inquest was held upon the body by Deputy Coroner Stager. The jury rendered a verdict that the deceased had been accidentally killed by the discharge
of a gun in the hands of Gideon Nice.
Lindley Sellers was a native of Berks County. He came to Pottsville in 1871 from Womelsdorf, where he had been engaged in buying and selling horses. Upon coming to Pottsville
he was employed by Messrs. Feger and Medlar, proprietors of the Merchants Hotel. When the hotel was taken by Mr. Jere Focht, Mr. Sellers still retained his old position. Some
three years ago he removed to Schuylkill Haven where he opened the Washington House and obtained the reputation of being a first rate landlord. He made a large number of
friends and was prospering when he gave up the Washington House and opened Sellers' Hotel. At the time of his death he was about fifty years of age. He leaves a wife and one
|Miners' Journal of March 7, 1879
A well known and highly respected citizen of this county departed this life very suddenly yesterday in the person of Mr. Henry Zimmerman of Schuylkill Haven. Mr. Zimmerman was at
one time a resident of this place and was largely engaged in the porter bottling business. Having amassed a competence he purchased a fine farm, one of the finest in the county,
between Schuylkill Haven and the county Almshouse. He was well to do in this world's goods, had a wife and two children and was in the enjoyment of apparently good health when
stricken down. He was in Pottsville yesterday morning having driven here from his farm. Having finished his business here, he began his homeward drive. When a short distance
beyond Reber's Hotel on the turnpike, he was seen to fall backward into the wagon. In falling he pulled the horse sharply, and then dropped the reins. Becoming startled, the horse
ran away and did not stop until the Seven stars Hotel was reached. At this well known stopping place, the horse halted. Mr. Mellot, proprietor of the hotel, then found that the
occupant of the wagon was dead. During his later life, Mr. Zimmerman had been occasionally troubled with epilepsy and it is supposed that he was attacked by this malady and
assistance not being at hand, succumbed.
|Miners' Journal of December 14, 1877
A MODEL INSTITUTION - THE COUNTY ALMSHOUSE VISITED AND THOROUGHLY INSPECTED BY A JOURNAL REPORTER
A more beautiful and healthy site than that upon which stands the county Almshouse could scarcely been selected in Schuylkill, and a more ably managed public institution does not
probably exist in the state. Information having been received that tramps in large numbers had of late been making themselves obnoxious in that direction, a Journal reporter was
dispatched thither yesterday, for the purpose of investigating the matter and of making the rounds with Mr. Frederick Beck, the warden of the establishment. Finding Mr. Beck at
his post, the reporter questioned him on the subject of tramps and elicited the following information: "Of late," said Mr. Beck, "tramps have been very numerous in this
neighborhood but have in general occasioned us but little trouble. On Saturday, however, we were invaded by a party numbering twenty two and calling themselves "that little
German band." They asked for admission in twos and threes but when night came we found that the number I have just stated occupied the "travelers room", in addition to a
number of strange tramps who did not belong to the "band". The latter, on account of their numbers, grew ugly and began to ill use some of their fellow tramps and at last I was
called upon to interfere. With an assistant I entered the room and arrested the ringleader, when his associates crowded around us and made some unpleasant demonstrations, but
when I told them what the consequence of an outbreak would be, they calmed down and allowed me to take my man and lock him up. In the morning, however, I released him and he
and his gang went their way." "Was the German band, as it is called, composed of young or old men?" inquired the reporter. "All young men," replied the warden, "their ages
running from fifteen to twenty five. We are visited, on average, by from ten to twenty tramps on five out of the seven days of the week but on Saturday they put in an appearance to
the number of thirty and sometimes thirty five. If they re young and in good health we give them supper, lodging and breakfast and then send them off, but when they happen to be
old we allow them to remain here on Sunday and then tell them to go. They all tell the same story when they come here. They are always, "looking for work." Ask them what they do
when they reach a town and they say, "We scatter out until we have done the place and then we meet at a place fixed on before we paid our visit." We generally have to drive them
away and the tramp who visits us this month, will not probably come near us again for a couple of months. If we had plenty of work for them they would be more careful about
coming near, but at this season we have nothing for them to do and they know it." "Are their appetites good as a general thing," inquired the reporter. "Good", replied Mr. Beck, "is
no name for them. It seems to me that they can eat enough in one meal to last them for a couple days." This conversation took place in the warden's office and at this stage was
interrupted by the entrance of a diminutive mortal, dressed in an old army suit, with a leather bag slung around his neck. Carefully depositing the bag upon a desk, the almshouse
postman smiled and took his leave.
Expressing a wish to visit the different departments, the warden intimated that he was willing to act as guide. Following him the reporter first visited the reception room and
apartments of Mr. Beck's family, after which he was carried to another portion of the main building. "This,' said Mr. Beck pushing open a door, "is the squalling room." Entering, a
number of diminutive cradles were noticed, carefully ranged against the walls. "In those," said the warden, "the children sleep at night and over here (pointing to a bed of larger
dimensions) sleeps the woman who takes care of them through the night." Leaving the "squalling room," the "play room," in which a number of infants in ages ranging from a few
months to as many years were amusing themselves by casually sucking their thumbs, was visited. Passing into the next room, the dining room, about sixty male paupers, most of
them very aged, were observed busily engaged in eating their dinner of bread and ham and potatoes and soup. "This table will be set four or five times today," said Mr. Beck, "and
by the time the dishes are washed and everything put in order it will be time for the next meal. Only those who are able to help themselves are permitted to dine here. The insane
dine in the infirmary." Having seen all that the main building contained, a visit was paid to the infirmary, of which Mr. Uriah Saylor is keeper. In one room sat a number of
unfortunate women suffering from all sorts of complaints. Another was inhabited by a number of old men, also suffering from diseases for which no cure could be found. One of the
inmates, Barney Barr, an old resident of Pottsville, was very anxious to impress upon his visitors the fact that he had been an office holder for twenty three years. Another, John
Klinger, said that he had been born in Reading on December 2, 1775, and was therefore 102 years of age. Standing up to show that he was still active, the centenarian said, "I am too
old to live but will have to hold on till my time comes, though I have a good father," pointing to Mr. Beck. In both the male and female wards, cases of a most painful character were
deplorably plentiful. One old man, Anthony Brennan, mentioned that he had entered the establishment eighteen years ago and for sixteen years of that time had been in bed. "That
is a fact," said the warden, adding, "How old are you Anthony?" "If I live until the 13th of April," replied the bedridden one, "I will be 102, praise God."
The insane department was next visited. Over this, Mr. Charles Kerkeslager presides. Every description of insanity is here represented, from the drivelling idiot to the raving
maniac but in spite of the character and habits of the inmates, every room in the building wears an appearance of cleanliness and neatness that could not be surpassed in a model
private dwelling. "The women are the hardest to manage," remarked Mr. Kerkeslager, as they surged around the visitor and asked questions of the most horribly facetious
character, "but I very seldom have much trouble in keeping them in order, though all the work is done by the insane and but two well regulated brains inhabit this portion of the
building. We have to watch them closely when they are at work and if we leave them for a moment they will skylark like so many children." In the basement of the building, inhabited
by the insane is the "travellers room." Looking in at the door, the reporter saw a motley crowd of tramps who were waiting for their clothes to dry. They are allowed to do any
washing that they may think necessary and if an old tramp expresses a wish to have his shoes mended, the request is not denied. Dropping in to see the baker, that individual was
found up to his elbows in flour. In answer to a question he said, "I use four barrels of flour a day and make two bakings of them." Bidding the man of dough goodbye, the reporter
next inspected the "washery" and there found a dozen women busily engaged in consuming an immense quantity of soap and water on huge bundles of clothing of all sorts. Next in
order came the shoemaker shop. Stepping to the front the foreman said, "All my workmen are paupers, consequently their wages are low. Business was never better and if it was
as good all over the county, nobody would complain." In the "bread room" immense stacks of bread were piled around the room, filling it with a savory smell and demonstrating the
fact that the material used in its manufacture was of the best. "We churn our own butter every morning," said Mr. Beck, noticing the reporter examining something that looked like a
barrel on wheels, "and can give you cream with your coffee whenever you pay us a visit." In an enclosed field were about thirty head of as fine looking cattle as can be found in the
county and in these Mr. Beck takes great pride. The stable, containing horses, mules, calves and other livestock, was visited and found in apple pie order and the threshing and
cutting machines were running upstairs as fast as horse power could induce them. The main building, infirmary, the insane department and every other department connected with
the almshouse were visited and everywhere was found convincing evidence that in Mr. Frederick Beck this county has a warden that thoroughly understands his business and
attends to it at all times.
|The Call of December 23, 1949
MRS. MARY PETRUFF HIT BY CAR, DIES OF INJURIES - Woman Walking Along Highway East of Town
Mrs. Mary Petruff, 49, of Schuylkill Haven RD #1, was fatally injured last night when she was struck by a car while she was walking on Route 443 between the highway department
garage and the borough. Mrs. Petruff, with her daughter, Elizabeth, 14, was on her way to attend a party in Schuylkill Haven when she was struck by a car driven by Albert H. Kull Jr.,
of Pine Grove RD #2. Kull was traveling west towards Schuylkill Haven, and with cars coming toward him and the rain affording poor visibility, he was unable to see the two walking
on the side of the road. When he was almost upon them, he saw Mrs. Petruff and her daughter and attempted to swerve around them. The car struck Mrs. Petruff and knocked her
down. The state police and the community ambulance were summoned. Mrs. Petruff was rushed to the Pottsville Hospital where she died shortly after being admitted. Deputy
Coroner Wharton Bittle of Cressona released the body to the Reiley funeral service of Pottsville. A post mortem performed by Dr. Hobbs at the Pottsville Hospital revealed that the
victim had suffered fractures of the limbs and internal injuries. An inquest will be held at a later date.
Mrs. Petruff was a former resident of Pottsville and was a daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Matulka. She was a member of Saint Ambrose Church. Surviving are her
husband, Michael and the following children: Joseph and Edward of Connecticut; Francis of Pottsville and Elizabeth at home. Several brothers and sisters of Connecticut survive.
Funeral arrangements are incomplete at this time.
|The Call of July 25, 1952
FIVE YEAR OLD BOY DROWNS AT PICNIC
What started out to be a family picnic ended in tragedy on Sunday when Richard Legutko, five and a half year old son of Mrs. Alice Legutko and the late Valentine Legutko of
Schoentown, was drowned at Willow Lake. About 3:30 p. m. Mrs. Legutko missed her son and reported it to Ronald Shenk of Schuylkill Haven, a lifeguard at the pool, who
immediately ordered a human chain formed. With excellent cooperation, it was only a matter of minutes until the body was found in five feet of water. The Schuylkill Haven
community ambulance and Dr. Joseph Matonis were summoned and within fifteen minutes were at the scene with a respirator which, along with artificial respiration and first aid, was
used without result. Although there were between 300 and 400 bathers at the pool; no one saw the boy enter the water and it is not known how long he was in before being
reported missing. Mrs. Legutko had taken Richard and here four other children, Eleanor, Leon, Sylvester and Lawrence to spend the day swimming at the lake.
Richard was born in Schoentown, November 28, 1946 and was a member of Saint Anthony's Church in Cumbola. He would have started school in September. His father died a few
years ago. Surviving besides his mother, the former Alice Gulko, and his sister and brothers, are his maternal grandmother, Mrs. Stella Gulko and the paternal grandparents, Mr.
and Mrs. Lawrence Legutko of Schoentown.
|The Call of April 17, 1953
EDWARD WEISER, FOUND IN GAS FILLED HOME, DIED OF HEART ATTACK
Edward D. "Ducky" Weiser, 75, was found dead in his home at 127 Center Avenue Wednesday morning. He was found on the floor of his kitchen with the home filled with gas fumes.
At first it was thought that he had accidentally been asphyxiated but the report of Deputy Coroner Joseph Matonis shows that death was caused by a heart attack and that there was
no evidence of gas in the blood stream. Mr. Weiser had been undergoing treatment for a heart ailment for some time. Weiser was believed to have been dead for at least 24 hours
when his body was found by William Goetz, local policeman and Jack Shadel, who forced their way into the home. Shadel smelled the gas fumes while working at his gas station
adjoining the Weiser home. He summoned Officer Goetz who was on duty nearby. Gas fumes were coming from a pilot light on the kitchen stove and from a gas heater. It is
believed the flames became extinguished when gas line trouble was experienced in the borough Sunday evening. When the gas break was fixed and service again resumed, the
gas came through the open jets. According to the coroner's report, Weiser died before the gas escaped and filled the home. Mr. Weiser was born in Schuylkill Haven, a son of the
late Frederick and Kezia Delong Weiser and was a lifelong resident here. He was a retired Reading Railroad employee and was the last member of his immediate family.
|The Call of July 5, 1956
MAN CROSSING ROAD KILLED LAST NIGHT
Henry Pierkarski, aged forty, of Old Forge, was fatally injured while attempting to cross the highway on Wednesday night about 9:00 p. m., a short distance from Schuylkill Haven on
Route 122, in the vicinity of the Gateway Diner. He had parked his truck on th east side of the highway and was crossing the highway to ask directions to Wilkes Barre. He was
struck by a car driven by Robert T. Smith, aged 19, of Pottsville RD #1, who was traveling south on Route 122. The victim sustained multiple injuries, possible skull fracture, possible
rib fractures, chest injuries, multiple lacerations and contusions. He was taken to the Pottsville Hospital in the Schuylkill Haven community ambulance and was pronounced dead on
|The Call of January 23, 1914
SOON WE'LL HAVE MAIL CARRIERS
Schuylkill Haven is now in a position to follow up its request for mail carrier service by being able to comply with the requirements of the Post Office Department for the
establishment of mail carrier service. The receipts for the local post office for the fiscal year ending December 31, 1913, were over $10,000.00. Postmaster Reed has requested the
Postmaster General to place Schuylkill Haven in the mail carrier service or city delivery. As yet nothing has been heard in regard to this matter but it is quite possible the
department has its officials investigating the matter and bright hopes are entertained that the request will be granted and letter carriers employed very shortly. The Post Office law
for the establishment of carriers is as follows: Letter carriers should be employed for the free delivery of mail matter as frequently as the public business may require, at every place
containing a population of not less than 10,000 within its corporate limits according to the last general census, or at any post office which produced a gross revenue for the
preceding fiscal year of not less than $10,000.
From the fact the receipts of the Schuylkill Haven Post Office from January 1, 1913 until December 31, 1913 were $10, 354.41, the local office is entitled, according to the Post Office
law, to mail carrier service. However, in addition to the requirements that the receipts be over $10,000, the government demands that the streets be properly lighted and their
names posted. There must also be good, continuous sidewalks throughout the whole of the district which it is proposed to serve by letter carrier, also that all houses in the district
be numbered. The number of carriers will be determined upon by the Post Office inspectors and officials. The salary will not be less than $800 per year and the working hours not
more than eight in ten consecutive hours. In July 1913, the local Post Office was by reason of its receipts being over $8,000, place din the second class service. This made it
possible to make a request for the department fro free carrier service when the receipts were over $10,000. Advice form the Postmaster General as to his action in the matter of
placing Schuylkill Haven in the city delivery service has as not yet been received by Postmaster Reed.
|Miners Journal of May 25, 1850
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN MAP
We regret to learn from the last number of this sprightly and entertaining sheet, that reports, calculated to impair its standing before the public, have been circulated by some
personal enemies of the editor. These reports insinuate that he is a Locofoco. A great many persons would take no offense at such an epithet but Mr. Wunder is so entirely a Whig,
that he can't stand it! He denies the "base insinuation" and refers to the past tone of his columns for proof. As far as our knowledge of the "Map" goes, we can not only endorse it
but feel bound to compliment the editor on the general dignity of tone, respectability and industry which have marked the columns of his little sheet, and through which he rendered
sufficient aid, in days gone by, to the Whig cause.
*The Locofocos were a faction of the Democratic Party originally named the Equal Rights Party, and was created in New York City as a protest against that city’s regular Democratic
organization. It contained a mixture of anti-Tammany Democrats and labor union veterans.
|Miners Journal of March 1, 1851
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN AFFAIRS
The Schuylkill Haven folks worked themselves into a considerable excitement on Friday, Election Day. A dispute had arisen as to the construction of the law in fixing the place of
holding the election, some contending that it should be held, as usual, at the Washington Hotel and others that it had been removed to the Number 1 School House. The
consequence was that the polls were opened at both places, one hundred votes taken at one place and one hundred twenty at the other. The "Map" gives the results as follows:
"The election held at the new school house, resulted in the choice of Messrs. Daniel H. Stager and Charles Huntzinger for School Directors; Nathan Hardenstine, Assessor and
Constable; Jacob Miller, Sr., Supervisor; E. F. Weston, Election Judge and George K. Reed and Dillman Gotscholl, Inspectors. The following were elected at Mr. Saylor's: James B.
Levan, Daniel Saylor and C. Dengler, School Directors; Washington Hess, Election Judge; Augustus Hoffman and John Snyder, Inspectors; John Saylor, Supervisor; George
Kauffman, Auditor and Nathan Hardenstine, Assessor and Constable as above. The election, no doubt, will be contested, and we would not be surprised if the Court would set both
aside and order a new election."
|Miners Journal of June 7, 1851
The military parade at Schuylkill Haven on Friday of last week is represented in the most flattering terms. There was a full representation of the several companies composing the
brigade, and we understand they acquitted themselves remarkably well, in maneuvering and in their general knowledge of the tactics of the profession. A large number of persons
were present, among the rest many females, their presence assists the movement of a soldier mightily. The weather was pleasant and everything passed off in the happiest
manner. In the afternoon, Major L. L. Bevan presented a flag, manufactured by his lady, to the National Light Infantry of Schuylkill Haven. A. W. Leyburn, Esquire, received on part of
the company, appropriate speeches were delivered by the respective parties, on the occasion.
|Miners Journal of February 7, 1852
MOVEMENT IN RELATION TO THE NEW COUNTY
At a meeting of the citizens of Schuylkill Haven and vicinity, at the house of A. W. Saylor on Tuesday evening, February 3rd, pursuant to notice, for the purpose of taking measures in
regard to the erection of a new county from a portion of Schuylkill County, and to obtain the privilege of having the Seat of Justice for the new county, decided by the votes of its
The meeting was organized by calling D. D. Lewis, esquire, to the chair, and the selection of D. H. Stager and Dr. Royer as Vice Presidents; A. Deyo was chosen Secretary. The object
of the meeting was stated in a short address, by S. R. Dickson, when, on motion, the following gentlemen were chosen a committee to prepare resolutions expressive of the sense
of the meeting, they being: H. Saylor, S. R. Dickson, M. Bowman, B. T. Ketner, William Kramer, J. B. Kennedy and George Kauffman.
The following persons were named a committee to prepare petitions and obtain signatures to the same: S. R. Dickson, A. Deyo, A. Saylor, George Kauffman, Dr. S. H. Shannon, J.
Deibert, J. Shoemaker, B. T. Ketner, C. Huntzinger, R. A. Wilder, D. H. Stager, D. D. Lewis, William Kramer, Dr. Royer, C. Christ, G. W. Matchin, Esquire, G. Bast, D. Lavenburg, C.
Dengler, H. Bowman, E. Bartolett, P. Boyer and M. Bowman.
The committee on resolutions presented the following preambles and resolutions:
Whereas, petitions have been presented to the Legislature of the Commonwealth, by citizens of this county, praying for an Act authorizing the erection of a new county out of a part
of Schuylkill County, with Orwigsburg for its Seat of Justice, therefore,
Resolved, That we would represent to the Legislature that we are not solicitors for a division of the county; yet, should the Legislature deem it advisable so to do, we respectfully
request them to pass an Act allowing the County Seat to be selected by the vote of the citizens of the New County.
Resolved, That should the Legislature pas an Act in conformity with the above Resolution, and should the location for the Seat of Justice be fixed in the Borough of Schuylkill
Haven, we pledge the citizens of Schuylkill Haven to contribute sufficient for the purpose of erecting a Court House and a County Office.
Resolved, That the proceedings be signed by the officers of the meeting, and that all the papers in Schuylkill County be requested to publish the same. D. D. Lewis, President D. H.
Stager, L. Boyer, Vice Presidents A. Deyo, Secretary
This body convened last Friday night a week, and elected D. Small, Esquire, Governor; A. W. Leyburn, Esquire, Speaker; Colonel H. J. B. Cummings, Clerk; Dr. S. R. Dickson, State
Treasurer; Dr. Lewis Royer, Sergeant at Arms and Morgan F. Saylor, Doorkeeper. After much other business, a bill was read enacting the new county of Penn. His Excellency,
Governor Small, is expected to appoint a Secretary of the Commonwealth, and send in his annual message at the next meeting. There is fun ahead.
|Miners Journal of July 11, 1857
THE FOURTH IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
"Veritas" writes us that the Fourth was celebrated with much spirit in our sister Borough. In the morning a National Salute was fired in Cressona. During the morning of the Fourth,
a number of the fair residents of Schuylkill Haven were busily engaged in preparing wreaths, and arches of flowers to be erected across the principal streets of Schuylkill Haven.
Various lodges of Odd Fellows marched in procession, preceded by the Schuylkill Haven Brass Band. They presented an imposing appearance. A fantastical company, six strong,
paraded. Five of them were arrayed in female costume, but their position on their horses, notwithstanding their garb, was too indelicate to be assumed by ladies, and the people
were assured of their sex. Fantastical parades are unpopular. Their day is passed. Fireworks wound up the day. Everything passed off pleasantly and without accident.
|Miners Journal of September 5, 1857
ALMS HOUSE STATISTICS
To Mr. John Schwalm, Steward of the Alms House of Schuylkill County, we are indebted for the next statement, showing the number of paupers on the first day of each month from
January 1, 1857 to September 1, 1857: January 330, February 403, March 305, April 281, May 242, June 220, July 203, August 193 September 185, totaling 2362 for an average of 262
Of the 185 in the house on the first day of the present month, 50 are insane. 360 traveling paupers were lodged thus far in the present year. At present time there are some 60
children in the nursery. There are 20 outdoor paupers. The majority of the paupers are Irish and German. Of the insane, however, the largest portion are English and Welsh. There
are but six or seven males in the house who are able to do any work, and they only labor about a half a day each. The farm of the institution, unfortunately, is not in good condition,
and the produce from it will not cover the expenses incurred in supplying the house with provisions.
It is probably, not a favorable fact for the reduction of the number of paupers and expenses of the Alms House, that the present law adopted at the last session of the Legislature,
gives to a justice of the peace 30 cents for issuing an order for the admission of a pauper, the old fee was 25 cents, while the amount for conveying a pauper to the house has been
increased from ten cents to twenty cents per mile. This increased fee is a temptation for sending paupers to the house and Mr. Schwalm must receive them, notwithstanding he may
doubt that any real necessity sends them there. We doubt very much the policy of an increase in fees for issuing orders for the admission of paupers into the Alms House. It not
only tends to increase the number of paupers, add to a burden which already as far as this county is concerned, absorbs more than half its taxes, but it produces a laxity of that
strict principle which should characterize the administration of justice in our midst. Able bodied men too often now obtain admission to the Alms House, and the present law
strongly favors the sending of such men to the Alms House by justices of the peace for the sake of the fee which attachés to issuing a permit. The people should move for a repeal
of this section, for the larger the fee the stronger the inducement to issue Alms House orders. If it is not repealed we can not see how the number of paupers or expenses of the
Alms House of this county can be reduced. With increased fees, an increasing number of paupers and the rum traffic is in full blast, our citizens may expect to see the expenses of
the Alms House, already too heavy, increase one third. A pleasant prospect for an already heavily taxed community.
|Miners Journal of December 13, 1862
DEATH OF AN AGED CITIZEN OF SCHUYLKILL COUNTY
Jacob Dreibelbis, Esquire, a native of this county, and in its earliest history, a very prominent citizen, died in Schuylkill Haven on the third, at the advanced age of eighty years. Mr.
