|This page will feature businesses from the past located in
Schuylkill Haven. Businesses and their stories will be
added regularly. Where possible, pictures will be provided
along with advertising memorabilia from each business.
|LAST UPDATED: NOVEMBER 11
|An article from 1868 touting the creation of a new iron furnace
in town. New articles from the early 1950s including: Hiram
Fisher buys Kaufman's Dairy, Greenawalt's store celebrates a
silver anniversary, Burkert's open a new shop, Paul Keller
opens a new service station and Farel Becker opens a new
|This listing appeared in the Pottsville Republican on May 19, 1888 offering a roster of businesses paying mercantile taxes in
Schuylkill Haven. Below the chart are examples of advertising pieces from some of those businesses.
|Pottsville Republican of October 6, 1887
It was with feelings of regret that we read the announcement in that paper this morning of the suspension of the Schuylkill Haven
"Enterprise", a newspaper venture in which our esteemed young friend, George F. Dengler embarked about two years ago. Mr.
Dengler and his partner, Mr. Boyer, have labored in season and out of season during this lapse of time to give our neighboring
borough a credible representative weekly local paper and they succeeded well in their part, but the business community failed in
doing their share, hence the failure. The plant will remain in Schuylkill Haven and the job printing business continued. We sincerely
hope the people of that handsome little borough will wake up to a realization of their loss and the publication of the "Enterprise" will
soon be resumed.
|The demise of Schuylkill Haven's only newspaper of the day...and then a new venture...
|Pottsville Republican of June 9, 1888
PHOTOGRAPH GALLERY RENOVATED
The photograph gallery of Harry S. Deibert has been renovated and placed in order so as to
compare with any in the county. All modern instruments and appliances are used so as to
be at the front of his art. It is a picture of neatness being on the ground floor, with a large
lawn in back of it which is arranged in a miniature park with trees, flowers, rustic benches
and lattice work where he makes a specialty of taking groups and those who desire
pictures of a romantic nature. The lightning flash photograph is a new addition whereby he
can take pictures at night. A visit to his gallery is a study in this beautiful art.
|Pottsville Republican of November 20, 1885
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN'S POPULAR HOTEL
Two attempts have been made to sell the Washington Hall property here, but it has again been adjourned by the trustee for causes
to the public unknown. Attorney Gerber represents the trustee and Attorney Weidman, the heirs of the estate of the late Philip
Koons. The present landlord of the property is Colonel Charles D. Gold, who came to this place from Chestnut Hill in Philadelphia,
and made this hotel what it now is, one of the best and most reliable hotel stands in this section of the state and whoever succeeds
him will find a fine trade and with equal ability the same can be held. Colonel Gold leaves this place for Phoenixville in April next,
where he has secured a permanent stand and judging from his success here, where he made a first class stand out of one that had
been almost abandoned and gone to wreck. He will surely succeed anywhere. Our Phoenixville neighbors will find in Colonel Gold a
good citizen, a man devoted to the cause of education and one who can give satisfaction to any reasonable sojourner, traveler or
local customer. Schuylkill Haven will only feel their loss when he is once away.
|Pottsville Republican of January 2, 1886
SALE OF WASHINGTON HALL
The old and well known hotel, "The Washington Hall", at Schuylkill Haven, was put up for the fourth time at public sale this week and
was finally struck off to Mr. Henry Zimmerman of that place, at the low figure of six thousand dollars. The property has been in the
hands of the Koons family for more than twenty five years. It is the best located and most commodious hotel building in our
neighboring borough and with proper repairs and a good landlord will do a large business.
|Pottsville Republican of September 25, 1886
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN BANK
On the subject of a new bank in that town, the Schuylkill Haven Enterprise of this morning says: the Enterprise has been persistent in
its efforts to awaken an interest among our businessmen and citizens of the need and convenience of a bank located in our midst.
The suggestions as to the wants of our town in this particular, were widely copied by exchanges and today we point with pride to the
fact that a movement has been inaugurated towards the establishment of a banking institution. A preliminary meeting of the
businessmen was held at the Washington Hotel, at which five of the Directors of the Bank of America, Philadelphia, were present.
They were Louis E. Pfeifer, President, R. W. Cline, Cashier, J. B. Wiswell, C. L. Work and J. J. McFarlane, Directors. They fully
explained the branch bank system which is made a special feature of this well managed and prosperous bank. Those present were
favorably impressed and at once resolved themselves into a meeting, electing Dr. H. N. Coxe as Chairman and George F. Dengler as
Secretary. It was then suggested that the chairman appoint a committee of nine, whose business shall consist of gathering
subscriptions for stock, select a banking building and suggest the names of suitable officers for the branch bank. The following
committee were announced: C. A. Meck, Chairman, Charles Wiltrout, F. J. Simon, William D. Kline, Robert Jones, George E Hoffman, H.
Berger and Dr. D. Dechert. The next meeting is called for Tuesday, October 5th, when all persons interested in banking facilities in
our town, whether it be that you desire stock or merely deposit accommodations, are asked to be present and hear more of the
system of the proposed branch bank.
|Pottsville Republican of October 16,1886
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN'S BANK
The prospect for starting a bank at Schuylkill Haven has taken on quite a boom the past week. A meeting of the citizens was called
for Tuesday evening last and a large number were present and ready for business. A committee consisting of Messrs. Charles A.
Meck, Robert Jones, F. J. Simon and Charles Wiltrout was appointed to receive subscriptions for stock and to report Tuesday next at
Metamora Hall at 8:00 p. m. when the foundation of the institution will be determined upon.
|Following are two articles regarding the sale of Washington Hall, the premier hotel in town at the time.
|A new bank is planned and established in Schuylkill Haven......
|Pottsville Republican of December 9, 1889
A NEW DAILY PAPER
The "Schuylkill Haven Gazette" makes the following announcement, "Commencing with Monday next we will begin the publication of
an afternoon edition which will be circulated in Schuylkill Haven, Cressona, Orwigsburg and throughout the whole lower section of
Schuylkill County. The increasing popularity of our town demands it and the accommodation of advertisers must be taken into
consideration. The daily issue will be a five column folio and will contain a summary of all telegraphic matters, reported for this paper
by the Associated Press and also all local events of interest. The management of the Gazette have made all necessary arrangements
to give its readers a good spicy daily paper.
|Pottsville Republican of March 7, 1895
Schuylkill Haven industries are well worthy a note. The shoe factory and knitting mills give employment to several hundred men,
women and boys and all are extraordinarily prosperous. We have already referred to Berger, Brown and Company's shoe factory.
Here women's misses and children's shoes are turned out in excellent style and pattern and in great quantities. There are five
knitting mills. That of Harrison Berger and Son is located at the old flour mill on Dock Street. J. F. Bast's establishment in on Berne
Street and starts up Monday and works until Saturday night without shutting down steam as they work two shifts. Daniel Sharadin's
mill is near Columbia Street near Canal. J. F. Thompson and Company's works are on Margaretta Street and E. H. Baker is running a
big plant on a small street off of Saint John Street. The latest acquisition is Keller Shoemaker and Company whose new mill just
started up this week. It is located on Prospect Hill and is fitted up with all the latest machinery. All the factories make underwear and
one makes fast black hose. The capacity of these five mills is nearly five thousand shirts a day. The shoe factory and the knitting
mills use immense quantities of paper boxes and this gives prosperity to W. F. Doherty's big box factory. Yes, Schuylkill Haven is
forging ahead and that too without much brass band business.
|The Call of February 12, 1898
A PORTABLE WASHERY
Hiester C. Boyer and John H. Phillips of Pottsville put men to work this week at the lower end of the town to reclaim coal washed into
the Schuylkill River from the collieries situated along its tributaries. The scheme they are about to adopt is an original one. It is
proposed to build a large scow upon which they will erect screens and shutes to separate the coal from the silt and the assort it into
different sizes and then deposit it on the river's bank. The screens will be run by an engine propelled by steam supplied by a boiler,
all of which will be erected upon the scow. A soon as the coal is removed from the river bed in the vicinity, the scow will be
transported to a point farther south and operations will be again resumed and so on until the coal in the entire length of the river, a
distance of one mile, is removed in this way. This firm has secured a lease for all the land owned along the river from the Graver
Hotel to a point about one mile south. The culm is deposited from six to eight feet in the river bed and it is estimated that millions of
tons of coal will be reclaimed by this method, every pound which will find ready sale to local consumers, which will bring handsome
returns for the investment. This novel washery can be operated at little expense.
|The Call of October 5, 1900
NEW WASHERY IN OPERATION - Improved Apparatus Now in Use to Abstract
The new coal washery now in operation in the Schuylkill River at Quarlie Point, the foot of Canal Street, this place, is attracting large
numbers of spectators daily. The apparatus was built and is owned by Mr. James Ammon, a retired coal merchant of Reading. Mr.
Ammon's purpose is to abstract the coal from the dirt and culm now forming the bed of the river. The deposit of culm is from thee to
six feet in depth and is known to contain a large percentage of the very best free burning coal. To accomplish this purpose, a scow
fourteen by twenty five feet in size has been constructed and on this is placed the machinery, which consists of a powerful and
latest improved suction pump, operated by an eighteen horsepower engine. A twenty four horsepower boiler furnishes the steam.
Sieves and other necessary fixtures are also placed aboard the scow. A six inch hose attached to the pump extends down into the
mass of water, dirt and culm and all substances less
than six inches in size in close proximity to the opening are drawn up through the hose and deposited in a revolving screen or
sieve, with meshes of four different sizes, which separates the buckwheat, pea, nut, and stove coal. From the screen the coal drops
into bins below, from which it is removed by workmen and carried to the shore in boats specially built for that purpose. The water,
sand and other fine dirt separated from the coal is caught up by a trough at a point under the screens and run off the rear of the
scow into that part of the river already gone over by the hose. The scow, which is moved by means of ropes on shore, seesaws
across the stream, making its own course and each time advancing about ten feet. It is Mr. Ammon's intention to traverse the river
up to the Columbia Street covered bridge. The pump has a daily capacity of one thousand tons and it is expected that that amount of
material handled will give a daily yield of about 125 tons of coal, nearly all of which he expects to ship to other points. He will do
some retailing. The first trial of the apparatus was made on Wednesday morning and proved entirely successful.
|The Call of October 19, 1900
THE SCOW SANK
An unfortunate occurrence put a temporary halt to the operations of the new coal washery in the Schuylkill River at the foot of Canal
Street, this place. Last Friday evening, shortly before the suspension of he day's work, the scow suddenly sank, but fortunately the
water at that point was only about two feet deep and the valuable machinery aboard was not submerged. It was supposed that the
scow had been built sufficiently large to carry the weight of the heavy machinery. Instead of floating, as had been supposed, the
scow had been simply resting on the deposit of culm covering the bottom of the river. Large quantities of the culm surrounding the
scow had been removed by the pump and the scow, losing its support, went down. Mr. Ammon, the proprietor, is having another
scow constructed, twenty by thirty three feet in size, which is calculated large enough to sustain the enormous weight. The
operations up to the time of the accident had been very successful.
|The Call of February 13, 1903
Douglas Kaufman has given Schuylkill Haven something for which there has been a crying
need for several years - a first class restaurant, where meals can be obtained at all hours and
where the finest beers, wines and liquors obtainable can be had. Café Kauffman opened on
Saturday last and has been enjoying a trade that is very gratifying to its proprietor. The café
is located in the Kaufman building on Main Street, between Saint John and Saint Peter
Streets. The bar and lunch rooms are on the ground floor. They are painted and papered in
green and white, while the handsome fixtures are of antique quartered oak floor and is fitted
with a coal range and a gas range both of the latest and most approved patterns. On the
second floor are two public dining rooms and a private dining room, all beautifully carpeted
and handsomely furnished with pretty pictures on the walls and lace curtains on the
windows. The café is lighted throughout by electric light. It contains every modern requisite
for the comfort and speedy service of its guests. It is understood that the formal opening will
take place on the seventeenth and that a chicken and waffle supper will be served.
|The article at right denotes the opening of
"Cafe Kaufman in Schuylkill Haven. The ad
above appeared on the front page of "The Call"
regularly after the grand opening. The article
below relates the eventful grand opening
|The Call of May 8, 1903
IT WAS A PUT UP JOB - The Street Fight Precipitated by a Gang of Toughs
The unfortunate street fight on Main Street on Tuesday night of last week has been he subject of a thorough investigation upon the
part of Douglass Kaufman, the proprietor of Kaufman's Café. Mr. Kaufman was holding his opening, and his restaurant was crowded
with patrons, most of them personal friends, many of whom had come from a distance to aid in the making the affair a success. The
Schuylkill Haven Drum Corps,engaged for the occasion, were playing in front of the café, when suddenly there was an attack upon
the assembled crowd in the street, which was ended in a few moments by prompt and decisive action upon the part of those standing
by. Mr. Kaufman was busy in his cellar getting out supplies and knew nothing of the disturbance until it was over and at no time was
there any disturbance in the café. Mr. Kaufman is reliably informed that a crowd of young fellows came down from Pottsville with the
avowed purpose of creating a row. They were not intoxicated but were bent upon mischief and kept up their tactics until the
disturbance resulted. No one deplores the affair more than Mr. Kaufman, although he realizes he is not open to censure in the
matter as it was something for which he is not responsible and could not control. Mr. Kaufman's sole idea in locating here has been
to give this town the benefit of a restaurant that is first class in all of its appointments and where an appetizing meal may be had at
any hour and he believes the community will support him in the maintaining of such a model establishment.
|The Call of May 27, 1904
DRUG STORE CHANGES HANDS
Wellington Hartman last week sold the Gem Pharmacy to G. I. Bensinger, who has been his clerk for a number of years. Mr.
Bensinger graduated with honors from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in 1886 and has been practicing his profession ever
since. He is one of the most popular young men in the town and his success is assured.
Mr. Hartman has for some time been manufacturing specialties for the drug and liquor trades and has recently established a
wholesale liquor house and he retires from the retail drug business in order to more fully devote his time to the manufacture and
sale of his specialties, which have already won a statewide reputation and by merit alone are pushing their way into all the
|The building at 104 East Main Street has been home to a pharmacy since 1891.
Below is the first of varying information about the tenants of that building.
|The Call of September 11, 1914
WILL CELEBRATE ANNIVERSARY
Tonight there will be celebrated an interesting event in the town's business section. It will be the tenth
anniversary of one of our most enterprising young businessmen, namely,E. G. Underwood. Today it is just ten
years since this businessman, as manager for the Doutrich and Company store, opened for business in
Schuylkill Haven. In that time he has not only developed a most uptodate gent's furnishing store but has set
a standard for successful businessmen in our town. Ten years ago, this burg was, so far as its businessmen
were concerned, at a standstill. Shortly after the arrival of Mr. Underwood in the town, his uptodate business
ideas and public spiritedness began to make itself felt in many directions. Other businessmen began to see
their opportunities which they were leaving slip by for making this a livelier and busier town. They began to
pursue different tactics and to the credit of this one man, it must be said the town took on a new life. In the
ten years he has been in Schuylkill Haven he and his work has been an incentive for bigger and better things
which have done much to advance the town. The steady and vigorous growth of the clothing store with which
for two years he was connected as manager, and for six and one half years as a member of the firm Doutrich
and Company, and for the last year and a half as proprietor, is due to the splendid service, sound business
judgement and honest and straight forward business methods employed.
This store, as it stands today in appearance and the ready response of the people, the large increase in volume of business, fully
attest that Mr. Underwood has proven himself a most thorough and efficient businessman. A man capable of knowing just what the
people need and should have and a man who has not hesitated in beginning at the very first stage, i. e. creating the desire to be
clothed in stylish and well fitting and up to the minute clothes and then supplying the demand. The store has become the most
popular among the men and boys of this town ans the surrounding community.
Mr. Underwood came to Schuylkill Haven from Gettysburg where he was employed in the store of Weaver and Son. As manager for
Doutrich and Company the store had a depth of seventy five feet. This later was increased by forty feet. After a few years the
merchant tailoring feature was added to the line of gents clothing and furnishings. Later almost two complete floors were occupied
instead of one. Only last year the store was further enlarged for the accommodation of a Ladies Department of coats, suits and furs.
It is in celebration of the ten years Mr. Underwood has been in business in Schuylkill Haven that he has arranged for an anniversary.
Mr. Underwood fully is cognizant of the fact that it is to the public to whom is due the greater portion of credit for his success, as it
was by their patronage that the present business has prospered and grown to such an extent. In view of this fact he extends a
cordial invitation to everyone to attend the anniversary ceremonies which will be held tonight, Friday, September 11th.
|At left is a bottle of "Old Virginia
Bitters" supplied by Wellington
Hartman of Schuylkill Haven.
This rare bottle commands a
premium price. At right is an ad
from the Call newspaper for one
of his concoctions.
The insatiable demand for
houses and the prospects of
Schuylkill Haven's prosperity for
some time to come have created
somewhat of a real estate boom
and the new addition to the town
opened by Messrs. Saul and
Stanton appears to be the
favored location. Within the past
week three of the finest building
sites have been sold and the
purchasers expect to build in
the spring. This is one of the
most desirable locations in the
town, being high and dry, with
pure air and a splendid natural
drainage and is within easy
reach of the Pennsylvania
Railroad and the trolley, while it
is only a five minutes walk from
the center of town.
|Schuylkill Haven was considered a prosperous town in the county and area one hundred years ago and the real estate business
flourished. The article at the left from the Call of November 3, 1905 made a regular appearance in the paper along with the plot plan
at right as seen in the August 4, 1905 edition. The plot plan shows available lots on what is now Centre Avenue, Stanton Street and
|Owning an automobile in 1912 was considered quite different then it is today. Below is an article listing all auto
owners in Schuylkill Haven. This type of listing appeared at various times throughout the year.
The Call of July 19, 1912
LIST OF LOCAL AUTO OWNERS
The following is a list of automobile owners in Schuylkill Haven and the name of the car. There are forty nine
automobiles, six of this number are trucks. Last year there were twenty eight machines in town or an increase in
one year of twenty one machines. It is quite likely before the season is over this number will be increased to a
still larger number as there are quite a few persons who expect to purchase a machine this year. The Ford and
Cadillac machines seem to be the favorites with the local drivers, there being an equal number of each make in
the town, eleven Cadillacs and eleven Fords.
H. R. Heim Cutting Joseph Michel Cadillac
Samuel Rowland Cadillac Frank Heim Inter-State
Carl Bitzer Buick George H. Michel National
O. O. Bast Ford Charles Michel Cadillac
Howard Stager Maxwell George A. Berger Cadillac
George Saul Cadillac W. Hartman Ford
Jacob Reed Cadillac Mrs. Charles Sheaf Buick
Dr. L. D. Heim Overland Charles Faust Cadillac
D. D. Coldren Ford Dr. J. A. Lessig Ford
Dr. A. H. Detweiler Ford F. B. Keller Inter-State
John Ebling Ford Rev. E. H. Smoll Buick
Edward Borda Maxwell T. J. Davis Ford
Daniel Greenwald Ford Thomas Berger Cadillac
John Berger Cadillac William Kramer Cadillac
Blaine Sharadin Maxwell William Stitzer Ford
Irwin Becker Ford Herbert Baker Buick
William Killian Studebaker Daniel Kramer Rambler
Frank Runkle Buick Saul and Zang Modern Truck
George Long Buick Sam Sausser Rambler
Walter Meck Everett W. H. Moyer Overland
Harry Dohner Flanders John Dohner Ford
Jacob Berger E. M. F. Mrs. D. Dechert Buick
J. Harry Filbert Cadillac P. T. Hoy and Sons Chase Truck
Michel Brothers 1 Mack truck, 2 Modern Trucks
|The Call of August 6, 1920
TEARING DOWN ONE OF TOWN'S OLDEST FACTORY BUILDINGS
During the week, the frame rear portion of the Hoffman Knitting Mill was being torn down by the contractor preparatory to the
construction of a brick addition to this plant. The frame portion to be demolished is probably one of the town's oldest factory
buildings, having been built and used by Francis Warner as a shoe factory. It has for years been used as a factory building, both as a
shoe factory and underwear mill by different firms. The excavating adjoining the present Hoffman Mill continues, a sufficient depth
not having been reached yet. On this site will be constructed a three story brick factory building. The present mill will have another
brick story placed on it. When completed, the Hoffman Mill will be entirely of brick of a size 110 feet in depth and 50 feet frontage,
three stories in height and a basement. For some time three buildings have been used by Mr. Hoffman for his knitting mill, namely
the Margaretta Street mill, the mill across the street, formerly the candy factory and the building formerly occupied by A. H. Kline as a
factory. It is proposed to have all the operations conducted in the new building when completed.
|The Call of December 12, 1919
TOWN HAS LARGEST GARAGE IN COUNTY
The automobile garage on West Main Street of Berger and son is about completed and ready for occupancy by ninety autos. This is
the number of machines that can be accommodated in this building. Already some thirty machines have had reservations made for
them by their owners. The garage as was stated in these columns some time ago is the largest one floor garage in Schuylkill County.
It is 68 feet wide with a depth of 148 feet. The placing of iron girders made it possible to erect the building without the use of
supports or posts at different parts of the floor. This affords an unobstructed floor space of unusual size and will greatly facilitate
the handling of cars and make it possible for auto owners to take out and put back again their car with greater ease. The garage is
fireproof in its entirety. In addition to the same being a garage, the owners will carry a complete line of auto tires and all kinds of
accessories. A gasoline and air tank will also be installed. It is planned to have a formal opening of the garage in the very near
future at which time a band is to be present to furnish music for those who may wish to dance. A demonstration will also be given of
the Overland and Cole Eight autos which this firm is agent for.
|The following two articles herald the big news of a new auto garage in Schuylkill Haven....
|The Call of March 5, 1920
TO HAVE COMPLETELY EQUIPPED MACHINE SHOP
In addition to the George A. Berger and Son building on west Main Street being one of the roomiest garages in the county, it will also
be a modern and first class equipped machine shop, where it will be possible to procure prompt auto repairs of the cost complicated
nature and all kinds of general repairs. The motors, lathes and other machinery has arrived and will be set up the coming week.
There will be several machinists employed. One of the machinists will begin work the coming week. He is George Blew, formerly
foreman of the Serfas Motor Car Company of Pottsville. There are some sixty five automobiles stored in this garage at present.
There remains but a small part of the floor space to be concreted. Work on this will begin the coming week.
|The Call of July 11, 1919
SECOND BATHING BEACH OPENED
Schuylkill Haven now has two bathing beaches, in addition to the "Dock" and several other swimming places. The second bathing
beach to be officially opened was that at Bittle's Dam which took place on Monday evening. The Bressler Band was present and
rendered a concert the early part of the evening. Many bathers were present and enjoyed the cooling off and quite a large number
of onlookers were also on the job. Mr. Spotts, the owner of the beach has had the dam cleaned out and the dam breast raised so that
a good depth of cool fresh spring water is obtainable. A large bath house has been erected and ten dozen bathing suits purchased
so that all persons wishing to bathe can be accommodated.
|The Call of July 16, 1920
GIRL CAME NEAR DROWNING
Mildred, eldest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Walter Meck, narrowly escaped drowning at Killian's on Wednesday evening. She with her
brother Charles were enjoying themselves when suddenly she went under. Charles promptly called for help. There were no adult
persons in the vicinity and Miss Mary Lessig, daughter of Dr. J. A. and Mrs. Lessig, who was nearby and had been enjoying the
bathing came to the rescue. Nothing but a bubble on the water's surface could be seen. She dove at the point where the bubbles
were noticed and struck the body. Upon coming to the surface she quickly made known her finding. By this time there was
considerable commotion and excitement. Mr. Harry Sterner of Centre Avenue, who happened to be walking along the dam, as soon
as he learned of the facts, threw off his hat and fully dressed dove in under and brought the girl to the surface. As soon as the air
was reached the child sort of regained consciousness and with a little effort was soon out of danger although her face was very blue
when rescued and it was feared her rescuer came too late. She was taken to the home of her parents on Saint Peter Street in an
automobile and put to bed. Outside from suffering from shock she appears none the worse for her narrow escape from drowning.
|The Call of September 16, 1927
NEW BUILDING ON OLD LANDMARK
One of the oldest buildings in Schuylkill Haven is soon to be razed and on its site will be erected two pretty and very modern dwelling
houses. The building that will be razed is the Voute-Filbert-Keller-Call Building. It is known by any one of these names by reason of it
having at one time been owned by the first three and for twenty five or more years, and up until several years ago occupied by The
Call. The building will be razed by Contractor Canfield. Work of demolition was begun in a small way this week. The steam shovel will
be put on the job shortly and although strongly constructed and in the good old manner of building, it is expected it will be down in a
very short time. With the building will also be removed a number of trees, one in particular, a horse chestnut tree, on the premises is
over a hundred years of age.
Messrs. F. B. Keller and H. E. Snayberger will have built upon the site a very modern double two and one half story dwelling house. It
will be of the Foxcraft stone. This is the same stone as the Strunck Memorial Hall is built. The building will be several feet above the
grade of the street and will face on Dock. At each side of the building will be a large porch, one to face on Main Street and the other
toward Spring Garden. There will be one main entrance to the building which will be off of Dock Street. There will also be driveways.
The style of architecture will be on the Colonial style. The contract for the construction of this building was recently let to Burton E.
Cooper of Port Carbon. The architect is Harry Maurer of Reading. When the new building is completed it will be occupied by Mr. and
Mrs. F. B. Keller and Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Snayberger. Its completion will probably mark the beginning of building alterations and
operations on a large scale at the First National Bank of which Mr. Keller is president. The space used as living quarters now
occupied by Mr. Keller in the bank building is to be used for the banking space and the new banking building is to be of the most
modern in style and design.
|The Call of August 1, 1919
BATHING BEACH TO BE ENLARGED
There are big things booked for Schuylkill Haven in the way of a bathing beach and amusement park by next summer. The same will
be the outcome of the extension of Willow Lake on Garfield Avenue which has already become a most popular resort, not only for
local persons but for many people from other towns. The proprietor, Joseph Killian, has decided to enlarge the present bathing
beach and provide the public with a regular New Jersey seashore resort. The only thing that will be lacking is the salt water. The
dams are to be increased in size and work on this will be commenced early in September. The entire length of the dams will be 585
feet. The width at the lower breast or widest point will be 240 feet and at the upper end 130 feet. It will be made twelve and one half
feet in depth at and near the dam breast. Although making the beach large in size to accommodate many persons and deeper to
please some of the more daring ones, Mr. Killian is cognizant of the youngsters pleasure as well, and for their special pleasure is
going to provide and set apart a space of 140 feet by 52 feet which will be concreted and will be from two and a half to three and a
half feet in depth. A stem shovel will be used for the purpose of deepening the dam.
Not only is the bathing feature to be given attention but the pleasure and recreation features outside of bathing are to be provided
for. These in the form of a park. Below the dam breast there is to be made a park 500 feet in length and 150 to 250 feet in width. On
this space will be planted shade trees in large numbers. A pavilion to be used for dances and band concerts is to be erected. A
pavilion or building that will house a merry go round and other indoor amusements is to be erected. Several slides and swings for
the children will also be built as well as other outdoor park amusements. Tables and benches will be placed for the convenience of
picnic parties and private persons wishing to take their meals in the park. All these things are provided for in the plans and
blueprints that have been drawn up for the improvement of this place and the work is to be commenced early in September. Marlin
Scott of Pottsville, who for years was one of the managers at the Tumbling Run resort is affiliated with Mr. Killian in this latter
feature. Building plots have also been laid out at the dam, there being twenty two on the north side of the dam and twelve on the
south side. Eight of these lots have already been sold and the owners intend on erecting bungalows thereon. Several will begin
erection of the buildings this year.
|The articles below all relate to the swimming pool at Willow Lake, originally owned by the Killian family.
|This truck and two teams of horses
were used by Joseph Killian who
operated the ice business at Killian's
Dam in the Willow Lake area of town.
He also operated the swimming pool
that was located there.
|The Call of October 7, 1927
PUTTING IN SIDE TRACK TO WASHERY
A side track or siding to the Manbeck Washery is being placed by the Reading Company. In order to provide a A side track or siding
to the Manbeck Washery is being placed by the Reading Company. In order to provide a slag and cinder is being taken from the
Rolling Mill property. This in turn will make this piece of land more necessary fill to the washery which is very near the end of Canal
Street or Parkway, a fill of four feet consisting of desirable as building lots. The placing of the side track to the washery will make it
possible to load the coal for shipment at the washery instead of trucking it to the coal chute near the Union Knitting Mill. It will in turn
also eliminate the condition at this point sometime complained of by pedestrians, namely, that of the pavement over which the trucks
passed of being covered with mud.
|The Call of June 14, 1929
D. M. BITTLE'S MORGUE FINEST IN THIS LOCALITY
The morgue and embalming parlors of Undertaker D. M. Bittle of Schuylkill Haven are without a doubt the most modern and up to date
in this section of Pennsylvania. One usually thinks or possibly speaks of a morgue as a place only to be visited by the undertaker and
the dead and the mention of the word results in chills creeping up and down one's back. However, modern methods used in caring
for and preparing the dead for burial have relieved this phase of the work of its so called horrors. A visit to the morgue of Mr. Bittle
can be made without the slightest fear of being unnerved. This because he has provided a large space for modern equipment and
furnishings and everything possible is done in order that the lifeless body can be tenderly cared for in a most sanitary and clean
manner. One finds the morgue is a large room resembling the operating room of a modern hospital. It is enameled in white, is well
lighted and all the equipment is of white porcelain. One finds a large white porcelain operating table, white instrument cabinets,
wash stands with hot and cold water available and shelves and closets wherein are arranged in an orderly way, carefully labeled
bottles containing the necessary fluids for the work at hand.
Adjoining the operating room, one finds the slumber room to which room the body is taken after being embalmed. It is placed on a
day bed. There are chairs and a table in the room and it is to this room relatives of the deceased can come and silently commune
with the spirit of their loved ones. Another room is fitted up as a display room and here are on display quite a number of caskets of
different designs and types. Here also may be found samples of the garment or clothing obtainable for the dead. The selection of all
the necessities for the burial may be chosen with ease under these conditions. The general public can feel that in the event of an
accident, etc., which sometimes necessitates the removal of a body to the undertaking establishment before removal to the home, it
is being cared for and prepared in a clean operating room and under the most desirable all around conditions.
|These three ads below were featured in the Call during 1928 and 1929.
|When First Lieutenant Joseph S. Kaufman was about to be discharged from the Army in 1919, he read an article stating milk should
be sterilized via pasteurization for the safety of the consumer. After discussing this with his fellow Schuylkill Haven resident and
Army buddy, Charles (Bags) Graeff, they decided to become partners in the milk pasteurization business. In 1920, Kaufman and
Graeff started in a basement in a home on Naffin Avenue in Schuylkill Haven. Most dairy farmers in the area sold their raw milk to
local residents and they tried talking Kaufman out of his new venture. They were unsuccessful and in 1921, Kaufman hired prolific
Schuylkill Haven builder and entrepreneur Paul Naffin, to build a milk processing plant on Naffin Avenue.
At the height of the business, an eight hundred quart pasteurization vat was filled three times a day, and four times the next, so that
2,800 quarts per day were delivered to local customers. The price of a quart at that time was ten cents. The raw milk was supplied to
Kaufman by forty farmers throughout Schuylkill and Berks Counties. An early employee of the dairy was Paul Boger, who began there
at the age of eleven. He would arise at three o'clock in the morning and work until school began. In 1928, he became a full time
employee and remained at the dairy for twenty four years. At that time the milk from Berks County arrived by train and it was known
the trainmen would get to the milk and skim the cream off the top of the forty quart containers.
Kaufman bought out his partner in 1921 and operated the dairy with his father, Daniel. The process would begin at three o'clock in
the morning. He and employee Chock Fey would deliver it to their customers. Bob Frey and Harry Kerschner were also long time
deliverymen for the operation. When Kaufman's son Joseph got out of the service in 1946, he started to work at the dairy as a milk
processor. Joe took a course at Penn State University and became a licensed milk tester, testing the butter fat content of the milk.
Milk was delivered every day including Sundays. In 1947, Kaufman purchased a machine to homogenize milk which keeps the cream
distributed throughout the container. Customers were given the choice between homogenized or nonhomogenized which was
bottled in what was known in cream top bottles, which allowed the cream to collect at the top. Surplus milk was run through a
separator machine, separating the cream from the milk. The cream was containerized and sold to Yuengling Dairy for ice cream and
the remaining milk, skim milk due to the absence of cream, was drained into the creek behind the dairy. The creek would turn white
with hundreds of gallons of the considered worthless skim milk running into it.
Kaufman's Dairy was sold in 1951 to Hiram Fisher, who worked for Rothermel's Dairy. He in turn went out of business in 1959. The
dairy was demolished in 1970, a home now occupying the lot.
This article is composed of information by the dairy founder's son Joseph and grandson Joerd. The accompanying pictures were kindly provided by
|Kaufman's Dairy founder
Joseph S. Kaufman
|This July 1950 photo
shows Harry Kerschner
and Joe Kaufman in front
of their delivery truck on
Saint John Street on the
northeast corner of the
intersection of Union
|This photo at left shows the Kaufman Dairy
float being readied for a Schuylkill Haven
Fourth of July parade. Below are two
pyroglazed Kaufman Dairy bottles.
|At right employees of the dairy from left to right:
Chock Fey, Daniel K. Kaufman, Daniel K.
Kaufman Jr. and owner Joseph S. Kaufman.
Below are two embossed bottles from the dairy.
|At left are two pyroglazed Kaufman Dairy bottles with the old 227 phone number. In the center is an advertising fan with Kaufman Dairy on the front and three dairies
on the reverse. At right are two highly collectible "baby face" bottles from the dairy. Note the bottles are of the cream top variety to separate the cream from the milk,
in this case in the form of a baby's face.
|WALKIN SHOE COMPANY
|Located at the corner of Parkway and Columbia Streets, the Walkin
Shoe Company was founded in 1887. It was organized in a 60' by 40'
frame building along the banks of the old Schuylkill Canal. It began as
Berger, Brown and the borough sold the old lock up and ground on
which it stood and an addition was made. In August of 1909, it the
latter two men left the business and H. E. Snayberger partnered with
Mr. Keller. For many years the company specialized in children's
corrective footwear and were sold nationwide. The 1968 anniversary
booklet about the company stated that at the time 2000 pairs of shoes
were made daily by a work force of 250 employees. The Walkin later
succumbed to a changing economy and foreign imports.
|Invoice from company from August 1909 when
Gerber sold his interests in the business.
|The Gerber Shoe factory in the original
building. Note the old canal in front.
|The Industrial review published in 1898 shows the pictures of the
owners of the company that later became the Walkin Shoe Co.
|P. T. HOY & SONS CO. GENERAL STORE
|Many residents can recall the beautiful Victorian brick structure at the corner of East Main Street and St. John Street that housed the
P. T. Hoy General Store. The business had it's origin during Civil War times located in Landingville. The original store was operated
by the father in law of Pancoast Thomas (P. T.) Hoy, Lewis Main Street. In 1875, P. T. Hoy entered the business and assumed
In 1894, he moved the business to a building at Main and St. John Streets expanding it to the well known three and a half story
turreted structure that was a centerpiece of the business district. The store sold a wide variety of dry goods and groceries. This
building became the largest completely electrically lit building in town between 1905 and 1910. Part of the original building on the
site predated the Civil War. A portion of that retained in the basement evidence of old store fronts. This was a remnant of the era
when the level of that intersection was a full story below present street level.
Hoy, ever the entrepreneur, sought out special contracts. He supplied troops in Shenandoah during the 1902 coal strike and also
obtained contracts to serve traveling circuses. Delivery teams delivered groceries to outlying areas and also purchased goods from
farmers for resale. Hoy was one of the first commercial enterprises in the county to utilize motorized trucks, sometime around 1910.
The business also offered gasoline for sale in the early days of automobiles. Hoy discontinued his delivery business during World
War One, maintaining the fixed site operation only.
It is said that P. T. Hoy was the first business in the area to offer Shredded Wheat and Quick Mother's Oats during the advent of those
staples. It was reported that confectionery pioneer, Milton Hershey, was an occasional visitor of the Hoy business as he began
A Lionel train display filled the front windows of the Hoy store at Christmas time. According to my uncle and others, at times, the
store cat also shared this space with fresh sausage and other goods. The store operated into the 1960's with Rudy Hoy as proprietor
until his retirement. The grand structure was demolished around 1966 and is now the site of Brok-Sel Markets.
P. T. Hoy was apparently a man who recognized the value of advertising. Many items bearing his store name still exist. Below you will
find pictures of some of those surviving items. In addition, is a picture of two unique items. A flour sifter from the counter of the
store bears the P. T. Hoy name but is hard to read especially in a photograph. The other item is a wooden washing machine from over
one hundred years ago.
|These three images depict P. T. Hoys beautiful edifice before it's demise. Upper left is from
September 1959, in the center is from January 1963 and at right is April 1966.
|Here are some items related to the P. T. Hoy General Store. Clockwise from
upper left: coupon book and money saving punch card, Deer Note stationery
designed for his store, ruler, medicine bottle and receipt pad.
|T. Hoy items. At left is
an old washing
machine called "Hoy's
Special" with a patent
date of June 20, 1899.
It was manufactured
by the A. G. Christman
Co. of Reading. At
right is a flour sifter
from the counter of
the store. It is marked
Schuylkill Haven, PA.
|On the left is
Pancoast T. Hoy
and on the right
is his wife, Cora
|This picture is of the
interior of the P. T. Hoy
store in the Business
Review of Schuylkill Haven
|The grave stones of P. T. Hoy on the left, his wife Cora
on the right and their son Rudy, below, on the family
plot in Union Cemetery.
|MESSNER AND HESS
|Anyone growing up in Schuylkill Haven in the 1950s through the 1970s would certainly remember the Messner and Hess five and ten
cent store on Main Street. I spoke to the last owner of the establishment, Harry Naffin. He related the following information about
The original company was started by Clarence Messner and Daniel Hess, both hailing from Lancaster County. They had two other
stores in Girardville and Minersville in addition to the store in Schuylkill Haven. The partnership became a sole proprietor when
Messner bought out Hess's half but retained the original store name. Harry Naffin began his career with the business in 1939 when
he was offered a job washing Messner's Packard while still a high school student. He worked part time at the store until graduating
from Schuylkill Haven High School in 1940. Harry then accepted a full time position working sixty hours per week for a salary of
thirteen dollars. He said he was the only graduate to obtain a job right from school that year. Harry worked at the Minersville store
while his future wife, Kit managed the Schuylkill Haven store from 1942 until 1948. When Harry returned from his Army stint in 1948,
he became manager of the Schuylkill Haven store.
In 1969, Messner died and by 1970 Harry Naffin had purchased the business. He says that at most times they employed eight to nine
girls to work on the floor. The store was always well stocked with goods including toys, trains, hardware, school supplies, sewing
notions and candy. Entrance could be gained from Wilson Street which was noted as a "shortcut to Main Street".
As I recall, when entering from the back door, train supplies and model kits were what one first encountered along with glassware
and knick knacks. One would then go down a few steps to the main floor. Toys and games were in the two aisles to the left and
hardware to the right. School supplies were located near the front of the store. At the Main Street entrance was a large candy
counter where bulk candy could be purchased. Harry states that the cases were quite special and the company who made them used
the display in Messner and Hess in their catalog.
With the advent of large chain stores and malls, Naffin was forced to close the store after Easter in 1982. I had the privilege of
occasionally visiting Harry at his home in Pine Grove where we enjoyed discussing the past of Schuylkill Haven. Harry has provided
information used on this web site including pictures. Widowed after losing his wife Kit, Harry remained busy doing various woodwork
projects including making beautifully fashioned wooden bowls. He passed away in 2009.
|At left, Harry Naffin, owner of Messner and Hess on Main Street, peddles his wares at the first
sidewalk sale in Schuylkill Haven in the early 1960s. In center is the store with the font
windows decorated for Christmas and at right is the store between Cleland's furniture and
Atkin's Five and Ten
|The Call of November 18, 1910
To the P. T. Hoy and Sons
Company belongs the honor of
putting into service the first
motor truck in Schuylkill Haven.
The truck has a capacity of a ton
and a half, is of twenty
horsepower, air cooled gasoline
three cylinder motor and was
manufactured by the Chase
Motor Truck Company of
Syracuse New York. The car
was purchased through the
Commercial Motor Car Company
of Pottsville, of which Thomas J.
Charlton is the manager. Other
merchants will doubtless install
motor delivery wagons within
the coming year.
|The Call of July 15, 1910
P. T. Hoy and Sons Company last week put in
operation at their big store a mammoth cash
register that can do almost everything in the
business line except talk and collect bad debts.
The machine automatically registers the amount
of every purchase no matter how small or large
and it delivers a check with a memorandum of the
transaction stamped thereon showing settlement,
charge account, cash sale, etc. The entire day’s
business, both cash and credit, together with
amounts paid out goes through the machine and
when the store closes in the evening a record
sheet is taken from the machine showing every
transaction and by which clerk or members of the
firm the transaction was made. The cash register
is one of the most useful and necessary adjuncts
to the transaction of a modern retail business.
|The photo at right is from
the fifth annual banquet
of the Schuylkill Haven /
Association. From left
the barbers are: Guy
Lehman, Ernie Rizzuto,
Monroe Miller, Dutch
Coover, Merlin Fisher
and John Cake
|BUSINESS IMAGES OF SCHUYLKILL HAVEN FROM THE PAST
|The Schuylkill Haven Paper Box
Manufacturing Plant was located on Penn
Street below Parkway. The building remains
today, used by a door and window company.
|The Union Knitting Mill was located on Williams
Street below the railroad tracks. Owned by the
Reed family, it remains today but not as a factory.
|The Haven Casket Factory was and still is located
on Liberty Street. The building looks very much
the same today as it did when this was taken.
|The Manbeck Ice Manufacturing Plant was
located on Liberty Street. The building remains
today, used as a storage building
|At left is the Reider
Shoe Factory located
on West Main Street.
The building is an
today. At right is an
certificate for the
|This image is from a pamphlet promoting
Schuylkill Haven in the first half of the last
century. It shows Meck Knitting Mill on West
Main Street looking much the same today.
|The Call of March 21, 1930
AUTO COMPANY PRESIDENT VISITS SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Earl Stoyer was host last week to the head of a prominent automobile concern in the person of Joseph Graham, president of the
Graham-Paige Corporation, of Detroit, Michigan. Mr. Stoyer has won honor medals, service medals, and most anything he tried for,
which was offered as an inducement by the corporation and though in competition with cities of great population, he has succeeded
in winning the prize. Mr. Graham started out in a Graham sedan from his home in Detroit some time ago and since that time has
covered ten thousand miles, first going to the Pacific Coast, thence south, primarily to visit Florida, and came north enroute to still
further northern points, before returning to his home.
Being a mechanical engineer of note, he was particularly interested in the machinery Mr. Stoyer has installed in his Schuylkill Haven
works and highly complimented him on the same, likewise expressing gratification at the beautiful display parlors at Pottsville and
Schuylkill Haven. He also complimented Mr. Stoyer on the extraordinary good looking condition of his used car department, saying
he never saw a better prepared line of cars than those now on the big bargain list. They look like new cars and are fitted out
splendidly. Mr. Graham was accompanied by Guy A. Willey of Philadelphia, the distributor for the Graham-Paige in this territory, and
both were loud in their praise of the Stoyer establishments in this territory, and left feeling he can now understand how Mr. Stoyer
manages to capture the prizes in a limited territory such as he is located in. It is service to the last degree. He was delighted with
the conditions of business as he found it in our section of the country and as he traveled all over the country, knows what he is
|The Call of July 25, 1930
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE LEASES BUILDING FOR TOWN'S NEW INDUSTRY
Negotiations have now been completed whereby the Losch Automatic Heater Company of Schuylkill Haven will move into much larger
quarters in Schuylkill Haven. This will enable this firm to manufacture and assemble on a larger scale their automatic furnace, which
is conceded to have many superior features over other automatic furnaces. The company will shortly occupy the new factory
building of Berger Brothers on Garfield Avenue. Some interior changes must be made in order to accommodate the new concern but
they will be of such a nature that they can be made very quickly and Mr. Losch expects to have all machinery and equipment moved
from his plant on Columbia Street and in operation in the new building by the latter part of next week. Some of the machinery was
moved on Thursday and the men are now at work hanging the shafting, etc. Mr. Losch is very well pleased with the new quarters.
As a result of larger quarters, Mr. Losch expects to be able to greatly increase his output and to meet the demand for the automatic
furnaces which is growing heavier right along. All heating concerns and companies who have seen the plant in operation express
the opinion that it is destined to meet with a ready sale on the market. The company had inducements to bring their plant to other
towns, but Mr. Losch was loyal to his home town, Schuylkill Haven and made inquiry whether the Chamber of Commerce of Schuylkill
Haven could not supply a larger building. Negotiations have been underway for the past several months by the Board of Directors of
the Chamber of Commerce to obtain building sites for the erection of a building. In this the public would have been asked to
cooperate. The demands for increased quarters became so heavy that increased facilities were necessary immediately. The
Chamber of Commerce therefore leased the said Berger Brothers new factory building for a period of years with the privilege of
purchase and from its funds obtained by membership dues, will provide this latest Schuylkill Haven industry with a building rent free.
|The Call of August 29, 1930
HEAVY DEMAND FOR FURNACES OF LOSCH FIRM
The Losch Automatic Furnace company of Schuylkill Haven is now in full operation in the new quarters in the Berger Brothers new
mill building on Berger Street. The plant was moved into this new building several weeks ago. Some little time, of course, was
required to get the machinery set up and things moving along smoothly on the increased scale. Fifteen men are now employed and
on an average of three to four furnaces are being completed weekly. In order to take care of the orders on hand and the demand for
the furnaces, a working force of at least fifty men would be required. Considerable space is required to assemble the furnaces. The
second floor of this building is now being fitted up and will be made use of very shortly. An adjoining building can be readily adapted
to the needs of the plant when this becomes necessary.
The Losch Automatic Furnace is being made in five different sizes to accommodate different sizes of homes and buildings. Two of
the largest size furnaces are being built at this time for the Nurse's Home at the Pottsville Hospital and one for the home of Clinton
Confehr. Last week a large one was placed in the home of Mr. Couch, owner of the Troy Laundry at Pottsville. Representatives for
the company were given notice three weeks ago to discontinue taking orders for the furnaces because of it being impossible to
make them fast enough to supply the demand. Ordinarily one would think the proper procedure would be to immediately increase
the working force. While men might be available for this purpose, the manufacture of the furnaces is of such a nature that it requires
some time before a new employee can be made thoroughly acquainted with the procedure, the requirements and the assembling.
|The Call of October 2, 1931
CANDY KITCHEN REMODELS - NEW SERVICE ADDED
The opening of the newly equipped luncheon parlor of the Schuylkill Haven Candy Kitchen will be held on Saturday of this week.
Workmen have been busy the past several weeks transforming the interior of this confectionery into a modern wonderland. An
artistic open work archway of walnut and white glass composition, separates the store from the serving parlor. Beyond the archway,
you will see a beautiful candy display case which backs up the entire aisle of booths. In all, there are twenty individual or private
booths as follows: six double ones on both the east and west sides of the room which will accommodate four persons each and eight
single booths to accommodate two persons each, in the center of the room.
The booths are constructed of walnut and the table tops are of vitrolite. Beautifully designed panel mirrors grace booth has a unique
hat and cloak rack. Bernheim and Sons Incorporated of Philadelphia installed the new fixtures. A new luncheonette service, in
connection with the regular fountain service was opened on Wednesday and is in personal charge of Mrs. Joe Reber. The luncheon
display of a large baked ham, salads, sandwiches, soup and pies is most inviting. Fried oysters will be served as an extra special on
Saturday evening. A new Frigidaire cooler has been added for the convenience of the culinary department. Proprietor Parris Lazos
is to be congratulated upon his new improvements. Eleven years ago he opened his first business establishment in Schuylkill
Haven, in the The booths are constructed of walnut and the table tops are of vitrolite. Beautifully designed panel mirrors grace store
room now occupied by the Sausser firm. His efforts have been successful. He now reciprocates by giving the public a metropolitan
luncheonette and ice cream parlor at a considerable outlay of money. The adding of this each booth. The wall booths have individual
side lights harmonizing with the modernistic ceiling lights. Each luncheonette service will fill a long felt need in Schuylkill Haven and
is sure to be given the patronage of the community.
|The Call of December 11, 1931
OPEN PAINT AND PAPER STORE
Today, Friday and tomorrow, Saturday, will be the opening days for a new place of business in Schuylkill Haven. It is the Harry Feger
Jr. Paint and wallpaper Store. It is at 27 East Main Street in the Moser Building. By reason of the fact that folks nowadays are doing
more of their own painting in and about the home and redressing and toning up furniture, doing their own paperhanging and
decorating in their home, this character of store throughout the country has become very popular. Mr. Feger has had eighteen years
of experience in decorating and painting homes and is therefore in a position to determine just what will appeal as well as what will
be proper and desirable for the home. Accordingly, he has placed in stock an unusually large line of paints, varnishes and stains that
can be purchased either in large or small can sizes. Wallpaper can also be chosen from samples and stock and obtained in any
quantity. Mr. Feger Jr. will not accept any painting or paper hanging jobs, his desire being merely to supply the requisites for work of
this character. In charge of this store will be a well known Schuylkill Haven resident, namely Clayton Bubeck. Mr. Bubeck has had
many years of experience in painting and will therefore, be enabled to make helpful suggestions and to give advice on painting
problems. Mr. Feger, who now resides in Port Carbon, expects to move his family to Schuylkill Haven in the near future.
|The Call of December 25, 1931
NEW MILL TO BEGIN EARLY IN YEAR
The Alberta Underwear Factory in Schuylkill Haven will begin operations between January 1st and January 15th of 1932. This will be a
branch of the Miller Factory of Port Carbon. It was intended to begin operations in the Schuylkill Haven branch on Hess Street a
month ago but delay in the arrival of machinery made this impossible. Mr. Harry Welker who will be the superintendent of the new
mill, has been on the job for the past several weeks, directing the placing of the machinery and getting the plant ready for operation.
Thus far between 125 and 150 persons have made application for employment. The applicants have not only been from Schuylkill
Haven but from the district and towns for miles about Schuylkill Haven. Mr. Welker will require about twenty five employees when
the mill is first put into operation and the number will be increased from time to time.
|The Call of January 15, 1932
LOCAL MILL WORKING DAY AND NIGHT SHIFT
Dame Fashion in milady's underthings is responsible at this time for at least one of the Schuylkill Haven underwear mills working to
full capacity, on a full schedule of fifty four hours per week for the female employees and a full twenty four hour day shift for some of
the male employees, from Sunday midnight to Saturday at midnight. Others of the Schuylkill haven underwear mills, it is likely, will
also be kept quite busy for some time by reason of heavy demand for their product. All this is quite heartening and encouraging
news for the year ahead and it is hoped indicates a return of the unusual era of prosperity and good business that had been enjoyed
by all of Schuylkill Haven's industries.
The one particular plant that has now in its employ every employee for which any possible space can be found in the plant is the
Hoffman Knitting Mill, operated by Julius Kayser and Company. This company, with its main plant in Brooklyn, also owns and operates
large mills in seven or eight other towns and cities, as well as operating a plant in Canada, one in Australia and one in Switzerland.
The new garment which is meeting with such popular approval by the women folks is a two piece ladies shaped vest and tights and is
called Kayserettes. It is manufactured by the local plant in cotton and also in pure silk. This plant has been rushed since October
and orders are in hand sufficient to keep it steadily employed until April or May. One hundred and seventy five persons are given
employment the full schedule of hours for the week. The knitting machines are operated continuously from Sunday at midnight until
Saturday at midnight.
An unusual feature in connection with applications received by H. A. Goas, Superintendent of the Schuylkill Haven plant, is that nine
out of every ten are married women. It is understood several of the other Schuylkill Haven mills are about to begin work shortly on
some new styles of underwear for women which it is hoped will meet with equal approval and provide heavy orders for full capacity
plants for some time to come.
|Below are a series of articles about business in Schuylkill Haven during
the Great Depression. The details reveal the ingenuity, the drive and the struggles of the time.
|At left are postcards Stoyer
sent out in 1940 and 1941
Next to the pictures are the
car's features and price.
At right, top, is a raffle ticket
for the Grange Fair with a
car from Stoyer's as the
prize. Below that are
advertising pieces from the
dealership over the years.
Clicking on image enhances detail.
|At left is a fan given away
by the Schuylkill Haven
Candy Kitchen, mentioned
above and at right are can
openers from Feger's
Paint Store mentioned
Clicking images enhances detail.
|At one time banks
issued their own
currency. Here are
two fine examples
issued by the First
National Bank of
Schuylkill Haven. At
left is a $10 note from
1902 and at right a $20
note from 1882.
|The Call of March 21, 1930
PREPARING FOR "TALKIES" HERE
Schuylkill Haven is soon to have talking motion pictures. They are to be of the very best type and character and will add greatly to
this class of entertainment. During the week the Refowich Theatre has been closed for the purpose of making the installation of two
new Simplex machines from the Radio Corporation of America, for producing Vitaphone and Photophone pictures. Messrs. Refowich
are going to a heavy expense for the installation of this latest feature in motion pictures. Not alone are the machines expensive but
in order to successfully operate, a number of expensive alterations have been made necessary in the theatre.
In speaking with the men in charge of the placing of the new mechanism, it was learned that the Refowich Theatre is most ideally
suited both in size and arrangement of stage and balcony and height of ceiling for excellent results from the talking pictures. It is
expected that the best of results will be obtainable and that the general public will be most delightfully impressed with the
entertainment which it will now be possible to offer at unusually low prices. It is expected that the installation will have been
completed by the middle of next week in order to permit the holding of a grand reopening of the theatre by the latter part of next
week. Due announcement of the reopening, together with the program, and details of the new sound producing mechanism will
appear in next week's issue of The Call.
|The Call of March 28, 1930
"TALKIES" TO MAKE DEBUT HERE SATURDAY
Saturday, the Refowich Theatre, of Schuylkill Haven, will offer to the general public of Schuylkill haven and surrounding towns, its
first sound pictures or "talkies". The early part of the week, the installation of first class sound reproducing picture mechanism was
completed and the necessary changes made in the projecting mechanism to enable the showing of the very best of pictures. The
first test of the mechanism proved entirely satisfactory in every way and the management was indeed highly elated over the first
showing and tests. It is felt that the general public too, will be at first surprised and then greatly pleased with the results that have
been obtained in this theatre in the matter of sound production of movies with the synchronization of action with sound. At first
there was some uncertainty as to whether it would be possible to procure first class results in the sound reproduction in all parts of
the theatre. The mechanism installed is of such type that no trouble of any kind was experienced in this regard. With the placing of
this sound producing mechanism, it will be possible for the Refowich Theatre to offer to its patrons the very highest class of talking
pictures at prices considerably lower than what is charged elsewhere.
|The Call of January 22, 1932
PRIZES AT SCHUMACHER STORE REOPENING
Next Thursday evening the reopening of the H. Schumacher and Brother store on Columbia street will take place. This reopening is
being held because of the fact that so very many changes have been made at this place of business that it is only proper that special
and official public consideration be given. Probably the most noteworthy change is that of a thirty foot addition which has been
added to the store room, making the total floor space seventy by thirty feet. The entire interior has been done over in white enamel.
Fixtures, counters, shelving, etc., are all white, thereby providing a most unusual, inviting and clean effect. The store on the outside
is being given a repainting, green and white being the color combination. The large display windows have been somewhat
enlarged and new ground ceiling glass provided. They now have a paneled background while heretofore they were open. New
shelving, new counters and new equipment has been provided. The floor has been covered with a composition floor covering. A
new heating plant has been installed. A large skylight will provide considerable natural light and twenty four white bowl electric
fixtures will, at night, provide almost daylight illumination.
One of the very important and attractive new features added to this store is a twelve foot two temperature electric refrigerator case
of steel, porcelain and glass. In this case will be displayed meats, cheese, fruit, vegetables and more. There are two distinctive
compartments in this particular case. One is styled the frosted meat side, where the temperature will always be maintained at 33 to
36 degrees. The temperature, however, in both compartments, can be changed at will or will automatically change to meet all
climactic conditions. Both cases are of the display type with electric light illumination and the front being of four thicknesses of
glass. The cases stand thirteen inches in height. They were made by the Fleetwood Corporation of Fleetwood. The electric
refrigeration was installed by the Ryan Sales Company of Mahanoy City and was designed by Harold Leisawitz, refrigeration engineer,
who, by the way, is a son of Levi Leisawitz, a former resident of Schuylkill Haven.
The reopening of the store, next Thursday evening, will be marked with very special ceremonies. There will be a short street parade
in the evening headed by the Legion Bugle Corps. There will be a hundred or more prizes. The list of prize winners will be
announced in this publication next week so that it will not be necessary for one to remain in the store until the drawing takes place to
be eligible for the door prize. Refreshments will be served and there will be many samples of different foodstuffs given away free.
For entertainment there will be a vocal quartet present from York, who will broadcast from a regular broadcasting studio into
amplifiers so that everyone may hear distinctly. Grocerymen from all parts of eastern Pennsylvania will be in attendance.
|The Call of July 15, 1932
RABBIT BREEDING FOR MARKETING BEGUN IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
A new and interesting business has come to Schuylkill Haven. It is that of breeding rabbits for marketing purposes. Mr. Edward
Geary of Columbia Street has forty eight pens or hutches and twelve breeders, while Mr. William Nye of the same street has the same
number of breeders. A visit to the rabbitry of William Nye of Columbia Street proves quite interesting and enjoyable. One can get a
close up view as well as touch the very finest of rabbits and watch their antics without any discomfort whatsoever. The rabbitry is
housed in a two story building, twelve by thirty feet. Mr. Nye has twelve breeders, two bucks and ten does. They are New Zealand
whites, registered and pedigreed. The rabbits breed every three months and there are from eight to fourteen rabbits to a litter. It is
always necessary to take a number from the litter as the mother can only give the proper attention to but six to eight. By removing
several from the litter the development of the others is speeded up considerably.
The purpose of breeding rabbits is to sell them. Mr. Nye will dispose of the young rabbits when they reach five pounds in weight, to
the Blue Mountain rabbitry at Bethel. Here the rabbits are killed and dressed in a large packing department and shipped to either the
Hotel Lincoln, reading or the Hamburg Sanitarium, Hamburg. This particular rabbitry is under contract to furnish between four and
five thousand rabbits per week to these two concerns. One of the first questions that arises when it is announced this number of
rabbits are killed each week is that of, "What is done with them?" They are eaten of course and in most cases too, eaten for chicken.
This is explained in this way, white meat of chicken is preferred by most folks, especially for sandwiches and salads. There is only a
small or limited amount of white meat on a chicken, but with a rabbit, all its flesh or meat is white, has a most savory taste and thus
rabbits take the place of chickens.
In the last several months or since Mr. Nye started this rabbitry, 102 rabbits were born in it. Of this number only 67 are being raised,
the balance having been killed for the reason above stated. The rabbits now weigh in the neighborhood of four and one half
pounds. They will not be shipped to market until they reach a weight of five pounds. For food, pellets of compressed and complete
food is given. The pellets look like large sized pills which physicians frequently hand out to humans. They contain fourteen different
ingredients. The particular rabbits used for breeding purposes are all year round eating rabbits and breed every three months. The
breeders cost between thirty and fifty dollars. They are snow white. On the underside of the ears can be plainly seen the
registration number stamped thereon. The rabbits are given quantities of food twice a day. The daylight hours are called the
sleeping time for this particular rabbit, particularly so from ten in the morning until about six or seven in the evening. During the
night however, the rabbits are very active, romping about and having a fine time in their respective pens or hutches. There are
thirty six hutches in the rabbitry at present. Additional hutches are being added right along and Mr. Nye hopes to have at least one
hundred and ten by the end of the year. The hutches are of good size. They need not be very high but are of good size in width and
length. They are of the sanitary, self cleaning type. The floor of the hutch is hardware cloth or wire netting of special quality.