Dreibelbis was born in the borough of Schuylkill Haven and at one time was proprietor of all the land in the town and its immediate vicinity. He laid out the town. He was a lieutenant
in a company from this county in 1814, during the war with Great Britain and was elected a member of the Pennsylvania Legislature by the citizens of Berks and Schuylkill Counties in
October of that year, while in camp in Baltimore. In 1817, he was appointed Prothonotary of this County by Governor William Findley, which position he occupied for three years.
During thirty years of his life he resided in Ohio and Iowa and returned only a year or so ago to the place of his nativity, to finally lay his bones among his kindred at his old home.
|LAST UPDATED: NOVEMBER 15
|The Call of February 1, 1962
CHILD DARTING ACROSS STREET HIT BY CAR, DIES OF INJURIES
Funeral services were held Monday in Aspinwall, in the Pittsburgh area, for Laura Suzanne Felton, six year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ernest J. Felton, who was pronounced dead
on arrival at the Pottsville Hospital where she was taken after having been hit by a car in the vicinity of Bast and Detwiler Funeral Home at 3:30 last Thursday afternoon. According to
Officer William Goetz, the child was coming from the Stine Drug Store and in an attempt to cross Main Street, she darted out in front of a car (name withheld by administrator).
Goetz was directing traffic at the corner of Main and Saint John Streets and saw the child go under the wheel of the car. He rushed to the scene of the accident and with the
assistance of Harold Bast, 25 East Main Street and Harry Shirey, 402 saint John Street, lifted the side of the car and removed the girl. The community ambulance was brought to the
scene of the accident and Thomas Rudolph, driver, and Harry Shirey accompanied the child to the hospital.
Officer Goetz said that the driver was driving west on Main Street at a slow rate of speed when the child suddenly darted out in front of her. The driver applied the brakes but the
child rolled under the right front wheel of the car. Shirey reported he also was driving in the line of traffic in front of that car and when the child ran in front of his car he blew the
horn and motioned her to stay back. Goetz stated no charges will be brought against the driver.
The child was a student in the first grade at the East Ward building. She was a native of Maryville, Tennessee, a daughter of Ernest J. and Lucie Fink Felton, who recently moved to
Schuylkill Haven. Burial was made in Aspinwall with Bast and Detwiler in charge of arrangements
|Miners Journal of June 1, 1844
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN CLAY CLUB
This club, although the youngest in the county, seems to bear away the palm from her elder sisters. On Monday evening last, we learn, they held one of the most enthusiastic and
crowded meetings ever known in the political history of Schuylkill haven, all the rooms on the lower floor of Mr. Kauffman's large hotel were filled to the utmost extent, while many
were compelled to remain around the doors and windows on the outside. A delegation from Orwigsburg was present, accompanied by our talented friend, John W. Roseberry,
Esquire, who addressed the meeting in a most eloquent and effective manner. A. W. Leyburn, Esquire, replied on the part of the club and fully sustained the reputation he has
acquired of an inflexible Schuylkill Haven Whig, and a powerful advocate of the good cause. His whole soul seems to be wrapped up in the success of Whig principles. The
Minstrels, too, partook of the enthusiasm, and by their vocalistic powers have, no doubt, expelled much of the dark spirit of Locofocoism from their beautiful village. They passed a
number of spirited resolutions in favor of Clay and Markle, in which they pledged themselves to carry that district for the nominees of the Democratic Whig Party. Go on gentlemen,
and if we don't "poke Clay in and keep Polk out," it will not be the fault of the Schuylkill Haven boys!
|Miners Journal of June 15, 1844
CAUSE AND EFFECT
On Friday last, the Locofos held a meeting at Schuylkill Haven and on the Monday evening following, four Germans, who had never voted any but a Locofoco ticket, registered their
names as members of the Schuylkill Haven Clay Club. They said they did not like the complexion of the meeting and besides they had a surfeit of Locofocoisms. They will hereafter
advocate a protective tariff, and all the other measures of the Whig Party. Can't our Locofoco friends get up a few more meetings.
|Miners Journal of March 5, 1859
THE POOR IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
We are informed that there are not a few families in Schuylkill Haven destitute of the necessaries of life. We presume the statement is applicable to other sections of the county
also; but our informant had the cases in Schuylkill Haven brought immediately under his notice. In one instance an aged woman was in a suffering condition. He stated the case to
some of the citizens of Schuylkill Haven, and they supplied her immediate wants. In another, our informant visited a wretched woman and found her cutting up a bedstead for fuel to
keep herself and little children from freezing. A dead infant lay in a little coffin on the bed, beside which the unhappy mother sat, while two half clad children played about the room.
They were poor to the last extremity; alone and friendless. Our informant reported the case to several families capable of relieving the wretched woman, but in consequence of her
bad reputation, they manifested but little sympathy for her. Truly, "the way of the transgressor is hard." If God had as little compassion for the erring as man, how few would be the
recipients of mercy! We do not doubt that the citizens of Schuylkill Haven generally would assist any deserving persons there who may be suffering, if the cases are made known,
and we trust some effort will be made to that end. Many worthy persons suffer secretly, the pangs of deprivation, while brazen beggars thrust their impudent demands into our very
faces. The first class deserve our attention, even if we have to seek them. We question the propriety of encouraging the latter.
|Miners Journal of October 24, 1884
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN AROUSED - A Large and Enthusiastic Republican Demonstration There Last Night
Notwithstanding the unfavorableness of the weather, the Blaine and Logan demonstration at Schuylkill Haven last evening, came off according to program. Had the weather been
clear, the number participating would have been twice as large. As it was there were about five hundred in line. Pottsville sent down 176 men, composed of Company A, Mountain
City, Central and the Invincibles, Company A largely preponderating. They were accompanied by the West End Band. Both Pinegrove clubs were in attendance and for appearance
took the premium. They were accompanied by the Pinegrove Band and a drum corps. These, the Schuylkill Haven club, the Orwigsburg and Cressona clubs, made up the
procession, which was one of the most brilliant ever seen in the town. The line of march was rather long; in fact, a member of the Pottsville club remarked to a Journal reporter last
evening, that Pottsville was noted for its long marches, but he would now give the bun to Schuylkill Haven. The illuminations along the route were beautiful and the fireworks were
magnificent. In these respects Schuylkill Haven surpassed all previous displays in the present campaign. After the parade a mass meeting was held at the public house of Colonel
Gold, which was handsomely illuminated in honor of the occasion. The meeting was organized by the election of W. A. Field, Esquire, chairman, together with a number of vice
presidents and secretaries. Mr. Field upon taking the chair made a stirring speech of considerable length, in which he congratulated the people upon the success of the
demonstration, showing as it did their intense interest in the result of the present campaign. The regular speakers were George M. Roads and J. Harry James, Esquire, who
presented the issues of the campaign in a terse and eloquent manner, which elicited frequent and hearty rounds of applause. The closest attention was paid to the speakers to the
end. We mistake the sentiment of the citizens of Schuylkill Haven, if Blaine and Logan do not receive more than the usual Republican vote in that borough.
|The Call of July 26, 1956
YOUTHFUL DRIVER KILLED AS CAR UPSETS NEAR CROSSING, PASSENGER SERIOUSLY HURT
One youth was killed and another seriously injured last night shortly after eleven o'clock as the car in which they were driving south toward Reading overturned on Route 122 near
Keller's Servicenter at the borough line. Thomas Leininger, 21, died at 5:40 a. m. this morning of his injuries. A post mortem is being conducted at the Pottsville Hospital this
afternoon to determine the exact cause of death. He suffered, back, head and internal injuries. Upon his admittance to the hospital, his address was given as 332 North Fourth
Street. The address was corrected this morning and given as the Haag Trailer Camp at Birdsboro.
Severely injured with a severe laceration of the head and badly torn left arm is Robert Reppert, 19, of 943 Scott Street in Reading. A third youth in the car, Wilford G. Reppert, of 105
Penn Street, escaped injury. Leininger was the driver of the car, a 1941 Chevrolet painted in regular hot rod style. It is believed that the car hit the divider at Connor's Crossing and
upset, overturning several times before coming to rest near Keller's service station. Persons attracted to the scene saw beer bottles scattered near the overturned car.
A nurse from the Pottsville Hospital arrived on the scene shortly after the accident and administered first aid to the injured. Dr. John Shantz also arrived on the scene and attended
the two injured men. They were taken to the Pottsville Hospital by the Schuylkill Haven Lions community ambulance. As the accident happened near the borough line, both
Schuylkill Haven and state police were on the scene. The state police are making the investigation.
|The Call of December 5, 1957
JOHN LENGEL, ORWIGSBURG, DIES INSTANTLY, VICTIM OF AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT
John A. Lengel, 48, of 130 Long Avenue, Orwigsburg, was killed on Wednesday evening, November 27, when thrown from a pickup truck on Route 122 at the entrance to Schuylkill
County Institutional District. Mr. Lengel was a passenger in a ruck which was being operated by Harry W. Pflum, also of Orwigsburg. The truck was proceeding south on Route 122.
At the entrance to the Institution District, the car of James L. Riegel of North Warren Street, Orwigsburg, going in the same direction, was turning into the Institution District. Pflum
applied his brakes to avoid hitting the Riegel car and his car was thrown into the northbound lane into the path of another vehicle operated by John Matusavage of Seltzer City.
Lengel was thrown to the highway, dying instantly of a fractured skull.
|Miners Journal of July 5, 1845
BOROUGH OF SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Perhaps no town in this county is growing into importance with greater rapidity than Schuylkill Haven. Many
judicious persons were apprehensive that the construction of the Reading Railroad would stop the progress of
improvement in that borough, but these fears were most happily removed and since the completion of that road,
the business and population of Schuylkill Haven have augmented with a rapidity unequalled in the past history of
the town. The railroad company's depot presents an aspect of unusual industry and activity. The improvements
of the company are all substantial and ornamental. The engine house particularly attracts attention and it its plan
of style and finish does credit to the company and the gentlemen under whose supervision it was erected. It is a
circular building, 126 feet in diameter, the stone work is 16 feet high, capped with a massive cornice, from which
the spherical roof rises 64 feet to the base of the cupola in the roof, immediately above the cornice, are 16
windows with heavy pilasters and Grecian consols, supporting a pediment head. The cupola rises 25 feet and is
ventilated by 32 Venetian latticed windows or openings, above a projecting cornice. The roof which is 12 feet
high forms the segment of a circle and is crowned with a base and sub base from which rises the spire. The
interior arrangement of this building is said to be the best and most convenient for the purpose for which it was
employed that has ever been designed. In the center is a 40 foot pivot and the building is capable of holding 16
or 18 engines, the tracks upon this pivot radiate from the center to the wall and 32 feet from the wall is a range
of 8 columns extending to the cupola. This rotunda is fourth in size in the world, only smaller than the Pantheon
in Rome, which is 145 feet, Saint Maria del Fiose at Florence, which is 139 feet and Saint Peter's at Rome which is
139 feet also.
The Reading Company have also erected at their depot a range of shops, in the form of an L, being in depth on
two sides, 116 feet with a width of 50 feet on both ends of the L. The Mine Hill and Schuylkill Haven Railroad
connects with the Reading Railroad at Schuylkill Haven, all the coal from that rich and extensive portion of the
region known as the West Branch, is carried over this road, its business having reached 10,163 tons per week
and as the company are now extending their laterals and branches in all directions, the trade over this road
must greatly increase. The extension of five miles to the Swatara region will open a vast field, the product of
which alone will greatly augment the business of this road. All the coal carried over the Mine Hill road is
shipped for the Philadelphia and eastern markets
by the canal or railroad from Schuylkill Haven.
The numerous landings along the line of the Schuylkill Navigation afford facilities to the operators who ship their
coal by canal, and when the Navigation Company shall have completed their enlargement, their business by this
avenue will no doubt considerably increase, and Schuylkill Haven will necessarily become the home of a
numerous and industrious population, who will find their employment on the canal and landings.
The churches in Schuylkill Haven are well built, commodious buildings and especially the Episcopal church
which is neat and ornamental to the borough. The numerous stores in the borough do an extensive business
and there is probably a heavier stock of goods sold there than in any other borough of equal population in the
county. The late legislature passed an act incorporating a bank, to be located in Schuylkill Haven, to be called
the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank. The commissioners are making the necessary preliminary arrangements for
opening the books for the sale of stock. The location of a bank at Schuylkill Haven will add materially to the
conveniences of business and it is generally believed that it will prove eminently salutary in its effect upon the
condition and progress of the borough if properly conducted. All the elements of prosperity are at work in
Schuylkill Haven - energy, enterprise and industry pervades the inhabitants; everything thrives and the
immense and increasing trade from the coal districts which find their outlet to market by canal and railroad
through that borough, afford a basis for ultimate importance and wealth.
|Miners Journal of January 10, 1846
A LOOK AT SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
This borough is one of the oldest towns in the county. It is situated at the junction of the West Branch of the Schuylkill River, at the distance of about four miles from Pottsville, and
nearly in a southerly direction. Previous to the construction of the Reading Railroad, all the coal which passed over the Mine Hill railroad was shipped in boats at Schuylkill Haven
and from this cause, the town increased rapidly. Thus, though out of the coal region, Schuylkill Haven owes its prosperity principally to the coal trade.
The present population of Schuylkill Haven is as follows, males, females and totals:
Under 5 years of age: 156 164 320
Under 10 years of age: 119 123 242
Under 20 years of age: 159 146 305
Under 30 years of age: 240 159 399 Totals are 868 males, 772 females and 1640 in total.
Under 40 years of age 96 93 189 The population in 1840 was 988 showing an increase in five years of 652.
Under 50 years of age: 60 50 110
Under 60 years of age: 24 23 47
Over 60 years of age: 14 14 28
The following table shows the number of persons employed in the principal branches of businesses in Schuylkill Haven:
Stores, 9; Hotels, 8; Carpenters, 25; Confectioners, 3; Blacksmiths, 15; Tailors, 8; Coal merchants, 2; Masons/Bricklayers, 11; Painters, 2; Laborers, 71; Physicians, 2; Clergy, 3;
Teachers, 7; Butchers, 8; Shoemakers, 7; Cabinet makers, 3; Boat builders, 12; Wheelwrights,2; Boatmen, 46; Haulers on railroad, 12.
There are 258 houses in Schuylkill Haven. Besides the persons above enumerated there are in the borough, one lawyer, one turner, one plasterer, one stonecutter, one saddler,
one tinsmith and one barber. The Reading Railroad Company have a splendid engine house at Schuylkill Haven. The dome of which is one of the largest in the world. There are
several public schools in the borough but we have not been able to get the statistics relating to the schools or the churches.
|The Call of May 12, 1966
BOROUGH COUNCIL BUYS WILSON STREET PROPERTIES FOR $22,000; PARK 35 CARS
Borough council took a step closer to solving the traffic congestion and parking problem in the East Main Street business district on Monday night when the decision was made to
purchase two properties on Wilson Street to provide 35 off street parking places. The borough will pay $22,000 for the Losch Boiler Sales and Service Company property and $5,000
for the Harold C. Roeder property. At present these are being used as garages, apartments and warehouses. Tenants are expected to vacate by July 1. The buildings will be torn
down and the 80 x 123 foot plot graded and surfaced for parking. The total cost of the parking area is expected to be $850 per car for the 35 spaces and driving and turning lanes.
Borough Manager Robert Gehrig compared this cost with $1,200 per car in Allentown and $2,000 per car in Pottsville. When the new parking lot is put into operation, parking meters
will be removed from the south side of East Main Street and only parking on the north side of the street will be permitted. This move will remove a serious traffic hazard caused by
two side parking on a street not wide enough for that purpose. Manager Gehrig stated that many of the merchants have expressed approval for the project and are planning to
make a rear entrance to their stores. Wilson Street is the narrow street between Main and Union Streets. It is within convenient walking distance to the Main Street stores.
|The Call of December 22, 1966
$475,000 RESERVED FOR ISLAND PROJECT
Final approval of the Island urban renewal project was announced by the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development last Thursday. Along with approval is the setting
aside of $475,00 in federal funds for the borough's use on the project. Included in the project are nineteen acres of land on the Island between the railroad and the Schuylkill River.
The plan calls for the relocation of Broadway to make it the boundary between borough owned land at the lower end of the Island and the privately owned property at the northern
All existing properties on the large plot is to be removed and a new residential area developed. The next step is for the borough council and the Planning and Zoning Commission
to approve resolutions to begin work on the project. Public hearings will be held before any work begins. Most of the $475,000 grant will be used to purchase the properties now
located on the Island, to remove them and to prepare the site for development. This is handled through the County Redevelopment Authority. Titles to the properties goes to this
county group. Preparation for the site will include the relocation of Broadway, construction of another street on a 100 foot right of way alongside the railroad tracks, laying of water
and sewer lines and extension of electric utility lines. As the lower end of the Island is borough property, improvements to this area will have to be borne by the borough. This will
include extension of the new street to the river and erection of a bridge to cross the river at Saint John Street. The completed project calls for traffic to move across the bridge and
the island directly to Connors Crossing.
|The Call of March 16, 1967
HAVEN COUNCIL SURPRISED - ISLAND PROPERTY OWNERS DON'T WANT TO MOVE; PETITION COUNCIL
Homeowners of the Island area, 38 strong, presented a petition to Schuylkill Haven Borough Council at the monthly meeting Monday night at Town Hall, asking that borough officials
help preserve the homes and not develop the Island. Attorney Joseph Zane acted as spokesman for the petitioners. He stated they asked council to refrain from taking any
redevelopment action until the people present their protest on this reconstruction. They claim they didn't realize what was going on, that all they knew they read in the
newspapers. "One week it would say that the borough would take action on the redevelopment, and the next week it would say that they weren't." They state they were given no
"The property owners on the Island are protesting," stated Zane, "because they are mostly old people who have lived there most of their lives. They don't want to move now. They
would have to meet new friends, go to different churches and look for new housing, and housing in Schuylkill Haven is scarce." These people think, he continued, that the money
given to them for their houses would not be sufficient for a new house, only enough for a mortgage. They don't want to leave because of sentimental reasons.
"The Island area is run down but not a slum area," they contend. They ask that the borough consider their plea to stay there and remain taxpayers. "The borough is not poverty
stricken and can afford to give some help to correct conditions with roads, lighting, landscaping and recreation," Zane said. About half of the signers of the petition attended the
|Miners Journal of November 19, 1853
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN - FROM OUR OWN CORRESPONDENT
In the absence of dreadful accidents and other highly interesting news, permit me to show you a sight worth seeing. It is no more, not less than Schuylkill Haven as seen from the
Schuylkill Mountain. Behold the scene! It is true that the valleys which surround us have been stripped of their verdant tints, but there is still grandeur in the gigantic chain of
mountains that surround that beautiful town. Nature, as if fearful of offending the most fastidious, has kindly decked them with laurel and evergreen, framing as it were, an immense
battlement, crowned with badges of victory. At the foot of the mountain upon which we stand, flows gently the River Schuylkill, the name
of which brings vividly to our memories the wrongs of the red man on the one hand and his vindictive deeds on the other. But let us, for the present, forget the past - it is a gloomy
picture. Time will fade, though it never can erase, those blotches in the history of our country.
I have often thought that if an artist, one who could appreciate the grand and the beautiful, could sit with his pencil and easel, where we now stand, how his soul would be
enraptured when beholding the scene before him. Methinks I could see the workings of his countenance as he views object after object rising, as it were, into sublimity. But alas,
how few there are who take delight in looking and reflecting upon the beauties that surround them upon every side. In that beautiful valley, some four miles in circumference,
before us lies Schuylkill Haven with its 2500 inhabitants. Crossing each other and running through the center of town are the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad and the Schuylkill
Canal. Towards the north on rising ground, which you mistook for a state prison, is our public school house. No apology needed as you are not the first stranger that mistook it for
that indispensable piece of furniture. A little further north is "Boyer's Grove, the summer retreat of the young during the heydays of summer.
Towards the northeast are Henry and Abraham Saylor's boat yards, where from fifteen to twenty large class boats are built annually. Those
vacant spots along the river, canal and railroad have been calculated for the iron works, factories, etc., of the rising generation, unless some more enterprising parties reduce to
practice that which the "Old Folks at Home" now theorize. Toward the west are the navigation landings, where the 20,000 tons of coal are shipped weekly. Commencing hard and
running towards the southwest is the flourishing suburb of Schuylkill Haven. About 200 yards west of the navigation landings is J. and J. Deibert's boat yard. About a half mile
northeast of this is the "Accommodation Almshouse," the winter headquarters of many who are too lazy to work and not inclined to spend the money they earned during the summer
months. This may seem hard language but it is nevertheless a fact that many of these paupers have snug piles. I shall resume this subject with several other highly interesting
facts about this locality, probably next week.
|The Call of September 13, 1901
KILLED BY FALL - IRVIN DEIBERT SLIPS FROM ROOF AND MEETS INSTANT DEATH
Fatal Accident Occurred Saturday Afternoon While Painting a House Roof-Landed on His Head-Only One Witness
This community was greatly shocked last Saturday afternoon to hear of the sudden and untimely death of Irvin L. Deibert, of this place, by a fall from a house roof. Mr. Deibert had
been engaged in painting the tin roof on the house of Albert Burkert on Berne Street, and had nearly finished the work when the accident occurred, which was about 3:20 o'clock.
Walter J. Fisher, truck dealer, who was driving up the street toward the Burkert house, was, as far as is known, the only witness to this terrible tragedy. He states that Mr. Deibert
was on the peak of the roof with paint kettle in hand and had stepped on the front side when he was seen to slip rapidly toward the eaves. He continued on his feet, sliding
sideways. On reaching the edge of the roof his foot caught in the spouting and his body was pitched head foremost downward. His head struck the edge of the porch below with
such force that his body bounded into the gutter, landing on his back. The entire distance of the fall was eighteen feet. Mr. Fisher and other summoned help ran to the unfortunate
man's assistance but found life extinct. Dr. Lenker was sent for and an examination showed that the man had sustained a fractured skull and broken neck, death being
instantaneous. The scalp was frightfully torn.
The remains were taken to E. Ziegenfus' undertaking establishment and later removed to his home. Deputy Coroner Peter Stanton held an inquest over the remains on Monday
evening and a verdict of accidental death was rendered. Charles Keller, C. A. Moyer, Amos R. Hoffman, John M. Boyle, James McGovern and J. E. Stanton comprised the jury.
Deceased was a son of Mrs. Mary and the late Jacob Deibert and was aged 44 years, 2 months and 6 days. He was born and raised in Schuylkill Haven. For three years he held a
lucrative position in John Wanamaker's store in Philadelphia but at the death of his father, fifteen years ago, came home to live with his mother. He was a member of Saint Matthew's
Lutheran Church of town. Mr. Deibert was of a most pleasant disposition and his kind words and cordial greeting won for him a host of warm friends. With the little folks he was a
special favorite, and he will be greatly missed by them. Besides the grief stricken mother, he is survived by three brothers and five sisters, as follows: Jacob S. and Lewis A. of
town; Edward of Ozello, Florida; Mrs. J. T. White and Mrs. William Jacobs of Philadelphia; Mrs. Eliza Hunter, Mrs. Henry J. Saylor and Mrs. George E. Bast of town. The funeral was
held from the late residence, corner of Main and High Streets on Tuesday afternoon at two o'clock and was private. The services were conducted by Reverend D. M. Moser, pastor
of Saint Matthew's Lutheran Church. Interment was made in Union Cemetery.
|The Call of February 25, 1925
PERRY WAGNER BURNED TO DEATH
Francis "Perry" Wagner, a well known character in this section, met a horrible death early Thursday morning by being burned to death in his bunk, or shed along the Schuylkill River
near Adamsdale. Flames were noticed shooting from the shed by employees at the coal storage yards about three o'clock Thursday morning. Owners of the coal washery located
near the scene were notified and responded immediately. They found the building almost burned to the ground and the charred form of the occupant lying on the floor.