Underneath this flooring is a sloped metal floor or pan, thereby making the hutch readily accessible for cleaning purposes.
|The Call of May 5, 1933
CAPACITY OF ICE PLANT INCREASED
Recently the Manbeck Ice Plant at Schuylkill Haven underwent improvements and installation of new equipment which has resulted in
an additional daily capacity of ten tons of ice. The changes were made in the condensing system, the change being made from an
atmospheric type condenser to a shell and tooth system. To the average reader this may mean nothing. An explanation, however, is
to the effect that with the atmospheric type condensing system, same is operated by having water drop on the outside stands. With
the new system, water is distributed through spirals in tubes in a boiler like compartment. This water drops through the inside of the
tubes, giving about ninety percent efficiency on cooling ammonia gases. The roof of the ice plant was changed in pitch to enable the
erection of a spray pond on top of the building for the purpose of precooling the water and enabling its being used over and over
again. By the new system, pressure on the machines is reduced with the resultant power and water consumption and providing
about ten tons additional refrigeration, because the ammonia is cooled to a lower temperature and this in turn means lowering the
brine temperature more readily and easier thus providing for quicker freezing of the water in the ice cans.
The new installation was completed at a cost of close to nine thousand dollars. In line with President Roosevelt's much heralded
"New Deal" for the country, along various lines, the Manbeck Ice Company of Schuylkill Haven is cooperating in providing an entirely
new deal in providing ice distribution service to consumers. At the present time, the company is erecting a large gas, oil and ice
station on the southern end of the state highway in Hamburg. Twenty four hour ice service will be given. The station will be
completely refrigerated with a temperature at all times of ten to twenty degrees above zero. It will have a capacity of one hundred
three hundred pound blocks of ice. Cash and carry service in the way of ice will be possible from this station. In addition, ice
service to residents of hamburg and vicinity will be provided by a local dealer. This particular station will be known as the Coolerator
Service Station. In addition to the Hamburg Ice Station, Mr. Manbeck is also providing for similar cash and carry ice service stations
at Strausstown, New Ringgold, Suedberg and at the Mirror Swimming Pool in Summit Station. These stations will all be provided with
a large supply of ice from the local plant and customers can with little convenience, purchase any quantity of ice they desire or need
at the time. It is something entirely new in ice service for this section of the state.
|The Call of June 23, 1933
BUILDING HOME ON HIGHEST POINT IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Good progress is being made by Contractors Meck and Dewald in the building of the colonial house for Melvin Bamford on
Fairmount, at a point, the highest in town. The building is under roof and the Bamfords expect to eat their Thanksgiving Day dinner in
their new home. Of a colonial type, the home will have twelve rooms and four bathrooms. It is two and one half stories in height and
has been designed by the firm of Muehlenberg, Yerkes and Muehlenberg of Reading. The general contractors are Meck and
Dewald. The bricks used are of the Glen Gery kiln and of a three toned kind. The bricks have been laid in irregular rows, giving an
unusual effect. The painting will be done by Leroy Edling, the electrical work by William Morris, and the plumbing and heating by
Howard Fritz of Reading. A Losch automatic heating plant will be placed with a vapor heating system. A thousand gallon water tank
has been placed in the ground near the home, thus assuring a good supply of water as well as a fresh and cool supply at all times.
The home, as stated above, is being built on the very highest point in Schuylkill Haven. A splendid view of the surrounding territory
is possible, including the very near and distant mountain scenery on all sides. The towns of Adamsdale, Cressona and Orwigsburg
can also be seen from this point and the valleys to the southeast and southwest and the towering blue mountains in the distance
provide a most gorgeous panoramic view.
|The Call of July 7, 1933
HAS MODEL PASTEURIZING PLANT
It is quite a treat as well as interesting to visit the dairy of Wilson Minnick on the Hill Farm which overlooks Schuylkill Haven. One
finds it very clean and equipped with the very latest of milk pasteurizing equipment. First of all, Mr. Minnick has the only dairy in this
locality owning cows and operating a pasteurizing plant. The stock consists of twenty three Jersey, Holstein and Guernsey cows.
The amount of milk obtained daily is about 250 quarts. Automatic milking machines have been in use in this dairy for a number of
years. The pasteurizing plant, installed in May, has a capacity of one hundred gallons of milk. After the milk is obtained, it is cooled
by pouring it over a series of coils in which there is running water. The milk is then placed in the refrigerator overnight and in the
morning the pasteurizing process begins by having the milk heated to 150 to 180 degrees. It is then cooled gradually, placed in
bottles and ready for the consumers. Since the installation of the pasteurizing plant, the business or number of customers of the Hill
Farm Dairy has considerably increased, indicating that the general public is beginning to realize the importance of using milk that
carries a guarantee of being free of all impurities.
|The Call of July 14, 1933
TOWN NOW HAS TWELVE BEER SALOONS
Schuylkill Haven now has an even dozen licensed places where the legalized beer can be purchased. There are five more places
licensed at this time in Schuylkill Haven than operated for the past several years and sold near beer. Three of them are termed beer
gardens and two hotels or saloons. On the beer garden list we find the Menas Beer Garden on West Main Street, conducted in
connection with a pool room, where James Mellon formerly operated a saloon and restaurant. Then there is the William Hyde Beer
Garden at the corner of Dock and Broadway, formerly a grocery store operated by Mr. Hyde. And then we find another groceryman
embarked in the beer business, namely John Freeman, who after selling sugar, soap, butter and a full line of groceries and operating
a small sized department store for twenty six continuous years at the corner of Centre and Garfield Avenues, has had his place of
business changed around and is now operating a beer garden.
The two additional saloons over those in operation for the past several years are the Columbia House, now operated by W. G. Yost
and the saloon on West Main Street, now operated by Robert Riffert. William Sharpe now and has been for some time operating the
old Rudolph Saloon on West Main Street. Gabe Luongo is back on the job again on Saint John Street with beer and lunch. During the
past week, the interior of this property has been changed considerably in order to comply with the space provisions required by law.
Joe Matonis is continuing the operation of the Hotel Central on Main Street. Joe Dallago and Frank Yenosky are doing business at
their same stands in the West Ward. Benjamin Luckenbill is operating in the same location on Dock Street as for the past several
years while Francis Brinich is operating the saloon conducted by Earl Witman, now deceased.
|The Call of August 11, 1933
MEN AT CASKET FACTORY WENT ON STRIKE THURSDAY
Thursday morning, employees of the Schuylkill Haven Casket Factory went on strike and up until Friday morning at nine o'clock, had
not returned to work and were uncertain as to the outcome of the situation. A representative of the men stated to The Call man that
for a week or more the question of rate of wage per hour had been under discussion and in controversy. Men, individually and in
small groups, discussed the matter with the superintendent, F. D. Starr. Thursday morning, all of the men went to the office and
demanded a definite statement as to intentions. This being given and being contrary to the wishes of the men, the strike was called.
A statement made by the representatives of the employees, was to the effect that while the casket factory had signed the NRA, and
hours have been reduced from fifty to forty hours per week, as per the blanket code of the NRA, nevertheless the men were told they
would be paid for forty hours at the same rate as on the fifty hour basis. This the men claim is entirely contrary to the agreement
signed with the president. Mr. F. D. Starr, Superintendent of the Casket Factory, was requested to make a statement Thursday and
again on Friday morning. "The men simply walked out on us. We do not have any statement to make. We did not throw anybody out of
work." Mr. Starr further added the directors had not authorized him to make any statement. The casket factory, for some time, has
been enjoying a healthy growth with orders being received from all sections. At the present time there are twenty nine persons
employed at the factory, most of them skilled mechanics, eight on the machine floor, seven in the cabinet room, three in the paint
shop, five in miscellaneous departments and six women on linings and trimmings.
|The Call of January 2, 1892
STITZER'S NEW HOTEL AND CAFÉ
One of the most attractive improvements of the past year in our neighboring borough of Schuylkill Haven was the erection by that
old, tried, and well known constable and tax collector, William F. Stitzer, of a handsome three story hotel and restaurant on the main
street opposite the Reading depot. From a couple of old time story and a half frame houses in this prominent locality, Mr. Stitzer has
built up a double building which is imposing in exterior proportions and is fitted up within a style that denotes not only comfort but
luxuriousness which strangers and hotel patrons delight to indulge in when from home. It is within these new home precincts that
the captain today celebrated his fifty seventh birthday surrounded by an interesting family and his friends. A few weeks since he
opened a temperance restaurant and hotel from which he had been dispensing the finest oysters we have met with this season, in
every style and everything else in the eating line. The rooms in the new hostelry are large, airy, convenient and accessible by both
elevators and stairs. Captain Stitzer has applied for a hotel license and as his new house is as the law requires and the owner so
well known for his uprightness as a citizen and his official connection with the court and finances of the county for more then a
quarter of a century there will be but little question as to its granting. The house is furnished throughout in the finest style,
thoroughly heated and lighted by gas and electricity. In short it is one of the coziest hotels in this section of its kind.
|The two ads below appeared in the 1895-1896 Boyd's Directory for Schuylkill County.
|Below are some ads as they appeared in the Call newspaper in 1892
|The August 13, 1892 Call newspaper printed the following information on local dentists, Peter
and Samuel Detweiler. The ad above is for their practice.
He was born in Kutztown, Pa, July 23rd, 1833. He is the son of Charles
and Catherine Detweiler, and spent his boyhood years in his native
borough and attended the public schools of that town. At the age of
fifteen he learned the carpenter's trade and followed it from the age of
sixteen to twenty one. He thereafter established in this business in our
town, locating here in October 1856. He has followed the same calling
ever since, with but a year's interruption in 1873, when he preached the
Gospel at Shamokin, having been previously ordained by the United
Brethren Conference. He was twice married, the first time to Miss
Rebecca Bowen, who at her death left him with a few children. His
present wife and mother of his younger children was Miss Lucetta
Horne. Dr. Detweiler has served for several terms in our Borough
Council as well as in our School Board and has always favored progress.
He is a son of Peter and Rebecca Detweiler and was born
in our town on September 22nd, 1861. He was educated
in our town schools, being one of the first class that
graduated from our High School in 1879. Like his father,
he learned the carpenter's trade and followed it for two
years, working for Sterner and Brother. After a short
absence from town he returned and at once began
preparations for his present calling by studying at the
Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery at Philadelphia,
from which he graduated in February 1885. He has ever
since been associated with his father in the practice of a
successful business. He was married on October 27th,
1887 to Miss Gussie Saylor of town and is the happy
father of two children.
|DR. PETER C. DETWEILER
|SAMUEL B. DETWEILER D.D.S.
|Below are examples of advertising pieces given by some of the merchants in the ads shown above. On the left is a china plate from
I. B. Heim, in the center is a biking cap, ruler and pencil holder from Michel's and at right is a wooden hanger from Charles Keller.
Clicking on the images will enhance the view of each item.
|SCHUYLKILL HAVEN BUSINESSMEN IN 1894
|Various businessmen from Schuylkill Haven were featured in the July 7, 1894 issue of the "Journal of Commerce"
published in Philadelphia. The individual narratives give insight into the businesses of the day.
|J. F. Bast - Manufacturer of Knit Goods on Berne Street. The manufacture of knit goods is a most important industry here and one of
the most extensive concerns is that of this gentleman, whose factory occupies a two story main building, thirty by forty feet in size,
with a two story annex of the same dimensions, fitted up with modern facilities, including electric lights, steam power and a complete
equipment of the latest improved knitting frames, etc. for successfully conducting the fine and medium grades of ladies and
children's cotton, worsted and wool vests and undergarments. From fifty to sixty operatives are employed when running full force
and the factory has a capacity for the production of 325 dozen finished garments per day. This important enterprise was native of
Berks, but has been a resident of Schuylkill since he was eleven years of age. The steady demand for is products taxes his capacity
to the utmost and he is now enlarging the plant and increasing his facilities.
|Robert Sterner - Contractor and Builder, Union Square near Margaretta Street. Building interests here are most ably represented by
this gentleman. The business was established 27 years ago by J. H. and R. Sterner, and the present proprietor assumed sole control
a little over seven years since, having conducted the same with increasing success. The premises utilized comprise a two story
shop, 24 by 24 feet in dimensions, equipped with all appliances and during the busy season, a number of assistants are employed.
Mr. Sterner contracts for the erection of buildings and does job and repair carpenter work. This gentleman is straightforward and
reliable in all his dealings, a native of Schuylkill County and has executed many important building contracts here and is well
|George L. Burton - Dealer in Coal and Wood, Main Street and Philadelphia and Reading Railroad. This stand is popularly regarded as
a leading depot for the supply of anthracite and bituminous coal, kindling wood and foundation stone, brick, sand, cement, etc. The
business was established about four years ago and has attracted an influential patronage. The yard has a large storage capacity and
every requisite including a siding from the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad is at hand. Mr. Burton makes a specialty of the
Reading Company's hard and free burning white ash coal, and is prepared to fill orders promptly at rates uniformly low. All coal is
carefully screened and free from dirt and slate, and prompt service and honest weight is guaranteed. Three wagons are kept in
service and he also contracts for hauling of all kind at short notice in the most careful manner. Mr. Burton, who is a native of
Schuylkill County, is a gentleman of enterprise and sound business principles, highly esteemed.
|Pancoast T. Hoy - Dealer in General Merchandise, Main Street. This representative mercantile house was established by the present
proprietor in 1884, and his honorable business methods and liberal policy have gained for him the substantial; patronage of an
appreciative public. He occupies the first floor and basement, merchandise, including foreign and domestic dry goods, dress fabrics,
trimmings, notions, ladies and gentle and fancy groceries, provisions and food products, china, crockery and glassware, tin, wood,
and willow ware, lamps and lamp goods. Mr. Hoy, who is a native of Orwigsburg and has been for many years engaged in commercial
pursuits, has recently purchased the store previously occupied by the late W. D. Kline on the corner of Main and Saint John Streets,
which he will shortly proceed to remodel and improve, putting in a new brick front, thirty feet in width and making other important
improvements. He will take possession of this property August 1, but will not occupy it for business purposes until April 1, 1895.,
when he will open with one of the largest and finest stocks in this section. Mr. Hoy commenced his commercial career in this
building nineteen years ago as a clerk in the employ of his uncle, Mr. W. D. Kline.
|H. Berger and Son - Manufacturers of Hosiery, Dock Street. This concern was established four years ago and in 1893 removed to its
present quarters, where a well arranged two story structure, forty by sixty feet in dimensions, is utilized for manufacturing purposes.
The works are thoroughly equipped and an average force of seventy operatives is employed in the manufacture of various products.
The factory has a capacity for turning out 200 dozen hosiery and undergarments per day, the demand for which is steadily increasing.
Mr. Berger is a native of Berks County, but has resided in Schuylkill Haven since childhood. His son and partner, John D. Berger, is a
native and lifelong resident of this county and both members of the firm devote their attention to the general management of the
|C. A. Meck - Lumber Dealer, Columbia Street below Schuylkill Canal. This gentleman entered upon his business career forty years
ago. He was formerly engaged in mercantile pursuits, embarked in the lumber business twenty years ago, and almost thirteen years
since, gave his entire attention to this line. He has two large sawmills in Schuylkill County, well equipped, propelled by steam, and
turns out all kinds of lumber. He also has a large mill in Center County, which has twelve miles of railroad connecting it with the
Pennsylvania Railroad, and two engines are used for hauling. At this mill he turns out wheelwright timber, telegraph poles, railroad
ties, white pine, hemlock etc and in all employs a large force of men. His premises in Schuylkill Haven contain a large shed, where
favorable terms. He is also prepared to contract for the erection of all kinds of buildings, drawing up plans and specifications for the
same and furnishing estimates. Mr. Meck, a native of Schuylkill County is highly regarded.
|D. A. Krammes - Meat Market, Main Street, below Saint John Street. The premises occupied by this house
comprise a sales room of ample dimensions, equipped with all appliances, including a large refrigerator, holding a thousand pounds
of ice. The stock embraces choice beef, veal, mutton, lamb and pork, a part of which is killed and dressed by the proprietor, salt,
smoked and cured meats, sausage, bologna and scrapple manufactured in season and fresh butter and eggs. The stock is the best
to be had and the prices are reasonable, while competent assistants are employed and a team kept for the collection of orders and
the delivery of goods. This business was established by the present proprietor one year ago, but he has for the past four years
followed this branch of trade. He is a native of Schuylkill County, well known as a reliable dealer.
|Luke Fisher - Marble and Granite Works, Corner of Dock and Berger Streets. Established by the proprietor seven years ago, this
enterprise has occupied the present site since the fall of '93. The premises are of ample dimensions and are well equipped, while
attention is given to the manufacture of fine cemetery work in foreign and domestic marble and granite including monuments,
columns, tablets and headstones. The capabilities of the proprietor in this line are clearly evidenced by the artistically designed and
perfectly finished work shown in the numerous beautiful monuments to be seen in the various cemeteries in this vicinity, executed
either by his own hand or under his closest personal supervision. He also executes all kinds of builders work and railings and work
in this line. Mr. Fisher is a native of Schuylkill County and stands high in public confidence.
|Star Knitting Mill - E. H. Baker, proprietor, Saint John Street. These mills were established two years ago by the present proprietor,
who occupies for manufacturing purposes a two story building 32 by 42 feet in dimensions equipped with improved machinery,
propelled by steam power, furnishing employment to from 15 to 25 operatives according to the exigencies of demand. A leading
specialty is made of fine and medium grades of ladies knit underwear and the works have a capacity for turning out from 100 to 200
dozens per day according to the number of hands employed. The trademark of this mill is recognized in commercial circles as a
guarantee of excellence and its products are distributed to all sections of the Union through Philadelphia and New York jobbers. Mr.
Baker, who is practically conversant with the business, is a native of Berks County, but has been a resident of Schuylkill Haven for
the past twenty years.
|Z. T. Hendricks - Steam Heating and Machine Works, Main Street. This gentleman established here in 1870 and conducts the leading
house in his line. He is prepared to execute steam and hot water heating for hotels, boilers and engines and handles pumps, wood
and iron tanks, pulleys, belting, iron and brass goods, and in fact all fixtures for steam and water. Sanitary plumbing is also executed
in all its branches. A prominent specialty of the house is all kinds of electrical work, such as wiring for lights, fans, call bells, burglar
alarms, telephones, etc. and he is prepared to fill contracts with promptness. Estimates are furnished for all classes of work. The
premises are equipped with every convenience and a force of skilled assistants employed. A native of Schuylkill County, this
gentleman during his business career has won the esteem of trade circles through honorable methods.
|David Commings - General Merchandise, Main and Dock Streets. The present proprietor succeeded to this business nineteen years
ago. The premises utilized comprise a sales room, fifteen by fifty feet in dimensions, well fitted up and containing an admirably
selected stock of dry goods, trimmings white goods, as well as teas, coffees, spices, sugars, table delicacies, canned and bottled
goods,dried and evaporated fruits, culinary requisites and laundry supplies, butter, eggs, cheese, lard, smoked, dried and cured
meats. His stock is first class in every respect and the prices low. Mr. Commings, who is a native of Schuylkill County, is thoroughly
conversant with this business and highly esteemed by all.
|T. D. Brownmiller - Marble and Granite Works, Corner of Dock Street and Broadway. No house in the Schuylkill Valley is better able to
meet the demands of patrons in its line then this one, which was established eight years ago by the present proprietor. The
premises are of ample dimensions and are well equipped. Both building and cemetery work are executed, but the specialty is in the
latter branch, which includes monuments, columns, tablets, headstones, etc. and the artistic design and perfect finish of the work
show that the gentleman is not excelled in the art of marble cutting and designing. He has devoted many years to the business and
enjoys an enviable reputation, many of the finest monuments in the cemeteries of this section having come from his shop. All work
receives prompt attention and estimates are furnished upon application, while the prices are low. The house is also prepared to
offer inducements in the way of railings, enclosures and other cemetery supplies. Mr. Brownmiller is a native of Lebanon County,
and since taking up his residence here has won the confidence of the community.
|Sausser Brothers - Hardware, Stoves, Tinware, etc. Main Street. This firm established here six years ago and occupies a prominent
position in this line of trade. The premises occupied comprise two floors and a basement of a building 25 by 100 feet in dimensions,
containing a large stock shelf, builders and heavy hardware, stoves, heaters, ranges, oil and gasoline stoves, tin, enameled and
sheet iron ware, and kitchen furnishing goods in variety. They are prepared to furnish estimates and contract for hot air heating,
range setting, roofing, spouting and guttering, and sheet metal work of every description. William and Jacob Sausser, the personnel
of the firm, are natives of Berks County, thoroughly identified with all that concerns the welfare of their adopted county and enjoy the
esteem of the community.
|Samuel H. Butz - Groceries and Provisions, Dock and Centre Streets. This store was established by the present proprietor a year and
a half ago. The premises occupied comprise a sales room 16 by 24 feet in dimensions, conveniently arranged and the stock
embraces teas, coffees, spices, canned and bottled goods, vegetables, fruits and green truck in season as well as a choice line of
confectionery and notions, stationery, etc. guaranteed to be of superior quality and sold at low prices. Competent assistants are
employed. The proprietor, who is a native of Lehigh County, is conversant with the trade and one of Schuylkill Haven's honorable
|Charles Keller - Merchant Clothier and Tailor, Main Street. This leading concern was established by the present proprietor fifteen
years ago as a ready made clothing house, the merchant tailoring feature being added six years since. The premises occupied
comprise a two story building, 18 by 34 feet in dimensions, used as a clothing stock embraces a fine line of suitings, of both European
and domestic manufacture, of fashionable pattern and design. This gentleman's son, Robert M. Keller, is a practical tailor and expert
cutter, a graduate of John J. Mitchell School of Cutting of New York City, and in this department six assistants are employed. The
stock of ready made clothing comprises fashionable cuts in materials in dress and business suits, for men, youth and boys. Here is
also a varied assortment of hats, caps and gentleman's furnishing goods, hosiery, underwear and gloves, trunks, valises and
umbrellas. Mr. Keller is a native of Berks County, and his son of Schuylkill County and both are esteemed in the community.
|J. H. Sterner - Contractor and Builder and Dealer in Lumber, Corner of Union and Saint Peter Streets. This gentleman embarked in
business in 1868 as the head of the firm J. H. and R. Sterner, which partnership was dissolved seven years ago. His facilities are
such that he can promptly execute the most extensive building contracts and a number of the finest residences and business blocks
in Schuylkill Haven and neighboring places have been erected and remodeled by him. He also carries a large stock of rough and
dressed lumber and mill work including siding, flooring, doors, sashes, blinds, shutters, mouldings, brackets and casings. The
premises occupied comprise a lumber yard 56 by 110 feet in dimensions, fully provided with shedding for storage, and a two story
carpentry shop, 18 by 36 feet in dimensions. He also carries in stock a large quantity of hemlock lumber which he stores at the
railroad. A native of Schuylkill County, Mr. Sterner enjoys the highest esteem of the community.
|H. S. Deibert - Photographer, Number 4, Main Street. A representative exponent of this important art in Schuylkill
Haven is this gentleman, whose premises on the ground floor comprise a space 26 by 30 feet in dimensions, and equipped with
improved accessories and all conveniences. He uses the instantaneous process and is prepared to execute every description of
fine photographic portraiture, outdoor and interior work in the highest style of the art at popular prices. Orders are also received for
crayon work, which is done by the best artists in that line. Mr. Deibert, who was born four miles from here, is thoroughly conversant
with the business, having established here thirty four years ago. His grandparents were among the pioneer settlers of Schuylkill
County, and his father before the advent of railroads hauled coal by the wagon load to Philadelphia.
|Robert Jones - Groceries and Provisions, Dock Street near Coal Street. This house was founded by the present proprietor twenty
four years ago. The premises occupied comprise a sales room of ample dimensions, well fitted up, and the stock embraces choice
teas, coffees, spices, canned and bottled goods, sugar, syrups, butter, eggs, lard, cheeses, flour and feed, fruits and vegetables as
well as salted and smoked meats, crockery and glassware, and a full line of dry goods and notions. The stock is of the best and sold
at low prices: while competent assistants are employed and goods delivered free. Mr. Jones has for nearly all his life been identified
with mercantile pursuits and is enabled to give his customers many advantages in goods and prices. He is a native of Schuylkill
County, well regarded.
|John D. Coldren - Jeweler, Main Street. This attractive establishment was founded in December last and has been accorded a large
patronage. The premises occupied comprise a sales room, 18 by 26 feet in dimensions, attractively fitted up and containing a large
stock of English, Swiss and American watches in gold and silver , plain and decorated casings, clocks, fine jewelry, silver plated
tableware suitable for wedding presents or holiday gifts. Mr. Coldren is also a specialist in optics, testing the eyes free and fitting
them with glasses, of which he carries a full assortment. Repairing of watches, clocks and jewelry is also executed. This gentleman
is a native of Schuylkill County and has been prominently identified with the jewelry business for six years.
|Mrs. George McWilliams - General Merchandise, corner of Dock Street and Broadway. This stand was founded by the husband of the
present proprietor in 1872 and has since been under her control for the last seven years. The premises utilized comprise a store of
two floors, each twenty by sixty feet in dimensions, attractively fitted up and containing a large stock of fashionable dress fabrics,
white goods, notions, linings, trimmings, tapestry and ingrain carpets, oilcloths, window shades, crockery and glassware and lamps,
all manner of groceries and mens, ladies and children's' footwear. The stock is first class and sold at reasonable prices, while
several assistants are employed, and a team used for delivery purposes. Mrs. McWilliams, who is a native of Schuylkill County, is a
reliable business woman, well regarded.
|H. Berger - General Merchandise, Dock Street. This business was started by its present proprietor in 1870 and was previously
conducted at Cressona. The premises occupied comprise a sales room, 22 by 58 feet in dimensions, gentleman's furnishing goods,
and underwear, tinware, crockery and glassware as well as teas, coffees, sugar, spices, bread stuffs, canned and bottled goods,
fruits and vegetables, butter, cheese eggs, lard, etc. Mr. Berger is also senior partner in the firm of H. Berger and Son Knitting Mill,
and is a thoroughly reliable and progressive businessman.
|Charles W. Sausser - Stoves and Tinware, Saint Peter Street. This gentleman is located two doors above the Schuylkill Hose House,
where he occupies premises twenty by thirty feet in dimensions, containing all tools and appliances. All kinds of stoves and ranges
including oil and gasoline stoves, tin enameled and sheet iron and hollow ware, and a general line of kitchen furnishing goods is in
stock. Contracts are taken for hot air heating, range setting, roofing and spouting, painting and repairing of tin roofs, and a leading
specialty is in the manufacture of galvanized gutters and conductors, and the repairing of all kinds of tinware, which is called for and
delivered free, a team being kept in the business. Mr. Sausser is a native of Schuylkill Haven and a young man of enterprise and
|George M. Ehly - Fine Bread and Cakes, Dock and Berger Streets. This well conducted bakery was established by the present
proprietor a year ago. The premises occupied contain a well supplied sales room and there is baked fresh daily all kinds of wheat,
rye, and graham bread, rolls, buns, biscuits, pretzels, plain and fancy cakes and pies, only the best flour and other ingredients
entering into their composition. Ice cream of all pure fruit flavors is also manufactured and sold to customers during the summer
months, while competent assistants are employed and a wagon kept busy serving a route throughout town and suburbs. Mr. Ehly
personally attends to all details of the business. He is a native of Schuylkill County and is well known for his honorable dealing.
|Charles Schumacher - Dealer in Groceries and Shoes, Columbia Street. This stand was established by the present proprietor a little
over five years ago. The premises occupied which are fifteen by fifty feet in dimensions, are conveniently fitted up and stocked with
a choice line of the best teas, coffees, sugars, spices, culinary and laundry supplies, pickles, bottled and canned goods, preserves,
butter, eggs, lard, fruits and tobacco. About two months ago, a line of fashionable footwear for men , women and children was
added. His stock is all noted for its purity and the prices are uniformly low. Competent assistance is employed and a team is kept for
delivery. Mr. Schumacher is a native of Schuylkill County, and previously conducted a barber shop here for ten years.
|D. A. Croll - Groceries and Provisions, 164 Dock Street. This leading house in its line was established two years ago by the present
proprietor. The sales room occupied is 16 by 25 feet in dimensions, attractively fitted up and the stock embraces choice teas,
coffees, spices, sugars, butter, eggs, lard, flour and feed, fruits and vegetables, salt, smoked and cured meats, confectionery,
tobaccos, and all kinds of shelf and farmers hardware, as well as house furnishing goods of every description, everything
guaranteed to be of superior quality and sold at low prices, while competent assistants are employed. Mr. Croll has long been
identified with the grocery trade, is a native of Schuylkill Haven and one of its prominent businessmen.
|Located in one of the most fertile parts of Schuylkill County, is Schuylkill Haven, a place of about 2,700 inhabitants. It is an active
town, possessing modern improvements and advantageously situated for manufacturing enterprises of almost any kind. From the
hill sections of the town a most beautiful view of the Schuylkill Valley is to be had and the environment is most healthful, while pure
mountain air and water are consumption, as well as poultry and dairy products are produced in the surrounding country, while fish
abound in the streams and game in the mountains. There is an excellent system of water works and a well equipped fire lighting.
The streets are in good repair and the sidewalks well kept, and a number of pretty residences with pretty lawns, present a handsome
appearance. The business concerns, the more important of which we mention, are well equipped and transact a large annual
business. Located in the immediate proximity of the anthracite coal region, the generating of steam power can be done at a small
cost and there is ample water power that might be utilized. Shipping facilities are afforded by the Philadelphia and Reading,
Pennsylvania, and Pottsville Division of the Lehigh Valley railroads, thus giving all the advantages of competing rates. The principal
manufacturing enterprises in operation here now, consist of a shoe factory and seven knitting mills, although every reasonable
encouragement will be extended by the people to deserving concerns in other lines that desire to locate here. Pottsville, the county
seat, is but six miles distant and taken altogether, this may be considered one of the best places of its class in the county.
|Perhaps the best known hotel in Schuylkill Haven history was the Hotel Grand located at the corner of Main and Saint John Streets.
Below is an article from the Pottsville Republican of February 26, 1898, noting the quality of the establishment.
|WHAT A MODEL HOTEL IS
Such as is the Grand Hotel at Schuylkill Haven
|A Luxurious Home for the Traveling Public- An Ornament to the Place and a Credit to the Owner - A Monument of Enterprise
|Pottsville Republican of February 26, 1898
Staid old Schuylkill Haven, as many are accustomed to think and speak of her, is not making much boast or bluster, but is keeping
pace with the growth and progress of her other sister towns. In fact she is setting the other boroughs, in this vicinity, an example
by the establishment of her many industries, which include a diversity of manufactories, all of which are successful; giving profit to
the owners and employment to the people of the town. The capitalists of Schuylkill Haven when they found by reason of the canal
being abandoned that her residents would be compelled to look elsewhere for a means of support, set about to circumvent this and
kept her people there by establishing factories by which now about a dozen or upwards give employment to hundreds of men,
women and children.