It is believed Mr. Wagner was stricken while seated on a box smoking his pipe. The sparks communicated to the clothing and in a short time his home became his funeral bier. The
clothing was almost burned from the body and indications pointed to the fact that the man had not yet retired. The body was in a corner of the room opposite from the kitchen
range. All portions of the floor were burned excepting the parts on which the body lay. This it is believed to have been due to the fact that the deceased had several buckets of
water standing on a stand or table. His body was found near the stand and it is thought the fire having burned the table, the buckets of water were spilled on the floor. One leg was
burned completely off, the head was almost burned to a crisp as were the hands and arms. The torso was terribly burned. The body was removed to the Bittle Undertaking Parlors
after being viewed by Coroner Heim about eight in the morning. Then men who responded to the alarm early in the morning and found the building in ruins were Charles Bowen and
Frank Aulenbach of Schuylkill Haven and C. Arthur Fisher of Orwigsburg. The building occupied by the dead man was about a hundred yards from the Bowen-Fisher Washery and at
a point opposite the storage yard office.
The deceased was 72 years of age. He was born in North Manheim Township. He had been a boatman on the Schuylkill canal and a boat builder. When boating was discontinued he
was employed at the storage yards. He made his home at the point above named for the past several years. One brother and two sisters survive, namely: Lucian Wagner of
Cressona; Mrs. John Boyer of Schuylkill Haven and Mrs. Harry McClure of Harrisburg. The funeral will take place Saturday afternoon at two o'clock with all services by Bittle
|The Call of March 4, 1927
CRESSONA CHILD STRUCK BY AUTO HERE, DIED FRIDAY
John, the seven year old son of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Brennan of Cressona, sustained injuries Friday afternoon last about 3:30 o'clock when struck by an auto on Dock Street near the
parochial school, that caused his death in the Pottsville Hospital several hours later. It appears the lad was coming from the parochial school and was in the act of crossing the
street. He had the hand of his older brother and they intended crossing Dock Street to go on Broadway and to their home in Cressona. The only eyewitnesses to the accident were
brothers of the little fellow, namely Robert, who had him by the hand and his younger brother, Leo aged nine, who had already crossed safely to the other side of the street and who
shouted a warning to them which was not heard.
The machine that struck the child was a Buick sedan, owned by C. H. Shriner and driven by William Parfitt. Both men are temporary residents of Pine Grove. Mr. Shriner is an
erector employed by the Pittsburgh Valve and Foundry Company. The child was picked up by Mr. Shriner and taken to the office of Dr. Lessig. The doctor was not at home. The
driver of the car then went to the office of Dr. Detweiler who was not at home. He then went to the house of Dr. Lenker who responded and dressed the wounds of the boy in the
office of Dr. Lessig and ordered him taken to the Pottsville Hospital, where he died several hours later of a fractured skull.
Just how the accident actually occurred could not be learned as there was a difference in the testimony at the coroner's inquest. The brother of the boy stated he was crossing at
the crossing and that a wagon had just passed which was going towards Main Street when the car came along in the same direction to pass the wagon and struck the child. The lad
was caught by the back of the belt of his coat and thrown under the machine. Other testimony introduced was to the effect that the boys were crossing the street at a point about
opposite the door of the Confehr home. They had stepped from in back of an auto parked in front of the church side of the street.
The funeral took place Monday morning. The child was seven years of age. The father is employed as a cake salesman. Besides the parents, the following children survive: Robert,
11, Leo, 9, James, 5, Mary, 3, and Francis 1.
|The Call of March 14, 1902
METHODIST CHURCH - NEW CONGREGATION ORGANIZED HERE BY PRESIDING ELDER MCDOWELL
New Church Starts With About Sixty Members, A Building Site and the Cash For a Chapel
Schuylkill Haven has always had a number of people who belong to the Methodist denomination and many in sympathy with the same, but all efforts to locate a church here have bee
unsuccessful owing to the fact that the church organization is wholly in the English language, while many of our people are of German extraction. For some months however, a
movement has been on foot which culminated last evening in the organization of a Methodist Episcopal church in our town.
Presiding Elder W. L. McDowell presided and the meeting was held at the residence of J. F. Bast. After devotional exercises, Reverend McDowell explained the discipline and
received all present about forty persons into membership on probation, as was their wish. About twenty additional members, who could not be present last evening will be taken in.
The newly formed Methodist church will hold their first Sunday School at 9:00 Sunday morning, March 16 in Metamora Hall with Epworth League at 7:00 that evening at the same
place. The Methodist Episcopal Conference will supply the new charge with a regularly stationed pastor at the coming annual conference which meets at Columbia , Pennsylvania
on March 19. The new pastor will be here on Easter Sunday when there will be preaching morning and evening and regularly thereafter. Metamora Hall will be used until the chapel
can be completed, which will be ready for occupancy by July. Everybody is invited.
|The Call of April 6, 1967
WATER TREATMENT PLANT READY FOR OPERATION
A $111,000 water treatment plant for $80,000 is the latest advantage to come to the Schuylkill Haven Borough under its borough manager form of government. Manager Robert
Gehrig and Gilbert Associates, consulting engineers estimated that the cost of the water treatment plant at Tumbling Run would be $111,000 if the project were put out on contract.
By purchasing all the equipment and having the borough crews make the installation over the winter months when other work was slack, the job was done for $80,000 or a savings
The exactness of the engineering, compliance to specifications by the contractors and excellent precision work of the borough crews directed by Borough Manager Gehrig were
demonstrated by the fact that every precut pipe, fittings, valves and controls fit exactly as planned and the installation proceeded smoothly throughout the project. The treatment
plant is almost completely automated. It will chemically treat the water with alum and lime to suspend the iron and manganese in a large chemical tank. Taking advantage of the
pressure from the dam, the system uses pressure filtering in four enclosed tanks to remove the suspended impurities. These twenty foot long and six foot diameter tanks are
divided into three compartments. Each is filled to within eighteen inches of the top with four different sizes of stone ranging from 1 3/8 inches to the consistency of regular sand.
On top of this for a depth of about 24 inches is finely granulated anthracite coal.
The water enters the filter tanks from the top through diffusers, seeps down through the filter material and is taken back into the system through a series of plastic tubes with many
holes in the bottom. These feed into a six inch line that goes into a sixteen inch main. The water then goes to the pumps where pressure is built up to send it to the holding
reservoir at Willow Lake. Chlorine and later fluorides will be added at the treatment plant. The entire operation will be controlled by a master meter that records the amount and
rate of flow. This meter sends the information to the central control panel which determines the operation of the chemical additions. Pressure gauges determine when the filtering
tanks require cleaning. Valves enable the flow to be reversed in the tanks for flushing. When this is done, one chamber of a tank is cleaned at a time and the water goes in at three
times the normal pressure. This agitation scrubs the filter material and the dirty water coming off the top is run off as waste.
When the regular flow is used again, the first water is run off as waste until tests show that the water is pure. Warning lights and a buzzer indicate when one part of the process is
not functioning properly. Addition of chemicals to the bins and operation of the large valves are done manually. All other operations of the treatment plant are automatic.
|The Call of September 10, 1959
ROBERT KILLIAN KILLED AS CAR SKIDS AND OVERTURNS
Robert Killian, 18, Orwigsburg RD1, was killed almost instantly Saturday morning at 2:45 when an auto driven by his brother skidded and overturned at Long Run, Route 443, about a
mile west of Schuylkill haven. It came to rest in the bushes almost 200 feet off the highway. The automobile was driven by Frank Killian, 22, Pottsville RD3, who was taken to the
Pottsville Hospital and discharged when it was found he suffered no injuries. Gerald Trautman, 22, of 10 west Main Street, the third occupant of the car, suffered a fracture of the
left thigh, abrasions of the right leg, laceration above the right eyelid and abrasions of the left eyelid. He was admitted to Pottsville Hospital where his condition was listed as fair on
Wednesday. The preliminary investigation of the accident was made and is being continued by State Policeman Peter Butsko. The accident was reported by Mrs. Claude Reed of
Robert Killian was the son of Lester and Evelyn Kantner Killian of Willow Lake. Born in Pottsville, he resided with a sister in Orwigsburg RD and was a senior at Blue Mountain
Jointure High School and was a member of the Future Farmers of America. He was employed at the Acme Store at Schuylkill Haven. Surviving are the following brothers and sisters:
William, Willow Lake; Raymond stationed with the Army in Germany; Mrs. Mary Alice Koch, Sylvia, wife of Henry Moyer and Franklin, all of Willow Lake; Kathryn, wife of Charles
Bowers, Pottsville and Kenneth and Rose of Orwigsburg. Funeral services were held Wednesday from the Geschwindt Funeral Home with burial in Schuylkill Memorial Park.
Reverend Clarence Moore of Zion Lutheran Church, Windsor Castle, where Robert was a member officiated.
|The Call of March 17, 1960
CARBON MONOXIDE CAUSES DEATH OF GEORGE PEIFFER
George J. Peiffer, 64, of 218 Market Street was found dead of carbon monoxide poisoning in his garage on Thursday afternoon at five o'clock. The discovery was made by his
brother, Alfred Peiffer and his son in law, Robert Heisler. Deputy Coroner Wharton Bittle of Cressona released the body to the Geschwindt Funeral Home.
A son of Jonathan and Aurora Schaeffer Peiffer, he was born in Wayne Township. A veteran of World War One he was a member of Christ Lutheran Church, Robert E. Baker Post 38
American Legion and the Brotherhood of Railroad Carmen. He had been employed as a car repairman at the Reading Railroad car shops.
Surviving are his wife, the former Malinda Graver, who is a patient in the Pottsville Hospital; a daughter Blanche, wife of Robert Heisler, Crum Lynne; two grandchildren; a brother
Alfred of Schuylkill Haven; a sister Ruth, wife of Earl Nagle of Friedensburg. Funeral services were held Monday afternoon from Geschwindt Funeral Home with burial in Schuylkill
Memorial Park. Reverend E. R. Acker, pastor of Christ Lutheran Church officiated.
|The Call of February 2, 1961
INJURIES IN CAR CRASH LEAD TO DEATH OF ALBERT HAWK
Albert J. Hawk, 60, of 31 Fairview Street, died suddenly at his home Monday morning after suffering severe stomach and chest pains that may have resulted from an accident in
which he was involved Thursday evening. Mr. Hawk was driving west on East Main Street at 6:20 p. m. Thursday when he lost control of his car near the Grant Street intersection
and crashed into a parked car owned by Mildred E. Donaldson of 425 East Main Street. The impact drove the Donaldson car ahead for a distance of fifty one feet. The impact threw
Mr. Hawk, a heavy man, against the steering wheel. His daughter, Mrs. Doris Weiser, 19 Fairview Street, who was with him in the car, suffered only bruised knees. Officer William
Goetz, who investigated the crash, radioed police headquarters at town hall and requested that a doctor be summoned. Clayton Bashore, on duty at the desk, tried to locate a
physician but, it being Thursday, he was unable to locate one. The ambulance was then summoned to take the injured man to the hospital for an examination and treatment. The
ambulance, however, had left only a short time before to take another patient to Pottsville.
When the ambulance returned, Mr. Hawk was taken to the Pottsville Hospital where xrays were taken. He left the hospital and returned to his home. Later over the weekend he
began to suffer pain internally. His death occurred Monday morning. While assisting the ambulance man, Officer Goetz slipped and fell on the ice, injuring his back. He was off from
work for two days because of the injury. Damage to the cars was estimated at $420 for the Hawk car and $230 for the Donaldson car.
A native of Mainville, Columbia County, Mr. Hawk was the son of Jerris and Mary Bankes Hawk and had been a resident of Schuylkill haven for 36 years. He was employed by the
Walkin Shoe Company for over forty years. Mr. Hawk was a member of the United Brethren Church of Landingville. Surviving are his widow, the former Esther Heim; one son, Jerris
of Pine Grove; a daughter, Doris wife of Edward Weiser of Schuylkill Haven; a brother, Robert of Horsehead, New York and a sister Mrs. Orval Kline of Catawissa.
|The Call of August 31, 1961
WORKER AT OLD LIGHT PLANT HIT BY IRON, FALLS TO DEATH
An employee of Harvey B. Moyer Inc., steel erectors and heavy construction firm who are engaged in demolition of the old power plant on Haven Street was killed late Tuesday
afternoon in a thirty foot fall. Charles Zvorsky, 28, Orwigsburg RD1, was reportedly holding onto a column while trying to kick a piece of angle iron truss from under him. In his
attempt to do so the iron struck the victim on the head and knocked him to the ground thirty feet below. Dr. Hermann Zwerling was summoned and the Lions Community Ambulance
was called for. Upon examination of Zvorsky, Dr. Zwerling called Deputy Coroner Conrad Koch to the scene of the accident. Death was said to be due to a broken neck, fractured
skull and possible multiple internal injuries.
Zvorsky was a member of Saints Peter and Paul Greek Catholic Church in Minersville; American Legion Post 368 in Orwigsburg; VFW Post 4395, Schuylkill Haven. He served three
years with the U. S. Army as a combat paratrooper during the Korean campaign. Surviving are his mother, Mrs. Frank Zvorsky of Orwigsburg; brothers, Frank of Pottsville, John of
Cressona, George, Adam, Steve and Joseph at home; sisters, Mrs. Anna Culbert, Claymont Delaware, Mrs. Eve Rizzardi, Denver, Colorado, Mrs. Helen Stroh and Mrs. Bertha Messina
of Pottsville, Mrs. Mary Whalen and Mrs. Anna Rizzardi of Orwigsburg.
|The Call of June 2, 1966
DALE KRAMMES, HAVEN SENIOR DROWNS AT SWEET ARROW LAKE
Members of the Schuylkill Haven High School class of 1966 and friends served as pall bearers Monday at the funeral service for their classmate, Dale Krammes, who drowned about
noon Friday in Sweet Arrow Lake. Krammes, in the company of three classmates, Harry Miller, Lowell Mengel, both of Schuylkill Haven and Jerry Coover, Auburn RD1, also members
of the class of 1966, were playing truant from school when the tragedy occurred.
The group was swimming from the west bank of the lake when Mengel started to swim across to the north bank. Krammes started to follow and was stricken when half way across.
Upon reaching the north bank, Mengel noticed Krammes' trouble and swam back to aid him. Krammes is said to have fought off Mengel and also Coover who went to rescue
Krammes when Mengel became exhausted. Miller who is reported not to be a good swimmer remained on the bank. The boys summoned state police who tried with grappling
hooks to recover the body. Three scuba divers, Olin and Phillip Correll and Winfield Hawkins, all of Sweet Arrow Lake, tried in vain to locate the body. Corporal Garron and Trooper
Mazak of the state police manned a motor boat and using a hay rake owned by John Kramer of Pine Grove RD1, recovered Krammes' body from the bottom of the lake.
The son of Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Krammes of Landingville, Dale would have graduated from Schuylkill Haven High School next Thursday. He was a member of the United Church of
Christ, Landingville. Surviving in addition to his parents are one brother, Sergeant Stanley R. Krammes, member of the Pennsylvania State Police in Hollidaysburg; three sisters,
Jean, wife of Andrew Premich, Orwigsburg; Dolores, wife of Robert Madenford, Pine Grove; Margaret, wife of Kenneth Sweigert, Landingville. Services were held from the
Geschwindt Funeral Home with the Reverend Joseph Heiney officiating. Burial was made in Schuylkill Memorial Park. Classmates of the deceased attendd the viewing in a body
and school mates acted as pall bearers.
|The Call of January 16, 1925
SAINT JOHN'S TO BUILD LARGE PARISH HOUSE
The congregation of Saint John's Reformed Church at the annual meeting held Wednesday evening authorized the consistory to proceed with the building of a parish house on the
rear of the present church lot. The parish house will fill many wants of the congregation, Sunday School and community. Tentative plans submitted by an architect through the
special committee were explained to the members who expressed their approval. The committee however will go over the matter again with the architect so that the new building
will meet every and all needs of the congregation and Sunday School.
The proposed plans provide for the first floor being somewhat below the ground level and to include a gymnasium, reading room, kitchen, dining room, etc. The ceiling will be
twenty one feet high. Bleachers and a gallery will be on the one side. On the opposite side in place of a gallery there will be the reading room and library. The next floor will consist
of the auditorium. It will provide accommodations for the Junior Department of the school, the Intermediate Department, the Women's Class and contain three additional
classrooms. There will be a gallery on three sides of this auditorium and by means of flexible curtains, a room for the Men's Class with a seating capacity of 124 will be provided and
also four other class rooms for adult classes. All can be thrown into the room and give the auditorium a seating capacity of 643. As soon as the final plans have been adopted by the
consistory, bids will be invited and the construction work hurried along as much as possible.
The deacons selected at this meeting were: William Loos, H. E. Oswald, Harold Krammes, Lewis Dress, John O. Boyer, Robert Sausser. Trustees elected were: H. C. Wilson, George
Berger, D. M. Bittle. Dr. J. A. Lessig was elected as an Elder. The salary of the organist was fixed at $500. Mr. Thomas Berger was elected to fill this position. Mrs. Joe Reber was
elected janitress at a salary of $40 per month.
|The Call of August 25, 1905
CHRIST EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN HOLDS CORNERSTONE LAYING
The cornerstone of the new Christ Evangelical Lutheran church on Dock Street will be laid on Sunday at 2:00 p. m., the sermon to be delivered by Reverend J. O. Schlenker. The
exact date of the organization of this congregation is not known but it was first called Jerusalem Evangelical Lutheran congregation and worshipped in a school house that was built
in 1820 and stood near the site of the present Jerusalem reformed Church. It is believed the congregation was organized before that time by members of Zion's (Red) Church and
Saint John's Church in Friedensburg. In 1822 the united Lutheran and Reformed congregations purchased the old school house and adjoining cemetery. On December 22, 1825,
Reverend George Minnig was called as the first Lutheran pastor. The church council were Gottfried Boyer and Andrew Moyer, elders; Jacob Beck and Henry Bolich, deacons and
Jacob Krebs, trustee. In 1826 an effort was made to secure funds for a new church by holding a lottery but it was never carried out. On July 18, 1826, the church was chartered and
on October 7, 1827, the cornerstone was laid. On June 1, 1828 the church was dedicated by Reverends Minnig and Kroll, the latter the Reformed minister. The church was called
the White Church to distinguish it from the Red Church.
The adoption of new rules and rituals caused a split in the congregation and in 1851 Reverend Minnig and a few followers built the big church now occupied by the Saint Ambrose
Catholic Church. This congregation disbanded in 1861 after the English members had withdrawn and formed Saint Matthew's congregation and many of the German members had
gone to Saint Peters. The remainder returned to the old church. In 1877, the cornerstone of the present Jerusalem church was laid and the congregation began worship in the
basement the same year. The church was not completed until May 28, 1882 when it was dedicated. From that time up to July 2, 1904, the joint congregations united in beautifying
the edifice. On the latter date the congregations dissolved partnership. On April 5, 1905, the Reformed congregation bought the church for $9, 875 and on April 12th, the Lutherans
bought the church site on Dock Street. On May 3rd, they changed their name to Christ Evangelical Church and appointed the pastor, Reverend E. H. Smoll and Messrs. George
Zimmerman, W. H. Bashore, H. C. Bowen and A. N. Brensinger a building committee. The new church plan was adopted May 6th. The building was staked off on May 18th and ground
was broken by the pastor on May 22nd. The foundation was completed and the first brown stone was laid on August 22nd and the cornerstone laying was on August 27th.
The pastors of the church have been: Reverend George Minnig, 1821-1824; Reverend W. G. Minnig, 1834-1851; Reverend Frederick Walz, 1852-1854; Reverend Julius H. Ehrhart,
1854-1864; Reverend Fred Woerner, 1868-1872; Reverend R. M. Jacoby, 1872-1874; Reverend W. H. Kuntz, 1874-1886 and the present pastor, Reverend Edwin H. Smoll began his
pastorate on November 7, 1886.
The church council are: George W. Zimmerman, William H. Heim elders; J. Harry Brownmiller, Henry C. Bowen, John N. Flammer, deacons; Aaron N. Brensinger, trustee. T. D.
Brownmiller is organist. The congregation adopted a new constitution on June 7, 1905.
|The Call of April 29, 1904
ODD FELLOWS CARROLL LODGE CELEBRATES THE 85TH ANNIVERSARY OF ODD FELLOWSHIP
Tuesday was the 85th anniversary of Odd Fellowship in the United States and Carroll Lodge, Number 120, I. O. O. F. of Schuylkill Haven celebrated the event in becoming style. The
observance of the anniversary commenced on Sunday evening when the Lodge attended divine services at Grace United Evangelical Church and listened to a most able sermon by
the pastor, reverend W. H. Ege. The church was prettily decorated with flowers and tropical plants and special music was rendered by the male and mixed choirs. The church was
so crowded that many persons were turned away, being unable to gain admission.
The celebration closed on Tuesday evening with a mock initiation and banquet. The mock initiation was held in Keystone Hall. The guests gathered at eight o'clock and the session
of the Select Order of Hoodos Branch Number 1 opened in the center of the floor with the following officers in charge: High Hoodo Henry Kelber; Low Hoodo E. B. Pflueger;
Secretary D. S. Byerly; Treasurer Daniel Freehafer; Guard Harry Lighty; Marshals Welmer Miller and George O. Bubeck. The following members were present: Fred L. Horning, J.
Harry Brownmiller, Arthur Weaver, James Umbenhauer. After the Lodge session was ended, Edward Shollenberger( alias Honnes McFlyn) was brought in and initiated into the deep
mysteries of the Order of Hoodos. The makeup of the different members and their assumed names were ridiculous and the whole affair was extremely comical and was very well
gotten up. It is safe to say that all the wives and lady friends of the members of Carroll Lodge know all about the lodge session and initiation.
At one o'clock the guests repaired to the dining rooms of Hotel Grand where Host Souder had prepared a sumptuous banquet. After full justice had been done the many good
things, Toastmaster S. J. Deibert introduced reverend W. H. Ege, pastor of the United Evangelical Church and Dr. C. Lenker, both of whom made excellent addresses. About 150
persons were present. The event was a great success in every particular. The committee in charge was Henry Kelber, E. B. Pflueger, J. H. Brownmiller, Fred L. Horning, George O.
Bubeck,Daniel Freehafer and Harry Morrison. The mock initiation was arranged by Mr.. Kelber.
|Pottsville Republican of May 30, 1896
ME, BIG INDIAN, WOW! They Make a Raid on Schuylkill Haven Residents WAR PAINT AND BANDS !
A Gala Day at Schuylkill Haven - Red Men Turn Out in Large Numbers - Reading and Pottsville Send Large Delegations
A large number of Indians in full war costume with war paint smeared all over their faces, and blood in their eyes, swooped down upon the peaceful inhabitants of Schuylkill Haven
about nine o'clock this morning. The "warriors" represented many Tribes from the eastern section of Pennsylvania and were led by the Great Chief Peter F. Bauers.
Although tomahawks were wielded in the air and keen edged, glittering scalping knives dangled at belts and at times were plunged rather ferociously at invisible objects of
telegraph poles, still no scalps were taken, nor no homes plundered. Many timid maidens, however, yearned for the sight of a gallant band of American cowboys and would have felt
more at ease had there been some of them there. The Red Men, however, had only gathered at Schuylkill Haven for the purpose of holding a council and to smoke the pipe and
cigars of peace. They selected Schuylkill Haven on account of the beautiful scenery and great hotel and railroad facilities. They also learned of the great hospitality of the people of
that growing town and this fact had much to do with the bringing out of the foe of the white man in great numbers. When the Schuylkill Haven people learned that the wily savages
meant no harm, they secured bunting, flags and banners and decorated their homes in elaborate style and made every arrangement to cater to the comfort of their visitors. In the
early morning Chief Marshal Bauers, his assistant, R. C. Coke and his aids, George Freed, Dr. Daniel Dechert, Samuel Buehler, Francis Binkley, Harry I. Walleisa, Morris Saylor,
George Halderman, C. V. B. Deibert, Monroe Sherman and William B. Hine turned out in the morning early, and labored faithfully in getting the delegations from the various towns in
their proper place in line. Pinegrove's warriors were first on the field and with a band that discoursed excellent music, Paraded up and down the town, aiding the Marshal and
assistants in meeting the incoming trains. Fully 200 braves from Reading, together with a large number of "Rubes," tramps painted and done up in fantastic style, with a hayseed
band in the lead, arrived about ten o'clock over the Pennsy road. They were ushered to Metamora Hall, the headquarters for the day. The weather was rather threatening during
the morning hours but about noon old "Sol" appeared in all his glory and gladdened the hearts of the Schuylkill Haven people, who feared that probably all their hard work had been
done for naught and that rain would spoil everything.
Nearly every residence and business place on Main Street was profusely adorned with bunting, flags and streamers, making a prtetty scene as one looked upon the street from the
P & R Railroad. Among the places that sported beautiful decorations were the following: John Binkley's hotel on South Main Street was nicely trimmed and an Indian warrior beside
his wigwam, standing guard, was among the novelties of his decorations; the homes of William Stitzer, A. Loeb, C. T. Eiler, Milton Quinter, Charles Wiltrout, S. Fried, ed Bordy and
Lawyer G. C. Gise were tastefully arrayed in national colors. The hotel of Daniel Yoder and the handsome residence of P. T. Hoy, at the corner of Saint John and Main Streets, were
elaborately decorated. Yoder's Grand Hotel was literally covered with bunting, and incandescent lights were strewn all over the building. The Central Hotel, kept by P. F. Bauers,
also boasted pretty decorations and incandescent lights. Metamora Hall, the headquarters of Pecos Tribe, under whose auspices the demonstration was held, sported the richest
decorations and showed up well the handiwork of the trimmers. Among other buildings of particular notice were: I. B. Heim, A. E. Felix, George H. Michel, George Paule, M. F.
Pflueger, W. S. Rudy, D. H. Achenbach, D. Coldren, H. L. Moser, post office, C. Keller, C. S. Commings, William Greenawald, William Heinbach, Benjamin High, E. Kauffman, Sausser
Brothers, Eli Ziegenfus and George E. Dengler; Schuylkill Hose Company house, P. O. S. of A. Hall, Rainbow Hose Company house, residences on Dock Street of John Border and
David Commings, Levi Hummel's furniture, Wessner's Hotel on Spring Garden Street and H. I. S. club room on Canal Street. Two beautiful arches were erected by Pecos Tribe, one
was placed crossing Main Street at the corner of Saint John and Main Streets while the other spanned Main Street at Metamora Hall. Both arches were very attractive and nicely
arrayed in bunting and flags. The festival grounds at the lower end of the town, where the visitors would be entertained this evening, were nicely arranged. A temporary platform
was erected for the band concerts while a large tent covered several tables, one which dispensed bean soup and the other palatable eatables. About noon the incoming trains
brought droves of Red Men and their friends, and Pottsville, notwithstanding the many attractions going on within its limits, sent 200 warriors and fully 400 spectators. Ninesqua's
Tribe float was one of the nicest in line. It was drawn by four gray horses on a large wagon and represented the treaty of William Penn with the Indians. Seneca Tribe also had a
pretty float and their costumes were among the richest and most gorgeous in line. The Berks County delegation was marshaled by George Saussman, Deputy District Commander of
Reading. Among the other prominent notables were Thomas K. Donnally of Philadelphia, Great Chief of Records and Grand Past Senap, Honorable G. C. Schink of Pottsville.
|Miners Journal of February 1, 1876
NEW CHURCH OF SAINT JOHN'S REFORMED CONGREGATION IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
The following description of a new church building is from the pen of a gentleman from Schuylkill Haven:
The Saint John's Reformed congregation of Schuylkill Haven have nearly completed their edifice on Main Street in that borough and the building committee will have the church
ready for dedication to God as soon as they receive a few more pledges to pay off the balance of indebtedness. The church is built of brick, is 87 by 42 feet in size and is Gothic in
style. From the vestibule which is 13 feet wide, two staircases, with solid black walnut balusters, branch off to the main audience room while an entry eight feet broad leads to the
lecture room. The room is divided into three compartments by glass partitions. One for the large scholars, one for the Bible class and one for the infant school. Instead of the old
fashioned pews, the school is furnished with chairs. The windows were all presented by the scholars, teachers and officers of the Sunday School. They are of heavy ground glass
with colored borders. It required 250 yards of carpet to cover the floor of the lecture room, which is at present used by the congregation in their Sunday services. There is a very
neat alcove behind the pulpit; the walls and ceiling are pure white. There are three entrances from the upper vestibule to the church proper corresponding with the number of
aisles. Standing at the door leading to the middle aisle, the visitor is at once struck with the beauty of the scene presented to view. The first object which attracts his attention is a
large painting in an alcove back of the pulpit of the Resurrection of Christ, after Rubens' by that able artist George Seiling. The altar and pulpit in the chancel are made of solid
black walnut, elaborately carved and finished in Gothic style. The chancel is enclosed by a beautiful railing of the same material. The audience room is lighted by sixteen handsome
stained glass windows of beautiful design, the colors of which are blended together in the most perfect harmony, casting within and around all surrounding objects, almost pleasing
mellow light and softest shadows.
The windows were presented by the following persons with the annexed descriptions: In memory of Elder Charles Dengler by his son Charles H. Dengler; For Elder Daniel Small and
wife by B. F. Sharadin; In memory of Annie A. Heilman by her husband and children; In memory of James B. Levan by his sons Aaron B. and Walter F. Levan; Presented by Elder
Charles Kantner and wife; In memory of Olivia Y. and Hugh N. Coxe by H. N. Coxe and wife; For G. Bast and family by Mary Elizabeth Shannon; In memory of Anna M. and Lewis A.
Upon the two center windows in the upper vestibule leading to the audience room are two handsomely embellished pictures, representing the two epochs in the history of the
church. First there is a view of the old church with the following inscription: "For Reverend John O. Johnson by Gideon Bast." The next window has a view of the new church
showing the progress the congregation has been making with this inscription: "Presented by Charles A. Meck, William H. Levan, J. H. Heilman, Executive Committee." For the
pastors of the church - Reverend D. W. Wolf, 1862-1864, Reverend John P. Stein, 1864-1871, Reverend John O. Johnson, 1871. "In memory of Susan Webber by E. E. Hatter, Maggie
Kaufman and Libbie Stoever." Presented by Jack Hummel and wife.
The Saint John's congregation can truly congratulate themselves on having the handsomest church edifice in the county. Taking the church altogether it stands as a monument to
the mechanical ability and the artistic skill of all concerned in building it. Prominent among these are the building committee, the architect Isaac Hobbs and Son of Philadelphia John
Hawman, master builder of Schuylkill Haven, whose work gives entire satisfaction to the committee, William Buechley of Pottsville who furnished the pews, stairway and top of tower,
George Seiling of Reading who executed the beautiful frescoing, Eiusenhour, Fink and Company of Reading, pulpit and chancel furniture, Gartley and Fox of Minersville, iron
girders, pillars, etc., Aiken and Isaac of Philadelphia, stained glass, Simon Derr of Pottsville, heaters.
|The following is from a series of articles that appeared in The Call beginning in December of 1910. They are the reminiscences of
early Schuylkill Haven citizen, Isaac Paxson. Each update will continue the series until complete.......
|REMINISCENCES - Of Schuylkill Haven and Vicinity By One Of Its Early Citizens
A Very Interesting and Instructive Review of the Conditions From 1849 to the Present Date
At the date of my arrival at the farm in April, 1849, the town of Schuylkill Haven was in its infancy and there have been wonderful changes in its appearance since that time. Many of
the inhabitants were new settlers drawn there from distant places on account of the rapidly growing demand for anthracite coal, which was then but a comparatively new industry.
Its location on account of its accessibility to the mines that had been recently opened through the lateral railroad passing through the valleys in the region of the Schuylkill Canal
and the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad, caused it to be made a central point for shipping that article to the large cities of the state and to various points on the seaboard. There
were, however, a number of the citizens who did not come from any great distance but were raised in the vicinity, and who as businessmen took a great interest in the upbuilding
and welfare of the town. Amongst these were the Saylors, Deiberts, Rebers, Stagers, Huntzingers, Hessers, Byerlys and Dreibilbis, and no doubt others, who have escaped the
writer's recollection. The Dreibilbis family were the original owners of the most of the land on which the town was built. Amongst the new businessmen attracted to the town by the
opportunities that new business offered were the following: Gideon Bast, engaged in mining coal and shipping it by canal; Henry G. Robinson who was the first shipping clerk and
weighmaster for the Schuylkill Navigation Company, whose office was located back of the present bank building. Later this office, a frame building, was occupied by F. C. Zulick, who
took Mr. Robinson's place and who had as his clerks Milton Wilkins, William A. Field and later his brother Harry B. Zulick.
The boats in the early history of the canal were of small capacity and were filled with coal and then run down a distance below the office and weighed with their lading in a scale
adapted for the purpose. It was located at a point somewhere near where the skating rink is now located. At a later date the coal was weighed before it was put into the boats at the
Navigation Landings, which were quite extensive, and where a great number of hands were employed in weighing the cola and dumping it into the boats, making a lively scene and
keeping two locomotives busy bringing the small four wheel yellow cars of the Navigation Company from the lateral railroads and placing them in their proper position at the
different scales, where the coal was weighed whilst in the cars, the quantity noted down by the clerks and then dumped into the boats ready to be consigned to their destination.
Shortly after the change had been made in weighing the coal, a large brick building was built in Spring Garden near the landing, to which Mr. Zulick and his office force were
removed and they were continued there until March 7, 1887, when the shipping of coal by boats from Schuylkill Haven was abandoned. The building has been used since for
Others who came to Schuylkill Haven in its early history were Captain Harry Hesser, who came from Orwigsburg and John Worts who came from Conshohocken. They were both
employed by the railroad company. Mr. Hesser, the father of our present station agent, was employed for many years for furnishing wood for the company's locomotives, and which
was a very necessary article in the early days of the railroad. John Worts was the first foreman of the car shop and built the first shop with his own hands, and for the first year or
two, did all the repairs himself without employing any help. The railroad ticket office at the time the writer came to the county to reside was located on the opposite side of the
railroad from where it is now located, but was soon afterwards moved to the same side that it is now but was at the corner of Main Street. The agent at that time and for many years
was John Wilson, Sr., the grandfather of the present Court Stenographer, and a lot of other Wilsons, as he had a large family of children and grandchildren.
As to the appearance of the town itself at this time, there was no indication of its ever becoming of its present size and good looking appearance. Like most new towns that spring
up suddenly on account of a new business, the buildings were small and mostly frame, and the highways were not kept in a very clean condition or very well graded, but that does
not cast any reflections upon the citizens, as they were too busy with important business matters to take the time to make them any better, but they were not too busy to get a good
water supply, as they seem to be at present.
A short description of Main Street at that time may be of interest. On the south side between the railroad and Saint John Street, the buildings were all small frame buildings, used as
business places except the two story hotel at the present location of Hotel Grand, which was a pretty good sized two story building called Washington Hall with a good sized picture
of the father of his Country hanging out front as a sign and was kept by a man with the unfamiliar name of Jones. He had but one arm having lost the other accidentally whilst
handling a gun. On the corner next to the railroad was a two story dwelling house of pretty good size, where George Freed, Sr. kept boarders. Adjoining this house was the jewelry
store of Mahlon Allebach, who also repaired watches and clocks. Next to this was the barber shop of Absalom Webber, who did a flourishing business in his line. It was in the shop
that the writer's father met John Worts, the foreman of the car shop, for the first time and the result of this casual meeting was that a farmer boy living on the Schuylkill Mountain
was shortly afterwards installed as clerk and timekeeper at the car shops, where he remained for half a century. The position came to the writer very unexpectedly having about as
much of an idea of leaving the farm and going to work for a railroad company as he had of taking a voyage to the moon. But God moves in mysterious ways. On the north side of
Main Street commencing at the railroad, was the old covered railroad bridge, which had a footpath on the outside. Near the end of this bridge was the office of Cap Hesser, the
wood agent and his clerk Jacob Kline. From there to Saint John Street were the following businesses: John Labenberger's saddler shop, later occupied by Joseph Graeff and
Erastus Moser; then came Schrader's tin smith shop; F. G. Boas' hat store, and at the corner where the National Bank now stands was a building occupied as a bakery and
confectionery by Alexander Saylor. There were no doubt other buildings on this part of Main Street which escape the writer's memory. Some of the business places on Main Street
above Saint John Street were as follows: on the corner of Saint John and Main Street, where the large store of P. T. Hoy and Sons is now located, was a general store kept by James
B. Levan and George Kauffman. They also were engaged in buying and cutting of timber tracts, the product of which was sold to the railroad and canal companies. Adjoining this
building was the hardware store of Keefer and Wilt. The latter partner was in the business but a shirt time when he sold his share to his partner, Andrew Keefer, who was so well
known in after years as a leader in church and Sunday school work. Later he and his sons, John B. and Luther R. Keefer were in the foundry business in Cressona. Above this
going northward, Abraham Saylor, who was engaged in boat building a short distance below the rolling mill, and his brother, Daniel Saylor, who had a shoe store, were located. John
Rudy also had a shoemaking establishment in this block, and the store now occupied as a hardware store by Sausser Brothers, was occupied by B. F. Ketner as a flour and feed
store and he was also a justice of the peace. On the same side of the street above Saint Peter Street, was the shoe store of Jonathan Heisler, who was for a number of years the
steward at the Almshouse. Above his place were quite a number of substantial dwelling houses, amongst the number those of Jacob and John J. Deibert, who had a boat yard in
Spring Garden and employed a number of hands in building and repairing boats. The house in which Dr. Dechert resides was built at an early date by Dr. Lewis Royer, who besides
following his profession successfully for several years, was engaged with J. M. Shoemaker, who kept a general store in the same block, engaged in the lumber business, taking
contracts from the railroad company to supply them with the rough lumber used on the road and in their shops. On the North side of Main Street commencing on the corner of Saint
John Street were the following buildings used as business places. There was a small frame building that was located at the corner now occupied by Saylor's store, which was used
as a tailor shop for many years by C. Wiltrout until he had built his large place of business on the opposite corner. Back of the building near the canal was the blacksmith shop of
Henry Byerly, where he carried on quite an extensive business, as he had to keep the many horses and mules used by the boatmen from going barefooted. He is the father of our
townsman, Daniel Byerly and he is still living and well known to our older citizens and was in good health and active at the age of 89 years until recently, when he was disabled by a
trolley accident. Most of the business houses mentioned until Saint Peter Street was reached were small frame buildings. Some of their occupants that the writer remembers were
Samuel Deibert, who had a general store; Augustus Detzell, who had a candy shop and Isaac Kupp, who had a clothing store. At the corner of Main and Saint Peter Street was the
residence of Henry Saylor and was one of the very few brick houses in Schuylkill Haven at that time. Above this was the residence and office of Dr. John G. Koehler, who had a large
practice, and became famous as a surgeon. From near this point to the corner of Dock were no buildings, and the ground was occupied as a lumber yard by a Mr. Lewis. The
building now used by The Call printing office was built at an early day of the town's history and was designed for a bank and used for a time for that purpose, after which the bank
was moved to Pottsville, owing, it was said, to a dispute between Joseph Cake, its president and a Democrat in politics and some of the politicians of the opposite Whig party, who
had greatly offended him by having him elected as High Constable, an office to which he did not aspire. Above the bank building there were a few scattered dwelling houses, and a
Methodist Church at the extreme end of the street. Having tried to describe the Main Street of town, I will next try to describe some of the other streets and outlying districts.
In my last article I tried to describe Main Street as near as I could, as it was in 1849, upon my advent to the county and will now endeavor to do the same of some of the other streets
in town. Upon the east side of Saint John Street, after passing the premises of Levan and Kauffman, extending from Main Street to the alley, we came to the double brick house of
James B. Levan and Captain Henry Hesser, which still looks at the present time as it did then. The residences of Dr. James I. Palm and Samuel Bowen came next and are still
standing, although they have undergone some changes, which have greatly improved their appearance. At a later date, John Frehaffer, who was a contractor and had a lumber
yard, erected the substantial brick building which at present is occupied by Jere F. Bast. On the corner of Saint John and Union Street, there was a frame building owned and
occupied by Cornelius Loos as a flour and feed store and which later was torn down by him and replaced by the commodious store of Isaac B. Heim. On the opposite corner of Union
and Saint John Street, Kramer's butcher shop was located. It was a stone building fronting on Saint John Street with a small brick building back of it on an embankment as the family
residence. After the death of Mr. Kramer, these buildings were torn down and Michael Kerkeslager built a brewery there, which did quite a prosperous business for a short time,
when it accidentally caught fire and burnt down and was no doubt a great loss to the owners, but was perhaps no great loss to the general public. The lots were vacant from
Kramers to the top of the hill, when the residence of Michael Bassler was reached. This house is still standing but has changed in its appearance on account of the grading of the
street which left it upon a high embankment. Mr. Bassler was one of the early settlers of the town and for many years kept the coal yard at Main Street and the railroad. His oldest
son, Simon, served in the U. S. Navy for several years and after living in Philadelphia for some time went to Cincinnati, where, after being a weather prognosticator for one of the
leading newspapers of that city, he became so expert in that business that he was employed by the government in their weather bureau. He may have learned it perhaps in his
boyhood days by watching the winds blowing from Hans Boyer's farm, as he was in a very good position to do so. Beyond this there were a few small houses before reaching the
country. On the west side of Saint John Street, there was quite an extensive livery stable back of the Washington Hall kept by Peter Laucks. He was also a horse dealer. From that
point as far as this writer's recollection goes, there were no buildings until the top of the hill was reached, where there was a small frame building in which the United Brethren
Society held their services and had a few frame dwellings near it, one of which was occupied by a cabinet maker by the name of Ungebehler.
A little later in the history of the town the vacant ground between the alley at the livery stable and Union Street, which was owned by Charles and George Huntzinger, brothers
whose store was on Main Street, below the railroad, was laid out and sold as building lots and upon them houses were erected by the following parties: William Gensemer Sr.,
Moses Lentzel, Absalom Webber, John Worts and a William Fritz. On the corner of Saint John and Union Street, Mr. Roth who was a justice of the peace, erected a dwelling house
and had a butcher shop connected with it. As these were all brick buildings, it was a kind of new departure from the old style of building. Extending our view from the end of Saint
John Street to the country we find the following farms: Abraham Boyer or Hans Boyer, as he was familiarly called by the citizens of the town where he was well known and many of
whom had a familiar saying that when the wind blew down from Hans Boyer's farm there would be rain and as most of the rain winds came from that direction it often proved true.
The next farm in going down the valley were the farms of three Bowen brothers; Samuel, Mark and John, and then the Emerich farm where our well known citizen, Elijah Emereich,
spent his youthful days as a farmer boy. Below this farm was that of John Deibert, since known as the Filbert farm.
Though his name was John, he was generally called Cheese Deibert, in order to distinguish him from others in the vicinity of the same name. He was thus given this particular name
on account of his selling that article at market. Next to his farm was that of Reuben Peale, who was the grandfather of its present owner. It was one of the early dairy farms of the
county and was carried on very successfully by Mr. Peale's sons. Since that time it has undergone a number of changes that have greatly improved its appearance through the
erection of a number of fine buildings, making it look very home like.
As to Canal Street in its early days, upon the east side facing the canal there were several residences, amongst the number a hotel of Augustus Hoffman, now occupied by Mr.
Sterner as a bakery, the residence of Dr. Samuel H. Shannon and the store of Charles A. Meck. Across the canal on the west side, the yards and stables of the Schuylkill Navigation
Company were situated, occupying the whole square between Main and Columbia Streets. Before the canal was abandoned this was a very busy place as the company had a great
many animals to feed and care for at this end of the line. Columbia Street, between the canal and the river, when laid out, was, on account of its
location and level nature, was planned to be the business street of town and was therefore given a good width. There was no idea at that time of the great floods of coal dirt that
would later be spread over the surface of that beautiful part of the town, and filling up the channel of the river, making it an undesirable place to live in. Some of the early residents
of Columbia Street whose names the writer can recall are Benneville Eckert, John Saylor, John Goas, Jacob Sterner, Jacob Schumacher, Joshua Birchfield and Andrew Willower. At
the end of the bridge crossing the river was the hotel of Daniel Boyer which is still there but since greatly enlarged. It was a favorite stopping place for the wood and timber teams
as they passed through there when hauling material to the railroad and canal. On the flat ground south of Columbia Street, generally called the Dutch Flat, the following persons
lived: Charles Reed and Peter Fritz, who lived near the bank of the river, the latter having a small boat in which he frequently rowed on the river, as the water at that point was of
considerable depths before it was filled up with coal dirt that was washed down from the mines. It was said that before the opening of the mines it was good fishing ground and an
old friend of the writer who worked at the car shops in the early days once told me that when he was a boy, shad were frequently caught at that point. I do not know as to whether or
not he was any relation to George Washington or not, but he was a good reliable man and would hardly tell a lie, especially when talking about fish.
Others living on this flat were Daniel Freehafer, Monroe Riland, Michael Sauer and Christian Spindler. There was also a brickyard and a pottery there. There was also a very fine
truck garden there owned by Daniel Saylor, where John Meck, an English trucker, raised a variety of very fine vegetables for the Pottsville market but after the high freshet of 1850,
when the Tumbling Run dam broke, it could no longer be used for that purpose, it having been covered with sand and coal dirt. In several years after this he worked as the same
occupation for the writer's father on his Schuylkill Mountain farm. Before this flood this piece of ground, now a comparative desert, was a scene of natural beauty. In its lower part
the river made an almost circular curve, enclosing a piece of ground that was called Boyer's Eck, or corner, which was covered with a grove of very tall, stately trees, and they with
the river, which was at that point a good bathing place, made a very desirable place for the lovers of the beautiful in nature to take a walk to enjoy its beauties and was often used
for that purpose. This beautiful grove, as well as the one on the farm of Henry Boyer, now known as Fairmount, which was also used by Schuylkill Haven's early citizens as a
pleasure resort, have both fell a victim to the woodman's axe with the exception of a few trees in the latter place, which we may hope will be long spared through some influence.
The public square and the group of frame houses now surrounding it were all built at an early date in the town's history. The double frame house on the north side of Union Street,
on the opposite corner of the alley from the Grace church parsonage, was built by Peter Laubenstein and his son, William. The latter was a carpenter and the former a retired farmer
from Wayne Township. The son resided in the corner house for several years until April 1, 1875, when the writer moved into it and resided there for ten years before moving to his
present home on the Schuylkill Mountain. On the corner of the school alley, John G. Guertler, the writing master, so prominent in those days before typewriters were used,
resided. On the south side on Union Street at Saint Peter, John Frehafer, contractor and lumber merchant, lived until he built his large brick house on Saint John Street. Above him
on the same side of the street the houses which are still standing and which were built by John Rudy, were occupied by the following tenants: Henry Raudenbush, D. B. Holmes and
a Mr. Gratz and a Mr. Bates. The corner house in the block was owned and occupied by Andrew McClerk, a carpenter who later moved to Chester, Pennsylvania to work at a
shipyard. On the opposite corner from McClerk's, a Mr. Gottschall, who was a boatman for many years on the Schuylkill Canal, lived and near him, Mr. Stakemeyer. The land on the
hill back of these houses up to the line of Henry Boyer's farm was owned by John Rudy, and was used as farmland and on the ground on which Samuel Rowland's bleachery and the
residences of Charles Palsgrove, Charles Kline, William J. Sherer and the Charles A. Meck property and others are located and which give Schuylkill Haven quite a scriptural
appearance, "As a city set upon a hill cannot be hid." On the north side of Union Street, at the corner of Margaretta, a boatman by the name of Sheehan lived. The residents in
Pleasant Row back of the school house were as follows: Peter Craiklow, Joseph Wagner, George Brown and Jacob Schwenk. The school house when built was three stories in
height, with a prominent steeple on top, to which was attached a weather vane, pointed to the north, east, south and west, and was a useful weather guide to the citizens of the
town in the days before the weather bureau was established. The two rooms in the third story were used as a lodge room and for a school room for boat boys in the winter season,
when they were not engaged on the canal. The writer's brother Edward taught this school during one winter and found that some of these boys, after spending the summer on the
canal, were not quite as docile as lambs and when he tried to correct one of the large boys for misbehavior, he turned on him and thought he would thrash the teacher, but he being
a farmer and used to threshing grain, he did not succeed. This third story, which had been poorly constructed, after remaining on the building for many years, was considered
unsafe and was taken off, leaving the building in its present shape.