The church edifices and school buildings of that town are all models as are also many of her business places and residences. For
her first class hotels, Schuylkill Haven is noted and consequently many of the commercial men and those who travel for pleasure
seek that town and make one or the other of her public houses their temporary place of abode.
Its principal public house is the Hotel Grand, owned and run by the prince of landlords, Daniel D. Yoder. Ten years ago, Mr. Yoder
occupied the old Washington Hotel and finally purchased the stand. After but a few years under his proprietorship, Mr. Yoder found
the building too antiquated and too small to suit the tastes and capacity of his house, and he resolved to raze the front building to
the ground and erect upon its site a modern, commodious hotel. The owner set about immediately to procure plans and after due
care and deliberation, decided upon the plans and specifications, by Rudy and Richards, the Lebanon architects, and awarded the
contract for its erection to Jere Sterner, the well known builder and contractor of Schuylkill Haven.
The Grand Hotel stands forth as a monument to the enterprise and thrift of the owner and to the skill of the architects and builder. It
is a model of hotels and is an ornament to the town. Built of Philadelphia pressed brick, it is a substantial as well as a magnificent
building. Its windows are of the very finest French plate glass. Its exterior has been by no means been slighted nor was any minor
detail overlooked and the Grand Hotel is truly a thing of beauty.
But it is of the interior that this article will more fully speak of. For after all it is comfort and rest that the weary traveller seeks. This,
the hospitable landlord, D. D. Yoder, knows and to this end did he plan and build and it may be said without contradiction that there is
not anywhere a more cheerful and homelike hotel in this broad land with the many model hostelries. The two lower stories of the
main building are furnished in oak and the two upper stories in cypress. The floors, excepting the large public parlor on the first
floor, are of tile, and there are exactly 12,000 pieces of tile in the floor of the vestibule. The ceilings are high and of metal. The halls
are wide and airy and all the rooms cheerfully lighted and well ventilated. Its fifty four bed chambers are furnished with the most
modern and magnificent furniture and with cozy, comfortable beds. On each floor are water closets and bathrooms for the use of the
guests. Both gas and electricity are supplied for lighting and in every room and in all the halls are erected radiators, and every room
from basement to roof is comfortably heated by the steam plant of the hotel. The fourth story of the main building is occupied by
Page Lodge Number 270, F. and A. M. as a lodge room. The basement will be devoted to billiard and pool rooms and to bath and
sample rooms. The barroom and office furniture and fixtures are the handiwork of DeLong's factory at Topton. In this department
that urbane and genial gentleman, J. T. Griffiths, presides as clerk. A warm handshake from Clerk Griffiths makes you feel at home at
The same care and thoughtfulness wee exercised in the furnishing of the interior that were displayed upon the exterior of the
building. The exterior views of landscape, to be seen from many portions of the building, are magnificent, and as one of the guests
of the Grand recently said, "it is a scene to inspire the poetic muse". Not only were the comfort and health of the guests considered
by landlord Yoder in the construction of this model public home, but likewise their safety in the erection of fire escapes of easy
access should other means of egress be shut off. The building is also provided with Babcock Fire Extinguishers for prompt
application should occasion require it. Landlord Yoder does not miss an opportunity to keep up the excellent standard of this grand
hotel. His dining tables are always supplied with the very best the market affords which is prepared in the best style and manner of
the cuisine art, and served neatly and carefully by the most obliging and considerate waitresses. Here too, Mr. Yoder may be found
during meal hours studying even the whims and fancies of the most critical guest, so that nothing may be overlooked to disarm any
such from an opportunity to become cynical.
One of the most wonderful things in connection with all this luxury to be enjoyed at the Grand Hotel is the fact that the rates are no
higher than the ordinary commonplace hotel. The traveling public, quick witted to know a good thing, therefore travel from afar and
pass other towns that they may find food and shelter under Landlord Yoder's roof.
|Above left is a letterhead from the 1890's from the Washington Hotel which was razed to make room for the new
Hotel Grand. Above right is an envelope for mailing featuring advertising and a picture of the Hotel Grand from 1898.
|In 1898, the Industrial Review of Schuylkill Haven had this to say about the Hotel Grand....
HOTEL GRAND - Daniel D. Yoder, Proprietor
The cordial and cheery reception extended by Host Yoder, of the Hotel Grand, to all who favor him with a sojourn beneath his roof, is
one of the charms which combine to render the house popular with wayfarers from all parts of the country. The Hotel Grand is
without exception, the largest, most handsome and finest equipped building in Schuylkill Haven. It is a four story structure and
basement built of Philadelphia pressed brick, the windows being of the very finest French plate while the architectural design is
magnificent. The two lower stories of the building are finished in oak and the two upper stories in cypress. The floors excepting the
large public parlor on the first floor are of tile, and there are exactly 12,000 pieces of tile in the floor of the vestibule. The ceilings
are of metal. The hotel is conveniently located, comfortably arranged, elegantly furnished, warmed in cold weather with modern
steam apparatus, lighted by both gas and electricity, provided with toilet and bath rooms, hot and cold water throughout and contains
fifty four airy and cozy sleeping compartments.
The table is first class, lavishly supplied with the best and choicest food obtainable, prepared by an experienced chef, and politely
served by attentive and unobtrusive waitresses. In connection with the hotel, and by far the finest in the village, is the bar. The
fittings throughout are of oak, polished to the highest degree. Behind the counter in its elegantly and artistically arranged
framework, a large French plate mirror reflects the brilliancy of the glassware and lends a grand and imposing effect to the general
surroundings, which are of the most costly and appropriate description. Here the choicest and rarest of wines and liquors of
imported and domestic product are dispensed. Mr. Yoder handles the very best and purest brands of lager, ale and porter while his
whiskies are well and favorably known to the trade for their superior and extraordinary quality. From the start of his present
business, Mr. Yoder has succeeded in securing an enduring hold on public favor which has resulted in the development of a very
large and influential trade, owing to the fact that only the best brands of wet goods are carried and the wisdom of this policy is
evidenced by the very large business done. Mr. Yoder is too well and favorably known this throughout this entire section to need
any special comment. He is a courteous and pleasant gentleman and one who thoroughly understands his business and by honesty,
integrity and perseverance, has succeeded in placing himself among our representative business men.
|The successful completion of the paving of Main
Street in 1909 was cause for celebration as can be
seen by this announcement below of a banquet at the
Hotel Grand. At right is the article in the Pottsville
Republican noting the event.
|In 1910, the Municipal League held their banquet at the renowned Hotel Grand. At left is shown the front and rear covers of the
program with the officers of the league noted on the back. At right is the inside of the program with the menu and agenda. Below
that is the Pottsville Republican article noting the event.
|Pottsville Republican of December 10, 1909
BANQUETTED HIS FRIENDS
Contractor John A. Rauen, of Reading, who constructed
Schuylkill Haven's street pavement, tendered a banquet
to the members of town council and a few other friends
at Hotel Grand on Thursday evening. Covers were laid
for thirty and when Landlord Souder's efficient corps of
waiters began to serve the following were around the
board: President J. C. Lautenbacher, George A. Berger,
Charles Bubeck, Robert Keller, Milton Meck, James
Umbenhower, Lawrence McKeone, Dr. G. H. Moore of
town council, Borough Solicitor J. A. Noecker, Borough
Engineer George W. Butz, Supervisor Charles A. Becker,
Clerk George E. Runkle, Water Supt W. H. Werner,
William Courtney, Claude Bittle, Charles Keller, W. J.
Saylor, Floyd Minnig, I. L. Lautenbacher, James
Schucker, Charles Schucker, John Brown, William
Brobst, Carl Bitzer,Frank Starr, Earl Witman and James
A. Rauen and his wife and daughter. President
Lautenbacher of town council acted as toastmaster.
Mr. Rauen welcomed his guests in a neat little speech
and after a few remarks by the toastmaster, brief
speeches were made by Solicitor Noecker, Engineer
Butz, Dr. Moore, Supt Werner and others
|Pottsville Republican of April 9, 1910
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN MUNICIPAL LEAGUE BANQUETS
The second annual banquet of the Municipal League of Schuylkill Haven was held at Hotel Grand in that town and was attended by
about fifty of the members. The members met in the parlors of the hotel at 6:30 o'clock and marched in a body to the dining room.
During the serving of the banquet and at intervals during the speech making, Bensinger's orchestra rendered several renditions.
President of the League, acted as toastmaster. The following toasts were responded to: "Sanitation" by Frank Brown, "Schools" by
Professor E. P. Heckert, principal of the Schuylkill Haven High School, and "Commission Government in Municipal Government" by J.
|The Call of August 25, 1911
PURE ICE BEING MADE HERE
Schuylkill Haven’s infant industry, the ice plant, opened operations on Monday morning last, under the most auspicious
circumstances and with the brightest prospects of being more than able to dispose of every pound of ice that is manufactured.
When the pull was made on Monday morning, approximately forty five tons of pure sparkling ice was placed in the ice house
adjoining the plant. It only remained here for a short time as it was readily disposed of. A car containing twenty three tons was
loaded and shipped to Tower City while the remainder was purchased by residents living in close proximity and by ice men of the
town. It is a fact that the majority of the local ice dealers supply is near exhausted. They are reaching toward the bottom of their ice
houses and this ice is being supplied to the hotels and butchers, while the manufactured ice, clean and pure as human ingenuity can
make it, is being delivered to the house wife and consumer of small quantities.
The plant is being run under the name of the Baker Coal and Ice Company. On Wednesday afternoon a representative of the Call was
given the privilege of inspecting the plant and incidentally learned a few points on making ice. Providing the time should come when
Dame Fortune should smile upon him and he should desire to turn his attention from the field of journalism to that of ice making, The
pointer given by the owner of the ice plant, Mr. Harry Baker, will serve him to excellent advantage. Of course there are a few twists
and bends that must be eliminated before the plant is running in what is commonly known as “apple pie order.” This will be only a
matter of a few weeks at the most and in the meantime will not materially interfere with the output of the plant. To use the expression
of one of the employees, Mr. Stripe, who has been on the ground since the erection of the plant was started, “It is one of the most
modern of its capacity in the state of Pennsylvania”. Its capacity is about twenty five tons. One of the most important factors in
connection with the manufacturing of ice is the water supply. Adjoining the plant is a well more than two hundred feet in depth. A
suction pump draws the water from this well and deposits it in a large covered wooden tank. From this tank it is distributed to the
three hundred tanks. When frozen each of these tanks contains a cake of ice weighing more or less to 250 pounds. The water is first
filtered before entering the tanks and as it comes from the well, registers fifty degrees. Should the well for any reason fail to furnish
a sufficient supply of water, connection has been made with the borough water line.
Following the placing of the water in the tanks or receptacles, a small quarter inch pipe is placed in the center of the tanks. Through
this pipe air is pumped. This is known as agitating the water. This agitation continues until the water starts to freeze and has
attained a thickness of two or three inches around all four sides of the tank. The agitation has a tendency to cause all impurities to
rise to the top. The remaining unfrozen water is then taken out by means of a suction and other water forced in. It is this process
that causes what appears as a column of frost in the center of the ice. Mr. Baker calculated that it required about forty hours to
freeze a tank of water. These tanks are encased in a pit through which is driven a solution of ammonia and salt brine. It is this
solution which causes the freezing. At no time does the water in the tanks come in either direct or indirect contact with the solution
and hence the taste of the ammonia is eliminated. It is only in worn out plants where the taste of ammonia is noticed. After the ice is
solidly frozen, the tank is lifted out and placed on an incline chute. Here warm water is run over the tank until the cake inside
becomes loose and runs down the chute to the ice house, through a door that works mechanically and closes after each and every
cake has passed. This ice house is kept at a freezing temperature by means of pipes through which runs the solution. Ice several
inches thick was noticed on the outside of the pipes. At the present time there are two shifts of four men each employed. Mr. Baker
states that after the plant is running smoothly, two men on a shift can handle the plant to perfection and without the least bit of
difficulty. While The Call representative was at the plant, a car was placed on a siding to be loaded for the Merchants Ice Company of
Reading. Mr. Baker expects to be able to supply not only the wants of Schuylkill haven and the immediate towns, but to be able to
ship the same to all sections of the state and outside if necessary.
Mr. Baker is charging a small price per ton for the ice at his plant. He believes that the ice dealers can purchase the manufactured
ice, haul it around the town and dispose of the same, making a neat profit, for less money then they can harvest it in the winter and
keep it stored until the spring or summer months. He further believes that no resident should be compelled to pay forty or fifty cents
a hundred for this summer necessity. Mr. Baker invites an inspection of the plant so far as cleanliness and sanitation is concerned.
He is ready any hour of there day or night to supply ice in any quantity from a five cent piece to that of a wagon load. The town can
well feel proud of its infant industry and should encourage the proprietor by demanding of their ice men, ice that is not exposed to
the weather during freezing process, but ice that is pure and clean. Tuesday afternoon a cake of ice containing a cantaloupe and
several peaches was placed on exhibition at the First National Bank. It drew large crowds and caused favorable comment and at
places was clear enough to read a newspaper through it.
|Here are two newspaper
ads from The Call
advertising the roller
skating rink in Schuylkill
Haven. It was located
where Boyer's Market is
today and was built and
operated by renowned
Schuylkill Haven builder,
Paul Naffin. The ad on the
left is from January 19,
1912 touting a race
between skaters and
bicyclists. The ad on the
right from May 31, 1912
teases about a special
|The Call of February 19, 1915
OPEN JEWELRY STORE HERE
On or about April 1, Schuylkill Haven will have a real jewelry store. During the
week arrangements were made by a practical and experienced jeweler to
open a store in the town and in the course of several weeks the stock will
commence to arrive here. The store will be opened and conducted by Mr. S.
M. Rupley who at present conducts a large jewelry and optical store in
Monaca Pennsylvania. The lower portion of the S. L. Pflueger store has been
rented and will be occupied by Mr. Rupley. Mr. Rupley has had several years
practical experience in the jewelry business and intends to give this town an
up to date and first class store. He has already rented a house and will move
his family and household goods here as soon as possible. While in town the
past week, Mr. Rupley and his father S. G. Rupley, of Mercersburg, made
many friends. They have been acquainted for years with several prominent
families now residing in Schuylkill Haven.
|The news article at left announces a
new jewelry store in town. Below is a
sign from that long gone business.
|The Call of October 19, 1917
NEW HOSPITAL OPENED HERE
A visit to the Dr. G. H. Moore Private Hospital on Main Street, which has recently been opened, will prove interesting and surprising
indeed. The hospital located on the third floor of the Moore residence contains in all eleven rooms. All of them at this time have not
been quite completely furnished as the mechanics still have some of their work to finish. Entrance is gained either through the
doctor’s office entrance or around the side of the house and over the second story porch. By the use of the latter entrance, the
Moore family need not be disturbed or interfered with. A sun parlor will be constructed on the second floor for the use of the
On the third floor there is a cheerful comfortable and roomy living or reading room. Here also is a dumb waiter from the kitchen on
the first floor. A large south side sun room permits a fine view of the rolling hills of Long Run Valley and the Schuylkill Mountain.
Then there is an emergency room of good size and a chapel for the use of persons who wish to be alone for a period. On the walls
are three beautiful pictures, “Returning from Jerusalem”, Suffer the Little Children”, and “The Last Supper”. Then comes a large
sized bedroom with which to connect a signal system from all the other departments of the hospital. It contains a novel idea of a
three in one built in chiffonier, wardrobe and dressing table. From this room is obtained a view of Main Street, the P and R railroad to
the Mine Hill crossing, the mountains and the hills. Then comes a laboratory with equipment for examining blood, disease germs, etc,
microscopes, electric sterilizers and numerous other appliances necessary for a hospital. A stationary hot and cold water stand is
also found here together with wall closets for the storing of additional equipment, chemicals and appliances.
The bathroom is next door containing the usual bathroom features with three large medicine chests. Here is also a large gas heating
boiler to be used in summer time when there is no fire in the living quarters. The gas is lighted and in a short time hot water is
furnished for the bathroom, the sterilizing room and the operating room. The eighth room is a bedroom containing two beds, where
“The Call” man found two young patients asleep, who underwent operations for the removal of adenoids the day previous. The next
room is another bedroom with two single beds, dresser, etc. This room faces on Main Street and plenty of light is obtainable. The
room is large and finished in white with a special hardwood floor. It will be very pleasant. In the sterilizing room is found a large
metal stand whereon is a sterilizing tank for dressings, a hot water tank, a cold water tank and an instrument sterilizer. Here also is a
wash stand for the use of the surgeons or nurses in order that it will not be necessary to touch the usual spigots to turn on the
water; the water pressure is operated by foot pedals at the floor. One presses one of the pedals and the water flows from the pipe.
Communicating with the operating room is a large closet. The instruments and bandages, etc are placed in the closet from the
sterilizing room. They can be procured from the other side of the closet in the operating room.
The operating room is a large well lighted room facing on Main and High Streets. Here is the usual operating table, an operating chair
for nose work. McKenzie light for special eye work, electric appliances for suction making tonsil operations almost bloodless, and
various other operating room equipment. Most of the rooms are in white with sanitary mineral flooring. The operating room,
sterilizing room and the bathroom are in white enamel. Direct and indirect lighting system is in use. The entire building will be
heated with steam heat. As high as eight to ten patients can be accommodated at one and the same time. The institution will be
known as the G. H. Moore Private Hospital and will be used exclusively for eye, ear, nose and throat work.
|The Call of August 26, 1921
OPERA HOUSE TO OPEN SEPTEMBER 12
The remodeling and refurnishment of the Opera House on Saint Peter Street is being rushed with every bit of speed possible. It is
planned to have the formal reopening of this theater either on September 10th or 12th. Motion pictures will be the program and a
nightly schedule will be in order. Vaudeville performances will be given occasionally and the theater will be open for local
theatricals and various events. Mr. White the owner promises to give the community high class pictures at a reasonable admission
and to bring to town occasional high class vaudeville acts. The exterior walls of the theater have been stuccoed and the front wall
and woodwork will be painted gray and trimmed in white. The walls and ceiling of the auditorium have been painted dark cream. The
woodwork and trimmings have been painted brown and trimmed in dark cream. The walls are to be stenciled and further decorated.
A new system of lighting and new electric fixtures are being installed by electrician William Morris. The floor beneath the balcony
has been pitched toward the stage. A Wurlitzer electric organ with orchestral effects has been purchased. A new mirror screen will
be put in position and all new stage properties and scenery will be procured. Tuesday Mr. White was in Philadelphia and placed an
order for a new boiler for the heating plant. New apparatus and the system will be changed. The Schaffner-Maberry firm recently
completed the plumbing conveniences. New seats have been ordered and if they do not arrive in time for the opening date the
seats formerly in use will be placed. Judging from the present appearance of the auditorium, it when finished will be unusually
pretty and comfortable. The ceilings and walls in the hallway have been repainted and the woodwork all revarnished. At this time
Mr. White has not decided what use he will make of the third and first floors. He is considering alterations to the third floor so that it
could be used for Lodge rooms or as apartments. The first floor will be arranged for living quarters.
|The Call of February 19, 1926
TOWN UNDERWEAR MILL GOES OUT OF BUSINESS
One of the first of Schuylkill Haven’s industries is to be discontinued. In fact operations have been recently discontinued and some
of the machinery already has been disposed of. The plant to be discontinued is that of the Spring Garden Knitting Mills, operated by
Berger Brothers. The bleachery, a very large unit of this plant, will however be continued as heretofore. The other large brick
buildings will be used for storage purposes. The reason given for the retirement of this well known firm from the cotton underwear
manufacturing business is that the market for this class of goods is heavily overloaded and that the demand for this product grows
less every season. The firm is one of the oldest of the local industrial concerns. It was established on March 4, 1889 in a small frame
building on the site now occupied by the Harry Butz and Mrs. Sallie Butz properties on Dock Street. The building had first been used
as a warehouse. The manufacture of hosiery was first begun. It was operated by Mr. Harrison Berger, father of the present owners
of the plant, Daniel Berger and Elwin Deibert. A year later Daniel Berger sold his interest to his nephew, John D. Berger, the present
senior member of the firm of Berger Brothers. The elder Berger a year later purchased the interest of Elwin Deibert and the firm
name was changed to H. Berger and Son and the name of the mill, Spring Garden Knitting Mill, retained.
In 1893, the Seifert Grist Mill on Dock Street was purchased from Mrs. George McWilliams and converted into a mill and the
manufacture of ladies cotton underwear was begun. In the year 1902, a large additional building was erected which housed the
machinery for the bleachery. In 1905 another new two story brick building was built and the mill proper transferred to it. In 1907,
Harrison Berger sold his interest in the firm to his two sons, Harry and Thomas, and the firm name was changed to Berger Brothers.
The Berger firm up until recently employed during the busy season as high as one hundred persons. When hosiery was the product
of the mill as high as 144 persons were employed. Many of the employees of this industry have already procured employment in
other local industries.
Miss Ella Kipp, of Cressona, holds the distinction of being in the employ of the Berger firm for the greatest period of time, namely
thirty seven years. Miss Lizzie Shadel has been employed for a period of thirty one years. The Berger firm from the date of
beginning the manufacture of underwear continued this line, always manufacturing ladies cotton underwear. Goods were shipped to
all parts of the United States, England and Australia.
|The Call of August 5, 1927
TO OPEN NEW BATHING POOL
For some months operations have been underway a short distance above the Columbia Heights Lake, formerly Bittle's Pond, under
the direction of Dr. G. H. Moore. They have now so far progressed that there has been evolved a concrete swimming pool of no
mean size which is to be thrown open to the public shortly. It is 125 feet by 140 feet. In depth it will be from one to nine feet. It will
be within ready and easy access from Columbia Street and promises to become one of the most popular outdoor swimming pools in
this section. One of the special features of this pool will be that it will contain filtered chlorinated water. For this purpose a large
filtering tank has been completed and will be filled with eight different sizes of stone pebbles and sand. The pool will be drained
daily and for this purpose a five and one half horsepower electric motor was installed this week in a pump house near the pool by
electrician Dewey Graeff. A system of pipes has been placed which will make it possible to drain the pool in a short time.
Around the pool is being built a six foot rustic boardwalk upon concrete supports. A large slide is to be built at a later date. There
has been erected a large bath house at the west end of the pool with separate compartments for men and women and each provided
with lockers and will be provided with showers. As a means of safety a steel rope will be placed about the pool at its deepest point.
The water which will be used in the pool will be that of several good sized fresh springs that are in the vicinity. This water will also
be filtered and chlorinated. Dr. Moore intends to provide every convenience to bathers and to offer to the general public this
healthful recreation under every first class and clean condition. Operations will also be continued tending the development of the
vicinity of the pool into an inviting park. There will be a caretaker in charge of the pool at all times and also an instructor in swimming
will be present. The pool will be thrown open to the general public shortly.
|The opening of a long forgotten swimming pool in town is announced....
|The Call of September 1, 1933
GUS MENAS CLOSES PLACE OF BUSINESS
During the week, the pool room and cigar store of Gus Menas was discontinued by the former owner. The license to operate a
saloon in connection with this place of business had been held by Sonny McCord. Mr. McCord will continue to operate as a saloon.
The closing of the business of Menas was the result of a series of happenings that followed rapidly upon one another, beginning last
week. It appears a Mrs. Grace Jacobs was taken ill in the Menas place last Thursday evening. She was given a room upstairs for the
night and in the morning could not be awakened. Mrs. Jacobs was a waitress at The Maples, opposite the Half Way House on the
Orwigsburg Pike. Instructions were received from The Maples at 1:30 Friday afternoon, that a doctor should be called to administer
to her. Dr. Mengel was called at 4:30 that afternoon and ordered her immediate removal to the hospital. She was taken to the
hospital and dies at 4:30 Saturday afternoon. Monday morning a government official arrived in town and questioned Menas
regarding his citizenship in the United States. It was learned he had only taken out first papers. In the meantime, some of the
equipment in the Menas place of business was removed by the owners. Menas had been mixed up with the local authorities on
thirteen different charges since 1926, three of which have been maintenance of gambling devices.
|The call of November 10, 1933
NEW BASKETBALL HERE
Added interest on the part of the general public has been aroused in the construction of a gas filling station and garage by Elmer
Ketner on Columbia Street by reason of the fact that the building will contain a hall suitable for basketball purposes, for dances and
private or public similar events. The hall referred to will be on the second floor of the building and will be sixty by sixty feet. This will
provide ample space for the basketball cage and considerable space on both sides for bleacher seats. It is figured that seats to
accommodate from seven to eight hundred persons will be possible. The entire space will be free of upright steel girders, thus
making possible a hall ideally suited for many purposes. The building will be a two story structure. There will be a showroom on the
Columbia Street side, about thirty five by sixty feet. The service station space will be about sixty feet square. On the second floor
front will be a seven room apartment as well as the large hall above referred to. The building will be of brick and tile. The brick will
be of Clearfield manufacture and of a golden buff. The architecture is not to be elaborate but of a most neat and very attractive
design. Mr. Ketner will continue to operate the service station at the present location just across the street from the new plant. In
the new service station and garage he will be associated with his cousin, John D. Ketner. The Chrysler agency will be retained by Mr.
Ketner. Fourteen men are being given employment at this time at the building operations now underway. The contractor is Mr.
|The Call of January 26, 1934
BASKETBALL HALL SOON READY
Schuylkill Haven's honest to goodness basketball hall will be ready for occupancy in the next four to six weeks, depending to a great
extent upon weather conditions. This will be welcome news to basketball fans. It had been hoped to have the hall ready for the
beginning of the second half period of the South Anthracite League schedule. This however, will be impossible. With the opening of
the basketball hall, the first in Schuylkill Haven since the Naffin Skating Rink had been used for this purpose, additional teams are
already being formed in town. Other social events planned for the next several months are being arranged with the new hall in mind.
The hall itself will be most properly and modernly appointed and finished in attractive form. There will be two dressing rooms with
showers, two toilets and the floor will be of concrete with marble chip finish. Seats will be of the removable kind with the seating
capacity for basketball events up to at least eight hundred. The roof on the building was completed by contractor George Moyer last
week and the interior work for the entire building is now going forward very rapidly. This building was started on November 2nd and
on the average, Mr. Ketner has employed about twenty five men. The building is of neat design. It is two stories of brick, tile,
concrete and steel construction. Its size is sixty two by one hundred feet, the first figure being the Columbia Street dimension. The
new building has improved appearances in that particular section of the town one hundred percent.
On the Columbia Street side, Mr. Ketner will have an auto showroom. On the Saint Charles Street side there will be a service station
and storage room. The building on all sides and on both floors is well lighted, there being extra large sections of windows, each
section having fifteen panes. The building is to be heated with a Losch Automatic Furnace. The Unit heating and ventilating system
is to be used. A. R. Saylor is the contractor for the heating. Harold Ney will be the contractor for the electrical work. Sam Bernard
has the contract for the plumbing.
|The Call of February 9, 1934
NEW HALL FOR BASKETBALL READY FOR SATURDAY EVENING'S GAME
This week, men have been working day and night on order to have Schuylkill Haven's basketball hall and cage in readiness for the
opening game this Saturday evening. The new hall is located at the corner of Columbia and Saint Charles Streets and is part of a
three story brick and steel building, constructed by Elmer and John Ketner for the housing of an automobile display room,
apartments and filling station. The hall is located on the second floor of the building and the entrance to the basketball hall is on
Columbia street. One finds here a four foot wide stairway of terraza composition upon a steel frame. On entering the hall proper one
is impressed with the large amount of natural light. This is obtained with the eight sections of windows, four being on the east side
of the building or on Charles Street and four on the west side of the building. In each one of the sections there are forty five window
glasses, for a total of 180 panes on each side. The roof is of the monitor type construction, being twenty feet high in the center and
above the playing floor and the space from the floor to the roof above the bleacher seats being twelve feet. The floor, not only for
basketball, will be found to be a splendid one and to meet every requirement. Its construction is that of a four inch foundation upon
which have been built three inch sleepers and on top of this is a yellow pine sub base with a topping of hardwood maple. The
baskets will be on the north and south end of the hall with nine rows of seats on the east and west sides of the space, with a capacity
of about eight hundred. Heat is furnished by a Losch Automatic furnace through a combined heating and ventilation system. With
this system there are no radiators but warm air is blown into the building from several different ventilating machines located at
different parts of the hall and close to the ceiling. They are operated with electric motors with the cold air being drawn in from the
rear. The lighting system will be of the very best. Above the bleachers will be located ten one hundred watt globes and above the
playing floor will be located three three hundred watt globes and four two hundred watt globes enclosed in steel reflectors. The
shower rooms and rest rooms will be located on the north end of the building. This portion of the hall will hardly be completed by
Saturday evening but will not interfere with the playing of the opening game as bathroom facilities for the players will be provided
|The Call of April 27, 1934
H. SCHUMACHER AND BROTHER OPEN NEW FOOD STORE
Last evening hundreds and hundreds of persons visited the new store of Harry Schumacher and Brother in the Moser Building on
Main Street. It was the formal opening of the store and was observed in as auspicious and pleasing a manner as could possibly be
arranged for. Everybody was afforded an excellent opportunity to examine this new store, its equipment and stock. Everybody was
made to feel at home and everybody was given a souvenir and prizes of a worthwhile and useful character were given to a hundred
or more persons. The new store, painted white on the exterior, is the second one to be operated by Mr. Schumacher in Schuylkill
Haven. He will continue to operate his first store on Columbia Street as heretofore. This particular Columbia Street store is one of
the largest most inviting and finest equipped stores in Schuylkill haven. His new store, just opened last evening on Main Street, is
also equipped in an up to date method in that customers have a full view of the foodstuffs on the shelves on both sides of the
storeroom. In the center front of the store is a large steel display case. It is a Dayton Mystic Sprayer, a case three feet in height with
numerous compartments for vegetables and green truck. Through an ingenious arrangement, a light spray of water will constantly
fall on the merchandise, thus keeping it crisp, fresh and sanitary at all times. While the case occupies a comparatively small amount
of floor space, it is so constructed that an unusually large amount of merchandise can be displayed. It is the first case of its kind to
be installed in any store in the county.
|The Call of May 18, 1934
E. S. KETNER AND COMPANY HAVE HANDSOME LARGE NEW GARAGE
One of the finest and most modern auto display rooms and most completely equipped service departments in this locality is that of E.