One of the important industries in Schuylkill Haven has always been, and still is, the P & R car shops, and therefore the following description written by the writer several years ago
when writing their history, will bear repeating in this article. At the time I entered the service of the company in August of 1853, the main shop consisted of a good sized stone
building with ventilators extending along the peak of the roof. It was used for a blacksmith shop and contained eight fires with a circular fan to blow them and a machine that was
run by the engine used for cutting bolts and tapping nuts. Adjoining this building on the north, but a short distance from the Mine Hill crossing was a larger frame building in which
the carpenter work required in rebuilding or repairing the cars was done. It contained no machinery of any kind at this time, as all framing was worked out by hand, principally from
the rough lumber as received from the saw mill. Later two circular saws and some other machinery was added for the purpose of facilitating the work. These buildings were
erected in 1844 by John Fordman, who was then and for many years afterward, until retired on account of old age, the company's master carpenter. He had acted in that capacity for
fifty years. Back of the blacksmith shop, at a slightly higher elevation, was the engine room, built of brick and containing an upright eight horsepower engine used for blowing the
blacksmith fires and running the bolt cutting machines. Immediately in front of these shops, running south from the Mine Hill crossing, was a long track denominated the shop track,
over which were two buildings fitted up with the necessary machinery for doing light repairs and in this track were several small turntables used for getting the four wheel coal cars
which needed heavy repairs into the shop. There was a side track running into the north end of the carpenter shop for the eight wheel cars that needed heavy repairs. These
shops, with a small office at the south end of the blacksmith shop and which was very close to the running track, were all in a yard enclosed by a board fence. The office was about
ten feet square, and when the writer took charge, was rather rudely equipped with furniture. There was an old desk with a slightly sloping lid covered with green baize upon which
most of the writing was done and was large enough on the inside to keep the books and papers. On the top of the desk there was a kind of a tin pepper box arrangement, filled with
coarse sand to be used for drying the ink after writing, as blotting pads were unknown at that time. In addition to this desk there was a small table, three very common chairs and a
small cannon stove. There was also a box of red wafers upon the desk that were used for sealing letters shut and a high stool in front of it so that a writer could sit down when tired
of standing. At that time there were about forty or fifty men employed in various capacities in and around the shop. The cars passing through the shop yard were all handled by
John Stocker and his big horse, Billy, after they had been pushed together by hand power, at which work the foreman, John Worts, usually lent a hand. To complete the appearance
of things at this time it will be necessary to mention some of the surroundings. In this respect the most prominent thing to be mentioned is the large red dome that stood about 100
yards south of the shops and which was said to be the largest dome in the world. It was certainly much larger than the dome on the Capitol building at Washington. It was erected
soon after the extension of the railroad from Reading to Schuylkill Haven and was intended for the housing of their locomotives whilst waiting for trains at this end of the road.
Schuylkill Haven was considered as the terminal of the road at that time as it was the main shipping point, and all transportation charges were calculated from there. This building
was built under the supervision of G. A. Nicolls, General Superintendent of the road and its chief engineer, Richard Osborn. For many years it was one of the wonders of Schuylkill
Haven as well as the surrounding country, as from any prominent point it could be seen when many miles away. I will try to give a short description of it. The foundation wall upon
which the dome rested was circular in shape and about twenty feet high from the ground and had a diameter of 96 feet. On the top of the dome proper was a circular ventilator 25
feet in height, which was surmounted with a ball and a locomotive that acted as a vane. The extreme height from the floor to the top of the ventilator was 92 feet. The entrance
track was through two large double doors on the south side and this track was connected with a large circular turntable working on small cast iron rollers, and which was used for
placing the locomotives upon the short tracks surrounding the inside of the building and abutting against the wall. There were numerous windows in the surrounding wall for the
purpose of giving light and air and also a number of high narrow windows for the same purpose encircling the second story or gallery in the inside which was reached by a flight of
stairs. The roof of the dome was tin, painted red and fastened down with copper nails. At the time that the building was erected, the engines used upon the road were of small type
and peculiar construction. Among the first engines used was the Rocket and several other engines of that class built for the company by Braithwaite and Company, London, England
in 1838. The smoke stack upon these engines was funnel shape, broad at the top and narrow at the bottom and there was no roof on them to shelter the engineer. The weight of
these engines was about eight tons. Another one of these early engines was the Gowan and Marx, that was built in 1839 by Eastwick and Harrison, Philadelphia, and weighed eleven
tons. This engine had a high narrow smokestack, two pair of driving wheels and angle cylinders. For light engines of this character, such as were used in 1844, when this building
was erected, it answered the purpose for which it was designed, but on account of the rapid growth of locomotives and their tanks in length, in 1853, when the writer first came
upon the scene, it had already become almost entirely useless as the tracks inside the building for the engines to stand upon were entirely too short. At this time and for several
years afterward it was used for storing useless engines. One of these engines stored away for a number of years was called the Novelty and was said to have been designed by G.
A. Nicolls, the superintendent of the road and built in 1844 but for some reason proved to be a failure and was never of any service to the company unless it was for the purpose of
proving to them that an excellent civil engineer is not always a good mechanical engineer. Another engine that was stored there for a time was a peculiar built engine called the
"Celeste," a good sized engine for that date that was said to have been designed by the wife of Ross Winaus, an English builder of Baltimore. This engine had a platform in front of
the engine, placed about where the headlights are now situated, upon where the engineer was to stand when running, in order to give him a clear view ahead and thus prevent
collisions. Just like a woman's caution, but what about the engineer?
It would seem that the only use that was ever made of this large and expensive building besides that of storing useless engines was for housing the two shifting engines used
around the Mine Hill Crossing and the small one used at the car shop when they were not at work, and it was torn down gradually during the years 1864 and 1865, and the space that
it occupied was filled up with tracks. Another building that was in proximity to the old car shop was a large stone building just opposite on the other side of the two main tracks. It
was built by a Dr. Fitch of new York, and intended for a storehouse of some kind, but it was never entirely finished, or ever used for any purpose whatever, and was evidently
erected as a matter of speculation, he having foresight enough to know it would have to be condemned and torn down by the railroad company, in order to make room for their
sidings and he could then claim heavy damages. If such was his plan it did not prove to be very successful, as when the jury called to assess the damages had viewed the ground,
they were taken in a special train to Port Clinton to deliberate, and after the company had provided them with a good dinner, the amount allowed him did not appear to be any way
excessive. At the north of the shop very near the crossing there was a two story frame building built at a very early date, used for the coal clerk's office, where the making up of the
trains, and where the way bills, and all other papers necessary for the shipping was made out. The first occupant to preside over this office was Edward H. Wheeler, who after
remaining there for several years, was appointed as superintendent of the upper end of the road, and stationed at Palo Alto, where the company furnished him with a handsome
house, surrounded with a well laid out yard filled with trees and shrubbery. This office was afterward used by Daniel Small, who took Mr. Wheeler's position for a short time, and
then a new building was built for a coal clerk's office and the old one moved to the car shop, to be used by Alexander Weiser, the painter, for his paint shop and oil house. Having
mentioned Those are most of the principal points of Schuylkill Haven in regard to the Reading Railroad.
One of the outlying districts which of late years has been forging ahead very rapidly is the part west of the Schuylkill River, reached by crossing the covered bridge at the lower end
of Columbia Street and which was built in 1850 after the high freshet of that year had washed an older one away. At that time, the end of the bridge going toward Cressona, there
were but three or four small homes grouped together that were built by one of the Bittle families for tenant houses and the place was called Bittle Stettle. Further on, upon the west
side of the Cressona Road, there was a small log building that had been occupied by Martin Peifer, with his wife and a young child, and he having been jealous of his wife, murdered
her in the bed when they were sleeping but did not injure the baby girl, who it is said is still living. This house was later occupied by a colored man by the name of Robert Haines, a
brakemen on the Mine Hill road for many years. He was a genial, unassuming kind of man, who was respected and liked by his fellow railroaders. He had a son, Billy, however, who
was not quite as gentle as his father, and who on account of his fighting qualities, was frequently getting into trouble and was considered by the community as a kind of a desperate
character and rather dangerous when under the influence of liquor which was often the case. Turning to the left up the Schuylkill Mountain road there were no houses on the west
side of the road where there are now so many beautiful homes located. On the east side there were but three houses. The first one was a log house now occupied by Frank
Kramer, which was an old farmhouse in the early history of the county and is probably one hundred years old. The next was a frame house, still standing, that was occupied by John
Coho, who was a Justice of the Peace, and whose wife and daughter were amongst the very early milliners of town. The other house, a frame, still standing, was occupied by Robert
Mellon who was a mason by trade.
Going straight out Long Run Valley Road, the land was all occupied by farmers. The first farm upon which Bittle's Dam and ice house are now located, was occupied by William
Kirschner, a young man who had inherited the place from his father, but who, about 1851, sold the property and moved to the west. The next three farms going towards
Friedensburg were owned by Bittle families and then there were several farms owned by Berger families, and on one of which, Attorney at Law Charles E. Berger was born and
spent his youthful days. This part of Schuylkill Haven has made a wonderful change of late years, as besides the large and compact dwelling houses at the lower part of the
Schuylkill Mountain Road, the town has been extended out the Long Run Valley for quite a distance and on Berne Street, besides the large factory of Jere Bast, fine dwelling houses
have been erected on both sides of the street almost to Mr. Saylor's farm on the hill and if Daniel M. Phillips, the contractor, should continue on in business for a few years, he will
have the town hitched on to Cressona. In speaking of Mr. Phillips, who was raised on a farm on the Schuylkill Mountain, where in his early days he had plenty of fresh air and hard
work, I would say he was only one of the many boys who after hard work on the farm, and whose education was started in the little schoolhouses upon the hills and in the farming
districts of our country, in later years became useful and prominent citizens of the cities and towns of our commonwealth. In this particular instance I will mention some of the other
residents of Schuylkill Haven, who, besides Daniel M. Phillips, added so largely to the growth of the town, and who also, like him, started their education in the little school house on
the creek. They are as follows: Mr. Moyer, Justice of the Peace; Jere F. Bast, manufacturer; James Noecker and George M. Paxson, attorneys at law; William and Lewis Dewald,
carpenters; James Phillips, carpenter and Joseph Phillips, engineer.
In this rambling paper I have tried to show some of the things as they were a half century ago in Schuylkill Haven and vicinity. In comparing them with the present, anyone can see
that there have been many and great changes. But what of the future? Judging from the past and from its situation in a healthy, mountainous country, with its pure air and an
abundance of pure water, when they get it, and surrounded as it is by beautiful scenery and close by to that wonderful underground reservoir of anthracite coal which nature has so
kindly stored away for the use of man, thus cheapening the facilitating her many manufacturing industries, as well as adding comfort to her homes and also in the midst of a farming
district that is capable of furnishing the many kinds of fruit and vegetables necessary for beautiful food, and having the very best of transportation facilities reaching out in every
direction, it need not take a prophet or the son of a prophet to see that there is a bright future in store for Schuylkill Haven and its suburbs.
|The Call of August 18, 1911
OUR POST OFFICE - Outrageous Conditions Exist at Local Office
Women and Children Fear to Enter During Evening Hour. Lobby Entirely Too Small. Need More Boxes.
Has it ever occurred to the residents of this town what poor accommodations are meted out at the local post office? Have you ever stopped to consider the conditions existing at
this post office as compared with that of other towns smaller than Schuylkill Haven? Rather unfavorable are they not? Have you ever considered the large amount of mail that is
handled daily at this office and have you ever been in one of the crushes which occur several times a day at this office? Is it not a shameful and disgraceful condition of affairs and
are you Mr. Businessman and Mr. Citizen going to put up with these conditions without protest and allow them to continue when then can be easily remedied?
The post office that daily handles the enormous amount of mail matter that is handled in this town, and an office that caters to over six thousand persons, including the rural mail
districts, should certainly be more adequate than the present one. Schuylkill Haven as a manufacturing center, it is well known, ranks as one of the most important in the State and
yet it has the poorest post office accommodations, we believe we are safe in saying, in the State.
The post office has the large number of 247 mail boxes, 46 being lock boxes and 201 being call boxes. The lobby space, 21 by 7 feet, 6 feet of this length being 14 feet in width, must
accommodate a population of 4,747. The fixtures of the office proper, in use seventeen years, are inadequate in every way and seriously handicap the postmaster and clerks in
distributing the mail and catering to the public. The present acting postmaster is justified in not remodeling or securing new fixtures by reason of the failure of Congress to make a
definite appointment, the term having expired several years ago. Ten applicants for mail boxes one day and six another, this week, had to be refused because there are none to
rent. We are sure if a post office inspector would witness the crush and jam between the hours of 12 and 1, when the employees of the various industries call for their mail, and the
still further jam between 7:00 and 7:30 o'clock p. m., when over half the population of the town call for their mail, he would be more than surprised at the lack of accommodations
afforded, and immediately report to his department the grave necessity of a larger room for the local post office.
The confusion and jam is so great at the hours mentioned that women and children hesitate to enter for fear of being trampled upon or having their clothing torn. Not long ago a
resident of town broke through the floor. This in addition makes the office not only inadequate but unsafe. Summing the matter up, it is outrageous that the Post Office Department
allows such conditions to exist. The matter has reached such a state of affairs that the local authorities are seriously considering the matter of placing one of the local police at the
entrance of the office from 7:00 to 7:30 o'clock and allowing only a certain number to enter at a time. This may be necessary to ensure protection from probable injury. It is high time
that action is taken, especially by the businessmen of town and a determined effort made to eliminate the conditions in question.
|The Call of October 13, 1911
MUCH NEEDED IMPROVEMENT - Court Will Be Petitioned To Build Bridge Over River - This Would Be Great Improvement
A petition is being circulated among the residents of town, Cressona and North Manheim Township and is being signed by all approached, which will be presented to the Court in
the near future. The petition is for a bridge across the Schuylkill river that will lessen the distance between the central portion of town and the western section, better known as the
Gravel Bank. The petition set forth that the section of the town being built up very rapidly and that the people living in this section have no way of reaching the business portion of
the borough excepting by means of what as known as the Boyer's bridge on Columbia Street or by going through the yards of the Reading Company. The route over the Boyer
bridge makes the distance to travel at least one mile longer than a bridge across the river at a point further up the river would be. That all the school children living in that part of
the borough must use this roundabout way or cross the Reading yards, which is very dangerous. That the P & R Company has posted notices stopping the public from using their
property as a thoroughfare. That a bridge at said point would reduce the distance between this town and Cressona and that portion of North Manheim Township at least one mile.
That the additional bridge is very necessary and that the expense of erecting a bridge is too burdensome to be borne by the borough. The petition Thursday afternoon had twenty
|The Call of November 5, 1915
PREPARING FOR FREE DELIVERY
Judging from the large number of persons who during the past week have made inquiries for the number of their homes and have placed orders for numbers, one would think that
prior to this week hardly any one had numbered his home. This is incorrect as a great host of persons had prior to the past week been ready to receive mail from the carriers by
having had his house numbered and a letter box or letter slot placed. During the week fully one hundred persons have made inquiry at this office for the number of their house and
have taken steps to have a number placed. According to the rush of the past week and the number of homes that had already been numbered there certainly can not be many
houses in the town that are not numbered by this date. There is no compulsion in the matter and persons not desirous of having mail left at their homes will only have to refuse to
place or have placed a number on their house. Directions have again been given to the local Post Master that positively no mail is to be left at any house that is not numbered.
The town is divided into three districts as follows: District Number One: all of the East Ward bounded by Main Street on the north and all of the South Ward above the P & R Railroad.
In other words the entire territory bounded by the P & R Railroad on the west and Main Street on the north. District Number Two includes all of the South Ward. District Number
Three includes all the territory north of Main Street or the entire North Ward and the East Ward north of Main Street. There will be three deliveries each day in each district.
Persons having lock boxes at the Post Office will find it a great advantage and convenience to continue the same even though the town has free carrier service. Mail coming into
the town while the carriers are out on their route or off duty will be distributed and as usual placed in the lock boxes and call boxes. It will remain in the boxes until the carrier is
ready to go out on his route. In this way persons will be enabled to call at the office between deliveries and secure their mail as heretofore. Next week there will appear in these
columns complete and full information covering the location of the letter boxes, the exact route to be covered by each carrier and the exact time of delivery and collection in each
|The Call of December 23, 1921
NEW STATE ROAD WOULD CUT OUT TWO ARCHES
It is understood State Highway Department engineers have recently been busy making surveys between Connor's Crossing and Mount Carbon. The supposition is that the same are
preliminary to the construction of a new state highway between these two points. It has been definitely stated by the State Highway Department that within a year or two a new road
would be constructed. That is one reason why the state did not continue the permanent paving from Nosedale Creek to the end of the present state road paving at the borough
limits. It is also learned that state engineers have tabooed the idea of extending a new state road in a straight line from the Nosedale Creek to a point above the Pennsylvania
Railroad tracks at Connor for the reason that it would be too costly and that a dangerous grade could not be avoided. Another plan that is now believed to be under consideration is
the extension of the road from Connor Crossing along the old canal bed and at a point west of the Pennsylvania Railroad tracks to a point at the third arch or at the bottom of
Jaynor's Hill above Seven Stars. An almost straight road could be built. Another particularly desirous advantage would be the entire elimination of two of the arches underneath the
Pennsylvania Railroad roadway. Namely the one at Connor and the one at Jaynor's Hill. It is believed the newly proposed route will be favorably considered by the state department
and one may expect a new state road between Connor Crossing and Mount Carbon at not such a distant time.
|The Call of October 31, 1921
COLUMBIA STREET BRIDGE BEING RUSHED
Work on excavating for the east side pier at the Columbia Street bridge was commenced Monday morning. From present indications it will be another engineering feat to build this
pier as the water from the river rushes into the excavation as quick as it is made. It may be necessary to construct a high and wide dike in order to reach a solid or rock bottom.
Preparations were made the forepart of the week to remove the remaining timbers of the old bridge and it is likely before this article the last vestige of the old time bridge will have
been removed. Contrary to expectations the county engineer forbid the placing of the concrete topping or bedding on the first or west side arch of the bridge. This work cannot be
done until the east side arch is completed.
The center or midstream pier has now been finished. In order to accomplish this work it was necessary to work nights last week and some few hours on Sunday. Comment heard on
the same is to the effect that it seems rather narrow and weakly constructed. It is reported the temporary bridge is also becoming weaker from the constant heavy traffic of heavy
machines it is subjected to. It may be necessary to considerably strengthen this bridge as it will from present indications be required to serve the public for several months before
the new bridge is completed. Doubt is expressed as to whether the bridge can be completed before spring as the near approaching cold weather will make concreting impossible.
|The Call of August 29, 1919
CHURCH IMPROVEMENTS SOMEWHAT DELAYED
The improvements to the Grace Evangelical Church have, during the past week, been delayed on account of the nonarrival of material. The plasterers this week were finishing the
addition and the required work at the front of the church where the location of the stairway was changed. It is expected that the improvements to the first floor will be completed so
that this floor together with the addition can be occupied and used for services at least by the latter part of October. The congregation intended to have a gallery built in the
auditorium but the state law requires a fire escape when a gallery is built. It was found not advisable and nearly impossible to place a fire escape on the building and instead of
having a gallery that can be occupied, there will be what is termed a sham gallery. It is necessary to have it this way, otherwise there would be a great opening from the hallway to
the ceiling. In appearance it will in every way resemble a gallery but it will be entirely closed and can not be used.
|The Call of October 10, 1919
TENNIS CLUB TO BUILD CLUBHOUSE
The Schuylkill Haven Tennis Club recently purchased a plot of ground from Keller and Michel located on the "Mule Yard" plot in the South Ward, on which they will erect a good
sized, modern and comfortably equipped bungalow or clubhouse. The plot purchased is 180 by 180 feet fronting on Saint Charles Street. Four tennis courts will also be placed on
this ground and with four courts it will insure the holding of tennis tournaments in Schuylkill haven, something impossible heretofore. The courts will be in shape for use in early
spring. An invitation is extended to any person who is interested in tennis to become a member of the club. Already several of the Pottsville players have aligned themselves with
the local club as the Outdoor Club at Pottsville, where the tennis club had headquarters, will shortly be a thing of the past as the same is to be taken over by a golf club. The
contract for the erection of the clubhouse will be let very shortly it is understood so it can be used the coming season. It is proposed to have it built on the most modern lines of a
clubhouse. It will contain all the features of an up to date outdoor clubhouse.
|The Call of June 27, 1963
CONSTRUCTION OF NEW $115,000 LIBRARY ON SAINT JOHN STREET BEGINS
The Federal Housing Administration in Philadelphia has reduced the amount of its grant to Schuylkill Haven for the construction of the library to $64,680. The original allocation was
$89,100, or 66 percent of the original estimated cost of construction. The bids of the lowest contractors for the construction, however, were well under the estimated $117,000. The
administration therefore will pay only the 66 percent of the construction cost. The bids of three contractors for the four phases of the work totaled $89,134. A two percent
contingence is added to that estimate totaling $91,000. The architect's fees total $6,200 plus a projected contingence of $800 making a total of $98,000.The 66 percent of the total
paid for construction only by the administration equals $64,680, while the borough will pay $33,320. Added costs of furnishings and new books will bring the total cost to
The new library building will be on two stories, a ground and first floor. The building will measure 40 feet across the front wall on Saint John Street and 48 feet across the back. The
front wall on Union Street will be 60 feet long. Entry will be made through a two story aluminum and thermopane entranceway at the corner. The doors will open into a pentagon
shaped lobby, measuring 14 feet at the apex and 16 feet from corner to corner. Another entrance will be located at the other end of the building on Union Street. The ground floor
of the library will contain a work room, 12 by 19 feet, men's and ladies' rest rooms and a boiler room. The ground floor features a children's area, 24 by 42 feet. The floors will be
vinyl tile with acoustical ceilings. The first floor has the main reference room, measuring 56 by 37 feet. The building will be of brick, aluminum and glass. Ten inch letters spelling
"Public Library" will grace the front wall on each side. Clearing work has already been started by the general contractor, Schneider and Davis of Pottsville.
Officially, however, work will begin July 1 after a ground breaking ceremony. Work is scheduled to be finished by the end of the year. While the new building is under construction,
the library has taken temporary quarters in the former Call Building on Saint John Street. Books may be returned at this site but normal library services will be suspended until the
week of July 8. By that time it is expected that shelves will have been installed and books arranged. The library is sponsored jointly by the school board and the borough. During
the year they also have a drive for funds and for membership on the committee. Total books now owned by the library amounts to approximately 5,000. Some new books will be
purchased for the library and it is hoped that the volume will continue to expand with the age of the library. A special meeting of borough council will be held tonight to discuss the
decrease in the grant offered by the housing administration for the library.
|The Call of November 26, 1915
NEW BIDS ASKED FOR TOWN HALL
Town Council at a special meeting held Monday evening decided, in view of the refusal of the contractor to honor the contract that was awarded for the erection of town hall , to
rescind it and to readvertise for bids. The new bids will be opened on Friday evening, December 3rd. Solicitor Noecker stated that after the proper form of agreement had been
drawn he notified the contractor to call at his home and sign the contract. The contractor signed the same Wednesday evening, November 17th but the next morning he received a
note from him stating that he had forgotten to include the total amount of the cost of the brick in his bid and would therefore have to refuse to accept the contract. The solicitor
stated that under the circumstances it would possibly be the most fair to ask for new bids or council could award the contract to the original contractor on his revised bid.
Mr. Hoffman stated that the next lowest bidder, Mr. Becker, stated he felt as if council should award the contract to him. That since the different amounts of the bids have been
exposed it was unfair to the bidders to ask them to bid on the same proposition again. The matter at hand was discussed at some length. It was stated that with the bid of the next
lowest bidder the cost of the building would run to an amount higher than the council could by law contract for. It was also stated that all of the bids now in were higher than the
stipulated sum suggested by the architect and the architect stated that if the bids would be too high he himself would take the contract and erect the building at the estimate made
some time in August. Mr. High, the architect, stated that since he made his estimate in August, council had revised the plans and that therefore his estimate would be somewhat
higher. Mr. High did not hesitate in stating that he felt all of the bids were rather high and that the building could be built for less. Mr. High thought the best plan for council would
be to readvertise for bids. The majority of the councilmen expressed themselves in favor of the readvertising for bids and a motion passed to do such.
|The Call of March 19, 1915
MUST HAVE BASE BALL HERE
The suggestion in last week's issue of The Call as to the proposed organization, if possible, of an association to be composed of a hundred or more persons to conduct base ball in
Schuylkill haven this season, has met with greater approval than was anticipated by those persons in charge of the proposition. During the week the writer has had a number of
inquiries from many of the good old dyed in the wool base ball enthusiasts and supporters as to when the movement will begin. One hears, on all sides, comment to the effect that
the town simply dare not be without a fast representative team this year. While base ball has never been a paying proposition here, and while this season promises to be even a
duller year than heretofore, on account of many persons being without employment and others only working quarter and a half time, the proposed scheme of having an association
of a large membership assume the responsibility for the conduct of the game, appears to be all the more sensible and effective method to take hold of this sport.
The idea as explained last week is to secure as many persons as possible to subscribe or contribute $25, $10, $5, $3, $2 or $1 to a fund. By subscribing any of the specified amounts
the subscriber becomes a member of the new association. Petitions or lists will be circulated about town to secure subscribers. It is then proposed to hold a meeting at which
every subscriber to the fund will be invited and urged to attend. The meeting will quite likely be held in Keystone Hall so as to accommodate all the members. The members will
then form an organization, elect officers, a board of directors or committee to conduct the sport for the association. The details of the organization can all be worked out at the first
meeting. In this way a good sum of money no doubt can be secured at the outstart of the season.
It is not the idea in the proposed organization of a new association to purchase the right, title and control of the base ball park and paraphernalia from the old association outright,
but to assume the responsibility in connection with the members of the present association. However, no one person is to have more power or say in the conduct of the affairs of
the new organization, other than the directors and manger elected at the first or subsequent meeting for this purpose. Viewed from all sides the idea seems to be the best method
yet suggested to provide base ball in this town as no one person or several persons can be secured to take charge of and assume all responsibility of conducting real base ball.
|The Call of June 16, 1922
DIED AFTER BEING SAVED FROM DROWNING
John March, brother of Joe March of Market Street, died in the home of his parents on Sunday evening from exhaustion, following a swimming accident at Willow Lake in town,
which occurred in the afternoon. There have been different accounts of the "near drowning." One os to the effect that March was probably stunned from diving into the water at a
point where it was too shallow. Another is that he became exhausted and another that he suffered from cramps. In any event, the lad, but 18 years of age, was pulled out by his
companions after he had gone down for the third time. Dr.. Lessig was summoned and gave first aid treatment and the patient responded and appeared sufficiently recovered to be
taken to his home. This was done. Later he suffered a weak spell and despite the efforts of two physicians who were summoned, expired at 11:30 o'clock. A number of brothers and
sisters survive. The accident was witnessed by hundreds of persons and coming so close to the fatal accident of the week, struck fear into the hearts of many.
|The Call of September 16, 1921
NEW BRIDGE AT CONNOR IS DANGEROUS
The new concrete bridge crossing the Schuylkill at Connor has been completed. The approaches to the same are now being filled in and as soon as the work is finished, the bridge
will be opened to traffic. The filling in or the building of the approaches will require a week or more. It is hoped, however, to have the bridge opened some time the coming week.
The work is being done by the North Manheim Township under the direction of Supervisor Elias Shappell. The contract for the same was turned over to Mr. Evans, who has the
Centre Avenue paving contract. The completion of the same depends upon how much excavating material will be available from Centre Avenue within the next few days.
The bridge is of a neat pattern of reinforced concrete and of a width sufficient to allow two autos or teams on it at one time. One objectionable feature to this bridge, however, is
the total absence of win walls. There are absolutely no wing walls and there is a clear drop of four feet to the street level at the ends of the bridge. There is about a 30 to 40 foot
drop to the water level. This makes the approach to the bridge dangerous on account of the curves that will be in the road and even without curves it would be dangerous. Wing
walls could easily have been built and at small additional cost while the contractor was building the main structure. It would have added also much to the appearance of the bridge.
It is the intention, we understand, of the township to put iron guard rails of some kind on both ends in order to afford at least some protection to the public. The bridge is located
several feet further north than the old bridge and in order to avoid a sharp turn in the road it will be necessary to move a number of trolley and telephone poles as well as the
trolley station to points other than their present ones. The road will be made to cut across in an almost direct, straight line from the state road from Pottsville.
|The Call of February 3, 1922
BRIDGE OPENED TO TRAFFIC
Last Wednesday afternoon without any special ceremony whatsoever, the new concrete bridge across the Schuylkill River at Columbia Street, was thrown open to public travel.
While the structure is not entirely completed it is sufficiently so to accommodate both vehicular and pedestrian traffic. The fore part of the week the large columns for the
electroliers were placed in position and it may be that the wiring will be completed and connected in time to have the bridge illuminated by the latter [art of the week. There still
remains a considerable amount of finishing and polishing to be done to the concrete and it is understood this work will be continued whenever weather permits. The temporary
wooden structure north of the new bridge was removed Thursday and Friday.
|The Shamokin News Dispatch of May 5, 1941
TOWN HAS JUSTICE IN EVERY PRECINCT
Schuylkill Haven in Schuylkill County is the only borough in the state having a justice of the peace for each of its four wards. Inquiry made at the courthouse at Pottsville as to why
Schuylkill haven has such an over supply of justices revealed that as far back as 1858 a Special Act of Assembly was passed to give that borough a justice for each ward. Other
communities elect justices on the basis of population with the result that other boroughs do not have more than one or two justices as against the four in the small borough of
|The Mount Carmel Item of December 24, 1941
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN MENTAL HOSPITAL TO BE ABANDONED
Welfare Secretary E. Arthur Sweeny is expected to notify Schuylkill County Commissioners before January 1 that the mental hospital at Schuylkill Haven will be closed, the United
Press learned today. Sweeny is expected to receive a report Monday classifying the institution's 572 patients. The classifications were completed by physicians at two other state
hospitals, Danville and Wernersville, thus eliminating what was believed to be the last obstacle to the formal notice necessary before patients can be transferred. Sweeny was
unable to indicate how many patients would be retained under state control and how many transferred to the nearby Schuylkill County Home until classifications were completed. He
said the state will transfer to Danville and Wernersville all violent patients and all who are in need of medical or psychiatric care, senile patients being left in the county home.
Sweeny said he had decided to vacate the hospital because of in practicability of developing it as a state institution. Difficulties arising from the institution's unique charter led to
its backwardness he asserted. State acquisition of all mental patients under public care was provided for by a 1927 Act, effectiveness which was delayed by the James economy
program. Republican attempts to put off its effective date by another two years were defeated in the last session.
|The Call of September 14, 1923
LOCAL BATTERY NEEDS TEN MEN
Tonight members of headquarters Battery will place their field radio set in the open space between the First National Bank and Stine's Drug Store and attempt to tune in for the
results of the Dempsey-Firpo fight which will be staged in New York City. The results will be placed on a bulletin board and be megaphoned round by round which will give the fight
fans a real treat. Even though you are not a fight fan, the work of installing the radio, which is operated by a triangular aerial and without a ground wire, should be interesting to
witness. During their encampment at Fort Monroe, Virginia, the boys were successful in receiving the results of the Tendler-Leonard fight which was also fought in New York City.
This battery which is part of the 213th Anti Aircraft Artillery Regiment is a Schuylkill Haven outfit; even though their home station is marked as Pottsville, the unmistakable fact is that
95 percent of its members come from this town and it is up to the people of this borough to aid and encourage them in all their undertakings. For many years the militant portion of
our population craved for the very thing that we have, a Schuylkill haven outfit, but at that we are not exactly satisfied and will not be satisfied until the home station reads Schuylkill
haven and we have an armory of our own. Until that time let us keep it a Schuylkill haven outfit and the only way is for boys of this town to make it such. At present ten enlistments
are necessary to place it at maintenance strength. Will these ten men come from Schuylkill haven or shall they come from Pottsville or other towns?
|The Call of October 19, 1923
RED MEN TO DEDICATE HALL
On Saturday evening, November 10th, Pecos Tribe of red Men of Schuylkill Haven dedicate with appropriate and special ceremonies their home or hall on West Main Street. Plans
call for a gala night with a grand street parade, an initiation of a class of one hundred candidates and a banquet and dedicatory exercises. There will be hundreds of visiting Pale
Faces present to participate in the ceremonies. Invitations have been extended to the tribes in Lavelle, Mahanoy City, Ashland, Tamaqua, Orwigsburg Pine Grove, Deturksville,
hamburg and Conshohocken. Then too the Grand Lodge officers of Great Chiefs of the State will be present to conduct the ceremonies.
One of the big features of the evening's program will be the initiation of a class of one hundred candidates into the local tribe. The Pecos tribe now enjoys a membership of 250, the
largest of any tribe in this section. With the additional one hundred members it will be one of the largest tribes in the state of Pennsylvania. The Lavelle Degree Team will confer
the first or adoption degree. The local degree team will confer the Warrior's and Chief's Degrees. Following the lodge session the dedicatory services will be held. These
exercises will be followed by a banquet which will be served in Banquet Hall. The building which is to be dedicated is located on West Main Street. It was the building formerly
occupied by the Reider Shoe Factory. Interior and exterior alterations have conformed this building into a suitable and convenient Lodge Hall. The first floor is to be equipped as
social quarters. The second floor is used as a banquet or dance hall. The third floor is used for lodge purposes. The cost of the building together with the improvements totals an
investment of $10,000 or more. The Red Men hold the distinction of n=being the only fraternal organization in Schuylkill Haven owning its own building or home.
|The Call of November 9, 1923
RED MEN WILL HAVE BIG NIGHT
Saturday evening will be a big time and mark an important event in the history of the Pecos Tribe of Red Men of Schuylkill Haven. Their recently purchased property on West Main
Street will be dedicated, a class of one hundred pale faces initiated into the order and a banquet served. There will also be a street parade. The parade is scheduled to move at six
o'clock. Many out of town Red Men will be here to participate in the evening's events. Pine Grove and Deturksville will send a delegation of several hundred with probably a band
of music. Orwigsburg will send fully one hundred or more Red Skins. Then too, Pottsville, Lavelle, Hamburg, Tamaqua and Conshohocken will be represented. The lodge session
will begin at seven thirty o'clock sharp. Following the dedicatory services the session will follow. At this time a class of fully one hundred members will be initiated into the order.
The Lavelle Degree Team will confer the adoption Degree and the other degrees will be conferred by Pecos Degree Team. A special feature of the evening's celebration will be the
signal honor being conferred on the local order by the presence of the Great Chiefs of this order who reside in Philadelphia. After the session a real banquet will be served in the
banquet hall. During the serving if the banquet an orchestra will furnish music. A social session will also be in order following the pacifying of the inner man.
|The Call of November 16, 1923
RED MEN DEDICATE $11,000 BUILDING
Saturday evening Pecos tribe of red Men of Schuylkill Haven dedicated their new home on West Main Street with appropriate and special ceremonies. In connection with this
ceremony a class of forty nine pale faces were admitted to membership making the total number of the local tribe 315. This is one of the largest tribes in the county. The parade
which was scheduled for the early part of the evening had to be abandoned by reason of the very late arrival of a number of the out of town tribes there were to participate. By
reason of the lengthy program it was necessary to start the lodge session quite early. The Adoption Degree was conferred by the Lavelle Degree Team. The Schuylkill Haven
Degree Team conferred the warrior's and the Chief's Degrees. The local lodge was particularly honored by the presence of a number of the Great Chiefs. Each one in an address
commended the local tribe for the splendid growth of membership and the program attained in procuring for themselves a splendid home. These were present: Great Sachem J.
Kits of Philadelphia, Great Chief of Records K. Frasier of Philadelphia and Great Senior Sagamore McKrate of Philadelphia.
Following the regular lodge session the dedicatory services were held. This building was purchased by the Red Men in February of 1923 at a cost of $8500. An addition has since
been built and the old building considerably remodeled so that the present real estate investment in total is $11,000. A social session and banquet was also held. Hot roast beef
with all the many side dishes were served in the banquet hall. There were short speeches made by different members and representatives from the visiting lodges. Greetings and
solicitations were brought to the local tribe by all the visiting tribes. There were about 275 persons in attendance.
|The Call of November 30, 1923
ROTARY CLUB FORMED WITH 24 MEMBERS
Final steps in the organization of a Rotary Club for Schuylkill Haven were taken Wednesday by a number of local men, thus making this section a part of Rotary International which
during the past nineteen years has established itself for the development of the idea of practical service in 1540 cities in 27 countries. The final organization of the club in Schuylkill
Haven is a result of a number of conferences that have been held by the organizing committee and the officers of the International organization, who conducted a survey of the
resources and possibilities of this community with a special view as to whether or not a Rotary Club would be of service to it. The organization committee was composed of E. S.
Noll, B. F. Reider, John Reichert, S. T. Deibert, F. H. Minnig and W. F. Meck.
Wednesday night's meeting preceded by a turkey dinner or banquet at Hotel Grand was for the purpose of forming the definite organization. A charter will be procured and the local
club enter upon its activities. The officers selected were: President E. S. Noll, Vice President J. A. Noecker, Secretary F. H. Minnig, Treasurer S. T. Deibert. Two additional directors,
W. F. Meck and Harry Schumacher were chosen. The only committee appointed by the President was that of the Entertainment and program Committee and consisted of R. F.
Williams, H. D. Felix, Frank Reider, E. B. Pflueger and G. I. Bensinger.
The charter membership consists of 24 persons namely: E. S. Noll, W. F. Meck, John Boyer, E. T. Eiler, Harry Loy, R. C. L. Greer, Clinton Confehr, E. B. Pflueger, F. H. Minnig, John
Reichert, J. A. Noecker, H. Schumacher, H. D. Felix, Melvin Bamford, Dr. Carl Eves, George Berger, John Ebling, Dr. J. A. Lessig, G. I. Bensinger, W. C. Kline, Roy Batz and B. Frank
Reider. Six officers of the Pottsville Rotary Club were present. These men explained rotary to the local men. One of them, Attorney J. A. Whitehouse also officiated as leader of the
singing of old time and of the popular songs. The Braun Orchestra of six pieces furnished the music.
|Reading Times of May 10, 1915
HORSE KILLS HOSTLER
Daniel Foose, a hostler of Schuylkill Haven, died at the Pottsville Hospital from a vicious kick of a horse, due to the compound fracture of his jaw and the shock attendant upon his
terrible injuries. He was about thirty three years of age and married, being survived by his widow and five children, the youngest but three weeks old. Foose was employed at the
Columbia Hotel. He was leading a pair of horses to the water trough, using too long a hold on the halter ropes. Suddenly one of the horses kicked out his hoof catching him in the
face and jaw. It was a terrible blow, the man's face being crushed in, his jaw bone being reduced to a mass of pulp flesh and bone. After the accident, Foose walked in to the hotel,
his mangled face and jaw, from which the blood dripped, presenting a horrible spectacle. He was moved to the Pottsville Hospital. He was a member of the Junior O. N. A. M. His
widow is the daughter of George Ney of town.
|The Call of June 20, 1924
DIED FROM BURNS WHEN OIL CAN EXPLODES
Mrs. Hannah Bowen, a well known resident of Schuylkill Haven , died Monday evening at the Pottsville Hospital from burns sustained shortly before noon at her home when an oil
can exploded. Most every stitch of clothing and wearing apparel excepting possibly her shoes were burned from her body before neighbors came to her assistance. Her sufferings
were intense and she was rushed to the Pottsville Hospital immediately but having been burned internally from inhaling flames, death came as a welcome relief to her terrible agony
at 7:30 o'clock p. m. Mrs. Bowen was about to prepare for the noon day meal. In order to hurry along a slow fire the oil can was called into play. With a report that attracted
neighbors the can of oil exploded and literally bathed her in flames. She ran screaming from the kitchen to the front of the house. Here her neighbors Joe Marsch and Joe Hartnett
came to her assistance and with carpet quickly wrapped the same about her body as she stood as a flaming torch grasping the front porch post. Her body from the feet to the head
was terribly burned. The flesh was burned from her arms and hands and it was with difficulty that the neighbor women could stand the ordeal of administering to her relief until a
Deceased was born in Schuylkill Haven and spent her entire life here. She was 62 years of age. Her husband died fifteen years ago. She was a member of the Trinity Evangelical
Church. Four children and one sister survive, namely; Ralph of Pottsville, Herman of Schuylkill Haven, Mrs. Joseph Moyer of Orwigsburg and Ray of Friedensburg. Mrs Michael
Sauer of Schuylkill Haven is the surviving sister. The funeral took place Thursday afternoon. Services were conducted at her late home on Market Street and in the Trinity
Evangelical Church by the pastor, Reverend Sydney Buxton. Many persons were in attendance as she was known to most everyone in town. D. M. Bittle was the funeral director.
|Pottsville Journal of December 21, 1909
YOUTH KILLED IN RUNAWAY - Fred Schappell Crushed To Death By Heavy Stone Wagon - Lived Three Hours
Fred, the seventeen year old son of Benjamin Schappell, of Nosedale, near Schuylkill Haven, was thrown beneath the wheels of a heavy wagon loaded with stone, in a runaway
about 4:40 o'clock yesterday afternoon, and so seriously injured that he died about half past seven last night. Young Shappell was employed as a driver on one of the teams which
carried telfording stone on the Fisher farm on the Second Mountain to the pike now being constructed between Schuylkill Haven and Orwigsburg. He had loaded the wagon and
had begun the drive down the mountain, when his horses became frightened in some unaccountable manner and getting out of control, dashed down the steep incline. Schappell
gamely stuck to the wagon and tried to control the team but at a turn in the road he was thrown off, and the whole weight of the wagon, about three tons, passed over his body. He
was picked up by another driver and conscious, though suffering intense pain, carried to the home of Elias Schappell at the Hillbish farm. Dr. J. O. Lessig of Schuylkill Haven was
summoned and though everything possible was done for the suffering youth, he succumbed to his injuries shortly before 7:30 o'clock last night. The doctor's examination showed
almost every rib to have been fractured and serious internal injuries. No one witnessed the accident, so the exact dentals will never be known, but the boy's injuries indicated,
beyond a doubt that the heavy wagon passed over his body. The team was caught several miles down the valley, the wagon having been completely demolished. The unfortunate
youth was the second oldest son of Benjamin Schappell. He was a sturdy, healthy, bright young fellow, well liked by everyone who knew him.
|Miners Journal of July 28, 1894
WAR AT THE ALMSHOUSE - Fireman Dan Sweeny Assaults Poor Director Jacob Day
Jacob Day, of Palo Alto, the Republican member of the Board of Directors of the Poor, was in Pottsville last evening and gave a representative of the Journal an account of a little
fracas which took place yesterday afternoon between Fireman Dan Sweeny and himself. Mr. Day was at Mahanoy City during the forenoon, and upon his return to Schuylkill Haven
he met Sweeny in Ebling's hotel. Mr. Ebling is a candidate for renomination and election, and politics was the subject under discussion at Ebling's yesterday afternoon.
In the course of the heated arguments which followed their coming together Mr. Sweeny charged Mr. Day with having declared that he had the power he would dismiss all the Irish
employed in the institution. Mr. Day denied the charge and Mr. Sweeny, he says, assaulted him. Mr. Day felt very much aggrieved, not only at the assault but at the charge made by
Sweeny. He says Sweeny receives a salary of $45 a month which he does not earn, that he spends most of his time in Schuylkill Haven drinking rum, while one of the inmates of the
Almshouse does his work. In view of this and Sweeny's conduct yesterday when he assaulted Mr. Day, the latter thinks it would be a simple act of justice to him and to the people to
dismiss Mr. Sweeny, and he calls upon his two Democratic colleagues to remove him. Mr. Day has not yet brought a suit against Mr. Sweeny, but he intimated last night that he
would do so. Mr. Day also says that the charge made against him by Sweeny is maliciously false and that his standing among the people of all nationalities at home in Palo Alto is the
best refutation of such slander.
|Miners Journal of March 8, 1909
WARD DIVISION DISCUSSED
Prominent citizens of Schuylkill Haven have commenced a movement for the more equal division of this place by wards. The matter is receiving unanimous support of all of the
voters approached on the subject and at the coming meeting of the Municipal League the matter will be discussed and it is very likely favorable action will be taken on the same.
Since this borough has been laid out into four wards there has always been more or less dissatisfaction amongst the majority of citizens from the fact that the West Ward, the
smallest of the four had the same representation in council and the school board as the other three wards. This dissatisfaction, as the town has grown, has become a gross
injustice to each and every individual voter, and that this state of affairs has been allowed this length of time without protest is due to the indifference to those in authority. The
West Ward has some 50 odd voters, while the East has about 475, the South 350 and the North 375. The taxes derived from the West Ward do not equal the amount paid by some
individual property owners in either of the other three wards, yet this ward is allowed its three councilmen and three school directors. From present indications, the voters have
been thoroughly aroused to this gross injustice and the movement to bring about a change is sure to go through with a rush.
|Miners Journal of March 10, 1909
WARD DISCUSSION CONTINUES
The discussion on the proposed change in the wards in Schuylkill Haven has stirred up the entire town. The subject is receiving thorough consideration on the part of everyone
and the movement is meeting with success, that is, in the discussion, no decided steps having been taken to bring about the desired result. Quite a number of prominent citizens
and men who are held in high esteem, although closely allied to the West Ward and its residents, are protesting against any change. It is thought after the present unfair existing
conditions are pointed out to them that they will join in the movement. This is a matter which has been brought to the surface time and again, has been taken so far and then
dropped, but is safe to predict that this time the matter will be carried to a successful and satisfactory termination. The total valuation of the borough is $979, 388. The valuation of
the West Ward is $33,408, or about 1/29th of the town's valuation. The total amount of taxes from the present West Ward is about $968, divided as follows, county, $205; borough,
$384; and school tax, $379 or the taxes from this ward are about 1/29th of the total amount of the town. Its number of registered voters is about 52, yet this ward has the same
representation in council and the school board as each one of the other three wards. Of the $968 taxes, the Philadelphia and Reading Company pays $214.75.
|The Call of July 4, 1924
CHARLES GRAEFF NEW POSTMASTER
Tuesday morning, bright and early, July 1st, Charles A. Graeff of Market Street, Schuylkill haven, assumed the duties and powers of postmaster of Schuylkill Haven. The appointment
came somewhat unexpectedly but the appointee was not a surprise as it was confidentially expected that Mr. Graeff would be chosen from the brace of eight who took the Civil
Service examination for the post. Mr. Graeff is one of the town's best known young men and all during the week he has been busy shaking hands and accepting the congratulations
of his many friends on his appointment to this position. He was born and raised in this town. He of course is a Republican voter and has been quite active in politics of recent years.