S. Ketner and Company on Columbia Street in Schuylkill Haven. Today, Friday and tomorrow, Saturday, the public is invited to attend
the grand opening. That all attending will be more than surprised an elated goes without saying. Located on the ground floor of the
large fireproof two story building, the main entrance to the display room is on Columbia Street. The display room has a thirteen foot
ceiling and one is at once impressed with the entire front, with the exception of a few feet, is entirely in glass. On Columbia Street
there are two nineteen foot display windows in three sections with the glass set in narrow steel frames. On the Saint Charles Street
side, there is one nineteen foot section and one ten foot section. The windows are eight feet high and above all of them is additional
window lighting by means of three foot English obscure glass. Illumination at night is provided by six suspended electroliers of a
neat design. The gas pumps, outside the building, are close to the building line with a sloped curb which permits the driving of an
auto onto the ten foot wide pavement with ease. Shrubbery will be planted along a space provided close to the building line and add
to the effectiveness of the Gothic design of architecture of the building.
On entering one is also impressed with the floor, it being of terraza composition or seventy eight percent marble. The square large
sized slabs of gray and dark maroon are laid in a herring bone pattern with brass dividers between. It required more than a month to
put this floor down. It surely is a beauty. The walls and ceiling are of California stucco finish in buff. The woodwork is finished in
walnut and the counters and desk match. Girders in the ceiling are of grained walnut. An inside telephone system is part of the
office equipment and will permit additional service to customers. Two neon signs on the display windows seem to be of just the
proper size and add to the brilliance and attractiveness to the scene at night.
From the display room, one enters the service department in the rear. This is quite large and the floor is concrete. The sides are of
pearl gray for more than one half the height and ivory for the other portion. The ceiling is also finished in ivory. The steel work and
window frames are finished in aluminum. This department like the display room is unusually well lighted with large windows on three
sides. Over one hundred lights light the area. There are only two upright girders in the service department, the second floor or
basketball hall being supported by means of a special system of girder construction. This then gives an unusual amount of floor
space free of upright supports. The service department will be equipped with all the latest kind of equipment for repair and
servicing of cars. Already there has been installed an air and hydraulic lift, latest greasing outfit and motor tuneup apparatus.
Another feature in servicing equipment is the individual work benches. One might term these work benches on the order of small
wagons containing several shelves with all tools and equipment. Instead of wasting much time going to the usual stationary work
bench and tool kit and returning to the car, the work bench is wheeled to the machine to be repaired and with the work bench
containing tools and equipment, repairs can be made in less time.
An air vent system provides heat and ventilation and this system is controlled by thermostats. The heating apparatus is a Losch coal
furnace of the largest size made by Mr. Losch. Coal is hoisted by means of a conveyor to the coal bin on the second floor and falls
into the top of the furnace as needed. An emergency automatic lighting system provides thirty six different lights for the stairway
and hall on the second floor.
The Ketner firm can certainly feel mighty proud of its new home, and the public, too, will be quick to appraise the same as most
inviting and modern in every way. The Ketner Building, it must surely be said, by reason of its having been built on the site of two
small frame dwellings which for years had not been kept in any too good repair, has enhanced Columbia Street and this particular
section of the South Ward one hundred percent.
|The Call of July 13, 1934
UNVEIL TRADEMARK STONE OF NEW COLDREN $100,000 MILL
Sharply at ten o'clock Thursday morning, the gong in the Coldren Knitting Mill sounded and the employees gathered to walk in a
procession over to the new mill building to participate in the unveiling ceremonies. The Bressler Band started the program with
some well rendered selections after which Mayor Scott took over the task of Master of Ceremonies. The Chief Burgess announced
the singing of America by those assembled with the result that the voices of the nearly one thousand people present was inspiring.
The Chief Burgess called upon the Reverend Mr. Jeffery, pastor of the First M. E. Church to lead in prayer. The prayer was followed
by the address by the Chief Burgess, in which he, among other things, expressed the community's pride in the new $100,000 mill
being erected, just what its progressive leadership meant to the town in its payrolls, the large group of citizens effected thereby. He
also referred to that large unseen nationwide Coldren organization and who enjoy a part in the monthly payroll of very nearly
$300,000. A very fitting and touching tribute was paid to Mr. D. D. Coldren, the owner, who founded the industry many, many years
ago and who is enjoying the rather unique distinction of, during his lifetime, building a mill which will long stand as an example of the
most efficient and modern mill probably in the entire state of Pennsylvania, if not in the entire East. Few men, Mr. Scott said, enjoy
the pleasure of founding an enterprise and then, after many years of operation, erecting a new building such as that in construction.
Mr. Scott voiced his personal appreciation in being given the task to preside at the unveiling service and complimented the
employees upon the fine new building they soon would labor in, a building in which no less than $10,000 will have been spent in
comforts, rest rooms and other conveniences for employees alone. Mr. Scott then introduced Miss Lizzie Werner, the oldest
employee in actual time of service, who pulled the cord that unveiled the stone which is a replica of Czar, the Russian wolfhound that
has become the Coldren trademark. An interesting feature of the ceremony was the presence of the living dog, Czar, who in life paid
a tribute to the carver of the stone, Mr. Wert. The likeness was so realistic that an audible murmur of surprised enjoyment was
decidedly evident. Mr. Scott then called upon Mr. Jensen who for the employees, voiced appreciation to Mr. Coldren for the fine and
thoughtful planning and construction of the new mill. He pledged that as in the past, so in the future there would be the same
degree of loyalty and satisfaction which has resulted in such pleasant and happy relationships between employer and employee. He
thanked Mr. Coldren for the many fine things that indicated his generous consideration of the comfort of every employee in the
installation of so much that only could be justified because of the pride and pleasure a real employer takes in the happiness and
working conditions of his employees. Mr. Jensen closed his remarks with a solemn pledge that the employees pray that there might
be evidenced one fault only with this new magnificent building to wit: that business might so grow that in a few years an addition
would be necessary. With the playing of the national anthem, the services were brought to a close. It was the largest gathering of its
kind ever spontaneously assembled in the town of Schuylkill Haven.
|The Call of August 14, 1934
BRICK PLANT STARTED HERE IN 1906 TO BE SOLD
One of Schuylkill Haven's industries, which for a number of years was a scene of great activity and employed a large number of men,
is now on the market for sale, either in part or parcel. It is that of the Schuylkill Pressed Brick Company. The plant has not been in
operation since March 17, 1932 but only on Thursday of last week did the board of directors definitely determine to offer the plant for
sale. From this Schuylkill Haven industry came the brick for the erection of many homes and buildings in Schuylkill Haven. Buildings
in nearby towns are also constructed of the Schuylkill Haven brick. At one and the same time, the local plant was busy making the
brick for the Capitol Theatre building, Necho Allen Hotel, Lefkowitz building, the Doutrich and Company building and the Troy Laundry
of Pottsville. The Schuylkill Haven High School and the Borough Electric Light Plant are built of this brick. All of the school houses in
Pottsville are built of this brick, including the recently constructed and beautiful high school building in Pottsville. The product of the
plant was sent to many towns and cities in Pennsylvania, New York and New Jersey. The plant was the only one in the state still
making dry pressed brick.
The plant was put in operation in 1906. It occupies a plot of one hundred acres along the Schuylkill Haven - Orwigsburg Pike, a short
distance outside of Schuylkill Haven. Included in this one hundred acre tract is at least ninety acres of what is termed the finest of
shale for the manufacture of brick. The plant originally had several kilns but now there are only five. They are of the down draft
beehive type. When the plant was in full operation, fifty two men were given employment and the payroll of this company amounted
to thousands of dollars each and every month. Most of the men employed at the plant were from Schuylkill Haven and nearby
surrounding localities. From twenty eight to thirty four thousand bricks per day were baked during the plant's busiest season. While
the plant has not been operated since March of 1932, the machinery and all equipment has been kept intact and given careful
attention and therefore is in good condition. For the past two years a heavy stock of brick has been used to fill orders that have
been constantly coming into the plant. A stock of at least 60,000 brick is still available.
For the past eleven years, the plant has been under the superintendency of Mr. Warren Brown of Schuylkill Haven, who has been
with the company for fifteen years. The largest order of brick which the local plant furnished was the two million order for the
construction of the P. P. and L. plant at Pine Grove. The second largest order, something over a million, was for the Pottsville High
School building. Officers and directors for the Pressed Brick Company are: President G. G. Reichley of Saint Clair; Secretary S. H.
Daddow of Saint Clair; Treasurer G. H. Michel of Schuylkill Haven and directors F. B. Keller of Schuylkill Haven, W. J. Evans of Saint
Clair, Howard Glick of Frackville and J. P. Ryon of Pottsville.
|The Call of September 14, 1934
MACHINERY BEING PLACED IN NEW COLDREN MILL
Wednesday of this week the removal of machinery from the present plant of D. D. Coldren to the large and handsome recently
completed factory building on Columbia Street, was begun. This work will require some time. It is planned to have the mill in
operation in the new quarters within the next week or two. The new factory has a frontage of sixty feet on Columbia Street and on
Railroad Street has a depth of 258 feet. It occupies the site of the former Becker Planing Mill and its completed cost will be in the
neighborhood of $155,000. The basement will be equipped as a modern cafeteria for the employees. A suite of twelve offices on the
ground floor will surround a handsome showroom, forty by sixty feet, where the numerous models produced by the Coldren Mill will
be exhibited. The offices and showroom will have a fine rubber tile flooring. Fine tiled restrooms with lavatories for the men and
women employees are featured in the building which embodies the most modern features in factory construction. Tiled baths will
also be provided for the workers.
The building will be heated, air conditioned and cooled. The heating system is operated with a Coxe traveling automatic grate. The
boilers will be 125 horsepower. A Frigidaire cooling system will furnish iced drinking water at all times. The steel construction of the
building has been protected throughout by aluminum paint. An interesting feature of the building's exterior is a life sized
reproduction in stone of Mr. Coldren's pet dog, Czar, a beautiful Russian wolfhound, which has been placed in the center of the
building over the entrance. A huge truckload of choice shrubbery has been planted around the new building. Fifteen thousand
invitations for the opening will be sent out to representatives of the Coldren organization and the numerous personal friends and
business associates of the family. It is expected that five thousand representatives of the Coldren Mill will attend and elaborate
plans are under way to make the affair one of the largest and finest things of its kind ever seen in Schuylkill County.
|The Call of January 25, 1935
OLD LANDMARK ON MAIN STREET TO COME DOWN
Within the course of the next several weeks, the appearance to the Main Street and central business section of Schuylkill Haven will
undergo a considerable number of changes. Not only will the front of the Bittle and Confehr building be changed but directly across
the street, Joseph Matonis, proprietor of Hotel Central, will make very marked changes to the property adjoining the hotel building.
On the site of the two small buildings, now occupied by E. A. Schaeffer as a shoe repair shop and A. J. Moore as a fruit store, will be
erected a brick structure which when completed, will be occupied by the American Stores Company, which store now occupies the
property of Parris Lazos. Work on the razing of the buildings was in part begun during the week by the contractor, Harry Becker. A
week's notice has been given to the tenants. Mr. Moore will move his fruit store into the Burket property, on the corner of Main and
Haven Streets and will be open for business in the new location on Wednesday of next week. Mr. Schaeffer, when interviewed,
Wednesday, had not as yet determined where he could open the shoe repairing shop. He had several places in mind but had not
determined on any one in particular.
The building occupied by the Moore Fruit Store is perhaps one of the oldest buildings on the Main Street and with the exception of
some paint and some minor changes made from time to time, and the removal of the wooden awning, is today in almost the identical
size and form as when built many years ago. For more than a half century, fifty four years to be exact, this building was occupied by a
hardware store. It was first rented from Mrs. Bryant by J. F. Thompson, who embarked in the hardware business. In a few years time
it was purchased by Mr. Thompson and when he retired from business, was purchased by Sausser Brothers, who conducted a
hardware store in it for many years.
|The Call of February 1, 1935
135 YEAR OLD BUILDING TORN DOWN
During the week the two small one story frame buildings adjoining Hotel Central were razed. On their site will be built a modern brick
structure that will be occupied by the American Stores. The razing of one of the two buildings, that occupied by Moore Grocery, for a
number of years, and in the earlier days by Sausser Hardware Store, also the Thompson Hardware Store, eliminates from the building
line of the business section, perhaps one of the oldest and only remaining small buildings of the town's business of many years ago.
ON the side of the building after some of the boards had been removed, could be seen evidences of the fact that the building had
been used to display large advertising posters. One or two theatrical attractions and advertisements of national products could be
deciphered. Some very old account books were also brought to light. Many names of former residents, who long ago have passed
on, were found to have been patrons of the store. One item listed the sale of a range for forty dollars. There are various conflicting
reports as to the age of the building but without doubt, it is conceded to have been one of the oldest of its type in Schuylkill Haven.
There is one report of a local man's father who came to Schuylkill Haven in 1850, remarking that the building had evidently been
standing fifty years before he came to Schuylkill Haven. This would make the building 135 years old. It was heavily constructed of
timbers that were mitered together with wooden pegs rather than spikes or nails. Age, however, had greatly reduced its strength
and many of the timbers had rotted completely where they had been joined together. The strength of the building had been very
materially reduced and that it did not tumble down in parts before being razed was mere good fortune. It was long a fire trap. Old
timers report the building being occupied in days gone by, at one time, by a flour mill conducted by Benjamin Ketner and later by
Schuylkill Haven's first casket factory, Emanuel Pflueger and William Achenbach, skilled cabinet makers, putting together caskets on
special order. Later the building was occupied by a Mr. Thompson as a hardware store and after him by the Sausser Brothers
hardware store for many years. On the site of this building, the contractor Harry Becker, will build a one story thirty by eighty foot
brick veneer building. Thursday the steam shovel of Harry F. Loy was on the job, excavating for the foundation work.
|The Call of June 21, 1935
BUILT 108 HOUSES HERE IN TWENTY ONE YEARS
We believe there are few building contractors in small towns who have equalled or can come anywhere near the record of Contractor
Paul R. Naffin, for the number of homes built within a specified period. The Schuylkill Haven general public well knows that this one
individual in the past number of years has been responsible for the erection of an unusually large number of homes in the town.
Hardly anyone, except Mr. Naffin himself, had any idea of the actual number he constructed. It can be said for this contractor, that
most all of the homes he built were of and along modern lines and types. He has been responsible for the development of at least a
half dozen different sections of the town, having first purchased the ground, graded streets, put down curbs and pavements, and
then built houses thereon, either on contract or for himself and later disposed of them when completed.
Mr. Naffin, in addition to the building of homes, has done considerable construction work on other buildings such as stores, garages
and public buildings but confining his work to the actual building of homes, we find the total number since 1914, or twenty one years
ago, has been 108. Of this number, twenty three houses were built on contract or to specifications determined by the owner before
hand. Here is a list of streets and number of homes built on each by Mr. Naffin:
West Main Street - 17, Saint Charles Street - 5, Hoover Street - 10, Penn Street - 8, Schumacher Avenue - 8, Willow Lake - 1, Stanton
Street - 10, Hess Street - 29, Margaretta Street - 4, Naffin Avenue - 7, and one each on Wilson Street, Saint Peter Street, Union Street,
Avenue C, East Main Street, Garfield Avenue, Centre Avenue, Haven Street and Columbia Heights.
|The Call of November 1, 1935
COAL STOKER BEING MADE IN SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Among the variety of products being manufactured in Schuylkill Haven, such as underwear, burial caskets, and shoes, has been
added an item equally as useful and important, namely, an automatic furnace stoker. It is called the Air-O-Matic Rice Coal Stoker and
is manufactured by the Valentine Machine Works of Liberty Street in Schuylkill Haven. The Air-O-Matic stoker is not a new product
entirely, for Mr. Valentine has been manufacturing these stokers for the past three years and already has a large number of them in
use and service and what is more, they are proving quite satisfactory. The price for the stoker installed is one of the lowest on the
market today. It has a minimum number of working parts, can be and is made to fit any size of boiler. It is very quiet in operation and
entirely dust proof. In this stoker, Mr. Valentine has eliminated the usual worm gears that cause endless trouble in a number of
similar devices. The Air-O-Matic is an ingenious device which provides for the feeding of the coal to the fire by air feeders. The
stoker requires but an eighth horsepower motor to operate, therefore this cost of operation is cut to the very minimum.
In addition to the manufacture of the stoker, an automatic clock is provided which automatically regulates the stoker, and the burning
flame, and therefore cuts down the cost to at least one third of the cost of a continuously running stoker, by means of both coal and
electricity being saved. The manufacture right in Schuylkill Haven of a coal stoker, the device which has proved its worth many times
over, provides for the people of this section an unusual opportunity of procuring, in a direct manner, from the manufacturer, these
stokers and in doing so, effecting a saving of the agent's or middleman's commission or profit. Mr. Valentine has in operation a
number of his stokers in Schuylkill Haven and adjoining towns and is placing additional stokers right along. Owners of these stokers
are enthused over the results and willingly permit inspection of the same by interested persons in their homes. At the plant of Mr.
Valentine on Liberty Street can also be seen one of these stokers in operation.
|The Call of January 24, 1936
FELIX DEPARTMENT STORE TO DISCONTINUE BUSINESS
One of the oldest retail business firms in Schuylkill Haven will, in a short time, close its doors. It will be the Felix Department Store
on Saint John Street. A mammoth liquidating sale is now in progress. On March 1st, Mr. H. D. Felix will begin the duties of Executive
Vice President and Trust Officer of the First National Bank and Trust Company of Schuylkill Haven. He has been a director of this
banking institution for the past ten years and for the past three years has devoted part time each day to the duties of Vice President.
Last week he was made Trust Officer of the institution. The Felix Department Store in its sixty years in Schuylkill Haven established
for itself an enviable reputation throughout the county for honest and square dealing and merchandise of a quality always better than
could be found in most stores. At this date, nothing definite could be stated as to whether the store room will be occupied and for
Sixty years ago, or back in 1876, Mr. Albert W. Felix moved from Minersville, where he had conducted a grocery business for ten
years. He opened his store in Schuylkill Haven in the Eli Mengle property, now the Bolton store, on Parkway. He sold groceries and
oilcloth. Next he moved into the William Huntzinger property next door to the Edwin Becker property on West Main Street. From that
location, as the business increased and more space was require, he moved into the storeroom at the corner of saint John and Union
Streets. Later he moved back into the Huntzinger property for a short time and then moved into the heart of the business section,
the Moser property on East Main Street. The day after excavations had been started for the building of a storeroom on Saint John
Street, operations on the Schuylkill Canal ceased. His friends and fellow businessmen foresaw for him failure and urged that he
discontinue the building of a new store. Undaunted, he continued and when the building was completed, moved into it. Mr. A. W.
Felix passed away in 1910 but the business was continued by his wife until her death in 1923, when it was continued to the present
time by the son, H. D. Felix and his two sisters, Misses Mattie and Sue Felix. Twenty four years ago the line of groceries and carpets
was discontinued and in their place was added ready to wear merchandise. For a great many years, the store has been known as the
Felix Department Store and has enjoyed a very generous share of the patronage of this community and surrounding districts.
|The Call of May 1, 1936
MANY INDUSTRIES LOST TO SCHUYLKILL HAVEN IN THE LAST 25 YEARS
The news of the intention of the Kayser Knitting Mill of Schuylkill Haven to move to Allentown within the next
several weeks, arouses interest as to just how many industries have been lost to Schuylkill Haven in the past
twenty five years. In the list herewith given is included industries that have moved elsewhere or have
S. Thomas Knitting Mills Nipple and Nut Works Daniel Sharadin Knitting Mills
Berger Brothers Knitting Mills Reidlers Knitting Mill Russel Reider and Brother
J. E. Stanton Knitting Mill A. H. Kline Knitting Mill J. C. Lautenbacher Knitting Mill
Schwenk and Company Knitting Mill Davis and Lawrence Paper Box Factory W. F. Doherty Paper Box Factory
Baker Brothers Knitting Mill Philadelphia and Reading Car Shops Schuylkill Haven Rolling Mill
Stocking Factory on Leonard Street Losch Automatic Furnace Company Fox and Brown Shirt Factory
Schuylkill Haven Brick Plant Guarantee Laundry Company Becker Planing Mill
Turner Concrete Block Company Huling Burial Casket Company
|The Call of May 1, 1936
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN TO LOSE VALUABLE INDUSTRY
Very unpleasant news for the people of Schuylkill Haven is announced by the Call this week. It is that of the Kayser Knitting Mill
transferring its Schuylkill Haven unit to Allentown. Under present plans and arrangements, the local unit will be operated in
Allentown by July 1st. Most of the orders and work now on hand at the Schuylkill Haven plant will be completed before closing down.
About one hundred and sixty employees will be effected by the moving of the Kayser plant. All but about ten to twelve of these
employees are women. The greater majority of the employees are Schuylkill Haven residents. There are a number of Cressona and
Auburn persons included in the list of employees, as well as several from rural sections.
The present average payroll of these employees is about $2300. This amount was considerably higher until several months ago,
when in February the knitting department of the local mill was transferred to the large plant of the Kayser Company in Allentown. This
change affected fourteen persons, all men, five of whom are now employed in Allentown. For the last twenty two years, or since
1914, this mill was operated continuously on a fifty two week basis. Two weeks each year were taken off for inventory and during this
time period, the employees were expected to take their vacation and be ready to give continuous employment during the balance of
the year. It was one of the most steadily operated plants in this section.
Efforts are to be made by the Chamber of Commerce to induce the Kayser Company to change their plans and continue operations in
Schuylkill Haven. Just what success will mark their efforts remains to be seen but from the fact that the high officials of the Kayser
Company are enroute to Europe and will not return for several weeks, it is uncertain as to what success may be expected by a
conference, which has been arranged with junior executives. While it is not believed the firm can operate the Schuylkill Haven unit
in Allentown as cheaply as it does in Schuylkill Haven, nevertheless, it is understood the primary idea of the firm is to have the
manufacture of their products concentrated. This can be readily done in the Allentown plant for the addition recently built to it is a
little bit more than twice the size of the Schuylkill Haven building. The original Allentown plant is almost as large as the Schuylkill
Haven plant. In the Schuylkill Haven plant, cotton and silk underwear and sleeping garments for ladies, also ladies' cotton
sportswear, were manufactured. The Kayser Company operates three plants in Pennsylvania, namely in Allentown, Bangor and
Schuylkill Haven. They have several plants in New York City and one each in Canada and Australia.
This company has been operating the local plant on a one hundred percent ownership basis since 1921. For four years before that
date, they operated on part ownership with the R. J. Hoffman Estate. From the year 1912, the firm took the entire production of the R.
J. Hoffman Mill. Mr. Hoffman began operations at the present location in 1909 and in 1920 began the building of a large addition. This
addition was occupied in February of 1921. The present superintendent of the Schuylkill Haven plant, Mr. H. A. Goas has served in
this capacity since 1913. It is understood he will have a similar position at the Allentown plant. His daughter Miss Margaret, who has
served as forelady of the Schuylkill Haven mill for a number of years, may also accept a similar position in Allentown. This means, of
course, that the family will move to Allentown.
Whether or not opportunity will be given of the employees of the Schuylkill Haven mill to accept employment at Allentown is not
known. The three story brick building on Margaretta Street, owned and occupied by the Kayser Company in Schuylkill Haven, has
been advertised for sale for the past month or more. It might be interesting to note that it was through the foresight and interest of
the employees of this industry that the Community Christmas Tree feature was instituted in Schuylkill haven. From prize money won
by the employees in several parades, was contributed the fund to purchase the first Community Christmas tree and to provide for the
Christmas Tree service. This was back seventeen years ago. The employees of this industry, too, have always been loyal in every
way to the community, contributing most liberally whenever any special drive or campaign for funds was under way and also being
the first to participate in community events of any kind.
|The Call of February 5, 1937
BARBER SHOP AT NEW LOCATION
Beginning Friday morning of last week, the Merlin Fisher Barber Shop, formerly located on West Main Street, was opened for
business on the Parkway. Mr. Fisher purchased the Bolton property and gave it a complete rebuilding and refinishing. A large plate
glass window in the front of the shop provides an unusually fine amount of illumination. The interior of the shop is finished in white.
Three large mirrors have been used to good effect. A fine pattern of inlaid linoleum of the shades of terra cotta, dark grey and
mahogany, add to the appearance of the shop. While the new quarters are not quite as long as the former shop, it is somewhat wider
and the floor space is therefore about the same as the former location where Mr. Fisher did business at the West Main Street
address for a little more than twenty one years, having opened in October of 1915. Thus far all of his customers have not been
inconvenienced in any way and have easily found the new address. The entire property has undergone considerable changes, Mr.
Fisher having had almost every type of work done or has it underway, including replastering, painting, new floors, new woodwork,
rewiring, new plumbing, new heating plant. The family is now domiciled at the new address.
|The Call of February 26, 1937
FEGER PAINT STORE BEING IMPROVED
Workmen are now engaged in enhancing and considerably changing the appearance of the
Harry Feger Paint and Wallpaper Store on West Main Street. When completed, the result will
be most inviting and very pretty. Nothing like it will be provided in any store in the state. The
entire interior is being changed. A pottery shelf will first greet the customer. There will be
two wallpaper display racks, each with twenty patterns of paper. There will be three attractive
paint shelves on the opposite side of the store room. Above all, the shelving along the two
sides will be a cornish with flood lights shedding light upon the store. In the rear of the store
room will be a replica of a portion of a colonial house with the ten inch weatherboards with two
colonial windows and the French doorway. There will be flower boxes in the windows and the
effect promises to be very pretty. The walls of the store room will be finished in the new
shade of blue with hand painted flowers in grey and rose. The fixtures will be in grey as will
be the cornish. Blue and rose stripes will add effect to the cornish. The floor will be finished
in grey. All of the fixtures in the store will be brand new. It is expected the same will be ready
by March 5th and 6th when the general public will be invited to inspect the same and note the
very, very inviting and comfy appearance, provided by the more modern trend in interior store
|The Call of October 15, 1937
NEW MOTOR COMPANY FOR SCHUYLKILL HAVEN
Schuylkill Haven is to have a new motor company, garage and filling station. It is to be located on the site of an old stand, namely, the
corner of Columbia and Saint Charles Street. The new firm will be known as Haven Motors Incorporated. The formal opening of both
the garage, auto display room and filling station will be Monday of the coming week. To this end, the property, leased from the
owners by John Ketner, Kenneth Santee and Joseph Zimmerman, is undergoing marked changes. The garage itself, on its interior,
has been repainted and equipped with new mechanical devices of various kinds to facilitate servicing and repairing of automobiles.
The shop manager will be John Ketner, a capable auto mechanic. The display room, fronting on Columbia Street, is being given a
brightening. This showroom of unusually large size is concede to be one of the finest in the county. The autos which this firm will
handle are the Plymouth and Desoto and 1938 models of both cars will be on display Monday. Kenneth Santee, for the past three and
a half years manager of the J. M. Gipe Schuylkill Haven Garage will be the sales manager. Included in the new equipment which will
be placed in the servicing department, will be new motor and electrical analyzing systems. Joseph Zimmerman, one of the members
of the firm, has been employed in the lubricating department of the R. R. Sterner Garage at Pottsville. Two kinds of gasoline will be
sold with the pumps being in service over an eighteen hour period. Charles Delbert has been engaged as clerk for the new firm.
The Haven Motors will also operate the Hall on the second floor. Some changes will be made to the same and it will be available for
renting for dances, festivals, parties and all social events.
|The Call of September 16, 1938
NEW MILL NOW IN OPERATION HERE
Schuylkill Haven's newest industry got underway on Monday of this week. It is the Alpha Knitting Mills, brought to Schuylkill Haven
from Pottsville through efforts of the Schuylkill Haven Chamber of Commerce. It is located in the Hoffman Knitting Mill property,
which property was purchased by this company from the Julius Kayser Company of New York City. The number of persons now being
given employment in this new industry is seventy. The departments being operated are the knitting, cutting and part of the sewing
department. The knitting department is being operated night and day at present. Additional machinery is being set up daily and as
the new machines are placed, operators are started on the same day the end of this week or the early part of next week, it is
anticipated at least one hundred persons will be employed. The product manufactured is women's winter underwear. The trade
name is "Snuggies". The superintendent in charge of local operations is Cornelius Wasatonic. The Alpha Mills have orders to keep
them running at top speed and full schedule for months in advance. The product is shipped direct to retail stores in all parts of the
|The Call of December 23, 1938
A & P OPENED SELF SERVICE STORE HERE TODAY
The first self service A & P store in Schuylkill County opened at 133 West Main Street in Schuylkill Haven this morning at 9:00 under
the management of Nelson Faust of Columbia Street in Schuylkill Haven, former manager of the grocery department of the North
Centre Street A & P in Pottsville. A feature of this store is the provision that has been made for automobile parking. More than one
hundred cars can be parked on the plot of ground adjoining the east side of the building. The parking is free to customers. The
store is located five hundred yards below the railroad and only a few doors below the Parkway.
The store personnel will include twenty full time employees and twenty part time employees, assuring customers of speedy and
efficient service. Manager Faust has been associated with the A & P Company for the last ten years. He has been a resident of
Schuylkill Haven for a number of years. Francis Lesher, also of Schuylkill Haven, will be manager of the meat department. He has
been an employee of the company for more than five years. For the convenience of customers and to speed up the number of
persons waited upon, many gliders, of the basket type will be available for use. Customers can use the gliders in traveling through
the store to make their selections. There will be four checkers at the front door to assist buyers. The arrangement of the interior of
the building is similar to that of other markets operated by the company
|The Call of February 17, 1939
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN TO HAVE A NEW FIVE AND TEN CENT STORE
Schuylkill Haven is soon to have a new five and dime department store. It will be located on East Main Street, in the building recently
vacated by the Atlantic and Pacific Company. Renovating and rebuilding operations will be started at once. A new and ultra modern
front is to be placed in the building. The ceiling is to be renewed and many interior changes made to the storeroom. The new store
will be operated and owned by the firm of Messner and Hess, which firm operates a similar store in Minersville. The deal for the
lease for this storeroom was consummated through Realtor Gordon Reed during the week. It might be interesting to know that not
ten minutes after the deal had been consummated, a firm operating a large number of large grocery stores, made tempting offers for
the lease of the building. The following day another food store concern also made inquiries concerning the rental for the purpose of
opening a large produce store.
|The Call of March 10, 1939
NEW DEPARTMENT STORE BEING RUSHED
A corps of mechanics are at work changing the interior of the building on East Main Street, formerly occupied by the A & P store, and
which will, within the next several weeks, be occupied by Messner and Hess as a five and dime department store. The general
remodeling is being done by Contractor Paul Naffin. The electrical work will be done by Bair and Shuey. The plumbing and heating
changes are being made by Floyd Mattern. The floor will be covered with linoleum purchased from Robert Yoder. The store front will
be placed by Hen Johnson.
A new ceiling of masonite in panels will be placed. The wooden store fixtures, consisting of many counters and wall shelves are
being put together and erected. The stands are of the fabricated type and were sent here in that condition for erection by local
carpenters. The most marked change in the building will be the store front. This will be of the latest type. It will be of porcelain slabs
placed upon fabricated steel. The sides of the store front and around the display windows will be in black with a yellow edging,
fusing into the black. Across the top of the front will be a strip of yellow inlaid with chromium insets. The name or letters will be of
red porcelain field with gold leaf background. The doors will be painted aluminum and finished with silver paint. The date of the
opening has not been announced as of yet.
|The Call of March 24, 1939
DEATH CALLS PIONEER MERCHANT
Sixty years of continuous retail merchandising in Schuylkill Haven was brought to a close Friday morning, shortly after five o'clock,
when death claimed P. T. Hoy. Mr. Hoy had been confined to bed but for ten days. He had, however, been in ill health for the past
two and one half years and during that time had not been active in the duties and work connected with the store that bore his and
the names of his sons. Mr. Hoy was one of Schuylkill Haven's oldest residents and one of the oldest active merchants in town. His
funeral will take place Tuesday afternoon at two o'clock from the D. M. Bittle Funeral Home with interment in the Union Cemetery.
The deceased was eighty three years of age last July 27th. He was born in South Manheim Township, and was the son of Thomas and
Sara (Faust) Hoy. His boyhood days were spent in and near to Orwigsburg and then when he was twenty years of age, he came to
Schuylkill Haven and obtained employment as clerk in the general store of William C. Kline on the corner of Main and Saint John
Streets. Within a few years, he decided to embark in business in his own name and purchased the Huntzinger store on West Main
Street. In the year 1895, he built the property at the corner of Main and Saint John Streets, and opened one of the largest general
stores in this section. He continued active in the operation of the business until his sons were taken into the partnership, when he
relinquished some of his activities but continued to maintain more than interest in the business. It was not until his health failed
completely that he did not spend the greater part of the day in the store, greeting friends in his usual pleasant and affable manner.
Mr. Hoy always took great interest in his community and the welfare of its people. He headed many civic progress improvements and,
if not at their head, always was a staunch supporter of them. He served for a number of years as a member of the Board of Health.
He was instrumental in numerous matters that made for the improvement of the town and was always considered the most zealous
and energetic, as well as one of the most prominent businessmen in this entire section.
Mr. Hoy was a member of the Saint Matthew's Lutheran Church. For many years he was the secretary of the Sunday School. He
continued his attendance at the church services until the failure of his health. His wife preceded him in death in September of 1925
and in February of 1926, a daughter, Helen, passed away. He is survived by two sons and one daughter: Lewis H. and Rudy F Hoy, of
Schuylkill Haven and S. Christine, wife of Thomas C. Cockill of Chester. These grandchildren also survive: C. Harriet Hoy, Lewis L.
Hoy, of Schuylkill Haven and Thomas Cockill Jr. of Chester. The deceased was one of the oldest members of the local lodge of Odd
Fellows, having been connected with the order since 1882.
|The Call of April 7, 1939
NEW FIVE AND TEN CENT STORE WILL OPEN SOON
Contrary to reports circulated, the new five and dime store of Messner and Hess on East Main Street in Schuylkill Haven will not be
opened on Saturday. The date of the opening has not been definitely decided. It may be the end of next week and perhaps later.
There is such a tremendous stock of such a large number of items to be placed at the most strategic points in the store, that the time
required is considerable. The store equipment is all completed and work was started this week in unpacking and putting out
merchandise. There will be many surprises in store for everyone when this store opens to the public. Due announcement will be
made of the opening days.
|The Call of April 14, 1939
NEW DEPARTMENT STORE TO OPEN NEXT WEEK
Next Saturday, Schuylkill Haven's latest department store will open for business. This will be the second new store to open for
business in Schuylkill Haven within two weeks. This is exclusive of the American Store, which had long been in Schuylkill Haven but
which last week opened in quarters more than twice as large as formerly. It is also exclusive of the Feger Paint and Wallpaper Store
which last week had its formal opening in larger quarters at the same address. The new store of Messner and Hess is of unusually
large size. It has a width of thirty five feet and a depth of one hundred and twenty five feet. It will be filled with a choice stock of
quality merchandise of a great variety. There will be at least twenty thousand different color and size articles. This stock will be
arranged and displayed on seven different box counters of four sections each; also on counters and shelving along the full length of
the store room on both sides.
There will be many different departments. Those of special large size will be the Candy Department, toilet Article Department,
Departments for Notions Hardware and Paint, Tinware and Aluminum and the Hosiery Department. Other large sized departments will
be Stationery, Woodware, Toys, Ribbon, Lace, Art Goods, Jewelry, Glassware and Crockery, Handkerchiefs, Towels, Electric Supplies,
Kitchen Utensils, Garden Tools and Seed Department.
The firm of Messner and Hess conduct similar large stores in Minersville and Girardville. The storeroom has been beautifully done
over. The ceiling is of masonite. There are thirty seven ceiling electric bowl lights. The counters and shelving are finished in cherry
with black base. Mirrors and palms atop the wall shelving lend an attractive tone to the storeroom. An unusual feature is the floor
being covered with a heavy linoleum of a design that matches well with the other color scheme of the store. The store front is
attractive in yellow and black porcelain inlaid with chromium. The windows are of a most modern type, one being on each side of the
|The Call of April 21, 1939
MANY PERSONS VISIT NEW STORE ON INSPECTION DAY
Thursday was a big day for the Schuylkill Haven public. This
because it was the day for inspection of the new Messner and
Hess Department Store on East Main Street. From noon until
late in the evening, people just simply crowded the new store.
They were amazed at the size, the splendid appointments,
quality and modern stock and equipment. It was noticed that
so many people were more than showing a passing interest.
Careful examination of many lines of goods was made. It would
be hard to say just which department attracted the most
attention and notice from the visitors. Roses as souvenirs
were given from six in the evening. The high school band
entertained with concert music in front of the store for a long
period. The storeroom was glorified with gorgeous spring and
hot house flowers presented by firms and individuals as a
means of congratulating the firm on the opening of this new
store. The presentations were in the form of massive
baskets. The manager of the Schuylkill Haven store will be Mr.
Harvey, who hails from Bloomsburg. He will make his
residence in Schuylkill Haven as soon as he can find an
unoccupied apartment or house. All of the girl clerks to be
employed will be from Schuylkill Haven. The official opening of
the store took place this morning at nine o'clock. There were
additional presentations of congratulatory baskets of flowers.
|The Call of October 6, 1939
BUECHLEY FIRM ERECTING LARGE WAREHOUSE AND OFFICE
Building operations are well underway near the cutoff on Broadway, Schuylkill Haven, by the Buechley firm. By the first of the year, it
is expected the two story warehouse and office now being erected on this site will be ready for occupancy. The concrete foundation
walls are about completed. The building is being erected on the west side of what formerly was the cutoff for the Schuylkill Canal.
The new building will be forty by eighty feet and will be of frame construction. The front part will be occupied as an office and display
room. The appointments throughout will be of the very finest and most up to date where will be displayed all the newest and proven
accessories for builders and contractors. The local plant of the local firm occupies four and one half acres. Over a million feet of
lumber of various kinds are on hand at all times. In addition to this, there is an enormous quantity of builders hardware, building
accessories and building material. The Schuylkill Haven manager is Mr. Oscar Hill, better known as "Mox" Hill. The Buechley firm has
been located in Schuylkill Haven for thirty one years. Mr. Hill has been the local manager for a full thirty year period.
|The Call of December 1, 1939
NEW INDUSTRY EMPLOYS THIRTY MEN
Schuylkill Haven recently acquired an industry without solicitation or effort, that already is giving employment to at least thirty men.
The prospects are that fifty men will be given employment when the industry is operated at full capacity. The new plant is a coal
breaker. It is located near the old canal locks at the south end of the Parkway. It occupies almost the same site as did a breaker and
washery of Charles Manbeck some years ago. The industry is operated by the Pine Ridge Mining Company, which company operates
and owns several similar breakers at other points in the district. Coal is brought to the breaker in trucks and taken by truck up a
runway to a hopper twenty feet high. It is dumped into the same and drops into a breaker or series of cogs and screens underneath.
From this point it is screened and the large sizes of coal taken on an endless conveyor to the breaker building nearby. The breaker
building is sixty feet in height, seventy seven feet in length and thirty six feet wide. The coal taken into the breaker building is
carried on the conveyor through a series of screens and drops into the proper sized pocket. After being sized, it is ready for the
market. Shipping will be done by truck and by rail. A spur track of the Reading Company is now being completed into the plant.
Operations were begun during last week. The breaker has a capacity of five hundred tons of coal per day. Schuylkill Haven, as a site
for this industry, was chosen because of its close proximity to several points in the county, from whence the coal to be broken and
sized is received by truck. Building operations are not yet completed and indications point to additional buildings and an office
building, being constructed in the near future. Electrical power for the operation of the industry is obtained from the Schuylkill
Haven Electric Light Department, the amount of motors in use being one hundred and twenty horsepower. This is the first coal
breaker of large size to be located in or near Schuylkill Haven.
|The Call of November 15, 1940
LEWIS MOVES TO NEW STORE
Frank S. Lewis, local newsdealer, on Friday moved his storeroom to the Gipe building recently purchased and remodeled, on the
opposite side of Main Street. The storeroom which was vacant when Mr. Lewis made the purchase, was formerly occupied by the J.
M. Gipe five and ten cent store. The entire three floors were renovated, with apartments being made on the second and third floor.
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis will occupy the second floor. The storeroom, twenty by fifty five feet, has been modernized and equipped with
attractive shelving tables, card racks and stands. A long room has been constructed with wall table son the side for newsboys and
an office in the rear. Large display windows with good lighting add to the attractiveness of the new place of business. Mr. Lewis has
increased the amount of stock carried and will add a number of new lines in addition to his regular newspaper, magazine, stationery
and greeting card business. The change in location to a larger storeroom was necessitated by the steadily increasing amount of
business done by Mr. Lewis since coming to Schuylkill Haven fourteen years ago. Mrs. William Calsam of Margaretta Street, expects
to open a hat store in the building formerly occupied by the newsstand.
|The Call of March 7, 1941
WAGE INCREASE DENIED, WORKERS BARRICADE ROAD TO BREAKER
Twenty two striking miners at the Pine Ridge Mining Company breaker, located at the end of Parkway, erected a barricade on roads
leading to the breaker and are stopping all trucks from entering the premises. This action was taken after a demand for an increase
in wages had been refused by the company, the men laid off and an attempt made to operate the breaker with new men. The affair
was peaceful until Thursday afternoon, when an altercation occurred between Charles Andershonis, one of the foremen, and the
striking employees. It is claimed that the foreman sought to tear down American flags erected at the barricade and was set upon by
The trouble began last week, when the miners, who reportedly had been working from ten to fifteen hours for wages ranging from
$3.50 to $4.00 per day, asked for fifty cents an hour for an eight hour day and with time and a half for overtime work. They notified the
company that they would strike if the demands were not met by March 1. The company attempted to operate the breaker with outside
help on that date, and the old employees set up the barricade on Tuesday to prevent coal from being taken to or from the breaker.
The owner, Steve Kotch of Frackville, also operates two other breakers, at Oak Ridge near Lorberry and at Millersville, near Fountain
Springs. Attempts at conciliation have met with no success, the strikers claiming that the operator will not meet with them. Clarence
Ney, the spokesman for the employees, announced this morning that the men will now demand the union wages and hours of the
United Mine Workers. A detective of the Pine Ridge Mining Company talked with the men this morning and it is thought a conference
soon will be arranged between the two factions, and an agreement reached.
|The Call of December 5, 1941
ZULICK MILL IS OPERATING IN NEW QUARTERS
Zulick's Underwear Mill, formerly Moyer and Zulick, began operation this week in their new quarters at the rear of 128 Centre
Avenue. The factory which had been located in the small building across from Moyer's garage on Lincoln Avenue was moved to the
newly constructed frame building Thanksgiving Day and the thirty girls employed by Mr. George Zulick lost only one day through the
change in location. The new factory offers ideal working conditions. It is a two story building with plenty of natural light coming
through the numerous windows on all sides. The girls work at the thirty machines on the second floor. Contractors are still working
on the first floor which is expected to be finished this week. This floor will be used as a retail sales room where the products of the
mill will be sold direct to the consumers. The merchandise now manufactured includes ladies' rayon underwear, panties, slips,
gowns and pajamas and ladies' and boys camerline jackets. Sales are made by Mr. Zulick direct to the retail dealer and to individuals
coming to the sales room. The partnership of Moyer and Zulick was dissolved June 27 upon the death of R. F. Moyer, after the two
men had operated for sixteen years. Now with increased sales and greater production necessary, a larger factory became necessary
and Mr. Zulick constructed the building at the rear of the Zulick apartments. The new building can accommodate almost double the
number of machines now in operation. With the demand for his products steadily increasing, Mr. Zulick states that new machines and
operators will be added very shortly.
|The Call of December 5, 1941
EMPLOYEES OF W. Y. MILLER SHOE COMPANY PLEDGE $5000 TO FINANCE REOPENING
The citizens of Schuylkill Haven in their public spirited endeavor to save the W. Y. Miller Shoe Company have already pledged $7300
of the $35,000 necessary to put the factory again in operation and return the 138 employees to their jobs. The action of the
community in trying to save one of its biggest industries has stirred the interest of millions of people in the eastern part of the United
States. Large city newspapers have sent men in to cover the meetings of the Citizen's Committee and have given the story
prominent display in their news columns. Their millions of readers are now waiting to see if this town of 6500 people will be able to
raise the large amount necessary to reorganize the closed factory. If the amount is raised, the factory will become a community
operation. The plan is to issue preferred stock which carries with it a voice in the management and operation of the shoe company.
The preferred stock will be paid off from the profits.
A pledge of $5,000 by the employees at a meeting in town hall last evening gave added impetus to the solicitation. More than one
hundred employees, friends and interested persons attended the meeting. Solicitation will begin in earnest tomorrow, following an
important meeting of the solicitors tonight at &:30 in town hall. All solicitors already working and any other persons interested are
asked to be present. These solicitors will canvass the town in an effort to raise the additional $27,000 by the deadline, Thursday,
December 11. On Thursday the hearing of the W. Y. Miller Shoe Company will be held in Philadelphia before Judge Guy T. Bard. At
the first hearing on Monday, ex-judge Roy P. Hicks, attorney for the closed factory, explained the attitude of the townspeople and
their plan to raise the amount necessary to resume operations under a reorganization plan and he received an extension of time for
the hearing until December 11. At that time the entire $35,000 will have to be pledged.
According to authentic financial reports on the status of the company, it had been operating at a profit for the last six months, but a
large indebtedness created an overhead which depleted the profit. Three creditors presented their claims and forced the Millers
into involuntary bankruptcy. Under Chapter 10 of the Chandler Act, a business is permitted to continue operation under a
reorganization plan. In the event this plan can not be put into operation, the company will have to go through the bankruptcy
proceedings. If the citizens are successful in raising the $35,000, the factory will begin work immediately to fill orders on hand
totalling $125,000. When reorganized, the factory will do the greater part of their dealings directly with the retail dealers, retaining
only a few of their most reliable jobbers. Prior to closing two weeks ago, the factory was producing a thousand pairs of shoes a day.
The maximum daily output is estimated at twelve hundred pairs.
The first meeting of the Citizen's Committee was called by Bert Maberry, Gordon D. Reed and George Gray for Wednesday evening,
November 26. At this time about twenty businessmen of the community were present. Because a true account of the financial
condition was not available beyond the bare statement of liabilities over assets and the fact that $35,000 was needed, the group had
nothing to go on but rumors. It was decided that before any plans were made, a conference should be held with the Miller brothers
and their attorneys. At this meeting the company was satisfied that the shoe company could again operate on a paying basis if the
amount of $35,000 was raised. A second meeting was called for Tuesday evening and in addition to the businessmen, a number of
employees were present. Officers elected at this time were: Bert Maberry, President; Gordon reed, secretary; and George Gray,
treasurer. When Harry Runkle, one of the foremen, and Lewis Schweigert, one of the oldest employees, expressed the belief that the
workers would gladly do their part in raising the necessary 435,000, it was decided to call a meeting of the employees for Thursday
night. This was done and the workers turned out almost one hundred percent to voice their endorsement of the plan by pledging
more than $5,000. The W. Y. Miller Shoe Company was founded in September of 1905 by W. Y. Miller, Preston Miller and Herman Miller
as a partnership. The founders began the manufacture of children's shoes in a building on the southwest corner of Liberty and Saint
Peter Streets. As the business expanded, more floor space was added. In October of 1913, the brick building on Liberty Street was
erected. After several years it was found necessary to have more working space and another addition was built in 1918. The next
addition was a two story brick wing added in the summer of 1921. In 1932, the brothers decided to incorporate the business and it
became known as the W. Y. Miller Shoe Company, Incorporated. In addition to the three brothers, the two sons of Preston Miller, Bob
and Wilmer also have an interest.
|The Call of December 12, 1941
MILLER'S SHOE COMPANY GRANTED 20 DAY EXTENSION
Through the untiring efforts of the local committee endeavoring to retain the W. Y. Miller Shoe Company here, District Judge Guy
Bard has extended the time of final action until December 30, which gives the local people two more weeks in their effort to raise the
necessary $35,000 to save the industry for Schuylkill Haven. The committee has worked feverishly and has been ably assisted by
eight of the employees of the closed factory. The response has been fair and while there is a yeoman's job to be done, the outlook is
not too gloomy. To date, $15,700 has been subscribed. Subscriptions have been received from former residents of Schuylkill Haven
who have indicated by act as well as word that they are anxious to do their part in this effort to aid their former neighbors and
friends. One in particular is puzzling the committee who boasted of the fact that they knew everyone who ever lived here. The
subscription is for $100 and was sent by a person who is an absolute stranger to every one of the committee. The sender expressed
a desire to help in this most worthy cause and the committee is of the opinion that the publicity given the matter in the metropolitan
newspapers is the reason for this subscription by a nonresident. It is not too late, as a matter of fact the time is now at hand for you
to do your part, if you have not already done so. The thermometers in front of the Gordon reed office are continually rising in spite of
the drop in the actual temperature. They must rise to the $35,000 mark. It can be done. It will be done. Welcome the solicitor when
he comes to you and give all you possibly can.
|The Call of December 5, 1941
LET'S BREAK THE THERMOMETER !
Two large thermometers placed on the light standard in front of the Gordon D. Reed office will record the increasing amount of the
money pledged to the W. Y. Miller Shoe Company fund. The thermometers, made by Fred Reichert, are white with a blue background
and a red "mercury" tube. The degrees are marked in $5,000 units with smaller division between each marker. At the top of the
thermometer tube is the goal of $35,000. The reading on the top asks the local citizenry to help keep 138 persons working and to
keep the industry in operation. Anyone desiring to pledge toward the fund may do so at the Reed office or Gray's clothing store.
|The Call of December 19, 1941
NEW INTEREST SHOWN IN DRIVE TO SAVE FACTORY
The war events of last week slowed down the action of the town in its attempt to raise the $35,000 for the Miller Shoe factory, but now
that the surprise is past, interest is again turned to the local problem and solicitors are working feverishly to raise the amount. At the
present time over $16,000 has been pledged. Particularly noticeable in the past week has been the support given to the drive by
former residents of Schuylkill Haven, who have come to learn of the plight of one of the main industries of their home town. Being
away from the community, they look at Schuylkill Haven as a unit, not as individuals, and see what the continued operation of the
Miller Shoe Company will mean to everyone in town. Their support is given to build up Schuylkill Haven rather than to see it slip
backwards. Many are the stories heard from local businessmen abut salesmen from distant cities who have read of the gallant fight
being waged here and the inquiries about the progress being made in the drive for $35,000. This week, a request was received by
Gordon D. Reed from the Life magazine for aid in securing information and pictures for a feature story to be printed in that magazine.
In speaking of the communication, Reed remarked, "This publicity is all well and good but what we need is more aid in the way of
Only eleven days remain to raise the $35,000. The extension granted the Miller Shoe Company will expire December 30 and at that
time the decision will be made whether or not 138 employees, most of them men, will be returned to their jobs or be forced to look
elsewhere for work. The Citizen's Committee, Bert Maberry chairman, appeals to the people to extend their utmost aid to this cause
which effects the lives of everyone in Schuylkill Haven.
|The Call of January 2, 1942
TWO RECEIVERS APPOINTED FOR MILLER FACTORY
District Judge Guy Bard handed down on Tuesday, December 30, an order to adjudicate bankruptcy in the matter of the Miller Shoe
Company and appointed Harold Hubler, Auburn and Ralph M. Bashore of Tremont as receivers. This action followed the petition of a
month ago by the operators of the Miller shoe factory to reorganize after an involuntary bankruptcy action had been handed down
against them. The effort to raise the necessary $35,000 by popular subscription locally fell short by $12,000 but it must be said in
behalf of those who so energetically worked for the cause that their efforts were nonetheless appreciated not only by those parties
interested directly in the factory but also by the citizens of the community who watched with keen interest the progress made in the
drive. The monies which have been placed on deposit in the drive will be returned to the subscribers within a few days. A meeting
for the creditors for the examination of the bankrupt firm will be called in a short time by Attorney Maynard Stapleton, Referee in
Bankruptcy, to whom the action of the court has been referred.
The interest shown in the drive pointed out very pointedly the fact that many former residents of the borough still have a keen
interest in the progress of Schuylkill Haven. Not a few pledges for aid were received by former residents and this was indeed
appreciated as was every single subscription received from residents here. A ray of light is shone in the fact there is a possibility of
the factory being purchased by a group of interested men who will reopen it as a shoe factor or some other industry to absorb the
greater part of the labor represented. Work has already begun to bring this about and, of course, the future of the building and its
occupancy will depend upon the purchaser at the final bankruptcy sale.
|The Call of January 16, 1942
OLD TIME FIREPLACES FOUND WHILE REMODELING HOTEL
In the process of remodeling the old Columbia Hotel which is now going on, the workmen have discovered several interesting old
relics of bygone days which are causing a great deal of interest by those who have sen them. Mr. E. C. Graver, former owner of the
hotel and a member of the family which has operated the landmark for more than fifty years, is assisting in the remodeling, and it was
he who discovered two unique fireplaces, one in each of the two front bedrooms. Built into the chimney, the fireplaces are simply a
grate of iron embedded into the brick chimney. The grate looks much like a small cradle about ten inches long. It was in these grates
that the people of about a century ago placed a wood fire to heat the individual room.
Mr. Graver as a boy remembers how, on market day, the Berks County farmers from the Strausstown, Rehrersburg district came over
the Blue Mountain early in the morning, stopping at the Columbia Hotel about five in the morning for breakfast, to feed the horses
and to get warm before going about their day's marketing. In the evening the same group would stop for supper before the long trek
over the mountain to home. Many of the residents of Schuylkill Haven will remember the time when this hotel, which is more than
one hundred years old, was the stopping off place for travelers.
The hotel is being completely remodeled for the accommodation of tourists and guests. The large dining room has been completely
done over with attractive etchings adorning the walls. The bar room has been panelled with beautiful wood and the entire place,
including the rooms which will be let out to tourists, has been done over. The hotel will be under the management of Mr. J. S. Long.
Visitors are invited to inspect the old fireplaces which have attracted many. Not a few antique dealers have offered attractive sums
for the purchase of the fireplaces but Mr. Graver and Mr. Long have decided that they will remain in their original place embedded
securely into the building structure.
|The Call of January 23, 1942
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN WELCOMES NEW RESTAURANT
Local Labor and Materials Used in Erection of "Parkway"
Native Oak Used To Build New Modern Restaurant
Schuylkill Haven can be justly proud to welcome its newest business establishment, the Parkway Restaurant. Meeting a very definite
need, this modern restaurant will be patronized by many of the townspeople as well as transients who will find the same Strause and
Beck quality prevailing as is to be found in all the other of their fast growing chain of restaurants and service stations.
An inspection of the new Parkway Restaurant will reveal that Strause and Beck have spared no expense in procuring the very best of
everything in the building of this modern establishment. It is equipped with the very latest of everything from the front door to the
large spacious banquet hall to the rear of the building. The forward part will be the restaurant proper, equipped with comfortable
booths and tables to accommodate a large clientele. The entire building is finished with native oak specially prepared at the mills of
Mr. Strause and the structural wood was also prepared and secured from these mills. Excavation was begun last August by H. Loy,
who soon had the foundation in readiness. Harvey Dewald and son were secured as general contractors and soon the structure took
form. Designed after the most modern buildings, the Parkway Restaurant presents a most formidable appearance in its splendid
location at the head of Parkway. The electrical work has been expertly completed by Bair and Shuey. The front and all the glass work
is the handiwork of the Empire Paint and Glass Company of Pottsville. Painting of the interior and exterior was handled by Clarence
Dewald of Schuylkill Haven. The heating plant, one of the very latest as well as the plumbing, has been completed by the Losch
Boiler Sales Company of Schuylkill Haven. R. T. Reed placed on the building a substantial roof which will last for many years to come.
The flooring was expertly done by the Enterprise Furniture Factory of Reading. Many of the fixtures for the restaurant were
furnished by the Pottsville Showcase Company.
The banquet hall will be the scene of many civic and service club meetings and it will be available to organizations who wish the best
of everything served in an environment of refinement and cleanliness. No liquor will be sold in keeping with an established policy of
Strause and Beck. In the front restaurant which will be always open to the public, the famous Strause and Beck Bar B Que will be
featured as well as popular platters at reasonable prices. The Parkway Restaurant will be managed by Fred Kramer, who has wide
experience in this field of endeavor. Coming to Schuylkill Haven with a background as steward on the famed United States liners as
well as on the United Fruit Lines, he has a full knowledge of the needs of the patrons who will visit the Parkway. His experience as a
steward on large liners will be an invaluable help to individuals as well as large groups who may plan banquets at the Parkway.
Schuylkill Haven is proud again to say welcome to Strause and Beck, and although the men are no strangers to us, in fact we feel that
they are a part of the community life of our borough, we are happy to officially welcome them to our business family.
|The Call of April 17, 1942
MILLER FACTORY MAY BE SOLD
At a meeting held before Referee in Bankruptcy Maynard Stapleton at the county courthouse, the trustees of the Miller Shoe Factory
presented a petition for private sale of the factory. The petition, however, was opposed by the Schuylkill Haven Trust Company, the
First National Bank of Schuylkill Haven and the Miners National Bank of Pottsville, mortgagees. After a lengthy hearing in which many
legal aspects were presented, the decision of the referee was to dismiss the petition. As a result of this decision the shoe factory
may be placed on the auction block in public sale. All money which had been subscribed in the public spirited effort by citizens of
Schuylkill Haven has been returned to the subscribers.
|The Call of December 10, 1943
QUICK FREEZE PLANT PLANNED FOR TOWN
Schuylkill Haven will have a "Quick Freeze" locker plant in the near future if plans now being furthered materialize. Harry
Schumacher, one of Schuylkill Haven's oldest merchants, has plans for a 255 locker plant to be installed in his present store on
Columbia Street. The "Quick Freeze" lockers is a fast growing industry. There are at present 4721 plants in the United States and 400
in Canada. The lockers are especially popular in the middle west. Before priority rights are given, the government demands that
sixty percent of the lockers must be rented to separate and distinct families and the amount of rent placed in escrow in a local bank.
The rent begins when the plant starts operation. Announcements of lockers for rent will appear in later issues of this paper.
|The Call of June 8, 1945
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN TRUST COMPANY OBSERVES 35TH ANNIVERSARY
The Schuylkill Haven Trust Company observed its 35th anniversary as a banking institution on Wednesday. On May 19, 1910, a charter
was obtained for an institution to be known as the Schuylkill Haven Trust Company and which open for business June 6, 1910. The
first Board of Directors was composed of twenty three members. The property at 6 East Main Street was purchased and remodeled
and while renovations were being made, business was transacted in a room at the Grand Hotel building. On February 23, 1911, the
institution moved into the quarters it has occupied ever since. The business prospered from the start and by 1937 the banking
quarters were too small. At this time renovations were again made and resulted in greater convenience to customers and a more
attractive atmosphere in which to transact business. The deposits on June 6, 1910 were $76,307. The growth of the institution since
that time can be seen in the increase in deposits to $3,257,484 on June 2, 1945. For a limited time the Schuylkill Haven Trust Company
will have on display genuine and counterfeit United States currency and which can be seen by the public during the regular banking
hours. In honor of the anniversary which was made possible by cooperation and teamwork of the officers, directors and employees,
they were entertained at dinner on Wednesday evening by Walter F. Meck, president.
Those present were: Walter F. Meck, Harry A. Reber, Casper Roeder, Guy H. Diefenderfer, Ivan W. Reed, Vincent J. Dalton, Melvin W.
Bamford, Roy A. Scott Jr., G. I. Bensinger, Harry G. Fegley, directors; C. H. Williams, Harry L. Burkert, Robert L. Painter, Ralph M.
Kauffman, Willis M. Kauterman, Marguerite, M. Godshall, Mildred F. Koch, Rose E. Jones, Sarah L. Bensinger, Ada M. Heim, J. H.
Berger, employees; and E. W. McSparren, vice president and treasurer of the Federal Land Bank, Baltimore; Samuel T. Deibert and J.
|These five ads were extracted from the Call newspaper in December of 1945. The three above hold special meaning to me.