He is the son of Clinton Graeff. He is thirty years of age. He served his country in the late war as a member of the famous Company C, 103rd Engineers of Pennsylvania. He was a
member of Company C, First Pennsylvania Engineers and of Company F, National Guard of Pennsylvania, prior to the changing of the name of this military company. Of course his
well known nickname of "Bags" will now be relegated to the past and forgotten. He may now be more familiarly called Mr. Postmaster.
Mr. John Ebling, ex-postmaster, assisted Mr. Graeff during the week in checking up accounts and records and making him acquainted with the duties and routine work of the office.
Mr. Ebling served two commissions as postmaster. He first commission was dated February 16, 1916, having succeeded Mr. Fred B. Reed. During his term of office the size of the
post office was much enlarged and the interior remodeled quite a bit. The receipts of the office were more than doubled. It might be interesting to state in this connection that the
money order business at the local office amounts to more than $100,000 annually. Parcel Post Delivery service was instituted through the efforts of ex postmaster Ebling.
The appointment of Mr. Graeff as acting postmaster is expected to be followed by his definite appointment by President Coolidge very shortly and the filing of his commission. Mr.
Graeff may be expected to lead every possible effort to giving Schuylkill Haven public the very best of mail delivery service in every particular.
|Pottsville Journal of May 24, 1927
ENLARGE HIGHWAY PATROL - Ten Men To Be Centered At Schuylkill Haven
The State Highway Patrol, with headquarters at Schuylkill haven, has just been reorganized with the purpose of maintaining the widest of espionage on drivers of motor vehicles in
this section of the state throughout the biggest season that has ever marked the handling of automobiles in the history of gasoline propelled conveyances. The reorganization of
the local patrol will become effective on June 1st. The present squad of three men, next week, will be increased to a complement of ten. Five of the force will be assigned to
examine applicants for eligibility for drivers licences. Two men will keep close espionage upon the headlights to see that they conform, in every way, to the most minute detail of
the law governing them. Orders have been issued from Harrisburg to the Schuylkill Haven Patrol that the utmost rigor should be exercised relative to the status of all motor lights.
For patrol service, there will be maintained three men who will constantly during their hours of duty pass over every mile of a wide stretch of territory paying strictest attention to
points where the state highway traffic is heaviest.
|Pottsville Journal of November 2, 1927
FUGITIVE SCHUYLKILL COUNTY ASYLUM INMATE ASKS FORTUNE
Alexander Bittner, Missing From Schuylkill Haven Hospital For Year, Mails His Demand To State Treasurer As Per "Agreement" He Made With Superintendent Bowers
Alexander Bittner, of New York, will be a wealthy man if the state of Pennsylvania pays him what he says is coming to him. State Treasurer Samuel S. Lewis has received from him a
post card on which he demands the payment of $100,000,000 a month from September 24, 1925 to October 19, 1927 "as per agreement between Walter G. Bowers, superintendent of
the Hospital for the Insane of Schuylkill County and myself. Please make payment at National City Bank of New York," Bittner requests.
Bittner escaped from the Schuylkill County Hospital for the Insane about a year ago according to Dr. Bowers. Superintendent Bowers said today that Bittner was under his care for
about two years. He was never violent but was obsessed with the idea of this great money demand and the existence of a platonic love between Abbie Rockefeller, daughter of the
famous oil king, and himself, terming her his fiancé. Bittner is 48 years old and was born and raised near Quakake in Schuylkill County. He has a wife and family of children but has
not lived with them for some years. Mrs. Bittner is now superintendent of the public schools in Culver County, Colorado.
The insane patient has been taken in custody by police authorities in Atlantic Coast cities all the way from Maine to Florida at various times. He always got his release, after being
held for brief periods, until he reached Rockefeller's offices in New York City. The latter's private detectives have arrested him several times and brought him back to this county
but he has never been returned to the insane hospital since he made his escape from that institution little more than a year ago. Bittner was committed by the Schuylkill courts
several years ago after an attempt to kidnap a six year old girl, of Auburn, his plea being that he was engaged to marry her having bought an engagement ring for her. The man
represented himself as a college professor. This part of his story was investigated and found to be true, he having been a member of the faculty of an educational institution in the
Middle West. After his commitment to the Schuylkill County hospital, he effected his escape by prying open a door with a piece of iron. The man has always been well dressed and
the first impression of him is that he is highly educated with eccentricities.
|Pottsville Journal of January 23, 1928
DEPARTMENT IN FAVOR OF BROADER HIGHWAY - New Schuylkill Haven Pipeline To Be Laid With This Plan In View - Prefer Old Canal Route
At a metring the Rotary Club adopted a resolution endorsing the proposition of a thirty foot wide concrete highway between Schuylkill Haven and Pottsville and urged that such a
road be built if possible in 1928. A copy of the resolution will be forwarded to the County Commissioners and the State Highway Department. It was stated that the building of this
road was urged upon the State Highway Department by the county motor club and a number of the service clubs at a special meeting and banquet held at the Necho Allen.
From an economical and financial standpoint alone it has much in its favor and in so far as accommodating traffic is concerned this thirty foot road, which it is proposed be built on
the old canal bed, would serve in a far better manner than any improvement that might be made in the proposed rebuilding of the present highway. The new road, if built, would be
a three way road and would accommodate three lanes of traffic and would also eliminate all arches below Mount Carbon. The plans call for a new arch about seventy five feet above
the present arch in the borough at Center Avenue. The road would then follow along the road bed of the Pennsy Railroad and cut directly through the house and lot of Oscar
Sterner and join in an almost straight line with Center Avenue.
The State Highway Department seems to be favoring this proposition as the water department of the borough were notified to discontinue the digging if a trench for the water line
along the west side of the road between Mount Carbon and Cape Horn. It was stated that the notice to this effect was issued because it was felt that the borough would not want its
water line underneath a concrete highway. The notice does not effect the proposed line for the water line at any point south of Cape Horn and will not interfere with placing the
pipeline from Seven Stars to Cape Horn.
|Pottsville Journal of July 10, 1929
HANDWORK PROGRAM FOR PLAYGROUNDS
The Haven Street and South ward playgrounds opened. An extensive handwork program has been planned for the year. The girls made flower vases by pasting colored designs on
jars and shellacking them, then painting them, crepe paper flowers and cork men and chairs have already been made. A program of handwork has also been outlined for the
summer and includes paper belts, desk sets, Peter Rabbit, and duck dolls, a Peanut Polly, a peanut menagerie, picture painting, stuffed and painted dolls as well as sewing cords for
the smaller children. Another new feature that has been planned for the playgrounds is the athletic badge tests, issued by the Playground Recreation Association of America, are
made up of athletic events for boys and girls and provide measurable standards by which each boy and girl may test his physical development in climbing, running, jumping and
throwing. Both playgrounds biked to Paxson's Grove to spend the day in games and contests. There was a rolling race, a Volstead race, a brinny race, a candy kiss scramble, a
peanut scramble and a go and go back race.
|Pottsville Journal of August 19, 1929
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN BRIDGE IS APPROVED - Town Is Grateful To Commissioners For Progressive Movement For Public - Will Be Two Arched Span
Town Council and service clubs at a joint meeting held in the Town Hall approved the plans for the new concrete bridge to be built across the Schuylkill River at Broadway. A large
blueprint was displayed by the County Commissioners. Each councilman was asked in turn as to whether he approved the plans and they all expressed complete satisfaction with
the proposed bridge as shown on the blueprint. President Felix of the Chamber of Commerce acted as temporary chairman of the meeting and expressed the appreciation and
thanks to the County Commissioners for their decision to construct such a desirable and splendid structure in town.
The bridge will be a two arched span, three pier bridge, concrete in its entirety, with a twenty one foot driveway and a five foot sidewalk. It will be illuminated with the electroliers
type standard. The site for the detour was then worked out at the meeting and was left in the hands of the Highway Committee of the Town Council who thought that the best place
for the detour would be the use of Berger Street and to cut across the ground along side of the Berger Knitting Mill, cross the river and up along the bank at Broadway. Placing of
the gas and water pipes was left in the hands of the water department with the suggestion that they promptly decide whether the pipes are to be placed on the bridge or whether
they are to be run under the river.
|Pottsville Journal of August 27, 1929
ELECTRIC PLANT IS SCENE OF ACTIVITY - Frame Buildings Are Being Replaced With Fireproof Structures At Haven - Ask People To Keep Away
For the past several weeks, building operations have been underway at the electric light plant on Haven Street in Schuylkill Haven. The former frame buildings have changed
considerably. The frame buildings are to be replaced with brick and fireproof buildings. Parts of the walls have been cut away, sections of the plant are undermined and a small
portion is without a roof. Excavations are underway for the new foundation walls and the work cannot be rushed too fast, because the plant is crowded with electric machinery,
deadly live wires are above and below the floor of the building. The power was turned off the last two Sundays to make some alterations. The engine and dynamo which furnished
power for a good many years has been sold to a junk dealer but has not yet been moved. It is likely the engine and machine will be burnt apart or burnt into sections that can be
handled easier. The public is cautioned to keep away from the plant on account of the danger of temporary conduits, overhanging wires and temporary structures.
|Pottsville Journal of November 29, 1929
WILL USE LAUREL TO DECORATE STREETS - Schuylkill Haven Will Present Real Christmas Like Appearance Soon
A committee was appointed at a meeting of the Civic Club to place the decorations on Main and Saint John Streets. Mr Charles Graeff and Edward Schollenberger were appointed to
do the work. The wishes of the merchants and the people residing on the sections of the town that will be decorated with Christmas laurel and electric lights depends on what they
will do. For several years the expense of this work was paid by the Civic Club but this year it is impossible as the treasury of the club is completely cleaned out. A solicitation will
first be made to determine whether a sufficient amount of money can be secured. If not, the Civic Club will drop the matter entirely. It was stated that at least two hundred dollars
would be required to do the work and probably decorations of a more generous quantity of laurel could be provided. The cooperation of the business people is necessary. The
Civic Club will not place an order for laurel or make any arrangements for decorating until the funds are first provided for.
|Pottsville Journal of January 14, 1930
MACHINERY ARRIVES FOR ELECTRIC PLANT - Extensive Additions Are Being Made To Schuylkill Haven Municipal Industry - New Building Up To Date
A car load of big machinery for the electric light plant arrived in Schuylkill Haven. The weight of the ponderous machinery was about thirty tons. The heaviest one piece, or unit of
machinery, was the turbine generator weighing close to twelve tons. All the machinery is now housed in the new electric light building. The condenser and pumps were also placed
and will be set in proper position as soon as the set up man from the Allis Chalmers Company arrives in town.
The contract price for the turbine generator alone is $30,250. It is of a 1250 kilowatt capacity, 2300 volt, two phase, 60 cycle type. The turbogenerator was installed in the electric
plant several years ago and for which a small addition was built to the building, is of 750 kilowatt capacity. The new turbogenerator is exactly the same design and style with the
exception that it is considerably larger in size and 500 kilowatts larger in capacity. It will be set up aside of the present 500 kilowatt generator that has been in service for a number
of years and is still in good condition but too small to take care of the demand for electric current by itself. Some additional changes will be made after the new machinery is placed
so that the 750 kilowatt turbogenerator at one end of the building and the older 500 kilowatt machine can be operated in unison or together if so desired. The two combined will
have the same capacity or power as the turbogenerator now being installed.
The new brick building is neatly designed and is up to date in every way. The general public for the time being, is respectfully invited to remain out of the new building on account
of the operations underway making it exceedingly dangerous. When the new plant is all completed a general invitation to the public will, perhaps, be extended and a special day or
several days will be set aside as inspection days, when the entire workings of the plant will be explained in detail. One of the important pieces of equipment which has already been
placed is an overhead ten ton hand operated crane. The crane can be moved from one end of the building to the other and this will make it possible to pick up any part of any of the
machinery in the event of repairs or changes being necessary.
The large switchboard has been moved forward towards the center of the building. Additional panels have been added, also additional items of equipment and the entire board
made less dangerous to operate and to get about it. A second story store room has been built at the western end of the turbine room. As the Journal stated some time ago, the
erection of the new electric light plant was in safe hands when Chairman Harner of the Electric Light Committee had charge of the work, we will have before us in a short time, one
of the most up to date plants in the county and something which every citizen of Schuylkill Haven can be proud. We are marching along the lines of progress, community
development and when any community ceases to do that it dies and is heading for the Jericho Road.
|Pottsville Journal of October 13, 1930
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN WILL HAVE CLINIC - Conference Determines Upon Examination Of Children In That Town
A health clinic for children of preschool age is to be established in Schuylkill Haven next month. This was determined in a conference held in Supervising Principal Madeira's office
last week which was attended by Mr. Madeira, Dr. R. W. Lenker, School Medical Inspector, State Nurse Miss Moore, County Nurse Miss Stewart, Mrs. Raymond P. Garman, a graduate
nurse of Walter Reed Hospital, Washington D. C., Mrs. B. Frank Reider Jr. representing the Parent Teacher Association and Mrs. Ada Dechert of the Red Cross. These health centers
are being established in many communities throughout the state. Schuylkill Haven was chosen for one through the efforts of Miss Stewart and Mr. Smith of the Anti-Tuberculosis
Society, largely because of the fact that this community does not have a school nurse. It is propose to have the clinic meet twice a month and have children who will enter school
next year to be the first to be examined. Later in the clinics to follow children scaling down in age to babies would be eligible as entrants. The physician would probably visit the
clinic once a month. The consensus of opinion was to the effect that the services of the physician should be remunerated and arrangements are to be made to this end. In
Hazleton, where there are four health centers, the physicians attending the clinics are paid by service organizations. The date for the first Health Clinic will be the first Friday of
November. Physical examinations for children of preschool age were conducted in Schuylkill Haven last spring when the state health car was in town for several days but all of the
applications for examination at that time could not be met. With the establishment of this clinic and its being held twice each month the work inaugurated last spring can be carried
on and the scope of it very much enlarged.
|Miners Journal of July 11, 1838
CELEBRATION OF THE FOURTH OF JULY IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
A goodly number of the citizens of Schuylkill Haven and vicinity, of all parties, inspired with such feelings as should fill the heart of every true American on that day, assembled and
celebrated our nation's great festival, in an orderly, quiet and becoming manner. All felt the day was hallowed and the spirits of the departed heroes of '76 were hovering over and
looking down upon them. No party question, sectional interests, or private feuds were allowed to disturb the happy associations which the occasion called forth.
The morning was ushered in in the usual manner, with the hearty rejoicings of the people. The Schuylkill haven Greys, a neatly equipped and well organized corps, under the
command of Lieutenant paraded at an early hour, and after the duties of the morning, took up the line of march to West Branch Valley, where they were received with hearty
welcome by our enterprising and worthy citizen, Lebbeus Chapman, Esquire. His mansion was thrown open and a bountiful collation prepared in a cool arbor in the adjoining
ground. After an hour spent refreshing both mind and body, unmindful of past fatigues, the corps took leave of their host, filling the air with loud cheers in testimony of their
gratitude and kindly feelings. On their return they accepted similar civilities from Robert C. Hill, Esquire, Weigh Master and Collector on the West Branch Railroad.
At two o'clock the military and citizens assembled on the Island, a green, well shaded, cool and delightful spot, where they were organized by appointing Daniel Saylor, Esquire,
President of the day; John Rudy, Samuel Mortimer, George Kaufman, Gideon Bast and Daniel Stager, Vice Presidents and Emor Saylor, Secretary.
The Declaration of Independence was read in the German language, by the Reverend Charles F. Krull, after which he addressed the assembly for a few minutes in the same
language. The same was then repeated in the English language in a clear, distinct and impressive manner by L. C. Dougherty, esquire. Lebbeus Chapman, Esquire, then addressed
the assembled citizens in a pertinent, able and appropriate speech of some fifty minutes, which was listened to with breathless attention. The long loud and reiterated cheers
spoke plainly the approbation of the multitude. The speaker can receive no greater eulogium. Of the address we say nothing. Extracts will speak for themselves, which we will
publish in our next edition. After the address, the Company sat down to a table neatly and bountifully furnished, with all the substantials and delicacies of the season, by the host of
the Washington Hotel, Frederick Haas, Esquire, upon a blessing was invoked by the Reverend Krull. Ensconced under the overhanging foliage from the burning rays of the sun, the
company amply refreshed themselves. After removing the cloth toasts were drunk and responded to by the roar of musketry and the hearty cheers of the assembled populace.
|The Call of August 11, 1916
WEST WARD MAY GET FREE MAIL DELIVERY - Free Delivery To Be Denied Persons Who Fail To Number Houses
Repeated efforts on the part of Postmaster John Ebling, which also included a personal visit to the post office department in Washington D. C., has resulted in an order being sent
to the local office, advising them that the free delivery of mail on Broadway, Quinn and Jacques Streets in the West Ward can be started. Postmaster Ebling has advised the people
in this section of the decision of the postal department and will start the same just as soon as the residents of the above named streets provide numbers for their homes and mail
receptacles at the door. The carriers are making a list of the persons who failed to provide numbers on their homes and mail receptacles at the door throughout the town. These
people will be denied the service of the free delivery until such times as they comply with the requirements of the post office department. Particular attention has been directed to
the sidewalks on South Berne and South Canal Streets. The majority of these walks are almost impassable and frequently the waste water is allowed to run over the pavement, to
say nothing of the weeds that are allowed to grow on the sidewalks. These must be laid or repaired before fall or the free service will be discontinued.
Monday last was the 21st birthday anniversary of letter carrier John Hoffman. The employees of the office did not desire to leave pass unnoticed such an event and accordingly
presented John with a token of esteem and friendship. John is now numbered among the voters of the town and no doubt will be paid a fraternal visit by the tax collector. He is
one of the most obliging members of the force and his pleasant smile with a kindly "good morning" as he deposits the mail at the front door, has endeared him to his many patrons.
While traveling his route in Deibert's Valley, rural carrier Joe Otterbein, succeeded in capturing a twenty pound snapper turtle. His snappership was brought to Schuylkill Haven and
displayed to a number of friends. The employees of the post office are preparing their appetites for snapper soup to be served in the very near future.
|The Call of November 17, 1916
ONE YEAR OF FREE MAIL DELIVERY
One year ago on Wednesday the free delivery of mail was started in Schuylkill Haven. The three carriers, Messrs. Bittle, Sausser and Hoffman, who started then are still on the
force. Postmaster Ebling did not allow the first anniversary to pass unnoticed and in commemoration of both the event and the reelection of President Wilson, tendered a banquet
to the carriers. Assistant Postmaster Gehrig acted as toastmaster. Carrier Hoffman spoke on "The trials and temptations of an unmarried letter carrier." Carrier Sausser spoke on
the improvement of the free delivery service and claimed that an additional carrier was necessary in the town. He further claimed that if every house was numbered and some of
those that sat high on a hill were moved lower down and closer to the pavement, delivery of mail would be a great deal easier. Carrier Bittle delivered his address in Pennsylvania
German. His remarks abounded in humor, he claiming that a large number of the unmarried girls on his route blamed him when they did not receive a letter from their "best fellow."
Mr. Bittle thought that some of the pavements could be put in a more passable condition and that dogs that did not possess affectionate dispositions should be chained and not
allowed to run around the premises. The menu was as follows: Mock turtle soup, relishes, little neck clams, deviled crabs in shell, chicken salad, roast spring chicken, roast sweet
potatoes, sliced tomatoes, peas, crushed potatoes, celery, ice cream, cake coffee, and cigars.
|The Call of February 16, 1917
BIG ANTI BOOZE PARADE HERE
The McMinn Evangelistic Campaign which for six weeks held sway in Schuylkill Haven closed Sunday evening with impressive and inspiring services. With the closing of the
McMinn Campaign proper, began a week's special campaign against the saloon. The week was featured with special anti saloon services every evening except Monday when there
were no services of any kind held. Dr. McMinn, at the close of the Sunday evening service was handed a bank book in which was entered a total amount of $1,653.44 to his credit,
secured from the collections lifted Sunday, from voluntary contributions and from subscriptions solicited amongst the town's businessmen, business firms and individual citizens.
Thursday evening witnessed the largest anti-booze parade ever held in Schuylkill Haven. The falling snow and the snow under foot did not lessen the enthusiasm of the hosts lined
up in the community protest against liquor. The parade was probably one of the most unique that has ever been witnessed in Schuylkill Haven. Excluding the members of the
bands, a Call representative places the number in line close to the 500 mark. This includes the 75 members of the booster chorus, the Boy Scouts, numbering 20, 75 men and over
200 women. Fourteen autos, all filled to their capacity, are numbered among the 500 paraders. The parade formed at the tabernacle marching over Paxson Avenue, and entered
Dock Street. From Dock Street the paraders came to Main where they were joined by the booster chorus who had assembled at the United Brethren Church and then fell into
position in the line of parade. The parade then continued on down Main Street, to Saint Peter, to Union, to Canal, to Main and out Dock to the tabernacle.
During the return trip on Main Street, Dr. McMinn was presented with a handsome bouquet of four dozen white carnations, neatly tied with a large white ribbon. Along the route of
parade, the members of the booster chorus sang a number of selections that had been taught them, together with several yells by Professor Kellam. The majority of the men and
women carried red fire and joined in singing the American airs and several of the tabernacle selections. All of the men carried American flags and the women either flags or canes
with white ribbons.
|Pottsville Journal of January 23, 1931
ARE COMPILING LIST OF ALL UNEMPLOYED - Information Will Be Available Whenever Help Is Needed By Public
An important step was taken at a meeting of the Merchants' Council this week towards the mobilization of employment for men and women in the community who are out of work. At
the suggestion of Chief Burgess Roy Scott, registration blanks have been printed which are to be had from the local police officers and the Burgess. All unemployed are requested
to register the information as to residence, trade, previous employment, etc. These registration cards will; be kept on file by Burgess Scott and be available to any employer of
labor, whether the help is desired for a day, week or indefinite period. No guarantee is given by the sponsors of the project that employment will be found but this means is being
provided to effect a systematic means for bringing unemployment in the community into ready contact with those who may be in need of any kind of labor. This registration may
prove particularly valuable in effecting ready employment of many in a building project that is in prospect in the near future, the cooperation of unemployed men and women and
prospective employers, even those having odd jobs to be done, to the end that those out of work may be aided as expeditiously as possible. The Merchants Council and Burgess
are to be highly commended in taking this step.
|Pottsville Journal of February 24, 1932
RELIEF DRIVE WILL LAST BUT ONE HOUR - Schuylkill Haven Will Make The Canvass Brief But Enthusiastic For Quick Results - Whistles, Bells Signal
Tomorrow evening at six o'clock the American Legion Unemployment Relief Fund drive will be started and is expected will be completed in one hour. The opening of the solicitation
throughout the community will be signalled by the sounding of the fire siren and the ringing of church bells. Trucks manned by Legionnaires and interested citizens will then start
the canvas simultaneously in all the streets of town. The need for generous donations of non perishable foodstuffs is very great and the committee hopes that the response will
meet their highest expectations. Cash will also be welcomed as perishable foods are being supplied regularly to some families and these must be purchased. Many families are
being regularly supplied each week from the Legion home and indications point to this relief being continued into the summer months. A considerable need for shoes especially for
school children is reported and such donations will be welcomed.
|Pottsville Journal of February 26, 1932
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN'S ONE HOUR DRIVE FOR FOOD BIG SUCCESS
Basement Of Legion Home Is Too Small To Hold Stores Of Supplies Contributed By Community For Unemployment Relief In Town
A hearty response was given last evening by Schuylkill Haven citizens to the concerted one hour drive for foodstuffs for the needy of the community. Promptly at six o'clock,
heralded by the sounding of whistles and church bells, eighteen trucks started from the Legion home for all parts of town manned by Legionnaires and other interested citizens to
make the most intensive canvass that has ever been attempted. The Rotary Club dispensed with its weekly dinner meeting, donated this money to the fund and all of its members
took part in the solicitation with the Legionnaires. The returning trucks congested traffic on upper Main Street as they converged about the Legion home and disgorged their great
loads of food that will help to extend to a greater period the aid to the town's needy. It was soon found that the Legion basement was too small to hold all of the collection and the
basement of the Haven House was pressed in to service as a storage place. Dozens of bushels of potatoes, many cases of canned goods, twelve hundred oysters and many other
grocery staples were included in the donations. In addition to this, about $200 in cash was reported with additional contributions to be made during the remainder of the week.