Reppert's Store was the corner grocery store in my neighborhood and I had shoes repaired at Ed Orwigs. I shoveled snow at both
businesses in the 1970s for a few years. My father would wake me when he went to work and I would shovel before going to school
and collect my pay on the way home. They were both nice gentlemen. Geary's Shoe Store in the center was owned by my late wife's
family and like many Schuylkill Haven residents, I had shoes from there. Below is an ad from Greenawalt's on Parkway and an ad for
real estate from Gordon D. Reed. Click on the Reed ad to see the bargain prices for homes.
|The Call of October 12, 1945
DISCUSSION WAGED ON COAL OPERATION
The problem of coal reclaiming operations erecting barriers in the Schuylkill River was again thrashed out in council when the local
governing body met on Monday night at Town Hall. Councilman Joseph McGlinchey, who claims that his property as well as that of
his neighbors is being damaged, brought the matter to the attention of council. The provisions of the permit granted to the McKinley
Hoover operation by the state were read. The operators were given permission to erect a twelve inch plank barrier in time of low
water to dam up the water so that they could float their coal dredge. It was claimed that the plank barrier had been washed away and
another barrier, made of large stones, is now in place and is above the prescribed height. Solicitor Hicks explained that the matter
was one for individual property owner complaint to Harrisburg instead of a community action. It was decided, however, that the
solicitor write to the proper authorities at Harrisburg notifying them that the provisions of the permit were not being carried out.
|The Call of April 5, 1946
STORE WILL OPEN HERE SATURDAY
A new modern hardware and sporting goods store will be added to the list of Schuylkill Haven businesses when the Haven Hardware
Company opens on Saturday in the former Felix building on Saint John Street. The building was purchased several months ago by
Amos Strause and Harvey Dewald and work was begun immediately to convert it to the use of the new enterprise. Shelves and
fixtures were installed and a large variety of hardware items, many of them unobtainable during the war years and up to the present
time were secured and will be offered for sale. Modern Fluorescent lighting was installed and the entire interior and frame parts of
the exterior were painted. The store is now modern in all respects.
Owners of the new enterprise are Amos Strause and Harvey Dewald and Herman Dewald. With twenty six years of hardware
experience, Herman Dewald will be manager of the store. He was associated previously with the George Bright and Company of
Pottsville and W. C. Hack and Sons of Shamokin. Earl Reed, who will be the assistant manager, was formerly with the William K. Loos
establishment of town and at one time had charge of the hardware division of the Sears and Roebuck store in Pottsville.
For the opening the new store will give away four door prizes at a drawing Saturday night. Each person visiting the store on the
opening day will be registered and will have his name in the drawing without needing to be present to win. The prizes will be a
pressure cooker, electric heating pad, cookie jar and a flashlight. The store is now stocked with a complete line of hardware items,
paints, fencing, poultry equipment, fertilizer, electric fences and floor coverings. Other items have been ordered and will be placed
on sale as soon as they arrive. The store will be dealers for Jamesway barn equipment, Pratt and Lambert paints, Wilson sporting
goods, Pennsylvania overhead doors, Chambers gas ranges, Barrett roofing and shingles and Royal vacuum cleaners.
|The Call of April 5, 1946
LOOS STORE ERECTING LARGE WAREHOUSE
The William K. Loos Establishment of town, dealers in feed, grain and other farm needs and machinery, has begun construction of a
large warehouse between the Reading Railroad siding and Coldren's Mill on East Columbia Street. The building, constructed of
building blocks, will be thirty feet wide and 130 feet in length. A thirty foot section will be used as a display room for farm machinery.
Howard J. Loos, who took over the business in September 1942, shortly after the death of his father, William K. Loos, announces that
the building will enable them to store their feed and grain close to the railroad without the extra handling and trucking that had been
necessary in the past. The savings in the handling cost will enable the Loos Establishment to provide farmers with quality
merchandise at a lower price. The present warehouse on Long Run will be used mainly for the repair and setting up of new
machinery. Mr. Loos recently returned from the armed services after serving eighteen months, most of which was in action in the
final stages of the war in Europe. Since his return, he has remodeled and modernized the Loos store on Main Street and made plans
for the warehouse that is now being constructed. Within the next few weeks he expects to begin a weekly delivery route system
throughout this area to give better service to the farming trade. Starting this week, the first in a series of cartoon advertisements for
the William K. Loos Establishment appears in The Call.
|The Call of August 30, 1946
'GOOD OLD DAYS' RECALLED BY STORY OF THEATRE OPENING
Many a housewife and head of the family (in some cases one and the same person) after a visit to the store for purchases at inflation
prices has said, "Oh, for the good old days when you really got something for your money." Well, a story was brought to The Call
office that deals with the good old days. It's an account of the old Euclid Theatre which opened the Saturday before Christmas in
1912. The writeup appeared in the July issue of "The Exhibitor," a copy of which was given to the editor by Charles B. Poorman Jr. of
Haven Street, who as a dealer in photographic supplies, receives the trade magazine. The story read in part:
"Recently there came to these editorial offices of the original account book of D. M. Wagner and William L. Woodin, who on Saturday
before Christmas in 1912, opened the Euclid Theatre in Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania. The first week's receipts were as follows:
Monday, December 23, $21.85; Tuesday, December 24, $18.20; Wednesday, December 25, $18.60 at the matinée and $32.45 in th
evening; Thursday, December 26, $21.10; Friday, December 27, $9.50 and Saturday, December 28, $5.35 at the matinée and $39.30 in
the evening for a grand total of $166.35 for the first full week. The preopening expenses amounted to a total of $577.58. Wagner
charged the theatre $25 a month for rent and Woodin drew $25 a week as manager.
Among the expenses listed were: The Call, advertising, $4.84; Mills and Klein, distributing folders for opening week, fifty cents; two
boxes of soap powder, ten cents; one tin pail, ten cents; two pairs pliers, twenty cents; two screw drivers, fifteen cents; bottle of ink,
pen and book for ticket seller account, fifteen cents; moving piano to theatre, $2.00 and music rolls from Erles, $18.54. The opening
show consisted of the days super colossal "Custer's Last Fight," and a couple of one reelers, "Why Jones Reformed" and "Plucky
Girl". On that precedent shattering night, 6,280 nickels were pushed under the Euclid Theatre wicket, a record which stood for only
twenty four days. The film rental on this show totaled $12.50.
In those days the projectionist cranked the machine with his right hand and with his left, adjusted the carbons, cranked the Victrola
and changed the records which were used to attract customers by means of the horn sticking out on the street. Another job of the
projectionist in those days was to lean out the booth door at the close of each show (they ran only fifteen minutes) and call to the
audience, "Don't crowd down the aisles, next show in a few minutes." n It was also not unusual to call out the booth door to the
audience and explain that the film had broken or some other trouble had occurred in the booth and ask the audience to be patient
when he fixed it."
|The Call of November 8, 1946
ELMER UNGER BUYS BUSINESS PROPERTY
The modern grocery store of Harry K. Schumacher located at 128 Columbia Street and apartments adjoining were sold the past week
to Elmer F. Unger of Parkway. On the first floor the store room is occupied by Wolf's Grocery and the adjoining property has three
modern apartments. Mr. Unger intends to install the latest grocery store equipment and lighting fixtures and in the rear of the store
he intends to install freezing lockers for the storing of meats and vegetables. The Wolf Grocery store which now occupies the store
room will move to the Dietrich property several doors away where business will be continued. The sale was made by realtor Gordon
|The Call of November 8, 1946
IMPROVEMENTS MADE TO SAINT JOHN STREET BUSINESS PLACES
A bright green neon sign at the Haven Hardware Company store on Saint John Street gives the street a brighter business
appearance. The sign, advertising Bendix radios with the name of the store beneath was erected yesterday. While the war was in
progress with the Felix building vacant, Saint John Street lost much of its business appearance. Within the last several months,
much has been done to make it a business section. The Felix store was purchased by the Haven Hardware Company and extensive
improvements made before it was open for business. The manager, Herman Dewald, and store staff are working nights getting the
store ready for the Christmas season. The Call building which was purchased by Gordon D. Reed, is being painted and improved.
The store and offices of The Call were renovated and enlarged. Additional display racks have been added. The every day greeting
card line has been enlarged and now includes several of the high quality lines. The Christmas cards and stationery displayed this
year will be the largest and most beautiful ever displayed by the Call. Business places along Saint John Street now include: The Call,
Gabe's, Schwartz's, the state liquor store and Haven Hardware.
|The Call of November 15, 1946
GIRLS HANDLE 11,000 CALLS DAILY, AN INCREASE OF 2,000 OVER TWO YEARS AGO
In this age of rush, rush, rush when everything must be done at breakneck speed, we too often take for granted or give too little
consideration of one of the leading conveniences in our present day business and social world, the telephone. Probably the fastest
working girl in Schuylkill Haven, and the one who takes the most abuse from inconsiderate customers for not being a super girl and
making two hands do the work of eight, is the telephone operator. At the local exchange in the Schuylkill Haven Trust building,
operators at five switchboards are now handling an average of 11,000 calls a day, an increase of 2,000 over two years ago. The local
exchange realizes that the service at times is not as speedy as it should be but the fault lies not with the girl operating the plugs but
with the lack of adequate equipment to handle the large number of calls.
Most of these 11,000 calls are made from nine in the morning until eight at night with two periods, nine to ten in the morning and four
to seven in the afternoon, being the peak loads. If 10,000 calls are handled in the eleven busy hours, that means that each of five
girls takes 2,000 calls. She makes 182 connections an hour or three every minute. At that rate she is taking a new number every
twenty seconds. At the peak periods she is making even faster time. Recently 140 new lines were added to the local telephone
network but no new equipment has been added to the exchange and it will be the end of 1947 until additional switchboards can be
Responding with a pleasant, "Number, please," when you lift the receiver to make a call is one of fifteen operators employed by the
Bell Telephone Company at its local exchange. Miss Olivan Kemble is operator in charge with Miss Betty Lohman as evening
operator in charge and Elizabeth Rhoads as senior operator. The efficient girls wearing the speaking tube and making connections
with the plugs are: Anna Jane Bast, Ida Mae Batdorf, Fern Coover, Ruth Edling, Geraldine Kantner, Jean Kremer, Charlotte Miller,
Raydelle Naus, Betty Sieck, Margaret Wensel, Rhoda Wingle and Lois Roeder. Each girl works two shifts of three and one half and
four hours with several hours off between two shifts. While at the board each girl works two hours and then she has a fifteen minute
rest period. The exchange room has a section specially arranged for the rest period with an easy chair, reading lamp and a large
assortment of magazines and other reading material on a table along side of the chair. The fifteen girls work in shifts of five at a time
from 7:00 a. m. until 11:00 p. m. From 11:00 p. m. through the early hours of the morning, only one girl is on duty.
When asked what their chief complaint is against the telephone users, the girls quickly responded that they burn up when calls come
in so fast they don't know which way to turn and then someone flashes and impatiently says, "Okay sister, if you're finished reading
your story, I'd like to have my number," or "Sorry to wake you up."
Figure it out yourself that the operator takes a new number every twenty seconds. That means she says, "Number, please," waits
until you look up the number you just forgot and then makes your connection. By that time another call is waiting for her. To one who
has watched the girls working, it seems like a continual "Number, please," "Just a moment, please," "I'll give you information," "Thank
you." The girls, handicapped by a lack of equipment, are doing a splendid job in giving rapid service. Miss Kemble stated that local
telephones will be changed to dial phones in 1952 when Pottsville and nearby towns will all convert to the dial system. To make the
change over a dial phone will be placed in the home of every telephone subscriber along side the regular phone. The new exchange
equipment will be set up and at a specified time, the user of the telephone will change to the dial phone and the exchange will switch
over to the new equipment. The old phones will then be removed and the operators will lay aside their head phones.
|The Call of May 9, 1947
SHOE STORE 60 YEARS OLD - Henry J. Dohner Opened Shop Here;Occupied Present Building 54 Years
In 1881 Henry J. Dohner arrived in Schuylkill Haven from Lebanon, Pennsylvania. Mr. Dohner was a cobbler by trade and had his own
business in Lebanon before his arrival here. Upon arriving he worked for Bill Gensemer in the rear of where the Haven Hardware is
now located. This cobbler's shop was in the rear of a saddle shop operated by Sam Beal. H. J. Dohner decided to go into business
for himself and in 1887 purchased the shoe shop owned and operated by Harry Sausser, located on what is now Railroad Street. At
this time no street existed. The shop had two large show windows with a door in the middle. Suspended from the outside of the
shop was a large boot, the symbol of the cobbler. This boot is still in the possession of the Dohner family.
The lease to the shop located at the entrance of Railroad Street was closed in 1892 by the Reading Company in order to build a new
freight house next door to his old shop in April of 1893. This is the present location of the business and has been for the past fifty
four years. An advertising circular printed by The Call around that time listed the prices on their shoes as follows: Hand Made
Shoes, Men's S. Kip Creedmore, $1.00 per pair, Men's Calf Tip or plain Bals or Congress, $1.25, Men's Cordovan tip or plain Bals or
Congress, $1.90, Ladies' Dongala Button Shoe, $1.00, Ladies' Dongala Patent tip or plain button shoe, $2.00. These shoes were made
by the Dohner family. The original circular advertising these prices is in the possession of Bob Dohner, the present manager of the
shop. Up until 1893, all shoes sold in the Dohner establishment were made by hand by the Dohner family. During this year they
started to stock manufactured shoes but they still retained their custom made department.
During the year 1912, the business was passed on to Henry J. Dohner's two sons, John and Harry, who operated the shop handling
both commercially manufactured shoes and their own hand made variety. This continued until 1916 when mass production of shoes
was perfected to the extent that custom made shoes could not compete in price with the ones so produced. The Dohner's
discontinued their custom made department during this year and from that time on have stocked only those supplied to them by
manufacturers. In January of 1946 the business was passed on to the third generation and is now managed by Robert Dohner.
Before World War Two, the Dohner store carried an inventory large enough to supply every person in Schuylkill Haven with three
pairs of shoes. Due to the wartime conditions and reconversion, the large variety and selection is necessarily limited. The Ball Band
Rubber Footwear Company of Mishawaka, Indiana has been in this business for fifty years. H. J. Dohner Sons is the seventh oldest
national account with this organization having been a dealer for these products for the past forty six years. The repair department is
capably handled by Andrew Miazza, better known just as Andy. Shortly before the last war, the Dohner shoe repair shop was
completely equipped with new machinery, making the shop at that the time the most modernly equipped shop in this area. The
display and fitting room of the store was remodeled in July of 1946 and presents a cheerful atmosphere with its chrome trimmed red
leather seats and a general manager always ready to show you another pair of shoes.
The manager, Robert Dohner was born in 1917 and attended the Schuylkill Haven high school and graduated with the class of 1935.
After graduating from school he started working at the shop, both in the store and in the repair department. This gave him a
thorough knowledge of the business and fitted him to become an efficient manager. He is a veteran of World war two, having served
two years and nine months with the U. S. Army. He served in the 8th Armored Division, a part of the 9th U. S. Army in the ETO. After
being discharged from the service he took over as manager of the H. J. Dohner Sons. Robert Dohner is a member of the consistory
of the Saint John's Evangelical and Reformed Church, a member of the American Legion, the Veterans of Foreign Wars, the
International Order of Odd Fellows, the Loyal Order of the Moose, the Schuylkill Hose Company and the local Lion's Club. This April
marked the sixtieth year of continuous business, fifty four of them being conducted in the present building and the remaining six
having been next door. This is one of the oldest businesses in town and is to be congratulated on sixty years of successful business.
|The Call of October 31, 1947
DEWALD BROTHERS PROPRIETORS OF PARKWAY RESTAURANT
The Dewald brothers, Clyde L. and Verlin B. "Pete", proprietors of the Parkway Restaurant, are two of Schuylkill Haven's youngest
businessmen. On Saturday they will begin their third year at the parkway. They purchased the modern restaurant and banquet hall
from Strause and Beck on November 1, 1945 and for two years have been battling successfully with food shortages, lack of help and
skyrocketing food prices. Clyde, the younger of the two brothers, is usually found cigar in mouth, talking to salesmen, making
arrangements for banquets, directing the waitresses, or joining with customers in solving the problems of the world. His favorite
spot is behind the cash register. Verlin, who had been giving only part of his time to the restaurant business until a few months ago,
is now devoting full time to the efficient operation of the kitchen.
The two brothers are sons of Mrs. Kate Dewald, who provides the Pennsylvania Dutch cooking for their restaurant. Their father
Lewis is deceased. They were born on a farm in South Manheim Township, Verlin on July 16, 1904 and Clyde on December 16, 1920.
The family moved to Orwigsburg in 1921 and in 1930 came to Schuylkill Haven to take over the Grand Hotel, which, before it burned to
the ground, was located where the post office now stands. Verlin married Miss Ada Staller of Brommerstown and returned to the
family farm in South Manheim Township. They had one son, Russell Edward, who is thirteen years old. Mrs. Dewald died and several
years later Pete married Miss Edna Staller of North Manheim Township. They are living temporarily at 30 Center Avenue until they can
occupy the Ethel Maid apartments which are being made in the building formerly occupied by the burial dress manufacturers. After
attending public schools, Pete worked as a painter and paperhanger for seventeen years and then entered the employ of the
Economy Supply Corporation at Pottsville as a paint salesman. He continued to work with this company for five years before deciding
to devote his full time to the restaurant business.
Clyde Dewald graduated from Schuylkill Haven high school and took vocational training under the N. Y. A. In 1940 he enlisted in the
Army Air Corps and after a year and a half of training in the United States, was sent overseas to the European theater of war. He was
engineer and crew chief of the "Dutchess", a B-17 that made numerous raids over enemy territory and always managed to come
back. On its final bombing mission, it was badly shot up and after safely crossing the English Channel, crashed when it tried to land
in England. The crash put Clyde in the hospital with a shattered jaw and serious injuries about the head and body. When he received
his discharge in July of 1945, he held the rank of master sergeant. His wife is the former Miss Mary Beck, daughter of Mr. and Mrs.
Harry Beck of Hillside. They have one son, Lewis Harry, aged fourteen months and live at 400 Dock Street.
|At left is a picture of
owner, Robert Dohner
in 1947. At right is a
shoe cleaning kit from
from my personal
|The Call of December 5, 1947
PARRIS LAZOS, SUCCESSFUL CANDY MANUFACTURER
A regular Horatio Alger story - the rise from poor immigrant to successful businessman - is the account of the life of Parris Lazos,
proprietor of the Candy Kitchen at 15 East Main Street. Born in Metylene, Greece, an island in the Aegean Sea, Parris was one of five
children of Alvin and Helene Lazos. His father was a stone mason. At that time the Lazos homeland was under the domination of the
Turks, and as at the present time, the people were experiencing trying times. Conditions did not seem to improve as the years
passed. A cousin of the family who had come to America and was living in reading, wrote to the eighteen year old Parris about this
country. Vividly recalled in one of the letters is the statement that America was the land of plenty and of great opportunity, but the
dollars could not be picked up on the streets.
Alone at the age of eighteen, Parris made the trip to the United states in 1910. He came immediately to reading to the home of his
cousin, who secured work for him in the Berkshire Knitting Mills. He continued to work in the Berkshire Mills until 1919. While living
in reading, he journeyed on weekends to Phoenixville where he visited friends who were engaged in the candy making business. He
assisted them and became interested in the art of candy making. In 1919, he married Miss Mary Albright of Reading and several
months later decided to come to Schuylkill Haven and make a start for himself in the candy business. The location of his candy and
ice cream store was at 39 east main Street in the building now occupied by the J. M. Gipe Hardware store. With candy recipes
supplied by his friends in Phoenixville and the little experience he gained while working with them on weekends, Parris began
making his own candy. Many a batch of candy was spoiled before he acquired the skill of producing good candy. Schuylkill Haven
liked the candy and ice cream manufactured by the young businessman who had come as a youth from Greece. Parris prospered and
on August 15, 1925, he moved into the present location at 15 East Main Street, a newly built three story building. The modern store
has a large soda fountain bar, large candy display cases and booths for customers in the rear of the store room. Directly behind the
store room is the candy kitchen where the candy is manufactured. At the present time the Lazos family is busy making candy for
Christmas. During the war years, production was curtailed by a shortage of sugar. This year sugar is available but there is an acute
shortage of chocolate. The Candy Kitchen, however, will carry a full line of chocolates, chocolate covered nuts, candy canes,
baskets and pretzels and other Christmas candy novelties.
Mr. and Mrs. Lazos have four children, two boys and two girls. Georgianna, age twenty seven, is living at home with her parents and
assists in the store. She is a registered nurse, having graduated from Saint Luke's Medical Center in Philadelphia. Paul, twenty six,
shortly after graduating from high school, enlisted in the navy in 1940 and served until 1946. He was a first class petty officer and
was an aviation mechanic instructor at Jacksonville, Florida and spent one year active duty in the Pacific. He now lives in
Philadelphia. Franklin, twenty four, a graduate of Valley Forge Military Academy, enlisted in the service and served with the 7th
Infantry in France and Germany. While in France, he married Miss Janine Mermet, who came to this country and is living with him in
an apartment above the Lazos Candy Kitchen. They have one child. Franklin is employed by the Grand Union Tea Company.
Henrietta, twenty three, after graduating from the local high school, entered training at Women's Homeopathic Hospital in
Philadelphia. She will graduate next June.
In 1921, Mr. Lazos became a naturalized citizen of the United States and in the years since then has eagerly assisted his adopted
country in every possible way. He has been a member of the local Rotary Club for twenty years and held membership in the old
Chamber of Commerce and has again joined the organization when it was revived several weeks ago. During the past war, the
people of Greece again felt privation. Mr. Lazos sent and continues to send boxes of clothing and food to the members of his family
still living in Metylene. His mother and one of his sisters died during the war. His father died in 1927. Still living are a brother and
sister Metylene and a sister, Mrs. Theano Yatron of Reading.
When a drive was made during the war for clothing for Greek relief, Mr. Lazos was one of the leaders in gathering clothing for his
needy fellow men. Mr. Lazos is a member of the Greek Orthodox church. His wife and children however are members of Christ
Lutheran church. Since leaving his native land thirty seven years ago, Mr. Lazos has not returned, but his most ardent desire is to go
back to Metylene for a visit to see his sister and brother and his old friends and neighbors of long ago. Mr. and Mrs. Lazos will go
when world conditions become more settled,
|The Call of December 12, 1947
LEWIS DRIESBACH CAR DEALERSHIP
Lewis C. Driesbach likes to stand along side the pride of his newly remodeled display room on Dock Street, the ultra modern 1948
Hudson. Although he has explained its outstanding features to an estimated thousand motorists since the unveiling last Sunday
morning, he is just as enthusiastic in explaining the new car as he was the day he first saw it. The car sets in the center of the soft
colored well lighted display room which has been remodeled during the past few weeks. Fluorescent lighting, arranged in a large
square in the middle of the ceiling effectively displays the new automobile without casting any shadows.
Mr. Driesbach considers the new model, plus the new showroom the high point in his long automotive career. Although only thirty
eight years old, Mr. Driesbach has been associated with the automobile business for twenty five years, starting with the Roy Hawkins
garage on Wilson Street in 1922. His experience covers most of the automotive field. The Hawkins garage first handled Chevrolet
and Dodge, then Buick and Dodge and later Nash cars while Mr. Driesbach was in their employ. In 1928 he went to work at Freed's
Firestone store in Pottsville and a year later joined the staff of the Hertz Drive Yourself Company as shop foreman. He worked there
until 1931 and then attended the Raybestos brake school in Bridgeport, Connecticut. Finishing the course, he became the brake
specialist at the Zweibel Superservice in Pottsville. The next year he returned to Schuylkill Haven to work for John Ebling, who had
the Durant sales and service. He also served as service manager for the Henry Hummel garage, handling Pontiacs at that time. In
1935, joining with Jack Douglas, Mr. Driesbach opened a garage on Haven Street and secured the agency for Hudson and
Terraplane. After one year the partnership was dissolved and the business became solely a Driesbach enterprise.
The move to the present location on Dock Street was made in 1940 when the Hudson garage was moved to the former Ebling
building. The building was purchased by Mr. Driesbach two years ago. In the present location, the garage besides featuring Hudson
sales and service, also offers complete service and general repairs on all makes of cars. Having installed heavy duty frame
straightening equipment, the Driesbach garage specializes in frame and wheel alignment on passenger cars, trucks and buses.
Mr. Driesbach is the only son of Mrs. Clymer Driesbach. His father died a year ago and a brother, Harold, was killed in a sleigh riding
accident in 1936. Mrs. Lewis C. Driesbach is the former Vera M. Berger, daughter of Milton M. Berger. They have three daughters;
Doris, nineteen and who assists in the office, Shirley, sixteen and Beverly, eleven. They live at 79 South Berne Street. Mr. Driesbach
is a member of the church council and treasurer of saint Paul's Lutheran Church on Summer Hill. He serves as a member of the
board of directors of the Lion's Club and is a member of the Lion's community ambulance service. He is associated with a number of
automotive associations including the Pennsylvania Automotive Association, the National Automobile Dealers association and the
Hudson TriCounty Service Club. On the social side, he is associated with the Pottsville Moose, the Pottsville Eagles and the Reading
|A sampling of ads from "The Call"
newspaper in 1947.
|The Call of January 30, 1948
ATKINS COMPANY STORE NEARS COMPLETION
A preview of Schuylkill Haven's newest store was
given on Thursday when the canvas was removed
from the exterior of the former Kaufman building to
reveal the gleaming modern red and white front of
the Atkins Stores Company five and ten cent store.
Mr. B. D. Atkins who comes from North Carolina where
he at one time managed thirty seven McCrory stores
is directing the work on the new store. The new
business is located on the site of an old landmark
known in the past as Kaufman's Cafe with a reputation
throughout this section for good food. The property
was sold to Parris Lazos who rented it for ten years to
the American Stores Company. It was purchased in
1944 by Gordon D. Reed who razed the old structure
and constructed a steel and concrete block building.
The structure is 26 by 130 feet with an apartment on
the second story in the front. Mr. Atkins expects to
open his store on March 1st.
|The Call of February 27, 1948
BEAUTIFUL NEW ATKINS STORE IN GRAND OPENING
The opening of the beautiful new Atkins store at 12 East Main Street today gives the Main Street business section a new look. The
glistening white and red front, the brilliantly lighted and gaily decorated display windows, all modern to the smallest detail and the
modern lunch counter, display counter and shelves and fluorescent lighting on the interior make this store perhaps the most
beautiful store in the county. The Atkins store, with its modern, beautiful appearance, is a welcome addition to the stores of town and
is a big advance in the progress Schuylkill Haven is making in becoming more and more a shopping center for the southern part of
B. D. Atkins, president of the Atkins Stores Company, joined with Gordon D. Reed, owner of the building, in planning the new
structure. No expense was spared by Mr. Reed in erecting the building and in finishing it with the most modern materials and
equipment. The new structure was erected on the site of the old Kaufman building, later purchased by Parris Lazos and then by
Gordon D. Reed. The old frame building was razed and the basement dug out before the concreting for the foundation was laid. The
26 by 130 foot store room, topped by an apartment, 20 by 60, is constructed of building block and steel. Construction work was begun
last July by Gordon D. Reed's crew of men, supplemented by various contractors for specialized work.
The gleaming red and white exterior was designed and installed by the Empire Glass Company of Pottsville. The modern entrance,
recessed between the two brightly lighted display windows, consists of two large glass doors with panels on each side. The glass
doors and panels alone cost $1,200. Something new in snow removal systems was installed by Mr. Reed in the laying of the concrete
pavement. Lines of pipe were laid in the concrete and connected to the Losch boiler in the basement. The building is vapor heated
with two large blower units. A special attachment on the boiler converts the vapor to steam before it is sent through the pipes
beneath the pavement. The paving innovation received its first test with the heavy snowfall on Saturday night. The pavement in
front of the Atkins store was clear of snow.
Mahogany store fixtures with the light colored ceiling and walls of the store room and two long rows of fluorescent fixtures running
the length of the building give the store a beautiful interior appearance. The neatly arranged display counters, the beautiful soda
fountain and lunch bar place the Atkins store on a par with the leading five and ten stores in the county. Hotpoint appliances,
installed by M. Luther Fidler, are used throughout the store and in the modern apartment. Fluorescent lighting has been used
throughout the entire store. Elevated offices were built at the back of the store above rest rooms for the personnel.
The new store is the second to be opened by the recently formed Atkins Store Company, a corporation with an authorized capital
stock of $100,000. J. H. Gearhart, secretary and treasurer of the organization, who formerly managed the company's other store in
Frackville, is manager of the new local store. When the apartment above the main store room is completed, Mr. and Mrs. Gearhart
will move to Schuylkill Haven. Featuring children's, men's and women's apparel, the new store also is stocked with an abundance of
regular five cent to one dollar staple items. Mr. Atkins and Mr. Gearhart extend a cordial invitation to everyone to come in and look
around the new store. Souvenirs, as long as they last, will be given to each customer.
|The Call of May 14, 1948
GRAND OPENING OF FAREL Y. BECKER GARAGE
Jack Breslin, district manager for Dodge Corporation, congratulated Farel Y. Becker upon the grand opening of his newly remodeled
garage on Centre Avenue. Lester Knarr, assistant to Mr. Becker, was also on hand. The well lighted display room showing a custom
Dodge model in a setting of flowers made an attractive appearance on opening night on Wednesday. The entire garage was opened
for inspection by the public and in spite of the rain, a large crowd of people was on hand from four thirty in the afternoon until closing
time. They saw the new custom sedan, a Dodge station wagon, Plymouth and half a dozen Dodge trucks. As of July 1, Farel Y. Becker
garage will have by direct appointment sales and service for Dodge, Plymouth and Dodge job rated trucks and will be receiving units
on the same scale as other dealers in the area. His territory will include Schuylkill Haven, Cressona, Friedensburg, Summit Station,
Orwigsburg, McKeansburg, New Ringgold, Deer Lake, Auburn and Port Clinton to the Berks County line. Others on the staff include:
Amos Phillips, foreman of the fully equipped shop; Miss Mildred Bubeck, secretary; Warren Kramer, car salesman; Nick Barbetta, in
charge of front wheel alignment and a full force of mechanics. For the convenience of patrons, a large parking space is located
behind the Sinclair service station.
|The Call of July 2, 1948
SCHUYLKILL HAVEN ENJOYING GREATEST HOME BUILDING BOOM IN NEARLY 200 YEARS
With more than twenty homes in the course of construction and twelve or fifteen more planned to be started shortly, Schuylkill Haven
now is engrossed in perhaps the greatest building activity since its founding almost two hundred years ago. Home building in
Schuylkill Haven will exceed $250,000 according to an estimate based upon a survey conducted by the building committee of the
Chamber of Commerce, Gordon D. Reed, chairman. This figure is for new home construction only. In addition there is much activity
in remodeling, repairing, renovating and expanding of homes, business places and industries. The total figure for all types of
building activity will run close to the half million dollar mark.