Commander Suits and his Unemployment Relief Committee are indeed gratified to have the cooperation of the entire community on making this drive the success that was hoped
for. Members of the committee were set at work immediately to classify and arrange all of the goods received in order that the relief service this afternoon may be resumed.
|The Call of December 29, 1916
EVANGELISTIC CAMPAIGN WILL BEGIN SUNDAY AFTERNOON - Structure On Paxson Avenue Completed
Evangelist McMinn To Be Tendered "Glad Hand" At Banquet - Big Choir Being Drilled - New Year's Day At 6 P. M.
The day for the McMinn Evangelistic Campaign rapidly approaches. Finishing touches are being put on all preliminaries as the opening date draws near. The tabernacle is the
center of much activity, with everybody hustling to the one great aim of making it the most comfortable building for the next six weeks' services, beginning next Sunday, December
31st. The tabernacle custodian assures us the building will be as comfortable as any campaign tabernacle ever was. There will be no more dampness at all and except possible to
those sitting near the main doors, there will be absolutely no draft. Proper ventilation will be overhead and so governed as not to cause any discomfort to those attending the
meetings. Sufficient electric lights afford easy reading for singing in every part of the large and spacious auditorium.
As in all large gatherings the singing is an attractive and enjoyable feature. This has by no means been overlooked in this present campaign. The chorus will be under the direction
of Professor D. S. Kellam, who is a member of the Dr. McMinn party, and who is experienced in this important department. He will call the entire choir together for a rehearsal
possibly next Saturday night in the tabernacle. Some of the party have already arrived, while others will come Saturday. The first meeting will be held Sunday afternoon, December
31st, at 2:30 o'clock. The reverend John Bascom McMinn, evangelist, will preach the sermon and the whole party together with the pastors of the churches uniting in the campaign
will be present.
Therefore a cordial invitation to the entire Schuylkill Haven and surrounding country, is extended to be present. At 2:30 and 7:30 p. m. Dr. McMinn will preach again. No meetings
will be held on Monday at all. But every afternoon and evening at 2:30 and 7:30 respectively. On Monday evening, January 1st, a reception will be tendered Dr. McMinn and his male
associates by the businessmen of Schuylkill Haven in Keystone Hall on Saint John Street at six o'clock. (Sharper than ever.) This will afford everyone [present an opportunity to get
acquainted with the Evangelistic Party. It is the desire of the Evangelist to emphasize the necessity of the regularity of contributions to the individual churches. Everybody
attending meetings in the tabernacle on Sunday should use their own church envelopes and deposit them in the offering plates, then the financial secretaries of the churches will
get them and proper credit will be given to every contributor. Every church should receive its regular income notwithstanding the tabernacle meetings. The ultimate aim and
object of the campaign is not to weaken the churches or deprive them of anything but to build them up and to strengthen them in every possible way. Keep in touch with every
phase of the campaign and its progress by attending the meetings and reading the reports in this paper.
|Pottsville Journal of August 13, 1930
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN BOYS ARE IN CAMP - Have Comfortable Quarters At Summit Station Including Kitchen And Dining Room
The Boy Scout troops of Schuylkill Haven left last Wednesday for their summer camp in the Blue Mountains. The camp site is a most ideal one and is situated near Summit Station. A
number of improvements have been made to the grounds including the building of the new kitchen and dining hall. In the early part of the summer the dam was repaired and now it
is one of the finest in this locality for bathing and swimming. The water is pure and a steady overflow keeps the dam in fit condition for the boys at this time. Lamont Smith is the
camp director and is assisted by Mr. H. C. Wilson, the former scout leader and for whom the camp was named, "Camp Wilson," Harry Detweiler, Hugh Heim and William Harner. The
cooks in charge are Mr. R. W. Ziegenfus and Albert Raudenbush. Visitors are always welcome at the camp and the boys extend a hearty invitation to everyone to drop in for a
|Pottsville Journal of August 4, 1932
WANT NEW TOWNSHIP ROAD
A delegation of members of council, school board and prominent citizens of Schuylkill Haven were in conference with the county commissioners today regarding a spur of road
which Schuylkill Haven wants constructed from the end of Main Street in the borough of Schuylkill Haven to the Orwigsburg - Schuylkill Haven Highway. The road will divert much of
the traffic from the main thoroughfare and cut off almost a mile for those that wish to go from Orwigsburg to Pine Grove or points west and who must now drive into the town and
make their way through the upper end of the borough of Main Street which point would be easily accessible if the proposed road would be constructed. The commissioners are
said to favor the plan if the township supervisors of North Manheim Township, through which part of the road would pass, are sufficiently interested to participate in the expense.
The matter will be pushed to a speedy conclusion so that the road may be put in before winter. It will be three quarters mile in length and will be constructed of asphalt and stone.
|The Call of April 4, 1930
FALLING BRIDGE CARRIES DOWN WORKMAN
Cutting down of the steel bridge over the Schuylkill River at Schuylkill Haven carried with it one of the workmen the forepart of the week. And had it not been for the presence of
mind of the workman, fatal injuries might have been his. The workman was Joe Scanlan, employed by Isaac Weiner of Pottsville. He was using an acetylene cutting torch. The steel
girders on the one side of the river had been cut through. When but halfway through, one of the supporting girders on the other side, the entire steel structure began to drop.
Before the workman had a chance to jump clear of the bridge, he was caught and struck by other parts of the steel construction. He received a deep cut back of the ear, which
required two stitches to close. The wound bled profusely. It was dressed by Dr. Heim. The complete steel bridge now lies in the river bed. It will be cut up by Mr. Weiner and
shipped away as scrap iron. In order to completely cut up this bridge so that it can be easily handled, will require a considerable amount of work. Contractor Walton has men at
work removing the old stone pier on the West Ward side. In tearing down the pier, extra large sized stones are being unearthed and may be used in the new work.
|The Call of May 23, 1930
IMPROVE CONDITIONS AT COUNTY HOME
Improvements to the interior and exterior of the buildings and changes to the Almshouse property continue right along under the supervision of Steward Powell. Never have the
buildings and grounds surrounding the same looked as fine and as well kept as recently. One of the latest pieces of work undertaken is the construction of a new building which
will house some bathroom conveniences. This change will result in considerable improvement in the conditions in the patients' building in which they had been provided. Another
recently completed piece of work was the construction of a large porch in front of the building now known as the administration building, housing the offices. This building was
formerly the bake house. It has been reconverted and has made a splendid office building. The bake house was transferred to a building known as the wash house.
As the result of these changes, room for thirty four patients was obtained in the building which formerly occupied the two offices. All changes and improvements were made without
cost to the county or taxpayers. The patients themselves have been put to work and by being left to their own initiative, work splendidly and accomplish a remarkable amount of
work. The foundation and columns of the porch at the administration building are of rough stone but have been put together with fine results. The Schuylkill County Almshouse has
been changed in many ways for the better and word has been passed throughout the country among the fraternity of hobos and tramps to keep clear of this institution unless some
good hard work is desired in order to earn a meal and night's lodging. Steward Powell has a particular fine job awaiting all comers of this character. It is firing the boilers at the
electric light plant.
|Pottsville Journal of April 26, 1911
WORKING ON INSANE HOME - Contractors Hard At Work At Poor Farm Near Schuylkill Haven - Sewerage First - Grounds Destroyed To Make Way For Improvement
The excavation and the assembling of material on the ground for the new insane asylum to be erected on the poor farm at Schuylkill Haven are causing the poor directors and the
steward of the almshouse no little inconvenience, and in many ways, it is claimed, the work interferes with their affairs in and about that institution. This will have to be borne for
some time to come or until the building and the sewage have been completed. The building will cover an area of about 82,500 square feet, for the frontage is about 300 feet and the
depth about 275 feet. The old frame building used as a pest house, that is for the housing of patients suffering with cancer and venereal diseases, will be razed to the ground, as it
stands upon the site of the contemplated asylum. This will leave this class of patients without a place in which to lay their heads, for, according to Director Brownmiller, there is no
room for them in the other buildings or departments, and if there should be the contagious condition of their disease forbid them congregating with other inmates. The poor
directors refuse to remove this building and the contractors protest that there is no specification in their contract providing that they should remove it. Here comes a hitch in the
first steps to prepare the site for the superstructure.
That there will be some controversies, if not worse, owing to the many authorities that have an interest in the erection and equipment of the asylum, which will require the
expenditure of a half million dollars or more, goes without saying. First come the poor directors who are on the ground and whose duty it is to direct the affairs of the poor house.
Next comes the county commissioners who are required to raise the funds for the erection and equipment of the building. Then follows the controller who must approve the
warrants that will be drawn upon the county treasury for the payment of the building. The court too, according to the announcement made by Judge Shay from the bench, will watch
the erection of the building so that every dollar of the people's money expended shall receive full value in return. The taxpayer's association will have its agents on the work to
watch that nothing will be slighted nor any funds expended without first having value received. Lastly the trustees appointed by the court, under the provisions of the act
authorizing the erection and equipment of the asylum, and who by its provisions are empowered to control the business of the asylum will no doubt put in their oars when they may
feel that their advice and consent are needed. The asylum will provide for the care of fully 800 insane patients and hence it will be an extensive institution, one that will require the
wisest heads to properly manage. The work of excavating for the foundations and for the sewage is progressing as rapidly as conditions will permit. Trees have been hewn down,
terraces have been destroyed, lawns have been torn up and there is a scene of devastation that greets one;s eye around that poor farm, all of which, the builders contend, has
become necessary to the work which the contractors have set about to do. The county commissioners visited the poor farm today.
|The Call of August 22, 1930
MAY REMOVE TRAFFIC LIGHTS
Recommendations for the removal of hundreds of traffic signals and lights in cities and towns of Pennsylvania by the State Highway Department, includes Schuylkill Haven as well as
other Schuylkill County towns. Both traffic lights in Schuylkill haven will be removed if recommendations finally carry. They are now located at the corner of Dock and Center
Avenue and at Columbia and Berne Streets. It is hardly likely that the recommendation for the removal of the light at Dock Street and Center Avenue will be adopted or put into
effect, this by reason of this corner being a dangerous one on account of the heavy through traffic on Center Avenue.
It now appears It now appears that recommendations have been made at random by the State Highway Department in order to speed up through traffic. No great regard has been
given to the fact that the operation of traffic lights on through streets has a tendency to cut down speeding and little consideration seems to have been given to pedestrian traffic.
In a half hour test last Sunday on Center Avenue, 494 cars passed a given point. In one of the five minute periods, the peak traffic reached the total of 108 cars. Between seven and
eight o'clock last Sunday evening a total of 974 cars passed a given point on Center Avenue. Autoists and authorities admit that without a traffic light at the corner of Dock and
Center Avenue, it would be practically impossible at times, either for an autoist on Dock Street to get out onto Center Avenue traffic or vice versa, for northbound traffic on Center
Avenue, to get onto Dock Street. A stop sign on Berne Street, it is believed, would quite handily take care of the traffic control at the corner of Berne and Columbia Streets.
|The Call of January 23, 1931
UNEMPLOYED TO BE REGISTERED BY POLICE OFFICERS
Through the interest in their behalf taken by Mayor Roy Scott, of Schuylkill Haven, all unemployed persons who desire employment are to be registered. The registration, however,
must be voluntary upon the part of the unemployed person. Registration can be made with any one of the local police officers. Cards have been provided for the purpose and the
data required is such as name, address, age height, weight, previous occupation, married or single, number, if any, of dependents, kind of occupation and best suited for. The
office of the mayor or police will not be made an employment agency but the idea is to procure such registration of unemployed and have it available for individuals or organizations
who desire to employ persons. No fee is required and no guarantee is given of jobs being procured. It is a helpful service that will be given by the police department of Schuylkill
Haven to all persons sufficiently interested to avail themselves of the opportunity it presents.
|The Call of May 8, 1931
DR. BOWERS ATTACKED BY DEMENTED PATIENT
Dr. Bowers, Superintendent of the Hospital for Mental Diseases, at Schuylkill Haven, was attacked the latter part of last week by one of the trusted patients and suffered a cut across
the face from a self constructed knife, made partly from a safety razor blade and a wooden handle. The attack was made on Dr. Bowers suddenly and was a surprise because the
patient was considered one of the trusted ones and had always appeared friendly with the Superintendent. The man made a lunge at the doctor, who threw out his hands to ward off
the attack. The instrument, however, rasped the face and inflicted wounds which required treatment. It is believed the patient was intent on making a cut at the physician's eyes.
|The Call of May 10, 1940
DANGEROUS MOUNTAIN ROAD BEING FILLED IN
Through a Federal Government project, a dangerous condition to the traveling public on the old Schuylkill Mountain road near the Borough of Schuylkill Haven boundary line, is to
be eliminated. The project calls for a heavy fill in on the east side of the road. At the present time, there is an almost perpendicular drop of fifty or sixty feet from the road surface
to the edge of the Schuylkill River. The fill being used is obtained from the side of the mountain. Blasting is resorted to, to provide the material. The point where the cuts are being
made are at curves, so that when work is completed, the road will have been given a protective fill for a distance of at least one hundred feet and an unobstructed view for some
distance, heretofore made impossible, will result. Oldsters will recall a fatal accident occurring at or near the point where the fill is being made along this road, when a team of
horses was driven over the side of the road. In later years, several autos have gone over the bank at this point. The first work of preparing for the fill was to chop down a number
of large trees on the mountainside. Later, a wall at the water's edge will be built or rip rapping put in to prevent washing away the fill. Thirty five men are employed on the project
which is under the supervision of Matthew McGarry of Pottsville.
All articles related to the "Great War" or World War One are
now published on their own page, the link being in the bar on
|The Call of December 12, 1930
POST OFFICE LOCATIONS AND POSTMASTERS
Bids are being received for suitable quarters for the Schuylkill Haven post office until January 7, 1931. A lease for five years under date of June 17th, 1931, will be entered into. The
floor space required is 1800 square feet. Bids are being invited for quarters with and without equipment. Equipment consists of heat, light, water, toilet facilities, plumbing and
necessary furniture fixtures. Good daylight, a reasonably central location and accessibility to the rear or side entrance of building are important considerations. General building
requirements and full information will be given by Postmaster Graeff. No intimation is given that the present quarters are not satisfactory or do not answer every purpose. Inviting
proposals for quarters can not be construed to indicate that, as per frequent newspaper accounts, of action on the part of Congress. Schuylkill Haven will not get its new post
office building one of these fine days.
And while on the subject of post office quarters, inquiry reveals that the Schuylkill Haven post office has had quite a number of different locations in the past years. At one time it
was located in the property now occupied by the Plaza Restaurant. Spring Garden had it on one occasion, it being in the property adjoining the Saint Ambrose Sisters' House. The
storeroom occupied by A. B. Lechner also was at one time occupied by the post office. The former building at the corner of Main and Dock Streets, also the storeroom of Abe's
Workingmen's Store, also the storeroom of J. M. Gipe and prior to its present location in the State Bank Building, occupied the storeroom of Bert Kaufman. The post office has been
in its present quarters for the past twenty years.
|The Call of July 5, 1935
WORK ON NEW POST OFFICE TO BE SOON STARTED
Good news was received this morning at Schuylkill Haven. The new post office building will soon be underway, or at least building operations will soon be started by the federal
government. Postmaster Harry Brownmiller, this morning, Friday, received notice from the Post Office Department on certain items entering into the building, that clearly indicate
the date for razing the present Hotel Grand building, on which site will be erected the new brick post office building, is not far distant. There had been some misunderstanding or
rather the government authorities had up to this time refused to agree to certain separate contracts aside from the building contract. Now agreement has been reached.
Notice was received that the rental price for the fixtures and equipment of the present post office building to be used in the temporary quarters, has been accepted. Notice has
been received that the rental price for the temporary quarters has also been accepted. The temporary post office during the building construction will be the first floor of the
Maurer building. The contract is for a period of ten months or as long thereafter as the government may require. Another notice of importance in connection with the new post
office is that concerning the contract for the moving of the present fixtures and equipment in the present building to the temporary quarters. This contract has been awarded to
As the contacts for the erection of the building, the razing of the present Hotel Grand building and various other agreements and contracts in connection with the same, have
months ago, been approved and accepted by the federal government, ans as the entire work was said to be held up on the above small detailed items, now that they have been
agreed upon, it is more than likely that notice will be served on the contractors at once, to be prepared to start work in the very near future.
|The Call of July 12, 1935
BRIDGE TO BE REPAIRED BY STATE
The Columbia Street bridge in Schuylkill Haven, which for some time has been in need of repairs, will receive attention from the State Highway Department in the very near future. A
bridge engineer will be sent here shortly by the department and a thorough and careful inspection and checkup of the bridge made. In order to take care of the lighting for the
bridge, the same having been short circuited for some time, the state will provide at once a temporary lighting system. An inspection of the bridge was made on Tuesday. Borough
officials had notified the State Highway Department of the conditions at the bridge. Arrangements had been made for a conference on the site on Tuesday morning. Imagine the
surprise to First Deputy to the Secretary of Highways, Roy Brownmiller, and other officials of the State Highway Department, when they reached Schuylkill Haven and found the
bridge they were to inspect almost under water. Only a few of the borough officials and councilmen could be reached, as all of them were otherwise engaged as the result of the
flood damage. A superficial examination of the bridge was made and through this it was readily apparent to the officials that the bridge is in need of attention and repairs at once.
The sidewalks will be repaired as well as the coping. The middle pier which is supposed to be undermined to such an extent that vibration in noticeable when machines pass over
it, it is to be inspected as soon as the water recedes. To the eye of a bridge inspector, there is also a noticeable tilting of the bridge. In other words, it is somewhat off a level
|The Call of August 2, 1935
POST OFFICE IN TEMPORARY QUARTERS
The Schuylkill Haven post office is now located in temporary quarters in the Maurer building on Main Street. As the contract for the completion of the building calls for ten months,
it is believed the office will be located in the present building at least for the next year, providing of course, razing of the Hotel Grand building is soon begun, as well as
construction of the new building. Postmaster Brownmiller, up to Thursday morning, had received no additional information regarding the date for commencement of work of any
kind. The instructions, definite in character, to remove from the Hotel Grand building to the Maurer building, were conveyed in a telegram received late Friday afternoon. As the
contract for moving the equipment had been awarded to Clayton Bashore, all that was necessary was to get in touch with the contractor. He did some scurrying about and soon had
a sufficient number of men to assist in the moving. As soon as the office closed Friday evening, the job was started. By four o'clock Saturday morning everything had been moved
to the new quarters and was in place and ready for the business of the public. The most difficult part of the equipment to move was the two ton safe. This was rigged up on an auto
wrecker of Harvey Moyer. However, it required several hours to get the safe into the temporary quarters. While the present quarters of the post office are considerably smaller
than the place occupied heretofore, nevertheless, the inconvenience resulting to the public as well as the post office employees, will be gladly undergone in view of the prospects
of getting into a fine, new and modern post office building within the course of at least a year.
|The Call of August 16, 1935
RAZE BUILDINGS FOR POST OFFICE
Monday morning, bright and early, first work on the razings of the buildings occupying the new post office site was started for the Weinstein Construction Company. The first work
consisted of taking out the windows on the frame three story building on Saint John Street. Partitions, plumbing, etc., was then removed and then began the work of tearing down
the building with the roof first coming off. Tuesday, work was also started dismantling the Hotel Grand building and the first work done consisted of removing the windows.
Men are being employed in two shifts, the first from six to twelve and the second from twelve to six. No employee is allowed to make more than thirty hours a week on any
government job and as this work is considered such, the men are kept down to thirty hours per week. All of the material, including joists, stringers, window glass, window sash and
frames, plumbing fixtures, brick and stone, is being salvaged and is being bought up rapidly at exceptionally low prices.
During the week, quite a number of persons have found it interesting and quite a special attraction to watch the progress of the razing of these two buildings. The work of razing is
being done by the National House Wrecking Company. Local men are employed on the job with the superintendent and foreman regular employees of the wrecking company from
Akron, Ohio. Thursday afternoon the superintendent stated he expected to have the Hotel Grand building completely razed and the site cleared and ready for the contracting
company by the end of next week, provided of course, the weather permits.
From the three story building on Saint John Street was taken quite a large amount of good timber. In particular were some of the stringers or joists, which measured three inches in
thickness. Taken from the Hotel Grand building already were stringers of an unusual length, namely thirty and thirty two feet. These too are an unusual width, being three inches.
Thursday afternoon, the work of clearing the space where stood the three story building on Saint John Street, was about finished, most of the timber, tin roofing and interior fittings,
such as pipes, electric wire, wall board, etc., was bought up at very good prices and promptly hauled away. During the week, the roof was taken off the Hotel Grand building and
some of the rafters and joists removed.
In connection with the razing of the Hotel Grand building, it is expected some uncertainty will develop. There is a controversy on now between the owners of the adjoining property
and the United States Government as to the removal of the wall between the old Hotel Grand building and the Gray building. This is a party wall, the joist for the Gray building
having been inserted in the Hotel Grand wall when the building was built by Daniel Yoder. The section of this party wall for the depth of the brick portion of the Hotel Grand
building, a depth of fifty feet, is three inches thicker than the balance of the wall of the building. It is understood definite instructions of the government to the wrecking company
and contractor are that this three inch offset on the wall for this distance of fifty feet, from the ground level to the top of the building, is to be removed. Only this three inches of
wall is to be removed, the remainder to be left standing.
|The Call of September 13, 1940
LOCAL CROWD WITNESSES DEDICATION CEREMONY ON NEW ATHLETIC FIELD
More than a thousand persons were present on the Willow Street Athletic Field on Wednesday evening to witness the impressive flag raising ceremonies and to see the first night
baseball game played in Schuylkill Haven. The affair was sponsored by the Schuylkill Haven Recreation Association, which is responsible for the new athletic field. Because of two
unfortunate accidents this week, two changes had to be made in the scheduled program. Paul Haldeman, president of the association, was unable to serve as master of ceremonies
owing to injuries of the face sustained while at work for the J. Robert Bazley Company of Pottsville, when a piece of board went through his cheek. He turned the duties over to
Mayor Roy A. Scott. The Reverend John Herbster, who was scheduled to pronounce the invocation, figured in an automobile accident Wednesday and was unable to be present.
Father James Brennan, of the local Catholic church, gave the invocation and benediction.
W. C. Kline, who donated the field to the association, raised the flag to the sixty foot flagstaff. Boy Scout Robert Troy gave the call to the colors and Scoutmaster George Keller led
the assemblage in the pledge of allegiance. Appropriate patriotic selections were played by the Schuylkill Haven school band under the direction of Earl Unger. Two stirring
addresses were delivered by the town's own two county judges; Judge G. E. Gangloff of the Orphan's Court and Judge Vincent J. Dalton of the Common Pleas Court.
An exceptionally large crowd was present for the baseball game under lights and saw an exciting, well played game. Nick's team of Schuylkill Haven defeated the South Anthracite
All Stars 10-9 in an extra inning tilt. The recreation field is the result of hard work on the part of the citizens of the North Ward. All the labor necessary to grade and fill in the field
was supplied by the young men of that part of town. There is a total of three and one half acres developed. In addition to the fine ball diamond many pieces of playground
equipment for children have been installed. Most of these swings, seesaws, sliding boards, etc., were given to the association by the local school board. The location of the field,
away from the highways, makes an ideal place for children to play.