Most of the home building activity is centered in the community's largest residential area, the Fairmount section. On Avenue C
above Second Street toward the Bamford home but on the opposite side of the street, three houses are being built. The one story
home of Mr. and Mrs. Emil Bonadio has been completed except for landscaping and few small details and Mr. and Mrs. Bonadio are
now living in their new home. The large dwelling for Mrs. Bertha Frantz is under roof and has the brick veneering completed and the
contractor is working on the interior. Directly below this home is one started for J. Harry Naus, which will also be a brick veneer
On Avenue E, five homes are underway. Daniel Krause and Luther Troutman are building at the southern corners on Avenue E and
Second Street. Krause is building a story and a half brick veneer home and Troutman plans to put up a one story brick veneer
building. Farther down Avenue E, three homes are in the course of construction. The Michael Colitz English type home is nearly
completed, while the home of Joseph Eubanks, a Dutch Colonial style, and the home of Joseph Hubitsky, a two and a half story brick
veneer dwelling, are still in their early stages of construction. On Haven Street, contractor Fred C. Reichert has nearly finished the
first of three homes that will be built on the east side of the "Shavey" Hill. Mr. Reichert also owns the land to the rear of these lots,
fronting on the extension of Grant Street and he expects to build houses on this site in the near future. Joseph Fitzpatrick of
Cressona is having a two story frame home built on the south side of Paxson Avenue between Haven Street and Rotary Field. The
building is completed except for the finishing touches to the interior.
In the west end of town two homes are going up on Orchard Avenue in the Hill Farm Addition. These homes, both story and a half,
are being built for Francis Cimino and Ira Krammes. On Columbia Street, on the west side of the bridge, a modernistic home is being
erected by Earl Geary, who is doing the work himself, assisted by his father. On Liberty Street, a brick veneer home is being built for
Mr. and Mrs. William Hess along side the recently constructed home of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Manbeck. Located on Moorenoll street
in the Columbia Heights section, the modern one story home of Leo Kuchinsky was completed within the past year. Mr. Kuchinsky is
still working on the landscaping. Excavation has been made on Stanton Street for the adjoining homes of Henry Hummel and his son,
Edward. The two homes will be brick veneer, story and a half, and will be alike except the plans will be reversed. Individual initiative
is strikingly evident in the Willow Lake section where four homes are being built entirely or in large measure by the future occupants
of the homes. On Garfield Avenue, Arlin Wildermuth is building a story and a half dwelling with building block which will be covered
with cement. Beyond Willow Lake towards Orwigsburg, William Linder, assisted by his father, is building a story and a half frame
home. On the hill above Willow Lake, John Weiss, aided by his sons, is constructing his own frame home covered with brick
insulated siding. Across the street from the Weiss home is the dwelling of Matt Praden, who is doing all the work on his small frame
home. This too is covered with red brick insulated siding.
|The Call of July 2, 1948
HILL FARM ADDITION TO BE
BEAUTIFUL RESIDENTIAL SITE
The Hill Farm Addition to Schuylkill Haven is developing into one of the community's more
desirable building locations. Located on the hillside overlooking Schuylkill Haven, the Hill
Farm Addition is a residential section with the advantage of a good view and a quiet, restful
atmosphere. The Hill Farm section extends in both Schuylkill Haven and Cressona. It will have
three streets running parallel with Schuylkill Street and another street which has not been
named. Saylor Street which runs between the new Hill Farm Dairy bar and the Schwartz home,
will continue at a right angle to Schuylkill Street across the Hill Farm Addition to Haven Manor.
Eleven lots have been sold in this large development. The first, sold to Ed Kunkle in 1946, is
ob Orchard Avenue. More recently the following persons have purchased lots: Francis
Cimino, Ira Krammes, Donald Snyder of Pottsville, Lester Knarr, Phaon Kramer of Pottsville and
Verlin Dewald all located in the Schuylkill Haven part of the addition and to Fred Yoder,
George Moyer, John Tarris and Andrew Bazar in the Cressona section. Mr. Kunkle built a home
on his ground. Mr. Cimino and Mr. Krammes are building their homes now and Mr. Snyder of
Pottsville has his plot staked off and plans to build this fall. Lots are being offered for sale to
the public. Persons interested should contact William H. Schwartz at the Hill Farm.
|This ad appeared in The Call
advertising lots in the Hill Farm
|The Call of July 16, 1948
COMPLETELY REMODELED A & P OFFICIALLY OPENED THURSDAY
The official opening of the completely remodeled A & P Supermarket at its location on West Main Street was held Thursday morning at
ten o'clock when borough leaders joined with A & P officials in a ribbon cutting ceremony. The ribbon on the door leading to the
glistening, enlarged and remodeled interior was cut by Chief Burgess Harner. Paul J. Feeser, president, represented the Chamber of
Commerce and congratulated Manager Nelson A. Faust and the company officials upon their beautifully renovated market. The
opening of this remodeled supermarket marked another milestone in the steady progress that the Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea
Company has made through the years.
The food center is a complete change to the ultramodern in every one of the many departments to be found in the store. The
company has spent an estimated $40,000 in the vast improvements to its store at 133 west Main Street and Milton Folk, who recently
purchased the building has made improvements to the physical structure itself. The parking area at the rear has been greatly
enlarged and the front parking area has been covered with amesite. The store has a selling area of 65 by 120 feet and storage space
of 65 by 50 feet and features eight enlarged departments including groceries, produce, frosted foods, dairy and coffee, fish, meats
and poultry, Italian products, Kosher products and candy. All new aisle display racks have been installed to run the length of the
store from the meats and dairy departments at the rear to the checking out aisles in the front.
New white tile checking out counters and registers, with another one being added, were installed to speed up the checking
operation. The produce displays were greatly enlarged and new dairy and coffee fixtures added to the store. A new ceiling, painted
white, with modern fluorescent fixtures makes the market brightly lighted. A new tile floor was laid on the top of the old concrete
floor. Manager Nelson A. Faust summed up the improvements by saying, "The comfort of the shopper has been uppermost in the
minds of the A & P food store organization. This completely remodeled supermarket gives them the best that could be obtained." All
help at the supermarket as at all A & P establishments is on a five day week with insurance, vacation with pay, sick leave, promotions
on merit and other advantages are offered to every employee of this concern.
|The Call of April 14, 1950
OLD HOMES RAZED TO MAKE WAY FOR SELF-SERVICE MARKET
Two of the town's oldest dwellings were razed on Dock Street to make way for a large, modern self service supermarket to be
occupied by Moyer's Market, now located at the corner of Dock and Coal Streets. The site of the new structure will be the homes that
were occupied by Mrs. John Cake Sr. and Mrs. Eva Braun in the middle of the block of Dock Street between Coal and Berger Streets.
These two old dwellings along with another building which was kept intact, were purchased by George W. Moyer three years ago
from Mrs. William Kline and daughter, Miss Elsie Kline. Work was begun last week in tearing down the two oldest buildings and they
have been leveled to the basement walls. The third building, to the south of the razed structures, will be remodeled and occupied by
Mr. and Mrs. Moyer and their family. They will sell their home on Columbia Heights.
The buildings were among the early homes built near the dock of the old Schuylkill Canal. The middle building was known as
McCaffrey's hotel and was a well known stopping place for boatmen on the canal. It is claimed that several members of the Mollie
Maguires, a notorious band of lawless miners, that terrorized the coal region in the middle of the last century, were captured in this
hotel. McCaffrey himself was noted for having a trained goose that marched with him in parades.
|The Call of August 4, 1950
BROWN-e GIFT SHOP TO OPEN FRIDAY
A new store, modern in every respect, will be added to the Main Street business district with the opening of the Brown-e Gift Shop
next Friday. The gift shop will be operated by Mr. and Mrs. Richard Brown, Leonard Street, with Mrs. Brown conducting the business
of the store. Mr. Brown will continue as an employee at the Haven Hardware Incorporated store on Saint John Street. Located in the
former Dechert property at 114 East Main Street, recently purchased and remodeled by Harvey E. Dewald, the store occupies the
lower half of the ground floor. Modern glass front with large display windows makes an attractive appearance and the store is
another step in the gradual expansion of the Schuylkill Haven business district. Mr. and Mrs. Brown will carry a varied line of
costume jewelry, glassware, china, hand made ceramics, Pennsylvania Dutch novelties and linens. On the opening day door prizes
will be awarded. A cordial invitation is extended by the Browns to their many friends and the public in general to visit the store.
|The Call of September 22, 1950
INCREASE IN BUSINESS PRESENTS NEW PROBLEM FOR KLAHR DRY CLEANERS
The installation of a large dry cleaning unit capable of handling six times the amount of clothing as the unit previously in use was
thought by the Klahr Cleaners to be the answer to their problem of keeping up with their requirements. The new unit, a Vic synthetic
dry cleaning machine, was installed early in July but the steady increase in business continues to keep far head of the capabilities of
the machine. Milford Klahr, owner of the Klahr Dry Cleaners, is now faced with the need for adding another machine but does not
have the required amount of space in his present building on South Berne Street.
Since starting in business March 5, 1947, the establishment has used a small unit capable of handling only about five pounds of
clothing or five pairs of mens trousers. The new unit, which uses a synthetic cleaning agent rather than the petroleum base cleaner,
can handle thirty pairs of trousers or about thirty pounds of clothing at one time and take it through the complete operation of
cleaning in about forty minutes. The cleaning agent used is not inflammable and is claimed to be able to penetrate better and get the
maximum amount of soil from the clothing. Clothes placed in the machine go through a cleaning process for eight minutes, then for
five minutes the machine extracts the fluid from the clothing. The next step is an important part of the process of this particular
machine. In a reclaiming cycle, the moisture from the clothing that has mixed with the gas is separated and the gas cleaned for
reuse. The elimination of moisture, which is present in clothing particularly on humid days, does away with the possibility of
shrinkage during the cleaning process. The final step in the cleaning is the aerating or deodorizing of garments in which the odor of
the cleaning fluid is completely dispelled. After the clothing leaves the machine, it is checked for spots that may have not been
removed in the machine and then it is pressed. Pants and coats are pressed on a modern presser which was recently purchased.
Shirts and dresses are pressed by hand.
The plant on South Berne Street is manned by Saul and Richard Klahr, sons of the owner and Joseph Knarr. Another son, Gerald
Klahr, drives the pickup and delivery truck and Mrs. Adele Llewellyn tends the store on Saint John Street. Pickup and delivery
service is maintained every day in town and on Tuesday and Friday in Cressona. In addition to the dry cleaning and pressing, the
establishment also does repairing and dyeing.
|The Call of September 29, 1950
KAUFMAN'S STORE TO DISCONTINUE BUSINESS AFTER FORTY YEARS OF SERVICE
Kaufman's Store at 7 West Main Street will close its doors the end of the week after serving the public for more than forty years. This
store room will be rented to a local concern as an office the first of the month. The late Burt Kaufman started his business as a
newspaper agency, before his marriage to the former Katie Meck in 1907, in the building now occupied by Mrs. Hazel Stevenson on
Saint John Street. On December 15, 1908 they purchased the building at 7 West Main Street and on January 4, 1909, they began to
conduct their business in the hallway next to the store room, which was then occupied by the post office. Charles Huy was the
postmaster and was later succeeded by Fred Reed. At that time there were two newspaper agencies, the one operated by the
Kaufmans and one operated by E. Bright Pflueger. In 1927 both agencies sold out to Frank Lewis. The Kaufmans then devoted their
entire time selling cigars, magazines, candy, pipes, ice cream, etc. At one time they sold Wertly's ice cream made in Hamburg and
later they sold Aristocrat and at the present time, Hershey's. Mr. Kaufman died on January 1, 1947 and his widow, assisted by the
daughter Mary, who is now the wife of Warner Reigle, continued to operate the business. However, Mrs. Kaufman wishes to retire
from business and devote her entire time to her home.
|These four ads appeared in The Call in this time frame offering readers a choice on meals or Saturday entertainment
|The Call of March 25, 1893
THE STRIKE - Lasters Make Trouble in a Shoe Factory
The firm of Berger, Brown and Company, shoe manufacturers, have had experience with their five lasters during the past two weeks
which resulted in their going on strike. About two weeks since the employees in the lasting department came to the manager of the
factory, Frank Brown and demanded a raise in their wages. He agreed to give them the raise provided that they would sign a
contract that for any inferior work that would be discovered after going through a partial process of manufacture would be allowed to
be finished and charged to the party or employee at whose hands the work was done at wholesale prices. The object of this was not
to take advantage of the employees but was to be an incentive to good workmanship and faithful service by him and as a protection
to the firm. They all agreed to and signed the contract. Matters moved on without much friction until last Saturday when the hands
received their pay. One of the lasters had charged against him four pairs of shoes and another had one pair. They were supposed to
take the shoes and the price of them was to be deducted from their regular wages. On Monday morning one of the lasters quit his
job. The others called at the office of the manager at eight o'clock and presented a shoe which had been given and charged to one
of their members and claimed that it was not inferior work. Mr. Brown claimed that he was the man that passed judgement in the
matter and did so, pointing out the defects. Then they upheld that he was infringing on the rights of them as employees by charging
a certain one of their number with shoes that were of inferior workmanship. Not having received the satisfaction they expected, they
returned to their department and held a consultation. The manager approached them and asked them what they expected to do in
regard to the matter. Shortly after, they left the factory unceremoniously and thus forfeited their positions. This caused a stagnation
in the business for a few days but the places have been filled by competent hands and everything is moving along as heretofore.
|The Call of August 26, 1899
ROLLING MILL CHANGES HANDS
Will Resume Operations in the Course of a Week or so. We are Also to Have a Nut and Bolt Works.
The Schuylkill Haven Iron Works were on Monday sold to Colonel Thomas H. Rickert of Pottsville, representing a syndicate, for
$21,000. The syndicate is composed of Dr. Filbert and a number of other wealthy Philadelphians, with Colonel Rickert, ex-Senator
Charles F. King and some other monied Pottsvillians, whose names are withheld. Colonel Rickert and Walter F. Rahn, the latter the
secretary and treasurer of the Schuylkill Haven Works, went to Philadelphia on Tuesday, where the deed was transferred to the
syndicate and Mr. Rahn was paid the purchase money. The rolling mill of the Schuylkill Haven Iron Company was erected in 1870 by
the Direct Iron Company to change ore into iron, but two years later was changed to a rolling mill proper.
The product of this plant was merchant iron bar, truck bolts, railroad and horseshoe bars. Two trains of rollers for turning out
merchant iron and two heating furnaces which have been used for a number of years are still intact and they will be put into shape
immediately. The mills had a capacity of about fifty tons a month but in the course of the next few months this will be doubled. The
plant was purchased and incorporated in 1881 by William Weissinger, George R. Kaercher and Frank R. Rahn and worked
continuously until May of 1898 when work was suspended owing to the dullness of the trade.
It is the purpose of the syndicate to place the mill in operation at the earliest possible moment, within a week or ten days, using the
present machinery. The building will in the meantime be enlarged to twice its present size and the output doubled. Two large
puddling furnaces and a blast furnace will be put in and several other improvements will be made. About forty hands will be given
employment in the beginning. A large plot of ground adjacent to the works, and which was part of the property, was purchased by
Walter R. Rahn. It is learned that the gentleman will shortly erect a large plant for the manufacture of nuts and bolts. Plans are
already being arranged for the building.
|The Call of September 2, 1899
ORGANIZING THE ROLLING MILL
A meeting of the stockholders of the Schuylkill Haven Iron Works was held on Tuesday at Philadelphia for the purpose of organization
and also to discuss plans for the operation of the works. The election of officers resulted as follows: President, Colonel T. H. Rickert
of Pottsville; Vice President, Kennedy Crossan of Philadelphia; Treasurer,
Honorable C. F. King of Pottsville; Secretary, Clarence Crossan of Philadelphia. The directors are T. H. Rickert, W. C. Martin of
Philadelphia, C. F. King, Kennedy Crossan and C. C. Kauffman of Columbia. It is expected that the works will be in condition to begin
operations on Monday or Tuesday of next week giving employment to about thirty hands. In a week or so this number will be
increased to forty or forty five. There may be a delay in starting if the supplies do not arrive promptly. It is the intention of the new
owners to improve the mill by adding modern machinery and enlarging it as soon as possible.
|The Call of October 6, 1950
THRONGS JAM NEW MOYER SUPER MARKET AT GRAND OPENING THURSDAY NIGHT
Large crowds of people jammed the new Moyer Super Market on Dock Street at its grand opening last night and extended hearty
congratulations and best wishes to Mr. and Mrs. George Moyer, owners of the glistening, modern store, upon the great forward step
they have taken. The new store is a big contrast to the smaller corner market operated by the Moyers before moving to the new
location a half block away on the other side of the street. The well lighted and perfectly arranged market is one of the most modern
to be found in this entire area. It has a gleaming interior with display cabinets and shelves lining the two sides and running down the
center aisle. The refrigerated cabinets for the meats extends across the entire width of the store at the rear and above it on the
glistening white wall is the large display sign, "Moyer's Quality Meats."
The store is brightly lighted throughout by the new slim line fluorescent fixtures on the ceiling. The attractive front is finished in
green carrara glass and features large plate glass windows extending at a slight angle from the left side to the doorway at the right
so that the doorway is recessed beneath the second story overhang and affords protection to patrons during inclement weather.
Large baskets of flowers sent by friends and business associates were placed on the higher shelves and convenient cabinets
throughout the store. Patrons serve themselves with the most modern push carts through the wide aisles in the store.
For their grand opening, Mr. and Mrs. Moyer gave a large number of door prizes to the people who visited the store on its opening
night. The prizes included large hams, picnic hams, dishes, glasses, glass sets and twenty four baskets of groceries. The list of
winning numbers is posted in the store and those not having claimed their door prizes may come in today and tomorrow to receive
Mr. and Mrs. Moyer's new store is another step in the ladder to success that is so well known in this country. Starting at the age of
thirteen, he worked for Sam and Amy Lear after they purchased the business of William Ball at 31 East Main Street, the site of the
present Gordon D. Reed Agency office. Harry Yost, who formerly managed the Mark Detweiler butcher shop on Main Street,
purchased and operated it and Moyer continued to work for him until 1932. At that time he went with his father, Harry Moyer, who
took over the meat market at 344 Dock Street. In 1940 the elder Mr. Moyer died and the son continued to operate the store for his
mother. Following her death in 1943, Moyer purchased the business and operated it at the corner of Coal and Dock Streets until this
week when he moved to the modern quarters in the properties on Dock Street which he purchased. Mrs. Moyer, the former Miss Ada
Rhen, is now associated with her husband in the business.
The Moyers and their children, Barbara, thirteen and Nedra, ten, moved from their home on Columbia Heights to the home adjacent to
the store. The property on Moorenoll Street was sold to Mr. and Mrs. Howell Aregood who will move there after renovations have
|The Call of April 13, 1951
TRUST COMPANY OPENS PARKING LOT AND WALK UP WINDOW
The Schuylkill Haven Trust Company announces the opening of its new customer's parking lot and outdoor walk up window for the
convenience of its patrons. The extra service window and the large parking lot are located at the rear of the building with access
direct from Wilson Street. Banking customers may now drive onto the lot with their automobiles, walk up to the window located on
the rear wall of the building and transact their business without actually entering the bank. A roof over the window gives protection
from bad weather. An electric communications system permits the customer to talk to the teller without raising his voice. The
speaking unit is located near the window and enables the patron and teller to carry on a normal conversation even though the teller
is standing behind a bullet proof one inch thick glass.
A specially designed system of small doors prevents direct contact between the persons outside and inside. In order to open the
outer door the inside door must be closed. The customer places his bank book and deposit in the compartment and the teller then
must close the outside door before he can open the inside panel which enables him to handle the deposit. During the past year an
addition was built at the rear of the bank building. This new section contains the bookkeeping department and this new outdoor walk
up window service. The teller inside has all the regular equipment for the transaction of business as is found in the main section of
In recent years, parking in the Main Street area during the rush banking hours presented a problem. The large parking lot at the rear
of the bank will now permit the bank customers to drive within a few steps of where they will walk up to a teller's window. Any
banking transactions except new accounts, loan applications, or transactions requiring long discussion may be handled at this
window. The special teller's window will be open during all regular banking hours. During banking hours, the parking lot will be
reserved for the use of the bank's patrons. The teller's window from which the customer can be served without entering the bank is
a new banking feature that is becoming popular with banks in the larger and newer cities in the United States. The introduction of
this type of service by the Schuylkill Haven Trust Company marks the first time it has been put into practice in this area.
|The Call of June 1, 1951
LOCAL CABS INSTALL RADIO COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
The Haven Cab Company this week began using its new radio communication system to facilitate service to its taxi customers. The
$2,000 Raytheon installation includes a receiver and transmitter in two cabs and the main control panel with sending and receiving
units at the Boussum home on West Liberty Street. At the home, a sending antenna has been erected, but the cabs having only a
short aerial rising about fifteen inches above the car roof.
The communication system permits the dispatcher to contact the cabs within a twelve mile radius and send them on another call
without having the cab come back to the office to check to see where it is to go next. An example of how fast the system operates
was demonstrated this week when a cab user near Seven Stars called in to report that she had left a key on the back seat of the cab.
Mrs. Luther Boussum, wife of the cab company owner, immediately contacted the cab which happened to be completing a call on
Garfield Avenue. By the time the person who had lost the key went to her front porch to wait for the cab it was pulling up at her home
and delivering the lost key. Mr. Boussum, in explaining the conveniences of the new system stated that the cab phones will be
available for emergency use. That is, if there is an accident or an emergency of any nature at a place where a phone is not available
and a cab happens to be in the vicinity, the cab can be hailed and the radio phone used to contact the central control who can then
place a regular phone call to the police, doctor, ambulance or firemen.
The surprising part of the system is the small amount of space required for the receiving and transmitting units in the cabs. It is all
contained in a box about the size of a small tool kit in the trunk of the cab. The size of the main control board is modest while the
mechanism is located in small units at the rear of the desk.
|Miners Journal of June 6, 1868
NEW IRON FURNACE
All the preliminary arrangements having been made, and the company having been organized, work has been commenced in
Schuylkill Haven on the buildings required for the Griffith Direct Iron Producing Furnace. The site selected by the company is one of
the most eligible for a work of this kind in the county, bounded on the east as it is by the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad and on
the west by the Schuylkill Canal. The necessary excavations for the foundations for the buildings are being made and the stone
masons are cutting and preparing stone. The castings are all made, the lumber ordered and the work on the machinery is being
pushed forward as rapidly as possible. We understand that this company starts out under very auspicious circumstances. Twenty
five percent of the capital subscribed has been paid in, and under the management of its able and energetic President T. C. Zulick,
esquire, there is every prospect of the early and satisfactory completion of the furnace. This project promises to result differently
from the contemplated steel works at the same point a year since.
It will probably be of the interest of the reader to state that by the new and simple process, the invention of Mr. Griffith, which will be
used at this furnace, rolled iron of any kind, rails, rods, bars and sheets are produced from the ore with only one heating. The
apparatus consists essentially of a series of vertical retorts with movable bottoms communicating with a puddling chamber. The
retorts are charged with the broken ore and charcoal, and the molten iron, after reduction, is drawn off into a puddling chamber
where the surplus carbon is burned out and the metal is piled into balls for the rollers. The fuel used in the operation is anthracite
coal, through which a blast of steam is driven; the vapor of water is decomposed by the heat, the hydrogen, released, gives out an
intense heat and the liberated oxygen powerfully supports the combustion.
The works at Schuylkill Haven, we learn, will be in operation within two months and will under the superintendence of Mr. Griffith, the
patentee of the direction process. The Board of Management consists of T. C. Zulick, Joseph Patterson, Thomas Wren, Charles
Wiltrout and Charles Meck.
|A button hook from P. T. Hoy's store.
|Above is Hoffman Knitting Mill,
located on Margaretta Street,
today the home of Alpha Mills.
|The Call of June 29, 1951
GREENAWALT'S CELEBRATES 25 YEARS
Mr. and Mrs. Salem Greenawalt are celebrating their twenty fifth anniversary as merchants in Schuylkill Haven. To observe the
occasion they are holding a special 25th anniversary celebration at the store Friday and Saturday by offering a long list of anniversary
specials and presenting a gift to each lady customer visiting the store today and Saturday. The store will be open from 8:00 a. m. until
9:00 p. m. on these two days.
Mr. and Mrs. Greenawalt started in business June 26, 1926 at the present location at 19 Parkway. The building was formerly a bake
shop and an insurance office for William Roan. In the twenty five years they have been in business, the Greenawalts have enlarged
the store three times. As the store business expanded it became necessary to take in the space used by the insurance office and
the partition was removed so that the entire front part of the dwelling could be used. Other expansions were toward the rear of the
building. The Greenawalts now have the enlarged store room and two apartments in the rear of the building, an apartment above, a
garage at the rear of the property and an apartment above the garage.
The store, started primarily as a grocery and notions store was later expanded to include ready to wear clothing and other dry good
items for men, women and children. A feature of their store has been delivery service, begun when the store was first opened and
continued to the present time. Along with the expansion of the store has been improvements such as the installation of fluorescent
lighting, new wall dress cabinets and remodeled windows as well as frequent painting of both the interior and exterior of the building.
Mr. Greenawalt is a native of McKeansburg. Mrs. Greenawalt, the former Miss Elsie Updegrove of Muir, taught school in
McKeansburg for two years after graduating from Kutztown State Normal School and met Mr. Greenawalt. They were married twenty
eight years ago. The Greenawalts are receiving the congratulations of their many friends and customers in Schuylkill Haven and the
surrounding territory they serve.
|The Call of February 29, 1952
PAUL KELLER OPENS MODERN SERVICENTER ON CENTER AVENUE
The newly constructed Keller's Esso Servicenter, located on Center Avenue where the new Pottsville boulevard enters the borough
at the northern limits, opened for business yesterday. The glistening white structure, trimmed in red, has a wide approach and
driveways that are easily accessible for cars traveling in either direction. Featuring the ultimate in modern service station designing,
the servicenter has a large serve yourself showroom, a large service area that will accommodate two cars for lubrication, oil change
or washing. On the left side of the building are the rest rooms, finished in ceramic tile with the most modern of accessories. An
office is located at the rear.
The new servicenter will be operated by Mr. and Mrs. Paul Keller. Mr. Keller has worked in service stations since 1927. From 1939 to
1946 he operated the Keller Servicenter in Cressona. In 1942 he started in business as a fuel oil distributor and in 1946 gave up the
service station business to devote full time to the fuel oil and oil burner business. Winfield Moyer of Schuylkill Haven and Joseph
Hummel of Friedensburg are employed at the service station. Fred Bittle, local high school athlete, will work part time. Although the
new service station has opened for business, the grand opening celebration has been postponed to a later date.
|The Call of May 9, 1952
BURKERT'S MODERN CONFECTIONERY STORE
This week Burkert's Confectionery opened in the newly built store room on Main Street directly opposite Dock Street. Fred Burkert,
who operates the store, moved from his temporary quarters in the Feger and Feger store to the new location on Monday but is
having his grand opening today and Saturday. The new store gives him larger display space for the full line of Ehly's baked goods
which he handles as well as for the peanut roaster, soda fountain, booths, tobacco and candy counters and magazine racks. The
change of location comes shortly after the twenty fifth anniversary of the date Burkert started in business. He opened for business
in 1926 at 109 East Main Street where the Keller Sweet Shop is now located and remained there for five years. He then moved to 103
East Main Street where he conducted his business until a month ago. The new store was built by Realtor Gordon D. Reed at the front
of the former Berger property which he recently purchased. It has an attractive Ohio sandstone front with large plate glass windows.
The interior is brightly lighted with fluorescent lights. Additional equipment provides an attractive, modern store.
|The Call of September 5, 1952
HIRAM FISHER BUYS DAIRY FROM JOSEPH KAUFMAN
Kaufman's Dairy, operated for over thirty years by its founder, Joseph Kaufman Sr., was purchased by Hiram L. Fisher Jr., and the first
deliveries by the new owner were made on Monday. The new owner, who has been in the milk delivery business for 22 years, 21 of
which was with the Rothermel Dairy, has already started on an improvement and expansion program. Farmers who supply the milk for
the dairy have been contacted and asked to supply the milk with a greater butter fat content. Fisher intends to install some new
equipment for pasteurizing milk and is increasing the line of dairy products to include, in addition to milk and cream, chocolate milk,
buttermilk, butter both salted and unsalted, cottage cheese and Orange Ade.
Two trucks will deliver milk to customers in Schuylkill Haven and immediate vicinity. The one will be manned by Fisher himself and the
other by Joseph Kaufman Jr., son of the retiring owner. The new dairy owner is the well known member of the Schuylkill Haven
school board, a post he has held for ten years. A son of Hiram Fisher Sr. of East Main Street, he is a graduate of the Schuylkill Haven
class of 1927. In high school he was an all around athlete, playing three years of football, basketball and baseball. In his senior year
he was captain of the gridiron team. After graduation he attended Schuylkill College.
At the present time he is a member of the Lions' Club, the Liberty Fire Company, the North and East Ward Social Clubs and the home
associations of both the Cressona and Schuylkill Haven American Legion Posts. He is married to the former Miss Marion Repp of
Schuylkill Haven R. D. They live at 229 Paxson Avenue with their two sons, John and Thomas. The oldest son Kenneth is in the Air
Force stationed in California.
|The Call of September 19, 1952
FAREL Y. BECKER HAS FRANCHISE FOR STUDEBAKER
Farel Y. Becker, local television and appliance dealer, has secured the franchise for Studebaker cars and trucks and after
remodeling his building at Haven and Hess Streets, has the new cars now on display. Becker returns to the automotive field as a
new car and truck dealer after being away from it since selling the Dodge and Plymouth agency which he conducted on Center
Avenue for seven years to W. Randolph Martin. He retained the used cars but had disposed of most of them. He entered the
television and appliance field and now with the taking on of the Studebaker agency announces, "I am not going out of the television
and appliance business. In fact, we'll be in it bigger and better than ever." The appliance end will continue to be in charge of Lloyd
Hubler. The new agency will feature the two winners of the 1952 Mobil Gas Company run in which the Studebaker Champion under
the direction of the American Automobile Association won over all competition, averaging 27.8 miles per gallon. The new Studebaker
V8 Commander averaged 25.5 miles per gallon to lead in its class. The agency will also handle a full line of trucks, known for
economy and durability. When changing the building to more satisfactorily accommodate the new cars, Becker equipped a modern
shop with the latest type equipment to service all makes of cars.